DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first indexing ring and second indexing ring (as claimed in claim 7 and 8) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tiid (US 2007/0063101).
Regarding claims 1, 17-18, Tiid discloses an adjustment device (Fig. 1) for adjusting mounting of a first aircraft part on a second aircraft part, the adjustment device (Fig. 1) comprising: a base body (6), configured to be fastened onto the first aircraft part (11); an external adjustment member (7), configured to be mounted on the base body (6) in an external angular position chosen from a plurality of predefined external angular positions around an external position adjustment axis (the position is chosen and adjusted via threaded ring element 3, threaded bushing element 7 and bushing element 8); and an internal adjustment member (4, 5), configured to be mounted on the external adjustment member (7) in an internal angular position chosen from a plurality of predefined internal angular positions around an internal position adjustment axis (the position is chosen and adjusted via threaded ring element 3, threaded bushing element 7 and bushing element 8), the internal position adjustment axis (via eccentric elements 4 and 5, Fig. 3) being decentered relative to the external position adjustment axis (via element 7, Fig. 3), the second aircraft part ([0006] cabin components, seats or a galley) being configured to be fastened onto the internal adjustment member (4, 5), wherein, for each predefined internal angular position (the position is chosen and adjusted via threaded ring element 3, threaded bushing element 7 and bushing element 8), the internal adjustment member (4, 5) is configured to be placed in an elevation position (elevation above element 11) chosen from a plurality of predefined elevation positions relative to the base body (6) along the internal position adjustment axis (via eccentric elements 4 and 5, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Tiid discloses wherein the external adjustment member (7) is mounted in the base body (6) via a helical connection (via threaded portions of element 7) along the external position adjustment axis (via element 7, Fig. 3) and/or wherein the internal adjustment member is mounted in the external adjustment member via a helical connection along the internal position adjustment axis.
Regarding claim 3, Tiid discloses wherein the external adjustment member (7) comprises a peripheral surface provided with a thread (via threaded portions of element 7), the base body (6) comprising a receiving housing (aperture in center of element 6, Fig. 1) for receiving the external adjustment member (7) provided with a complementary thread ([0020] thread in element 6) configured to cooperate with the thread (via threaded portions of element 7) on the external adjustment member (7) and form the helical connection between the external adjustment member (7) and the base body (7), and/or wherein the internal adjustment member comprises a peripheral surface provided with a thread, the external adjustment member comprising an insertion hole for the internal adjustment member provided with a complementary thread configured to cooperate with the thread on the internal adjustment member and form the helical connection between the internal adjustment member and the external adjustment member.
Regarding claim 4, Tiid discloses further comprising a reversible locking (3) mechanism for reversibly locking the external adjustment member (7), the reversible locking mechanism (3) being configured to lock the external adjustment member (7) and the internal adjustment member (4, 5) in the chosen elevation position (any chosen elevation above element 11).
Regarding claim 7, Tiid discloses further comprising a reversible locking (3) mechanism for reversibly locking the internal adjustment member (4, 5) relative to the external adjustment member (7) in the chosen angular position (any chosen elevation above element 11).
Regarding claim 8, Tiid discloses wherein the reversible locking mechanism (3) for locking the internal adjustment member (4, 5) relative to the external adjustment member (7) comprises a first indexing ring (collar portion of element 4) of the internal adjustment member (4, 5) relative to the external adjustment member (7) extending around the internal position adjustment axis (Figs. 2-3) on one of the internal adjustment member (4, 5) and the external adjustment member (7), and at least one cooperating member (top portion of element 5) for cooperating with the first indexing ring (collar portion of element 4), protruding towards the first indexing ring (collar portion of element 4) from the other of the internal adjustment member (4, 5) and the external adjustment member (7).
Regarding claim 9, Tiid discloses wherein the reversible locking mechanism (3) for reversibly locking the internal adjustment member (4, 5) relative to the external adjustment member (7) comprises a second indexing ring (collar portion of element 5) extending around the internal position adjustment axis (Figs. 2-3) on the other of the internal adjustment member (4, 5) and the external adjustment member (7), the second indexing ring (collar portion of element 5) comprising a plurality of cooperating members (bottom of collar portion of element 4, element 2) for cooperating with the first indexing ring (collar portion of element 4) protruding towards the second indexing ring (collar portion of element 5).
Regarding claim 10, Tiid discloses further comprising a system (1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11) for fastening the second aircraft part ([0006] cabin components, seats or a galley) onto the internal adjustment member (collar portion of element 4), the system (1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11) for fastening the second aircraft part ([0006] cabin components, seats or a galley) onto the internal adjustment member (collar portion of element 4) being decentered relative to the internal position adjustment axis (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 11, Tiid discloses wherein the system (1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11) for fastening the second aircraft part ([0006] cabin components, seats or a galley) onto the internal adjustment member (4, 5) comprises a fastening housing (aperture within elements 4, 5) provided in the internal adjustment member (4, 5) away from the internal position adjustment axis (Figs. 2-3), and a reversible fastening member (1) of the second aircraft part ([0006] cabin components, seats or a galley), configured to be reversibly fastened in the fastening housing (aperture within elements 4, 5).
Regarding claim 12, Tiid discloses wherein the base body (6) comprises a plate (the two side plates of element 6), the adjustment device including a reversible fastening system (threaded portion within the aperture of element 11 with element 1 providing a threaded connection thereto) for reversibly fastening the plate onto the first aircraft part (11).
Regarding claim 13, Tiid discloses an aircraft cabin comprising: a first aircraft part (11); a second aircraft part ([0006] cabin components, seats or a galley); and the adjustment device according to claim 1 (Fig. 1), the adjustment device (Fig. 1) connecting the first aircraft part (11) to the second aircraft part ([0006] cabin components, seats or a galley).
Regarding claim 14, Tiid discloses wherein the first aircraft part (11) is a first trim part of the aircraft cabin (cabin floor), the second aircraft part ([0006] cabin components, seats or a galley) being a second trim part of the aircraft cabin ([0006] cabin components, seats or a galley).
Regarding claim 15, Tiid discloses wherein the first aircraft part (11) is a lateral cabin trim of the aircraft cabin ([0021] a wall fitting).
Regarding claim 16, Tiid discloses wherein the second aircraft part is a window panel ([0006] cabin components, seats or a galley).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach or render obvious alone or in combination the particulars of the independent claim in combination with the reversible locking mechanism for reversibly locking the external adjustment member having splines extending from the external adjustment member, the splines protruding radially relative to the internal position adjustment axis by defining intermediate spaces, and further comprising at least one locking rod mounted in the base body and received in an intermediate space between two splines. It would also not have been obvious to meet the overall claim without impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Examiner lists referenced documents on PTO-892 because the references present other/alternative or conceptual designs similar in scope that illustrate relevant features, which may demonstrate the level of novelty in comparison to Applicant’s inventive submission. The record relates to Applicant’s identified material and Examiner’s discovered references concerning Applicant’s subject matter relevant for a patentability determination.
/AARON M RODZIWICZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642