DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of amendment filed 16 July 2026 in which claims 1, 4, 12 are amended, claims 2, 3, 5, 6, and 13 are cancelled, and claim 14 is new. Claims 1, 4, 7-12, and 14 are currently pending and an office action on the merits follows.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7-9, 11, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0156761 by Kim et al. (“Kim”) in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0249609 by Taki (“Taki”).
As to claim 1, Kim discloses a display device (Kim, display device 100, Figure 1) comprising:
a display panel (Kim, display panel 110, Figure 1) wherein a plurality of pixels (Kim, pixels PX, Figure 1) and a plurality of data lines (Kim, data lines DL1,…DLn, Figure 1) are disposed (Kim, a gate driver 120 providing gate signals to the plurality of pixels PX, a data driver 130 providing data signals to the plurality of pixels PX, Figure 1, ¶ [0037]);
a timing controller (Kim, timing controller 140, Figure 1) to generate an output clock signal based on an input clock signal (Kim, the input control signal CTRL may include, but not limited to, a data enable signal, a vertical synchronization signal, a horizontal synchronization signal and a master clock signal. The timing controller 140 may generate the gate control signal CTRL1, the data control signal CTRL2 and the digital data DAT based on the input image data IMGD and the input control signal CTRL. Figure 1, ¶ [0041]); and
a data driver to supply data signals to the data lines corresponding to the output clock signal (Kim, The data driver 130 may generate the data signals that are analog data voltages based on digital data DAT and a data control signal CTRL2 from the timing controller 140, and may apply the data signals to the data lines (e.g., DL1, DL2, ..., and DLn). Figure 1, ¶ [0040]),
wherein the timing controller is configured to change a spread spectrum method (Kim, The clock generator 200 may be a spread spectrum clock generator that spreads power of the gate clock signal CPV by changing a time period of the gate clock signal CPV as time progresses (i.e., modulating the gate clock signal CPV). Figure 1, ¶ [0042]) by at least one frame period (Kim, the clock generator 200 may modulate the gate clock signal CPV with a first modulation pattern in a first frame period, and may downmodulate the gate clock signal CPV with a second modulation pattern different from the first modulation pattern in a second frame period. ¶ [0043]),
Kim does not expressly teach
wherein the timing controller is configured to alternately change the spread spectrum method from a first spread spectrum method to a second spread spectrum method or from the second spread spectrum method to the first spread spectrum method, and
wherein the first spread spectrum method is different from the second spread spectrum method;
wherein the first spread spectrum method is one of an up-spread method, a down spread method, and a center-spread method;
wherein the second spread spectrum method is another one of the up-spread method, the down spread method, and the center-spread method.
Taki teaches an integrated circuit device
wherein the timing controller is configured to alternately change the spread spectrum method from a first spread spectrum method to a second spread spectrum method or from the second spread spectrum method to the first spread spectrum method (Taki, FIG. 2 is a timing chart showing typical operations of the clock generator and division ratio modulation circuit in the first embodiment. The clock generator 1 operates as a center-spread SSCG. The clock generator 1 outputs the modulated clock 92 obtained by modulating a frequency df over time in the positive and negative directions about a frequency
f
0
acquired by multiplying the frequency of the reference clock 91 by a multiplication count N. As shown in the upper part of FIG. 2, the frequency of the modulated clock 92 bottoms out at time t1 and time t5 (the lowest frequency
f
0
-df) and peaks at time t3 (the highest frequency
f
0
+df). The period from time t2 to time t4 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is higher than
f
0
is an up-spread period, and the period from time t4 to time t6 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is lower than
f
0
is a down-spread period. Figure 2, ¶ [0065]), and
wherein the first spread spectrum method is different from the second spread spectrum method (Taki, FIG. 2 is a timing chart showing typical operations of the clock generator and division ratio modulation circuit in the first embodiment. The clock generator 1 operates as a center-spread SSCG. The clock generator 1 outputs the modulated clock 92 obtained by modulating a frequency df over time in the positive and negative directions about a frequency
f
0
acquired by multiplying the frequency of the reference clock 91 by a multiplication count N. As shown in the upper part of FIG. 2, the frequency of the modulated clock 92 bottoms out at time t1 and time t5 (the lowest frequency
f
0
-df) and peaks at time t3 (the highest frequency
f
0
+df). The period from time t2 to time t4 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is higher than
f
0
is an up-spread period, and the period from time t4 to time t6 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is lower than
f
0
is a down-spread period. Figure 2, ¶ [0065]). Taki teaches the different center-spread, up-spread, and down-spread timing periods.
wherein the first spread spectrum method is one of an up-spread method, a down spread method, and a center-spread method (Taki, FIG. 2 is a timing chart showing typical operations of the clock generator and division ratio modulation circuit in the first embodiment. The clock generator 1 operates as a center-spread SSCG. The clock generator 1 outputs the modulated clock 92 obtained by modulating a frequency df over time in the positive and negative directions about a frequency
f
0
acquired by multiplying the frequency of the reference clock 91 by a multiplication count N. As shown in the upper part of FIG. 2, the frequency of the modulated clock 92 bottoms out at time t1 and time t5 (the lowest frequency
f
0
-df) and peaks at time t3 (the highest frequency
f
0
+df). The period from time t2 to time t4 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is higher than
f
0
is an up-spread period, and the period from time t4 to time t6 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is lower than
f
0
is a down-spread period. Figure 2, ¶ [0065]). The first spread spectrum method is center-spread.
wherein the second spread spectrum method is another one of the up-spread method, the down spread method, and the center-spread method (Taki, FIG. 2 is a timing chart showing typical operations of the clock generator and division ratio modulation circuit in the first embodiment. The clock generator 1 operates as a center-spread SSCG. The clock generator 1 outputs the modulated clock 92 obtained by modulating a frequency df over time in the positive and negative directions about a frequency
f
0
acquired by multiplying the frequency of the reference clock 91 by a multiplication count N. As shown in the upper part of FIG. 2, the frequency of the modulated clock 92 bottoms out at time t1 and time t5 (the lowest frequency
f
0
-df) and peaks at time t3 (the highest frequency
f
0
+df). The period from time t2 to time t4 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is higher than
f
0
is an up-spread period, and the period from time t4 to time t6 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is lower than
f
0
is a down-spread period. Figure 2, ¶ [0065]). The second spread spectrum method is up-spread.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim’s spread spectrum timing signal to include Taki’s spread spectrum timing because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Kim’s spread spectrum timing signal and Taki’s spread spectrum timing perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing timing signals. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Kim’s spread spectrum timing signal by replacing it with Taki’s spread spectrum timing. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Kim, as modified by Taki, teaches the timing controller which changes the spread spectrum over time between center, up, and down spread.
As to claim 4, Kim discloses an electronic device (Kim, display device 100, Figure 1) comprising:
a processor (Kim, GPU) to output an input clock signal (Kim, The timing controller 140 may receive input image data IMGD and an input control signal CTRL from an external host (e.g., a graphic processing unit (GPU)). Figure 1, ¶ [0041]);
pixels connected to data lines (Kim, the plurality of pixels PX is coupled to the plurality of gate lines (e.g., GL1,..., and GLm) and the plurality of data lines (e.g., DL1, DL2,..., and DLn). Figure 1, ¶ [0038]);
a timing controller (Kim, timing controller 140, Figure 1) to generate an output clock signal based on the input clock signal (Kim, the input control signal CTRL may include, but not limited to, a data enable signal, a vertical synchronization signal, a horizontal synchronization signal and a master clock signal. The timing controller 140 may generate the gate control signal CTRL1, the data control signal CTRL2 and the digital data DAT based on the input image data IMGD and the input control signal CTRL. Figure 1, ¶ [0041]); and
a data driver to supply data signals to the data lines (Kim, The data driver 130 may generate the data signals that are analog data voltages based on digital data DAT and a data control signal CTRL2 from the timing controller 140, and may apply the data signals to the data lines (e.g., DL1, DL2, ..., and DLn). Figure 1, ¶ [0040]),
wherein the timing controller is configured to change a spread spectrum method (Kim, The clock generator 200 may be a spread spectrum clock generator that spreads power of the gate clock signal CPV by changing a time period of the gate clock signal CPV as time progresses (i.e., modulating the gate clock signal CPV). Figure 1, ¶ [0042]) by at least one frame period (Kim, the clock generator 200 may modulate the gate clock signal CPV with a first modulation pattern in a first frame period, and may downmodulate the gate clock signal CPV with a second modulation pattern different from the first modulation pattern in a second frame period. ¶ [0043]),
Kim does not expressly teach
wherein the timing controller is configured to alternately change the spread spectrum method from a first spread spectrum method to a second spread spectrum method or from the second spread spectrum method to the first spread spectrum method, and
wherein the first spread spectrum method is different from the second spread spectrum method;
wherein the first spread spectrum method is one of an up-spread method, a down spread method, and a center-spread method;
wherein the second spread spectrum method is another one of the up-spread method, the down spread method, and the center-spread method.
Taki teaches an integrated circuit device
wherein the timing controller is configured to alternately change the spread spectrum method from a first spread spectrum method to a second spread spectrum method or from the second spread spectrum method to the first spread spectrum method (Taki, FIG. 2 is a timing chart showing typical operations of the clock generator and division ratio modulation circuit in the first embodiment. The clock generator 1 operates as a center-spread SSCG. The clock generator 1 outputs the modulated clock 92 obtained by modulating a frequency df over time in the positive and negative directions about a frequency
f
0
acquired by multiplying the frequency of the reference clock 91 by a multiplication count N. As shown in the upper part of FIG. 2, the frequency of the modulated clock 92 bottoms out at time t1 and time t5 (the lowest frequency
f
0
-df) and peaks at time t3 (the highest frequency
f
0
+df). The period from time t2 to time t4 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is higher than
f
0
is an up-spread period, and the period from time t4 to time t6 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is lower than
f
0
is a down-spread period. Figure 2, ¶ [0065]), and
wherein the first spread spectrum method is different from the second spread spectrum method (Taki, FIG. 2 is a timing chart showing typical operations of the clock generator and division ratio modulation circuit in the first embodiment. The clock generator 1 operates as a center-spread SSCG. The clock generator 1 outputs the modulated clock 92 obtained by modulating a frequency df over time in the positive and negative directions about a frequency
f
0
acquired by multiplying the frequency of the reference clock 91 by a multiplication count N. As shown in the upper part of FIG. 2, the frequency of the modulated clock 92 bottoms out at time t1 and time t5 (the lowest frequency
f
0
-df) and peaks at time t3 (the highest frequency
f
0
+df). The period from time t2 to time t4 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is higher than
f
0
is an up-spread period, and the period from time t4 to time t6 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is lower than
f
0
is a down-spread period. Figure 2, ¶ [0065]). Taki teaches the different center-spread, up-spread, and down-spread timing periods.
wherein the first spread spectrum method is one of an up-spread method, a down spread method, and a center-spread method (Taki, FIG. 2 is a timing chart showing typical operations of the clock generator and division ratio modulation circuit in the first embodiment. The clock generator 1 operates as a center-spread SSCG. The clock generator 1 outputs the modulated clock 92 obtained by modulating a frequency df over time in the positive and negative directions about a frequency
f
0
acquired by multiplying the frequency of the reference clock 91 by a multiplication count N. As shown in the upper part of FIG. 2, the frequency of the modulated clock 92 bottoms out at time t1 and time t5 (the lowest frequency
f
0
-df) and peaks at time t3 (the highest frequency
f
0
+df). The period from time t2 to time t4 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is higher than
f
0
is an up-spread period, and the period from time t4 to time t6 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is lower than
f
0
is a down-spread period. Figure 2, ¶ [0065]). The first spread spectrum method is center-spread.
wherein the second spread spectrum method is another one of the up-spread method, the down spread method, and the center-spread method (Taki, FIG. 2 is a timing chart showing typical operations of the clock generator and division ratio modulation circuit in the first embodiment. The clock generator 1 operates as a center-spread SSCG. The clock generator 1 outputs the modulated clock 92 obtained by modulating a frequency df over time in the positive and negative directions about a frequency
f
0
acquired by multiplying the frequency of the reference clock 91 by a multiplication count N. As shown in the upper part of FIG. 2, the frequency of the modulated clock 92 bottoms out at time t1 and time t5 (the lowest frequency
f
0
-df) and peaks at time t3 (the highest frequency
f
0
+df). The period from time t2 to time t4 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is higher than
f
0
is an up-spread period, and the period from time t4 to time t6 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is lower than
f
0
is a down-spread period. Figure 2, ¶ [0065]). The second spread spectrum method is up-spread.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim’s spread spectrum timing signal to include Taki’s spread spectrum timing because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Kim’s spread spectrum timing signal and Taki’s spread spectrum timing perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing timing signals. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Kim’s spread spectrum timing signal by replacing it with Taki’s spread spectrum timing. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Kim, as modified by Taki, teaches the timing controller which changes the spread spectrum over time between center, up, and down spread.
As to claim 7, Kim, as modified by Taki, teaches the electronic device wherein
the timing controller comprises a spread spectrum clock generator (Kim, The clock generator 200 may be a spread spectrum clock generator that spreads power of the gate clock signal CPV by changing a time period of the gate clock signal CPV as time progresses (i.e., modulating the gate clock signal CPV). Figure 1, ¶ [0042]), wherein the spread spectrum clock generator includes:
a phase frequency detector (Kim, phase frequency detector 220, Figure 3) that receives the input clock signal and a divided clock signal, and outputs a phase frequency signal representing a phase difference and a frequency difference between the input clock signal and the divided clock signal (Kim, The phase locked loop circuit 210 may include a phase frequency detector 220 that generates an error signal corresponding to a phase difference (and/or a frequency difference) between the input clock signal ICLK and a feedback clock signal FCLK… a programmable divider 260 that receives a divider value DV from the modulation control circuit 270a and generates the feedback clock signal FCLK by dividing the gate clock signal CPV by the received divider value DV. , Figure 3, ¶ [0052]);
a charge pump (Kim, charge pump 230, Figure 3) which receives the phase frequency signal and outputs a voltage or current corresponding to the phase frequency signal (Kim, a charge pump 230 that generates a current corresponding to the error signal, Figure 3, ¶ [0052]);
a loop filter that filters the voltage or current (Kim, a loop filter 240 that converts the current generated by the charge pump 230 into a control voltage, Figure 3, ¶ [0052]);
a profile register (Kim, modulation profile circuit 280a, Figure 3) that stores a spread spectrum method, a spread ratio, and a predetermined time interval (Kim, modulation profile circuit 280a that stores a reference modulation pattern 287a, ¶ [0053]);
a modulator (Kim, modulation control circuit 270a, Figure 3) that modulates a voltage supplied to the loop filter in response to the spread spectrum method, the spread ratio, and the predetermined time interval (Kim, an inversion circuit 290a that outputs the reference modulation pattern 287a as a first modulation pattern 292a in a first frame period and inverts the reference modulation pattern 287a to output an inverted reference modulation pattern as the second modulation pattern 294a in a second frame period. Figure 3, ¶ [0053]); and
a voltage controlled oscillator (Kim, voltage controlled oscillator 250 with inversion circuit 290a, Figure 3) that generates a frequency-modulated output clock signal using the voltage modulated by the modulator (Kim, a voltage controlled oscillator 250 that generates the gate clock signal CPV having a frequency corresponding to the control voltage, Figure 3, ¶ [0052]).
As to claim 8, Kim, as modified by Taki, teaches the electronic device wherein the spread spectrum clock generator further includes:
a divider (Kim, programmable divider 260, Figure 3) configured to generate the divided clock signal by dividing the output clock signal (Kim, a programmable divider 260 that receives a divider value DV from the modulation control circuit 270a and generates the feedback clock signal FCLK by dividing the gate clock signal CPV by the received divider value DV. Figure 3, [0052]).
As to claim 9, Kim, as modified by Taki, teaches the electronic device wherein a communication method between the processor and the timing controller is at least one of a bus, a general purpose input/output, a serial peripheral interface, a mobile industry processor interface, and an ultra path interconnect (Kim, The timing controller 140 may receive input image data IMGD and an input control signal CTRL from an external host (e.g., a graphic processing unit (GPU)). Figure 1, ¶ [0041]). The timing controller is connected to the GPU by an interface.
As to claim 11, Kim, as modified by Taki, teaches the electronic device wherein the electronic device is at least one of a portable communication device, a smartphone, a computer device, a portable multimedia device, a portable medical device, a camera, a wearable device, and a home appliance (Kim, The example embodiments of the inventive concepts may be applied to any display device and any electronic device including the display device. For example, the example embodiments of the inventive concepts may be applied to a television (TV), a digital TV, a 3D TV, a smart phone, a mobile phone, a tablet computer, a personal computer (PC), a home appliance, a laptop computer, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a portable multimedia player (PMP), a digital camera, a music player, a portable game console, a navigation device, etc. ¶ [0070]).
As to claim 12, Kim discloses a driving method of an electronic device (Kim, display device 100, Figure 1) comprising:
generating a spread spectrum clock signal using a first spread spectrum method (Kim, The clock generator 200 may be a spread spectrum clock generator that spreads power of the gate clock signal CPV by changing a time period of the gate clock signal CPV as time progresses (i.e., modulating the gate clock signal CPV). Figure 1, ¶ [0042]); and
generating the spread spectrum clock signal by using a second spread spectrum method different from the first spread spectrum method after a predetermined time (Kim, the clock generator 200 may modulate the gate clock signal CPV with a first modulation pattern in a first frame period, and may downmodulate the gate clock signal CPV with a second modulation pattern different from the first modulation pattern in a second frame period. ¶ [0043]),
wherein the predetermined time is at least one frame period (Kim, the clock generator 200 may modulate the gate clock signal CPV with a first modulation pattern in a first frame period, and may downmodulate the gate clock signal CPV with a second modulation pattern different from the first modulation pattern in a second frame period. ¶ [0043]),
wherein the first spread spectrum method and the second spread spectrum method are alternately changed by at least one frame period (Kim, the clock generator 200 may modulate the gate clock signal CPV with a first modulation pattern in a first frame period, and may downmodulate the gate clock signal CPV with a second modulation pattern different from the first modulation pattern in a second frame period. ¶ [0043]).
Kim does not expressly teach
wherein the first spread spectrum method is one of an up-spread method, a down spread method, and a center-spread method;
wherein the second spread spectrum method is another one of the up-spread method, the down spread method, and the center-spread method.
Taki teaches an integrated circuit device
wherein the first spread spectrum method is one of an up-spread method, a down spread method, and a center-spread method (Taki, FIG. 2 is a timing chart showing typical operations of the clock generator and division ratio modulation circuit in the first embodiment. The clock generator 1 operates as a center-spread SSCG. The clock generator 1 outputs the modulated clock 92 obtained by modulating a frequency df over time in the positive and negative directions about a frequency
f
0
acquired by multiplying the frequency of the reference clock 91 by a multiplication count N. As shown in the upper part of FIG. 2, the frequency of the modulated clock 92 bottoms out at time t1 and time t5 (the lowest frequency
f
0
-df) and peaks at time t3 (the highest frequency
f
0
+df). The period from time t2 to time t4 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is higher than
f
0
is an up-spread period, and the period from time t4 to time t6 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is lower than
f
0
is a down-spread period. Figure 2, ¶ [0065]). The first spread spectrum method is center-spread.
wherein the second spread spectrum method is another one of the up-spread method, the down spread method, and the center-spread method (Taki, FIG. 2 is a timing chart showing typical operations of the clock generator and division ratio modulation circuit in the first embodiment. The clock generator 1 operates as a center-spread SSCG. The clock generator 1 outputs the modulated clock 92 obtained by modulating a frequency df over time in the positive and negative directions about a frequency
f
0
acquired by multiplying the frequency of the reference clock 91 by a multiplication count N. As shown in the upper part of FIG. 2, the frequency of the modulated clock 92 bottoms out at time t1 and time t5 (the lowest frequency
f
0
-df) and peaks at time t3 (the highest frequency
f
0
+df). The period from time t2 to time t4 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is higher than
f
0
is an up-spread period, and the period from time t4 to time t6 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is lower than
f
0
is a down-spread period. Figure 2, ¶ [0065]). The second spread spectrum method is up-spread.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim’s spread spectrum timing signal to include Taki’s spread spectrum timing because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Kim’s spread spectrum timing signal and Taki’s spread spectrum timing perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing timing signals. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Kim’s spread spectrum timing signal by replacing it with Taki’s spread spectrum timing. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Kim, as modified by Taki, teaches the timing controller which changes the spread spectrum over time between center, up, and down spread.
As to claim 14, Kim, as modified by Taki, teaches the display device wherein the timing controller is configured to use only one spread spectrum method during each frame period (Kim, The clock generator 200 may be a spread spectrum clock generator that spreads power of the gate clock signal CPV by changing a time period of the gate clock signal CPV as time progresses (i.e., modulating the gate clock signal CPV). Figure 1, ¶ [0042])(Kim, the clock generator 200 may modulate the gate clock signal CPV with a first modulation pattern in a first frame period, and may downmodulate the gate clock signal CPV with a second modulation pattern different from the first modulation pattern in a second frame period. ¶ [0043]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0156761 by Kim et al. (“Kim”), in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0249609 by Taki (“Taki”), and in further view of U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0098330 by Pyun et al. (“Pyun”).
As to claim 10, Kim, as modified by Taki, does not expressly teach the electronic device wherein a communication method between the timing controller and the data driver is at least one of a universal serial bus(USB), a Peripheral Component Interconnect express(PCIe), a Secure Digital Input/Output(SDIO), and a Mobile Industry Processor Interface(MIPI).
Pyun teaches a data drive and display device wherein a communication method between the timing controller and the data driver is at least one of a universal serial bus(USB), a Peripheral Component Interconnect express(PCIe), a Secure Digital Input/Output(SDIO), and a Mobile Industry Processor Interface(MIPI) (Pyun, The interface method between the timing controller 120 and the data driving circuits 141 to 144 may be one of the high-speed serial interface methods, such as an universal serial interface (USI), a mobile industry processor interface (MIPI), a mobile display digital interface (MDDI), and an inter-integrated circuit (
I
2
C
). Figure 1, ¶ [0052]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim’s timing control to data driver connection to include Pyun’s MIPI connection because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Kim’s timing control to data driver connection and Pyun’s MIPI connection perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing a high speed data connection between display device components. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Kim’s timing control to data driver connection by replacing it with Pyun’s MIPI connection. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Kim, as modified by Taki and Pyun, teaches the MIPI connection between the timing controller and the data driver.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 13, and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,361,863 in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0249609 by Taki.
Instant application (Claim 1)
Parent Patent No. 12,361,863 (Claim 7)
A display device comprising:
A display device comprising:
a display panel wherein a plurality of pixels and a plurality of data lines are disposed;
pixels disposed to be connected to scan lines and data lines;
a timing controller to generate an output clock signal based on an input clock signal; and
a timing controller for controlling the data driver;
a data driver to supply data signals to the data lines corresponding to the output clock signal,
a data driver for supplying data signals to the data lines;
wherein the timing controller is configured to change a spread spectrum method by at least one frame period,
a spread spectrum clock generator included in the timing controller and for generating an output clock signal, wherein
wherein the timing controller is configured to alternately change the spread spectrum method from a first spread spectrum method to a second spread spectrum method or from the second spread spectrum method to the first spread spectrum method, and
wherein the first spread spectrum method is different from the second spread spectrum method;
the spread spectrum clock generator generates the output clock signal at a predetermined time interval using a different spread spectrum method at the predetermined time interval, wherein the spread spectrum clock generator alternately changes the spread spectrum method from an up-spread method to a down-spread method or from the down-spread method to the up-spread method based on at least one frame period.
wherein the first spread spectrum method is one of an up-spread method, a down spread method, and a center-spread method;
wherein the second spread spectrum method is another one of the up-spread method, the down spread method, and the center-spread method.
The cited parent patent does not expressly teach
wherein the first spread spectrum method is one of an up-spread method, a down spread method, and a center-spread method;
wherein the second spread spectrum method is another one of the up-spread method, the down spread method, and the center-spread method.
Taki teaches an integrated circuit device
wherein the first spread spectrum method is one of an up-spread method, a down spread method, and a center-spread method (Taki, FIG. 2 is a timing chart showing typical operations of the clock generator and division ratio modulation circuit in the first embodiment. The clock generator 1 operates as a center-spread SSCG. The clock generator 1 outputs the modulated clock 92 obtained by modulating a frequency df over time in the positive and negative directions about a frequency
f
0
acquired by multiplying the frequency of the reference clock 91 by a multiplication count N. As shown in the upper part of FIG. 2, the frequency of the modulated clock 92 bottoms out at time t1 and time t5 (the lowest frequency
f
0
-df) and peaks at time t3 (the highest frequency
f
0
+df). The period from time t2 to time t4 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is higher than
f
0
is an up-spread period, and the period from time t4 to time t6 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is lower than
f
0
is a down-spread period. Figure 2, ¶ [0065]). The first spread spectrum method is center-spread.
wherein the second spread spectrum method is another one of the up-spread method, the down spread method, and the center-spread method (Taki, FIG. 2 is a timing chart showing typical operations of the clock generator and division ratio modulation circuit in the first embodiment. The clock generator 1 operates as a center-spread SSCG. The clock generator 1 outputs the modulated clock 92 obtained by modulating a frequency df over time in the positive and negative directions about a frequency
f
0
acquired by multiplying the frequency of the reference clock 91 by a multiplication count N. As shown in the upper part of FIG. 2, the frequency of the modulated clock 92 bottoms out at time t1 and time t5 (the lowest frequency
f
0
-df) and peaks at time t3 (the highest frequency
f
0
+df). The period from time t2 to time t4 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is higher than
f
0
is an up-spread period, and the period from time t4 to time t6 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is lower than
f
0
is a down-spread period. Figure 2, ¶ [0065]). The second spread spectrum method is up-spread.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the patent’s spread spectrum timing signal to include Taki’s spread spectrum timing because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, the patent’s spread spectrum timing signal and Taki’s spread spectrum timing perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing timing signals. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of the patent’s spread spectrum timing signal by replacing it with Taki’s spread spectrum timing. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, the parent patent, as modified by Taki, teaches the timing controller which changes the spread spectrum over time between center, up, and down spread.
Instant application (Claim 4)
Parent Patent No. 12,361,863 (Claim 7)
An electronic device comprising:
A display device comprising:
a processor to output an input clock signal;
a processor, (Claim 1)
pixels connected to data lines;
pixels disposed to be connected to scan lines and data lines;
a timing controller to generate an output clock signal based on the input clock signal; and
a timing controller for controlling the data driver;
a data driver to supply data signals to the data lines,
a data driver for supplying data signals to the data lines;
wherein the timing controller is configured to change a spread spectrum method by at least one frame period,
a spread spectrum clock generator included in the timing controller and for generating an output clock signal, wherein
herein the timing controller is configured to alternately change the spread spectrum method from a first spread spectrum method to a second spread spectrum method or from the second spread spectrum method to the first spread spectrum method, and
wherein the first spread spectrum method is different from the second spread spectrum method;
the spread spectrum clock generator generates the output clock signal at a predetermined time interval using a different spread spectrum method at the predetermined time interval, wherein the spread spectrum clock generator alternately changes the spread spectrum method from an up-spread method to a down-spread method or from the down-spread method to the up-spread method based on at least one frame period.
wherein the first spread spectrum method is one of an up-spread method, a down spread method, and a center-spread method;
wherein the second spread spectrum method is another one of the up-spread method, the down spread method, and the center-spread method.
The cited parent patent does not expressly teach
wherein the first spread spectrum method is one of an up-spread method, a down spread method, and a center-spread method;
wherein the second spread spectrum method is another one of the up-spread method, the down spread method, and the center-spread method.
Taki teaches an integrated circuit device
wherein the first spread spectrum method is one of an up-spread method, a down spread method, and a center-spread method (Taki, FIG. 2 is a timing chart showing typical operations of the clock generator and division ratio modulation circuit in the first embodiment. The clock generator 1 operates as a center-spread SSCG. The clock generator 1 outputs the modulated clock 92 obtained by modulating a frequency df over time in the positive and negative directions about a frequency
f
0
acquired by multiplying the frequency of the reference clock 91 by a multiplication count N. As shown in the upper part of FIG. 2, the frequency of the modulated clock 92 bottoms out at time t1 and time t5 (the lowest frequency
f
0
-df) and peaks at time t3 (the highest frequency
f
0
+df). The period from time t2 to time t4 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is higher than
f
0
is an up-spread period, and the period from time t4 to time t6 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is lower than
f
0
is a down-spread period. Figure 2, ¶ [0065]). The first spread spectrum method is center-spread.
wherein the second spread spectrum method is another one of the up-spread method, the down spread method, and the center-spread method (Taki, FIG. 2 is a timing chart showing typical operations of the clock generator and division ratio modulation circuit in the first embodiment. The clock generator 1 operates as a center-spread SSCG. The clock generator 1 outputs the modulated clock 92 obtained by modulating a frequency df over time in the positive and negative directions about a frequency
f
0
acquired by multiplying the frequency of the reference clock 91 by a multiplication count N. As shown in the upper part of FIG. 2, the frequency of the modulated clock 92 bottoms out at time t1 and time t5 (the lowest frequency
f
0
-df) and peaks at time t3 (the highest frequency
f
0
+df). The period from time t2 to time t4 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is higher than
f
0
is an up-spread period, and the period from time t4 to time t6 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is lower than
f
0
is a down-spread period. Figure 2, ¶ [0065]). The second spread spectrum method is up-spread.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the patent’s spread spectrum timing signal to include Taki’s spread spectrum timing because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, the patent’s spread spectrum timing signal and Taki’s spread spectrum timing perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing timing signals. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of the patent’s spread spectrum timing signal by replacing it with Taki’s spread spectrum timing. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, the parent patent, as modified by Taki, teaches the timing controller which changes the spread spectrum over time between center, up, and down spread.
Instant application (Claim 12)
Parent Patent No. 12,361,863 (Claim 13)
A driving method of an electronic device comprising:
A driving method of a display device generating a spread spectrum clock signal for data transmission comprising:
generating a spread spectrum clock signal using a first spread spectrum method; and
generating the spread spectrum clock signal using a first spread spectrum method;
generating the spread spectrum clock signal by using a second spread spectrum method different from the first spread spectrum method after a predetermined time,
wherein the predetermined time is at least one frame period,
generating the spread spectrum clock signal by using a second spread spectrum method different from the first spread spectrum method after a predetermined time, wherein the predetermined time is at least one frame period,
wherein the first spread spectrum method and the second spread spectrum method are alternately changed by at least one frame period;
wherein the first spread spectrum method and the second spread spectrum method are alternately changed based on at least one frame period.
wherein the first spread spectrum method is one of an up-spread method, a down spread method, and a center-spread method;
wherein the second spread spectrum method is another one of the up-spread method, the down spread method, and the center-spread method.
The cited parent patent does not expressly teach
wherein the first spread spectrum method is one of an up-spread method, a down spread method, and a center-spread method;
wherein the second spread spectrum method is another one of the up-spread method, the down spread method, and the center-spread method.
Taki teaches an integrated circuit device
wherein the first spread spectrum method is one of an up-spread method, a down spread method, and a center-spread method (Taki, FIG. 2 is a timing chart showing typical operations of the clock generator and division ratio modulation circuit in the first embodiment. The clock generator 1 operates as a center-spread SSCG. The clock generator 1 outputs the modulated clock 92 obtained by modulating a frequency df over time in the positive and negative directions about a frequency
f
0
acquired by multiplying the frequency of the reference clock 91 by a multiplication count N. As shown in the upper part of FIG. 2, the frequency of the modulated clock 92 bottoms out at time t1 and time t5 (the lowest frequency
f
0
-df) and peaks at time t3 (the highest frequency
f
0
+df). The period from time t2 to time t4 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is higher than
f
0
is an up-spread period, and the period from time t4 to time t6 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is lower than
f
0
is a down-spread period. Figure 2, ¶ [0065]). The first spread spectrum method is center-spread.
wherein the second spread spectrum method is another one of the up-spread method, the down spread method, and the center-spread method (Taki, FIG. 2 is a timing chart showing typical operations of the clock generator and division ratio modulation circuit in the first embodiment. The clock generator 1 operates as a center-spread SSCG. The clock generator 1 outputs the modulated clock 92 obtained by modulating a frequency df over time in the positive and negative directions about a frequency
f
0
acquired by multiplying the frequency of the reference clock 91 by a multiplication count N. As shown in the upper part of FIG. 2, the frequency of the modulated clock 92 bottoms out at time t1 and time t5 (the lowest frequency
f
0
-df) and peaks at time t3 (the highest frequency
f
0
+df). The period from time t2 to time t4 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is higher than
f
0
is an up-spread period, and the period from time t4 to time t6 where the frequency of the modulated clock 92 is lower than
f
0
is a down-spread period. Figure 2, ¶ [0065]). The second spread spectrum method is up-spread.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the patent’s spread spectrum timing signal to include Taki’s spread spectrum timing because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, the patent’s spread spectrum timing signal and Taki’s spread spectrum timing perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing timing signals. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of the patent’s spread spectrum timing signal by replacing it with Taki’s spread spectrum timing. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, the parent patent, as modified by Taki, teaches the timing controller which changes the spread spectrum over time between center, up, and down spread.
As to dependent claims 7, 8, 13, and 14, these claims are similarly rejected based on claims 1-14 of the parent Patent No. 12,361,863.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 16 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s representative asserts in pages 8-10 of remarks, in regards to the independent claims, the cited prior art does not teach the amended limitations. Specifically, the cited prior art does not teach the different spread spectrum methods alternating from one frame period to another frame period.
The Office respectfully disagrees with this assertion and submits the rejection above and adds that the combination of Kim and Taki teaches the independent claims. Kim teaches a signal modulation which changes for each frame period. Taki teaches the center, up, and down spread spectrum methods which alternate during certain time periods, but is silent on the frame period modulation of the spread spectrum. The combination of Kim and Taki teaches the center, up, and down spread spectrum methods alternating every frame period. No precludes the combination of Kim and Taki and thus a combination may reasonable be made to further define the type of modulation for each frame period. Therefore, the cited prior art combination teaches the amended limitations of the independent claims.
Applicant’s representative asserts in page 11 of remarks, the claims are allowable and a notice of allowance should be sent.
The Office respectfully disagrees with this assertion and submits the rejection and response above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0269924 by Kaji et al. teaches a spread spectrum clock generator with upper-spread, center-spread, and down-spread modes.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENT D CASTIAUX/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623