DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 – 11 and 14 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 12 – 13 have been considered, but they are not persuasive. Please see the ground(s) of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beeli et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2004/0129447).
Regarding claim 1, in Figure 3, Beeli discloses a coaxial cable comprising, an inner conductor (302); an outer conductor (308) made of a first electroconductive material, wherein the outer conductor is configured as a current-carrying conductor that, together with the inner conductor, forms a transmission line (paragraph [0045]); and an insulator (304) provided between the inner conductor and the outer conductor; wherein the inner conductor comprises: a filament made of a second electroconductive material; and a mantle made of a third electroconductive material (the claim does not recite that the first electroconductive material, the second electroconductive material, and the third electroconductive material are different) surrounding the filament (the transmission line includes an outer CSSNTL and an inner CSCNTL, each CSCNTL includes at least one or a plurality of superconductive SWCNT, in which the plurality may include at least two adjacent or nearly adjacent tubes; paragraphs [0015], [0069]); and wherein the second electroconductive material comprises a superconductive material (paragraphs [0015], [0069]).
Regarding claim 2, Beeli discloses wherein the first electroconductive material comprises Copper, Cu, Copper alloy, stainless steel, silver plated stainless steel or Tungsten, W, or a combination thereof (paragraphs [0015], [0069]).
Regarding claim 3, Beeli discloses wherein the third electroconductive material comprises Copper, Cu, Copper alloy, stainless steel, silver plated stainless steel or Tungsten, W, or a combination thereof (paragraphs [0015], [0069]).
Regarding claim 4, Beeli discloses wherein the first electroconductive material and the third electroconductive material are the same or different (paragraphs [0015], [0069]).
Regarding claim 5, Beeli discloses wherein the filament comprises two or more layers of second electroconductive materials comprising superconductive materials (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Beeli discloses wherein the superconductive material comprises a Niobium alloy, in particular, Niobium- Titanium, NbTi, Niobium-Tantalum, NbTa, Niobium-Tin, Nb3Sn, or a combination thereof (paragraphs [0015], [0069]).
Regarding claim 7, Beeli discloses wherein a diameter of the filament is between 1% and 95% of the diameter of the inner conductor (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, Beeli discloses an outer insulator surrounding the outer conductor (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 9, Beeli discloses wherein the inner conductor comprises only one filament surrounded by the mantle (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, Beeli discloses wherein the inner conductor comprises a plurality of filaments surrounded by the mantle (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 11, Beeli discloses wherein at least two filaments of the plurality of filaments are made of different second electroconductive materials comprising superconductive materials (paragraphs [0015], [0069]).
Regarding claim 14, Beeli discloses a method of using the coaxial cable of claim 1 in a quantum computer at a quantum processing unit (QPU) of the quantum computer comprising, using the coaxial cable to provide transmission lines for signals to qubits (paragraphs [0015], [0069]).
Claims 12 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Onishi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,977,039).
Regarding claim 12, in Figure 4, Onishi discloses a method of manufacturing a coaxial cable, comprising: providing a filament (3) made of a second electroconductive material (col. 3, lines 61 – 63), wherein the second electroconductive material comprises a superconductive material (col. 3, lines 61 – 63); surrounding the filament with a mantle (2) made of a third electroconductive material (col. 3, lines 62 – 63) to form an inner conductor; sheathing the inner conductor with an insulator (5; col. 3, lines 63 - 64); and encasing the insulator with an outer conductor (8) made of a first electroconductive material (col. 3, lines 65 – 66).
Regarding claim 13, Onishi discloses wherein in the step of providing the filament, only one filament or a plurality of filaments is provided, and wherein in the step of surrounding the filament with a mantle, the only one filament or the plurality of filaments is surrounded with the mantle (Figure 4).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847