DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 04/13/2026, which has been entered and made of record. Claims 1 and 7-8 have been amended. Claims 1-2, 4-14 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/13/2026 regarding claims rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits “Wilson does not teach or suggest the claimed sequence of: (a) extracting features from web information obtained from a website, where the web information includes at least one of text information, image information, video information, or code information of the website; (b) determining style information based on those extracted features; and (c) generating prompt information based on the determined style information that is then input to a generative model to generate a result image.” “Wilson merely describes a manual process where users navigate to websites or social media venues to browse, select, and download pre-packaged style files that are then imported into a user's style profiles or library. Wilson's pre-packaged style files are not derived from automated extraction and analysis of website content, nor are they converted into prompt information for input to a generative model.” (Remarks, Page 7.)
The examiner disagrees with Applicant’s premises and conclusion. Wilson discloses (a) extracting features from web information obtained from a website, where the web information includes at least one of text information, image information, video information, or code information of the website (Wilson teaches navigate the user to a collection of styles corresponding to that source, such as a website and the content extraction component 204 extract the style from the collection.; (b) determining style information based on those extracted features (Wilson, “The personal style extraction component 206 is generally responsible for determining or learning a user's personal style from the content extracted by the content extraction component 204.”); and (c) generating prompt information based on the determined style information that is then input to a generative model to generate a result image.”(Wilson, “the one or more machine learning models can be fed (e.g., via the content extraction component 204) the one or more target images 302 (or one or more portions of the target image(s) 302) of a first user.”).
“Wilson merely describes a manual process where users navigate to websites or social media venues to browse, select, and download pre-packaged style files that are then imported into a user's style profiles or library. Wilson's pre-packaged style files are not derived from automated extraction and analysis of website content, nor are they converted into prompt information for input to a generative model” is irrelevant to the claim term because Wilson teaches the content extraction component 204 extract the style from the collection and the personal style extraction component 206. Even Wilson has a user manual selection process, the component 204 and 206 were automated.
Further Krogh et al. (US Pub 2020/0183989 A1) also teaches the claim term. Please see below office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US Pub 2024/0355022 A1) in view of Wilson et al. (US Pub 2022/0377257 A1) and Krogh et al. (US Pub 2020/0183989 A1).
As to claim 1, Shi discloses a generation support device for supporting generation of a result image (Shi, Abstract.), the generation support device comprising:
a generation information acquisition unit configured to acquires, from a user, generation information including at least style information regarding a style of the result image and an element image constituting part of the result image (Shi, abstract, “obtaining an input description and an input image depicting a subject” Fig. 2, ¶0021, “enable efficient generation of customized images by learning a concept from a set of representative inputs” ¶0023, “new high-quality images can be generated from text description, p, and a few images of a subject (i.e., concept), using a pre-trained text-to-image model.“ ¶0043, “image generation apparatus 120 can prompt a user 105 to provide a plurality of initial images 115, where the set 112 of the plurality of images 115 contains the same subject, which can be a person, an object, a building, an animal, etc., where the subject is the primary visual element that is the focus of the image 115. The subject can be present on a background that presents a scene for the subject, where the subject and scene can present a concept. The image generation apparatus 120 can prompt a user to provide a textual description for a new image to be generated, where the requested textual description provides attributes and details about the subject and background different from the initial images obtained by the image generation apparatus 120.”) and
a result image generation unit configured to input text information generated based on the generation information into a generative model, and generate the result image based on output information output from the generative model (¶0003, “a generative network that can learn a concept from a set of images, then generate new scenes or styles of the concept from an input prompt. Personalized image synthesis may generate new images of a particular subject (e.g., person, animal, object, etc.) with different poses, backgrounds, locations, positions, orientations, dressing, lighting, styles, all while keeping the same subject's identity.” ¶0004, “encoding the input description using a text encoder of an image generation model to obtain a text embedding, and encoding the input image using a subject encoder of the image generation model to obtain a subject embedding. One or more aspects of the method, apparatus, and non-transitory computer readable medium further include generating a guidance embedding by combining the subject embedding and the text embedding, and generating an output image based on the guidance embedding using a diffusion model of the image generation model, wherein the output image depicts the subject and the input description.” ¶0049, “the final textual embeddings of the input prompt can be obtained from the Text embeddings, c.sub.s, of the modified prompt, e.g. c.sub.s=CLIP(p.sub.s). The embedding of identifier, {circumflex over (V)}, can be a word vector that can be replaced with the concept feature vector, f.sub.c, to obtain the subject injected textual embedding c. The learned subject embedding is a compact feature containing the global semantics of the input images.” ¶0052, “a new image 125 can be generated based on the subject embedding, prompt embedding, and rich patch feature tokens, where the image can be generated by an image generation component”).
Shi does not explicitly disclose the style information includes information of a web address, and the generation information acquisition unit is configured to: access a website designated by the web address; obtain web information from the website, the web information including at least one of text information, image information, video information, or code information of the website; extract features from the web information; determine the style information based on the extracted features; and generate prompt information based on the determined style information, wherein the result image generation unit is configured to input the prompt information into the generative model to generate the result image.
Wilson teaches the style information includes information of a web address (Wilson, ¶0106, “styles may be received (and in some instances purchased) from products or brands. For example, a makeup company, such as Hotlips may produce and make available styles for users to use to influence their personal style, as described herein. In some embodiments, the styles may comprise style information, logic, settings, or one or more file(s) that specify model- or image-related information for use by the processes described herein for transferring a style to the user, and thus producing a personalized style. In this example, according to zone settings window 568, the user will appear to be wearing lipstick color #48 from the Hotlips brand. In some instances, companies may sell such styles on their websites, make them available via social media, or include them as promotional items (or make them available such as via a code or link) with the purchase of real-world products. These acquired styles may be imported into a user's style profiles or library.”), and the generation information acquisition unit is configured to:
access a website designated by the web address (Wilson, ¶0106, “companies may sell such styles on their websites, make them available via social media, or include them as promotional items (or make them available such as via a code or link) with the purchase of real-world products. These acquired styles may be imported into a user's style profiles or library.”);
obtain web information from the website, the web information including at least one of text information, image information, video information, or code information of the website (Wilson, ¶0106, “styles may be received (and in some instances purchased) from products or brands. For example, a makeup company, such as Hotlips may produce and make available styles for users to use to influence their personal style, as described herein. In some embodiments, the styles may comprise style information, logic, settings, or one or more file(s) that specify model- or image-related information for use by the processes described herein for transferring a style to the user, and thus producing a personalized style. ¶0110, “Responsive to selecting get the look item 580 in menu 531, style editor 503 may present window 571 showing source(s) of styles that a user may desire to acquire for influencing their personal style, as described herein. Example window 571 shows three sources of style information: celebrities 573, social media influencers 575, and your friends 577, and a link 579 to get more sources. Selecting one of these sources may navigate the user to a collection of styles corresponding to that source, such as a website, online library, repository, social media venue, or the like, where the user can browse, select, and import these styles into their style profiles or library.”); and
extract features from the web information (Wilson, Fig. 1, ¶0037, “the content extraction component 204, the personal style extraction component 206, the person style transfer component 210” ¶0039, “images from other users (e.g., friends of a first user, celebrities, or social media influencers) may be received by content extraction component 204 for use to determine a personalized style for the first user that is influenced by the image(s) from another user” ¶00404, “the content extraction component 204 can communicate with an operating system and/or the consumer application 214 in order to cause activation of a web cam or other imaging device to record user actions.” Note: a web cam can also be mapped to a website. Thus, extract content from a web cam can be extract feature from the web information. ¶0110, “Selecting one of these sources may navigate the user to a collection of styles corresponding to that source, such as a website, online library, repository, social media venue, or the like, where the user can browse, select, and import these styles into their style profiles or library.”);
determine the style information based on the extracted features (Wilson, ¶0044, “The personal style extraction component 206 is generally responsible for determining or learning a user's personal style from the content extracted by the content extraction component 204.” ¶0110, “the user can browse, select, and import these styles into their style profiles or library. In some instances, users may be required to purchase these styles before receiving them. In this way, a user may “get the look” of another user by receiving the other user's style and using it to influence their own style, according to the processes described in connection with FIGS. 3, 4, and 5A, so that the resulting style is personalized to the user.” ¶0111, “particular embodiments help train/optimize the style transfer algorithm to work better on transfers from that person to them. For example, if a user wants to look like a first actor in in all the user's meetings, particular embodiments optimize the style transfer algorithm's ability to transfer the actor's styles onto the user's face.”); and
generate prompt information based on the determined style information, wherein the result image generation unit is configured to input the prompt information into the generative model to generate the result image (Wilson, ¶0051, “The personal style transfer component 210 is generally responsible for applying data that indicates or represents the personal style extracted via the personal style extraction component 206 to one or more images.” ¶0052, “a GAN machine learning model” and various neural network models. ¶0059, “prompts”. ¶0064, “the one or more machine learning models can be fed (e.g., via the content extraction component 204) the one or more target images 302 (or one or more portions of the target image(s) 302) of a first user.” ¶0111, “this occurs via the edit zones tool 560 to let the user adjust, feed those adjustments back into the model, repeat this for a few different style transfers from the same source (e.g., celebrity), and via this iteration teach the style transfer algorithm to be better at applying styles from that source to a specific target (e.g. me).”).
Shi and Wilson are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to image generation. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shi with the features of “the style information includes information of a web address, and the generation information acquisition unit is configured to: access a website designated by the web address; obtain web information from the website, the web information including at least one of text information, image information, video information, or code information of the website; and extract features from the web information; determine the style information based on the extracted features; and generate prompt information based on the determined style information, wherein the result image generation unit is configured to input the prompt information into the generative model to generate the result image.”as taught by Wilson. The suggestion/motivation would have been may navigate the user to a collection of styles corresponding to that source, such as a website, online library, repository, social media venue, or the like, where the user can browse, select, and import these styles into their style profiles or library (Wilson, ¶0110). The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
Krogh also teaches extract features from the web information (Krogh, abstract, “A plurality of images are received from one or more social media platforms associated with a user. For a selected image of the plurality of images, a plurality of text descriptions are generated. The plurality of text descriptions are computer-generated captions that describe features of the selected image of the plurality of images. The plurality of text descriptions are processed through a natural language processing model. Based on processing, a plurality of interest contexts are derived from the plurality of text descriptions. A mapping of each of the plurality of interest contexts to one or more predefined categories associated with an online marketplace is generated. Based the mapping of each of the plurality of interest contexts to the one or more predefined categories, a user device associated with the user is caused to display an app page or web page associated with the one or more predefined categories.”)
determine the style information based on the extracted features (Krogh, abstract, “Based on processing, a plurality of interest contexts are derived from the plurality of text descriptions. A mapping of each of the plurality of interest contexts to one or more predefined categories associated with an online marketplace is generated. Based the mapping of each of the plurality of interest contexts to the one or more predefined categories, a user device associated with the user is caused to display an app page or web page associated with the one or more predefined categories.”); and
generate prompt information based on the determined style information, wherein the result image generation unit is configured to input the prompt information into the generative model to generate the result image (Krogh, abstract, “For a selected image of the plurality of images, a plurality of text descriptions are generated. The plurality of text descriptions are computer-generated captions that describe features of the selected image of the plurality of images. The plurality of text descriptions are processed through a natural language processing model. Based on processing, a plurality of interest contexts are derived from the plurality of text descriptions. A mapping of each of the plurality of interest contexts to one or more predefined categories associated with an online marketplace is generated. Based the mapping of each of the plurality of interest contexts to the one or more predefined categories, a user device associated with the user is caused to display an app page or web page associated with the one or more predefined categories.” ¶0003, “social media APIs are used to communicate with external resources to automatically obtain one or more images (e.g., photographic images). Then the photographs can be automatically run through computer vision or other object recognition models to describe each photograph in detail in the way a human would. The output can be a textually rich sentence describing the photograph in detail, as opposed to a blanket description of what the “jist” or main portion of the photograph contains. Each photograph output can then be run through a Natural Language Understanding (NLU) model in order to derive meaning (e.g., semantic context, intent, etc.) of the output and derive interest contexts. The data to train the NLU model can come from various data sources, such as worldwide news media articles. Then a classifier can be used to map each output of the NLU model to known predefined interest categories of the central platform (e.g., EBAY interest categories, such as “outdoors,” “pets,” “my kids,” etc.). In some embodiments, based on a threshold quantity of predefined categories that are populated, a dynamic web page or app page can be generated. For example, if the majority of the photographs included outdoor-related photographs, such as a particular boat, a hiking trail, a lake, mountains, etc. the system can cause display of a boat for sale that is the same brand as the particular boat captured in the photograph.”).
Shi, Wilson and Krogh are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to image generation. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shi with the features of “the style information includes information of a web address, and the generation information acquisition unit is configured to: access a website designated by the web address; obtain web information from the website, the web information including at least one of text information, image information, video information, or code information of the website; and extract features from the web information; determine the style information based on the extracted features; and generate prompt information based on the determined style information, wherein the result image generation unit is configured to input the prompt information into the generative model to generate the result image.”as taught by Krogh. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to identify items that align with the user's search intent or specific interests (Krogh, ¶002). The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
As to claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Shi, Wilson and Krogh discloses the generation information acquisition unit further acquires position information of the element image in the result image (Shi, ¶0003, “Personalized image synthesis may generate new images of a particular subject (e.g., person, animal, object, etc.) with different poses, backgrounds, locations, positions, orientations, dressing, lighting, styles, all while keeping the same subject's identity.” ¶0026, “the network architecture can be trained and used to generate a new image with the same identifiable subject as a set of input images, but with a different arrangement of object(s), location(s), position(s), attribute(s), material, expression, and style.”).
As to claim 4, claim 2 is incorporated and the combination of Shi, Wilson and Krogh discloses the information acquisition unit accepts upload or selection of the element image, and acquires the position information based on layout of the element image in a frame of the result image (Shi, ¶0004, “encoding the input image using a subject encoder of the image generation model to obtain a subject embedding.” ¶0005, “a subject encoder and a diffusion model based on the training set, wherein the subject encoder is trained to encode an input image depicting a subject to obtain a subject embedding, and wherein the diffusion model is trained to generate an output image depicting the subject based on the subject embedding” ¶0026, “generate a new image with the same identifiable subject as a set of input images, but with a different arrangement of object(s), location(s), position(s), attribute(s), material, expression, and style. Because the subject of the input concept in the images may not make up a large enough portion of the image, the subject may be cropped out from each input image to obtain a set of conditional images, which can force the machine learning model to focus on the exact object.” ¶0091, “The reverse diffusion process 530 can also be guided based on a text prompt 540, or another guidance prompt, such as a text description, an image, a layout, a segmentation map, etc. The text prompt 540 can be encoded using a text encoder 550 (e.g., a multimodal encoder) to obtain guidance features 560 in guidance space 570.” ¶0112-0113).
As to claim 5, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Shi, Wilson and Krogh discloses wherein the information acquisition unit acquires the generation information by input made by the user in a chat format (Shi, ¶0003, “generate new scenes or styles of the concept from an input prompt” ¶0019, “a descriptive text prompt, that changes aspects of the individual subject in the image” ¶0043, “The image generation apparatus 120 can prompt a user to provide a textual description for a new image to be generated” ¶0058-0060. ¶0073, “given input of several digital images (e.g., photos) of the same woman and a language (i.e., text) prompt, “a woman is eating at the Eiffel Tower,” the output image should be of the same woman eating at the Eiffel Tower.”).
As to claim 7, the combination of Shi, Wilson and Krogh discloses discloses a non-transitory computer- readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: a generation information acquisition step of acquiring generation information including at least style information regarding a style of the result image and an element image constituting part of the result image; and an image generation step of inputting text information generated based on the generation information into a generative model, and generating the result image based on output information output from the generative model, wherein the style information includes information of a web address, and the generation information acquisition step comprises: accessing a website designated by the web address; obtaining web information from the website, the web information including at least one of text information, image information, video information, or code information of the website; extracting features from the web information; determining the style information based on the extracted features; and generating prompt information based on the determined style information, wherein the image generation step comprises inputting the prompt information into the generative model to generate the result image. (See claim 1 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 8, the combination of Shi, Wilson and Krogh discloses a generation support method for supporting generation of a result image, the generation support method comprising causing a processor to execute: a generation information acquisition step of acquiring generation information including at least style information regarding a style of the result image and an element image constituting part of the result image; and an image generation step of inputting text information generated based on the generation information into a generative model, and generating the result image based on output information output from the generative model, wherein the style information includes information of a web address, and the generation information acquisition step comprises: accessing a website designated by the web address; obtaining web information from the website, the web information including at least one of text information, image information, video information, or code information of the website; extracting features from the web information; determining the style information based on the extracted features; and generating prompt information based on the determined style information, wherein the image generation step comprises inputting the prompt information into the generative model to generate the result image. (See claim 1 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 9, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Shi, Wilson and Krogh discloses obtain web information from the website comprises obtaining the web information from the code information of the website (Shi, ¶0038, “image generating apparatus 120 is implemented on a server. A server provides one or more functions to users linked by way of one or more communication networks. In some cases, the server can include a single microprocessor board, which includes a microprocessor responsible for controlling aspects of the server. In some cases, a server uses one or more microprocessors and protocols to exchange data with other devices/users on one or more of the communication networks via hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP), and simple mail transfer protocol (SMTP), although other protocols such as file transfer protocol (FTP), and simple network management protocol (SNMP) may also be used. In some cases, a server is configured to send and receive hypertext markup language (HTML) formatted files (e.g., for displaying web pages).” ¶0178, “code or data is transmitted from a website”. When Shi’s image generating apparatus is implemented on a server, the communication can be via HTML format files. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.)
As to claim 10, claim 9 is incorporated and the combination of Shi, Wilson and Krogh discloses the code information of the website comprises hyper text markup language (HTML) or cascading style sheets (CSS) (Shi, ¶0038, “image generating apparatus 120 is implemented on a server. A server provides one or more functions to users linked by way of one or more communication networks. In some cases, the server can include a single microprocessor board, which includes a microprocessor responsible for controlling aspects of the server. In some cases, a server uses one or more microprocessors and protocols to exchange data with other devices/users on one or more of the communication networks via hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP), and simple mail transfer protocol (SMTP), although other protocols such as file transfer protocol (FTP), and simple network management protocol (SNMP) may also be used. In some cases, a server is configured to send and receive hypertext markup language (HTML) formatted files (e.g., for displaying web pages).” ¶0178, “code or data is transmitted from a website”. When Shi’s image generating apparatus is implemented on a server, the communication can be via HTML format files. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. HTML or CSS file formats are common on websites and well known to one of ordinary skill in the art.)
As to claim 11, claim 7 is incorporated and the combination of Shi, Wilson and Krogh discloses wherein obtain web information from the website comprises obtaining the web information from the code information of the website (See claim 9 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 12, claim 11 is incorporated and the combination of Shi, Wilson and Krogh discloses wherein the code information of the website comprises hyper text markup language (HTML) or cascadingstyle sheets (CSS) (See claim 10 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 13, claim 8 is incorporated and the combination of Shi, Wilson and Krogh discloses obtain web information from the website comprises obtaining the web information from the code information of the website (See claim 9 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 14, claim 13 is incorporated and the combination of Shi, Wilson and Krogh discloses the code information of the website comprises hyper text markup language (HTML) or cascading style sheets (CSS) (See claim 10 for detailed analysis.).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US Pub 2024/0355022 A1) in view of Wilson et al. (US Pub 2022/0377257 A1) and Krogh et al. (US Pub 2020/0183989 A1), Maschmeyer et al. (US Pub 2024/0161258 A1).
As to claim 6, claim 5 is incorporated and Shi does not explicitly disclose when acquiring input in the chat format, the information acquisition unit presents a suggestion of information required as the generation information to the user.
Maschmeyer teaches when acquiring input in the chat format, the information acquisition unit presents a suggestion of information required as the generation information to the user (Maschmeyer, ¶0052, “A text prompt provided by a user guides the image's generation. The text prompt includes an identifier referencing the subject to be included in the image. Users may also specify the number of inference steps for a sampler associated with the image generative model 212.” ¶0080, “the image generation engine determines a modified input to the customized generative model for a next iteration of generation. In at least some embodiments, modifying the input may include modifying a text prompt. The image generation engine may be configured to automatically modify text prompts or present, to a user, suggestions for modifying text prompts between iterations of the generative process.” ¶0081, “upon detecting a defect in light projections and/or shadows in a generated sample, a corresponding modification text such as “with correct shadow of [subject]” or “with consistent light and shadow conditions” may be included in the modified text prompt. In some embodiments, the image generation engine may provide suggested modification text to a user and prompt the user for input of a modified text prompt.”).
Shi and Maschmeyer are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to image generation. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shi with the features of “when acquiring input in the chat format, the information acquisition unit presents a suggestion of information required as the generation information to the user” as taught by Maschmeyer. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to determines a modified input to the customized generative model for a next iteration of generation (Maschmeyer, ¶0080). The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
Conclusion
/YU CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613