DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on 07/09/2025, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The following is a Final Office Action on the merits in response to applicant’s filing from 05/26/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The application claims priority to provisional application 63/161,236, filed on 03/15/2021; is a continuation of 17/689,336, filed on 03/08/2022; is a continuation of 18/229,250, filed on 08/02/2023; and is a continuation of 18/895,703, filed on 09/25/2024. The priority is acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 05/26/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 8, 10, and 19 under 35 USC 102 in view of Ma have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Gideon (US 2006/0208445), as cited by Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gideon (US 2006/0208445), as cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, Gideon discloses a chassis {“self powered chassis” [0002]} for a vehicle {“vehicle” [0013]}, the chassis {“self powered chassis” [0002]} comprising: a frame assembly {24+26} including a first frame member {24 (left)} configured to be mounted to a body {“mounted to a vehicle's frame rails, not shown or part of this invention, positioned on opposite sides of the undercarriage of a vehicle, not shown” [0051]} and a second frame member {24 (right)} spaced apart from the first frame member {24 (left)} and configured to be mounted to the body separately from the first frame member {via 20+22 (left and right): “mounted to a vehicle's frame rails, not shown or part of this invention, positioned on opposite sides of the undercarriage of a vehicle, not shown or part of this invention, by fastening the tops of rear frame hangers 20 and front frame hangers 22 to the vehicle frame rails, not shown, toward the front of the vehicle, not shown. The bottoms of frame hangers 20 and 22 are attached to the outside of two parallel side rails 24” [0051]}; an axle {14} coupled to the frame assembly {24+26 (via 28 and 30): “shock absorbers 28 between side rails 24 and axle 14 on both sides and two air springs 30 mounted between the top surface of axle 14 and the under side of side rails 24” [0051]}; and a steering assembly {12+13+32+33+34+36+38+40+42+44} including: a pair of wheel hubs {12, 13 (Figs. 1-5)} coupled to opposing ends of the axle {14}; a steering gear mechanism {42 (Fig. 5)} positioned between the first frame member {24 (left)} and the second frame member {24 (right)}; and a linkage assembly {32+33+34+36+38+40+44} coupling the steering gear mechanism {42} to the pair of wheel hubs {12, 13 (Figs. 1-5)} to facilitate steering the pair of wheel hubs {12, 13} through actuation of the steering gear mechanism {42: “Rotation of steering gear 42 thus shifts the orientation of drive wheel 12 and through main tie rod 36 to opposite tie rod arm 33, causes both wheels 12 and 13 to turn in unison” [0054]}, wherein no components of the linkage assembly {32+33+34+36+38+40+44} extend through any of the frame members {24 (left, right)} of the frame assembly {24+26 (Figs. 1-5)}.
Regarding claim 2, Gideon discloses bottom surfaces {bottom surfaces of 24 (Fig. 2, note that bottom surfaces of 24 are below the bottom surface of 26)} of the frame assembly {24+26} define a bottom plane {plane along bottom surfaces of 24}, and wherein at least a portion of the steering gear mechanism {42} is positioned along the bottom plane {because Gideon discloses a top portion of “steering gear 42 mounted to the bottom of front cross brace 26” [0053], so it is clear that a top portion of 42 is above the bottom surfaces of 24; and from Fig. 1 it is clear that a bottom portion of 42 is below the bottom surfaces of 24; therefore, an interior portion of 42, between the top and bottom of 42, must be positioned along the bottom plane}.
Regarding claim 3, Gideon discloses bottom surfaces {bottom surface of 26} of the frame assembly {24+26} define a bottom plane {plane associated with the bottom surface of 26}, and wherein the steering gear mechanism {42} is positioned entirely below the bottom plane {“FIG. 3 shows steering gear 42 mounted to the bottom of front cross brace 26” [0053]}.
Regarding claim 5, Gideon discloses the linkage assembly {32+33+34+36+38+40+44} includes (a) one or more pitman arms {44} coupled to the steering gear mechanism {42}, (b) a pair of steering links {36, 38} coupled to the one or more pitman arms {44 (via 34+40)}, and (c) a pair of tie rod arms {32, 33} coupling the pair of steering links {36, 38} to the pair of wheel hubs {12, 13 (Fig. 5)}.
Regarding claim 6, Gideon discloses bottom surfaces {bottom surfaces of 24 (left, right)} of the frame assembly {24+26} define a bottom plane {plane along bottom surfaces of 24}, and wherein the one or more pitman arms {44} are shaped such that at least a portion of the pair of steering links {36, 38} are positioned beneath the bottom plane {Fig. 2} and pass underneath the frame members {24 (left, right)} of the frame assembly {24+26} and do not extend through the frame members {24 (left, right)}.
Regarding claim 7, Gideon discloses bottom surfaces {bottom surfaces of 24 (left, right)} of the frame assembly {24+26} define a bottom plane {plane along bottom surfaces of 24}, wherein the pair of steering links {36, 38} are shaped such that at least a portion of the pair of steering links {36, 38} are positioned beneath the bottom plane {Fig. 2} and pass underneath the frame members {24 (left, right)} of the frame assembly {24+26} and do not extend through the frame members {24 (left, right)}.
Regarding claim 9, Gideon discloses the axle {14} is coupled directly to the frame assembly {24+26 (via 28 and 30): “shock absorbers 28 between side rails 24 and axle 14 on both sides and two air springs 30 mounted between the top surface of axle 14 and the under side of side rails 24” [0051]}.
Regarding claim 10, Gideon discloses a chassis {“self powered chassis” [0002]} for a vehicle {“vehicle” [0013]}, the chassis {“self powered chassis” [0002]} comprising: a frame assembly {24+26} including a first frame member {24 (left)} configured to be mounted to a body {“mounted to a vehicle's frame rails, not shown or part of this invention, positioned on opposite sides of the undercarriage of a vehicle, not shown” [0051]} and a second frame member {24 (right)} spaced apart from the first frame member {24 (left)} and configured to be mounted to the body separately from the first frame member {via 20+22 (left and right): “mounted to a vehicle's frame rails, not shown or part of this invention, positioned on opposite sides of the undercarriage of a vehicle, not shown or part of this invention, by fastening the tops of rear frame hangers 20 and front frame hangers 22 to the vehicle frame rails, not shown, toward the front of the vehicle, not shown. The bottoms of frame hangers 20 and 22 are attached to the outside of two parallel side rails 24” [0051]}; an axle {14} coupled to the frame assembly {24+26 (via 28 and 30): “shock absorbers 28 between side rails 24 and axle 14 on both sides and two air springs 30 mounted between the top surface of axle 14 and the under side of side rails 24” [0051]}; and a steering assembly {12+13+32+33+34+36+38+40+42+44} including: a pair of wheel hubs {12, 13 (Figs. 1-5)} coupled to opposing ends of the axle {14}; a steering gear mechanism {42 (Fig. 5)} positioned between the first frame member {24 (left)} and the second frame member {24 (right)}; and a linkage assembly {32+33+34+36+38+40+44} coupling the steering gear mechanism {42} to the pair of wheel hubs {12, 13 (Figs. 1-5)} to facilitate steering the pair of wheel hubs {12, 13} through actuation of the steering gear mechanism {42: “Rotation of steering gear 42 thus shifts the orientation of drive wheel 12 and through main tie rod 36 to opposite tie rod arm 33, causes both wheels 12 and 13 to turn in unison” [0054]}, wherein the linkage assembly {32+33+34+36+38+40+44} passes underneath the frame members {24 (left, right)} of the frame assembly {24+26 (Figs. 1-5)}.
Regarding claim 11, Gideon discloses bottom surfaces {bottom surfaces of 24 (Fig. 2, bottom surfaces of 24 are below the bottom surface of 26)} of the frame assembly {24+26} define a bottom plane {plane along bottom surfaces of 24}, and wherein at least a portion of the steering gear mechanism {42} is positioned along the bottom plane {because Gideon discloses a top portion of “steering gear 42 mounted to the bottom of front cross brace 26” [0053], so it is clear that a top portion of 42 is above the bottom surfaces of 24; and from Fig. 1 it is clear that a bottom portion of 42 is below the bottom surfaces of 24; therefore, an interior portion of 42, between the top and bottom of 42, must be positioned along the bottom plane}.
Regarding claim 12, Gideon discloses bottom surfaces {bottom surface of 26} of the frame assembly {24+26} define a bottom plane {plane associated with the bottom surface of 26}, and wherein the steering gear mechanism {42} is positioned entirely below the bottom plane {“FIG. 3 shows steering gear 42 mounted to the bottom of front cross brace 26” [0053]}.
Regarding claim 14, Gideon discloses the linkage assembly {32+33+34+36+38+40+44} includes (a) one or more pitman arms {44} coupled to the steering gear mechanism {42}, (b) a pair of steering links {36, 38} coupled to the one or more pitman arms {44 (via 34+40)}, and (c) a pair of tie rod arms {32, 33} coupling the pair of steering links {36, 38} to the pair of wheel hubs {12, 13 (Fig. 5)}.
Regarding claim 15, Gideon discloses bottom surfaces {bottom surfaces of 24 (left, right)} of the frame assembly {24+26} define a bottom plane {plane along bottom surfaces of 24}, and wherein the one or more pitman arms {44} are shaped such that at least a portion of the pair of steering links {36, 38} are positioned beneath the bottom plane {Fig. 2} and pass underneath the frame members {24 (left, right)} of the frame assembly {24+26} and do not extend through the frame members {24 (left, right)}.
Regarding claim 16, Gideon discloses bottom surfaces {bottom surfaces of 24 (left, right)} of the frame assembly {24+26} define a bottom plane {plane along bottom surfaces of 24}, wherein the pair of steering links {36, 38} are shaped such that at least a portion of the pair of steering links {36, 38} are positioned beneath the bottom plane {Fig. 2} and pass underneath the frame members {24 (left, right)} of the frame assembly {24+26} and do not extend through the frame members {24 (left, right)}.
Regarding claim 18, Gideon discloses the axle {14} is coupled directly to the frame assembly {24+26 (via 28 and 30): “shock absorbers 28 between side rails 24 and axle 14 on both sides and two air springs 30 mounted between the top surface of axle 14 and the under side of side rails 24” [0051]}.
Regarding claim 19, Gideon discloses a chassis {“self powered chassis” [0002]} for a vehicle {“vehicle” [0013]}, the chassis {“self powered chassis” [0002]} comprising: a frame assembly {24+26} including a first frame member {24 (left)} configured to be mounted to a body {“mounted to a vehicle's frame rails, not shown or part of this invention, positioned on opposite sides of the undercarriage of a vehicle, not shown” [0051]} and a second frame member {24 (right)} spaced apart from the first frame member {24 (left)} and configured to be mounted to the body separately from the first frame member {via 20+22 (left and right): “mounted to a vehicle's frame rails, not shown or part of this invention, positioned on opposite sides of the undercarriage of a vehicle, not shown or part of this invention, by fastening the tops of rear frame hangers 20 and front frame hangers 22 to the vehicle frame rails, not shown, toward the front of the vehicle, not shown. The bottoms of frame hangers 20 and 22 are attached to the outside of two parallel side rails 24” [0051]}; an axle assembly {14} coupled directly to the frame assembly {24+26 (via 28 and 30): “shock absorbers 28 between side rails 24 and axle 14 on both sides and two air springs 30 mounted between the top surface of axle 14 and the under side of side rails 24” [0051]}, the axle assembly {14} including a solid axle {14 (Fig. 5)}; and a steering assembly {12+13+32+33+42+44} including: a pair of wheel hubs {12, 13 (Figs. 1-5)} coupled to opposing ends of the solid axle {14}; a steering gear mechanism {42 (Fig. 5)} positioned between the first frame member {24 (left)} and the second frame member {24 (right)}; one or more pitman arms {44} coupled to the steering gear mechanism {42}; and a pair of steering links {32, 33} coupling the one or more pitman arms {44} to the pair of wheel hubs {12, 13 (via 34+36+38+40+46)} to facilitate steering the pair of wheel hubs {12, 13 (Figs. 1-5)} through actuation of the steering gear mechanism {42: “Rotation of steering gear 42 thus shifts the orientation of drive wheel 12 and through main tie rod 36 to opposite tie rod arm 33, causes both wheels 12 and 13 to turn in unison” [0054]}, wherein the pair of steering links {32, 33} pass underneath the frame members {24 (left, right)} of the frame assembly {24+26 (see Figs. 2-3)} such that no components of the steering assembly {12+13+32+33+42+44} extend through any of the frame members {24 (left, right)} of the frame assembly {24+26 (Figs. 1-5)}.
Regarding claim 20, Gideon discloses bottom surfaces {bottom surfaces of 24 (left, right)} of the frame assembly {24+26} define a bottom plane {plane along bottom surfaces of 24}, and wherein the one or more pitman arms {44} and the pair of steering links {32, 33} are shaped such that at least a portion of the pair of steering links {32, 33} are positioned beneath the bottom plane {plane along bottom surfaces of 24 (Fig. 2)} and pass underneath the frame members {24 (left, right)} of the frame assembly {24+26} and do not extend through the frame members {24 (left, right)}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gideon in view of Magnusson (3,768,825).
Regarding claim 4, Gideon discloses all the aspects of claim 1. Gideon further discloses bottom surfaces {bottom surfaces of 24 (left, right)} of the frame assembly {24+26} define a bottom plane {plane associated with bottom surfaces of 24 (Fig. 2)}.
However, Gideon does not disclose the steering gear mechanism is positioned entirely above the bottom plane.
Magnusson teaches {Figs. 1-3} a steering gear mechanism {21} is positioned entirely above a bottom plane {plane defined by the bottom surfaces of 8} defined by bottom surfaces {bottom surfaces of 8} of the frame assembly {8 (Fig. 3)}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chassis, as disclosed by Gideon, such that the steering gear mechanism is positioned entirely above the bottom plane, as taught by Magnusson, in order to provide “a low space for housing the various parts of the steering device and preserving the satisfactory suspension qualities” {Col. 1, lines 24-26}.
Regarding claim 13, Gideon discloses all the aspects of claim 10. Gideon further discloses bottom surfaces {bottom surfaces of 24 (left, right)} of the frame assembly {24+26} define a bottom plane {plane associated with bottom surfaces of 24 (Fig. 2)}.
However, Gideon does not disclose the steering gear mechanism is positioned entirely above the bottom plane.
Magnusson teaches {Figs. 1-3} a steering gear mechanism {21} is positioned entirely above a bottom plane {plane defined by the bottom surfaces of 8} defined by bottom surfaces {bottom surfaces of 8} of the frame assembly {8 (Fig. 3)}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chassis, as disclosed by Gideon, such that the steering gear mechanism is positioned entirely above the bottom plane, as taught by Magnusson, in order to provide “a low space for housing the various parts of the steering device and preserving the satisfactory suspension qualities” {Col. 1, lines 24-26}.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gideon in view of Wu (CN 208602555).
Regarding claim 8, Gideon discloses all the aspects of claim 1. Gideon further discloses the steering gear mechanism {42} includes a first gear box {42 (Fig. 5)} positioned between the first frame member {24 (left)} and the second frame member {24 (right): “the steering gear is placed in-between and below the frame rails” [0011]}.
However, Gideon does not disclose the steering gear mechanism includes a first gear box and a second gear box positioned between the first frame member and the second frame member (emphasis added).
Wu teaches a steering gear mechanism {3: “steering gear 3” [0024]} includes a first gear box and a second gear box {Fig. 4}, which Wu believes is superior to only having one gear box {prior art in Fig. 2}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chassis, as disclosed by Gideon, such that the steering gear mechanism includes a first gear box and a second gear box positioned between the first frame member and the second frame member, as taught by Wu, in order to provide a “simple structure and improved steering control precision” [0006], as well as “More realistic feedback on the steering state of the entire car, automatic driving issued corresponding instructions to make the stability of the entire car stronger, to ensure safe driving of the entire car” [0013].
Regarding claim 17, Gideon discloses all the aspects of claim 10. Gideon further discloses the steering gear mechanism {42} includes a first gear box {42 (Fig. 5)} positioned between the first frame member {24 (left)} and the second frame member {24 (right): “the steering gear is placed in-between and below the frame rails” [0011]}.
However, Gideon does not disclose the steering gear mechanism includes a first gear box and a second gear box positioned between the first frame member and the second frame member (emphasis added).
Wu teaches a steering gear mechanism {3: “steering gear 3” [0024]} includes a first gear box and a second gear box {Fig. 4}, which Wu believes is superior to having only one gear box {prior art in Fig. 2}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chassis, as disclosed by Gideon, such that the steering gear mechanism includes a first gear box and a second gear box positioned between the first frame member and the second frame member, as taught by Wu, in order to provide a “simple structure and improved steering control precision” [0006], as well as “More realistic feedback on the steering state of the entire car, automatic driving issued corresponding instructions to make the stability of the entire car stronger, to ensure safe driving of the entire car” [0013].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Daniel M. Keck/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614