20DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
This office action is in response to amendments/arguments filed 04/23/2026. Claim(s) 1 are currently amended, and claim(s) 24-30 are new. The amendments are supported by the specification and the original claims, and no new matter has been entered. Claim(s) 2-4 and 18-19 are canceled. Claim(s) 5-17, 20, and 22 stand as originally or as previously presented. Claim(s) 21 and 23 remain withdrawn. Claim(s) 1, 5-17, 20, 22, and 24-30 are examined in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first direction" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-17, 20, and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN 216750210 U, a machine translation included in a prior office action is used as an English translation), in view of Link (Trends in Automotive Battery Cell Design: A Statistical Analysis of Empirical Data), Li (CN 219371258 U), Lee (US 20230216134 A1), Sugita (US 6838207 B1), and Fujita (US 20110020674 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a cell [0001], comprising:
a can ([0004] of Wu discloses a shell 122 which contains the electrode groups which is reasonably interpreted as a can, see for example fig. 9), comprising a first wall portion, a second wall portion, a third wall portion, and a fourth wall portion (as can be seen in the figure, the can is a three dimensional rectangle shape. Each side of the rectangular shape can be considered a separate wall portion, thus satisfying the claim limitation), the first wall portion being arranged opposite to the second wall portion along a thickness direction of the first wall portion ([0078] discloses and end cover 121 that covers the opening to the housing 122 to isolate the internal environment from the external environment, and that the shape of the end cover is adapted to match the housing. The end cover 121 is arranged opposite to the first wall portion along a thickness direction of the first wall portion as can be seen in figs. 7 and 5, and therefore can be considered the claimed second wall portion), the third wall portion and the fourth wall portion being oppositely arranged along a second direction (see for example fig. 6, where the shell comprises the first wall portion 122c which the venting mechanism 125 is formed on, as well as a second wall portion 121 opposite the first wall portion (visible in fig. 7), and where the shell further comprises additional side wall portions not designated with a specific part number but that can be interpreted as the claimed third and fourth wall portions because they are oppositely arranged to each other along a second direction), the first wall portion connecting the third wall portion and the fourth wall portion, and a plane formed by intersecting the thickness direction of the first wall portion with the first direction intersecting with the second direction (shown in figs. 6-7), wherein N vent mechanisms are arranged along a first direction on the first wall portion ([0046] discloses a pressure relief mechanism 125, which [0149] discloses exhausts gas from the cell to outside the can, thus reasonably reading as a “vent mechanism”. Fig. 9 discloses an embodiment wherein two pressure relief mechanism are present, thus satisfying the limitations that there are “N vent mechanisms”. Fig. 9 is provided below:
); and
An electrode assembly, accommodated in the can ([0004] discloses that the shell 122 contains the electrode groups), wherein the electrode assembly comprises a body portion ([0046] discloses an electrode assembly 123, including a main body part 123a corresponding to the main body portion) and two tabs respectively arranged at two opposite ends of the body portion along the first direction ([0140] discloses tabs 123c and 123d. As can be seen in fig. 4, the tabs are arranged such that at least two of them are present at each opposite end of the body portion along the first direction), and the body portion comprising a plurality of sub-regions, the plurality of sub-regions being consecutively rearranged along the first direction (fig. 7 discloses an embodiment wherein at least two electrode assembly bodies 124 are arranged side by side within shell 122 along a length or X direction corresponding to the claimed first direction, the electrode assembly bodies being reasonably interpreted as the claimed sub-regions. Two pressure relief mechanisms 125 are arranged on the on the base of shell 122. Fig. 7 is provided below:
), wherein a projection of each vent mechanism along a thickness direction of the first wall portion is correspondingly located in one of the sub-regions, and the thickness direction of the first wall portion intersects with the first direction (as can be seen in fig. 7, the vent mechanism/pressure relief mechanisms 125 are provided corresponding to the sub-regions, with each sub-region of electrode assembly bodies 124 corresponding to a vent mechanism 125. Further, the thickness direction of the wall portion (set on the bottom of can/shell 122), corresponding to the Z direction shown in fig. 7, can be seen to intersect with the first direction (corresponding to the X direction of fig. 7),
the first wall portion supports the body portion along a gravity direction (as shown in fig. 7, Wu discloses that the pressure relief mechanisms can be arranged on the base of the can/shell 122, thus it can be reasonably interpreted that the first wall portion supports the main body portion in a gravity direction), a channel gap is formed between the second wall portion and the body portion ([0103] discloses that the electrode assembly groups 124 are located in the shell 122, and that the internal spaces of the housing are interconnected. If either of the electrode assembly groups experience thermal runway, the internal pressure and temperature of the thermal runway electrode assembly group 124 can be released though any pressure release mechanism 125, although the closer the pressure release mechanism is to the thermal runway electrode assembly group, the easier it is to release the internal pressure and temperature of the electrode assembly group as soon as possible. Because of this arrangement, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that there are gaps created between the walls of the shell/can and the electrode assembly groups to facilitate the transfer of gasses from the electrode assembly groups to the venting mechanisms, gaps extensive enough even to permit exhaust from one electrode assembly group to reach any of the pressure relief mechanisms. As a result, it can be reasonably interpreted that there exists the claimed channel gap between the second wall portion and the body).
Wu discloses a body which necessarily has some length (denoted “L” by the instant claim). Wu additionally discloses in the embodiment of fig. 7 an example wherein the body is formed into two sub regions (L1), therefore satisfying both N≥2 and L=L-1*N. Wu does not disclose that L≥400 mm, or any length for the battery cell. It therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that lengths known in the art for battery cells could be used to determine the length of the cell of Wu. ([n0002]-[n0003] discloses that the battery of Wu is contemplated for use in electric vehicles, see also [0069]-[0071], which contemplate a car as the electrical device which utilized the battery of Wu, including a pure electric car [0071]). As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to look to existing electric vehicle batteries in the art to properly determine a length for the cell of Wu.
Abstract of Link, for example, discusses the evolving trends for batteries in electric vehicles, including increasing cell dimensions in order to provide increased cell energy. With the increased cell dimensions, electric vehicle cells are now reaching lengths of 500 or nearly 1000 mm, depending on battery type. In light of this, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a length of greater than 400 mm for the length of the body portion L in Wu. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this selection to provide increased cell energy, remaining competitive with evolving trends in the electric vehicle industry, and doing so would result in a cell satisfying all limitations of the instant claim 1, including possessing a body length L=L1*N, wherein L≥400 mm.
Wu does not disclose that the case has two end lids which cover two openings formed at two opposite ends of the case along the first direction, the end lids being formed in a one-to-one correspondence with the two openings and respectively close the openings, however such a configuration for batteries possessing a number of N vent mechanisms arranged along a first direction was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Li discloses a battery (title) wherein the case includes a number of vent mechanisms/explosion proof valves 22 ([0034] and fig. 10), and where the battery case is provided with two end lids on either side of the battery case (fig. 11 shows two end lids 231 and 232, called positive electrode and cover and negative electrode end cover 232/233 in [0034]. As can be seen in the figure, the two end lids are provided in one-to-one correspondence with the two openings, and are formed at two opposite ends of the case along the first direction, the case comprising the first wall portion.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have understood based on the disclosure of Li that the claimed lid/opening configuration was a known alternative for battery cell cans comprising a plurality of vent mechanisms arranged along a first wall portion, and as a result it would have been obvious to routinely select the lid/opening configuration of Li to implement in the design of Wu, as this would be nothing more than the routine selection of one known configuration over another. This would also result in the two end lids of the can corresponding to two ends of the electrode assembly, respectively, with the one end lid on one end of the can in the first direction corresponding to one end of the electrode assembly in the first direction, and the second end lid on the opposite end of the can in the first direction corresponding to the opposite end of the electrode assembly in the first direction.
Wu is silent as to the formation process of the case, however formation of such a battery case by bending a plate and welding a head end and a tail of the plate to each together along a circumferential direction of the two openings, and forming a weld mark at a weldment position between the head end and the tail end and located on the second wall portion, was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Lee discloses battery case similar to modified Wu, wherein the case is formed by taking a plate and bending it into a pipe/case shape (abstract). This can be seen in figs. 9-11, where fig. 9 shows the plate before it is bent, fig. 10 shows the plate as it is being bent, and fig. 11 shows the plate after the bending is complete and the welding is performed [0048], where it can be seen that a head end and a tail end of the plate are welded and connected to each other along a circumferential direction of the two openings of the case. As can be seen in fig. 9 and is disclosed by abstract, the hole H for arranging the venting mechanism of Lee [0045] is arranged on the wall portion opposite the side that is ultimately welded together, satisfying the limitation that the weld mark is located on the second wall portion, opposite the first wall portion where the venting mechanism(s) are arranged.
[0061] and [0044] of Lee discloses that this method is used to form the plate-shaped member into a pipe shaped case, thereby providing a space inside and having a structure in which both ends are open. Since modified Wu uses a pipe shaped battery case with a cell accommodation space with a structure including two openings, but no construction method, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the technique of bending and welding a plate as disclosed by Lee to construct the case of modified Wu. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to choose this method in order to obtain a known and reliable way of constructing the case of modified Wu, and selecting this method would result in a cell meeting the limitations of the instant claim 1.
Modified Wu does not explicitly disclose thicknesses for the wall portions, and therefore that a thickness of the third and fourth wall portions are both less than a thickness of the first wall portion. However, the first wall portion must have thickness sufficient at least to accommodate the vent portion, which is provided with a weak portion that has a smaller thickness than other portions of the vent mechanism so as to be easy to break [0114]. Additionally, Wu is concerned with the structural integrity of the first wall, noting that the maximum area of the pressure relief part of the pressure relief mechanism is limited to ensure the rigidity of the first/bottom wall 122c [0123]. Increasing thickness of a surface of a battery cell can is a way that is known in the art to improve rigidity to ensure structural stability, and would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to do so the first wall of the shell of Wu, given the concerns about rigidity disclosed by Wu.
Col. 3, lines 50-57 of Sugita, for example, discloses that in general it is preferable to set the thickness of external battery casings to be as thin as it is possible to do while still keeping the necessary strength, as this helps to maximize the capacity of the battery (thinner walls leaves more room for additional active material, for example). Sugita discloses an arrangement where one surface of the battery casing (the cover plate) is expected to undergo greater deformation stress, and so is made thicker than other surfaces/walls of the casing. A person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to use the same known tactic in the battery of Wu, forming the first wall portion, which Wu is concerned about the structural integrity of, to be thicker than other surfaces of the casing where venting mechanisms are not present and structural integrity is expected to be less questionable, including the third and fourth wall portions. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this change to ensure integrity of first wall portion while not making other surfaces of the casing unnecessarily thick, helping to maximize the capacity of the battery as taught by Sugita.
Wu does not provide a detailed description of the channel gap, and therefore does not disclose a first spaced formed between one of the two ends of the body portion and a corresponding one of the two end lids, and a second space that is formed between the other one of the two ends of the body portion and the other corresponding one of the two end lids, the channel gap communicating with the first space and the second space. However, such a configuration was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and would have been obvious to implement in the invention of modified Wu.
For example, Fujita discloses can for encapsulating an electrochemical cell (see figs. 1A-1D and 2A-2D), the cans provided with pressure release mechanisms/vents 10 ([0037], see figs. 2A-C), and wherein a channel gap according to the claimed configuration is provided. For example, [0038] discloses a region that forms an empty space large enough to ensure a working pressure for actuating the pressure release mechanism when abnormal events occur. In fig. 1C, it can be seen that there is a first space formed between one end of the body portion and one side of the can (corresponding to the end lid of modified Wu), a second space between the other end of the body portion and the other side of the can, and a channel gap formed between the second wall portion and the body portion. An annotated fig. 1C is provided below.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the channel gap configuration of Fujita for the channel gap of Wu. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this to obtain a known channel gap configuration to use in the battery of Wu, which discloses a channel gap but does not disclose a specific channel gap structure, and also to ensure an empty space large enough to ensure a working pressure for actuating the pressure release mechanisms/vents of modified Wu. Doing this would result in Wu having a channel gap according to the instant claim.
Regarding claim 5, modified Wu discloses the cell according to claim 1. Wu does not explicitly disclose that a sum of predetermined vent areas of the N vent mechanisms is S1, and the first wall portion has, along the thickness direction of the first wall portion, a first outer surface facing away from the body portion, an area of the first outer surface being S2, 0.05≤S1/S2≤0.55. Wu does, however, provide guidelines for determining the area of the pressure relief mechanism 125. [0118]-[00120] discloses that the pressure relief mechanism is configured to satisfy the following relationship:
0.9 ≤ m*S1/E ≤ 2.2,
wherein m is the number of pressure relief mechanisms, S1 is the cross sectional area of the pressure relief mechanism, and E is the energy of the battery cell. [0124] discloses that within this range, sufficient exhaust area/exhaust rate is ensured, the possibility of explosion due to untimely pressure relief is lowered, and it is ensured that the bottom wall 122c has enough rigidity. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand, based on these guidelines, that the area of the venting portions would depend upon both the total number of venting mechanisms as well as the energy of the battery cell. As a result, it would be expected by one of ordinary skill in the art that the area S1 if the venting mechanisms would be expected to overlap with the claimed value of 0.05≤S1/S2≤0.55, given different values for E and m. As a result, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to routinely select an E value, as well as to routinely select an S1 value from amongst the overlapping portions of the two ranges resulting in an S1 value falling within the claimed range, because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05(1)).
Regarding claim 6, modified Wu discloses the cell according to claim 5. Wu does not explicitly disclose that a sum of predetermined vent areas of the N vent mechanisms is S1, and the first wall portion has, along the thickness direction of the first wall portion, a first outer surface facing away from the body portion, an area of the first outer surface being S2, 0.15≤S1/S2≤0.35. Wu does, however, provide guidelines for determining the area of the pressure relief mechanism 125. [0118]-[00120] discloses that the pressure relief mechanism is configured to satisfy the following relationship:
0.9 ≤ m*S1/E ≤ 2.2,
wherein m is the number of pressure relief mechanisms, S1 is the cross sectional area of the pressure relief mechanism, and E is the energy of the battery cell. [0124] discloses that within this range, sufficient exhaust area/exhaust rate is ensured, the possibility of explosion due to untimely pressure relief is lowered, and it is ensured that the bottom wall 122c has enough rigidity. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand, based on these guidelines, that the area of the venting portions would depend upon both the total number of venting mechanisms as well as the energy of the battery cell. As a result, it would be expected by one of ordinary skill in the art that the area S1 if the venting mechanisms would be expected to overlap with the claimed value of 0.05≤S1/S2≤0.55, given different values for E and m. As a result, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to routinely select an E value, as well as to routinely select an S1 value from amongst the overlapping portions of the two ranges resulting in an S1 value falling within the claimed range, because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05(1)).
Regarding claim 7, modified Wu discloses the cell according to claim 5, wherein the predetermined vent areas of the N vent mechanisms are equal ([0118]-[00120] discloses that the pressure relief mechanism is configured to satisfy the following relationship:
0.9 ≤ m*S1/E ≤ 2.2,
wherein m is the number of pressure relief mechanisms, S1 is the cross sectional area of the pressure relief mechanism. As a result, it can be seen that the cross sectional area of each pressure relief mechanism is equal, and that to account for this the individual area is multiplied by the total number of pressure relief mechanisms).
Regarding claim 8, modified Wu discloses the cell according to claim 1, wherein the can comprises a first half region and a second half region, along the first direction, a portion from a middle cross-section of the can to one end of the can being the first half region, and a portion from the middle cross section of the can to an other end of the can being the second half region (as can be seen in, for example, fig. 9, the can of Wu can be divided into a first half region and a second half region along a first direction according to the limitations of the instant claim. An annotated fig. 9 with the two example half regions marked is provided below:
),
at least one vent mechanism being arranged on both the first half region and the second half region (as can be seen in the annotated figure, each half region has at least one vent mechanism, satisfying the claimed limitation), the first direction being perpendicular to the middle cross-section (see annotated fig. 8 above).
Regarding claim 9, modified Wu discloses the cell according to claim 8, wherein only two vent mechanisms are arranged on the first wall portion, and the two vent mechanisms are respectively located in the first half region and the second half region (as can be seen in the embodiment of fig. 8 of Wu and the annotated fig. 8 provided above, only two vent mechanisms are arranged on the first wall portions, the two vent mechanisms respectively being located in the first half region and the second half region).
Regarding claim 10, modified Wu discloses the cell according to claim 1, wherein the vent mechanism is provided with a score groove ([0113] of Wu discloses that in some embodiments, (see fig. 10), the pressure relief mechanism 125 includes a weak portion 125a, a first portion 125b, and a second portion 125c connected on both sides of the weak portion 125a. The first portion 125b is located in the area surrounded by the weak portion 125a, and the second portion 125c is connected between the weak portion 125a and the bottom wall 122c. The pressure relief mechanism is configured to destroy the weak portion 125a to release pressure when the internal pressure or temperature of the shell 122 reaches a threshold. Further, [0114] of Wu discloses that the weak portion 125a can be a groove set on the outer surface of the pressure relief mechanism, thus reading on the claimed “score groove”).
Modified Wu does not explicitly disclose that, denoting a length of the can along the first direction as L2, and denoting a minimum distance between score grooves of adjacent vent mechanisms is L3, the following relationships are satisfied: L2>L, and L3/L2≥1/6, L being the length of the body portion of the electrode assembly as defined in claim 1. However, Wu does disclose that the electrode assembly, including the body portion, fits inside of the can (see fig. 7, where the electrode assembly body portion made of electrode assembly groups 124 fits into the can 122, and even further includes an insulating film 129 which wraps around the assembly groups before they are inserted into the can. The fact that the body portion fits into the can, and even has an additional component provided between itself and the can, makes it clear that the claimed relationship (L2>L) that the length of the first wall portion of the can exceeds the length of the body portion of the electrode assembly is satisfied.
It is also claimed that the minimum distance between the two score grooves divided by the length of the can along the first direction (L3/L2) is greater than or equal to 1/6. This relationship is not explicitly taught by Wu, however based on the design and purpose of the pressure relief mechanisms as disclosed by Wu, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to space the pressure relief mechanisms such that the claimed relationship is satisfied. For example, [0103] discloses that the electrode assembly groups 124 are located in the shell 122, and that the internal spaces of the housing are interconnected. If either of the electrode assembly groups experience thermal runway, the internal pressure and temperature of the thermal runway electrode assembly group 124 can be released though any pressure release mechanism 125, although the closer the pressure release mechanism is to the thermal runway electrode assembly group, the easier it is to release the internal pressure and temperature of the electrode assembly group as soon as possible.
Because of this, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to space the pressure relief mechanisms apart from each other, so that exhaust from each electrode assembly group can easily reach at least one pressure relief mechanism. This relationship can be seen in the figures of Wu (see for example figs. 6-9), and is affirmed by [0100]-[0101], which discusses the embodiment of fig.7, wherein the pressure relief mechanisms are spaced apart such that each pressure relief mechanism is located at the center of the projection of the corresponding electrode group 124 on the bottom wall 122c, so that the distance between the pressure relief mechanism 125 and the surrounding parts of the corresponding electrode group 124 is equivalent. Thus, no matter which part of the electrode group 124 experiences thermal runway, pressure and temperature can quickly be released through the corresponding pressure relief mechanism 125.
As can be seen from the embodiment of fig. 7, the two pressure relief mechanisms 125 are each provided at the center of a corresponding one of the two electrode assembly groups. This means that they are placed on the first wall portion approximately 1/4th of the length L2 of the can from either end of the first wall portion. Or, in other words, if the total length L2 of the can was 500 mm (which is a reasonable length to choose in view of Link, see claim 1 rejection above), the first pressure relief mechanism would be placed at the 125 mm mark, and the second would be placed at the 375 mm mark. To determine the exact distance between the score grooves of the adjacent vent mechanisms (denoted L3 by the instant claim), the length of each vent/pressure release mechanism would need to be determined, as the score groove wraps around the edge of each mechanism 125. For example, if each pressure relief mechanism had a length of 25 mm, the two score grooves would extend to the 150 mm mark and the 350 mm mark, and the minimum distance between the two (L3) would be 200 mm, which would satisfy the claimed relationship L3/L2≥1/6 (200/500=0.4, which is greater than 1/6, or 0.166). In fact, even a length as great as 75 mm would still satisfy the claimed relationship, resulting in a L3/L2 of 0.2.
Wu does not provide guidelines for determining the length of the venting mechanisms, but does disclose guidelines for determining the area of the pressure release mechanism [0118]-[0120]. A person of ordinary skill would know that the area is determined by more than just the length, but also by the height of the pressure relief mechanism. As a result, it would be conceivable for a person of ordinary skill to develop a pressure relief mechanism that is tall rather than long, having a length low enough to enable the dimensions to satisfy the claimed formula but still possessing any area needed to satisfy the are guidelines of Wu. Additionally, from the figures of Wu (see for example fig. 9), it can be seen that Wu does not envision a pressure relief mechanism that is particularly long compared to the total length of the first wall portion 122c. It is true that figures cannot be relied upon for exact dimensions, however they can be relied upon for what they would reasonably teach, in combination with the specification, to one of ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP 2125 (II)). In this case, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand based off the drawings and the specification of Wu, that a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to configure the dimensions of the pressure relief mechanisms 125 such that the length of the pressure relief mechanisms is low enough that the claimed relationship of L3/L2≥1/6 is satisfied.
Regarding claim 11, modified Wu discloses the cell according to claim 10, wherein L3/L2 is 1/4 (taking the hypothetical length of 500 mm used in the above rejection of claim 10 for the length of the cell as a starting point, a length of the pressure relief mechanisms 125 as great as 62.5 mm would still satisfy the claimed relationship. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand based off the drawings and the specification of Wu, that a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to configure the dimensions of the pressure relief mechanisms 125 such that the length of the pressure relief mechanisms is low enough that the claimed relationship of L3/L2≥1/4 is satisfied, see claim 10 rejection above.
Regarding claim 12, modified Wu discloses the cell according to claim 10, wherein L2≥500 mm (Link discloses electric vehicle cells are reaching lengths of 500 or nearly 1000 mm, depending on battery type, see claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 13, modified Wu discloses the cell according to claim 1, wherein a length of the can along the first direction is L2, the vent mechanism is provided with a score groove ([0113] of Wu discloses that in some embodiments, (see fig. 10), the pressure relief mechanism 125 includes a weak portion 125a, a first portion 125b, and a second portion 125c connected on both sides of the weak portion 125a. The first portion 125b is located in the area surrounded by the weak portion 125a, and the second portion 125c is connected between the weak portion 125a and the bottom wall 122c. The pressure relief mechanism is configured to destroy the weak portion 125a to release pressure when the internal pressure or temperature of the shell 122 reaches a threshold. Further, [0114] of Wu discloses that the weak portion 125a can be a groove set on the outer surface of the pressure relief mechanism, thus reading on the claimed “score groove”).
Wu does not disclose that a sum of maximum spans of the score grooves of the N vent mechanisms along the first direction is D1 0.2≤D1/L2≥0.6. However, as can be seen in fig. 10, the score groove 125a extends along the circumference of the venting mechanism. Therefore, the span of the score groove, when measured from a start point around the venting mechanism, will depend on the circumference of the venting area. Wu does, provide guidelines for determining the area of the pressure relief mechanism 125. [0118]-[00120] discloses that the pressure relief mechanism is configured to satisfy the following relationship:
0.9 ≤ m*S1/E ≤ 2.2,
wherein m is the number of pressure relief mechanisms, S1 is the cross sectional area of the pressure relief mechanism, and E is the energy of the battery cell. [0124] discloses that within this range, sufficient exhaust area/exhaust rate is ensured, the possibility of explosion due to untimely pressure relief is lowered, and it is ensured that the bottom wall 122c has enough rigidity. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand, based on these guidelines, that the area of the venting portions would depend upon both the total number of venting mechanisms as well as the energy of the battery cell. Additionally, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the exact dimension of the venting portion (length and height) can be changed and adapted to configure a certain area, and that depending on the lengths and heights chosen, a multiple shapes with different circumferences may have the same area. A person of ordinary skill could therefore routinely select a number of shapes of possible circumferences to meet the area requirement of Wu.
Additionally, examiner will note that [0198] of the instant specification discloses that the span of the score groove is optimized so as to provide sufficient/improved venting rate capabilities, while still ensuring that the size of the venting mechanism is not so large as to compromise the strength of the first wall portion. This is the same reason Wu provides for optimizing the area of the venting mechanisms [0124]. As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art based on the dynamic area requirements and circumference possibilities of the venting mechanism of Wu, and the fact that both Wu and the instant application are optimizing the venting mechanism size/shape for the same reasons, that the sum of the maximum spans of the score grooves of the N vent mechanisms of Wu along the first direction would be expected to fall within or overlap the claimed relationship. After that, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to routinely select a sum of maximum spans of the score grooves because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05(1)).
Regarding claim 14, modified Wu discloses the cell according to claim 1, wherein the vent mechanism is provided with a score groove, the vent mechanism forming a weak portion in a region in which the score groove is provided, the weak portion being configured to be crackable to release pressure inside the cell ([0113] of Wu discloses that in some embodiments, (see fig. 10), the pressure relief mechanism 125 includes a weak portion 125a, a first portion 125b, and a second portion 125c connected on both sides of the weak portion 125a. The first portion 125b is located in the area surrounded by the weak portion 125a, and the second portion 125c is connected between the weak portion 125a and the bottom wall 122c. The pressure relief mechanism is configured to destroy the weak portion 125a to release pressure when the internal pressure or temperature of the shell 122 reaches a threshold, reasonably reading on the weak portion being configured to be crackable to release pressure inside the cell. Further, [0114] of Wu discloses that the weak portion 125a can be a groove set on the outer surface of the pressure relief mechanism, thus reading on the claimed “score groove”).
Regarding claim 15, modified Wu discloses the cell according to claim 14, wherein along a thickness direction of the first wall portion, an opening of the score groove faces the body portion (see for example fig. 7, which shows the cell of Wu. In fig. 7, it can be seen that the opening of the pressure relief mechanism and therefore score groove faces the body portion of the electrode assembly).
Regarding claim 16, modified Wu discloses the cell according to claim 14, wherein the vent mechanism comprises a vent region, the vent region being configured to open when the weak portion cracks ([0113] of Wu discloses that in some embodiments, (see fig. 10), the pressure relief mechanism 125 includes a weak portion 125a, a first portion 125b, and a second portion 125c connected on both sides of the weak portion 125a. The first portion 125b is located in the area surrounded by the weak portion 125a, and the second portion 125c is connected between the weak portion 125a and the bottom wall 122c. The pressure relief mechanism is configured to destroy the weak portion 125a to release pressure when the internal pressure or temperature of the shell 122 reaches a threshold. When the weak portion 125a is destroyed, the first portion 125b flips over along with the destroyed part of the weak portion 125a, thereby releasing the pressure in the battery cell. As a result, the first portion 125a can be considered the vent region, and it is configured to open when the weak portion cracks).
Regarding claim 17, modified Wu discloses the cell according to claim 16 wherein the score groove is provided around the vent region (this can be seen in fig. 10, where it is shown that the score groove/weak portion 125a is provided around the vent region/first portion 125b).
Regarding claim 20, modified Wu discloses a battery ([n0001] of Wu), comprising the cell according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 24, modified Wu discloses the cell according to claim 1, wherein a distance between an inner surface of the first wall portion and of the second wall portion is greater than a distance between an inner surface of the third wall portion and an inner surface of the fourth wall portion (As can be seen in, for example, fig 9, the distance between the first and second wall portions is depicted as proportionally greater than the distance between other sides of the can which can be reasonably declared the third and fourth wall portions. An annotated fig, 9 is provided below:
).
Regarding claim 25, modified Wu discloses the cell according to claim 1, wherein the vent mechanism is arranged separately from the first wall portion ([n0089] of Wu discloses that that the wall of the housing 122 is separate from the pressure relief mechanism 125/vent mechanism), the first wall portion is provided with a vent hole ([n0089] discloses that an exhaust port 122a, corresponding to the instantly claimed vent hole, is provided on the wall of the housing), the vent mechanism is mounted on the first wall portion and covers the vent hole ([n0089] discloses that the exhaust port/vent hole is provided on the wall of the housing opposite to the pressure relief mechanism, the pressure relief mechanism being sealed to the wall of the housing and covering the exhaust port).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN 216750210 U, a machine translation included in a prior office action is used as an English translation), in view of Link (Trends in Automotive Battery Cell Design: A Statistical Analysis of Empirical Data), Li (CN 219371258 U), Lee (US 20230216134 A1), Sugita (US 6838207 B1), and Fujita (US 20110020674 A1), and further in view of Pan (US 20220367965 A1).
Regarding claim 22, modified Wu discloses the cell according to claim 10, but does not disclose that the score groove is an H-shaped groove comprising a second straight line segment and two third straight line segments arranged as claimed. However, H-shaped score grooves were known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and would have been obvious to use in the invention of Wu.
For example, Pan discloses a “thinned area” on the case/battery body which forms an explosion-proof valve [0073], facilitating pressure relief during thermal runaway/high pressure scenarios [0034]. As a result the thinned area is reasonably interpreted as a score groove, which is designed to be weaker than surrounding area and break first in a high pressure environment. [0075] discloses an X-shaped score groove, but also discloses that the score groove/thinned area may be other shapes, including an H-shaped groove, without indicating particular limitations or preference. As a result, it would have been reasonably understood to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that an H-shaped score groove was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and selecting between an H-shaped groove or any other known shape would be nothing more than a matter of routine selection of one known score groove shape for another, and therefore it would have been obvious for person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to routinely select an H-shaped groove. After having done this, it is reasonably understood that the limitations of the instant claims are met, as the arrangement of the line segments given in claim 22 are understood to indicate an “H” shape, and therefore an “H” shape groove would meet these limitations.
Claim(s) 26 and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN 216750210 U, a machine translation included in a prior office action is used as an English translation), in view of Link (Trends in Automotive Battery Cell Design: A Statistical Analysis of Empirical Data), Li (CN 219371258 U), Lee (US 20230216134 A1), Sugita (US 6838207 B1), and Fujita (US 20110020674 A1), and further in view of Zhang (US 20210043902 A1).
Regarding claim 26, modified Wu discloses the cell according to claim 25, but does not disclose the specific groove/vent hole/vent mechanism structure as claimed. However, such a structure/configuration is known in the art and would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the can configuration of modified Wu.
For example, Zhang discloses a can/case for an electrochemical cell (see figs. 1 and 2), an anti-explosion vent for releasing gas 111 ([0065] and fig. 3), wherein the venting area of the can is configured to comprise a gas vent 112 corresponding to the instantly claimed vent hole, the side of the can that the vent is formed in it corresponds to the claimed first wall portion, the first wall portion is provided with a first groove, the first groove comprises a side surface and a first bottom surface, the side surface is arranged around the first bottom surface, the vent hole is provided on the first bottom surface, wherein a metal sheet 131 is provided corresponding to the claimed vent mechanism ([0114] discloses the metal sheet seals the vent in a normal state, but in an abnormal one the area around it will deform, causing the metal sheet/vent mechanism to get out of a state of sealing the gas vent), the metal sheet 131/vent mechanism is arranged in the first groove and abuts against the first bottom surface, and a gap is formed between at least a part of the side surface along a circumferential direction of the first groove and the vent mechanism. This can be seen in fig. 16, of which an annotated version is provided below.
As can be seen in the figure, the side surface is arranged around the first bottom surface, the vent hole is provided on the first bottom surface, the vent mechanism is arranged in the first groove and abuts against the first bottom surface, and a gap is formed between at least a part of the side surface along a circumferential direction of the first groove and the vent mechanism, satisfying the claimed limitations. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to implement the vent and vent mechanism configuration of Zhang in the invention of modified Wu to provide improved sealing of the gas exhaust valve and prevention of electrolyte leakage or external water vapor penetration during normal operation conditions, which is disclosed by [0034]-[0035] of Zhang, and doing so would result in a configuration meeting the limitations of claim 26.
Regarding claim 28, modified Wu discloses the cell according to claim 26, wherein along the thickness direction of the first wall portion, the vent mechanism is located on a side of the vent hole facing away from the body portion ([0098] of Zhang discloses that 16 is an insulation plate that insulates the cover plates 11 from the electrode assembly 3. Thus, it can be inferred that insulating plate 16 interposes between the cover plates 11 and the electrode assembly, and that the vent mechanism 131 is located in a side of the vent hole facing away from the body portion, satisfying the claimed limitation).
Regarding claim 29, modified Wu discloses the cell according to claim 28, further comprising a guard ([0128] discloses a pressing block 15 corresponding to the claimed guard, the pressing block 15/guard can be seen in fig. 16), wherein along the thickness direction of the first wall portion, the guard is located on a side of the vent mechanism facing away from the body portion and covers the first groove (see fig. 16), the first wall portion has a first outer surface facing away from the body portion, the first outer surface is provided with a second groove, the first groove is provided on a bottom surface of the second groove, and the guard is at least partially accommodated in the second groove (see fig. 16).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN 216750210 U, a machine translation included in a prior office action is used as an English translation), in view of Link (Trends in Automotive Battery Cell Design: A Statistical Analysis of Empirical Data), Li (CN 219371258 U), Lee (US 20230216134 A1), Sugita (US 6838207 B1), Fujita (US 20110020674 A1), and Zhang (US 20210043902 A1), and further in view of Liu (US 20210354241 A1).
Regarding claim 27, modified Wu discloses the cell according to claim 26, but does not disclose a configuration wherein the vent mechanism is connected to a bottom wall of the first groove by welding to form a first weld mark, wherein along the thickness direction of the first wall portion, a projection of the first weld mark is entirely located on the vent mechanism. However, such a connecting structure between two layers/plates is known in the art and would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Liu discloses a configuration for providing welding connections within a battery module (abstract), wherein a first weldment 1 and a second weldment 2, wherein the second weldment is welded and fixed to the first weldment 1 and forms a welding seam 4 [0084]. [0030] of the instant application further clarifies the language of “along the thickness direction of the first wall portion, a projection of the first weld mark is entirely located on the vent mechanism”, remarking that “in this way, the vent mechanism can be welded to the bottom wall of the first groove by penetration welding… the first weld mark formed after the welding my penetrate through the vent mechanism and be embedded into the bottom wall of the first groove...”. As can be seen in, for example, fig. 7 of Liu, the welding seam of Liu penetrates through the second weldment/layer and embeds into the first weldment/layer, thus satisfying the claimed configuration wherein a projection of the first weld mark is entirely located on the top welding layer.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the connection between the venting mechanism and the first bottom surface of Wu as a weld mark, a projection of which is entirely located in the vent mechanism and embeds into the first bottom surface, satisfying the claimed limitation. Doing so would have been nothing more than the simple substitution of one known method of providing a connection between two layers of a battery, and would predictably result in a configuration wherein the venting mechanism is securely connected to the first bottom surface via known connection means in the battery art.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN 216750210 U, a machine translation included in a prior office action is used as an English translation), in view of Link (Trends in Automotive Battery Cell Design: A Statistical Analysis of Empirical Data), Li (CN 219371258 U), Lee (US 20230216134 A1), Sugita (US 6838207 B1), Fujita (US 20110020674 A1), and Zhang (US 20210043902 A1), and further in view of Shi (US 20200212379 A1).
Regarding claim 30, modified Wu discloses the cell according to claim 29, but does not disclose a protrusion formed on a side of the first wall portion facing away from the electrode assembly in the thickness direction and arranged around the vent hole, to which the guard is secured to cover the vent hole.
However, such a configuration is known in the art and would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Shi discloses an arraignment wherein a battery can is provided with a vent hole, the vent hole being covered by a guard, the guard being secured to a protrusion fulfilling the claimed limitations. This can be seen in fig. 5 of Shi, an annotated version of which is provided below.
Shi discloses that the protecting piece 35/guard avoids foreign materials damaging the vent piece [0047]. As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the guard/protrusion configuration arranged around the vent hole as disclosed by Shi in the device of modified Wu. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to do this to obtain the above mentioned benefits, and doing so would result in a cell meeting the limitations of the instant claim 30.
Conclusion
/ZACKARY RICHARD COCHENOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/Maria Laios/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727