DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-10 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Cho et al (2022/0122602).
Regarding claims 1, 16 and 19, Cho et al teaches a method, comprising:
inputting text having a user utterance into a plurality of models, the plurality of models including a content search intent understanding model, a channel control intent understanding model, and a device task intent understanding model (i.e. receiving a user voice/text input and routing it to different capsule categories that separately handle search-type utterance, channel-related utterance and device/setting utterance) (Figures 1, 6, 9 and 15; Para. 0059-61, 0097-99 and 0116-122);
determining a downstream application based on outputs of the plurality of models and a context of a user device (i.e. using the outputs of content identification and the device’s operating context, functionality selects which downstream handling) (Para. 0069, 0072-73, 0097-99 and 0124);
in response to determining that the downstream application is a voice for device task application, providing an output of the device task intent understanding model to the voice for device task application, the output of the device task intent understanding model comprising one or more detected device task intents (i.e. Device setting mode is determined based on device setting related utterance) (Fig 10; Para. 0133-134); and
changing a graphical user interface of the user device according to the output of the device task intent understanding model (i.e. updating display interface based on commands) (Figure 6, 7, 15; Para. 0065, 0105-107 and 0140-142).
Claims 2 and 17 is rejected wherein determining, based on the output of the device task intent understanding model, that the user utterance corresponds to a first detected device task intent; and determining a first device task page that corresponds to the first detected device task intent based on a set of deep links that maps different device task intents to different device task pages (i.e. deep linking capsule module generated by a model trained to map content or intent to a related application/page) (Figure 1, 7 and 15; Para. 0061, 0121-122);
wherein changing the graphical user interface comprises updating the graphical user interface to display the first device task page (i.e. updating display based on user input selects specific content) (Figures 10; Para. 0131-134) .
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected wherein changing the graphical user interface further comprises: displaying a message in a region of the first device task page, the message indicating that a first detected device task intent can be performed or found on the first device task page (Figures 1, 6-7; Para. 0116-122).
Claim 4 is rejected wherein determining, based on the output of the device task intent understanding model, that the user utterance corresponds to a first detected device task intent and a second detected device task intent; and determining a first device task page that corresponds to the first detected device task intent and a second device task page that corresponds to the second detected device task intent based on a set of deep links that maps different device task intents to different device task pages (i.e. generation of multiple utterances across multiple capsules, each corresponding to a different page/function) (Figure 6, 15);
wherein changing the graphical user interface comprises updating the graphical user interface to display a first selectable link to the first device task page and a second selectable link to the second device task page (i.e. displaying multiple selectable utterance buttons on the screen)(Figures 6, 7, 15; Para. 0116-122, 0152-153).
Claim 5 is rejected wherein changing the graphical user interface further comprises: in response to receiving a user selection of the first selectable link, updating the graphical user interface to display the first device task page (i.e. selecting one utterance item and causing corresponding function to be displayed) (Para. 0110-0111, 0131-132).
Claim 20 corresponds to claims 4-5.
Claim 6 is rejected wherein changing the graphical user interface comprises:
determining that a native media player running on the user device is in playback mode (i.e. the content reproduction mode 926); and updating the graphical user interface in accordance with a type of a detected device task intent, the type being one of: found in both an operating system task tree and an overlay task tree, unique to the operating system task tree, and unique to the overlay task tree (i.e. categorizing utterance into different types) (Figures 11, 15; Para. 0135-138 and 0152-153).
Claim 8 is rejected wherein changing the graphical user interface comprises:
determining that a third-party media application running on the user device is in use and is in playback mode; and updating the graphical user interface in accordance with a type of a detected device task intent, the type being one of: unique to the third-party media application in playback mode, found in both an operating system task tree and an overlay task tree, unique to the operating system task tree, and unique to the overlay task tree (i.e. linked app context in playback, with an app-specialized capsule generating utterances specific to that application, different from setting) (Figure 7; Para. 0121-122).
Claim 9 is rejected wherein changing the graphical user interface comprises:
determining that a native user application running on the user device is in use but is not in playback mode (i.e. menu/setting); and updating the graphical user interface in accordance with a type of a detected device task intent, the type being one of: found in both an operating system task tree and an overlay task tree, unique to the operating system task tree, and unique to the overlay task tree (Figure 7; Para. 0121-122).
Claim 10 is rejected wherein changing the graphical user interface comprises: determining that an electronic program guide running on the user device is in use; and updating the graphical user interface in accordance with a type of a detected device task intent, the type being one of: found in both an operating system task tree and an overlay task tree, unique to the operating system task tree, and unique to the overlay task tree (Figure 1; Para. 0086, 0094).
Claim 15 is rejected wherein detecting a user enters a device task page through an operating system task tree or an overlay task tree; and displaying a message having a voice hint indicating that voice can be used to perform a device task (Figures 1, 13; Para. 0059-61, 0144-147).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al.
Claim 7 is rejected wherein changing the graphical user interface comprises:
determining that a third-party media application running on the user device is in use but is not in playback mode; determining a device task page that corresponds to a detected device task intent based on a set of deep links that maps different device task intents to different device task pages; and updating the graphical user interface (Para. 0121-122) The reference is unclear with respect to display a yes option to go to the device task page and a no option to not go to the device task page. However, the examiner takes official notice that both concepts and advantages are well known and expected in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the reference by specifically displaying a yes option to go to the device task page and a no option to not go to the device task page before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the common knowledge purpose of providing user confirmation of their selection, saving time, improving accuracy and making data easy to act on.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al, in view of DaCosta et al (2007/0124775).
Regarding claim 11, Cho et al teaches limitations discussed with respect to claim 1. The reference is unclear with respect to determining that the one or more detected device task intents include a detected device task intent that is unsupported by the user device; wherein updating the graphical user interface further comprises displaying an error message in a region of the graphical user interface, the error message indicating that the detected device task intent is not available on the user device.
In similar field of endeavor, DaCosta et al teaches determining that the one or more detected device task intents include a detected device task intent that is unsupported by the user device; wherein updating the graphical user interface further comprises displaying an error message in a region of the graphical user interface, the error message indicating that the detected device task intent is not available on the user device (Figure 3, 10; Para. 0042-43, 0060). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the reference before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the common knowledge purpose alerting users of which commands are executed properly without any confusion.
Regarding claim 12, Cho et al teaches limitations discussed with respect to claim 1. The reference is unclear with respect to determining that the one or more detected device task intents include a plurality of detected device task intents that are unsupported by the user device; wherein updating the graphical user interface further comprises displaying an error message in a region of the graphical user interface.
In similar field of endeavor, DaCosta et al teaches determining that the one or more detected device task intents include a plurality of detected device task intents that are unsupported by the user device; wherein updating the graphical user interface further comprises displaying an error message in a region of the graphical user interface (Figure 3, 10; Para. 0042-43, 0060). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the reference before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the common knowledge purpose alerting users of which commands are executed properly without any confusion.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al, in view of Terada et al (2017/0169452).
Regarding claim 13, Cho et al teaches detecting a user enters a device task page through an operating system task tree or an overlay task tree; and user device setup (Para. 0144-147). The reference is unclear with respect to suppress displaying a message having a voice hint in response to determining that the user device was setup less than a number of days ago.
In similar field of endeavor, Terada et al teaches suppress displaying a message having a voice hint in response to determining time that’s less than a number of days ago (Para. 0033, 0055, 0064). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the reference before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the common knowledge purpose of preventing users getting accustomed to alerts.
Regarding claim 14, Cho et al teaches detecting a user enters a device task page through an operating system task tree or an overlay task tree (Para. 0144-147). The reference is unclear with respect to suppress displaying a message having a voice hint in response to determining that the voice hint was displayed less than a number of days ago.
In similar field of endeavor, Terada et al teaches suppress displaying a message having a voice hint in response to determining that the voice hint was displayed less than a number of days ago (Para. 0033, 0055, 0064). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the reference before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the common knowledge purpose of preventing users getting accustomed to alerts.
Conclusion
/KUNAL LANGHNOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425