CTNF 19/260,080 CTNF 81713 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2, 9-10, 13-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1)/102(a)(2 ) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US 2021/0336230) . In regards to claim 1, Lee discloses a display device, comprising: a display panel (OLED panel 200) having a display area (Fig. 3 and paragraph 81); an anti-reflection layer (color filter) disposed on the display panel and including a plurality of color filters (paragraph 85); and an optical control module (circularly polarizing plate 100) comprising: a first film layer (polarizer 20) having a first optical axis that extends along a stretching axis that extends in a first direction (Figs. 1, 3 and paragraphs 38, 40, 48); and a phase difference layer (retardation film 30) disposed on the anti-reflection layer (Figs. 1, 3 and paragraphs 5, 53, 81). In regards to claim 2, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the phase difference layer is disposed between the first film layer and the anti-reflection layer (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 5, 81, 85; the retardation film (30) is between the polarizer (20) and OLED (200), which includes the color filter). In regards to claim 9, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the phase difference layer comprises a λ/4 phase retardation layer (paragraphs 53-55). In regards to claim 10, Lee discloses the display device of claim 9, wherein an angle between the first optical axis of the first film layer and a second optical axis of the λ/4 phase retardation layer is 45 ± 5° (paragraphs 53-55). In regards to claim 13, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the first film layer comprises a first dye configured to selectively absorb light in a first preset wavelength band (paragraphs 68, 72, 78). In regards to claim 14, Lee discloses the display device of claim 13, wherein the first film layer further comprises a second dye configured to selectively absorb light in a second preset wavelength band that is different from the first preset wavelength band (paragraphs 68, 72, 78). In regards to claim 17, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the optical control module further comprises a surface treatment layer disposed on the first film layer, and wherein the surface treatment layer comprises a hard coating layer (paragraph 29). In regards to claim 18, Lee discloses the display device of claim 17, wherein the surface treatment layer further comprises a low refractive index layer, and/or a high refractive index layer disposed on the hard coating layer (paragraphs 12, 29) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2021/0336230) in view of Ye et al (US 2023/0234345) . In regards to claim 3, Lee does not disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the first film layer has a modulus in a first direction and a modulus in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, wherein the modulus in the first direction is greater than the modulus in the second direction. Ye discloses wherein the first film layer has a modulus in a first direction and a modulus in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, wherein the modulus in the first direction is greater than the modulus in the second direction (Figs. 9-10 and paragraphs 14, 22-23, 37, 39-41, 68). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee with the teachings of Ye, optically anisotropic polymer film, because it can enhance the brightness of the display. In regards to claim 4, Lee does not disclose the display device of claim 3, wherein a difference between the modulus in the first direction and the modulus in the second direction is within a range of from 0.5 GPa to 3.0 GPa, inclusive. Ye discloses wherein a difference between the modulus in the first direction and the modulus in the second direction is within a range of from 0.5 GPa to 3.0 GPa, inclusive (Figs. 9-10 and paragraphs 14, 22-23, 37, 39-41, 68). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee with the teachings of Ye, optically anisotropic polymer film, because it can enhance the brightness of the display. In regards to claim 5, Lee does not disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the first film layer has an average transmittance of visible light of at least 85%. Ye discloses wherein the first film layer has an average transmittance of visible light of at least 85% (Figs. 9-10 and paragraphs 14, 22-23, 37, 39-41, 68). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee with the teachings of Ye, optically anisotropic polymer film, because it can enhance the brightness of the display. In regards to claim 6, Lee does not disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the first film layer lacks a visible light absorption axis. Ye discloses wherein the first film layer lacks a visible light absorption axis (Figs. 9-10 and paragraphs 14, 22-23, 37, 39-41, 68). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee with the teachings of Ye, optically anisotropic polymer film, because it can enhance the brightness of the display. In regards to claim 7, Lee does not disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the first film layer has an elongation ratio within a range from 1.5 times to 3 times, inclusive. Ye discloses wherein the first film layer has an elongation ratio within a range from 1.5 times to 3 times, inclusive (Figs. 9-10 and paragraphs 14, 22-23, 37, 39-41, 68). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee with the teachings of Ye, optically anisotropic polymer film, because it can enhance the brightness of the display. In regards to claim 8, Lee does not disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the first film layer comprises polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), polycarbonate (PC), polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), polystyrene (PS), polypropylene (PP), and/or triacetyl cellulose (TAC). Ye discloses wherein the first film layer comprises polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), polycarbonate (PC), polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), polystyrene (PS), polypropylene (PP), and/or triacetyl cellulose (TAC) (Figs. 9-10 and paragraphs 14, 22-23, 37, 39-41, 68). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee with the teachings of Ye, optically anisotropic polymer film, because it can enhance the brightness of the display . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11-12, 15-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2021/0336230) in view of Eom et al (US 2011/0234079) . In regards to claim 11, Lee does not disclose the display device of claim 9, wherein the phase difference layer further comprises a λ/2 phase retardation layer. Eom discloses wherein the phase difference layer further comprises a λ/2 phase retardation layer (Figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 36-37, 43-46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee with the teachings of Eom, having a second retardation layer, because it reduces interna/back reflection and improves the display. In regards to claim 12, Lee does not disclose the display device of claim 11, wherein an angle between a second optical axis of the λ/4 phase retardation layer and a third optical axis of the λ/2 phase retardation layer is 15 ± 5°. Eom discloses wherein an angle between a second optical axis of the λ/4 phase retardation layer and a third optical axis of the λ/2 phase retardation layer is 15 ± 5° (Figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 36-37, 43-46, 56). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee with the teachings of Eom, having a second retardation layer, because it reduces interna/back reflection and improves the display. In regards to claim 15, Lee does not disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the optical control module further comprises a window layer, wherein the phase difference layer is disposed under the window layer. Eom discloses wherein the optical control module further comprises a window layer, wherein the phase difference layer is disposed under the window layer (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 33; window layer 110). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee with the teachings of Eom, window cover, because it would protect the display from damage. In regards to claim 16, Lee does not disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the optical control module further comprises a second film layer that lacks an optical axis, and wherein the second film layer is disposed below the first film layer, and the phase difference layer is disposed below the second film layer. Eom discloses wherein the optical control module further comprises a second film layer that lacks an optical axis, and wherein the second film layer is disposed below the first film layer, and the phase difference layer is disposed below the second film layer (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 37, 40-41; TAC layer 133). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee with the teachings of Eom, window cover, because it would protect the display from damage. In regards to claim 19, Lee discloses an electronic device, comprising: a processor configured to process the command or data received from the input module and output image data or command data (Fig. 3 and paragraph 81); and a display device (OLED panel 200) configured to implement one or more images by the processor, wherein the display device includes a display panel having a display area (Fig. 3 and paragraph 81); an anti-reflection layer (color filter) disposed on the display panel and including a plurality of color filters (paragraph 85); and an optical control module (circularly polarizing plate 100) including a first film layer (polarizer 20) having a first optical axis that extends along a stretching axis (Figs. 1, 3 and paragraphs 38, 40, 48) and a phase difference layer (retardation film 30) disposed on the anti-reflection layer (Figs. 1, 3 and paragraphs 5, 53, 81). Lee does not disclose an input module configured to receive a command or data. Eom discloses an input module (touch screen panel TSP) configured to receive a command or data (paragraph 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee with the teachings of Eom, input device, because it allows a user to interact directly with the images displayed by the display panel . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2021/0336230) in view of Eom et al (US 2011/0234079) in further view of Ye et al (US 2023/0234345) . In regards to claim 20, Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 19, wherein the phase difference layer is disposed between the first film layer and the anti-reflection layer (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 5, 81, 85; the retardation film (30) is between the polarizer (20) and OLED (200), which includes the color filter). Lee and Eom do not disclose wherein the first film layer has a modulus in a first direction corresponding to the first optical axis and a modulus in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, and wherein the modulus in the first direction is greater than the modulus in the second direction. Ye discloses wherein the first film layer has a modulus in a first direction corresponding to the first optical axis and a modulus in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, and wherein the modulus in the first direction is greater than the modulus in the second direction (Figs. 9-10 and paragraphs 14, 22-23, 39-41, 68). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee and Eom with the teachings of Ye, optically anisotropic polymer film, because it can enhance the brightness of the display . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee et al (US 2019/0384111) discloses a flexible display apparatus includes a bending area and a non-bending area. The flexible display apparatus further includes a display panel and a polarizing structure disposed on the display panel. The polarizing structure includes a λ/4 phase retardation layer, a linear polarizer disposed on the λ/4 phase retardation layer, and a first adhesive structure disposed between the λ/4 phase retardation layer and the linear polarizer. The linear polarizer includes a stretched polymer film. The first adhesive structure is an adhesive layer with a glass transition temperature that is greater than or equal to 40° C. and less than or equal to 150° C. Accordingly, deformation of the λ/4 phase retardation layer may be prevented or reduced when the flexible display apparatus is folded or bent, thereby improving display quality. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Michael Pervan whose telephone number is (571)272-0910. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri between 7:00am - 4:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Benjamin Lee can be reached at (571) 272-2963. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MICHAEL PERVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629 June 12, 2026 Application/Control Number: 19/260,080 Page 2 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 19/260,080 Page 3 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 19/260,080 Page 4 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 19/260,080 Page 5 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 19/260,080 Page 6 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 19/260,080 Page 7 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 19/260,080 Page 8 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 19/260,080 Page 9 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 19/260,080 Page 10 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 19/260,080 Page 11 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 19/260,080 Page 12 Art Unit: 2629