DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/07/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 11-13, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atkins et al (US 2019/0225322 A1) in view of Dietrich (US 2016/0023527 A1) and Roberts et al. (US 2019/0257638 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Atkins discloses a pylon tracking system for a tiltrotor aircraft (Figs. 1-3, “conversion system” 300) including
first and second pylons (Figs. 1-2 at 110 and 112, Figs. 3, “pylons”, 306) each having
a mechanically redundant pylon conversion actuator (Fig. 3, “actuators”, 304; “redundant conversion system actuator”, Para. [0021]) the pylon tracking system comprising:
a position sensor system including a first rotary position sensor coupled to the first drive system of the first pylon, a third rotary position sensor coupled to the first drive system of the second pylon (“Referring to FIG. 3, tiltrotor aircraft 100 includes conversion system 300. Conversion system 300 monitors the pylon position of each pylon during flight and during a transition between airplane mode and helicopter mode. Conversion system 300 includes flight control computer 302 operatively connected to actuators 304. Actuators 304 are attached to pylons 306. Pylons 306 include both pylon 118 and pylon 124. Actuators 304 include a separate set of actuators connected to each pylon 118 and 124. Transducers 308 are connected to both flight control computer 302 and actuators 304. Based on a pylon command received from the pilot or initiated by flight control algorithms that dynamically establish necessary pylon angles based on current flight conditions, the flight control computer signals the set of actuators to impart movement on the pylons to transition the pylons between a helicopter position and an airplane position or maintain flight. The pylon command may be derived by a desired pylon position or a desired pylon rate. Conversion system 300 utilizes transducers 308 which measure the pylon angle of pylons 306. Based on the current measured pylon positions received from transducers 308 and the pylon command received from the flight crew or flight algorithms, flight control computer 302 determines a rate vector to be imparted on pylons 306 in order to move each pylon to the desired pylon position.”, Paras. [0019]-[0020])
a flight control computer configured for cascaded communication with the position sensor system (“flight control computer signals”, see Paras. [0019]-[0020] above).
Atkins does not expressly disclose the pylon conversion actuator with a first drive system and a second drive system.
However, in an analogous tiltrotor art, Dietrich discloses the pylon conversion actuator with a first drive system and a second drive system (“As a back-up, a plurality of machines 22, e.g., motor/generators, that are electrically coupled to a plurality of battery packs 17 may be provided to transform electrical power from the battery packs 17 into mechanical power via the drive shaft 18.”, Para. [0036]; note, Fig. 9 shows pylons electrically coupled to battery packs 17 and “machines” 22; further, Dietrich discloses redundant actuators: “Backup pitch control may be achieved through redundant actuators on the pitch vane 13, which are capable of back-driving the primary actuators 13.”, Para. [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins to further include a first drive system and a second drive system, as taught by Dietrich, with a reasonable expectation for success, to provide back-up power in the propulsion drive system in case of failure of the primary power system, providing a safer system. Further, in general, it is good engineering practice to provide redundancy in systems to reduce risk and provide a safer system for the pilot, passengers, or persons near unmanned aerial systems.
Atkins does not expressly disclose a second rotary position sensor coupled to the second drive system of the first pylon, a fourth rotary position sensor coupled to the second drive system of the second pylon, since Dietrich above is relied upon for teaching a second, back-up drive system.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins further including a second rotary position sensor coupled to the second drive system of the first pylon, a fourth rotary position sensor coupled to the second drive system of the second pylon, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device, such as the motors, actuators, and sensors of Atkins to provide redundancy, involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Atkins does not expressly disclose wherein, the flight control computer provides at least one excitation voltage to the position sensor system and receives at least one set of sine and cosine feedback voltages from the position sensor system to identify a differential pylon angle between the first and second pylons during pylon conversion operations.
However, in an analogous rotor aircraft art, Roberts teaches the flight control computer provides at least one excitation voltage to the position sensor system and receives at least one set of sine and cosine feedback voltages from the position sensor system to identify a differential pylon angle between the first and second pylons during pylon conversion operations (Fig. 7B; “FIG. 7B illustrates aspects of LVDT-resolver measurement system 700. The position of displacement core 715 within displacement shaft 720, the excitation voltage provided by the alternating-current power source 740, and the transformation ratio across displacement shaft 720 determine the voltage V.sub.a across secondary linear winding 725. Voltage V.sub.a is used as the excitation voltage for angular displacement sensor 735, which is configured to produce two output voltages. The first output voltage V.sub.sin from angular displacement sensor 735 is produced at first angular sensor winding 745 and is proportional to voltage V.sub.a and the sine of the measured angle, and the second output voltage V.sub.cos is produced at second angular sensor winding 750 and is proportional to V.sub.a and the cosine of the measured angle. The coarse measurement is determined from the magnitude of the resultant of V.sub.sin and V.sub.cos, √{square root over ((V.sub.sin.sup.2α+V.sub.cos.sup.2α))}, where α is the angle formed by the orientation of screw 710 within angular displacement sensor 735 relative to first angular sensor winding 745 and second angular sensor winding 750, V.sub.sin=A*B*sin(α) cos(ωt), and V.sub.cos=A*B*cos(α) cos(ωt). The fine measurement is determined from the four-quadrant arctangent of the ratio V.sub.sin/V.sub.cos.”, Para. [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins further including the flight control computer provides at least one excitation voltage to the position sensor system and receives at least one set of sine and cosine feedback voltages from the position sensor system to identify a differential pylon angle between the first and second pylons during pylon conversion operations, as taught by Roberts, with a reasonable expectation for success, to provide more precise and accurate measurements, as discussed by Roberts, Paras. [0004]-[0014].
Regarding claim 2, Dietrich further discloses wherein the first drive system of each pylon is a primary drive system and the second drive system of each pylon is a backup drive system (“As a back-up, a plurality of machines 22, e.g., motor/generators, that are electrically coupled to a plurality of battery packs 17 may be provided to transform electrical power from the battery packs 17 into mechanical power via the drive shaft 18.”, Para. [0036]; note, Fig. 9 shows pylons electrically coupled to battery packs 17 and “machines” 22; further, Dietrich discloses redundant actuators: “Backup pitch control may be achieved through redundant actuators on the pitch vane 13, which are capable of back-driving the primary actuators 13.”, Para. [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins to further include wherein the first drive system of each pylon is a primary drive system and the second drive system of each pylon is a backup drive system, as taught by Dietrich, with a reasonable expectation for success, to provide back-up power in the propulsion drive system in case of failure of the primary power system, providing a safer system. Further, in general, it is good engineering practice to provide redundancy in systems to reduce risk and provide a safer system for the pilot, passengers, or persons near unmanned aerial systems.
Regarding claim 3, Roberts further discloses wherein each of the rotary position sensors is a resolver (“FIG. 7A illustrates aspects of an embodiment of the present invention using a resolver and a linear variable differential transformer (LVDT); FIG. 7B illustrates other aspects of an embodiment of the present invention using a resolver and an linear variable differential transformer (LVDT); FIG. 8 shows an embodiment of the present invention using an rotary variable differential transformer (RVDT) and a multipole resolver”, Paras. [0024]-[0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins wherein each of the rotary position sensors is a resolver, as taught by Roberts, with a reasonable expectation for success, to provide more precise and accurate measurements, as discussed by Roberts, Paras. [0004]-[0014].
Regarding claim 4, Roberts further discloses wherein the flight control computer is configured for vertically cascaded communication with the position sensor system; and wherein, the flight control computer provides excitation voltages to the first and third rotary position sensors and receives sine and cosine feedback voltages from the second and fourth rotary position sensors to identify the differential pylon angle between the first and second pylons during pylon conversion operations (Fig. 7B; “FIG. 7B illustrates aspects of LVDT-resolver measurement system 700. The position of displacement core 715 within displacement shaft 720, the excitation voltage provided by the alternating-current power source 740, and the transformation ratio across displacement shaft 720 determine the voltage V.sub.a across secondary linear winding 725. Voltage V.sub.a is used as the excitation voltage for angular displacement sensor 735, which is configured to produce two output voltages. The first output voltage V.sub.sin from angular displacement sensor 735 is produced at first angular sensor winding 745 and is proportional to voltage V.sub.a and the sine of the measured angle, and the second output voltage V.sub.cos is produced at second angular sensor winding 750 and is proportional to V.sub.a and the cosine of the measured angle. The coarse measurement is determined from the magnitude of the resultant of V.sub.sin and V.sub.cos, √{square root over ((V.sub.sin.sup.2α+V.sub.cos.sup.2α))}, where α is the angle formed by the orientation of screw 710 within angular displacement sensor 735 relative to first angular sensor winding 745 and second angular sensor winding 750, V.sub.sin=A*B*sin(α) cos(ωt), and V.sub.cos=A*B*cos(α) cos(ωt). The fine measurement is determined from the four-quadrant arctangent of the ratio V.sub.sin/V.sub.cos.”, Para. [0052]; note, Atkins Paras. [0019]-[0020] is relied upon above for using sensors to compare angles between two pylons).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins wherein the flight control computer is configured for vertically cascaded communication with the position sensor system; and wherein, the flight control computer provides excitation voltages to the first and third rotary position sensors and receives sine and cosine feedback voltages from the second and fourth rotary position sensors to identify the differential pylon angle between the first and second pylons during pylon conversion operations, as taught by Roberts, with a reasonable expectation for success, to provide more precise and accurate measurements, as discussed by Roberts, Paras. [0004]-[0014].
Regarding claim 5, Roberts further discloses wherein the first rotary position sensor is configured to provide sine and cosine excitation voltages to the second rotary position sensor; and wherein, the third rotary position sensor is configured to provide sine and cosine excitation voltages to the fourth rotary position sensor (Fig. 7B; “FIG. 7B illustrates aspects of LVDT-resolver measurement system 700. The position of displacement core 715 within displacement shaft 720, the excitation voltage provided by the alternating-current power source 740, and the transformation ratio across displacement shaft 720 determine the voltage V.sub.a across secondary linear winding 725. Voltage V.sub.a is used as the excitation voltage for angular displacement sensor 735, which is configured to produce two output voltages. The first output voltage V.sub.sin from angular displacement sensor 735 is produced at first angular sensor winding 745 and is proportional to voltage V.sub.a and the sine of the measured angle, and the second output voltage V.sub.cos is produced at second angular sensor winding 750 and is proportional to V.sub.a and the cosine of the measured angle. The coarse measurement is determined from the magnitude of the resultant of V.sub.sin and V.sub.cos, √{square root over ((V.sub.sin.sup.2α+V.sub.cos.sup.2α))}, where α is the angle formed by the orientation of screw 710 within angular displacement sensor 735 relative to first angular sensor winding 745 and second angular sensor winding 750, V.sub.sin=A*B*sin(α) cos(ωt), and V.sub.cos=A*B*cos(α) cos(ωt). The fine measurement is determined from the four-quadrant arctangent of the ratio V.sub.sin/V.sub.cos.”, Para. [0052]; note, Atkins Paras. [0019]-[0020] is relied upon above for using sensors to compare angles between two pylons).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins wherein the first rotary position sensor is configured to provide sine and cosine excitation voltages to the second rotary position sensor; and wherein, the third rotary position sensor is configured to provide sine and cosine excitation voltages to the fourth rotary position sensor, as taught by Roberts, with a reasonable expectation for success, to provide more precise and accurate measurements, as discussed by Roberts, Paras. [0004]-[0014].
Regarding claim 7, Roberts further teaches wherein the sine and cosine feedback voltages from the second rotary position sensor represent an absolute angular position of the first pylon; and wherein, the sine and cosine feedback voltages from the fourth rotary position sensor represent an absolute angular position of the second pylon (Fig. 5; “A fine relative measurement 510 and a coarse absolute measurement 515 are made within the displacement range. Fine relative measurement 510 and coarse absolute measurement 515 are combined in combination operation 520. The result is a single precise and accurate absolute measurement, combined measurement 525.”, Para. [0044]; note, Atkins Paras. [0019]-[0020] is relied upon above for using sensors to compare angles between two pylons).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins wherein the sine and cosine feedback voltages from the second rotary position sensor represent an absolute angular position of the first pylon; and wherein, the sine and cosine feedback voltages from the fourth rotary position sensor represent an absolute angular position of the second pylon, as taught by Roberts, with a reasonable expectation for success, to provide more precise and accurate measurements, as discussed by Roberts, Paras. [0004]-[0014].
Regarding claim 8, Roberts further teaches wherein the flight control computer is configured for horizontally cascaded communication with the position sensor system; and wherein, the flight control computer provides excitation voltages to the first and second rotary position sensors and receives sine and cosine feedback voltages from the third and fourth rotary position sensors to identify the differential pylon angle between the first and second pylons during pylon conversion operations (Fig. 7B; “FIG. 7B illustrates aspects of LVDT-resolver measurement system 700. The position of displacement core 715 within displacement shaft 720, the excitation voltage provided by the alternating-current power source 740, and the transformation ratio across displacement shaft 720 determine the voltage V.sub.a across secondary linear winding 725. Voltage V.sub.a is used as the excitation voltage for angular displacement sensor 735, which is configured to produce two output voltages. The first output voltage V.sub.sin from angular displacement sensor 735 is produced at first angular sensor winding 745 and is proportional to voltage V.sub.a and the sine of the measured angle, and the second output voltage V.sub.cos is produced at second angular sensor winding 750 and is proportional to V.sub.a and the cosine of the measured angle. The coarse measurement is determined from the magnitude of the resultant of V.sub.sin and V.sub.cos, √{square root over ((V.sub.sin.sup.2α+V.sub.cos.sup.2α))}, where α is the angle formed by the orientation of screw 710 within angular displacement sensor 735 relative to first angular sensor winding 745 and second angular sensor winding 750, V.sub.sin=A*B*sin(α) cos(ωt), and V.sub.cos=A*B*cos(α) cos(ωt). The fine measurement is determined from the four-quadrant arctangent of the ratio V.sub.sin/V.sub.cos.”, Para. [0052]; note, Atkins Paras. [0019]-[0020] is relied upon above for using sensors to compare angles between two pylons).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins wherein the flight control computer is configured for horizontally cascaded communication with the position sensor system; and wherein, the flight control computer provides excitation voltages to the first and second rotary position sensors and receives sine and cosine feedback voltages from the third and fourth rotary position sensors to identify the differential pylon angle between the first and second pylons during pylon conversion operations, as taught by Roberts, with a reasonable expectation for success, to provide more precise and accurate measurements, as discussed by Roberts, Paras. [0004]-[0014].
Regarding claim 9, Roberts further teaches wherein the first rotary position sensor is configured to provide sine and cosine excitation voltages to the third rotary position sensor; and wherein, the second rotary position sensor is configured to provide sine and cosine excitation voltages to the fourth rotary position sensor (Fig. 7B; “FIG. 7B illustrates aspects of LVDT-resolver measurement system 700. The position of displacement core 715 within displacement shaft 720, the excitation voltage provided by the alternating-current power source 740, and the transformation ratio across displacement shaft 720 determine the voltage V.sub.a across secondary linear winding 725. Voltage V.sub.a is used as the excitation voltage for angular displacement sensor 735, which is configured to produce two output voltages. The first output voltage V.sub.sin from angular displacement sensor 735 is produced at first angular sensor winding 745 and is proportional to voltage V.sub.a and the sine of the measured angle, and the second output voltage V.sub.cos is produced at second angular sensor winding 750 and is proportional to V.sub.a and the cosine of the measured angle. The coarse measurement is determined from the magnitude of the resultant of V.sub.sin and V.sub.cos, √{square root over ((V.sub.sin.sup.2α+V.sub.cos.sup.2α))}, where α is the angle formed by the orientation of screw 710 within angular displacement sensor 735 relative to first angular sensor winding 745 and second angular sensor winding 750, V.sub.sin=A*B*sin(α) cos(ωt), and V.sub.cos=A*B*cos(α) cos(ωt). The fine measurement is determined from the four-quadrant arctangent of the ratio V.sub.sin/V.sub.cos.”, Para. [0052]; note, Atkins Paras. [0019]-[0020] is relied upon above for using sensors to compare angles between two pylons).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins wherein the first rotary position sensor is configured to provide sine and cosine excitation voltages to the third rotary position sensor; and wherein, the second rotary position sensor is configured to provide sine and cosine excitation voltages to the fourth rotary position sensor, as taught by Roberts, with a reasonable expectation for success, to provide more precise and accurate measurements, as discussed by Roberts, Paras. [0004]-[0014].
Regarding claim 11, Roberts further teaches wherein the sine and cosine feedback voltages from the third rotary position sensor represent a differential angular displacement of the first and third rotary position sensors; and wherein, the sine and cosine feedback voltages from the fourth rotary position sensor represent a differential angular displacement of the second and fourth rotary position sensors (Fig. 7B; “FIG. 7B illustrates aspects of LVDT-resolver measurement system 700. The position of displacement core 715 within displacement shaft 720, the excitation voltage provided by the alternating-current power source 740, and the transformation ratio across displacement shaft 720 determine the voltage V.sub.a across secondary linear winding 725. Voltage V.sub.a is used as the excitation voltage for angular displacement sensor 735, which is configured to produce two output voltages. The first output voltage V.sub.sin from angular displacement sensor 735 is produced at first angular sensor winding 745 and is proportional to voltage V.sub.a and the sine of the measured angle, and the second output voltage V.sub.cos is produced at second angular sensor winding 750 and is proportional to V.sub.a and the cosine of the measured angle. The coarse measurement is determined from the magnitude of the resultant of V.sub.sin and V.sub.cos, √{square root over ((V.sub.sin.sup.2α+V.sub.cos.sup.2α))}, where α is the angle formed by the orientation of screw 710 within angular displacement sensor 735 relative to first angular sensor winding 745 and second angular sensor winding 750, V.sub.sin=A*B*sin(α) cos(ωt), and V.sub.cos=A*B*cos(α) cos(ωt). The fine measurement is determined from the four-quadrant arctangent of the ratio V.sub.sin/V.sub.cos.”, Para. [0052]; note, Atkins Paras. [0019]-[0020] is relied upon above for using sensors to compare angles between two pylons).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins wherein the sine and cosine feedback voltages from the third rotary position sensor represent a differential angular displacement of the first and third rotary position sensors; and wherein, the sine and cosine feedback voltages from the fourth rotary position sensor represent a differential angular displacement of the second and fourth rotary position sensors, as taught by Roberts, with a reasonable expectation for success, to provide more precise and accurate measurements, as discussed by Roberts, Paras. [0004]-[0014].
Regarding claim 12, Roberts further discloses wherein the flight control computer is configured for fully cascaded communication with the position sensor system; and wherein, the flight control computer provides the at least one excitation voltage to the first rotary position sensor and receives sine and cosine feedback voltages from the fourth rotary position sensors to identify the differential pylon angle between the first and second pylons during pylon conversion operations (Fig. 7B; “FIG. 7B illustrates aspects of LVDT-resolver measurement system 700. The position of displacement core 715 within displacement shaft 720, the excitation voltage provided by the alternating-current power source 740, and the transformation ratio across displacement shaft 720 determine the voltage V.sub.a across secondary linear winding 725. Voltage V.sub.a is used as the excitation voltage for angular displacement sensor 735, which is configured to produce two output voltages. The first output voltage V.sub.sin from angular displacement sensor 735 is produced at first angular sensor winding 745 and is proportional to voltage V.sub.a and the sine of the measured angle, and the second output voltage V.sub.cos is produced at second angular sensor winding 750 and is proportional to V.sub.a and the cosine of the measured angle. The coarse measurement is determined from the magnitude of the resultant of V.sub.sin and V.sub.cos, √{square root over ((V.sub.sin.sup.2α+V.sub.cos.sup.2α))}, where α is the angle formed by the orientation of screw 710 within angular displacement sensor 735 relative to first angular sensor winding 745 and second angular sensor winding 750, V.sub.sin=A*B*sin(α) cos(ωt), and V.sub.cos=A*B*cos(α) cos(ωt). The fine measurement is determined from the four-quadrant arctangent of the ratio V.sub.sin/V.sub.cos.”, Para. [0052]; note, Atkins Paras. [0019]-[0020] is relied upon above for using sensors to compare angles between two pylons).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins wherein the flight control computer is configured for fully cascaded communication with the position sensor system; and wherein, the flight control computer provides the at least one excitation voltage to the first rotary position sensor and receives sine and cosine feedback voltages from the fourth rotary position sensors to identify the differential pylon angle between the first and second pylons during pylon conversion operations, as taught by Roberts, with a reasonable expectation for success, to provide more precise and accurate measurements, as discussed by Roberts, Paras. [0004]-[0014].
Regarding claim 13, Roberts further discloses wherein the first rotary position sensor is configured to provide sine and cosine excitation voltages to the second rotary position sensor; wherein, the second rotary position sensor is configured to provide sine and cosine excitation voltages to the third rotary position sensor; and wherein, the third rotary position sensor is configured to provide sine and cosine excitation voltages to the fourth rotary position sensor (Fig. 7B; “FIG. 7B illustrates aspects of LVDT-resolver measurement system 700. The position of displacement core 715 within displacement shaft 720, the excitation voltage provided by the alternating-current power source 740, and the transformation ratio across displacement shaft 720 determine the voltage V.sub.a across secondary linear winding 725. Voltage V.sub.a is used as the excitation voltage for angular displacement sensor 735, which is configured to produce two output voltages. The first output voltage V.sub.sin from angular displacement sensor 735 is produced at first angular sensor winding 745 and is proportional to voltage V.sub.a and the sine of the measured angle, and the second output voltage V.sub.cos is produced at second angular sensor winding 750 and is proportional to V.sub.a and the cosine of the measured angle. The coarse measurement is determined from the magnitude of the resultant of V.sub.sin and V.sub.cos, √{square root over ((V.sub.sin.sup.2α+V.sub.cos.sup.2α))}, where α is the angle formed by the orientation of screw 710 within angular displacement sensor 735 relative to first angular sensor winding 745 and second angular sensor winding 750, V.sub.sin=A*B*sin(α) cos(ωt), and V.sub.cos=A*B*cos(α) cos(ωt). The fine measurement is determined from the four-quadrant arctangent of the ratio V.sub.sin/V.sub.cos.”, Para. [0052]; note, Atkins Paras. [0019]-[0020] is relied upon above for using sensors to compare angles between two pylons).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins wherein the first rotary position sensor is configured to provide sine and cosine excitation voltages to the second rotary position sensor; wherein, the second rotary position sensor is configured to provide sine and cosine excitation voltages to the third rotary position sensor; and wherein, the third rotary position sensor is configured to provide sine and cosine excitation voltages to the fourth rotary position sensor, as taught by Roberts, with a reasonable expectation for success, to provide more precise and accurate measurements, as discussed by Roberts, Paras. [0004]-[0014].
Regarding claim 15, Roberts further discloses wherein the sine and cosine feedback voltages from the second rotary position sensor represent an absolute angular position of the first pylon; and wherein, the sine and cosine feedback voltages from the fourth rotary position sensor represent the differential pylon angle between the first and second pylons (Fig. 5; “A fine relative measurement 510 and a coarse absolute measurement 515 are made within the displacement range. Fine relative measurement 510 and coarse absolute measurement 515 are combined in combination operation 520. The result is a single precise and accurate absolute measurement, combined measurement 525.”, Para. [0044]; note, Atkins Paras. [0019]-[0020] is relied upon above for using sensors to compare angles between two pylons).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins wherein the sine and cosine feedback voltages from the second rotary position sensor represent an absolute angular position of the first pylon; and wherein, the sine and cosine feedback voltages from the fourth rotary position sensor represent the differential pylon angle between the first and second pylons, as taught by Roberts, with a reasonable expectation for success, to provide more precise and accurate measurements, as discussed by Roberts, Paras. [0004]-[0014].
Regarding claim 16, Atkins as modified by Dietrich and Roberts is silent on wherein the position sensor system further comprises a fifth rotary position sensor coupled to the first drive system of the first pylon, a sixth rotary position sensor coupled to the second drive system of the first pylon, a seventh rotary position sensor coupled to the first drive system of the second pylon and an eighth rotary position sensor coupled to the second drive system of the second pylon.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins wherein the position sensor system further comprises a fifth rotary position sensor coupled to the first drive system of the first pylon, a sixth rotary position sensor coupled to the second drive system of the first pylon, a seventh rotary position sensor coupled to the first drive system of the second pylon and an eighth rotary position sensor coupled to the second drive system of the second pylon, with a reasonable expectation for success, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device, such as the motors, actuators, and sensors of Atkins to provide redundancy, involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 17, Roberts further discloses wherein the first, second, third and fourth rotary position sensors form a course tracking loop; and wherein, the fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth rotary position sensors form a fine tracking loop (Fig. 5; “A fine relative measurement 510 and a coarse absolute measurement 515 are made within the displacement range. Fine relative measurement 510 and coarse absolute measurement 515 are combined in combination operation 520. The result is a single precise and accurate absolute measurement, combined measurement 525.”, Para. [0044]; note, Atkins Paras. [0019]-[0020] is relied upon above for using sensors to compare angles between two pylons).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins wherein the first, second, third and fourth rotary position sensors form a course tracking loop; and wherein, the fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth rotary position sensors form a fine tracking loop, as taught by Roberts, with a reasonable expectation for success, to provide more precise and accurate measurements, as discussed by Roberts, Paras. [0004]-[0014].
Regarding claim 18, Roberts further discloses wherein the fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth rotary position sensors have a higher resolution than the first, second, third and fourth rotary position sensors (Figs. 5-6, see gearbox ratios; “A fine relative measurement 510 and a coarse absolute measurement 515 are made within the displacement range. Fine relative measurement 510 and coarse absolute measurement 515 are combined in combination operation 520. The result is a single precise and accurate absolute measurement, combined measurement 525.”, Para. [0044]; note, Atkins Paras. [0019]-[0020] is relied upon above for using sensors to compare angles between two pylons).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins wherein the fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth rotary position sensors have a higher resolution than the first, second, third and fourth rotary position sensors, as taught by Roberts, with a reasonable expectation for success, to provide more precise and accurate measurements, as discussed by Roberts, Paras. [0004]-[0014].
Regarding claim 19, Roberts further discloses wherein the fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth rotary position sensors (Fig. 6, fine sensors 615) have a resolution that is at least ten times higher than the first, second, third and fourth rotary position sensors (Fig. 6, coarse sensors 625; both gearbox ratios and sensor angles, note 5 revolutions for fine sensors, show the fine sensors have a resolution of at least 30 times higher).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Morgan as modified by Atkins, Dietrich, and Fenny wherein the fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth rotary position sensors have a resolution that is at least ten times higher than the first, second, third and fourth rotary position sensors, as taught by Roberts, with a reasonable expectation for success, to provide “precise and accurate measurements that are better than measurements available with sensors that are limited in displacement.” (Roberts, Para. [0007]).
Regarding claim 20, Atkins discloses a tiltrotor aircraft having a helicopter mode (Fig. 1) and an airplane mode (Fig. 2), the tiltrotor aircraft comprising:
an airframe including a fuselage and a wing (Figs. 1-2);
first and second pylons coupled to the wing (Figs. 1-2 at 110 and 112, Figs. 3, “pylons”, 306),
each pylon having a mechanically redundant pylon conversion actuator (Fig. 3, “actuators”, 304; “redundant conversion system actuator”, Para. [0021]) the pylon tracking system comprising:
a position sensor system including a first rotary position sensor coupled to the first drive system of the first pylon, a third rotary position sensor coupled to the first drive system of the second pylon (“Referring to FIG. 3, tiltrotor aircraft 100 includes conversion system 300. Conversion system 300 monitors the pylon position of each pylon during flight and during a transition between airplane mode and helicopter mode. Conversion system 300 includes flight control computer 302 operatively connected to actuators 304. Actuators 304 are attached to pylons 306. Pylons 306 include both pylon 118 and pylon 124. Actuators 304 include a separate set of actuators connected to each pylon 118 and 124. Transducers 308 are connected to both flight control computer 302 and actuators 304. Based on a pylon command received from the pilot or initiated by flight control algorithms that dynamically establish necessary pylon angles based on current flight conditions, the flight control computer signals the set of actuators to impart movement on the pylons to transition the pylons between a helicopter position and an airplane position or maintain flight. The pylon command may be derived by a desired pylon position or a desired pylon rate. Conversion system 300 utilizes transducers 308 which measure the pylon angle of pylons 306. Based on the current measured pylon positions received from transducers 308 and the pylon command received from the flight crew or flight algorithms, flight control computer 302 determines a rate vector to be imparted on pylons 306 in order to move each pylon to the desired pylon position.”, Paras. [0019]-[0020])
a flight control computer configured for cascaded communication with the position sensor system (“flight control computer signals”, see Paras. [0019]-[0020] above).
Atkins does not expressly disclose the pylon conversion actuator with a first drive system and a second drive system.
However, in an analogous tiltrotor art, Dietrich discloses the pylon conversion actuator with a first drive system and a second drive system (“As a back-up, a plurality of machines 22, e.g., motor/generators, that are electrically coupled to a plurality of battery packs 17 may be provided to transform electrical power from the battery packs 17 into mechanical power via the drive shaft 18.”, Para. [0036]; note, Fig. 9 shows pylons electrically coupled to battery packs 17 and “machines” 22; further, Dietrich discloses redundant actuators: “Backup pitch control may be achieved through redundant actuators on the pitch vane 13, which are capable of back-driving the primary actuators 13.”, Para. [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins to further include a first drive system and a second drive system, as taught by Dietrich, with a reasonable expectation for success, to provide back-up power in the propulsion drive system in case of failure of the primary power system, providing a safer system. Further, in general, it is good engineering practice to provide redundancy in systems to reduce risk and provide a safer system for the pilot, passengers, or persons near unmanned aerial systems.
Atkins does not expressly disclose a second rotary position sensor coupled to the second drive system of the first pylon, a fourth rotary position sensor coupled to the second drive system of the second pylon, since Dietrich above is relied upon for teaching a second, back-up drive system.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins further including a second rotary position sensor coupled to the second drive system of the first pylon, a fourth rotary position sensor coupled to the second drive system of the second pylon, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device, such as the motors, actuators, and sensors of Atkins to provide redundancy, involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Atkins does not expressly disclose wherein, the flight control computer provides at least one excitation voltage to the position sensor system and receives at least one set of sine and cosine feedback voltages from the position sensor system to identify a differential pylon angle between the first and second pylons during pylon conversion operations.
However, in an analogous rotor aircraft art, Roberts teaches the flight control computer provides at least one excitation voltage to the position sensor system and receives at least one set of sine and cosine feedback voltages from the position sensor system to identify a differential pylon angle between the first and second pylons during pylon conversion operations (Fig. 7B; “FIG. 7B illustrates aspects of LVDT-resolver measurement system 700. The position of displacement core 715 within displacement shaft 720, the excitation voltage provided by the alternating-current power source 740, and the transformation ratio across displacement shaft 720 determine the voltage V.sub.a across secondary linear winding 725. Voltage V.sub.a is used as the excitation voltage for angular displacement sensor 735, which is configured to produce two output voltages. The first output voltage V.sub.sin from angular displacement sensor 735 is produced at first angular sensor winding 745 and is proportional to voltage V.sub.a and the sine of the measured angle, and the second output voltage V.sub.cos is produced at second angular sensor winding 750 and is proportional to V.sub.a and the cosine of the measured angle. The coarse measurement is determined from the magnitude of the resultant of V.sub.sin and V.sub.cos, √{square root over ((V.sub.sin.sup.2α+V.sub.cos.sup.2α))}, where α is the angle formed by the orientation of screw 710 within angular displacement sensor 735 relative to first angular sensor winding 745 and second angular sensor winding 750, V.sub.sin=A*B*sin(α) cos(ωt), and V.sub.cos=A*B*cos(α) cos(ωt). The fine measurement is determined from the four-quadrant arctangent of the ratio V.sub.sin/V.sub.cos.”, Para. [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins further including the flight control computer provides at least one excitation voltage to the position sensor system and receives at least one set of sine and cosine feedback voltages from the position sensor system to identify a differential pylon angle between the first and second pylons during pylon conversion operations, as taught by Roberts, with a reasonable expectation for success, to provide more precise and accurate measurements, as discussed by Roberts, Paras. [0004]-[0014].
Claim(s) 6, 10, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atkins et al (US 2019/0225322 A1) in view of Dietrich (US 2016/0023527 A1) and Roberts et al. (US 2019/0257638 A1), as applied to claim 4 above, further in view of Kirshenboim et al. (US 2016/0098019 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Atkins as modified by Dietrich and Roberts is silent on wherein the first and third rotary position sensors have one-phase inputs; and wherein, the second and fourth rotary position sensors have two-phase inputs.
However, in an analogous motor control art, Kirshenboim discloses wherein the first and third rotary position sensors have one-phase inputs; and wherein, the second and fourth rotary position sensors have two-phase inputs (“The current measurement device has a first, coarse, sensor optimized for measuring the relatively large current range and a second, fine, sensor optimized for measuring the relatively smaller current range, thereby to maximize feedback accuracy during steady state operation.”, Abstract; “Whenever the term servo-drive is used herein, it may be a servo-drive for a single phase or a multi-phase motor with one or more current feedback measurements. The method of coarse and fine measurement may be applied to one or more of such feedback measurements. The present embodiments may alternatively relate to a current and to a current vector. The present embodiments may more generally apply to any kind of actuator and to any measurable feature that may be measured to form part of the control of the actuator. Wherever there is a large range to the feature and a low level range is required for the steady state the two ranges may be measured separately by dedicated sensors.”, Paras. [0017]-[0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins wherein the first and third rotary position sensors have one-phase inputs; and wherein, the second and fourth rotary position sensors have two-phase inputs, as taught by Kirshenboim, with a reasonable expectation for success, “to maximize feedback accuracy”, as discussed by Kirshenboim, Abstract.
Regarding claim 10, Atkins as modified by Dietrich and Roberts is silent on wherein the first and second rotary position sensors have one-phase inputs; and wherein, the third and fourth rotary position sensors have two-phase inputs.
However, in an analogous motor control art, Kirshenboim discloses wherein the first and second rotary position sensors have one-phase inputs; and wherein, the third and fourth rotary position sensors have two-phase inputs (“The current measurement device has a first, coarse, sensor optimized for measuring the relatively large current range and a second, fine, sensor optimized for measuring the relatively smaller current range, thereby to maximize feedback accuracy during steady state operation.”, Abstract; “Whenever the term servo-drive is used herein, it may be a servo-drive for a single phase or a multi-phase motor with one or more current feedback measurements. The method of coarse and fine measurement may be applied to one or more of such feedback measurements. The present embodiments may alternatively relate to a current and to a current vector. The present embodiments may more generally apply to any kind of actuator and to any measurable feature that may be measured to form part of the control of the actuator. Wherever there is a large range to the feature and a low level range is required for the steady state the two ranges may be measured separately by dedicated sensors.”, Paras. [0017]-[0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins wherein the first and second rotary position sensors have one-phase inputs; and wherein, the third and fourth rotary position sensors have two-phase inputs, as taught by Kirshenboim, with a reasonable expectation for success, “to maximize feedback accuracy”, as discussed by Kirshenboim, Abstract.
Regarding claim 14, Atkins as modified by Dietrich and Roberts is silent on wherein the first rotary position sensor has a one-phase input; and wherein, the second, third and fourth rotary position sensors have two-phase inputs.
However, in an analogous motor control art, Kirshenboim discloses wherein the first rotary position sensor has a one-phase input; and wherein, the second, third and fourth rotary position sensors have two-phase inputs (“The current measurement device has a first, coarse, sensor optimized for measuring the relatively large current range and a second, fine, sensor optimized for measuring the relatively smaller current range, thereby to maximize feedback accuracy during steady state operation.”, Abstract; “Whenever the term servo-drive is used herein, it may be a servo-drive for a single phase or a multi-phase motor with one or more current feedback measurements. The method of coarse and fine measurement may be applied to one or more of such feedback measurements. The present embodiments may alternatively relate to a current and to a current vector. The present embodiments may more generally apply to any kind of actuator and to any measurable feature that may be measured to form part of the control of the actuator. Wherever there is a large range to the feature and a low level range is required for the steady state the two ranges may be measured separately by dedicated sensors.”, Paras. [0017]-[0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Atkins wherein the first rotary position sensor has a one-phase input; and wherein, the second, third and fourth rotary position sensors have two-phase inputs, as taught by Kirshenboim, with a reasonable expectation for success, “to maximize feedback accuracy”, as discussed by Kirshenboim, Abstract.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Chen (US 2019/0074751 A1) discloses cascading excitation voltages for motor positional sensing in one-phase and two-phase motors.
/S.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/KIMBERLY S BERONA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3647