Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over C et al., US 10,319,116 A1 (hereinafter “the C Reference”) in view of Shah et al., US 10,186,209 B1 (hereinafter “Shah”).
Regarding claim 1, the C Reference discloses an electronic device (FIG. 1, and col. 2, lines 46-61, mobile device 120) comprising:
memory storing instructions (FIG. 7, col. 17, lines 3-30, col. 18, lines 53-end, col. 19, lines 1-55, describing memory 440 and computer-executable instructions);
at least one processor comprising processing circuitry (FIG. 7, col. 17, lines 3-30, col. 18, lines 53-end, describing processor(s) 432 and computer-executable instructions);
and
a display panel (FIG. 1 and col. 2, lines 57-end and col. 3, lines 1-9, display 122),
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device (FIG. 7, col. 17, lines 3-30, col. 18, lines 53-end, col. 19, lines 1-55, describing memory 440 and processor(s) 432 and computer-executable instructions for the mobile device 120) to:
by providing, to the display driver circuitry, first data (information for display at col. 2, lines 62-end and col. 3, lines 1-9) for a screen (FIG. 1, screen 130) including a character (col. 3, lines 9-55, text having a text brightness and color 142, 152, 162) having a first brightness level (FIG. 1 and col. 3, lines 9-55 and col. 4, lines 1-60 describing normal brightness mode therein), display, on the display panel, the screen (FIG. 1, col. 3, lines 9-55 and col. 4, lines 1-60 and normal mode 170 displayable text at a normal brightness);
while the screen is displayed based on the first data, identify an event indicating to activate a function for an eye comfort (FIG. 1 and selection of night mode 174 and col. 4, lines 4-40, comfort being described at col. 3, lines 9-35);
based on the event, display, on the display panel, the screen by providing, to the display driver circuitry, second data (information for display at col. 2, lines 62-end and col. 3, lines 1-9) for the screen including the character having a second brightness level higher than the first brightness level (night mode selection at col. 3, lines 9-35 describing higher brightness of text than the original col. 8, lines 49-end and col. 9, lines 1-13).
However, although well known in the art for a display to have driving circuitry, the C Reference does not explicitly disclose display driver circuitry.
In the same field of endeavor, Shah discloses a display device with brightness adjustment (Abstract) having display driver circuitry (Shah, FIG. 1 and col. 4, lines 9-20 column driver 114, row driver 116).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the brightness control display device of the C Reference to incorporate the display driving circuitry as disclosed by Shah because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, display devices with brightness control given the settings and circumstances around usage. The motivation to combine these references would have been to alleviate eye strain and improve image quality (see Shah at least at col. 3, lines 1-16). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, the C Reference in view of Shah discloses the electronic device of claim 1 (see above), wherein the instructions (C Reference, col. 17, lines 3-30), when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively (C Reference, 432), cause the electronic device (C Reference, 120) to:
in response to the event, identify a text object from layout data for the screen (the C Reference, FIGS. 1-2 and 6, and col. 10, lines 38-end and col. 11, lines 1-end, and col. 12, lines 1-end, identification of text and color therein and step 212 at FIG. 2, col. 11, lines 38-62);
based on the character being included in the text object, obtain the second data partially different from the first data (the C Reference, FIGS. 1-2 and 6, and col. 10, lines 38-end and col. 11, lines 1-end, and col. 12, lines 1-end, the color determination is based on the current color scheme and FIG. 6 generally); and
display, on the display panel, the screen by providing, to the display driver circuitry, the second data (the C Reference, FIGS. 2-4 and 6, and step 222 at col. 14, lines 13-24 describing displaying the new text color/brightness therein).
Regarding claim 3, the C Reference in view of Shah discloses the electronic device of claim 1 (see above), wherein the instructions (C Reference, col. 17, lines 3-30), when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively (C Reference, 432), cause the electronic device (C Reference, 120) to:
in response to the event, identify the first brightness level (C Reference, FIGS. 1-2 and selection of night mode 174 and col. 4, lines 4-40, comfort being described at col. 3, lines 9-35, and step 212 at FIG. 2, col. 11, lines 38-62); and based on the first brightness level being lower than a reference brightness level, obtain the second data (C Reference, FIGS. 1-2 and describing the reference threshold contrast ratio at col. 5, lines 4-24 and generally describing various desirable contrast ratios resulting in brightness values at col. 6, lines 16-end and col. 7, lines 1-61).
Regarding claim 4, the C Reference in view of Shah discloses the electronic device of claim 3 (see above), wherein the instructions (C Reference, col. 17, lines 3-30), when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively (C Reference, 432), cause the electronic device (C Reference, 120) to, based on the first brightness level higher than or equal to the reference brightness level, refrain from obtaining the second data (C Reference, FIGS. 1-2 and describing the reference threshold contrast ratio at col. 5, lines 4-24 and generally describing various desirable contrast ratios resulting in brightness values at col. 6, lines 16-end and col. 7, lines 1-61, noting that if the ratio is already met, no adjustment is made, e.g., col. 7, lines 62-end and col. 8, lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 5, the C Reference in view of Shah discloses the electronic device of claim 1 (see above), wherein the display driver circuitry is further configured to: based on the event, obtain third data converted from the second data by processing the second data for changing a brightness level of entire area of the screen from a third brightness level to a fourth brightness level (C Reference, FIGS. 2-4 col. 11, lines 15-63 and further at col. 12, lines 12-end illustrating in between brightnesses for both background and text when mode is selected, background is also adjusted accordingly at col. 3, lines 35-end and col. 4, lines 5-end, additionally at least at col. 5, lines 1-65-); and display, on the display panel, the screen based on the third data (C Reference, FIGS. 2-4 and 6 col. 11, lines 15-63 and further at col. 12, lines 12-end, and blended data produced at col. 5, lines 4-end , col. 6, lines 1-54).
Regarding claim 8, the C Reference in view of Shah discloses the electronic device of claim 5 (see above), wherein the display driver circuitry is configured to obtain the third data by processing the second data for further changing color gamut of the screen (C reference, FIGS. 1-2 and col. 6, lines 25-65, describing shift in the color space from RGB to HSV, as would be understood by one of ordinary skill, would include shift in color gamut, further at FIG. 7 with col. 18, lines 53-end and col. 20, lines 16-end).
Regarding claim 9, the C Reference in view of Shah discloses the electronic device of claim 8 (see above), wherein the color gamut of the screen displayed based on the third data is configured to vary in accordance with time of day displaying the screen (C reference, FIGS. 1-2 and col. 6, lines 25-65, describing shift in the color space from RGB to HSV, as would be understood by one of ordinary skill, would include shift in color gamut, further at FIG. 7 with col. 18, lines 53-end and col. 20, lines 16-end, in view of Shah at FIG. 1 and col. 12, lines 10-25 determination of ambient light and time of day determination therein, further at FIG. 10 and col. 17, lines 1-25, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the color space determination of the C Reference with time of day determination / night mode being triggered for the obvious automation reasons and to reduce eye strain at a specific evening time).
Regarding claim 10, the C Reference in view of Shah discloses the electronic device of claim 5 (see above), wherein the display driver circuitry is configured to obtain the third data by processing the second data for further changing color temperature of the screen (Shah reference at FIGS. 1 and 10 and col. 7, lines 29-end describing adjusting color temperature therein and further at col. 9, lines 17-30 along with Tables 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, the C Reference in view of Shah discloses the electronic device of claim 10 (see above), wherein the color temperature of the screen displayed based on the third data is configured to vary in accordance with time of day displaying the screen (Shah at FIG. 1 and col. 12, lines 10-25 determination of ambient light and time of day determination therein, further at FIG. 10 and col. 17, lines 1-25, in view of temperature determinations at col. 7, lines 29-end describing adjusting color temperature therein and further at col. 9, lines 17-30 along with Tables 1-2).
Regarding claim 13, the C Reference in view of Shah discloses the electronic device of claim 5 (see above), wherein the display driver circuitry is further configured to, based on the event, gradually change, on the display panel, the brightness level of the entire area from the third brightness level to the fourth brightness level (C Reference, FIG. 4 and col. 13, lines 29-63 describing iterations to transition over from one to the next over time until threshold is satisfied).
Regarding claim 14, the C Reference in view of Shah discloses the electronic device of claim 13 (see above), wherein a time in which the brightness level of the entire area is gradually changed from the third brightness level to the fourth brightness level is configured to vary in accordance with whether an illuminance around the electronic device is changed (Shat at FIG. 10 and col. 17, lines 1-25 describing ambient light sensor, in light of C Reference, FIG. 4 and col. 13, lines 29-63 describing iterations to transition over from one to the next over time until threshold is satisfied).
Regarding claim 15, the C Reference in view of Shah discloses the electronic device of claim 1 (see above), wherein the second brightness level is configured to vary in accordance with time of day displaying the screen (Shah at FIG. 1 and col. 12, lines 10-25 determination of ambient light and time of day determination therein, further at FIG. 10 and col. 17, lines 1-25).
Regarding claim 16, the C Reference in view of Shah discloses the electronic device of claim 1 (see above), wherein the character is displayed via data represented in binary code (Shah and FIGS. 1-3 describing tables for color filter determination and using a binary search for determining the filter 136 and 138 at col. 10 lines 9-34, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to manage display data in binary code when determining the filter levels for brightness of the characters to be displayed for the obvious storage search strategy described therein) .
Regarding claim 17, it is similar in scope to claim 1 above, the only difference being claim 17 is directed to a method of operating an electronic device (C Reference and FIGS. 2 and 6 and Abstract generally) . Therefore, claim 17 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, it is similar in scope to claim 2 above. Therefore, claim 18 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, it is similar in scope to claim 3 above. Therefore, claim 19 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 3.
Regarding claim 20, it is similar in scope to claim 4 above. Therefore, claim 20 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 4.
Claims 6-7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the C Reference in view of Shah as applied to claims 5 and 10 above, and further in view of White et al., US 2012/0194565 A1 (hereinafter “White”).
Regarding claim 6, the C Reference in view of Shah discloses the electronic device of claim 5 (see above), and wherein the display driver circuitry is further configured to:
based on the event, identify a fifth brightness level between the third brightness level and the fourth brightness level (C Reference, FIGS. 2-4 col. 11, lines 15-63 and further at col. 12, lines 12-end illustrating in between brightnesses for both background and text);
obtain fourth data converted from the second data by processing the second data for changing the brightness level of the entire area of the screen from the third brightness level to the fifth brightness level (C Reference, FIGS. 2-4 and 6, col. 11, lines 15-63 and further at col. 12, lines 12-end illustrating in between brightnesses for both background and text and blended data produced at col. 5, lines 4-end , col. 6, lines 1-54)).
However, the C Reference in view of Shah does not explicitly disclose wherein the display panel includes light emitting diodes (LEDs), and driving transistors configured to respectively drive the LEDs,
based on providing a second voltage, corresponding to the fourth brightness level, different from a first voltage corresponding to the fifth brightness level, to a gate electrode of at least a portion of the driving transistors, display, on the display panel, the screen.
In the same field of endeavor, White discloses wherein the display panel includes light emitting diodes (LEDs) (FIG. 9 generally illustrating RBGW subpixels and described at [0059]), and driving transistors configured to respectively drive the LEDs (FIGS. 6-7 and drive transistor 70 and [0092]-[0103]),
based on providing a second voltage, corresponding to the fourth brightness level, different from a first voltage corresponding to the fifth brightness level, to a gate electrode of at least a portion of the driving transistors, display, on the display panel, the screen (FIGS. 6-7 and [0102] describing known methods of driving a gate voltage to produce the specific brightness and luminance desired).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the brightness adjusting display device of the C Reference in view of Shah to incorporate the drive scheme and LEDS as disclosed by White because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, brightness adjustable display devices capable of dynamically adjusting colors and luminances. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve power efficiency and luminance stability over time (see White at least at [0004]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 7, the C Reference in view of Shah further in view of White discloses the electronic device of claim 6 (see above), wherein the display driver circuitry is further configured to:
identify the fourth brightness level (C Reference, FIGS. 2-4 and 6, col. 11, lines 15-63 and further at col. 12, lines 12-end illustrating in between brightnesses for both background and text and blended data produced at col. 5, lines 4-end , col. 6, lines 1-54));
in response to the fourth brightness level being lower than a threshold brightness level or a difference value, between the third brightness level and the fourth brightness level, being higher than a reference value (C Reference, FIGS. 2-4 and 6, col. 11, lines 15-63 and further at col. 12, lines 12-end illustrating in between brightnesses for both background and text and blended data produced at col. 5, lines 4-end , col. 6, lines 1-54)), display, on the display, the screen based on providing the second voltage to the gate electrode of at least a portion of the driving transistors (White FIGS. 6-7 and [0102] describing known methods of driving a gate voltage to produce the specific brightness and luminance desired); and
in response to the fourth brightness level being higher than or equal to the threshold brightness level or the difference value lower being than or equal to the reference value (C Reference, FIGS. 2-4 and 6, col. 11, lines 15-63 and further at col. 12, lines 12-end illustrating in between brightnesses for both background and text and blended data produced at col. 5, lines 4-end , col. 6, lines 1-54)), display, on the display panel, the screen based on bypassing providing the second voltage to a gate electrode of each of the driving transistors (White FIGS. 6-7 and [0102] describing known methods of driving a gate voltage to produce the specific brightness and luminance desired).
Regarding claim 12, the C Reference in view of Shah discloses the electronic device of claim 10 (see above), wherein the display driver circuitry is configured to obtain the third data by processing the second data based on time of day (Shah at FIG. 1 and col. 12, lines 10-25 determination of ambient light and time of day determination therein, further at FIG. 10 and col. 17, lines 1-25), for further changing the color temperature (Shah reference at FIGS. 1 and 10 and col. 7, lines 29-end describing adjusting color temperature therein and further at col. 9, lines 17-30 along with Tables 1-2).
However, the C Reference in view of Shah does not explicitly disclose wherein the LEDs includes: first LEDs configured to emit red light ; second LEDs configured to emit blue light; and third LEDs configured to emit green light, and in which at least a portion of the second LEDs has been emitted and a number of the at least the portion of the second LEDs,
In the same field of endeavor, White discloses wherein the LEDs includes: first LEDs configured to emit red light (FIG. 9 and [0059]); second LEDs configured to emit blue light (FIG. 9 and [0059]); and third LEDs configured to emit green light (FIG. 9 and [0059]), adjusting and driving in which at least a portion of the second LEDs has been emitted and a number of the at least the portion of the second LEDs (FIG. 9 and [0059] and FIGS. 6-7 and [0102] describing known methods of driving a gate voltage to produce the specific brightness and luminance desired).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the brightness adjusting display device of the C Reference in view of Shah to incorporate the drive scheme and LEDS as disclosed by White because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, brightness adjustable display devices capable of dynamically adjusting colors and luminances. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve power efficiency and luminance stability over time (see White at least at [0004]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patel et al., US 2015/0220262 A1: Abstract and FIGS. 3-7 describing brightness adjustment and gesture input to produce the attribute;
/SARVESH J NADKARNI/Examiner, Art Unit 2629