DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 6, 13, and 20 have been amended as per the amendment filed on 7/31/2026.
Currently Claims 1-20 are pending and prosecuted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al., US Patent Publication 2024/0061528, in further view of Choi, US Patent Publication 2021/0157467.
Regarding Claim 1, Jin discloses a sensing device (Abstract; a touch display panel) comprising:
a sensor panel including sensors arranged in a matrix form in a sensing area and sensing lines electrically connected one-to-one to the sensors, wherein the sensing area includes a first area, a second area, and a third area between the first area and the second area (Figure 4; [0034-0043]; a self-capacitive touch display comprising of first touch electrodes 11 arranged in a matrix with sensing electrically connected one-to-one, where there is a first display region 10, excluding the first sub-display region 30, that is considered as the “first area”, a second display region, excluding the second sub (a second area), and a “third region” comprising of first sub-display region 30 and second sub-display region 40), wherein the sensing lines include (1-1)th sensing lines, (1-2)th sensing lines, (2-1)th sensing lines, and (2-2)th sensing lines (Figure 4; [0034-0043]; the examiner considers the signal lines connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the “first area” to be the (1-1)th sensing lines, the signal lines connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the “second area” to be the (2-1)th sensing lines, the signal lines connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the first sub-display region 30 to be the (1-2)th sensing lines, and the signal lines connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the second sub-display region 40 to be the (2-2)th sensing lines);
a first sensor driver electrically connected to the sensors in the first area through the (1- 1)th sensing lines (Figure 4; [0034-0043]; a first touch chip 101 connected to the touch electrodes 11 in “the first area through the (1- 1)th sensing lines”); and
a second sensor driver electrically connected to the sensors in the second area through the (2-1)th sensing lines (Figure 4; [0034-0043]; a second touch chip 102 connected to the touch electrodes 11 in “the second area through the (2-1)th sensing lines”);
wherein the first sensor driver is electrically connected to a first subset of the sensors in the third area through the (1-2)th sensing lines and a second subset of the sensors in the third area through the (2-2)th sensing lines (Figure 4; [0034-0043]; a first touch chip 101 connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the first sub-display area 30 through the “the (1-2)th sensing lines” and to the touch electrodes 11 in the second sub-display area 40 through the “the (2-2)th sensing lines” ), and
wherein the second sensor driver is electrically connected to the first subset of the sensors in the third area through the(1-2)th sensing liens and the second subset of the sensors in the third area through the (2-2)th sensing lines (Figure 4; [0034-0043]; a second touch chip 102 connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the first sub-display area 30 through the “the (1-2)th sensing lines” and to the touch electrodes 11 in the second sub-display area 40 through the “the (2-2)th sensing lines”).
However, Jin doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the first sensor driver and a first multiplexer area electrically connected to a first subset of the sensors in the third area through the (1-2)th sensing lines, and are electrically connected to a second subset of the sensors in the third area through the (2-2)th sensing lines, and
wherein the second sensor driver and a second multiplexer are electrically connected to the first subset of the sensors in the third area through the(1-2)th sensing lines, and are electrically connected to the second subset of the sensors in the third area through the (2-2)th sensing lines.
Choi, US Patent Publication 2021/0157467, teaches where touch sensors are driven in a time division way using multiplexors disposed on a panel. As seen in Figures 3 and 4, a first MUX is connected between at least two touch sensors TS and a an external line LNb which connects to an integrated circuit 120a, and a second MUX is connected between at least two other touch sensors TS and a different external line LNb that is connected to another different integrated circuit 120a (Abstract; Figure 3 and 4; [0044-0061];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the disclosure of Jin to further include the teachings of Choi such that a multiplexer is provided between each of the touch chip and the touch electrodes that the corresponding touch chip is connect to. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Choi teaches using multiplexors and driving the touch sensors using time division in order reduce the introduction of noises from neighboring electrodes (Choi: Abstract;).
Therefore, the combination of Jin and Choi teaches wherein the first sensor driver and a first multiplexer area electrically connected to a first subset of the sensors in the third area through the (1-2)th sensing lines, and are electrically connected to a second subset of the sensors in the third area through the (2-2)th sensing lines (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; Choi: Abstract; Figure 3 and 4; [0044-0061]; a first touch chip 101 and a first multiplexer are connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the first sub-display area 30 through the “the (1-2)th sensing lines” and to the touch electrodes 11 in the second sub-display area 40 through the “the (2-2)th sensing lines” ) , and
wherein the second sensor driver and a second multiplexer are electrically connected to the first subset of the sensors in the third area through the(1-2)th sensing lines, and are electrically connected to the second subset of the sensors in the third area through the (2-2)th sensing lines (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; Choi: Abstract; Figure 3 and 4; [0044-0061]; a second touch chip 102 and a second multiplexer are connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the first sub-display area 30 through the “the (1-2)th sensing lines” and to the touch electrodes 11 in the second sub-display area 40 through the “the (2-2)th sensing lines”).
Regarding Claim 2, The combination of Jin and Choi teaches wherein the first sensor driver is electrically disconnected from the sensors in the second area, and wherein the second sensor driver is electrically disconnected from the sensors in the first area (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; the first touch chip 101 is “electrically disconnected from the sensors in the second area” and the second touch chip 102 is “is electrically disconnected from the sensors in the first area”).
Regarding Claim 3, The combination of Jin and Choi teaches wherein the first area and the second area are spaced apart from each other in a first direction (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; the “first area” and the “second area” are spaced apart from each other in a “first direction),
wherein the third area includes at least one sensor column (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; the “third area” includes at least “one sensor column”), and
wherein a sensor column includes the sensors arranged along a second direction intersecting the first direction (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; a “sensor column” has the touch electrodes 11 arranged in a “second direction” intersecting the “first direction).
Regarding Claim 4, The combination of Jin and Choi teaches wherein the third area includes two sensor columns (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; the “third area” includes “two sensor columns”).
Regarding Claim 5, The combination of Jin and Choi teaches wherein the third area includes one sensor column (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; the “third area” includes “one sensor columns”).
Regarding Claim 6, The combination of Jin and Choi teaches wherein the first multiplexer electrically is connected between the sensors in the first area and the first sensor driver (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; Choi: Abstract; Figure 3 and 4; [0044-0061]; the first multiplexer is connected between the first touch chip 101 and the touch electrodes 11 in the “first area”); and
the second multiplexer is electrically connected between the sensors in the second area and the second sensor driver (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; Choi: Abstract; Figure 3 and 4; [0044-0061]; the second multiplexer is connected between the second touch chip 102 and the touch electrodes 11 in the “second area”).
Regarding Claim 13, Jin discloses a sensor panel (Abstract; a touch display panel) comprising:
a sensing area including a first area, a second area, and a third area between the first area and the second area (Figure 4; [0034-0043]; a self-capacitive touch display comprising of first touch electrodes 11 arranged in a matrix with sensing electrically connected one-to-one, where there is a first display region 10, excluding the first sub-display region 30, that is considered as the “first area”, a second display region, excluding the second sub (a second area), and a “third region” comprising of first sub-display region 30 and second sub-display region 40),
sensors arranged in matrix form in the sensing area (Figure 4; [0034-0043]; a self-capacitive touch display comprising of first touch electrodes 11 arranged in a matrix with sensing electrically connected one-to-one, where there is a first display region 10, excluding the first sub-display region 30, that is considered as the “first area”, a second display region, excluding the second sub (a second area), and a “third region” comprising of first sub-display region 30 and second sub-display region 40);
sensing lines electrically connected one-to-one to the sensors, wherein the sensing lines include (1-1)th sensing lines, (1-2)th sensing lines, (2-1)th sensing lines, and (2-2)th sensing lines (Figure 4; [0034-0043]; a self-capacitive touch display comprising of first touch electrodes 11 arranged in a matrix with sensing electrically connected one-to-one, where there is a first display region 10, excluding the first sub-display region 30, that is considered as the “first area”, a second display region, excluding the second sub (a second area), and a “third region” comprising of first sub-display region 30 and second sub-display region 40. the examiner considers the signal lines connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the “first area” to be the (1-1)th sensing lines, the signal lines connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the “second area” to be the (2-1)th sensing lines, the signal lines connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the first sub-display region 30 to be the (1-2)th sensing lines, and the signal lines connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the second sub-display region 40 to be the (2-2)th sensing lines);
wherein the first sensor driver is electrically connected to a first subset of the sensors in the third area through the (1-2)th sensing lines and a second subset of the sensors in the third area through the (2-2)th sensing lines, (Figure 4; [0034-0043]; a first touch chip 101 connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the first sub-display area 30 through the “the (1-2)th sensing lines” and to the touch electrodes 11 in the second sub-display area 40 through the “the (2-2)th sensing lines”); and
wherein the second sensor driver is electrically connected to the first subset of the sensors in the third area through the (1-2)th sensing lines and the second subset of the sensors in the third area through the (2-2)th sensing lines (Figure 4; [0034-0043]; a second touch chip 102 connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the first sub-display area 30 through the “the (1-2)th sensing lines” and to the touch electrodes 11 in the second sub-display area 40 through the “the (2-2)th sensing lines”).
However, Jin doesn’t explicitly disclose a first multiplexer electrically connected to the sensors in the first area through the (1-1)th sensing lines; and
a second multiplexer electrically connected to the sensors in the second area through the (2-1)th sensing lines,
wherein the first sensor driver and the first multiplexer are electrically connected to a first subset of the sensors in the third area through the (1-2)th sensing lines, and are electrically connected to a second subset of the sensors in the third area through the (2-2)th sensing lines,
wherein the second sensor driver and the second multiplexer are electrically connected to the first subset of the sensors in the third area through the (1-2)th sensing lines, and are electrically connected to the second subset of the sensors in the third area through the (2-2)th sensing lines.
Choi, US Patent Publication 2021/0157467, teaches where touch sensors are driven in a time division way using multiplexors disposed on a panel. As seen in Figures 3 and 4, a first MUX is connected between at least two touch sensors TS and a an external line LNb which connects to an integrated circuit 120a, and a second MUX is connected between at least two other touch sensors TS and a different external line LNb that is connected to another different integrated circuit 120a (Abstract; Figure 3 and 4; [0044-0061];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the disclosure of Jin to further include the teachings of Choi such that a multiplexer is provided between each of the touch chip and the touch electrodes that the corresponding touch chip is connect to. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Choi teaches using multiplexors and driving the touch sensors using time division in order reduce the introduction of noises from neighboring electrodes (Choi: Abstract;).
Therefore, the combination of Jin and Choi teaches a first multiplexer electrically connected to the sensors in the first area through the (1-1)th sensing lines (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; Choi: Abstract; Figure 3 and 4; [0044-0061]; a first multiplexer is connected between the first touch chip 101 and the touch electrodes 11 in the “first area” through the “(1-1)th sensing lines”); and
a second multiplexer electrically connected to the sensors in the second area through the (2-1)th sensing lines (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; Choi: Abstract; Figure 3 and 4; [0044-0061]; the second multiplexer is connected between the second touch chip 102 and the touch electrodes 11 in the “second area” through the “(2-1)th sensing lines”).,
wherein the first sensor driver and the first multiplexer area electrically connected to a first subset of the sensors in the third area through the (1-2)th sensing lines, and are electrically connected to a second subset of the sensors in the third area through the (2-2)th sensing lines (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; Choi: Abstract; Figure 3 and 4; [0044-0061]; a first touch chip 101 and the first multiplexer are connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the first sub-display area 30 through the “the (1-2)th sensing lines” and to the touch electrodes 11 in the second sub-display area 40 through the “the (2-2)th sensing lines”) , and
wherein the second sensor driver and the second multiplexer are electrically connected to the first subset of the sensors in the third area through the(1-2)th sensing lines, and are electrically connected to the second subset of the sensors in the third area through the (2-2)th sensing lines (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; Choi: Abstract; Figure 3 and 4; [0044-0061]; a second touch chip 102 and the second multiplexer are connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the first sub-display area 30 through the “the (1-2)th sensing lines” and to the touch electrodes 11 in the second sub-display area 40 through the “the (2-2)th sensing lines”).
Regarding Claim 14, The combination of Jin and Choi teaches wherein the first multiplexer is electrically disconnected from the sensors in the second area, and wherein the second multiplexer is electrically disconnected from the sensors in the first area (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; Choi: Abstract; Figure 3 and 4; [0044-0061]; Figure 4; [0034-0043]; the first touch chip 101 and the first multiplexer is “electrically disconnected from the sensors in the second area” and the second touch chip 102 and the second multiplexer “is electrically disconnected from the sensors in the first area” ).
Regarding Claim 15, The combination of Jin and Choi teaches wherein the first area and the second area are spaced apart from each other in a first direction (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; the “first area” and the “second area” are spaced apart from each other in a “first direction),
wherein the third area includes at least one sensor column (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; the “third area” includes at least “one sensor column”), and
wherein a sensor column includes the sensors arranged along a second direction intersecting the first direction (Lee: Figure 7; [0101-0103]; a “sensor column” has the sensing electrodes arranged in a “second direction” intersecting the “first direction).
Regarding Claim 16, The combination of Lee and Choi teaches wherein the third area includes two sensor columns (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; Figure 4; [0034-0043]; the “third area” includes “two sensor columns”).
Regarding Claim 17, The combination of Lee and Choi teaches wherein the third area includes one sensor column (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; Figure 4; [0034-0043]; the “third area” includes “one sensor columns”).
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over, henceforth known as Jin et al., US Patent Publication 2024/0061528, in further view of Choi, US Patent Publication 2021/0157467, and in further view of Lee et al., US Patent Publication 2016/0170513, henceforth known as Lee,
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of Jin and Choi doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the first multiplexer is electrically connected to the first sensor driver through pads,
wherein the first multiplexer selectively connects the first subset of the sensors in the third area to a pad among the pads, and
wherein the sensors in the first area are not electrically connected to the pad.
Lee et al., US Patent Publication 2016/0170513, teaches a touch panel comprising of an array of sensing electrodes 120 and 140, where there are two touch controllers IC1 and IC2 that are respectively connected to electrodes arranged in a first sensing area SA1 and a second sensing area SA2, via wiring lines 130 and 150 and pads P1, P2, and P3. Lee further discloses, in Figure 6, two sensing electrodes that are each connected to both touch controllers IC1 and IC2 and respectively have a pad for said sensing electrode that connects to said touch controllers (Figure 6; [0095-0100];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Jin and Choi to further include the teachings of Lee such that the multiplexors are connected to the touch chips via pads. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Lee teaches how the touch controllers are connected to pads in order to be connected to corresponding sensing electrodes (Lee: Figure 6; [0095-0100];).
Therefore, the combination of Jin, Choi, and Lee teaches wherein the first multiplexer is electrically connected to the first sensor driver through pads (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; Choi: Abstract; Figure 3 and 4; [0044-0061]; Figure 6; [0095-0100]; a first MUX is electrically connected to the first touch chip 101 via a plurality of pads, as the first MUX is disposed on the panel),
wherein the first multiplexer selectively connects the first subset of the sensors in the third area to a pad among the pads (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; Choi: Abstract; Figure 3 and 4; [0044-0061]; Figure 6; [0095-0100]; the first MUX electrically connects the touch electrodes 11 in first sub-display region 30 to a pad of the plurality of pads that connects to the first touch chip 101) , and
wherein the sensors in the first area are not electrically connected to the pad (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; Choi: Abstract; Figure 3 and 4; [0044-0061]; Figure 6; [0095-0100]; the touch electrodes 11 in the “first area” are not connected to the pad that is connected to the touch electrodes in the first-sub-display region 30 ).
Regarding Claim 18, The combination of Jin and Choi doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the first multiplexer is electrically connected to pads,
wherein the first multiplexer selectively connects the first subset of the sensors in the third area to a pad among the pads, and
wherein the sensors in the first area are not electrically connected to the pad.
Lee et al., US Patent Publication 2016/0170513, teaches a touch panel comprising of an array of sensing electrodes 120 and 140, where there are two touch controllers IC1 and IC2 that are respectively connected to electrodes arranged in a first sensing area SA1 and a second sensing area SA2, via wiring lines 130 and 150 and pads P1, P2, and P3. Lee further discloses, in Figure 6, two sensing electrodes that are each connected to both touch controllers IC1 and IC2 and respectively have a pad for said sensing electrode that connects to said touch controllers (Figure 6; [0095-0100];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Jin and Choi to further include the teachings of Lee such that the multiplexors are connected to the touch chips via pads. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Lee teaches how the touch controllers are connected to pads in order to be connected to corresponding sensing electrodes (Lee: Figure 6; [0095-0100];).
Therefore, the combination of Jin, Choi, and Lee teaches wherein the first multiplexer is electrically connected to pads (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; Choi: Abstract; Figure 3 and 4; [0044-0061]; Figure 6; [0095-0100]; a first MUX is electrically connected to the first touch chip 101 via a plurality of pads, as the first MUX is disposed on the panel),
wherein the first multiplexer selectively connects the first subset of the sensors in the third area to a pad among the pads (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; Choi: Abstract; Figure 3 and 4; [0044-0061]; Figure 6; [0095-0100]; the first MUX electrically connects the touch electrodes 11 in first sub-display region 30 to a pad of the plurality of pads that connects to the first touch chip 101) , and
wherein the sensors in the first area are not electrically connected to the pad (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; Choi: Abstract; Figure 3 and 4; [0044-0061]; Figure 6; [0095-0100]; the touch electrodes 11 in the “first area” are not connected to the pad that is connected to the touch electrodes in the first-sub-display region 30 ).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al., US Patent Publication 2024/0061528, in further view of Choi, US Patent Publication 2021/0157467, in further view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art, henceforth known as AAPA.
Regarding Claim 10, The combination of Jin and Choi teaches wherein the first sensor driver and the second sensor driver obtain one sensing signal for each of the sensors in the first area and the second area, and obtain a sensing signal for each of the sensor in the third area (Figure 4; [0034-0043]; each of the touch chips determines touch location through detecting the changes in the capacitance values of the touch electrodes relative to the ground, and reports the location of the points).
However, The combination of Jin and Choi doesn’t explicitly teach obtain two sensing signals for each of the sensor in the third area.
AAPA, that it was well known in the art, for a touch controller to be able to detect different touch events that occur at different time periods on a touch panel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Jin and Choi to further include the teachings of AAPA such that the touch chips detects a second touch event after the first touch event for the sensors in the “third area” in order to provide obtain two sensing signals for each of the sensor in the third area. The motivation to combine these arts is because Jin teaches being able to detect a touch event based on detecting capacitive changes in the electrodes (Jin: [0034-0043]) and it was well known in the art for being able to detect different touch events that occur at different time periods.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al., US Patent Publication 2024/0061528, , in further view of Choi, US Patent Publication 2021/0157467, in further view of AAPA, in further view of Jhou et al., US Patent Publication 2014/0092056, henceforth known as Jhou.
Regarding Claim 12, The combination of Jin, Choi, and AAPA teaches wherein the first area and the second area are spaced apart from each other in a first direction (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; “first area” and the “second area” are spaced apart from each other in a “first direction”).
However, the combination of Jin, Choi, and Official Notice doesn’t explicitly teach wherein each of the first sensor driver and the second sensor driver sequentially obtains the sensing signal from the sensors along the first direction, and
wherein a time point at which the first sensor driver obtains the sensing signal for the sensors in the third area and a time point at which the second sensor driver obtains the sensing signal for the sensors in the second area are different from each other and do not overlap each other.
Jhou et al., US Patent Publication 2014/0092056, teaches a self capacitance touch panel outputs sensing signals s_t1 to S-Tk corresponding to the sensed capacitance variance between the ground and each electrode in the touch sensing panel. Where a multiplexer 132 sequentially outputs the touch signals s_t1 to s_tk (Figure 1 and 2; [0019]; [0022]; [0029];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combinational disclosure of Jin, Choi, and AAPA such that multiplexer is connected to all the sensing electrodes and to the touch circuits such that multiplexor sequentially provides the output sensing signal from each electrode in order to provide wherein each of the first sensor driver and the second sensor driver sequentially obtains the sensing signal from the sensors along the first direction, and wherein a time point at which the first sensor driver obtains the sensing signal for the sensors in the third area and a time point at which the second sensor driver obtains the sensing signal for the sensors in the second area are different from each other and do not overlap each other. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Jhou teaches a touch sensing method so as to detect and output a touch point on the touch panel (Jhou: [0020]; [0029];)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al., US Patent Publication 2024/0061528, henceforth known as Jin, in further view of Choi, US Patent Publication 2021/0157467, and in further view of Lee et al., US Patent Publication 2018/0144675, hence known as Lee ‘675.
Regarding Claim 20, Jin discloses an electronic device (Abstract; a touch display panel) comprising:
a display device configured to display an image (Abstract; Figure 4; [0034-0043]; a touch display panel is inherently configured to display an image) wherein the display device includes:
a sensing unit including sensors and sensing lines, wherein the sensors are disposed on the display unit and arranged in a matrix form in a sensing area, the sensing lines are electrically connected to the sensors one-to-one, and the sensing area includes a first area, a second area, and a third area between the first area and the second area (Figure 4; [0034-0043]; a self-capacitive touch display comprising of first touch electrodes 11 arranged in a matrix with sensing electrically connected one-to-one, where there is a first display region 10, excluding the first sub-display region 30, that is considered as the “first area”, a second display region, excluding the second sub (a second area), and a “third region” comprising of first sub-display region 30 and second sub-display region 40), wherein the sensing lines include (1-1)th sensing lines, (1-2)th sensing lines, (2-1)th sensing lines, and (2-2)th sensing lines (Figure 4; [0034-0043]; the examiner considers the signal lines connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the “first area” to be the (1-1)th sensing lines, the signal lines connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the “second area” to be the (2-1)th sensing lines, the signal lines connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the first sub-display region 30 to be the (1-2)th sensing lines, and the signal lines connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the second sub-display region 40 to be the (2-2)th sensing lines);
a first sensor driver electrically connected to the sensors in the first area through the (1-1)th sensing lines (Figure 4; [0034-0043]; a first touch chip 101 connected to the touch electrodes 11 in “the first area through the (1- 1)th sensing lines”); and
a second sensor driver electrically connected to the sensors in the second area through the (2-1)th sensing lines (Figure 4; [0034-0043]; a second touch chip 102 connected to the touch electrodes 11 in “the second area through the (2-1)th sensing lines”);
wherein the first sensor driver is electrically connected to a first subset of the sensors in the third area through the (1-2)th sensing lines and a second subset of the sensors in the third area through the (2-2)th sensing lines (Figure 4; [0034-0043]; a first touch chip 101 connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the first sub-display area 30 through the “the (1-2)th sensing lines” and to the touch electrodes 11 in the second sub-display area 40 through the “the (2-2)th sensing lines”), and
wherein the second sensor driver is electrically connected to the first subset of the sensors in the third area through the(1-2)th sensing liens and the second subset of the sensors in the third area through the (2-2)th sensing lines (Figure 4; [0034-0043]; a second touch chip 102 connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the first sub-display area 30 through the “the (1-2)th sensing lines” and to the touch electrodes 11 in the second sub-display area 40 through the “the (2-2)th sensing lines”).
However, Jin does not explicitly disclose one or more processors configured to provide input image data;
a display device configured to display an image based on the input image data; and
a power supply configured to supply power to the display device,
wherein the display device includes: a display unit including a base layer and a light-emitting element disposed on the base layer,
wherein the first sensor driver and a first multiplexer are electrically connected to a first subset of the sensors in the third area through the (1-2)th sensing lines, and are electrically connected to a second subset of the sensors in the third area through the (2-2)th sensing lines, and
wherein the second sensor driver and a second multiplexer are electrically connected to the first subset of the sensors in the third area through the(1-2)th sensing lines, and are electrically connected to the second subset of the sensors in the third area through the (2-2)th sensing lines.
Choi, US Patent Publication 2021/0157467, teaches where touch sensors are driven in a time division way using multiplexors disposed on a panel. As seen in Figures 3 and 4, a first MUX is connected between at least two touch sensors TS and a an external line LNb which connects to an integrated circuit 120a, and a second MUX is connected between at least two other touch sensors TS and a different external line LNb that is connected to another different integrated circuit 120a (Abstract; Figure 3 and 4; [0044-0061];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the disclosure of Jin to further include the teachings of Choi such that a multiplexer is provided between each of the touch chip and the touch electrodes that the corresponding touch chip is connect to. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Choi teaches using multiplexors and driving the touch sensors using time division in order reduce the introduction of noises from neighboring electrodes (Choi: Abstract;).
Therefore, the combination of Jin and Choi teaches wherein the first sensor driver and a first multiplexer area electrically connected to a first subset of the sensors in the third area through the (1-2)th sensing lines, and are electrically connected to a second subset of the sensors in the third area through the (2-2)th sensing lines (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; Choi: Abstract; Figure 3 and 4; [0044-0061]; a first touch chip 101 and a first multiplexer are connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the first sub-display area 30 through the “the (1-2)th sensing lines” and to the touch electrodes 11 in the second sub-display area 40 through the “the (2-2)th sensing lines” ) , and
wherein the second sensor driver and a second multiplexer are electrically connected to the first subset of the sensors in the third area through the(1-2)th sensing lines, and are electrically connected to the second subset of the sensors in the third area through the (2-2)th sensing lines (Jin: Figure 4; [0034-0043]; Choi: Abstract; Figure 3 and 4; [0044-0061]; a second touch chip 102 and a second multiplexer are connected to the touch electrodes 11 in the first sub-display area 30 through the “the (1-2)th sensing lines” and to the touch electrodes 11 in the second sub-display area 40 through the “the (2-2)th sensing lines”).
However, The combination of Jin and Choi does not explicitly teach one or more processors configured to provide input image data;
a display device configured to display an image based on the input image data; and
a power supply configured to supply power to the display device,
wherein the display device includes: a display unit including a base layer and a light-emitting element disposed on the base layer,
Lee ‘675 discloses one or more processors configured to provide input image data ([0021]; [0067-0068]; a signal controller, that includes a processor 211, receives an input RGB signal and generates image data signal DAT);
a display device configured to display an image based on the input image data ([0021]; [0070]; a display panel that displays an image based on the image data signal); and
a power supply configured to supply power to the display device ([0071]; a power supply 240 supplies first power source voltage and second power source voltage ot the display panel)
wherein the display device includes: a display unit including a base layer and a light-emitting element disposed on the base layer ([0060-0061]; [0064-0065]; the display unit may be an OLED that includes an organic light-emitting diode OLED (a light-emitting element) that is inherently disposed on a “base layer” ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combinational disclosure of Jin and CHoi to further include the teachings of Lee ‘675in order to provide one or more processors configured to provide input image data; a display device configured to display an image based on the input image data; and a power supply configured to supply power to the display device, wherein the display device includes: a display unit including a base layer and a light-emitting element disposed on the base layer. The motivation to combine these analogues arts is because Lee ‘675 teaches aspects of a display system used to display an image (Lee ‘675: [0021]; [0064-0065]; [0071];).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 11, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered, but they are directed to claims as amended, and therefore are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented above.
Conclusion
/PATRICK F MARINELLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699