Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 10 states, “pitch angle of the remaining propeller for the remaining propeller to rotate based on wind”. Propeller in both instances should be changed to propellers (Appropriate correction is required.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by VIGUIER et al. (EP 4126672).
VIGUIER discloses the limitations in the claims below:
1. An energy recovery system for an aircraft (1-4), the energy recovery system comprising: a plurality of pods (Fig. 1-5) configured to be attached to an aircraft wing (12, 13), each pod comprising: a propeller (22, 23, 32, 33), an electrical motor unit (220, 231, 320, 331) connected to the propeller through a shaft, a motor control unit (paragraphs 71 and 72) configured to control the electrical motor unit, a main electrical supplying system (24, 34) connected with the motor control unit and configured to supply electrical energy to the electrical motor unit, a pitch control system (Claim 8 - variable pitch controlled propeller) configured to modify a pitch angle of the propeller, and a secondary electrical supplying system (262, 362) for electrical energy storage; and a power control management system 14 in communication with the plurality of pods and configured to set each propeller through the motor control unit, during a descent phase, in a propulsive mode or in a windmill mode, depending on a load level of the respective secondary electrical supplying system in each pod and a required power to overcome air ram drag of the aircraft (paragraphs 77, 82-84, 95 – shown in Fig. 6), wherein in the propulsive mode, the electrical motor unit is configured to actuate a rotation of the propeller, and wherein the windmill mode, the motor control unit is configured to operate the pitch control system so that the pitch angle of the propeller is modified for the propeller to rotate from wind, and the electrical motor unit is configured to generate electrical energy as result of the propeller rotation due to wind so that the generated electrical energy is stored within the secondary electrical supplying system (paragraph 82).
3. The energy recovery system according to claim 1, wherein the secondary electrical supplying system is an electrical buffer (batteries 262, 362).
4. The energy recovery system according to claim 1, further comprising: a shared storage system (battery 262,362 and Distribution stage 260,360 and DC bus architecture shown in Fig. 2), wherein the shared storage system is connected with the motor control unit of each pod and is configured to store at least part of the electrical energy generated on the windmill mode.
6. An aircraft (1-4)comprising: the energy recovery system according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VIGUIER et al. (EP 4126672) in view of Wankewycz et al. (US 20220041299)
2. Wankewycz teaches what Viguier does not disclose The energy recovery system according to claim 1, wherein the main electrical supplying system is a fuel cell system (paragraph 67). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention and with reasonable expectation of success to use fuel cells as taught in Wankewycz in the invention of Viguier in order to provider longer range and endurance.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VIGUIER et al. (EP 4126672)
5. Viguier discloses a controlled bidirectional power architecture where windmilling energy is captured sending back to reversible inverters (263, 363) in the intermediate DC distribution stage (260, 360) and then to batteries (262, 362). A reversible AC-DC converter 261, 361, between the AC distribution stage 27, 37 and the DC stage, where power is managed by converter control and contactors but does not specifically disclose The energy recovery system according to claim 1, wherein at least one diode is arranged on the motor control unit or on the main electrical supplying system or in a
connection between the motor control unit and the main electrical supplying system, said
at least one diode being configured to prevent the electrical energy generated in windmill
mode from reaching the main electrical supplying system. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention and with reasonable expectation of success to use a diode in Viguier in order to provide the blocking of unwanted power flow (similar to that of the function of Viguier).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7-15 are allowed.
The prior art alone or in combination does not teach the method of claim 7 wherein a logic computes a minimum number of propellers need to overcome ram air drag in descent, put the minimum number in propulsive mode selected by highest load level of each units secondary supply, put the remaining propellers in windmill mode via pitch change, generate electrical energy by the motor unit from windmilling rotation, and recharging the respective secondary supply and optionally store the energy in a shared energy storage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is related to propulsors and windmilling aircraft propulsion units and power generation.
/JUSTIN M. BENEDIK/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/JUSTIN M BENEDIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642