DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Such claim limitations are: “means for receiving” and “means for performing” in claim 17.
The steps 206 and 210 of Figure 6 correspond to the claimed functions of receiving independent CCA decisions and scheduling UEs, recited in claim 17. Paragraphs [0054]-[0056] of the specification, as filed, disclose the operation of the processing system illustrated in Figure 6 and, in particular, the baseband processing unit 30 of the processing system 26 to perform scheduling based on forecasted probabilities of successful reception. Furthermore, Fig. 10 and paragraphs [0070]-[0071] disclose that the baseband processing unit 30 of the processing system 26 includes one or more processors 34 (e.g., CPU(s), ASIC(s), FPGA(s), and/or the like), memory 36, and a network interface 38 (e.g., fiber optic or other wired or wireless interface to the RX/TX processing unit 28). Therefore, the corresponding structure of “means for receiving” and “means for performing” in claim 17 can be found in at least paragraphs [0070]-[0071] of the specification, as filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0366997 (hereinafter “Kim”).
Kim discloses, teaches, or suggests:
regarding claims 1, 12, and 17, a method of operation of a processing system to schedule downlink transmissions to wireless devices in a shared cell in an unlicensed frequency band, the shared cell being served by a plurality of Reception/Transmission, R/T, points (see at least paragraphs 47 and 51-53, in an unlicensed frequency band, a central unit informs all transmission points (TPs) of information on data to be transmitted and scheduling information), the method and the processing system comprising:
at least one processor (see at least Fig. 13 and paragraph 129-131, processor 11); and
memory containing instructions executable by the at least one processor whereby the processing system is operable to (see at least Fig. 13 and paragraph 129-131, memory 12):
receive independent Clear Channel Assessment, CCA, decisions from the plurality of R/T points serving the shared cell, each CCA decision from each R/T point being indicative of whether a CCA succeeded or failed at the R/T point (see at least paragraphs 47 and 51-53, the central unit collects a CCA result from a plurality of TPs, where the TPs belonging to a CoMP cluster use the same physical cell ID corresponding to a shared cell, where a CCA is checked to determine that a different node does not transmit a signal); and
perform scheduling for one or more upcoming Transmit Time Intervals, TTIs, based on the CCA decisions received from the plurality of R/T points serving the shared cell (see at least paragraph 52, the central unit collects a CCA results from TPs at a subframe boundary and selects a TP of which a channel is idle and CSI is good from the plurality of TPs to trigger transmission, where the selected TP performs CCA at a subframe boundary (i.e., one or more upcoming TTIs) to check whether or not a channel is idle and transmits data if it is determined that the channel is idle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0103782 (hereinafter “Xu”).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses all of the subject matter of the invention of claim 1 as described above but Kim does not explicitly disclose determining whether a same R/T point of the plurality of R/T points has failed CCA for a predetermined amount of time; and upon determining that the same R/T point of the plurality of R/T points has failed CCA for the predetermined amount of time, triggering channel reselection.
However, in an analogous art, Xu discloses, teaches, or suggests determining whether a same R/T point of the plurality of R/T points has failed CCA for a predetermined amount of time; and upon determining that the same R/T point of the plurality of R/T points has failed CCA for the predetermined amount of time, triggering channel reselection (see at least paragraphs 130-132, Operator B is not able to clear CCA during CCA opportunities and forcing one of the operators to switch channels to alleviate CCA blocking).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the channel switching technique as taught by Xu in to the invention of Kim in order to alleviate CCA blocking to allow the operator to clear CCA for channel access.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0256306 (hereinafter “Kim_306”).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses all of the subject matter of the invention of claim 1 as described above but Kim does not explicitly disclose receiving received signal strength measurements from the plurality of R/T points for a plurality of channels; and performing channel selection for the shared cell based on the received signal strength measurements.
However, in an analogous art, Kim_306 discloses, teaches, or suggests receiving received signal strength measurements from the plurality of R/T points for a plurality of channels; and performing channel selection for the shared cell based on the received signal strength measurements (see at least paragraphs 126-138, the scheduler receives information including RSRP and RSRQ from each TP, where the scheduler determines TPs and UEs that will be served by the TPs based on the information received from each TP, where the TPs and the UEs that will be served by the TPs utilize at least one channel for CoMP operation).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by Kim_306 in to the invention of Kim in order to efficiently support CoMP operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, 11, and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0174217 (Salem et al.) discloses transmission point grouping based on channel sensing results in the unlicensed spectrum band (see at least Fig. 18 and paragraphs 211-219).
U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0050684 (Ni) discloses a controller configured to simultaneously generate scheduling schemes for a plurality of access points controlled by the controller (see at least paragraphs 245-268).
U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0133177 (Garnett et al.) discloses a computing device configured to collect channel sensing results from multiple sensing devices in a region to determine whether each radio channel is being used (see at least Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and paragraphs 15-21).
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409 10/07/2026