The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Status
Applicant’s amendment filed 15 September 2026 has been entered.
Claims 1 and 20 are amended; claims 2–12 are original; claims 13–19 remain withdrawn (election without traverse of Invention I, Species 2, 4 and 5, reply filed 11 May 2026). Claims 1–12 and 20 are examined.
The rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the non-final action mailed 16 June 2026 is withdrawn in view of the amendment replacing the relative term with “has a lower voltage than the first driving power source.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kaplan et al. (US 2014/0313242 A1) in view of Komiya et al. (US 2005/0200312 A1) and Tang (US 2007/0146253 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kaplan discloses a display device [e.g., Paragraph 28: FIG. 1 illustrates an embodiment of an OLED display including a display unit 10, a scan driver 20, a data driver 30, a voltage supply unit 40, and a signal controller 50; Fig. 1: 10, 20, 30, 40, 50] comprising:
a voltage generator [e.g., Paragraph 46: The voltage supply unit 40 includes a plurality of direct current (DC)-DC converters 401 to 404 generating driving power source voltages to be applied to corresponding voltage supply lines; Fig. 1: 40; Fig. 2: 401–404] configured to generate a first driving power source [e.g., Paragraph 47: The second DC-DC converter 402 generates a second voltage as a driving power source voltage having a predetermined high potential to be applied to the second voltage supply line ELVDD2; Fig. 2: ELVDD2],
corresponding to an input power source
pixels [e.g., Paragraph 29: The display unit 10 includes a plurality of pixels which are connected to a plurality of scan lines S1 to Sn extending in a first direction (column direction), a plurality of data lines D1 to Dm extending in a second direction (row direction); Fig. 1: PX, S1–Sn, D1–Dm] connected to scan lines and data lines [e.g., Paragraph 45: The first to third sub-pixels are connected to an n-th scan line Sn and a corresponding plurality of m-th data lines labeled Dm1 to Dm3, respectively],
wherein the pixels include:
a first pixel [e.g., Paragraph 102: the three sub-pixels are selected so the first sub-pixel 300_1 is a red sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel 300_2 is a green sub-pixel, and the third sub-pixel 300_3 is a blue sub-pixel; Fig. 2: 100_3; Fig. 3: 300_3] configured to emit light of a first color [e.g., Paragraph 30: each of the plurality of pixels includes three sub-pixels which emit red, green, and blue lights, respectively], corresponding to the first driving power source [e.g., Paragraph 103: the second voltage supply line ELVDD2 is connected to a blue third sub-pixel; Fig. 2: ELVDD2 to TD3]; and
a second pixel [e.g., Paragraph 103: the first voltage supply line ELVDD1 is connected to a red first sub-pixel and a green second sub-pixel; Fig. 2: 100_1; Fig. 3: 300_1] configured to emit light of a second color, corresponding to a second driving power source [e.g., Paragraph 47: the first DC-DC converter 401 generates a first voltage as a driving power source voltage having a predetermined high potential to be applied to the first voltage supply line ELVDD1; Paragraph 38: The first voltage supply line ELVDD1 and the second voltage supply line ELVDD2 may transmit driving power source voltages having predetermined different high potentials; Fig. 2: ELVDD1 to TD1, TD2]
wherein the second driving power source is
Kaplan does not expressly disclose a battery, the input power source of the voltage generator being supplied from the battery, the second driving power source being supplied from the battery, or the second driving power source being directly supplied from the battery. Kaplan’s voltage supply unit 40 is a set of DC-DC converters [e.g., Paragraph 46: direct current (DC)-DC converters 401 to 404] whose own input is not described, and each of Kaplan’s driving power source voltages is generated by one of those converters [e.g., Paragraph 68: The first power source voltage VELVDD1 and the second power source voltage VELVDD2 are determined, for example, by the signal controller 50 and are generated from DC-DC converters 401 and 402 of the voltage supply unit 40].
However, Komiya discloses a light emitting element driving device for a portable apparatus comprising:
a battery [e.g., Paragraph 38: The battery BAT can be a lithium ion battery or a nickel-cadmium battery; Fig. 1: BAT];
a voltage generator [e.g., Paragraph 37: a step-up circuit 200 for stepping up the power supply voltage Vbat of a battery BAT; Fig. 1: 200] configured to generate a first driving power source [e.g., Paragraph 40: the green LED 302 and blue LED 303 are supplied with the step-up voltage Vh as their driving voltage; Fig. 1: Vh], corresponding to an input power source supplied from the battery [e.g., Paragraph 24: a step-up circuit for stepping up the power supply voltage to generate at a step-up voltage output end thereof a predetermined step-up voltage; Paragraph 21: a battery for providing a power supply voltage];
a first light emitting element [e.g., Paragraph 37: the first group 301, second group 302, and third group 303 of light emitting elements are red (R), green (G), and blue (B) LEDs, respectively; Fig. 1: 303 (B)] configured to emit light of a first color, corresponding to the first driving power source [e.g., Paragraph 63: the green LED 302 and the blue LED 303 are driven by the step-up voltage Vh]; and
a second light emitting element [e.g., Paragraph 4: a red LED requires a lower operating voltage in the range from about 2.8 to 3.0 V; Fig. 1: 301 (R)] configured to emit light of a second color, corresponding to a second driving power source supplied from the battery [e.g., Paragraph 63: the red LED 301 is driven by the power supply voltage Vbat; Paragraph 52: when the battery BAT is fully charged and has a sufficiently large power supply voltage Vbat, the red LED 301 is driven by the power supply voltage Vbat; Fig. 1: Vbat, SW1, 301],
wherein the second driving power source is directly supplied from the battery [e.g., Paragraph 29: When the battery has sufficient power, the group of LED having a low operating voltage are driven directly by the battery voltage to minimize power loss; Paragraph 5: the battery voltage is stepped up to a higher voltage to drive green and blue LEDs while the battery voltage is used to directly drive red LED] (e.g., see Paragraphs 2–73).
Komiya further discloses that the light emitting elements so driven serve as display elements of a portable apparatus [e.g., Paragraph 2: multicolor display elements of a cellular phone; Paragraph 37: light sources of a multicolor display], and states the reason for the arrangement: the lower-operating-voltage color is driven from the battery directly so that the driver [e.g., Paragraph 52: results in little power loss], while the colors whose operating voltage exceeds the battery voltage receive the stepped-up voltage [e.g., Paragraph 5: since green and blue LEDs have a higher operating voltage than the battery voltage while red LED have a lower operating voltage].
Komiya’s light emitting elements are groups of LEDs serving as display and backlight sources, not pixels connected to scan lines and data lines, and Komiya describes no active matrix pixel circuit.
Tang is joined to supply the claimed pixel arrangement – an active matrix OLED pixel on scan and data lines, driven by a p-type transistor whose driving power source is the battery itself.
Tang discloses that, in an active matrix OLED display whose pixels are connected to scan lines and data lines and driven by a p-type driving transistor [e.g., Tang, Paragraph 3: a pixel in an AMOLED display comprises at least a control TFT (M1) operatively connected to a data line and a scan line, and a driving TFT (M2); Paragraph 3: the driving TFT is a p-MOS thin-film transistor; Fig. 2a: 100, M1, M2], the pixel driving power source is supplied directly from a battery while a converter generates the other supply: [e.g., Tang, Paragraph 3: A Li-battery of 3.7 v can be directly applied to the Vdd end, while a DC/DC converter is used to convert the positive 3.7 v to the negative Vss level; Fig. 2a: 40 to Vdd; 50 to Vss].
Hu et al. (US 2006/0267882 A1) [e.g., Hu, Paragraph 24: An external power 210, which may be, for example, a lithium battery in the digital camera or the mobile phone, supplies a first direct voltage to the electric apparatus 30; Paragraph 31: The source S of the P-type transistor 276(1) receives a direct voltage Vdd, which is the first direct voltage in the electric apparatus 30; Paragraph 36: the energy loss caused by the DC voltage conversion in the display DC-to-DC converter may be reduced; Fig. 2: 210 to 270] and
Lee Gilbert (US 2015/0115825 A1) [e.g., Lee Gilbert, Paragraph 69: the positive input of OLED (ELVDD) is tied into the input power supply of VIN directly without any switch; Paragraph 98: The positive node of OLED is hard-wired to VIN] are cited as evidence that supplying an OLED pixel’s positive driving power source directly from the battery or input supply, without a converter, was a known arrangement in the art (MPEP 2144.03).
Kaplan, Komiya and Tang are analogous art, because they are from the shared inventive field of supplying driving power to light emitting display elements, and each is reasonably pertinent to the problem of reducing the power consumed in driving light emitting elements of different colors that require different driving voltages.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to supply Kaplan’s voltage supply unit from a battery as Komiya’s step-up circuit is supplied from the battery BAT, and
to supply Kaplan’s first voltage supply line ELVDD1 — the line that feeds the red and green sub-pixels [e.g., Kaplan, Paragraph 103: the first voltage supply line ELVDD1 is connected to a red first sub-pixel and a green second sub-pixel] — directly from that battery in place of the first DC-DC converter 401, while retaining the second DC-DC converter 402 to generate the higher potential for the blue sub-pixel on ELVDD2,
because Komiya teaches driving the light emitting elements of lower operating voltage directly from the battery [e.g., Komiya, Paragraph 29: to minimize power loss] and stepping the battery voltage up only for the elements whose operating voltage exceeds it [e.g., Komiya, Paragraph 5: since green and blue LEDs have a higher operating voltage than the battery voltage while red LED have a lower operating voltage], and
Tang shows that a battery so applied directly to the driving power source of an active matrix OLED pixel is a typical arrangement [e.g., Tang, Paragraph 3: A typical driving circuit for an AMOLED display is shown in FIG. 1].
Omitting the converter on the lower-voltage line is what yields the benefit Komiya states [e.g., Komiya, Paragraph 52: results in little power loss]; Hu is consistent, describing the same reduction of conversion loss [e.g., Hu, Paragraph 36: the energy loss caused by the DC voltage conversion in the display DC-to-DC converter may be reduced].
The modification leaves Kaplan’s remaining driving power source voltages in place. The second DC-DC converter 402 continues to generate the higher potential ELVDD2 for the blue sub-pixel, and the low-potential voltages ELVSS1 and ELVSS2 applied to the cathodes [e.g., Kaplan, Paragraph 103: the third voltage supply line ELVSS1 is connected to the red first sub-pixel, and the fourth voltage supply line ELVSS2 is connected to the green second sub-pixel and the blue third sub-pixel] continue to be generated by the voltage supply unit under the signal controller, which sets the four voltages together [e.g., Kaplan, Paragraph 114: the signal controller 50 may calculate a voltage using an arithmetic expression for determining four different driving power source voltages] so that each high potential covers the transistor and OLED drops above its cathode potential [e.g., Kaplan, Paragraph 86: ELVDDx = VTFTsat + VOLEDx + ELVSSx]. With ELVDD1 supplied from the battery, the low potential ELVSS1 is set from that relation for the battery voltage. The green sub-pixel rides that same battery-supplied line with its cathode on ELVSS2, and ELVSS2 is set from the same relation for the green sub-pixel, the signal controller setting all four voltages together so that each high potential continues to cover its transistor and diode drops above its own cathode potential.
Tang teaches adjusting the low-potential supply as the battery voltage falls so that the driving transistor stays in saturation [e.g., Tang, Paragraph 17: when Vdd drops from 3.3 v to 3.1 v, Vss can be adjusted from -9.0 v to -9.2 v; Paragraph 19: Vss is adjusted based on the monitored Vdd voltage level so as to maintain a desired operational voltage potential on the driving TFT].
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined Komiya’s battery and direct battery supply of the lower-voltage light emitting elements, and Tang’s battery-supplied pixel driving power source, with Kaplan’s display device as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007); Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1 (1966).
Claim 2
Regarding claim 2, Komiya further discloses wherein the second driving power source and the input power source have a same power source [e.g., Komiya, Paragraph 37: a step-up circuit 200 for stepping up the power supply voltage Vbat of a battery BAT; Paragraph 63: the red LED 301 is driven by the power supply voltage Vbat; Fig. 1: Vbat to 200 and to SW1].
Tang likewise shows the same battery supplying Vdd and the input of the DC/DC converter [e.g., Tang, Paragraph 3: A Li-battery of 3.7 v can be directly applied to the Vdd end, while a DC/DC converter is used to convert the positive 3.7 v to the negative Vss level; Fig. 2a: 40]. In the combination set forth for claim 1, Kaplan’s ELVDD1 (the second driving power source) is the battery voltage, and the battery is also the input power source of the retained converter 402.
Claim 3
Regarding claim 3, Kaplan discloses wherein the second driving power source has a The first voltage supply line ELVDD1 and the second voltage supply line ELVDD2 may transmit driving power source voltages having predetermined different high potentials].
Kaplan does not expressly disclose that the second driving power source has a lower voltage than the first driving power source; Kaplan states that the two high potentials differ [e.g., Kaplan, Paragraph 38: predetermined different high potentials] without fixing which is lower.
However, Komiya discloses that the driving power source supplied directly from the battery has a lower voltage than the stepped-up first driving power source [e.g., Komiya, Paragraph 4: a white, a green, and a blue LED requires an operating voltage in the range from about 3.5 to 4.0 V, but a red LED requires a lower operating voltage in the range from about 2.8 to 3.0 V; Paragraph 37: stepping up the power supply voltage Vbat of a battery BAT (normally having a nominal voltage of 3.6 V) to a required output voltage Vh].
In the combination set forth for claim 1, ELVDD1 is the battery voltage and ELVDD2 is the stepped-up voltage, so the second driving power source has a lower voltage than the first, for the reasons given for claim 1.
Claim 4
Regarding claim 4, Kaplan discloses wherein the first color is blue and the second color is red [e.g., Kaplan, Paragraph 102: the first sub-pixel 300_1 is a red sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel 300_2 is a green sub-pixel, and the third sub-pixel 300_3 is a blue sub-pixel; Paragraph 103: the second voltage supply line ELVDD2 is connected to a blue third sub-pixel].
Komiya discloses that the blue light emitting element takes the stepped-up voltage and the red light emitting element takes the battery voltage [e.g., Komiya, Paragraph 63: the red LED 301 is driven by the power supply voltage Vbat, while the green LED 302 and the blue LED 303 are driven by the step-up voltage Vh].
Routley et al. (US 2009/0201281 A1) [e.g., Routley, Paragraph 34: a red sub-pixel may require a drive voltage of 3.6V while a green sub-pixel may require 4.2V and a blue sub-pixel 5.15V] and
Hussell et al. (US 2020/0309357 A1) [e.g., Hussell, Paragraph 93: red LEDs typically have a lower turn-on or forward voltage (e.g., 1.8-2.4 volts (V)) compared with blue or green LEDs (e.g., 3-3.3 V)] are cited as evidence that a blue light emitting element requires a higher driving voltage than a red one (MPEP 2144.03).
Claim 5
Regarding claim 5, Kaplan discloses wherein the pixels further include a third pixel [e.g., Kaplan, Paragraph 102: the second sub-pixel 300_2 is a green sub-pixel; Fig. 2: 100_2; Fig. 3: 300_2] configured to emit light of a third color, corresponding to the second driving power source [e.g., Kaplan, Paragraph 103: the first voltage supply line ELVDD1 is connected to a red first sub-pixel and a green second sub-pixel; Fig. 2: ELVDD1 to TD1, TD2], and wherein the third color is green [e.g., Kaplan, Paragraph 102: the second sub-pixel 300_2 is a green sub-pixel].
Routley is cited as evidence that where two sub-pixel colors have similar drive requirements they may share one supply while the third differs [e.g., Routley, Paragraph 34: where two of the sub-pixel colours have a similar IV characteristic (for example the red and green sub-pixels) and only one differs (for example the blue sub-pixel then two rather than three sub-pixel power supplies may be provided).].
The combination keeps Kaplan’s grouping of the red and green sub-pixels on the first voltage supply line [e.g., Kaplan, Paragraph 103: the first voltage supply line ELVDD1 is connected to a red first sub-pixel and a green second sub-pixel] rather than Komiya’s assignment of the green element to the stepped-up rail, because it’s Kaplan’s pixel arrangement that is being modified and only the source of the first voltage supply line changes; Routley states that two colors of similar current-voltage characteristic may share one supply while the third differs [e.g., Routley, Paragraph 34: where two of the sub-pixel colours have a similar IV characteristic (for example the red and green sub-pixels) and only one differs].
Claim 6
Regarding claim 6, Kaplan discloses
a scan driver [e.g., Paragraph 35: The scan driver 20 sequentially generates and applies a scan signal to scan lines S1-Sn; Fig. 1: 20] configured to drive the scan lines;
a data driver [e.g., Paragraph 36: The data driver 30 generates and applies a data voltage according to a data signal Data converted from the signal controller 50 to data lines D1 to Dm; Fig. 1: 30] configured to drive the data lines; and
a timing controller [e.g., Paragraph 41: the signal controller 50 generates a plurality of driving control signals for controlling driving operations of the scan driver 20, the data driver 30 and the voltage supply unit 40; Fig. 1: 50, CONT1, CONT2] configured to control the scan driver and the data driver.
Claim 7
Regarding claim 7, Kaplan discloses wherein each of the pixels includes: a light emitting element [e.g., Paragraph 63: includes a driving transistor and an OLED, being an emissive device which receives a driving current from the driving transistor to emit the light; Fig. 2: OLED1–OLED3] configured to emit light of the first color or the second color; and
a driving transistor [e.g., Paragraph 55: a driving transistor TD3 having a gate electrode connected to the node N3, a source electrode connected to the second voltage supply line ELVDD2, and a drain electrode connected to an organic light emitting diode (OLED) 303; Fig. 2: TD1–TD3] configured to supply a driving current to the light emitting element [e.g., Paragraph 58: the driving transistor of each sub-pixel flows a driving current according to the data voltage to the OLED so that the OLED emits a corresponding color light] from the first driving power source or the second driving power source [e.g., Paragraph 66: A predetermined first power source voltage VELVDD1 generated from a DC-DC converter 401 of the voltage supply unit 40 is applied to source electrodes of driving transistors 311 and 312 of the first sub-pixel 300_1 and the second sub-pixel 300_2 through the first voltage supply line 421].
Claim 8
Regarding claim 8, Kaplan discloses wherein the driving transistor is a P-type transistor [e.g., Kaplan, Paragraph 50: The transistor according to the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 2 is a PMOS transistor; Fig. 2: TD1–TD3; Fig. 3: 311–313].
Tang likewise discloses the p-type driving transistor whose source is supplied directly from the battery [e.g., Tang, Paragraph 3: the driving TFT is a p-MOS thin-film transistor; Fig. 2a: M2].
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kaplan in view of Komiya and Tang as applied to claim 8 above; or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kaplan in view of Komiya and Tang as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2014/0009512 A1, “Lee Dong-Woo”).
Claim 9
Regarding claim 9, in the combination set fourth for claims 1 and 6, Tang discloses wherein the timing controller includes:
a correction value generator [e.g., Paragraph 14: the present invention provides a monitoring device 30 in a power supply circuit 10 to monitor the voltage drop in the battery 40; Fig. 2a: 30] configured to receive the second driving power source [e.g., Paragraph 16: it is possible to relate the reference voltage Vref to the monitored battery voltage or Vdd], and to generate a correction value [e.g., Paragraph 14: provides a reference voltage level 32 (Vref) to the DATA ASIC 20; Fig. 2a: 32, Vref], corresponding to a voltage of the second driving power source [e.g., Paragraph 16: it is possible to compute Vref as follows: Vref=Vdd-2.2 v]; and
an output data generator [e.g., Paragraph 14: The DATA ASIC comprises a gamma correction module for adjusting the input data based on Vref, so as to allow a source driver to provide the adjusted voltage level of Vdata; Fig. 2a: 20, Gamma correction] configured to generate corrected output data by reflecting the correction value on input data [e.g., Paragraph 19: to compute a reference voltage provided to the DATA ASIC so as to allow the DATA ASIC to adjust the data line signals while maintaining substantially the same data voltage swing].
In the combination set forth for claim 1, the driving power source that Tang monitors — the battery voltage applied directly to Vdd [e.g., Tang, Paragraph 3: A Li-battery of 3.7 v can be directly applied to the Vdd end] — is the second driving power source, and Tang corrects the input data to compensate for the change in that voltage [e.g., Tang, Paragraph 3: Over time, the voltage on the battery decreases and so does Vdd].
Tang locates the monitoring device in the power supply circuit and the gamma correction module in the data ASIC [e.g., Tang, Paragraph 14: a monitoring device 30 in a power supply circuit 10; Paragraph 14: The DATA ASIC comprises a gamma correction module];
Kaplan’s signal controller 50 is the block that converts the external video signal into the image data signal transmitted to the data driver [e.g., Kaplan, Paragraph 40: The signal controller 50 receives and converts an external video signal into an image data signal Data corresponding to a sub-frame, and transmits the converted image data signal Data to the data driver 30].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to place Tang’s monitoring device and its correction of the input data in Kaplan’s signal controller, the block that already converts the image data before it reaches the data driver, so that the data supplied to the sub-pixels driven from the battery voltage is corrected as that voltage falls, for the reason Tang gives [e.g., Tang, Paragraph 3: When the voltage potential Vsg drops below a certain level, the brightness of the OLED decreases significantly].
Tang’s monitoring device computes the reference from the monitored supply and Tang’s gamma correction module adjusts the input data from that reference [e.g., Tang, Paragraph 14: The DATA ASIC comprises a gamma correction module for adjusting the input data based on Vref]; placing both in the controller that already handles the image data leaves each performing the function Tang describes, with the data adjusted before it reaches the data driver. KSR, 550 U.S. 398.
Should it be shown that Tang discloses the correction value generator and the output data generator with insufficient specificity:
Lee Dong-Woo discloses a driving control device [e.g., Paragraph 122: the driving control device 60 includes a signal converter 607 and a calculator 608; Fig. 7: 60, 607, 608] including a correction value generator configured to receive the pixel driving power source [e.g., Paragraph 123: The signal converter 607 obtains the actual output voltage value (VN) of the first power source voltage ELVDD through the connection node (N) commonly connected along with the power source voltage supply unit 50; Fig. 1: N] and to generate a correction value corresponding to its voltage [e.g., Paragraph 125: the digital value of the image data signal DATA2 corresponding to each pixel and the digital value of the actual output voltage value (VN), are calculated in the calculator 608 to compensate the output deviation of the driving power source voltage], and
an output data generator configured to generate corrected output data by reflecting the correction value on input data [e.g., Paragraph 126: The output compensation image data signal DATA3 may be the digital value (DATA2-.DELTA.) where the output deviation (.DELTA.) between the first power source voltage supplied in the predetermined process of the gamma voltage and the first power source voltage supplied after the product is produced is subtracted from the input image data signal DATA2].
Lee Dong-Woo places this device between the signal controller that supplies the image data and the data driver [e.g., Paragraph 125: The calculator 608 receives the image data signal DATA2 according to the video signal from the signal controller 40; Paragraph 121: the data driver 30 outputs the gray voltage according to the compensation data signal output from the driving control device 60 as the data signal] (e.g., see Paragraphs 60–130).
Kaplan, Komiya, Tang and Lee Dong-Woo are analogous art, because they are from the shared inventive field of powering and driving light emitting display devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include Lee Dong-Woo’s signal converter and calculator in the signal controller of Kaplan, Komiya and Tang, so as to compensate the image data for the deviation of the driving power source voltage actually supplied to the pixels, so that [e.g., Paragraph 128: the image may be displayed with the correct luminance and color coordinate regardless of the output deviation of the driving power source voltage]. KSR, 550 U.S. 398; Graham, 383 U.S. 1.
Claim 10
Regarding claim 10, Tang discloses wherein the corrected output data corresponds to the second pixel [e.g., Paragraph 14: The DATA ASIC comprises a gamma correction module for adjusting the input data based on Vref, so as to allow a source driver to provide the adjusted voltage level of Vdata; Paragraph 3: A Li-battery of 3.7 v can be directly applied to the Vdd end].
In the combination set forth for claim 9, the driving power source that Tang monitors is the second driving power source — the battery voltage on ELVDD1, which supplies the red and green sub-pixels [e.g., Kaplan, Paragraph 103: the first voltage supply line ELVDD1 is connected to a red first sub-pixel and a green second sub-pixel] — and the data Tang adjusts from that voltage is the data of the pixels it supplies [e.g., Tang, Paragraph 3: Over time, the voltage on the battery decreases and so does Vdd], so the corrected output data corresponds to the second pixel.
In the alternative branch, Lee Dong-Woo’s calculator corrects the image data of each pixel from the actually supplied driving power source voltage [e.g., Paragraph 125: the digital value of the image data signal DATA2 corresponding to each pixel and the digital value of the actual output voltage value (VN), are calculated in the calculator 608]; applied in the combination to the pixels supplied from the battery voltage, the corrected output data likewise corresponds to the second pixel.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kaplan in view of Komiya and Tang as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0215384 A1, “Kim ’384”); or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kaplan in view of Komiya and Tang as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Kim ’384 and Lee Dong-Woo.
Claim 11
Kaplan, Komiya and Tang do not expressly disclose a reference voltage generator generating first and second gamma reference voltages or a gamma voltage generator generating first and second gamma voltages, as instantly claimed; Tang adjusts the gamma reference for the data as a whole [e.g., Paragraph 20: the gamma curve can be down-shifted by 0.2 v so that its range is between 2.8 v and 1.3 v], and Kaplan and Komiya do not describe gamma voltages.
However, Kim ’384 discloses a reference voltage generator [e.g., Paragraph 74: a reference voltage generator 360; Paragraph 94: the compensation circuit 361 and the reference voltage generator 360 may be provided for each of the pixels R, G and B of different colors; Fig. 9: 360 in each of the Red, Green and Blue planes] configured to receive the second driving power source [e.g., Paragraph 89: a low reference voltage VREF1 ± the high-potential driving voltage ELVDD; Paragraph 58: detecting the fluctuation of the high-potential driving voltage ELVDD by the display device 1 itself; Fig. 9: 361 (VDDEL)], and to generate a first gamma reference voltage [e.g., Paragraph 76: the reference voltages generated reflecting the compensation values may also be individually provided with respect to such pixels R, G and B] and a second gamma reference voltage [e.g., Paragraph 94: the compensation values and the reference voltages reflecting these compensation values may be individually provided corresponding to the pixels R, G and B of different colors; Fig. 9: RV1, RVn of each plane]; and
a gamma voltage generator [e.g., Paragraph 74: a gamma voltage generator 330 to generate gamma voltages GMA1 to GMAn based on a reference voltage output from first to nth reference voltage terminals RV1 to RVn of a reference voltage generator 360; Fig. 9: 330] configured to generate first gamma voltages corresponding to the first pixel and second gamma voltages corresponding to the second pixel [e.g., Paragraph 94: different sets of gamma voltages are provided to the pixels R, G and B of different colors; Fig. 9: 330 in each of the Red, Green and Blue planes], corresponding to the first gamma reference voltage and the second gamma reference voltage [e.g., Paragraph 77: Since the different reference voltages are given with regard to the pixels R, G and B of different colors, the different gamma voltages GMA1 to GMAn are provided to such pixels R, G and B],
wherein the second gamma reference voltage is controlled corresponding to a voltage of the second driving power source [e.g., Paragraph 89: the low gamma voltage terminal BRV1 receives a compensation voltage AVREF1 (hereinafter, referred to as a lower reference voltage) of a low reference voltage VREF1 ± the high-potential driving voltage ELVDD; Paragraph 57: Such a compensation value refers to a compensation voltage given as a high-potential driving voltage ELVDD, which may, for example, include values added to or subtracted from a reference voltage to generate the data voltage Vdata; Fig. 9: 361 (VDDEL) between RV1 and BRV1] (e.g., see Paragraphs 74–94).
Kim ’384 provides the reference voltage generator and the gamma voltage generator for each color [e.g., Paragraph 94: the compensation circuit 361 and the reference voltage generator 360 may be provided for each of the pixels R, G and B of different colors].
In the combination, the first gamma reference voltage and the first gamma voltages are those of the generators serving the blue sub-pixel on ELVDD2, and the second gamma reference voltage and the second gamma voltages are those of the generators serving the red and green sub-pixels on the battery-supplied ELVDD1; each set of gamma voltages is divided from the reference voltage of its own color [e.g., Paragraph 77: The gamma voltage generator 330 may divide voltage based on the reference voltages output from the reference voltage generator 360, and generate gamma voltages GMA1 to GMAn based on the divided voltages], and the reference voltage of the battery-supplied color is the one compensated for the fluctuation of that driving voltage.
Kaplan, Komiya, Tang and Kim ’384 are analogous art, because they are from the shared inventive field of powering and driving light emitting display devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Kim ’384’s reference voltage generator and gamma voltage generator with the display device of Kaplan, Komiya and Tang, so as to compensate the gamma reference voltages, individually for the pixels of each color, for the fluctuation of the high-potential driving voltage supplied to the pixels [e.g., Kim ’384, Paragraph 58: detecting the fluctuation of the high-potential driving voltage ELVDD] — a fluctuation that Tang identifies as the consequence of supplying the pixels directly from a battery [e.g., Tang, Paragraph 3: Over time, the voltage on the battery decreases and so does Vdd]. KSR, 550 U.S. 398; Graham, 383 U.S. 1.
Should it be shown that Kim ’384 discloses the reference voltage generator receiving the second driving power source and controlling the second gamma reference voltage corresponding to its voltage with insufficient specificity:
Lee Dong-Woo discloses a reference voltage generator — the driving control device 60 of Figs. 5 and 6 — that receives the pixel driving power source [e.g., Paragraph 103: the register 601 obtains an actual output voltage value (VN) of the first power source voltage ELVDD through the connection node (N) commonly connected to the power source voltage supply unit 50; Fig. 5: VN(ELVDD+Δ), 601] and generates a gamma reference voltage controlled corresponding to that voltage [e.g., Paragraph 106: The driving control device 60 of FIG. 5 adjusts the number of resistors in the register 601 and resistance or the sink current amount of the current sink unit 602 to output a reference gamma voltage (VREGOUT) from the voltage value (ELVDD+.DELTA.) of the actual driving power source voltage input to the driving control device 60; Paragraph 107: the reference gamma voltage (VREGOUT) is a value (ELVDD+.DELTA.-Vr) of which the first voltage (Vr) corresponding to the threshold voltage (Vth) of the driving transistor of the pixel is subtracted from the actual output voltage value (ELVDD+.DELTA.); Fig. 5: Nout, VREGOUT; Fig. 6: VN, 606, VREGOUT], from which the data driver divides the gamma voltages [e.g., Paragraph 108: the data driver 30 uses the reference gamma voltage (VREGOUT) as the highest voltage value when dividing the gamma voltage corresponding to the image data signal DATA2].
Kaplan, Komiya, Tang, Kim ’384 and Lee Dong-Woo are analogous art, because they are from the shared inventive field of powering and driving light emitting display devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to control the second gamma reference voltage of Kim ’384 — the reference for the pixels supplied from the battery voltage — from the actually supplied driving power source voltage as Lee Dong-Woo does, so that [e.g., Paragraph 120: display characteristics, such as luminance and color coordinates are correctly maintained and displayed]. KSR, 550 U.S. 398.
Claim 12
Regarding claim 12, Kim ’384 discloses wherein the gamma voltage generator includes: a first gamma voltage generator configured to generate the first gamma voltages, corresponding to the first gamma reference voltage; and a second gamma voltage generator configured to generate the second gamma voltages, corresponding to the second gamma reference voltage [e.g., Paragraph 94: the compensation circuit 361 and the reference voltage generator 360 may be provided for each of the pixels R, G and B of different colors; Paragraph 94: Consequently, different sets of gamma voltages are provided to the pixels R, G and B of different colors, and the data voltages Vdata compensated as a result are generated independently of one another; Fig. 9: 330 and 360 in each of the Red, Green and Blue planes; RS1, RS2, BUF] (e.g., see Paragraphs 82–94). The gamma voltage generator 330 of the color serving the first pixel is the first gamma voltage generator and that of the color serving the second pixel is the second, each generating its set of gamma voltages from the reference voltage of its own color [e.g., Paragraph 77: Since the different reference voltages are given with regard to the pixels R, G and B of different colors, the different gamma voltages GMA1 to GMAn are provided to such pixels R, G and B].
The alternative branch stated for claim 11 applies equally.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kaplan in view of Komiya and Tang, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0215401 A1, “Kim ’401”).
Claim 20
Regarding claim 20, this claim is rejected by the reasoning applied in rejecting claims 1 and 3 above; furthermore, Kaplan discloses an electronic device comprising:
a controller [e.g., Paragraph 28: a signal controller 50; Fig. 1: 50] configured to receive an image signal convert an external video signal], and output image data by converting a data format of the image signal [e.g., Paragraph 40: The signal controller 50 receives and converts an external video signal into an image data signal Data corresponding to a sub-frame, and transmits the converted image data signal Data to the data driver 30];
a voltage generator configured to generate a first driving power source, corresponding to an input power source
a display panel [e.g., Paragraph 28: a display unit 10; Fig. 1: 10] including pixels connected to scan lines and data lines, wherein the pixels include:
a first pixel configured to emit light of a first color, corresponding to the first driving power source; and
a second pixel configured to emit light of a second color, corresponding to a second driving power source which is
wherein the second driving power source is Kaplan, Komiya and Tang applying equally (e.g., see Paragraphs 28–116).
As set fourth for claims 1 and 3 above, Kaplan does not expressly disclose the battery, the input power source of the voltage generator being supplied from the battery, the second driving power source being supplied from the battery, the second driving power source being directly supplied from the battery, or the second driving power source having a lower voltage than the first driving power source; those limitations are supplied by Komiya and Tang, and the reason to combine them with Kaplan given for claims 1 and 3 applies equally here.
Kaplan, Komiya and Tang do not expressly disclose a main processor from which the controller receives the image signal, or a memory configured to store data processed from the main processor; Tang’s data ASIC receives input data from an unnamed source [e.g., Paragraph 14: The DATA ASIC comprises a gamma correction module for adjusting the input data based on Vref] and Komiya’s control circuit carries no image data.
However, Kim ’401 discloses an electronic device comprising:
a main processor [e.g., Paragraph 30: the control circuit 100 according to embodiments of the disclosure includes a main processor 110 and a timing controller 120 configured to generate and output a data voltage for image display; Paragraph 42: The main processor 110 according to embodiments of the disclosure may be a host system or a system-on-chip (SoC) device; Figs. 1, 3, 5: 110];
a controller [e.g., Paragraph 54: The timing controller 120 may receive input image data from the main processor 110 and supply the image data DATA to the data driving circuit 320 based on the input image data; Figs. 1, 3, 5: 120] configured to receive an image signal from the main processor, and output image data by converting a data format of the image signal [e.g., Paragraph 31: The main processor 110 and the timing controller 120 may send and receive converted commands and signals according to a preset or selected interface standard; Paragraph 38: The transmission/reception circuit 240 may provide image data stored in an external memory (not shown) to the display driving circuit 130 (particularly, a data driving circuit) through the timing controller 120];
a memory [e.g., Paragraph 38: image data stored in an external memory (not shown); Paragraph 39: The memory controller 250 may control the external memory when transmitting and receiving data from the external memory connected to the main processor 110] configured to store data processed from the main processor [e.g., Paragraph 39: the memory controller 250 may access the external memory according to a request from the CPU 220, the image generator 260, or the display controller 270 to read, write, and delete image data; Paragraph 36: The CPU 220 may request the image generator 260 to generate or process an image]; and
a display panel [e.g., Paragraph 47: The display panel 310 may include a substrate and a plurality of subpixels SP disposed on the substrate; Fig. 3: 310] (e.g., see Paragraphs 29–246).
Kaplan, Komiya, Tang and Kim ’401 are analogous art, because they are from the shared inventive field of driving display devices in electronic devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the display device of Kaplan, Komiya and Tang in an electronic device having Kim ’401’s main processor and memory, with Kaplan’s signal controller receiving the image signal from the main processor as Kim ’401’s timing controller does, so that the display receives image data generated or processed by a host processor and held in memory, which is the arrangement Kim ’401 describes for supplying image data to a display [e.g., Paragraph 38: The transmission/reception circuit 240 may provide image data stored in an external memory (not shown) to the display driving circuit 130 (particularly, a data driving circuit) through the timing controller 120; Paragraph 42: The main processor 110 according to embodiments of the disclosure may be a host system or a system-on-chip (SoC) device].
Komiya and Tang are named in the heading of this ground because they supply the battery, the direct supply of the second driving power source and its lower voltage, as set forth above for claims 1 and 3, and Kim ‘401 supplies the host processor and the memory; the combination is of all four references.
The combination applies a known host-processor architecture to Kaplan’s display device according to known methods, each element performing the function it performs in Kim ’401, with predictable results. KSR, 550 U.S. 398; Graham, 383 U.S. 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 15 September 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive as to the arguments that are not moot, for the reasons that follow.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 20 over Kaplan in view of Lee (US 2008/0172569 A1), and of claim 2 further in view of Lee (US 2021/0312848 A1), are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth above, which do not rely on either Lee reference.
Applicant’s argument that the combined references do not disclose the second driving power source being directly supplied from the battery, and that no reason existed to modify the applied art to arrive at that limitation, is addressed by the rejection of claim 1 above.
Tang expressly discloses the limitation: a lithium battery of 3.7 volts applied directly to the Vdd end of an active matrix OLED pixel, with a converter generating only the other supply (Tang, Paragraph 3).
Hu describes the same arrangement, an external lithium battery supplying the first direct voltage that the source of the P-type driving transistor receives (Hu, Paragraphs 24 and 31), and
Lee describes the positive input of the diode tied into the input power supply directly without any switch and hard-wired to it (Lee, US 2015/0115825 A1, Paragraphs 69 and 98).
Komiya supplies the reason for driving the lower-voltage color from the battery directly rather than through the converter (Komiya, Paragraph 29).
Applicant’s discussion of Kaplan is limited to the absence of a battery, which the rejection of claim 1 acknowledges and supplies from Komiya and Tang; no argument was presented against Kim ‘384 individually, and applicant’s assertion that the remaining references fail to cure the deficiency is directed to claims 1 and 20 and is answered by the rejections of those claims above.
The rejection of claims 9 and 10 over Ha (US 2022/0343825 A1) is not maintained, the grounds above supplying that subject matter from Tang and, in the alternative, Lee Dong-Woo. Applicant’s remaining argument, that claims 2-12 are patentable by virtue of their dependency from claim 1, is addressed by the rejection of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The amendment added “directly supplied from the battery” to claims 1 and 20 and a battery to each. The rejection of claims 1-8 is newly grounded on Komiya and Tang because they supply that limitation; the rejections of claims 9 and 10, of claims 11 and 12, and of claim 20 rest on that same amended base through claim 1, and each is therefore necessitated by the amendment. The rejection of claims 9 and 10 over Ha is not carried forward.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Jeff Piziali/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628
17 September 2026