DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features “wherein the 2-1st sub-transistor is connected between the 2-2nd node and the 2-2nd sub-transistor, and wherein the 2-2nd sub-transistor is connected between the 1-2nd node and the 2-1st sub-transistor” and “wherein the 1-1st sub-transistor is connected between the 2-1st node and the 1-2nd sub-transistor, and wherein the 1-2nd sub-transistor is connected between the 1-1st node and the 1-1st sub-transistor” of claims 4, 5, and 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 7 recites “wherein the 2-1st sub-transistor is connected between the 2-2nd node and the 2-2nd sub-transistor, and wherein the 2-2nd sub-transistor is connected between the 1-2nd node and the 2-1st sub-transistor”. However, neither the drawings and nor the specifications explains such connections. Figs. 5-8 only shows wherein the 2-1st sub-transistor is connected between the 1-2nd node and the 2-2nd sub-transistor, and wherein the 2-2nd sub-transistor is connected between the 2-2nd node and the 2-1st sub-transistor, and not as recited in claims 4 and 7.
For the purpose of examination of claims 4 and 7 it is interpreted as “wherein the 2-1st sub-transistor is connected between the 1-2nd node and the 2-2nd sub-transistor, and wherein the 2-2nd sub-transistor is connected between the 2-2nd node and the 2-1st sub-transistor”.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the 1-1st sub-transistor is connected between the 2-1st node and the 1-2nd sub-transistor, and wherein the 1-2nd sub-transistor is connected between the 1-1st node and the 1-1st sub-transistor”. However, neither the drawings and nor the specifications explains such connections. Figs. 5-8 only shows wherein the 1-1st sub-transistor is connected between the 1-1st node and the 1-2nd sub-transistor, and wherein the 1-2nd sub-transistor is connected between the 2-1st node and the 1-1st sub-transistor, and not as recited in claim 5.
For the purpose of examination of claim 5 it is interpreted as “wherein the 1-1st sub-transistor is connected between the 1-1st node and the 1-2nd sub-transistor, and wherein the 1-2nd sub-transistor is connected between the 2-1st node and the 1-1st sub-transistor”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 20210210020) in the view of Lee (US 20070001938).
Regarding claim 1: Cho teaches a display device (Fig. 4 shows a display device #DD) comprising: a first pixel including a first pixel circuit and a first light emitting element; a second pixel including a second pixel circuit and a second light emitting element; and a data line configured to receive a data signal (Figs. 4-5 and paragraph [0080-0097] a plurality of pixels PX including a first pixel circuit for first pixel and a second pixel circuit for second adjacent pixel, and both of the pixel circuits comprises its own light emitting elements LD, and a data line DL configured to receive a data signal), wherein the first pixel circuit comprises: a 1-1st transistor including a gate electrode connected to a 1-1st node and connected between a first power source line receiving a first power voltage, and a 2-1st node; a 2-1st transistor connected to the data line and receiving a first scan signal; and a 3-1st transistor connected between the 1-1st node and the 2-1st node, wherein the 3-1st transistor comprises: a 1-1st sub-transistor receiving a second scan signal; and a 1-2nd sub-transistor receiving the first scan signal (Figs. 4-5 and paragraph [0080-0097] teach each of the pixel circuit comprises a 1st transistor T1 including a gate electrode G1 connected to a 1st node RN and connected between a first power source line receiving a first power voltage ELVDD, and a 2-1st node connected drain D1 of T1; a 2-1st transistor T2 connected to the data line DL and receiving a first scan signal SCi; and a 3-1st transistor T3 connected between the 1-1st node RN and the 2-1st node, wherein the 3-1st transistor T3 comprises: a 1-1st sub-transistor receiving a second scan signal SC; and a 1-2nd sub-transistor receiving the first scan signal SC), wherein the second pixel circuit comprises: a 1-2nd transistor including a gate electrode connected to a 1-2nd node and electrically connected between a 2-2nd node and the first power source line; a 2-2nd transistor connected to a data line and receiving the first scan signal; and a 3-2nd transistor connected between the 1-2nd node and the 2-2nd node, wherein the 3-2nd transistor comprises: a 2-1st sub-transistor receiving the first scan signal; and a 2-2nd sub-transistor receiving the second scan signal (Figs. 4-6 and paragraph [0080-0097] teach construction of the second pixel circuit is similar to the first pixel circuit as explained above so it also comprises a 1-2nd transistor T1 including a gate electrode G1 connected to a 1-2nd node RN and electrically connected between a 2-2nd node and the first power source line ELVDD, as explained above; a 2-2nd transistor T2 connected to a data line DL and receiving the first scan signal SC; and a 3-2nd transistor T3 connected between the 1-2nd node RN and the 2-2nd node, wherein the 3-2nd transistor T3 comprises: a 2-1st sub-transistor receiving the first scan signal SC; and a 2-2nd sub-transistor receiving the second scan signal SC).
Cho does not explicitly states a same data line shared between the two adjacent pixel circuits and a 2-2nd sub-transistor receiving the second scan signal that is delayed by a predetermined time.
However, Lee discloses a same data line shared between the two adjacent pixel circuits and a 2-2nd sub-transistor receiving the second scan signal that is delayed by a predetermined time (Fig. 3 and paragraph [0019-0030] teach a same data line D shared between the two adjacent pixel circuits OP & EP and a 2-2nd sub-transistor SW_E1 receiving the second scan signal S(n+1) that is delayed by a predetermined time). It would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Cho’s invention by including above teachings of Lee, because utilizing the same data line among the adjacent pixels requires less wiring lines and using delayed scan signal is known in the art for adjacent pixel to achieve optimal/desired image quality and simplifying pixel circuit design, as taught by Lee. The rationale would have been to use a known method or technique to achieve predictable results.
Regarding claims 2 & 18: Cho teaches wherein the 1-1st sub-transistor is connected between the 1-1st node and the 1-2nd sub-transistor, and wherein the 1-2nd sub-transistor is connected between the 2-1st node and the 1-1st sub-transistor (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0080-0097] #T3 with two 1st and 2nd sub-transistors for both pixels connected as claimed and as explained in claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claims 3, 6, & 19: Cho teaches wherein the 2-1st sub-transistor is connected between the 1-2nd node and the 2-2nd sub-transistor, and wherein the 2-2nd sub-transistor is connected between the 2-2nd node and the 2-1st sub-transistor (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0080-0097] #T3 with two 1st and 2nd sub-transistors for both pixels connected as claimed and as explained in claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claims 4 & 7: Cho teaches wherein the 2-1st sub-transistor is connected between the 2-2nd node and the 2-2nd sub-transistor, and wherein the 2-2nd sub-transistor is connected between the 1-2nd node and the 2-1st sub-transistor (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0080-0097] #T3 with two 1st and 2nd sub-transistors for both pixels connected as claimed and as explained in claim 1 rejection, also see 112 rejection).
Regarding claim 5: Cho teaches wherein the 1-1st sub-transistor is connected between the 2-1st node and the 1-2nd sub-transistor, and wherein the 1-2nd sub-transistor is connected between the 1-1st node and the 1-1st sub-transistor (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0080-0097] #T3 with two 1st and 2nd sub-transistors for both pixels connected as claimed and as explained in claim 1 rejection, also see 112 rejection).
Regarding claim 8: Cho teaches wherein the first light emitting element is connected between the 2-1st node and a second power source line receiving a second power voltage having a different voltage level from a voltage level of the first power voltage (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0080-0097] teach the light emitting element for both pixels connected between the 2-1st node and a second power source line ELVSS having a different voltage level from a voltage of the first power voltage ELVDD).
Regarding claim 9: Cho teaches wherein when viewed from above a plane, the first light emitting element overlaps the first pixel circuit, and the second light emitting element is positioned in a region offset from the second pixel circuit (Figs. 8A-B and paragraph [0140-0148] teach the pixels can be designed in multiple different configuration including the first light emitting elements overlap the first pixel circuit as shown in Fig. 8A, and the second light emitting element can be positioned in region offset from the second pixel circuit as shown in Fig. 8B).
Regarding claim 12: Cho teaches wherein the first pixel circuit further comprises: a 4-1st transistor receiving a third scan signal and connected between the 1-1st node and a first voltage line receiving a first initialization voltage; a 5-1st transistor receiving an emission control signal and connected between the first power source line and the 1-1st transistor; a 6-1st transistor receiving the emission control signal and connected between the first light emitting element and the 1-1st transistor; and a 7-1st transistor receiving the first scan signal and connected between the first light emitting element and a second voltage line receiving a second initialization voltage (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0080-0097] teach the first pixel circuit comprises a 4-1st transistor T4 receiving a third scan signal Sci-1 between the 1-1st node RN and a first initialization voltage VINIT; a 5-1st transistor T5 receiving an emission control signal Ei and connected between the first power source line ELVDD and the 1-1st transistor T1; a 6-1st transistor T6 receiving the emission control signal Ei and connected between the first light emitting element LD and the 1-1st transistor T1; and a 7-1st transistor T7 receiving the first scan signal ISCi and connected between the first light emitting element LD and a second voltage line receiving a second initialization voltage VINIT).
Regarding claim 13: Combination of Cho and Lee teach wherein the first scan signal is a signal obtained by delaying the third scan signal by a predetermined time (Cho in Fig. 6 and paragraph [0099-0109] and Lee in Figs. 5, 7 and paragraph [0031-0043] teach a plurality of scan signals and the first scan signal can be obtained by delaying the other scan signal including third scan signal). See claim 1 rejection for combination reasoning of Cho and Lee, same rationale applies here.
Regarding claim 14: Cho teaches wherein during a first data write period, the first scan signal and the second scan signal are activated to turn on the 3-1st transistor, and wherein during the first data write period, the 1-1st node is at a voltage obtained by subtracting a threshold voltage of the 1-1st transistor from a first voltage of the data signal (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0080-0097] teach scan signals used to activate T3 transistor as claimed).
Claim 17: Claim 17 recites similar claim limitations as in claim 1. Thus, all the arguments made above for claim 1 are applicable for claim 17.
Regarding claim 20: Cho teaches an electronic device comprising: a display panel (Fig. 4 shows a display device #DD) comprising: a first pixel comprising a first pixel circuit and a first light-emitting element; a second pixel comprising a second pixel circuit and a second light-emitting element; a scan driver configured to provide a first scan signal and a second scan signal (Figs. 4-5 and paragraph [0080-0097] a plurality of pixels PX including a first pixel circuit for first pixel and a second pixel circuit for second adjacent pixel, and both of the pixel circuits comprises its own light emitting elements LD, and a scan driver SDC configured to provide the plurality of scan signals), wherein the first pixel circuit comprises: a first driving transistor including a gate electrode connected to a first node and connected between a first power source line and a second node; a first switch transistor connected to a data line and configured to receive the first scan signal; and a first charge transfer transistor connected between the first node and the second node and configured to receive the first scan signal and the second scan signal (Figs. 4-5 and paragraph [0080-0097] teach each of the pixel circuit comprises a first driving transistor T1 including a gate electrode connected to a first node RN and connected between a first power source line ELVDD and a second node connected drain D1 of T1; a first switch transistor T2 connected to a data line DL and configured to receive the first scan signal Sci; and a first charge transfer transistor T3 connected between the first node RN and the second node and configured to receive the first scan signal and the second scan signal at two gates G3-1 and G3-2), wherein the second pixel circuit comprises: a second driving transistor including a gate electrode connected to a third node and connected between a fourth node and the first power source line; a second switch transistor connected to the data line and configured to receive the first scan signal; and a second charge transfer transistor connected between the third node and the fourth node and configured to receive the first scan signal and the second scan signal that is delayed by a predetermined time (Figs. 4-6 and paragraph [0080-0097] teach construction of the second pixel circuit is similar to the first pixel circuit as explained above so it also comprises a second driving transistor T1 including a gate electrode connected to a third node RN and connected between a fourth node connected drain D1 of T1 and the first power source line ELVDD; a second switch transistor T2 connected to the data line DL and configured to receive the first scan signal SCi; and a second charge transfer transistor T3 connected between the third node and the fourth node and configured to receive the first scan signal and the second scan signal at two gates G3-1 and G3-2).
Cho does not explicitly states a same data line shared between the two adjacent pixel circuits and the second scan signal that is delayed by a predetermined time.
However, Lee discloses a same data line shared between the two adjacent pixel circuits and the second scan signal that is delayed by a predetermined time (Fig. 3 and paragraph [0019-0030] teach a same data line D shared between the two adjacent pixel circuits OP & EP and a 2-2nd sub-transistor SW_E1 receiving the second scan signal S(n+1) that is delayed by a predetermined time). It would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Cho’s invention by including above teachings of Lee, because utilizing the same data line among the adjacent pixels requires less wiring lines and using delayed scan signal is known in the art for adjacent pixel to achieve optimal/desired image quality and simplifying pixel circuit design, as taught by Lee. The rationale would have been to use a known method or technique to achieve predictable results.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 20210210020), in the view of Lee (US 20070001938), and further in the view of Kim (US 20180174511).
Regarding claim 10: Combination of Cho and Lee do not explicitly disclose wherein the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element emit light of a same color.
However, However Kim teaches wherein the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element emit light of a same color (Figs. 3-4 and paragraph [0029-0053] teach the first and second light emitting elements of pixel Sp11 sharing the data line DL2 with pixel SP22 are of a same color). It would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify combination of Cho and Lee, by including above teachings of Kim, because same color pixels arranged to share the same data line requires less wiring lines while achieving optimal/desired image quality and simplifying pixel circuit design, as taught by Kim. The rationale would have been to use a known method or technique to achieve predictable results.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 20210210020), in the view of Lee (US 20070001938), and further in the view of Seo (US 20160189609).
Regarding claim 11: Combination of Cho and Lee do not explicitly disclose a first extension wire connected between the first light emitting element and the first pixel circuit; and a second extension wire connected between the second light emitting element and the second pixel circuit, wherein a length of the first extension wire is shorter than a length of the second extension wire.
However, Seo teaches a first extension wire connected between the first light emitting element and the first pixel circuit; and a second extension wire connected between the second light emitting element and the second pixel circuit, wherein a length of the first extension wire is shorter than a length of the second extension wire (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0081-0087] teach plurality of extension wires or anode connecting the OLED to the pixel circuit, and the first extension wire or AnodeJ is shorter than a length of the second extension wire AnodeK). It would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify combination of Cho and Lee, by including above teachings of Seo, because using different length extension wires requires less wiring overall while achieving optimal/desired image quality and simplifying pixel circuit design, as taught by Seo. The rationale would have been to use a known method or technique to achieve predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 15: None of the cited prior arts either alone and/or in combination teach “wherein during a second data write period different from the first data write period, the first scan signal and the second scan signal delayed by the predetermined time are activated to turn on the 3-2nd transistor, and wherein during the second data write period, the 1-2nd node is at a voltage obtained by subtracting a threshold voltage of the 1-2nd transistor from a second voltage of the data signal”.
Conclusion
/AMIT CHATLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624