DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on 07/09/2025, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The following is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to applicant’s filing from 07/09/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The application claims priority to provisional application 63/161,236, filed on 03/15/2021; is a continuation of 17/689,336, filed on 03/08/2022; is a continuation of 18/229,250, filed on 08/02/2023; and is a continuation of 18/895,703, filed on 09/25/2024. The priority is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 8, 8, 12, 12, 13, 14, 12, 12, 16, 17, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,384,458. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the left frame rail and the right frame rail are indistinguishable with the frame members of the frame assembly; and because a solid axle is indistinguishable from an axle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-12, 14-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma (CN 108327787).
Regarding claim 1, Ma discloses a chassis for a vehicle {Fig. 1}, the chassis comprising: a frame assembly {1: “a chassis comprising: a frame” [0023]}; an axle {10} coupled to the frame assembly {1}; and a steering assembly {3+4+5+6+8+9} including: a pair of wheel hubs {4 (402)} coupled to opposing ends of the axle {10 (Figs. 1, 4)}; a steering gear mechanism {6: “steering gear mechanism” [0062-0064]} positioned between frame members of the frame assembly {1 (Fig. 1)}; and a linkage assembly {3+5+8+9: “The vehicle steering system includes a steering transmission. The steering transmission mechanism includes a steering transmission unit… The steering transmission unit includes a steering rocker arm 5, a steering rod 9, a guide mechanism 8, and a knuckle arm 3” [0042-0043]} coupling the steering gear mechanism {6 (Fig. 1)} to the pair of wheel hubs {4 (402)} to facilitate steering the pair of wheel hubs {4 (402)} through actuation of the steering gear mechanism {6 [0080]}, wherein no components of the linkage assembly {3+5+8+9} extend through any of the frame members of the frame assembly {1 (Fig. 1): they all extend underneath frame assembly 1 [0078]}.
Regarding claim 2, Ma discloses bottom surfaces of the frame assembly {1: “the lower bottom surface of the frame 1” [0078]} define a bottom plane {Fig. 1}, and wherein at least a portion {top surface portion (Fig. 1)} of the steering gear mechanism {6} is positioned along the bottom plane {“the rotating rocker arm 5 on the lower bottom surface of the frame 1” [0078]}.
Regarding claim 3, Ma discloses bottom surfaces of the frame assembly {1: “the lower bottom surface of the frame 1” [0078]} define a bottom plane {Fig. 1}, and wherein the steering gear mechanism {6} is positioned entirely below the bottom plane {“the rotating rocker arm 5 on the lower bottom surface of the frame 1” [0078]}.
Regarding claim 5, Ma discloses {Fig. 1} the linkage assembly {3+5+8+9} includes (a) one or more pitman arms {5} coupled to the steering gear mechanism {6}, (b) a pair of steering links {9} coupled to the one or more pitman arms {5}, and (c) a pair of tie rod arms {3} coupling the pair of steering links {9} to the pair of wheel hubs {4 (402)}.
Regarding claim 6, Ma discloses bottom surfaces of the frame assembly {1: “the lower bottom surface of the frame 1” [0078]} define a bottom plane {Fig. 1}, and wherein the one or more pitman arms {5} are shaped such that at least a portion of the pair of steering links {9} are positioned beneath the bottom plane and pass underneath the frame members of the frame assembly {1} and do not extend through the frame members {Fig. 1}.
Regarding claim 7, Ma discloses bottom surfaces of the frame assembly {1: “the lower bottom surface of the frame 1” [0078]} define a bottom plane {Fig. 1}, wherein the pair of steering links {9} are shaped such that at least a portion of the pair of steering links {9} are positioned beneath the bottom plane and pass underneath the frame members of the frame assembly {1} and do not extend through the frame members {Fig. 1}.
Regarding claim 8, Ma discloses {Fig. 1} the steering gear mechanism {6: “steering gear mechanism” [0062-0064]} includes a first gear box {6 (left side)} and a second gear box {6 (right side)} positioned between the frame members of the frame assembly {1}.
Regarding claim 10, Ma discloses a chassis for a vehicle {Fig. 1}, the chassis comprising: a frame assembly {1: “a chassis comprising: a frame” [0023]}; an axle {10} coupled to the frame assembly; and a steering assembly {3+4+5+6+8+9} including: a pair of wheel hubs {4 (402)} coupled to opposing ends of the axle {10 (Figs. 1, 4)}; a steering gear mechanism {6: “steering gear mechanism” [0062-0064]} positioned between frame members of the frame assembly {1 (Fig. 1)}; and a linkage assembly {3+5+8+9: “The vehicle steering system includes a steering transmission. The steering transmission mechanism includes a steering transmission unit… The steering transmission unit includes a steering rocker arm 5, a steering rod 9, a guide mechanism 8, and a knuckle arm 3” [0042-0043]} coupling the steering gear mechanism {6} to the pair of wheel hubs {4 (402)} to facilitate steering the pair of wheel hubs {4 (402)} through actuation of the steering gear mechanism {6 [0080]}, wherein the linkage assembly {3+5+8+9} passes underneath the frame members of the frame assembly {1 (Fig. 1)}.
Regarding claim 11, Ma discloses bottom surfaces of the frame assembly {1: “the lower bottom surface of the frame 1” [0078]} define a bottom plane {Fig. 1}, and wherein at least a portion {top surface portion (Fig. 1)} of the steering gear mechanism {6} is positioned along the bottom plane {“the rotating rocker arm 5 on the lower bottom surface of the frame 1” [0078]}.
Regarding claim 12, Ma discloses bottom surfaces of the frame assembly {1: “the lower bottom surface of the frame 1” [0078]} define a bottom plane {Fig. 1}, and wherein the steering gear mechanism {6} is positioned entirely below the bottom plane {“the rotating rocker arm 5 on the lower bottom surface of the frame 1” [0078]}.
Regarding claim 14, Ma discloses {Fig. 1} the linkage assembly {3+5+8+9} includes (a) one or more pitman arms {5} coupled to the steering gear mechanism {6}, (b) a pair of steering links {9} coupled to the one or more pitman arms {5}, and (c) a pair of tie rod arms {3} coupling the pair of steering links {9} to the pair of wheel hubs {4 (402)}.
Regarding claim 15, Ma discloses bottom surfaces of the frame assembly {1: “the lower bottom surface of the frame 1” [0078]} define a bottom plane {Fig. 1}, and wherein the one or more pitman arms {5} are shaped such that at least a portion of the pair of steering links {9} are positioned beneath the bottom plane and pass underneath the frame members of the frame assembly {1} and do not extend through the frame members {Fig. 1}.
Regarding claim 16, Ma discloses bottom surfaces of the frame assembly {1: “the lower bottom surface of the frame 1” [0078]} define a bottom plane {Fig. 1}, wherein the pair of steering links {9} are shaped such that at least a portion of the pair of steering links {9} are positioned beneath the bottom plane and pass underneath the frame members of the frame assembly {1} and do not extend through the frame members {Fig. 1}.
Regarding claim 17, Ma discloses {Fig. 1} the steering gear mechanism {6: “steering gear mechanism” [0062-0064]} includes a first gear box {6 (left side)} and a second gear box {6 (right side)} positioned between the frame members of the frame assembly {1}.
Regarding claim 19, Ma discloses a chassis for a vehicle {Fig. 1}, the chassis comprising: a frame assembly {1: “a chassis comprising: a frame” [0023]}; an axle assembly {10} coupled directly to the frame assembly, the axle assembly {10} including a solid axle {10}; and a steering assembly{3+4+5+6+8+9} including: a pair of wheel hubs {4 (402)} coupled to opposing ends of the solid axle {10 (Figs. 1, 4)}; a steering gear mechanism {6: “steering gear mechanism” [0062-0064]} positioned between frame members of the frame assembly {1 (Fig. 1)}; one or more pitman arms {5} coupled to the steering gear mechanism {6}; and a pair of steering links {9} coupling the one or more pitman arms {5} to the pair of wheel hubs {4 (402)} to facilitate steering the pair of wheel hubs {4 (402)} through actuation of the steering gear mechanism {6}, wherein the pair of steering links {9} pass underneath the frame members of the frame assembly {1} such that no components of the steering assembly {3+4+5+6+8+9} extend through any of the frame members of the frame assembly {1 (Fig. 1)}.
Regarding claim 20, Ma discloses bottom surfaces of the frame assembly {1: “the lower bottom surface of the frame 1” [0078]} define a bottom plane {Fig. 1}, and wherein the one or more pitman arms {5} are shaped such that at least a portion of the pair of steering links {9} are positioned beneath the bottom plane and pass underneath the frame members of the frame assembly {1} and do not extend through the frame members {Fig. 1}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 9, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Magnusson (3,768,825).
Regarding claim 4, Ma discloses bottom surfaces of the frame assembly {1: “the lower bottom surface of the frame 1” [0078]} define a bottom plane {Fig. 1}.
However, Ma does not disclose the steering gear mechanism is positioned entirely above the bottom plane.
Magnusson teaches {Figs. 1-3} a steering gear mechanism {21} is positioned entirely above a bottom plane {Fig. 3} defined by a bottom surface of the frame assembly {bottom surface of 8}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chassis, as disclosed by Ma, such that the steering gear mechanism is positioned entirely above the bottom plane, as taught by Magnusson, so that the steering gear “is located centrally on the wheel axle frame 8” {Col. 2, lines 37-38}.
Regarding claim 9, Ma discloses {Fig. 1} the axle {10} is coupled to the frame assembly {1 (via 11)}.
However, Ma does not disclose the axle is coupled directly to the frame assembly.
Magnusson teaches an axle {1} is coupled directly to the frame assembly {8: “The wheel axle 1 is supported by a longitudinal frame 8 which by means of a bolt 9 and a mechanism 9a mounted so as to have but an insignificant elastic deflection axially” (Col. 2, lines 15-18)}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chassis, as disclosed by Ma, such that the axle is coupled directly to the frame assembly, as taught by Magnusson, “so as to have but an insignificant elastic deflection axially” {Col. 2, lines 17-18}.
Regarding claim 13, Ma discloses bottom surfaces of the frame assembly {1: “the lower bottom surface of the frame 1” [0078]} define a bottom plane {Fig. 1}.
However, Ma does not disclose the steering gear mechanism is positioned entirely above the bottom plane.
Magnusson teaches {Figs. 1-3} a steering gear mechanism {21} is positioned entirely above a bottom plane {Fig. 3} defined by a bottom surface of the frame assembly {bottom surface of 8}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chassis, as disclosed by Ma, such that the steering gear mechanism is positioned entirely above the bottom plane, as taught by Magnusson, so that the steering gear “is located centrally on the wheel axle frame 8” {Col. 2, lines 37-38}.
Regarding claim 18, Ma discloses {Fig. 1} the axle {10} is coupled to the frame assembly {1 (via 11)}.
However, Ma does not disclose the axle is coupled directly to the frame assembly.
Magnusson teaches an axle {1} is coupled directly to the frame assembly {8: “The wheel axle 1 is supported by a longitudinal frame 8 which by means of a bolt 9 and a mechanism 9a mounted so as to have but an insignificant elastic deflection axially” (Col. 2, lines 15-18)}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chassis, as disclosed by Ma, such that the axle is coupled directly to the frame assembly, as taught by Magnusson, “so as to have but an insignificant elastic deflection axially” {Col. 2, lines 17-18}.
Conclusion
/Daniel M. Keck/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614