DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1, 6-13 and 18-20 in the reply filed on 08/11/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the restriction requirement is improper because Groups II-IV consist solely of claims that depend on claim 1 and therefore incorporate every limitation of claim 1. This is found persuasive. Therefore, the restriction is withdrawn.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/14/2025 and 01/15/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The Examiner interprets “a robotic shaping and forming system” as a robotic system which is suitable for shaping and forming.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“computer system” in claims 1, 7, 9, 13,
“computer program” in claims 9, 10, 12;
“artificial intelligence system” in claim 11;
“artificial intelligence” in claims 11, 12;
“controller” in claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1, 7, 9, 12, 13, and 18, the Applicant has apparently not previously (or presently) described, in sufficient detail, by what structure, what algorithm(s), or by what steps or procedure, that caused the “control system” to control the movement of the robotic arms, so that at least a pair of robotic arms work together to shape and form the non-planar workpiece that is mounted upon the work platform. Accordingly, the examiner believes that applicant has not demonstrated, to those skilled in the art, possession of the full scope of the claimed invention, but has only described a “desired result”. In this respect, there is no detail of the structure of the control system that performs the function in the claims. The specification states, “The system is connected to a controller” (published paragraph [0054]). However, the disclosure is silent regarding the structure of the controller. Accordingly, the examiner believes that applicant has not demonstrated, to those skilled in the art, possession of the full scope of the claimed invention, but has only described a “desired result”. Therefore, the claims are rejected under this section. The claims 2-20 are also rejected for being dependent on previously rejected based claim.
Regarding claims 9-10, the Applicant has apparently not previously (or presently) described, in sufficient detail, by what structure, what algorithm(s), or by what steps or procedure, that caused the “computer program” to control the robotic arms, calculate and determine the path for the tools, and determine the steps required to shape and form the non-planar workpiece into the desired shape. It is indicated at paragraph [0050] that, “The control and limiting of the forces are performed by a controller (for example, a computer system comprising computer software (i.e., a computer system comprising a computer program), which controls the movement of the robotic arms and the tools attached to them”. Indicated at paragraph [0054] that, “The control signals defining at least one of the following: paths that the tool will take, angle of the tool, forces applied by the robotic arms to the tools at the end of the arms, a desired start and end position of the end effector for each step, the speed at which the tool passes over the surface of the workpiece, the number of repeat paths that are required to form a certain deformation”. Published paragraphs [0017] and [0018] of the specification apparently repeat the claim language, but no sufficient detail is provided describing by what algorithm, or by what steps or procedure, the computer program is configured to control the robotic arms, calculate and determine the path for the tools, and determine the steps required to shape and form the non-planar workpiece into the desired shape. Accordingly, the examiner believes that applicant has not demonstrated, to those skilled in the art, possession of the full scope of the claimed invention, but has only described a “desired result”. Therefore, the claims are rejected under this section. The claims 18-20 are also rejected for being dependent on previously rejected based claim.
Regarding claims 11-12, the Applicant has apparently not previously (or presently) described, in sufficient detail, by what structure, what algorithm(s), or by what steps or procedure, that caused the “artificial intelligence” and/or “artificial intelligence system” to improve the steps of shaping and forming the workpiece using data from previous forming or shaping processes and/or visual monitoring data. Published paragraphs [0019, 0020], [0031], [0054], and [0059] of the specification apparently repeat the claim language, but no sufficient detail is provided describing by what algorithm, or by what steps or procedure, the “artificial intelligence” and/or “artificial intelligence system” is/are configured to improve the steps of shaping and forming the workpiece using data from previous forming or shaping processes and/or visual monitoring data. Accordingly, the examiner believes that applicant has not demonstrated, to those skilled in the art, possession of the full scope of the claimed invention, but has only described a “desired result”. Therefore, the claims are rejected under this section. The claims 18-20 are also rejected for being dependent on previously rejected based claim.
Regarding claim 18, the Applicant has apparently not previously (or presently) described, in sufficient detail, by what structure, what algorithm(s), or by what steps or procedure, that caused the “controller” to determine the process steps for the robotic arms to shape and form the non-planar structure. Published paragraphs [0046], [0050], [0054-0055], [0057], and [0059] of the specification apparently repeat the claim language, but no sufficient detail is provided describing by what algorithm, or by what steps or procedure, the controller is configured to perform the functions in the claim limitations. Accordingly, the examiner believes that applicant has not demonstrated, to those skilled in the art, possession of the full scope of the claimed invention, but has only described a “desired result”. Moreover, the disclosure is silent regarding the claimed “a non-planar structure” and further a method of shaping and forming a non-planar structure using the robotic shaping and forming system. Therefore, the claim is rejected under this section. The claims 19-20 are also rejected for being dependent on previously rejected based claim.
Regarding claim 19, the Applicant provides the claimed limitation, “wherein physical information of the non-planar structure is input into the controller prior to determining the process steps, the physical information may include at least one of: physical dimensions, physical properties, and temperature of the component”. The disclosure is silent regarding the claimed “a non-planar structure” and further a method of shaping and forming a non-planar structure using the robotic shaping and forming system. Published paragraph [0029] indicates “Physical information of the non-planar workpiece may be input into the controller prior to determining the process steps, the physical information may include at least one of: physical dimensions, physical properties of the material such as hardness and strength of the material, temperature of the non-planar workpiece.” It is unclear whether the claimed “a non-planar structure” is referring to the disclosure “non-planar workpiece” in the instant specification. Therefore, the claim is rejected under this section.
Regarding claim 20, the Applicant has apparently not previously (or presently) described, in sufficient detail, by what structure, what algorithm(s), or by what steps or procedure, that caused to use the “sensor data on the position of the plurality of robotic arms” to update the controller system in the determination of the process steps. The disclosure is silent regarding the term “the controller system” and further how to update the controller system using the sensor data on the position of the plurality of robotic arms. Published paragraphs [0054-0055] of the specification apparently disclose using the sensor data to update instructions for controlling the robot arms, but no sufficient detail is provided describing by what algorithm, or by what steps or procedure, the controller system is updated based on the sensor data. Accordingly, the examiner believes that applicant has not demonstrated, to those skilled in the art, possession of the full scope of the claimed invention, but has only described a “desired result”. Therefore, the claim is rejected under this section.
Dependent claims 2-20 are also rejected under this section for being dependent on previously rejected based claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-20, claim limitations “computer system” in claims 1, 7, 9, 13; “computer program” in claims 9, 10, 12; “artificial intelligence system” in claim 11; “artificial intelligence” in claims 11, 12; and “controller” in claim 18 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claims are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. The claims 2-20 are also rejected under this section for being dependent on previously rejected based claim.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claim 1, the following limitation is indefinite for a plurality of reasons:
A robotic shaping and forming system comprising … the computer system controlling the movement of the robotic arms, so that at least a pair of robotic arms work together to shape and form the non-planar workpiece that is mounted upon the work platform.
First, this claim is rejected under MPEP 2173.05(p)(II) for reciting a product and process in the same claim. Currently, claim 1’s preamble clearly recites “a robotic shaping and forming system” which is an apparatus, but line 6 further recites “the computer system controlling …” These limitations recite both a product and a process in the same claim. The Examiner suggests amending to the following: a control system is configured to control the movement …
Second, the recitation indicates that the control system controlling the movement of the robotic arms, so that at least a pair of robotic arms work together to shape and form the non-planar workpiece that is mounted upon the work platform. However, the claimed limitation “so that at least a pair of robotic arms work together to shape and form the non-planar workpiece that is mounted upon the work platform” is a result to be achieved, which does not directly result from the step of controlling by the control system. It is unclear: 1) whether the claimed limitation “at least a pair of robotic arms work together to shape and form the non-planar workpiece that is mounted upon the work platform” is required, and 2) what features enable the control system to controlling the movement of the robotic arms for shaping and forming the workpiece.
Therefore, claim 1 is rendered indefinite. Dependent claims 2-20 are also rejected as indefinite for being dependent on previously rejected based claim.
Regarding claim 2, the Applicant provides the claimed limitation “the robotic arm being able to rotate about a central axis on the work platform.” The phrase “being able to” describes what the robotic arm might do rather than defining the structural boundaries of the robotic arm. It is unclear what the metes and bounds regarding the claimed “the robotic arm being able to rotate about a central axis on the work platform” and further what features enable the robotic arm to rotate. Therefore, this renders the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 3, the Applicant provides the claimed limitation “wherein the plurality of opposing robotic arms are all mounted on radially extending rails, so that the opposing robots are able to move towards the centre of the work platform and away from the work platform.” 1) The phrase “able to” describes what the robot might do rather than defining the structural boundaries of the robot. It is unclear what the metes and bounds regarding the claimed “so that the opposing robots are able to move towards the centre of the work platform and away from the work platform” and further what features enable the robot to move towards the work platform and away from the work platform besides being mounted on the radially extending rails. 2) It is unclear whether the claimed “the opposing robots” are referring to the claimed “the plurality of opposing robotic arms”. Therefore, this renders the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 5, the Applicant provides the claimed limitation “wherein the tool rack also comprises a zero point, the zero point being a fixed position which the robotic arm can align itself to, so that the exact position of the end effector is known.” 1) The term “exact” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “exact” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what the metes and bounds regarding the claimed “exact position” and further how the exact position of the end effector is known. 2) The phrase “can” implies a mere possibility or an optional feature rather than defining the structural boundaries of the robotic arm. It is unclear what features enable the robotic arm to align itself to a fixed point. 3) The claimed limitation “so that the exact position of the end effector is known” is a result to be achieved, which does not directly result from the aligning the robotic arm to a fixed point. It is unclear: a) whether the claimed limitation “the exact position of the end effector is known” is required, and b) what features enable the determination of the exact position of the end effector. Therefore, this renders the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 7, the Applicant provides the claimed limitation “wherein a number of sensors are positioned on the robotic arms, the sensors being mounted along the robotic arm to track the positioning of the robotic arms; and, this data output from the sensors being fed back into the computer system.” 1) It is unclear what the metes and bounds regarding the claimed “a number of sensors”. 2) It is unclear whether the claimed “the sensors” are referring to the claimed “a number of sensors are positioned on the robotic arms”. 3) The claim recites the limitation "the positioning of the robotic arms". There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the positioning” in the claim. 4) It is unclear what the claimed “this data output” is referring to. Therefore, this renders the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 8, the Applicant provides the claimed limitation “wherein the tools may be at least one of styluses, rollers, ultrasonic transducers, sensors, lasers or heat sources, and cutting tools.” 1) The phrase “may be” describes an optional, permissive, or alternative language that the entire list is optional. It is unclear whether the styluses, rollers, ultrasonic transducers, sensors, lasers or heat sources, and cutting tools are requirements of the invention or just an optional suggestion. 2) The phrase “… may be at least one of …” is ambiguous. It is unclear whether the tools might be one of the options in the list or the tools might not be one of the options in the list. 3) The claim recites the limitation “the tools". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, this renders the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 10, 1) the claim recites the limitation "the path for the tools" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. 2) The claim recites the limitation "the surface" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. 3) The claim recites the limitation "the movements" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. 4) the claim recites the limitation "the initial shape" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. 5) The claim recites the limitation "the desired final shape" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. 6) The claim recites the limitation "the steps" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. 7) It is unclear whether the claimed “the desired shape” is referring to the claimed “the desired final shape”. Therefore, this renders the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 11, 1) the claim recites the limitation " the form of machine learning" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. 2) It is unclear whether the claimed limitation “the steps required to shape or form the non-planar workpiece” in claim 11 is referring to the claimed limitation “the steps required to shape and form the non-planar workpiece into the desired shape” in claim 10. 3) It is unclear whether the claimed limitation “the artificial intelligence system” is referring to the claimed limitation “Artificial Intelligence”. 4) It is unclear whether the claimed limitation “the steps” in line 4 is referring to the claimed “the steps required to shape or form the non-planar workpiece” in claim 11 or the claimed limitation “the steps required to shape and form the non-planar workpiece into the desired shape” in claim 10. Therefore, this renders the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 12, 1) It is unclear whether the claimed “the desired shape” in line 4 is referring to the claimed “the desired final shape” in claim 10. 2) The phrase “can” implies a mere possibility or an optional feature rather than defining the structural boundaries of the artificial intelligence. It is unclear what features enable the artificial intelligence to update the steps required to shape and form the non-planar workpiece into the desired shape. 3) The claimed limitation “so that the artificial intelligence can use live data to update the steps required to shape and form the non-planar workpiece into the desired shape” is a result to be achieved, which does not directly result from the step of receiving the visual monitoring results of the computer system. It is unclear: a) whether the claimed limitation “so that the artificial intelligence can use live data to update the steps required to shape and form the non-planar workpiece into the desired shape” is required, and b) what features enable the artificial intelligence to update the steps required to shape and form the non-planar workpiece into the desired shape. 4) The claim recites the limitation "the visual monitoring results" in 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. 5) It is unclear whether the claimed limitation “the steps required to shape and form the non-planar workpiece into the desired shape” is referring to the claimed limitation “the steps required to shape or form the non-planar workpiece” in claim 11 or the claimed limitation “the steps required to shape and form the non-planar workpiece into the desired shape” in claim 10. Therefore, this renders the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 13, the Applicant provides the claimed limitation, “wherein sensor data from the position of the plurality of robotic arms are input into the computer system, so that the positional data of the robotic arms is fed into the computer system to accurately determine the position and shape of the robot and the pressure applied to the end effector and tool, so that the model of the steps required to shape and form the non-planar workpiece into the desired shape.” 1) The claim recites the limitation "the position of the plurality of robotic arms" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. 2) The term “accurately” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “accurately” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what the metes and bounds regarding the claimed “accurately” and further how the computer system to accurately determine the position and shape of the robot and the pressure applied to the end effector and tool. 3) The claim recites the limitation " the pressure" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. 4) The claimed limitation “so that the positional data of the robotic arms is fed into the computer system to accurately determine the position and shape of the robot and the pressure applied to the end effector and tool” is a result to be achieved, which does not directly result from the step of receiving the sensor data from the position of the plurality of robotic arms of the computer system. It is unclear: a) whether the claimed limitation “so that the positional data of the robotic arms is fed into the computer system to accurately determine the position and shape of the robot and the pressure applied to the end effector and tool” is required, and b) what features enable the computer system to accurately determine the position and shape of the robot and the pressure applied to the end effector and tool. 5) The claimed limitation “so that the model of the steps required to shape and form the non-planar workpiece into the desired shape” is a result to be achieved, which does not directly result from the step of receiving the sensor data from the position of the plurality of robotic arms of the computer system. It is unclear: a) whether the claimed limitation “so that the model of the steps required to shape and form the non-planar workpiece into the desired shape” is required, b) it is unclear what the claimed “the model of the steps required to shape and form the non-planar workpiece into the desired shape” is referring to, and c) what features enable the model of the steps required to shape and form the non-planar workpiece into the desired shape. Therefore, this renders the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 14, the Applicant provides the claimed limitation, “wherein the work platform is able to rotate about a central axis”. The phrase “being able to” describes what the work platform might do rather than defining the structural boundaries of the work platform. It is unclear what the metes and bounds regarding the claimed “the work platform is able to rotate about a central axis” and further what features enable the work platform to rotate. Therefore, this renders the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 16, 1) it is unclear what the term “it” is referring to. 2) The term “enough” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “enough” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what the metes and bounds regarding the claimed “enough” and further how to consider the aperture is “large enough” for the at least one robotic arm to access the non-planar workpiece via the aperture. Therefore, this renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 18 is rejected under this section based on the following reasons:
a) Claim 18 is directed to:
A method of shaping and forming a non-planar structure using the robotic shaping and forming system of any preceding claim, the method comprising:
the controller determines the process steps for the robotic arms to shape and form the non-planar structure
The controller is not a method step and thus it is not clear whether the claimed method requires using “the controller” in some way. It is suggested to amend claim 18 to recite method steps, such as: creating a design of the desired component; inputting the design into the computer system; determining, by the controller, the process steps for the robotic arms to shape and form the non-planar structure; converting the process into a series of command signals to be transmitted to the robotic arms to carry out the operation; placing the non-planar structure into the working area between the robotic arms; and outputting the command instructions to the robotic arms and shaping and forming the non-planar structure.
Or similar language; or the claim be amended to be an apparatus claim.
b) Claim 18 recites the limitation "the desired component" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
c) Claim 18 recites the limitation "the controller" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
d) Claim 18 recites the limitation "the process steps" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is also unclear whether the claimed “the process steps” is referring to the claimed “the steps required to shape and form the non-planar workpiece into the desired shape” in claim 10, the claimed “the steps required to shape or form the non-planar workpiece” in claim 11, the claimed “the steps required to shape and form the non-planar workpiece into the desired shape” in claim 12, or the claimed “the model of the steps required to shape and form the non-planar workpiece into the desired shape” in claim 13.
e) Claim 18 recites the limitation " the operation" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
f) Claim 18 recites the limitation "the working area" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is also unclear what the metes and bounds regarding the claimed “the working area between the robotic arms” and further how to place the non-planar structure is placed into the working area between the robotic arms.
g) The preamble of claim 18 recites “a non-planar structure”. It is unclear whether the claimed “a non-planar structure” is referring to “a non-planar workpiece” in claim 1.
h) Claim 18 recites the limitation "the process" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is also unclear whether the claimed “the process” is referring to the claimed “the process steps” in line 5.
i) The Applicant provides the claimed limitation, “the command instructions are outputted to the robotic arms and the non-planar structure is shaped and formed”. It is unclear whether the claimed “the command instructions” is referring to the claimed “a series of command signals” in line 7. The Applicant further provides the claimed limitation “the command instructions are outputted to the robotic arms and the non-planar structure is shaped and formed”. The claimed limitation “the non-planar structure is shaped and formed” is a result to be achieved, which does not directly result from the step of outputting the command instructions to the robotic arms. It is unclear: a) whether the claimed limitation “the non-planar structure is shaped and formed” is required, and b) what features enable the non-planar structure is shaped and formed based on of outputting the command instructions to the robotic arms.
Claims 19-20 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected independent claim 18.
Claims 19-20 similarly fail to recite a method step or further modify a previously recited method step, and thus it is unclear if the claimed method requires using the recited elements in some way.
Regarding claim 19, the Applicant provides the claimed limitation, “the physical information may include at least one of: physical dimensions, physical properties, and temperature of the component.” 1) The phrase “may” describes an optional, permissive, or alternative language that the entire list is optional. It is unclear whether physical dimensions, physical properties, and temperature of the component are requirements of the invention or just an optional suggestion. 2) The phrase “… may include at least one of …” is ambiguous. It is unclear whether the physical information might be one of the options in the list or the physical information might not be one of the options in the list. 3) Claim 19 recites the limitation " the component" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Moreover, it is unclear whether the claimed “the component” is referring to the claimed “the non-planar structure” since the physical information is referring to “physical information of the non-planar structure”. It is also unclear whether the claimed “the component” is referring to the claimed “the desired component” in claim 18. Therefore, this renders the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 20, a) the claimed limitation “sensor data on the position of the plurality of robotic arms” should read “sensor data based on the position of the plurality of robotic arms”. b) Claim 20 recites the limitation "the position of the plurality of robotic arms" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is also unclear what the claimed “sensor data based on the position of the plurality of robotic arms” is referring to. c) Claim 20 recites the limitation "the controller system" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what the metes and bounds regarding the claimed “sensor data on the position of the plurality of robotic arms is used to update the controller system in the determination of the process steps” and further how to use the sensor data to update the controller system in the determination of the process steps. Therefore, this renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 18, the Applicant provides the preamble “A method of shaping and forming a non-planar structure using the robotic shaping and forming system of any preceding claim”. The claim does not refer to the preceding claim and/or the preceding claims. It is unclear what the robotic shaping and forming system of any preceding claim is referring to. Therefore, the claim is rejected under this section. See MPEP 608.01(n).
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehr (US 12722237 B2), and further in view of Song (CN106113502A).
Regarding claim 1, Mehr discloses a robotic shaping and forming system (Mehr, see at least Fig. 1, cols. 6-7, a robot system for shaping and forming sheet metal part) comprising a plurality of opposing robotic arms (Mehr, see at least Fig. 1, cols. 6-7, robot 100A and robot 100B face each other on respective rails 105A and 105B on opposite sides of the sheet metal 110), a work platform for supporting a non-planar workpiece (Mehr, see at least Figs. 1, 9, 10B, 11, cols. 6-7, 15-16, frame 115 for supporting sheet metal 1015 with a deformation 1005 or metal part 1110) and a computer system (Mehr, see at least Figs. 2B, 11, 17, cols. 10, 18, 19, controller 255/1120), the plurality of opposing robotic arms having multiple degrees of freedom (Mehr, see at least Fig. 1, cols. 6-7, the robots 100A/100b comprise an articulated 6-axis robotic arm (e.g., arm 120)) and an end effector for holding a tool (Mehr, see at least Fig. 1, cols. 6-7, the end of the robot arm includes a tool holder 130 that enables one or more selectable types of tools to be attached), and wherein at least one robotic arm being mounted on a (Mehr, see at least Fig. 1, cols. 6-7, two robots 100A and 100B face each other on respective rails 105A and 105B on opposite sides of the sheet metal 110), the computer system being connected to the plurality of robotic arms (Mehr, see at least Figs. 2B, 11, controller 255/1120 coupled to the robot system 260/1150), the computer system controlling the movement of the robotic arms, so that at least a pair of robotic arms work together to shape and form the non-planar workpiece that is mounted upon the work platform (Mehr, see at least Figs. 2B, 11, cols. 17, controller 255/1120 coupled to the robot system 260/1150, “The controller 1120 obtains the geometry of the part 1110 and signals from various sensors installed on the robot or the part. The robot (e.g., 1105) is controlled to interact with the part in accordance with a program applied by the controller to result in a desired geometry. For example, the program controls the robot arms to move in a particular sequence (e.g., along a predefined path) and apply the ultrasonic end-effector to the part according to particular programmed parameters at each step of the sequence … For example, the controller may control a frequency, amplitude, or other operational parameters of the ultrasonic end-effector to achieve a desired material property at different locations on the part. As previously described, the program may also cause the robot to utilize other tools to bend, pinch, cut, heat, seam, or other form the metal in accordance with the program …”).
Mehr fails to explicitly teach radially extending rail.
Song, in the same field of endeavor, teaches robot arms 2 are mounted on radially extending rails 6 (see at least Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the apparatus of Mehr to include, radially extending rail, as taught by Song. This modification allows the robots to access a work piece.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Mehr and Song teaches all the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Mehr and Song further teaches wherein the plurality of opposing robotic arms are all mounted on radially extending rails (Song, see at least Fig. 1, the opposing robot arms are mounted on radially extending rails 6), so that the opposing robots are able to move towards the centre of the work platform and away from the work platform (Song, see at least Fig. 1, the opposing robot arms move towards the center of the work platform 12 and away from the work platform 12 by following the radically extending rail 6).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Mehr and Song teaches all the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Mehr and Song further teaches wherein the tool mounted to the end effector is interchangeable (Mehr, see at least Figs. 1, 10D, cols. 3, 15, abstract, tool rack 1040 including a plurality of tools that are interchangeable, and the tool mounted to the end effector/tool holder of the robot arm), and each robotic arm is provided with a tool rack for supporting and holding different tools for the end effector (Mehr, see at least Figs. 1, 10D, cols. 3, 15, abstract, a tool rack 1040 is holding different tools 1045 for each robot arm 1000 so that the arm can exchange tool).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Mehr and Song teaches all the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Mehr and Song further teaches wherein the plurality of robotic arms are six degree of freedom industrial robots (Mehr, see at least Fig. 1, cols. 6-7, “The robots may comprise an articulated 6-axis robotic arm (e.g., arm 120) capable of moving a tool (e.g., tool 125) (also referred to as an end effector) attached to the end of the arm in a three-dimensional space according to 6 degree of freedom motion”) having a tip force of 20,000 N (Mehr, see at least Fig. 1, cols. 6-7, “The robots may be high payload industrial robotic arms that can exert forces sufficient to deform the sheet metal (e.g., up to 20,000 N)”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Mehr and Song teaches all the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Mehr and Song further teaches wherein a number of sensors are positioned on the robotic arms (Mehr, see at least Fig. 1, col. 7, various sensors installed on the robot arm), the sensors being mounted along the robotic arm to track the positioning of the robotic arms (Mehr, see at least Fig. 1, col. 12, “encoders in the robot joints that provide positional information as determined by the position of the joints”); and, this data output from the sensors being fed back into the computer system (Mehr, see at least Fig. 1, col. 7, “The robot's arms may be controlled by a controller (e.g., an external computation system) that takes into account the geometry of the final part and signals from one or more various sensors installed on the robot. The sensors may include, for example, accelerometers, gyroscopes, pressure sensors, or other sensors for detecting motion, position, and interactions of the robot with the sheet metal”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Mehr and Song teaches all the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Mehr and Song further teaches wherein the tools may be at least one of styluses (Mehr, see at least Fig. 5A, stylus tool 505), rollers (Mehr, see at least Fig. 8A, roller tool 805), ultrasonic transducers (Mehr, see at least Fig. 11, cols. 16-17, ultrasonic transducer 1115), sensors (Mehr, see at least Fig. 5A, cols. 2-3, lase profile scanner 515, force torque sensor 510), lasers or heat sources (Mehr, see at least Fig. 1, cols. 14-15, “the robot arm may attach different tools such as a spindle, laser, or a plasma torch”), and cutting tools (Mehr, see at least Fig. 10B, trimming tool 1020).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Mehr and Song teaches all the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Mehr and Song further teaches wherein the computer system incorporates a computer program, the computer program providing the signals to the robotic arms to move the plurality of robotic arms (Mehr, see at least Fig. 11, cols. 16-17, “…The robot (e.g., 1105) is controlled to interact with the part in accordance with a program applied by the controller to result in a desired geometry…”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Mehr and Song teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 9. The combination of Mehr and Song further teaches wherein the computer program also calculates and determines the path for the tools to take along the surface of the non-planar workpiece (Mehr, see at least Fig. 11, cols. 16-17, “…The robot (e.g., 1105) is controlled to interact with the part in accordance with a program applied by the controller to result in a desired geometry. For example, the program controls the robot arms to move in a particular sequence (e.g., along a predefined path) and apply the ultrasonic end-effector to the part according to particular programmed parameters at each step of the sequence…”) and the movements required by the robotic arms to form the shape (Mehr, see at least Fig. 11, cols. 16-17, “…As previously described, the program may also cause the robot to utilize other tools to bend, pinch, cut, heat, seam, or other form the metal in accordance with the program. During the part forming process, the controller may receive and process sensor data from the sensors to determine the proper joint values for each axis in the robotic arm, the ultrasonic end-effector parameters, or other operational parameters, to control the robot arms and end effector accordingly…”), the computer program using the initial shape of the non-planar workpiece (Mehr, see at least Fig. 16B, cols. 2-3, “… receive sensor data from a sensor mounted to the robot arm; determine a current geometry of the part based on the sensor data … define the current geometry as the initial geometry …”) and the desired final shape of the non-planar workpiece (Mehr, see at least Fig. 16B, cols. 2-3, “…receive a second desired geometry different than the current geometry … define the second desired geometry as the desired geometry …”) to determine the steps required to shape and form the non-planar workpiece into the desired shape (Mehr, see at least Fig. 16B, cols. 2-3, “… The controller (i) receives the initial and desired geometries; (ii) applies the model to the initial geometry and to different input parameter values; based on output geometries of the model; (iii) determines a set of parameter values for controlling the robot arm; and (iv) controls the robot arm according to the determined set of parameter values to form the part into the desired geometry using the end effector…”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Mehr and Song teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 10. The combination of Mehr and Song further teaches wherein Artificial Intelligence in the form of machine learning (Mehr, see at least Figs. 2A, 2B, cols. 8-10, 12-13, machine-learned model 200) is used to improve the determination of the steps required to shape or form the non-planar workpiece (Mehr, see at least Figs. 2A, 2B, cols. 8-10, 12-13, “…The model can be either queried online for optimized process parameters for each time step of the process in real-time, or it can be used in the design of experiments offline to determine optimal policy for forming the part. The policy here refers to general pathing strategies in forming a part…”), the artificial intelligence system using data from previous forming or shaping processes to improve the steps (Mehr, see at least Figs. 2A, 2B, cols. 8-10, 12-13, “… The offline process uses simulation data 230, data 265 generated by an in-process inspection, and data 240 generated by a post-build inspection (of the formed part 270) to train model 200 …”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Mehr and Song teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 9, 10, and 11. The combination of Mehr and Song further teaches wherein visual monitoring is used on the shaping and forming process (Mehr, see at least Figs. 2A, 2B, 5A, cols. 8-10, 12-13, surface scanners to generate as-built geometry of the part before, during, and after the forming process), the visual monitoring results fed back into the computer system so that the artificial intelligence can use live data to update the steps required to shape and form the non-planar workpiece into the desired shape (Mehr, see at least Figs. 2A, 2B, 5A, cols. 8-10, 12-13, “… the model is queried by a (e.g., online) controller that can modify (e.g., correct) steps determined during the long horizon optimization based on the current state of the sheet. For example, for a given time step, instead of assuming the part has a geometry predicted by the long horizon optimization, sensor data may be used to determine the actual geometry of the part. The model may then be queried to determine a new set of parameter values for the time step (or modify the long horizon parameters associated with the time step) …”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Mehr and Song teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 10. The combination of Mehr and Song further teaches wherein sensor data from the position of the plurality of robotic arms are input into the computer system (Mehr, see at least Figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 4, 5A, cols. 6-7, 8-10, 12-13, 17-18, “… The model created using simulation data may be further trained from data derived from an actual physical process that uses a robot arm and an actual sheet. The physical system is equipped with one or more different types of sensors. Example sensors include: (1) encoders in the robot joints that provide positional information as determined by the position of the joints, (2) optical trackers (e.g., a camera) that track the location of robot in (e.g., 3D) space …”), so that the positional data of the robotic arms is fed into the computer system to accurately determine the position and shape of the robot and the pressure applied to the end effector and tool (Mehr, see at least Figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 4, 5A, cols. 6-7, 8-10, 12-13, 17-18, “…The robot's arms may be controlled by a controller (e.g., an external computation system) that takes into account the geometry of the final part and signals from one or more various sensors installed on the robot. The sensors may include, for example, accelerometers, gyroscopes, pressure sensors, or other sensors for detecting motion, position, and interactions of the robot with the sheet metal …”), so that the model of the steps required to shape and form the non-planar workpiece into the desired shape (Mehr, see at least Figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 4, 5A, cols. 6-7, 8-10, 12-13, 17-18, the model is queried online for optimized process parameters for each time step of the process in real-time based on sensor data 264 derived from sensors installed on the robot).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Mehr and Song teaches all the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Mehr and Song further teaches wherein the work platform is able to rotate about a central axis (Song, see at least Fig. 1, par. [0024], work platform 12 is able to rotate about a central axis).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Mehr and Song teaches all the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Mehr and Song further teaches wherein at least one clamp is attached to the non-planar workpiece (Mehr, see at least Figs. 9, 10B, 11, the frame 915 includes a series of clamps 900 that hold the sheet metal 1015 with a deformation or metal part 1110 in place).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Mehr and Song teaches all the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Mehr and Song further teaches a method of shaping and forming a non-planar structure using the robotic shaping and forming system (Mehr, see at least Figs. 1, 11, a robot system for shaping and forming a metal part) of any preceding claim, the method comprising:
a design of the desired component is created (Mehr, see at least Figs. 2A, 2B, 15, cols. 8, 12-13, simulation module 225 generating estimated final geometry of a part for a given forming process, e.g., part design 1505);
the design is input into the computer system (Mehr, see at least Figs. 2A, 2B, 15, cols. 8, 12-13, inputting design of a part, e.g., part design 1505);
the controller determines the process steps for the robotic arms to shape and form the non-planar structure (Mehr, see at least Figs. 2B, 16B, cols. 10-13, “the controller identifies and chooses the (e.g., best) parameter 250 that produces the most desirable outcome to control the robotic forming system through a forming process that achieves the desired geometry”);
the process is converted into a series of command signals to be transmitted to the robotic arms to carry out the operation (Mehr, see at least Figs. 1, 2B, cols. 10-13, 17, “… controls the robot arm according to the determined set of parameter values to form the part into the desired geometry using the end effector …”);
the non-planar structure is placed into the working area between the robotic arms (Mehr, see at least Figs. 1, 10B, 11, metal sheet 1015 including formation/metal part 1110 is placed into the working area between the robotic arms 120); and
the command instructions are outputted to the robotic arms and the non-planar structure is shaped and formed (Mehr, see at least Figs. 1, 10B, 11, col. 17, controlling the robot arms to move in a particular sequence (e.g., along a predefined path) and apply a tool attached to an end effector of the robot arms to the non-planar part 1110).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Mehr and Song teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 18. The combination of Mehr and Song further teaches wherein physical information of the non-planar structure is input into the controller prior to determining the process steps (Mehr, see at least Figs. 1, 2B, 10B, 11, col. 10, “the controller uses sensors installed on the robotic forming system to obtain sensor data 265 to determine a current geometry of the part”), the physical information may include at least one of: physical dimensions (Mehr, see at least Figs. 1, 2B, 10B, 11, cols. 10, 13, “the controller uses sensors installed on the robotic forming system to obtain sensor data 265 to determine a current geometry of the part”), physical properties (Mehr, see at least Figs. 1, 2B, 10B, 11, cols. 11, 13, “… The model may as an input takes a specification for a sheet, such as its material properties (e.g., stress-strain curve) and failure criteria …”), and temperature of the component (Mehr, see at least Figs. 1, 2B, 10B, 11, cols. 2, 4, “the system further includes sensors configured to sense properties of at least one of: the robotic arm, the ultrasonic end-effector, or the region of the part (e.g., vibrations at the region or the temperature of the region)”).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Mehr and Song teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 18. The combination of Mehr and Song further teaches wherein sensor data on the position of the plurality of robotic arms is used to update the controller system in the determination of the process steps (Mehr, see at least Figs. 1, 2B, 10B, 11, col. 7, “The robot's arms may be controlled by a controller (e.g., an external computation system) that takes into account the geometry of the final part and signals from one or more various sensors installed on the robot. The sensors may include, for example, accelerometers, gyroscopes, pressure sensors, or other sensors for detecting motion, position, and interactions of the robot with the sheet metal.”).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehr (US 12722237 B2), in view of Song (CN106113502A) as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Saez et al. (US 11878409 B2, hereinafter “Saez”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Mehr and Song teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 4. The combination of Mehr and Song further teaches the tool rack 1040 for holding a plurality of tools 1045 (see at least Fig. 10D, col. 15). However, combination of Mehr and Song fails to explicitly teach wherein the tool rack also comprises a zero point, the zero point being a fixed position which the robotic arm can align itself to, so that the exact position of the end effector is known.
Saez teaches a tool rack 100 for holding a plurality of tools for a robot system, and the tool rack 100 comprises reference points (see at least Fig. 1, col. 7). Saez further teaches the robot system comprising a camera 50 to identify the precise position (location and orientation) of the tool rack 100 and/or tool mounts or tool holders (or end-of-arm tools) based on recognizing the reference points of the tool rack 100, and therefor enable precise alignment of the robot 12, 16 to the tool rack 100 and/or tool mount or holder of the robot’s arm (see at least Fig. 1, col. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the combination of Mehr and Song to include, wherein the tool rack also comprises a zero point, the zero point being a fixed position which the robotic arm can align itself to, so that the exact position of the end effector is known, as taught by Saez. This modification allows the robot arms to enable proper alignment between the robots and to tool rack for picking up or dropping off an end-of-arm tool (Saez, see at least col. 7).
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (CN114749943A).
Regarding claim 1, Xie discloses a robotic shaping and forming system comprising a plurality of opposing robotic arms (Xie, see at least Figs. 1, 6, par. [n0043-n0047], a multi-robot machining system 1 for the inner wall of a large rotary thin-walled structural component 2, the multi-robot machining system 1 comprising a plurality of opposing robotic arms 400 and/or 500, i.e. rough machining positioning assembly 400 and/or finishing positioning components 500), a work platform for supporting a non-planar workpiece (Xie, see at least Fig. 1, par. [n0043-n0045], circumferential clamping assembly 200 for supporting the large rotary thin-walled structural component 2. The circumferential clamping assembly 200 including a circumferential clamping base 210, a clamping annular turntable 220, and multiple clamps 230) and (Xie, see at least Figs. 1, 6, 8, par. [n0038, n0049], rough machining positioning assembly 400 and/or finishing positioning components 500 having multiple degrees of freedom) and an end effector for holding a tool (Xie, see at least Figs. 1, 6, 8, 9, par. [n0048-n0049], processing devices 600), and wherein at least one robotic arm being mounted on a radially extending rail (Xie, see at least Figs. 1, 5, 6, 8, 9, par. [n0048-n0049, n0056], rough machining positioning assembly 400 and/or finishing positioning components 500 is mounted on radially extending rail 410), (Xie, see at least Figs. 1, 5, 6, 8, 9, par. [n0048-n0049, n0056, n0078-n0079], controlling the machining devices 600 of the rough machining positioning assembly 400 and/or finishing positioning components 500 to complete the three-axis roughing of the local machining area and/or the five-axis finishing of the local machining area of the part 2).
Xie fails to explicitly teach a computer system being connected to the plurality of robotic arms, the computer system controlling the movement of the robotic arms. However, the computer system, e.g., a controller, is an “inherited” feature of the multi-robot 400 and 500 for controlling the multi-robot 400 and 500.
Regarding claim 2, Xie discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Xia further teaches wherein one robotic arm (Xie, see at least Figs. 1, 6, 8, par. [n0038], rough machining positioning assembly 400 and/or finishing positioning components 500) is mounted on the work platform (Xie, see at least Figs. 1, 6, par. [n0038, n0045], rough machining positioning assembly 400 is mounted on circumferential clamping assembly 200. The circumferential clamping assembly 200 including a circumferential clamping base 210, a clamping annular turntable 220, and multiple clamps 230) and positioned at the centre of the non-planar workpiece (Xie, see at least Figs. 1, 6, par. [n0045, n0049], part 2 to be processed by the multi-robot machining system) that is mounted on the work platform (Xie, see at least Figs. 1, 6, par. [n0045], part 2 is mounted on the circumferential clamping assembly 200 by the supporting ring base 100), the robotic arm being able to rotate about a central axis on the work platform (Xie, see at least Figs. 1, 5, 6, 8, par. [n0046-n0047], “The cooperative base 300 is located on the radial inner side of the supporting annular base 100, and the cooperative base 300 is provided with a cooperative annular guide rail 310 … Multiple machining positioning components are arranged circumferentially along the cooperative annular guide rail 310. Each machining positioning component includes a machining base 410, a radial moving platform 420, a vertical moving platform 430, and a machining parallel positioning device. The machining base 410 is slidably mounted on the cooperative annular guide rail 310 …”; par. [n0049], “… By setting the collaborative base 300, multiple processing and positioning components can slide on the collaborative annular guide rail 310, which facilitates the collaborative operation of multiple processing and positioning components …”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wilkosz et al. (US 20170028458 A1) discloses a system and method for forming a workpiece.
Mehr et al. (US 20180341248 A1) discloses machine learning-based methods and systems for automated object defect classification and adaptive, real-time control of additive manufacturing and/or welding processes.
Yogo (US 20200353523 A1) discloses a bending machine configured to bend an elongated workpiece and includes a first track device, a second track device, a first base, a second base, a first robot, a second robot, a first bending mechanism, a second bending mechanism, and a workpiece feeding device.
/TRANG DANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3656 /KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656