DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-20 were previously pending. Claims 1-20 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled or newly added. Accordingly, claims 1-20 remain pending and have been examined in this application.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/columns and line numbers or figures in the
references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the
specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific
limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is
respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the
references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as
the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is
reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the
language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant's definition which is not specifically set forth in the disclosure.
Claim Interpretation
rebuttable presumption that the claim element is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C.
112(-f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph). The presumption that 35 U.S.C. 112(-f) (pre-
AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph) is invoked is rebutted when the function is recited with
sufficient structure, material, or acts within the claim itself to entirely perform the recited
function.
presumption that the claim element is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(-f)
(pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph). The presumption that 35 U.S.C. 112(-f) (pre-AIA 35
U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph) is not invoked is rebutted when the claim element recites function
but fails to recite sufficiently definite structure, material or acts to perform that function.
the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood
by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element
(also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the
specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth
paragraph:
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for
“means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term
having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional
language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”)
or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient
structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as
otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do
not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-
AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word
“means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112,
sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with
functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the
generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “operation device” in claims 8-9 and 11-20 and “movement control device” in claims 11-20.
pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the
corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and
equivalents thereof.
112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim
limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112,
sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2)
present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform
the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA
35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
The above-referenced claim limitations has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C.
112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because: “operation device” in claims 8-9 and 11-20 and “movement control device” in claims 11-20 all use a generic placeholder “device” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth
paragraph, the claims have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in
the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding
structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth
paragraph limitation:
Operation device: [0027] - The operation device 20 receives an operation by a passenger of the vehicle 1. The operation device 20 includes a steering device such as the steering wheel, an operation mechanism related to a driving operation such as an accelerator pedal, a brake pedal, a turn signal lever, and a push-button switch, and an input device such as a keyboard, a touch panel, or a switch.
Movement control device: [0013] - The movement control device 12 controls at least deceleration of the vehicle 1. The movement control device 12 means for implementing driving, braking, and turning motions necessary for traveling of the vehicle 1. For example, the movement control device 12 includes a drive motor, a power transmission mechanism, a brake device, a steering device, and the like, and an electronic vehicle control device that controls the drive motor, the power transmission mechanism, the brake device, the steering device, and the like. The movement control device 12 causes the vehicle 1 to travel by, for example, generating power with the drive motor and transmitting the power to wheels via the power transmission mechanism. The power transmission mechanism is, for example, a propeller shaft, a differential gear, a drive shaft, or the like.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner's interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may amend the claim(s) so that it/they will
clearly not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, or present a
sufficient showing that the claim recites/recite sufficient structure, material, or acts for
performing the claimed function to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C.
112, sixth paragraph.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination
Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S. C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues
in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 11 recite “displaying, on the display, that the automatic brake is intentionally applied occurs from the second distance to the third distance” and this aspect appear to be new matter. The specification and figures appear to support displaying that the automatic brake is intentionally applied from the first distance to the second distance (during the first deceleration). The claims previously recite that the vehicle travels at a predetermined speed from the second distance to the third distance, and therefore no braking can occur during this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 11 recite “displaying, on the display, that the automatic brake is intentionally applied occurs from the second distance to the third distance”. The specification and figures appear to support displaying that the automatic brake is intentionally applied from the first distance to the second distance (during the first deceleration). The claims previously recite that the vehicle travels at a predetermined speed from the second distance to the third distance, and therefore no braking can occur during this time. Therefore it is unclear from the claim when this displaying occurs. The metes and bounds of the claim limitations are vague and ill-defined, rendering the claim indefinite. As best understood, the claims will be interpreted such that when the obstacle is closer than the first distance the display operates as claimed. The dependent claims are similarly interpreted.
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being dependent on rejected claims 1 and 11 and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10-13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura (US 2019/0146519 A1) in view of Baek (US 2022/0289176 A1) and Teramura (US 6,324,465 B1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Miura discloses a vehicle control method and a vehicle control device configured to be provided in a vehicle (see at least Fig. 1), the vehicle control method and the vehicle control device comprising: an input circuit configured to be coupled to an operation device to receive an operation of a passenger (see at least Fig. 1, [0049] - The driving operator 80 includes, for example, an accelerator pedal, a brake pedal, a shift lever, a steering wheel, a modified steering wheel, a joystick, and other operators.), and a sensor to detect an outside situation (see at least Fig. 1, [0042] - camera 10, the radar device 12, and the finder 14); and an output circuit configured to be coupled to a display to display information visually recognizable by the passenger (see at least Fig. 1, [0044] - The HMI 30 presents various types of information to an occupant of the subject vehicle M and receives an input operation from the occupant. The HMI 30 includes various display devices, speakers, buzzers, a touch panel, switches, keys, and the like.), and a movement control device to control at least deceleration of the vehicle (see at least Fig. 1, [0062] – brake device 210); when a sensor detects an obstacle located closer than a first distance from the vehicle in a traveling direction of the vehicle, decelerating the vehicle at a first deceleration (see at least Fig. 9, [0040-0041, 0082] - detect distance of the object… a deceleration pattern when the pre-crossing pedestrian Pp has been recognized at a point in time when the prior notice marking CM has been recognized by the marking recognizer 134… the deceleration controller 152 decelerates the subject vehicle up to a third monitoring speed Vw3 in a period T4 – beginning of T4 corresponding to first distance to Pp); thereafter, while the vehicle travels from a second distance to a third distance, each of the second distance and the third distance being between the vehicle and the obstacle, the second distance being shorter than the first distance, the third distance being shorter than the second distance, causing the vehicle to travel at a predetermined speed (see at least Fig. 9, [0082] - causes the subject vehicle M to maintain the third monitoring speed Vw3 (causes the subject vehicle M to travel at a constant speed) in a period T5 - end of T4 and beginning of T5 corresponding to second distance to Pp, beginning of declaration indicated at (3) corresponding to third distance to Pp); and thereafter, when the sensor detects the obstacle located closer than a fourth distance from the vehicle in the traveling direction of the vehicle, the fourth distance being shorter than the third distance, decelerating the vehicle at a second deceleration (see at least Fig. 9, [0082] - when the pedestrian who has been the pre-crossing pedestrian Pp is classified into the crossing pedestrian Pc by the pedestrian classification unit 136, that is, the pedestrian estimated to intend crossing has started crossing, the deceleration controller 152 stops the subject vehicle M in front of the crosswalk – (3) in Fig. 9 indicates a second period of deceleration from a time corresponding to third distance to a time corresponding to a fourth distance); wherein the first deceleration occurs from the first distance to the second distance, traveling of the vehicle at the predetermined speed, and when the obstacle is closer than the third distance, the second deceleration is applied (see at least Fig. 9, [0082]).
Miura does not appear to explicitly disclose while the vehicle travels based on an acceleration and deceleration operation by a passenger; causing a display to display that an automatic brake is intentionally and gently applied; a second deceleration greater than the first deceleration; displaying, on the display, that the automatic brake is intentionally applied occurs from the second distance to the third distance.
Baek, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: while the vehicle travels based on an acceleration and deceleration operation by a passenger (see at least [0053-0055, 0058, 0157] – while the manual driving mode is being performed); a second deceleration greater than the first deceleration (see at least Fig. 5, [0194-0195] - control the emergency braking unit (as seen in Fig. 5, the emergency braking applies a greater deceleration than the pre-braking)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Baek into the invention of Miura with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation of performing the steps while the vehicle travels based on an acceleration and deceleration operation by a passenger is to safely approach crosswalks during various autonomous, semi-autonomous, and manual modes of driving when a pedestrian is detected at the crosswalk. This improves overall safety in all modes of driving. The motivation of providing a second greater deceleration is to perform a pre-braking operation prior to performing a full braking operation, which provides a lighter initial deceleration which will not jerk and cause discomfort for the passengers.
Teramura, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: causing a display to display that an automatic brake is intentionally and gently applied; displaying, on the display, that the automatic brake is intentionally applied occurs from a second distance to a third distance (see at least Figs. 5A-5D, column 10, line 52 – column 11, line 28– display 31 indicates the operation condition of automatic cruising control… LEDs above line SL indicate positive values of target acceleration and LEDs arranged under the line SL represent negative values of target acceleration… if deceleration is demanded the LEDs under the reference line SL are turned on… to inform the driver of the deceleration abilities relative to the lower limit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Teramura into the invention of Miura with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation of doing so is to surely inform the driver that acceleration and deceleration abilities in the automatic cruising reach the upper limit and the lower limit, respectively, by indicating how near the target acceleration approaches to the specified upper limit or the lower limit with the display so the driver can surly recognize the acceleration and deceleration abilities by the automatic cruising apparatus (Teramura – column 11, lines 1-28). Furthermore, displaying an a level of braking in relation to the limit of braking abilities informs the driver so as to improve comfort and alert the driver of the current level of braking.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Miura discloses further comprising: when the sensor detects the obstacle located closer than the first distance from the vehicle in the traveling direction of the vehicle, decelerating the vehicle at the first deceleration (see at least Fig. 9, [0082]).
Miura does not appear to explicitly disclose while the vehicle travels based on the acceleration and deceleration operation by the passenger; causing the display to display that the automatic brake is intentionally applied.
Baek, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: while the vehicle travels based on the acceleration and deceleration operation by the passenger (see at least [0053-0055, 0058, 0157] – while the manual driving mode is being performed).
The motivation to combine Miura and Baek is the same as in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 above.
Teramura, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: causing the display to display that the automatic brake is intentionally applied (see at least Figs. 5A-5D, column 10, line 52 – column 11, line 28– display 31 indicates the operation condition of automatic cruising control… LEDs above line SL indicate positive values of target acceleration and LEDs arranged under the line SL represent negative values of target acceleration… if deceleration is demanded the LEDs under the reference line SL are turned on… to inform the driver of the deceleration abilities relative to the lower limit).
The motivation to combine Miura and Teramura is the same as in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 above.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Miura discloses wherein the vehicle has a first traveling mode and a second traveling mode (see at least [0049, 0051] – automated driving vs when an operator operates a driving operator 80, the driving operator 80 includes, for example, an accelerator pedal, a brake pedal, a shift lever, a steering wheel, a modified steering wheel, a joystick, and other operators), the vehicle autonomously traveling by automatically controlling at least the acceleration, the deceleration and steering in the first traveling mode (see at least [0051] – automated driving), and the vehicle control method further comprises: when the sensor detects the obstacle located closer than the first distance from the vehicle in the traveling direction of the vehicle, decelerating the vehicle at the first deceleration (see at least Fig. 9, [0082]); thereafter, while the vehicle travels from the second distance to the third distance, causing the vehicle to travel at the predetermined speed (see at least Fig. 9, [0082]); and thereafter, when the sensor detects the obstacle located closer than the fourth distance from the vehicle in the traveling direction of the vehicle, decelerating the vehicle at the second deceleration (see at least Fig. 9, [0082]).
Miura does not appear to explicitly disclose at least the deceleration of the vehicle being automatically controlled, the steering and the acceleration of the vehicle not being automatically controlled in the second traveling mode, performing the steps while the vehicle travels based on the acceleration and deceleration operation by the passenger in the second traveling mode; and causing the display to display that the automatic brake is intentionally and gently applied.
Baek, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: at least the deceleration of the vehicle being automatically controlled, the steering and the acceleration of the vehicle not being automatically controlled in the second traveling mode, performing the steps while the vehicle travels based on the acceleration and deceleration operation by the passenger in the second traveling mode (see at least [0045, 0157-0158] – manual driving mode in which the vehicle is driven in response to driver’s driving intention… control the braking system 32 to avoid a collision while performing the manual mode).
The motivation to combine Miura and Baek is the same as in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 above.
Teramura, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: causing the display to display that the automatic brake is intentionally applied (see at least Figs. 5A-5D, column 10, line 52 – column 11, line 28– display 31 indicates the operation condition of automatic cruising control… LEDs above line SL indicate positive values of target acceleration and LEDs arranged under the line SL represent negative values of target acceleration… if deceleration is demanded the LEDs under the reference line SL are turned on… to inform the driver of the deceleration abilities relative to the lower limit).
The motivation to combine Miura and Teramura is the same as in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 above.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Miura discloses further comprising: when the sensor detects the obstacle located closer than the first distance from the vehicle in the traveling direction of the vehicle, decelerating the vehicle at the first deceleration (see at least Fig. 9, [0082]); thereafter, while the vehicle travels from the second distance to the third distance, causing the vehicle to travel at the predetermined speed (see at least Fig. 9, [0082]).
Miura does not appear to explicitly disclose performing the steps while the vehicle travels based on the acceleration and deceleration operation by the passenger; and causing the display to display that the automatic brake is intentionally and gently applied; thereafter, when the sensor does not detect the obstacle located closer than the first distance from the vehicle in the traveling direction of the vehicle, causing the display to stop displaying that the automatic brake is intentionally and gently applied.
Baek, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: performing the steps while the vehicle travels based on the acceleration and deceleration operation by the passenger (see at least [0045, 0157-0158] – manual driving mode in which the vehicle is driven in response to driver’s driving intention… control the braking system 32 to avoid a collision while performing the manual mode).
The motivation to combine Miura and Baek is the same as in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 above.
Teramura, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: causing the display to display that the automatic brake is intentionally and gently applied (see at least Figs. 5A-5D, column 10, line 52 – column 11, line 28 – display 31 indicates the operation condition of automatic cruising control… LEDs above line SL indicate positive values of target acceleration and LEDs arranged under the line SL represent negative values of target acceleration… if deceleration is demanded the LEDs under the reference line SL are turned on… to inform the driver of the deceleration abilities relative to the lower limit); thereafter, when the sensor does not detect the obstacle located closer than the first distance from the vehicle in the traveling direction of the vehicle, causing the display to stop displaying that the automatic brake is intentionally and gently applied (see at least Figs. 5A-5D, column 6, line 53 – column 7, line 30 and column 10, line 52 – column 11, line 28– inter-vehicle distance control ECU 4 measures the actual distance and determines braking demand… display 31 indicates the operation condition of automatic cruising control… LEDs above line SL indicate positive values of target acceleration and LEDs arranged under the line SL represent negative values of target acceleration… if deceleration is demanded the LEDs under the reference line SL are turned on… to inform the driver of the deceleration abilities relative to the lower limit – when no LEDs above or below line SL are illuminated).
The motivation to combine Miura and Teramura is the same as in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 above.
Claims 4-6 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura in view of Baek, Teramura, and Zhang (JP 2018-74286 A, a machine translation was provided with the Office action dated 6/29/2026 and is being relied upon).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Miura discloses wherein the sensor includes a camera to capture at least part of surroundings of the vehicle as a video (see at least [0039] - camera).
Miura does not appear to explicitly disclose the display displays the video, an image of the video including the obstacle.
Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the sensor includes a camera to capture at least part of surroundings of the vehicle as a video (see at least [0014] – camera 11 is a video camera capturing images of the surroundings of the vehicle 20), and the display device displays the video including the obstacle (see at least Figs. 6A-11B, [0022] – an obstacle in the video captured by the camera 11 is displayed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Zhang into the invention of Miura with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation of doing so is to highlight or otherwise emphasize the presence of an obstacle to more effectively draw the driver’s attention to the obstacle, thereby enhancing the driving assistance effect (Zhang - [0033, 0048]). This would improve driving safety by alerting or otherwise indicating to the driver that an obstacle is present.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Miura does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the obstacle displayed on a screen of the display is highlighted.
Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the obstacle displayed on a screen of the display is highlighted (see at least Figs. 6A-11B, [0033, 0042-0043, 0048] – highlight and display obstacles).
The motivation to combine Miura and Zhang is the same as in the rejection of claims 4 and 14 above.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Miura discloses further comprising: when the sensor detects the obstacle located closer than the first distance from the vehicle in the traveling direction of the vehicle, decelerating the vehicle at the first deceleration (see at least Fig. 9, [0082]); and thereafter, while the vehicle travels from the second distance to the third distance, causing the vehicle to travel at the predetermined speed (see at least Fig. 9, [0082]).
Miura does not appear to explicitly disclose performing the steps while the vehicle travels based on the acceleration and deceleration operation by the passenger; and causing the display to display that the automatic brake is intentionally and gently and to display the video, the image of the video including the obstacle.
Baek, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: performing the steps while the vehicle travels based on the acceleration and deceleration operation by the passenger (see at least [0045, 0157-0158] – manual driving mode in which the vehicle is driven in response to driver’s driving intention… control the braking system 32 to avoid a collision while performing the manual mode).
The motivation to combine Miura and Baek is the same as in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 above.
Teramura, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: causing the display to display that the automatic brake is intentionally and gently applied (see at least Figs. 5A-5D, column 10, line 52 – column 11, line 28– display 31 indicates the operation condition of automatic cruising control… LEDs above line SL indicate positive values of target acceleration and LEDs arranged under the line SL represent negative values of target acceleration… if deceleration is demanded the LEDs under the reference line SL are turned on… to inform the driver of the deceleration abilities relative to the lower limit).
The motivation to combine Miura and Teramura is the same as in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 above.
Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: display the video, the image of the video including the obstacle (see at least Figs. 6A-11B, [0033, 0042-0043, 0048] – highlight and display obstacles).
The motivation to combine Miura and Zhang is the same as in the rejection of claims 4 and 14 above.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura in view of Baek, Teramura, and Jiao (CN 108189709 A, a machine translation was provided with the Office action dated 6/29/2026 and is being relied upon).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Miura discloses further comprising: when the sensor detects the obstacle located closer than the first distance from the vehicle in the traveling direction of the vehicle, decelerating the vehicle at the first deceleration (see at least Fig. 9, [0082]); and thereafter, while the vehicle travels from the second distance to the third distance, causing the vehicle to travel at the predetermined speed (see at least Fig. 9, [0082]) and causing the display to display that the automatic brake is intentionally and gently applied and to display an indication prompting the passenger to perform a deceleration operation.
Miura does not appear to explicitly disclose performing the steps while the vehicle travels based on the acceleration and deceleration operation by the passenger; and causing the display to display that the automatic brake is intentionally and gently applied and to display an indication prompting the passenger to perform a deceleration operation.
Baek, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: performing the steps while the vehicle travels based on the acceleration and deceleration operation by the passenger (see at least [0045, 0157-0158] – manual driving mode in which the vehicle is driven in response to driver’s driving intention… control the braking system 32 to avoid a collision while performing the manual mode).
The motivation to combine Miura and Baek is the same as in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 above.
Teramura, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: causing the display to display that the automatic brake is intentionally and gently applied (see at least Figs. 5A-5D, column 10, line 52 – column 11, line 28– display 31 indicates the operation condition of automatic cruising control… LEDs above line SL indicate positive values of target acceleration and LEDs arranged under the line SL represent negative values of target acceleration… if deceleration is demanded the LEDs under the reference line SL are turned on… to inform the driver of the deceleration abilities relative to the lower limit).
The motivation to combine Miura and Teramura is the same as in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 above.
Jiao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: display an indication prompting the passenger to perform a deceleration operation (see at least [0119-0120] – when the distance between the vehicle and the obstacle ahead detected by ADAS is less than 100m, the ADAS system will continuously prompt the driver to manually brake and slow down to ensure a safe distance through the in-vehicle navigation display or alarm beep).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Jiao into the invention of Miura with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation of doing so is to provide assistance to supplement the driver in complex vehicle operation processes, greatly improving driving safety and comfort, and effectively preventing car accidents (Jiao - [0122]). This also enables the automatic braking and manual braking to be switched feely without any signal conflict, without damage to the vehicle, and without any impact on the driver’s active control of the braking system (Jiao - [0124]). This alerts the driver of a possible collision and allows the driver to takeover braking, which gives the driver a greater sense of control over preventing the collision and improves comfort of the driver.
Claims 8-9 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura in view of Baek, Teramura, and Cai (CN 115402098 A, a machine translation was provided with the Office action dated 6/29/2026 and is being relied upon).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Miura discloses further comprising: when the sensor detects the obstacle located closer than the first distance from the vehicle in the traveling direction of the vehicle, decelerating the vehicle at the first deceleration (see at least Fig. 9, [0082]); and thereafter, while the vehicle travels from the second distance to the third distance, causing the vehicle to travel at the predetermined speed (see at least Fig. 9, [0082]).
Miura does not appear to explicitly disclose performing the steps while the vehicle travels based on the acceleration and deceleration operation by the passenger; and causing the display to display that the automatic brake is intentionally and gently applied and receiving, in a suppressed manner, an acceleration operation by the passenger on an operation device.
Baek, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: performing the steps while the vehicle travels based on the acceleration and deceleration operation by the passenger (see at least [0045, 0157-0158] – manual driving mode in which the vehicle is driven in response to driver’s driving intention… control the braking system 32 to avoid a collision while performing the manual mode).
The motivation to combine Miura and Baek is the same as in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 above.
Teramura, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: causing the display to display that the automatic brake is intentionally and gently applied (see at least Figs. 5A-5D, column 10, line 52 – column 11, line 28– display 31 indicates the operation condition of automatic cruising control… LEDs above line SL indicate positive values of target acceleration and LEDs arranged under the line SL represent negative values of target acceleration… if deceleration is demanded the LEDs under the reference line SL are turned on… to inform the driver of the deceleration abilities relative to the lower limit).
The motivation to combine Miura and Teramura is the same as in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 above.
Cai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: receiving, in a suppressed manner, an acceleration operation by the passenger on an operation device (see at least [n0036] – if there are obstacles within the safety recognition range, an acceleration limit command is issued to prevent the driver from accidentally operating the accelerator of the vehicle which could lead to abnormal acceleration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Cai into the invention of Miura with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation of doing so is to prevent the driver from accidentally operating the accelerator of the vehicle when there are obstacles within the safety recognition range, which can lead to abnormal acceleration and potentially cause a traffic accident (Cai - [n0036]). Implementing this feature would improve safety in the presence of obstacles.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Miura discloses further comprising: when the sensor detects the obstacle located closer than the first distance from the vehicle in the traveling direction of the vehicle, decelerating the vehicle at the first deceleration (see at least Fig. 9, [0082]); and thereafter, while the vehicle travels from the second distance to the third distance, causing the vehicle to travel at the predetermined speed (see at least Fig. 9, [0082]).
Miura does not appear to explicitly disclose performing the steps while the vehicle travels based on the acceleration and deceleration operation by the passenger; and causing the display to display that the automatic brake is intentionally and gently applied and receiving, in the suppressed manner, the acceleration operation by the passenger on the operation device, and causing the display to display that a reception of the acceleration operation by the passenger is limited.
Baek, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: performing the steps while the vehicle travels based on the acceleration and deceleration operation by the passenger (see at least [0045, 0157-0158] – manual driving mode in which the vehicle is driven in response to driver’s driving intention… control the braking system 32 to avoid a collision while performing the manual mode).
The motivation to combine Miura and Baek is the same as in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 above.
Teramura, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: causing the display to display that the automatic brake is intentionally and gently applied (see at least Figs. 5A-5D, column 10, line 52 – column 11, line 28– display 31 indicates the operation condition of automatic cruising control… LEDs above line SL indicate positive values of target acceleration and LEDs arranged under the line SL represent negative values of target acceleration… if deceleration is demanded the LEDs under the reference line SL are turned on… to inform the driver of the deceleration abilities relative to the lower limit).
The motivation to combine Miura and Teramura is the same as in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 above.
Cai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: receiving, in the suppressed manner, the acceleration operation by the passenger on the operation device (see at least [n0036] – if there are obstacles within the safety recognition range, an acceleration limit command is issued to prevent the driver from accidentally operating the accelerator of the vehicle which could lead to abnormal acceleration), and causing the display to display that a reception of the acceleration operation by the passenger is limited (see at least [n0007, n0021, 0073] – when there is an obstacle within the safe recognition range, display the acceleration limit of the vehicle).
The motivation to combine Miura and Cai is the same as in the rejection of claims 8 and 18 above.
Response to Arguments
In light of the amendments to the claims, the previous claim objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAITLIN R MCCLEARY/Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669