DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (USPN 2021/0020710) in view of Hatsumi et al. (WO 2020/165686 A1 – see US 2022/0173174 for English translation citations below), further in view of Yang et al. (US 2014/0263964 A1).
As to claim 1, Park teaches a display device, comprising:
a display layer including a plurality of light emitting devices and a plurality of photo-detectors (see at least fig. 9A: EL panel 100, electroluminescent unit ELU, image sensors 160a); and
a circuit layer including a plurality of pixel driving parts, which are respectively connected to the light emitting devices (see at least fig. 9A and 21: pixel circuit PC connected to electroluminescent unit ELU, image sensor structure 160 with image sensors 160a),
wherein the photo-detectors includes: first to third photo-detectors disposed in a first row and arranged in a first direction, and fourth to sixth photo-detectors disposed in a second row spaced apart from the first row in a second direction crossing the first direction, and arranged in the first direction, and wherein the second photo-detector and the fifth photo-detector are adjacent to each other in the second direction (see at least figs. 5A-D: images sensors 160a, [0097] “the pinholes 120a form a grid arrangement”; [0101] “The image sensor structure 160 includes image sensors 160a that are separated by a predetermined distance”, [0122] “the number and spacing of pinholes 120a distributed in the sensing area SA is the same as those of the image sensors 160a distributed in the sensing area SA such that there is a one-to-one correspondence between the pinholes 120a and the image sensors 160a.”, [0128] “the image sensors 160a are regularly arranged in the sensing area SA.” – note the images sensors 160a (photo detectors) are arranged in row and columns and the recited first through sixth photo-detectors are interpreted as labels applied to six detectors within a regular two-dimensional array).
Park does not directly teach a plurality of sensor driving parts each of which is connected to two of the photo-detectors, wherein each of the photo-detectors includes: a first electrode and a second electrode facing each other; and a photo-electric converting layer interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode to convert incident light to an electrical signal, and wherein the first electrodes included in the fifth and sixth photo-detectors are connected to the same sensor driving part.
Hatsumi teaches wherein each of the photo-detectors (see at least fig. 2A: light receiving element 110, and fig. 26: organic photodiode OPD) includes:
a first electrode and a second electrode facing each other (see at least figs. 2A, 26: pixel electrode 181 (1st electrode), common electrode 115 (2nd electrode)); and
a photo-electric converting layer interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode to convert incident light to an electrical signal (see at least figs. 2A, 26: a photo-electric converting layer, i.e., active layer 183, interposed between the electrodes 181 and 115 and [0124] “the light-receiving element 110 is a photoelectric conversion element that receives light 22 incident from the outside of the display device 10A and converts it into an electric signal”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Park’s image sensors using Hatsumi’s integrated organic light-receiving element structure because Hatsumi teaches that organic photodiodes can be incorporated into a display device including organic EL elements and can be formed over one substrate (see Hatsumi at least [0085]). Hatsumi further teaches that common processing can reduce manufacturing steps and cost by sharing layers between the light-receiving element and the light-emitting element (see Hatsumi at least [0093]-[0094], [0120]-[0121], [0254]). The modification would have predictably provided Park’s integrated display/fingerprint sensor with a known display-integrated photoelectric conversion structure.
Hatsumi does not directly teach a plurality of sensor driving parts each of which is connected to two of the photo-detectors, and wherein the first electrodes included in the fifth and sixth photo-detectors are connected to the same sensor driving part.
Yang teaches a plurality of sensor driving parts each of which is connected to two of the photo-detectors (see at least [0017] “the context of a shared pixel array, the terms "shared-pixel circuit," and "shared-pixel unit" are used herein to refer to a unit cell containing a group of pixels that each have a photosensor and are configured to share at least some pixel circuitry”; [0019] “The pixel array may be configured as an array of binning cells, wherein each binning cell may comprise two or more pixels, which may be neighboring pixels, that may share a common charge storage region. … photosensors or pixels that share a common charge storage region may be arranged… as a row or column (e.g., 1×2, 2×1, 1×4, 4×1, etc.), or as a two-dimensional array (e.g., 2×2, 2×3, 4×2, etc.)”; [0028] “the depicted binning pixel cell portion of a pixel array includes four pixels configured to share certain readout circuitry”; [0032] “each pixel of SPU[i,j] has a respective photosensor… PPD[2i−1,2j−1], PPD[2i−1,2j], PPD[2i,2j−1], PPD[2i,2j] and a respective transfer transistor TX1[i,j], TX2[i,j], TX3[i,j], TX4[i,j] … The pixels grouped as SPU[i,j] share a common readout circuit that includes a charge storage region configured as floating diffusion region FD[i,j], a source follower transistor SF[i,j], a row-select transistor RS[i,j]… and a reset transistor RSTx[i,j]”; [0033] “Each photosensor .. are conductively coupled to the floating diffusion region FD[i,j] when the respective transfer transistors… are activated ... photocarriers .. generated by each photosensor… may be selectively transferred to the floating diffusion region FD[i,j]”; [0035] “floating diffusion FD[i,j] being coupled to the drain regions of each transfer transistor… is indicative of it being shared among the pixels”; [0060] “the reset timing control applied .., thus separately pairwise binning (i) the pixels corresponding to TX1 and TX2 and (ii) the pixels corresponding to TX3 and TX4”; [0072] “different shared pixel configurations (e.g., 2×1, 1×2, 1×4, 4×1) … other embodiments may include readout circuitry shared by other number of pixels” – note the claimed “sensor driving part” is interpreted as encompassing circuitry that receives and reads signals from the photo-detectors. Under this interpretation, Yang’s shared readout circuit, including at least floating diffusion FD, source follower SF, row-select transistor RS, and reset transistor RSTx, corresponds to the claimed sensor driving part because it receives photo-generated charge from photo-detectors and outputs an electrical signal. Yang also teaches pairwise sharing/binnning of two photodetectors. Thus, Yang teaches that two photo-detectors may share the same readout/sensor-driving circuitry).
With respect to “wherein the first electrodes included in the fifth and sixth photo-detectors are connected to the same sensor driving part”, Hatsumi teaches that the first electrode of a photo-detector is the pixel electrode 181, which is electrically connected to sensor circuitry (see [0100] “The first transistor is electrically connected to the light-receiving element. The second transistor is electrically connected to the light-emitting element.”; [0132] “The pixel electrode 181 is electrically connected to a source or a drain of the transistor 41 through an opening provided in the insulating layer 214”). Yang teaches the shared readout configuration in which two photo-detectors share a common readout circuit and may be arranged as a 1×2 or 2×1 pair (see at least [0019], [0072]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to connect the first electrodes of two adjacent photodetectors, such as the claimed fifth and sixth photo-detectors in the second row, to the same sensor driving/readout part in order to implement Yang’s known pairwise shared readout/binning in the Park/Hatsumi display sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park, as modified by Hatsumi, to use Yang’s shared readout architecture in which one sensor driving/readout part is connected to two photo-detectors. Yang [0054] states that “charge-mode pixel binning is desired or needed to reduce the output bandwidth without requiring an off-chip pixel binning process, and/or to reduce the bandwidth required to read the pixel signals out of the pixel array into the readout circuitry external to the pixel array”. Yang [0067] states that “control circuitry 48 may also be configured to selectively power up/down column power enable signals on a column-wise basis according to the column readout mode, … thus reducing power consumption by providing shorter duty cycle for power enable signals controlling columns that are operable during less than the full row readout period required to readout all pixels in the row.”. Applying Yang’s shared sensor readout architecture to Park/Hatsumi’s display-integrated image sensors would have used a known shared readout technique for photodetectors in a known display-integrated sensor device and would have yielded predictable results, namely reduced sensor readout circuitry, reduced bandwidth, and reduced power consumption.
As to claim 2, the combination of Park, Hatsumi and Yang teach the display device of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein each of the light emitting devices includes: a first electrode and a second electrode facing each other; and a light emitting layer interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode to emit red light, blue light, or green light. (see Hatsumi at least [0098] “In the display device 50A and the display device 50B, red (R) light, green (G) light, and blue (B) light are emitted from the layer 57 including a light-emitting element.”; [0194] “The light-emitting element 190R includes a pixel electrode 191R, the common layer 112, a light-emitting layer 193R, the common layer 114, and the common electrode 115.”; [0195] “The light-emitting element 190G includes a pixel electrode 191G, the common layer 112, a light-emitting layer 193G, the common layer 114, and the common electrode 115.”; [0196] “The light-emitting element 190B includes a pixel electrode 191B, the common layer 112, a light-emitting layer 193B, the common layer 114, and the common electrode 115.”).
As to claim 3, the combination of Park, Hatsumi and Yang teach the display device of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the display layer includes: a dummy device, and wherein each of the dummy devices includes: a first electrode and a second electrode facing each other; and a photo-electric converting layer interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode to convert incident light to an electrical signal (see Park at least fig. 9A: dummy image sensor 160b; and Hatsumi at least figs. 2A, 26: a photo-electric converting layer, i.e., active layer 183, interposed between the electrodes 181 and 115 and [0124] “the light-receiving element 110 is a photoelectric conversion element that receives light 22 incident from the outside of the display device 10A and converts it into an electric signal”).
As to claim 4, the combination of Park, Hatsumi and Yang teach the display device of claim 2 (see above rejection), wherein the first electrode of the light emitting device and the first electrode of the photo-detector are disposed on a same layer (see Hatsumi at least [0116] “The pixel electrode 181 and the pixel electrode 191 can be formed using the same material in the same step.”; [0254], [0315] – note forming both electrodes simultaneously inherently places them in the same conductive layer).
As to claim 5, the combination of Park, Hatsumi and Yang teach the display device of claim 3 (see above rejection), wherein the first electrode of the photo-detector and the first electrode of the dummy device are disposed on a same layer (see Park at least fig. 9A: image sensor 160a and dummy image sensor 160b on same layer; and Hatsumi at least figs. 2A, 26 and [0116] “The pixel electrode 181 and the pixel electrode 191 can be formed using the same material in the same step.”).
As to claim 6, the combination of Park, Hatsumi and Yang teach the display device of claim 3 (see above rejection), wherein the dummy device is in a floating state (see Park at least fig. 9A: dummy image sensor 160b and [0259] “the fourth light blocking structure.. is electrically floated” – note since Park already teaches electrically floating inactive structures provided primarily for layout uniformity, it would have been obvious that the dummy device likewise be electrically floating to avoid unnecessary electrical loading while maintaining substantially identical device geometry).
As to claim 7, the combination of Park, Hatsumi and Yang teach the display device of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the pixel driving part includes: a pixel driving circuit configured to drive the light emitting device, and wherein the sensor driving part includes: a sensor driving circuit configured to drive the photo-detector (see Hatsumi at least figs. 2A, 17A-B, 26 and [0100] “The first transistor is electrically connected to the light-receiving element. The second transistor is electrically connected to the light-emitting element.”; [0133] “The pixel electrode 191 is electrically connected to a source or a drain of the transistor 42 through an opening provided in the insulating layer 214. The transistor 42 has a function of controlling the driving of the light-emitting element 190.”; [0353]-]0360]: separate driving circuitry for the sensing and display functions).
As to claim 8, the combination of Park, Hatsumi and Yang teach the display device of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the first electrode of the photo-detector is directly connected to a first electrode of another photo-detector (see Yang at least [0019], [0022], [0032]: neighboring photosensors sharing common charge-storage circuitry; [0035] “shared among the pixels, .. floating diffusion may be a single diffusion …, each of the transfer transistors .. may have respective drains, .. and each of these separate drain diffusion regions may be conductively coupled by one or more conductive lines” – note it would have been obvious to directly connect corresponding photodetector electrodes in Park’s display in accordance with Yang’s shared-photodetector architecture because such connections reduce circuitry and enable shared signal processing).
As to claim 9, the combination of Park, Hatsumi and Yang teach the display device of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein a plurality of unit pixel regions are provided and wherein unit pixels are disposed in the unit pixel regions, each unit pixel including the light emitting device, and the photo-detector, and wherein the photo-detector is disposed in a first unit pixel region of two adjacent unit pixel regions of the plurality of unit pixel regions (see Hatsumi at least figs. 2A, 26 and [0099], [0104], [0189]-[0197]: pixel includes the light-receiving element PD and light-emitting elements 190R, 190G, and 190B; and Yang [0019] “each binning cell may comprise two or more pixels, which may be neighboring pixels”; [0039] “FIG. 1B depicts… a 2×2 neighborhood of binning pixel cells”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER L ZUBAJLO/Examiner, Art Unit 2627 7/19/2026
/KE XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2627