DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Pub. No. 2013/0049610 A1 by Chen (hereinafter Chen) in view of WO 2010/100288 A1 by Vollenweider (hereinafter Vollenweider).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen teaches a smoke detection device (Examiner interprets as an intended use) comprising:
a DC power supply (Fig. 3A @ DC source, Par. [0029, 0034]);
a first drive circuit (Fig. 3A) including:
a first constant-current drive module (Fig. 3A @ 310, Par. [0034]);
a first light-emitting diode (Fig. 3A @ L2-L3, Par. [0034]), a positive electrode of which is coupled with the DC power supply (Fig. 3A @ DC source, Par. [0029, 0034]), the DC power supply having an output voltage greater than a maximum allowable operating voltage of the first constant-current drive module (Fig. 3A @ 310, Par. [0034]: The constant electric current control circuit 310 in the instant exemplary embodiment maintains the electric current in the activated LED at a constant value, namely, the LEDs L1.about.L3 are operated in constant-current mode thus teaches the limitation); and
a first transistor (Fig. 3A @ Q1, Par. [0034]) comprising a control terminal (Fig. 3A @ Q1, PC connected to 240, Par. [0034-0035]), a first terminal (Fig. 3A @ Q1, connected to L3, Par. [0034-0035]) coupled with a negative electrode of the first light-emitting diode (Fig. 3A @ L3, Par. [0034-0035]), and a second terminal (Fig. 3A @ Q1, connected to 310, Par. [0034]) coupled with the first constant-current drive module (Fig. 3A @ 310, Par. [0034]),
wherein a voltage signal having a first set amplitude (Par. [0035]: when the voltage level of pin PC being either a high voltage or a low voltage, the transistor Q1 may conduct or cut-off, respectively) is applied onto the control terminal (Fig. 3A @ Q1, PC connected to 240, Par. [0034-0035]) such that the first transistor (Fig. 3A @ Q1, Par. [0034]) operates in a cut-off region (Par. [0035]: when the voltage level of pin PC being either a high voltage or a low voltage, the transistor Q1 may conduct or cut-off, respectively) when a voltage at the second terminal (Fig. 3A @ Q1, connected to 310, Par. [0034]) is close to the first set amplitude (inherently teaches to keep the transistor in a cut-off region); but does not explicitly teach:
a second drive circuit including:
a second constant-current drive module;
a second light-emitting diode, a positive electrode of which is coupled with the DC power supply, the DC power supply having an output voltage greater than a maximum allowable operating voltage of the second constant-current drive module; and
a second transistor comprising a control terminal, a first terminal coupled with a negative electrode of the first light-emitting diode, and a second terminal coupled with the second constant-current drive module,
wherein a voltage signal having a second set amplitude is applied onto the control terminal such that the second transistor operates in a cut-off region when a voltage at the second terminal is close to the second set amplitude;
a photodetector configured to receive light emitted by the first light-emitting diode and the second light-emitting diode;
a microcontroller configured to determine whether smoke is present based on intensity of the light emitted by the first light-emitting diode and intensity of the light emitted by the second light-emitting diode and intensity of the light received by the photodetector.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a second drive circuit including:
a second constant-current drive module;
a second light-emitting diode, a positive electrode of which is coupled with the DC power supply, the DC power supply having an output voltage greater than a maximum allowable operating voltage of the second constant-current drive module; and
a second transistor comprising a control terminal, a first terminal coupled with a negative electrode of the first light-emitting diode, and a second terminal coupled with the second constant-current drive module,
wherein a voltage signal having a second set amplitude is applied onto the control terminal such that the second transistor operates in a cut-off region when a voltage at the second terminal is close to the second set amplitude in order to detect the presence of smoke with higher reliability and thus output of a fire alarm can be output more reliable, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Still lacking limitation such as: a photodetector configured to receive light emitted by the first light-emitting diode and the second light-emitting diode;
a microcontroller configured to determine whether smoke is present based on intensity of the light emitted by the first light-emitting diode and intensity of the light emitted by the second light-emitting diode and intensity of the light received by the photodetector.
However, Vollenweider teaches a photodetector (Fig. 1 @ 14, Page 8) configured to receive light emitted by the first light-emitting diode (Fig. 1 @ 4, Page 8) and the second light-emitting diode (Fig. 1 @ 5, Page 8);
a microcontroller (Fig. 2 @ 16, Page 8) configured to determine whether smoke is present based on intensity of the light emitted by the first light-emitting diode (Fig. 1 @ 4, Page 8) and intensity of the light emitted by the second light-emitting diode (Fig. 1 @ 5, Page 8) and intensity of the light received by the photodetector (Fig. 1 @ 14, Page 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen by Vollenweider such that a photodetector configured to receive light emitted by the first light-emitting diode and the second light-emitting diode; a microcontroller configured to determine whether smoke is present based on intensity of the light emitted by the first light-emitting diode and intensity of the light emitted by the second light-emitting diode and intensity of the light received by the photodetector is accomplished in order to detect the presence of smoke with higher reliability and thus output of a fire alarm can be output more reliable (Vollenweider, Page 5).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen as modified by Vollenweider teaches the first set amplitude is less than the second set amplitude (Chen, Par. [0035], Vollenweider, Page 4).
Regarding Claim 3, Chen as modified by Vollenweider teaches the first light-emitting diode is an infrared light-emitting diode and the second light-emitting diode is a blue light-emitting diode (Vollenweider, Page 4, 5, Claim 6).
Regarding Claim 4, Chen as modified by Vollenweider teaches the first set amplitude is non-zero and the second set amplitude is non-zero (Chen, Par. [0035], Vollenweider, Page 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Chen as modified by Vollenweider teaches the first drive circuit and the second drive circuit (See Claim 1 rejection above) are in electrical parallel between the DC power supply (Fig. 3A @ DC source, Par. [0029, 0034]) and a source of the voltage signal (Fig. 3A @ PC, PS, Par. [0034, 0035]).
Additional Prior Art
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The reference listed teaches of other prior art method/system of smoke detection.
US Patent No. 5574436 by Sisselman et al (Fig. 1).
US Patent Pub. No. 2021/0208619 A1 by Zhou et al (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/JAMIL AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877