Claims 1-20 are currently under review.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 7, 2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5, 10, 13-14, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: typographic errors. Appropriate correction is required. The following is suggested
Claim 1, line 1: “A method of detecting a display panel defect
Claim 2, line 2: “[[a]]the voltage applied to the one or more pixels is applied through a data line”
Claim 3, line 2: “[[a]]the voltage applied to the one or more pixels”
Claim 4, line 2: “[[a]]the current flowing through the dummy pixel line is measured by a sensing driver.”
Claim 5, line 3: ”[[a]]the current flowing through the dummy pixel line is converted into a sensing”
Claim 10, line 2: “the sensing driver is configured to determine that [[a]]the defect in the display panel has occurred”
Claim 13, lines 2-3 : “the sensing driver is configured to detect [[a]]the change in a current of the at least
one dummy pixel line, wherein the change in [[a]]the current is caused by creating [[a]]the current”
Claim 14, line 3: “[[a]]the sensing signal applied to the at least one dummy pixel line is converted into a”
Claim 14, line 5: “[[a]]the sensing voltage and a reference voltage are input to each of one or more”
Claim 20, lines 2-3: “the sensing driver is configured to detect a change in [[a]]the current of the at least
one dummy pixel line, wherein the change in [[a]]the current is caused by creating [[a]]the current”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hong et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0239193 A1) hereinafter referred to as Hong.
With respect to Claim 1, Hong discloses a method (figs. 17-20 and 28; ¶27; ¶116-120) of detecting a display panel defects (¶117, “a sensing voltage can be acquired by sensing a dummy subpixel DP of the display panel under a first condition, and the presence or absence of a defect in the display panel can be detected based on the sensing voltage (S150)”), the method comprising: applying a voltage to one or more pixels (fig. 19; ¶93, “The voltage applied to the sensing node of the first dummy subpixel DP1 during the fourth period P4 can be acquired as a sensing voltage Vsen by the sampling circuit SAM connected to the I-th reference line VREFi”); and measuring a current flowing through a dummy pixel line (fig. 19; ¶63, “The sensing circuit 145 can acquire the sensing voltage Vsen based on a current sensing method”; ¶93, “The voltage applied to the sensing node of the first dummy subpixel DP1 during the fourth period P4 can be acquired as a sensing voltage Vsen by the sampling circuit SAM connected to the I-th reference line VREFi”).
With respect to Claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated, Hong discloses wherein a voltage applied to the one or more pixels is applied through a data line configured to transmit a data signal to the one or more the pixels (¶60-61).
With respect to Claim 3, claim 2 is incorporated, Hong discloses wherein a voltage applied to the one or more pixels is generated by a data driver and applied to the data line (¶62).
With respect to Claim 4, claim 1 is incorporated, Hong discloses wherein a current flowing through the dummy pixel line is measured by a sensing driver (¶63, “The sensing circuit 145 can acquire a sensing voltage Vsen sensed from the subpixel SP through the first sensing channel SCH1. The sensing circuit 145 can acquire the sensing voltage Vsen based on a current sensing or voltage sensing method”).
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Youn et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0218358 A1) hereinafter referred to as Youn.
With respect to Claim 1,Youn teaches a method (fig. 23; ¶44) of detecting a display panel (figs. 1 and 20, item 100: display panel; ¶61) defects (¶245, “a plurality of repair/current generating circuits R/CG that are also used as repair pixel circuits for repairing a defective pixel circuit DP included in the plurality of pixel circuits P”; ¶252; ¶255), the method comprising: applying a voltage to one or more pixels (fig. 23, item Vdata is applied to the pixels P of figs. 1 and 20); and measuring a current flowing through a dummy pixel line (fig. 20, item 112 measures current flowing thru a dummy pixel line via GCL_S).
With respect to Claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated, Youn teaches wherein a voltage applied to the one or more pixels is applied through a data line (figs. 1 and 20, items DL_S and DL: data line) configured to transmit a data signal to the one or more the pixels (¶71; ¶248).
With respect to Claim 3, claim 2 is incorporated, Youn teaches wherein a voltage applied to the one or more pixels is generated by a data driver (figs. 1 and 20, item 110) and applied to the data line (¶71; ¶248).
With respect to Claim 4, claim 1 is incorporated, Youn teaches wherein a current flowing through the dummy pixel line (fig. 20, item DL_S; ¶248) is measured by a sensing driver (fig. 20, by item 112 via GCL_S).
With respect to Claim 6, claim 1 is incorporated, Youn teaches further comprising determining that a defect has occurred when the current is equal to or greater than a reference value (figs. 11-12; ¶213-214, “global current fluctuation amount”; ¶217, “compare the global current sensing value received from the global sensing current generating circuit with the reference value to check the global current fluctuation amount in the display area AA”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0105203 A1) hereinafter referred to as Kim.
With respect to Claim 5, claim 4 is incorporated, Youn does not teach wherein the sensing driver includes a current detector, a current flowing through the dummy pixel line is converted into a sensing voltage by the current detector, and the sensing voltage and reference voltage are input to a comparator included in the current detector.
Kim teaches a method of using a sensing driver (fig. 5, item SU: sensing driver; ¶54-55), the sensing driver includes a current detector (¶52, “Each sensing unit SU does not adopt a conventional current integrator, but adopt the single-slope ADC which detects the pixel current and converts it into a digital signal by comparing it with a reference current”), a current flowing through a pixel line is converted into a sensing voltage by the current detector (¶52, “thereby reducing the noise and non-linearity occurring in the process of converting a current into a voltage”), and the sensing voltage and a reference voltage are input to a comparator included in the current detector (fig. 5; ¶52).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Youn, such that the pixel line of Kim corresponds to the dummy line of Youn, wherein the sensing driver includes a current detector, a current flowing through the dummy pixel line is converted into a sensing voltage by the current detector, and the sensing voltage and reference voltage are input to a comparator included in the current detector, as taught by Kim, so as to reduce the noise and non-linearity occurring in the process of converting a current into a voltage.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Ishibashi et al. (Pub. No.: US 2015/0348480 A1) hereinafter referred to as Ishibashi.
With respect to Claim 7, claim 6 is incorporated, Youn does not mention wherein the reference value is set based on whether pixel repair has been performed.
Ishibashi teaches a display device (figs. 1 and 12, item 1; ¶23) comprising: a display panel including a display area (figs. 1 and 12, item 10; ¶24) on which an image is displayed and a non-display area (figs. 1 and 12, area outside of item 10) outside the display area, a plurality of active pixels arranged in a first direction and a second direction in the display area (¶23, LCD has pixels in the display area), a plurality of data lines (figs. 1 and 12, items 12b; ¶25) connected to the plurality of active pixels and extending in the second direction, a plurality of repair lines (fig. 12, item 41 and 42), extending in a first direction, and each of which is connected to at least one active pixel (fig. 12, either directly or thru components), a data driver (figs. 1 and 12, item 20b; ¶33) configured to supply data signals to the plurality of data lines, and testing terminals configured to detect a defect in the display panel by detecting a sensing signal applied to a plurality of lines (¶91, “This forms two paths between this array testing terminal 30b and the array testing terminal 28b. Each of the paths is formed by the source signal line 12b, the leading line 24b, the driving terminal 22b, the capacitance part C20b, and the repairing line 42”; ¶92, “If a break occurs in one of these two paths, a current flows only in the other path. The value of this current is smaller than the value of a current flowing in the two paths”); the testing terminals are used to determine that a defect has occurred (¶92).
Although Ishibashi does not explicitly mention that the testing terminals are used to determine that a defect has occurred, when the current is equal to or greater than a reference value. Well-known relationships between voltage, current, and resistance exist, such as applying a voltage to a line, where a longer line having greater resistance due to length resulting in greater current versus a shorter line having lower resistance. Therefore the measurement of current on a line, will determine where defects occur based on a known voltage applied level and the line resistance (due to length).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Youn, utilizing well known relationships between voltage, current, and resistance with the teachings of Ishibashi, where current is measured to determine that a defect has occurred and compared with a reference value, resulting in the reference value is set based on whether pixel repair has been performed, so as to easily determine line breaks/defects.
Claims 8-10, 12, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn in view of Park et al. (Pub. No.: US 2016/0365070 A1) hereinafter referred to as Park.
With respect to Claim 8, Youn teaches a display device (figs. 1-2 and 20; ¶59-60; ¶244), comprising a display panel (figs. 1-2, item 100; ¶61) including a display area (figs. 1-2, item AA; ¶61) on which an image is displayed and a non-display area (figs. 1-2, display area outside item AA) outside the display area, a plurality of active pixels (figs. 1-2 and 24, item ‘P’; ¶61-62) arranged in a first direction and a second direction in the display area, a plurality of dummy pixels (fig. 20, item R/CG; ¶245, “a plurality of repair/current generating circuits R/CG that are also used as repair pixel circuits for repairing a defective pixel circuit DP included in the plurality of pixel circuits P”, the plurality of repair/current generating circuits = the plurality of dummy pixels; please note ¶66 of the instant specification indicates “Each of the plurality of dummy pixels DPX.sub.1-DPX.sub.n may or may not include a light-emitting element E11-Enm”) arranged in the second direction in the non-display area (¶245, “the plurality of repair/current generating circuits R/CG may be disposed on both sides of the display area AA”), a plurality of data lines (figs. 1-2 and 20, item DL; ¶61) connected to the plurality of active pixels and extending in the second direction, at least one dummy pixel line (figs. 20-22, item DL_S = Vdata_S; ¶254) connected to the plurality of dummy pixels and extending in the second direction, a repair (¶249) line connected to a dummy pixel, extending in a first direction, and is connected to at least one dummy pixel and at least one active pixel (¶252), a data driver (figs. 1 and 20; item 110; ¶71) configured to supply data signals to the plurality of data lines, and a sensing driver (figs. 1 and 20, item 112; ¶184-185; ¶202, “Here, the sensing current may be a driving current of the sensing current generating circuit CG in which stress accumulated in one or more sensing switch transistors, i.e., one or more oxide thin film transistors, included in the sensing current generating circuit CG is reflected”) configured to detect a defect in the display panel by detecting a sensing signal applied to the at least one dummy pixel line (¶245).
Youn does not mention a plurality of repair lines connected to the plurality of dummy pixels, extending in a first direction, and each of which is connected to at least one dummy pixel and at least one active pixel.
Park teaches a display device (fig. 1, item 10; ¶45), comprising a display panel (fig. 1, item 140; ¶49) including a display area on which an image is displayed and a non-display area (fig. 1, area surrounding item 140) outside the display area, a plurality of active pixels (fig. 1, item Px) arranged in a first direction and a second direction in the display area, a plurality of dummy pixels (fig. 1, item Dpx; ¶52) arranged in the second direction in the non-display area, a plurality of data lines (fig. 1, item D1, … Dm; ¶50) connected to the plurality of active pixels and extending in the second direction, at least one dummy pixel line (fig. 2, item DD1, …, DDk; ¶55) connected to the plurality of dummy pixels and extending in the second direction (fig. 2, each of item DD1, …, DDk extends both in the first direction and the second direction), a plurality of repair lines (fig. 2, item R1, … Rn; ¶53) connected to the plurality of dummy pixels, extending in a first direction (fig. 2, each of item R1, …, Rn extends both in the first direction and the second direction), and each of which is connected to at least one dummy pixel and at least one active pixel, a data driver (fig. 1, item 130; ¶48) configured to supply data signals to the plurality of data lines, and a sensing driver (fig. 1, item 160; ¶56; ¶58) configured to detect a defect in the display panel by detecting a sensing signal.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Youn, to comprise a plurality of repair lines connected to the plurality of dummy pixels, extending in a first direction, and each of which is connected to at least one dummy pixel and at least one active pixel, as taught by Park so as to have the repair lines predisposed for quick repair of pixels.
With respect to Claim 9, claim 8 is incorporated, Youn teaches wherein a current flowing through a dummy pixel line (fig. 20, item DL_S; ¶248) is measured by the sensing driver (fig. 20, by item 112 via GCL_S) in response to a voltage applied to the one or more pixels by the data driver (¶248).
With respect to Claim 10, claim 9 is incorporated, Youn teaches wherein the sensing driver is configured to determine that a defect has occurred, when the current is equal to or greater than a reference value (figs. 11-12; ¶213-214, “global current fluctuation amount”; ¶217, “compare the global current sensing value received from the global sensing current generating circuit with the reference value to check the global current fluctuation amount in the display area AA”).
With respect to Claim 12, claim 8 is incorporated, Youn teaches wherein the sensing driver (figs. 1 and 20, item 112) and the data driver are configured to be integrated (figs. 1 and 20, item 112 is within the data driver 110; ¶187).
With respect to Claim 15, Youn teaches an electronic apparatus (¶57, “The present disclosure is applicable to any flat panel display device that requires an integrated circuit and a power circuit for driving pixels, such as an organic light emitting display (OLED)”) comprising: a display device (figs. 1-2 and 20; ¶59-60; ¶61; ¶244) that displays an image; and a processor (fig. 1, item 200; ¶93, “the host system 200 may be implemented as an application processor (AP)”) that controls the display device, wherein the display device comprises a display panel (figs. 1-2, item 100; ¶61) including a display area (figs. 1-2, item AA; ¶61) on which an image is displayed and a non-display area (figs. 1-2, display area outside item AA) outside the display area, a plurality of active pixels (figs. 1-2 and 24, item ‘P’; ¶61-62) arranged in a first direction and a second direction in the display area, a plurality of dummy pixels (fig. 20, item R/CG; ¶245, “a plurality of repair/current generating circuits R/CG that are also used as repair pixel circuits for repairing a defective pixel circuit DP included in the plurality of pixel circuits P”, the plurality of repair/current generating circuits = the plurality of dummy pixels; please note ¶66 of the instant specification indicates “Each of the plurality of dummy pixels DPX.sub.1-DPX.sub.n may or may not include a light-emitting element E11-Enm”) arranged in the second direction in the non-display area (¶245, “the plurality of repair/current generating circuits R/CG may be disposed on both sides of the display area AA”), a plurality of data lines (figs. 1-2 and 20, item DL; ¶61) connected to the plurality of active pixels and extending in the second direction, at least one dummy pixel line (figs. 20-22, item DL_S = Vdata_S; ¶254) connected to the plurality of dummy pixels and extending in the second direction, repair (¶249) line connected to a dummy pixel, extending in a first direction, and is connected to at least one dummy pixel and at least one active pixel (¶252), a data driver (figs. 1 and 20; item 110; ¶71) configured to supply data signals to the plurality of data lines, and a sensing driver (figs. 1 and 20, item 112; ¶184-185; ¶202, “Here, the sensing current may be a driving current of the sensing current generating circuit CG in which stress accumulated in one or more sensing switch transistors, i.e., one or more oxide thin film transistors, included in the sensing current generating circuit CG is reflected”) configured to detect a defect in the display panel by detecting a sensing signal applied to the at least one dummy pixel line (¶245).
Youn does not mention a plurality of repair lines connected to the plurality of dummy pixels, extending in a first direction, and each of which is connected to at least one dummy pixel and at least one active pixel.
Park teaches a display device (fig. 1, item 10; ¶45), comprising a display panel (fig. 1, item 140; ¶49) including a display area on which an image is displayed and a non-display area (fig. 1, area surrounding item 140) outside the display area, a plurality of active pixels (fig. 1, item Px) arranged in a first direction and a second direction in the display area, a plurality of dummy pixels (fig. 1, item Dpx; ¶52) arranged in the second direction in the non-display area, a plurality of data lines (fig. 1, item D1, … Dm; ¶50) connected to the plurality of active pixels and extending in the second direction, at least one dummy pixel line (fig. 2, item DD1, …, DDk; ¶55) connected to the plurality of dummy pixels and extending in the second direction (fig. 2, each of item DD1, …, DDk extends both in the first direction and the second direction), a plurality of repair lines (fig. 2, item R1, … Rn; ¶53) connected to the plurality of dummy pixels, extending in a first direction (fig. 2, each of item R1, …, Rn extends both in the first direction and the second direction), and each of which is connected to at least one dummy pixel and at least one active pixel, a data driver (fig. 1, item 130; ¶48) configured to supply data signals to the plurality of data lines, and a sensing driver (fig. 1, item 160; ¶56; ¶58) configured to detect a defect in the display panel by detecting a sensing signal.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electronic apparatus of Youn, such that the display device comprises a plurality of repair lines connected to the plurality of dummy pixels, extending in a first direction, and each of which is connected to at least one dummy pixel and at least one active pixel, as taught by Park so as to have the repair lines predisposed for quick repair of pixels.
With respect to Claim 16, claim 15 is incorporated, Youn teaches wherein a current flowing through a dummy pixel line (fig. 20, item DL_S; ¶248) is measured by the sensing driver (fig. 20, by item 112 via GCL_S) in response to a voltage applied to the one or more pixels by the data driver (¶240).
With respect to Claim 17, claim 16 is incorporated, Youn teaches wherein the sensing driver is configured to determine that a defect has occurred, when the current is equal to or greater than a reference value (figs. 11-12; ¶213-214, “global current fluctuation amount”; ¶217, “compare the global current sensing value received from the global sensing current generating circuit with the reference value to check the global current fluctuation amount in the display area AA”).
With respect to Claim 19, claim 15 is incorporated, Youn teaches wherein the sensing driver (figs. 1 and 20, item 112) and the data driver are configured to be integrated (figs. 1 and 20, item 112 is within the data driver 110; ¶187).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn and Park as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Kim.
With respect to Claim 14, claim 8 is incorporated, Youn and Park combined do not teach wherein the sensing driver includes one or more current detectors, a sensing signal applied to the at least one dummy pixel line is converted into a sensing voltage by the one or more current detectors, and a sensing voltage and a reference voltage are input to each of one or more comparators included in the one or more current detectors.
Kim teaches a sensing driver (fig. 5, item SU: sensing driver; ¶54-55), the sensing driver includes a current detector (¶52, “Each sensing unit SU does not adopt a conventional current integrator, but adopt the single-slope ADC which detects the pixel current and converts it into a digital signal by comparing it with a reference current”), a sensing signal applied to at least one pixel line is converted into a sensing voltage by the one or more current detectors (¶50, “The DAC may generate the data voltage for sensing at a certain level and supply it to the data lines 14 when performing the external compensating operation”; ¶52, “thereby reducing the noise and non-linearity occurring in the process of converting a current into a voltage”), and the sensing voltage and a reference voltage are input to each of one or more comparators included in the one or more current detectors (fig. 5; ¶52).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Youn and Park, such that the pixel line of Kim corresponds to the dummy line of Youn and Park wherein the sensing driver includes one or more current detector, a sensing signal applied to the at least one dummy pixel line is converted into a sensing voltage by the one or more current detectors, and a sensing voltage and a reference voltage are input to each of one or more comparators included in the one or more current detectors, as taught by Kim, so as to reduce the noise and non-linearity occurring in the process of converting a current into a voltage.
Claims 11, 13, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn and Park as applied to claims 8, 10, 15, and 17 above, and further in view of Ishibashi.
With respect to Claim 11, claim 10 is incorporated, Youn and Park combined do not mention wherein the reference value is set based on whether pixel repair has been performed.
Ishibashi teaches a display device (figs. 1 and 12, item 1; ¶23) comprising: a display panel including a display area (figs. 1 and 12, item 10; ¶24) on which an image is displayed and a non-display area (figs. 1 and 12, area outside of item 10) outside the display area, a plurality of active pixels arranged in a first direction and a second direction in the display area (¶23, LCD has pixels in the display area), a plurality of data lines (figs. 1 and 12, items 12b; ¶25) connected to the plurality of active pixels and extending in the second direction, a plurality of repair lines (fig. 12, item 41 and 42), extending in a first direction, and each of which is connected to at least one active pixel (fig. 12, either directly or thru components), a data driver (figs. 1 and 12, item 20b; ¶33) configured to supply data signals to the plurality of data lines, and testing terminals configured to detect a defect in the display panel by detecting a sensing signal applied to a plurality of lines (¶91, “This forms two paths between this array testing terminal 30b and the array testing terminal 28b. Each of the paths is formed by the source signal line 12b, the leading line 24b, the driving terminal 22b, the capacitance part C20b, and the repairing line 42”; ¶92, “If a break occurs in one of these two paths, a current flows only in the other path. The value of this current is smaller than the value of a current flowing in the two paths”); the testing terminals are used to determine that a defect has occurred (¶92).
Although Ishibashi does not explicitly mention that the testing terminals are used to determine that a defect has occurred, when the current is equal to or greater than a reference value. Well-known relationships between voltage, current, and resistance exist, such as applying a voltage to a line, where a longer line having greater resistance due to length resulting in greater current versus a shorter line having lower resistance. Therefore the measurement of current on a line, will determine where defects occur based on a known voltage applied level and the line resistance (due to length).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display device of Youn and Park, utilizing well known relationships between voltage, current, and resistance with the teachings of Ishibashi, where current is measured to determine that a defect has occurred and compared with a reference value, resulting in the reference value is set based on whether pixel repair has been performed, so as to easily determine line breaks/defects.
With respect to Claim 13, claim 8 is incorporated, Youn and Park combined do not mention wherein the sensing driver is configured to detect a change in a current of the at least one dummy pixel line, wherein the change in a current is caused by creating a current path between at least one of the plurality of repair lines and one of the plurality of data lines.
Ishibashi teaches a display device (figs. 1 and 12, item 1; ¶23) comprising: a display panel including a display area (figs. 1 and 12, item 10; ¶24) on which an image is displayed and a non-display area (figs. 1 and 12, area outside of item 10) outside the display area, a plurality of active pixels arranged in a first direction and a second direction in the display area (¶23, LCD has pixels in the display area), a plurality of data lines (figs. 1 and 12, items 12b; ¶25) connected to the plurality of active pixels and extending in the second direction, a plurality of repair lines (fig. 12, item 41 and 42), extending in a first direction, and each of which is connected to at least one active pixel (fig. 12, either directly or thru components), a data driver (figs. 1 and 12, item 20b; ¶33) configured to supply data signals to the plurality of data lines, and testing terminals configured to detect a change in current in the display panel by detecting a sensing signal applied to a plurality of lines (¶91, “This forms two paths between this array testing terminal 30b and the array testing terminal 28b. Each of the paths is formed by the source signal line 12b, the leading line 24b, the driving terminal 22b, the capacitance part C20b, and the repairing line 42”; ¶92, “If a break occurs in one of these two paths, a current flows only in the other path. The value of this current is smaller than the value of a current flowing in the two paths”); wherein the change in a current is caused by creating a current path between at least one of the plurality of repair lines and one of the plurality of data lines (¶91-92).
Although Ishibashi does not explicitly mention that the testing terminals are used to determine that a defect has occurred, when the current is equal to or greater than a reference value. Well-known relationships between voltage, current, and resistance exist, such as applying a voltage to a line, where a longer line having greater resistance due to length resulting in greater current versus a shorter line having lower resistance. Therefore the measurement of current on a line, will determine where defects occur based on a known voltage applied level and the line resistance (due to length).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display device of Youn and Park, utilizing well known relationships between voltage, current, and resistance with the teachings of Ishibashi, where detecting a change in current in the display panel by detecting a sensing signal applied to a plurality of lines corresponds to detecting a change in a current of the at least one dummy pixel line, resulting in wherein the sensing driver is configured to detect a change in a current of the at least one dummy pixel line, wherein the change in a current is caused by creating a current path between at least one of the plurality of repair lines and one of the plurality of data lines, so as to easily determine line breaks/defects.
With respect to Claim 18, claim 17 is incorporated, Youn and Park combined do not mention wherein the reference value is set based on whether pixel repair has been performed.
Ishibashi teaches a display device (figs. 1 and 12, item 1; ¶23) comprising: a display panel including a display area (figs. 1 and 12, item 10; ¶24) on which an image is displayed and a non-display area (figs. 1 and 12, area outside of item 10) outside the display area, a plurality of active pixels arranged in a first direction and a second direction in the display area (¶23, LCD has pixels in the display area), a plurality of data lines (figs. 1 and 12, items 12b; ¶25) connected to the plurality of active pixels and extending in the second direction, a plurality of repair lines (fig. 12, item 41 and 42), extending in a first direction, and each of which is connected to at least one active pixel (fig. 12, either directly or thru components), a data driver (figs. 1 and 12, item 20b; ¶33) configured to supply data signals to the plurality of data lines, and testing terminals configured to detect a defect in the display panel by detecting a sensing signal applied to a plurality of lines (¶91, “This forms two paths between this array testing terminal 30b and the array testing terminal 28b. Each of the paths is formed by the source signal line 12b, the leading line 24b, the driving terminal 22b, the capacitance part C20b, and the repairing line 42”; ¶92, “If a break occurs in one of these two paths, a current flows only in the other path. The value of this current is smaller than the value of a current flowing in the two paths”); the testing terminals are used to determine that a defect has occurred (¶92).
Although Ishibashi does not explicitly mention that the testing terminals are used to determine that a defect has occurred, when the current is equal to or greater than a reference value. Well-known relationships between voltage, current, and resistance exist, such as applying a voltage to a line, where a longer line having greater resistance due to length resulting in greater current versus a shorter line having lower resistance. Therefore the measurement of current on a line, will determine where defects occur based on a known voltage applied level and the line resistance (due to length).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined electronic apparatus of Youn and Park, utilizing well known relationships between voltage, current, and resistance with the teachings of Ishibashi, where current is measured to determine that a defect has occurred and compared with a reference value, resulting in the reference value is set based on whether pixel repair has been performed, so as to easily determine line breaks/defects.
With respect to Claim 20, claim 15 is incorporated, Youn and Park combined do not mention wherein the sensing driver is configured to detect a change in a current of the at least one dummy pixel line, wherein the change in a current is caused by creating a current path between at least one of the plurality of repair lines and one of the plurality of data lines.
Ishibashi teaches a display device (figs. 1 and 12, item 1; ¶23) comprising: a display panel including a display area (figs. 1 and 12, item 10; ¶24) on which an image is displayed and a non-display area (figs. 1 and 12, area outside of item 10) outside the display area, a plurality of active pixels arranged in a first direction and a second direction in the display area (¶23, LCD has pixels in the display area), a plurality of data lines (figs. 1 and 12, items 12b; ¶25) connected to the plurality of active pixels and extending in the second direction, a plurality of repair lines (fig. 12, item 41 and 42), extending in a first direction, and each of which is connected to at least one active pixel (fig. 12, either directly or thru components), a data driver (figs. 1 and 12, item 20b; ¶33) configured to supply data signals to the plurality of data lines, and testing terminals configured to detect a change in current in the display panel by detecting a sensing signal applied to a plurality of lines (¶91, “This forms two paths between this array testing terminal 30b and the array testing terminal 28b. Each of the paths is formed by the source signal line 12b, the leading line 24b, the driving terminal 22b, the capacitance part C20b, and the repairing line 42”; ¶92, “If a break occurs in one of these two paths, a current flows only in the other path. The value of this current is smaller than the value of a current flowing in the two paths”); wherein the change in a current is caused by creating a current path between at least one of the plurality of repair lines and one of the plurality of data lines (¶91-92).
Although Ishibashi does not explicitly mention that the testing terminals are used to determine that a defect has occurred, when the current is equal to or greater than a reference value. Well-known relationships between voltage, current, and resistance exist, such as applying a voltage to a line, where a longer line having greater resistance due to length resulting in greater current versus a shorter line having lower resistance. Therefore the measurement of current on a line, will determine where defects occur based on a known voltage applied level and the line resistance (due to length).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined electronic apparatus of Youn and Park, utilizing well known relationships between voltage, current, and resistance with the teachings of Ishibashi, where detecting a change in current in the display panel by detecting a sensing signal applied to a plurality of lines corresponds to detecting a change in a current of the at least one dummy pixel line, resulting in wherein the sensing driver is configured to detect a change in a current of the at least one dummy pixel line, wherein the change in a current is caused by creating a current path between at least one of the plurality of repair lines and one of the plurality of data lines, so as to easily determine line breaks/defects.
Conclusion
/DONNA V Bocar/Examiner, Art Unit 2621