DETAILED ACTION
Examiner finds no 35 USC 101 rejections in the current claim language.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The priority data section of the specification should be updated (18/450,288 (now U.S. Patent No. 12,395,536)).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 – 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“withing” (claim 1, line 1) should be -- within --;
“the code comprising code for” (claim 21, lines 2 – 3) seems redundant;
Claim 1 recites the limitation "video" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner recommends the language “the video”;
Claim 7 recites the limitation "video" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner recommends the language “a second video”;
Claim 16 recites the limitation "video" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner recommends the language “a second video”.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "wireless communications" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner recommends the language “additional wireless communications”;
Claim 14 recites the limitation "wireless communications" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner recommends the language “additional wireless communications”;
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the wireless communication" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner recommends the language “the wireless communications”.
Examiner recommends a thorough review of the claim language in order to correct other possible antecedent basis concerns.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 18, 21, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,395,536. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the mapping below.
Claim 1 of the present Application maps to claim 1 of ‘536.
1. A camera for providing video withing a building, comprising (“A camera for providing video within a building, comprising”):
an input module for capturing video (“an input module, including a lens, for capturing video”); and
a communications module configured for:
sending the captured video over an enterprise network (“a communications module for sending the captured video, captured by the input module via the lens, over an enterprise network”);
establishing a wireless connection with a device using a wireless communications technology (“establishing a wireless connection with the device using a wireless communication technology”);
receiving wireless communications from the device via the wireless connection (“receiving the wireless communications from the device via the wireless connection”);
formatting the wireless communications using a protocol (“wherein the communications module forwards, over the enterprise network and using a message queue telemetry transport (MQTT) protocol”); and
forwarding, over the enterprise network and using the protocol, the wireless communications from the device (“wherein the communications module forwards, over the enterprise network and using a message queue telemetry transport (MQTT) protocol, the wireless communications from the device, as stored in the memory, along with another message”).
Claim 2 of the present Application maps to claim 2 of ‘536.
2. The camera of claim 1, wherein the wireless communications technology is fifth generation (5G) cellular technology (“The camera of claim 1, wherein the wireless communication technology is fifth generation (5G) cellular technology”).
Claim 3 of the present Application maps to claim 3 of ‘536.
3. The camera of claim 2, wherein the communications module is further configured for providing a 5G cell to facilitate discovery by the device and receiving a connection request from the device (“The camera of claim 2, wherein the transceiver provides a 5G cell to facilitate discovery by the device and connection request from the device”).
Claim 4 of the present Application maps to claim 4 of ‘536.
4. The camera of claim 3, wherein the communications module is further configured for providing, via the 5G cell, multiple 5G slices, including a first slice for communicating with the device, and a second slice for communicating with personal devices that connect to the 5G cell (“The camera of claim 3, wherein the transceiver provides, via the 5G cell, multiple 5G slices, including a first slice for communicating with the device, and a second slice for communicating with personal devices that connect to the 5G cell”).
Claim 5 of the present Application maps to claim 5 of ‘536.
5. The camera of claim 4, wherein each of the multiple 5G slices provides a separate security profile for securing wireless communications for associated devices (“The camera of claim 4, wherein each of the multiple 5G slices provides a separate security profile for securing wireless communications for associated devices”).
Claim 6 of the present Application maps to claim 6 of ‘536.
6. The camera of claim 1, wherein the wireless communications technology is WiFi (“The camera of claim 1, wherein the wireless communication technology is WiFi”).
Claim 7 of the present Application maps to claim 7 of ‘536.
7. The camera of claim 1, wherein the device is a second camera, and wherein the wireless communications include video packets of video captured via the second camera (“The camera of claim 1, wherein the device is a second camera, and wherein the wireless communications include video packets of video captured via the second camera”).
Claim 8 of the present Application maps to claim 1 of ‘536.
8. The camera of claim 1, further comprising a memory for storing the wireless communications, wherein the device is an Internet-of-Things (IoT) device, and wherein the communications module is configured for forwarding the wireless communications from the IoT device, from the memory, along with another message (“a memory for storing wireless communications received from a device, wherein the device is an Internet-of-Things (IoT) device … storing the wireless communications in the memory, wherein the communications module forwards, over the enterprise network … the wireless communications from the device, as stored in the memory, along with another message”).
Claim 9 of the present Application maps to claim 1 of ‘536.
9. The camera of claim 1, wherein the protocol is a message queue telemetry transport (MQTT) protocol (“forwards, over the enterprise network and using a message queue telemetry transport (MQTT) protocol”).
Claim 10 of the present Application maps to claim 8 of ‘536.
10. A method for providing a wireless communications gateway at a camera, comprising (“A method for providing a wireless communications gateway at a camera, comprising”):
transmitting, by the camera, wireless signals to advertise a wireless communications functionality of the camera (“transmitting, by the camera, wireless signals to advertise a wireless communication functionality of the camera”);
establishing, by the camera and with a device, a wireless connection for communicating with the device (“establishing, by the camera and with a device, a wireless connection for communicating with the device, wherein the device is an Internet-of-Things (IoT) device”);
receiving, by the camera and from the device, wireless communications including data for forwarding over an enterprise network (“receiving, by the camera and from the device, wireless communications including data for forwarding over the enterprise network”);
formatting the wireless communications using a protocol (“wherein the second camera is further configured for forwarding, via a different connection over the enterprise network and using a message queue telemetry transport (MQTT) protocol”);
sending video captures via the camera over the enterprise network (“sending, by the camera, the captured video over an enterprise network”); and
forwarding, by the camera and via a different connection using the protocol, the data over the enterprise network (“forwarding, by the camera and via a different connection over the enterprise network and using a message queue telemetry transport (MQTT) protocol, the data, as stored in the memory, along with another message”).
Claim 11 of the present Application maps to claim 9 of ‘536.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein the wireless communications functionality corresponds to fifth generation (5G) cellular technology (“The method of claim 8, wherein the wireless communication functionality corresponds to fifth generation (5G) cellular technology”).
Claim 12 of the present Application maps to claim 10 of ‘536.
12. The method of claim 11, wherein advertising the wireless communication functionality includes providing a 5G cell to facilitate discovery by the device and connection request from the device (“The method of claim 9, wherein advertising the wireless communication functionality includes providing a 5G cell to facilitate discovery by the device and connection request from the device”).
Claim 13 of the present Application maps to claim 11 of ‘536.
13. The method of claim 12, further comprising providing, via the 5G cell, multiple 5G slices, including a first slice for communicating with the device, and a second slice for communicating with personal devices that connect to the 5G cell (“The method of claim 10, further comprising providing, via the 5G cell, multiple 5G slices, including a first slice for communicating with the device, and a second slice for communicating with personal devices that connect to the 5G cell”).
Claim 14 of the present Application maps to claim 12 of ‘536.
14. The method of claim 13, wherein each of the multiple 5G slices provides a separate security profile for securing wireless communications for associated devices (“The method of claim 11, wherein each of the multiple 5G slices provides a separate security profile for securing wireless communications for associated devices”).
Claim 15 of the present Application maps to claim 13 of ‘536.
15. The method of claim 10, wherein the wireless communications functionality corresponds to WiFi (“The method of claim 8, wherein the wireless communication functionality corresponds to WiFi”).
Claim 16 of the present Application maps to claim 14 of ‘536.
16. The method of claim 10, wherein the device is a second camera, and wherein the wireless communications include video packets of video captured via the second camera (“The method of claim 8, wherein the device is a second camera, and wherein the wireless communications include video packets of video captured via the second camera”).
Claim 17 of the present Application maps to claim 8 of ‘536.
17. The method of claim 10, further comprising storing the data in a memory, wherein the device is an Internet-of-Things (IoT) device (“wherein the device is an Internet-of-Things (IoT) device”), and wherein forwarding the data includes forwarding the data, from the memory, along with another message, over the enterprise network (“forwarding, by the camera and via a different connection over the enterprise network and using a message queue telemetry transport (MQTT) protocol, the data, as stored in the memory, along with another message”).
Claim 18 of the present Application maps to claim 8 of ‘536.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the protocol is a message queue telemetry transport (MQTT) protocol (“using a message queue telemetry transport (MQTT) protocol”).
Claims 19 and 20 are canceled.
Claim 21 of the present Application maps to claim 8 of ‘536.
21. A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising code executable by one or more processors (“one or more processors” inherent in claim 8 language of ‘536) for providing a wireless communications gateway at a camera (“A method for providing a wireless communications gateway at a camera”), the code comprising code for (“code” inherent in claim 8 language of ‘536):
transmitting, by the camera, wireless signals to advertise a wireless communication functionality of the camera (“transmitting, by the camera, wireless signals to advertise a wireless communication functionality of the camera”);
establishing, by the camera and with a device, a wireless connection for communicating with the device (“establishing, by the camera and with a device, a wireless connection for communicating with the device”);
receiving, by the camera and from the device, wireless communications including data for forwarding over an enterprise network (“receiving, by the camera and from the device, wireless communications including data for forwarding over the enterprise network”);
formatting the wireless communications using a protocol (“wherein the second camera is further configured for forwarding, via a different connection over the enterprise network and using a message queue telemetry transport (MQTT) protocol”);
sending video captures via the camera over the enterprise network (“wherein the second camera is configured for sending separate video captured by the second camera over an enterprise network”); and
forwarding, by the camera and via a different connection using the protocol, the data over the enterprise network (“forwarding, by the camera and via a different connection over the enterprise network … the data, as stored in the memory, along with another message”).
Claim 22 of the present Application maps to claim 8 of ‘536.
22. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein the protocol is a message queue telemetry transport (MQTT) protocol (“wherein the second camera is further configured for forwarding, via a different connection over the enterprise network and using a message queue telemetry transport (MQTT) protocol”).
The current claim language is not rejected under statutory double patenting because the independent claims of the present Application are broader than the claim language in ‘536.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 13, 15 – 18, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ortiz et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2017/0272491) (Self-Contained and Portable Synchronized Data Communication System and Method for Facilitating the Wireless Transmission of Video and Data from Venues to Client Devices) in view of Bhatia et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0059976) (IoT Device Connectivity, Discovery, and Networking).
1.1 Regarding claim 1, Ortiz disclose a camera (Fig. 1C; paragraph 176 “wireless camera”; paragraph 115) for providing video withing a building (Fig. 9; paragraph 143 “System 501 can be implemented in the context of, for example, a wireless communications network (e.g., WiFi, cellular, etc.). Video captured by cameras 570 located throughout the venue can be provided as digital video data to enterprise equipment 530 located at the venue to manage recorded content. Such enterprise equipment 530 can be, for example, a data server”), comprising:
an input module for capturing video (Fig. 9; Fig. 12; paragraph 143 “Video captured by cameras 570 located throughout the venue can be provided as digital video data to enterprise equipment 530 located at the venue to manage recorded content”); and
a communications module configured for (Fig. 9; Fig. 12; paragraph 143):
sending the captured video over a network (Figs. 16, 17; Fig. 9; paragraph 143 “FIG. 9 illustrates a block diagram of a system 501 with network resources operable within a venue to provide wireless data communications system nodes distributed throughout the venue for establishing a wireless communication network … Video captured by cameras 570 located throughout the venue can be provided as digital video data to enterprise equipment 530 located at the venue to manage recorded content”);
establishing a wireless connection with a device using a wireless communications technology (Fig. 16; Fig. 9; paragraph 143 “network resources operable within a venue to provide wireless data communications system nodes distributed throughout the venue for establishing a wireless communication network supporting communications with one or more hand held devices 210”);
receiving wireless communications from the device via the wireless connection (Fig. 16; paragraph 193 “Hand held device 860 depicted in FIG. 16 can be instructed via an “app” to receive and display venue-based data”; paragraphs 197, 198);
formatting the wireless communications using a protocol (Fig. 11; paragraph 151 “Likewise, sub-networks may employ differing architectures or may be compliant or compatible with differing protocols, and may interoperate within a larger network. Various types of devices may, for example, be made available to provide an interoperable capability for differing architectures or protocols. As one illustrative example, a router may provide a link between otherwise separate and independent LANs”; paragraph 155 “Signal packets communicated via a network, such as a network of participating digital communication networks (e.g., networks 705, 710), may be compatible with or compliant with one or more protocols. The signaling formats or protocols employed may include, for example, TCP/IP, UDP, DECnet, NetBEUI, IPX, AppleTalk, or the like. Versions of the Internet Protocol (IP) may include in some examples IPv4 or IPv6”; paragraph 256); and
forwarding, over the network and using the protocol, the wireless communications from the device (Figs. 16, 17; paragraph 193 “Hand held device 860 depicted in FIG. 16 can be instructed via an “app” to receive and display venue-based data”; paragraphs 197, 198).
However, Ortiz do not explicitly disclose an enterprise network.
Ortiz do disclose enterprise equipment (paragraph 143 “Video captured by cameras 570 located throughout the venue can be provided as digital video data to enterprise equipment 530 located at the venue to manage recorded content”) and networks in buildings (paragraph 122 “In addition to providing simply faster speeds, it is predicted that 5G networks also need to meet the needs of new use cases, such as the Internet of Things (such as the network equipment in buildings or vehicles for web access)”; paragraph 129).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the specific enterprise network of Bhatia in the invention of Ortiz because Ortiz disclose enterprise equipment (paragraph 143) and networks in buildings (paragraphs 122, 129) which specifically imply an enterprise network in order for the invention of Ortiz to operate properly.
1.2 Regarding claim 2, Ortiz disclose the camera of claim 1, wherein the wireless communications technology is fifth generation (5G) cellular technology (Fig. 11; paragraph 122 “the wireless communications electronics 110 can be configured as a WiFi and/or cellular router. In the case of a cellular router, the wireless communications electronics 110 in some example embodiments can be configured as a 5G cellular router”; paragraph 153).
1.3 Regarding claim 3, Ortiz disclose the camera of claim 2, wherein the communications module is further configured for providing a 5G cell to facilitate discovery by the device and receiving a connection request from the device (Figs. 122, 153; paragraph 248 “Wireless devices within range of each other can discover and communicate directly without involving central access point”).
1.4 Regarding claim 4, Ortiz do not explicitly disclose the camera of claim 3, wherein the communications module is further configured for providing, via the 5G cell, multiple 5G slices, including a first slice for communicating with the device, and a second slice for communicating with personal devices that connect to the 5G cell.
Bhatia disclose wherein the communications module is further configured for providing, via the 5G cell, multiple 5G slices, including a first slice for communicating with the device, and a second slice for communicating with personal devices that connect to the 5G cell (paragraph 27 “The IoT network slices may be dedicated, cloud-based, SDN-powered 5G network slices deployed, possibly as an overlay, to serve IoT devices in an optimized manner”; paragraph 26; paragraph 28 “The IoT network slices may be highly customized for IoT. For example, the control and bearer planes may be isolated from each other so that each can be independently provisioned and scaled, in terms of resources, as needed …”; paragraphs 32, 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the specific 5G slices of Bhatia in order to easily implement IoT messaging in 5G wireless networks.
1.5 Regarding claim 6, Ortiz disclose the camera of claim 1, wherein the wireless communications technology is WiFi (Fig. 1D; paragraph 122 “the wireless communications electronics 110 can be configured as a WiFi and/or cellular router. In the case of a cellular router, the wireless communications electronics 110 in some example embodiments can be configured as a 5G cellular router”; paragraphs 203, 226, 228, 243, 246).
1.6 Regarding claim 7, Ortiz disclose the camera of claim 1, wherein the device is a second camera, and wherein the wireless communications include video packets of video captured via the second camera (Abstract “… A second camera can capture security footage of activity around the pod and prevent/deter tampering”; paragraph 13; paragraph 104; paragraph 108 “security footage of activity around the pod and prevent/deter tampering by spectators or pedestrians, while the second camera is capturing images of entertainment at the venue”; paragraph 20; paragraph 22; paragraph 23 “the packet based network selectable by the user from the group of a wireless LAN and at least one cellular communications network; a processor adapted for processing the more than one video perspective for simultaneous display of at least two video perspectives of the entertainment venue on a display screen associated with the hand held device”).
1.7 Regarding claim 8, Ortiz disclose the camera of claim 1, further comprising a memory for storing the wireless communications, wherein the device is an Internet-of-Things (IoT) device, and wherein the communications module is configured for forwarding the wireless communications from the IoT device, from the memory, along with another message (paragraph 122 “… it is predicted that 5G networks also need to meet the needs of new use cases, such as the Internet of Things (such as the network equipment in buildings or vehicles for web access) …”).
1.8 Regarding claim 9, Ortiz do not disclose the camera of claim 1, wherein the protocol is a message queue telemetry transport (MQTT) protocol.
Ortiz do disclose communication with IoT devices in a 5G network (paragraph 122 “In addition to providing simply faster speeds, it is predicted that 5G networks also need to meet the needs of new use cases, such as the Internet of Things (such as the network equipment in buildings or vehicles for web access)”).
Bhatia disclose the camera of claim 1, wherein the protocol is a message queue telemetry transport (MQTT) protocol (paragraph 35 “This may include protocol translations which may be performed by the 5G network on behalf of various devices, such that various combinations of IoT and non-IoT protocols and applications may be supported between various combinations of IP-based and non-IP-based devices (e.g., Constrained Application Protocol (COAP), Message Queue Telemetry Transport (MQTT), …”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the specific protocol (MQTT) of Bhatia in the invention of Ortiz because the MQTT protocol is a commonplace standard for IoT messaging in 5G wireless networks.
1.9 Regarding claim 10, Ortiz disclose a method for providing a wireless communications gateway at a camera, comprising (Fig. 20, items 974, 914; paragraph 218 “Captured video are transferred from panoramic video camera 914 as video data through transmitter 912 to server 900 and through wireless gateway 974 to wireless data transmitter/receiver 910 …”; paragraph 215; paragraph 211):
transmitting, by the camera, wireless signals to advertise a wireless communications functionality of the camera (paragraph 248 “A peer-to-peer network allows wireless devices to directly communicate with each other. Wireless devices within range of each other can discover and communicate directly without involving central access points”);
establishing, by the camera and with a device, a wireless connection for communicating with the device (Fig. 16; Fig. 9; paragraph 143 “network resources operable within a venue to provide wireless data communications system nodes distributed throughout the venue for establishing a wireless communication network supporting communications with one or more hand held devices 210”);
receiving, by the camera and from the device, wireless communications including data for forwarding over a network (Fig. 16; paragraph 193 “Hand held device 860 depicted in FIG. 16 can be instructed via an “app” to receive and display venue-based data”; paragraphs 197, 198);
formatting the wireless communications using a protocol (Fig. 16; Fig. 11; paragraph 151 “Likewise, sub-networks may employ differing architectures or may be compliant or compatible with differing protocols, and may interoperate within a larger network. Various types of devices may, for example, be made available to provide an interoperable capability for differing architectures or protocols. As one illustrative example, a router may provide a link between otherwise separate and independent LANs”; paragraph 155 “Signal packets communicated via a network, such as a network of participating digital communication networks (e.g., networks 705, 710), may be compatible with or compliant with one or more protocols. The signaling formats or protocols employed may include, for example, TCP/IP, UDP, DECnet, NetBEUI, IPX, AppleTalk, or the like. Versions of the Internet Protocol (IP) may include in some examples IPv4 or IPv6”; paragraph 256);
sending video captures via the camera over the network (Figs. 16, 17; paragraph 193); and
forwarding, by the camera and via a different connection using the protocol, the data over the network (Figs. 16, 17; paragraph 193 “Hand held device 860 depicted in FIG. 16 can be instructed via an “app” to receive and display venue-based data”; paragraphs 197, 198).
However, Ortiz do not explicitly disclose an enterprise network.
Ortiz do disclose enterprise equipment (paragraph 143 “Video captured by cameras 570 located throughout the venue can be provided as digital video data to enterprise equipment 530 located at the venue to manage recorded content”) and networks in buildings (paragraph 122 “In addition to providing simply faster speeds, it is predicted that 5G networks also need to meet the needs of new use cases, such as the Internet of Things (such as the network equipment in buildings or vehicles for web access)”; paragraph 129).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the specific enterprise network of Bhatia in the invention of Ortiz because Ortiz disclose enterprise equipment (paragraph 143) and networks in buildings (paragraphs 122, 129) which specifically imply an enterprise network in order for the invention of Ortiz to operate properly.
1.10 Regarding claim 11, Ortiz disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the wireless communications functionality corresponds to fifth generation (5G) cellular technology (Fig. 11; paragraph 122 “the wireless communications electronics 110 can be configured as a WiFi and/or cellular router. In the case of a cellular router, the wireless communications electronics 110 in some example embodiments can be configured as a 5G cellular router”; paragraph 153).
1.11 Regarding claim 12, Ortiz disclose the method of claim 11, wherein advertising the wireless communication functionality includes providing a 5G cell to facilitate discovery by the device and connection request from the device (paragraph 248 “A peer-to-peer network allows wireless devices to directly communicate with each other. Wireless devices within range of each other can discover and communicate directly without involving central access points”).
1.12 Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 4 under 35 USC 103 (see paragraph 1.4 above) applies fully.
1.13 Regarding claim 15, Ortiz disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the wireless communications functionality corresponds to WiFi (Fig. 1D; paragraph 122 “the wireless communications electronics 110 can be configured as a WiFi and/or cellular router. In the case of a cellular router, the wireless communications electronics 110 in some example embodiments can be configured as a 5G cellular router”; paragraphs 203, 226, 228, 243, 246).
1.14 Regarding claim 16, Ortiz disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the device is a second camera, and wherein the wireless communications include video packets of video captured via the second camera (Abstract “… A second camera can capture security footage of activity around the pod and prevent/deter tampering”; paragraph 13; paragraph 104; paragraph 108 “security footage of activity around the pod and prevent/deter tampering by spectators or pedestrians, while the second camera is capturing images of entertainment at the venue”; paragraph 20; paragraph 22; paragraph 23 “the packet based network selectable by the user from the group of a wireless LAN and at least one cellular communications network; a processor adapted for processing the more than one video perspective for simultaneous display of at least two video perspectives of the entertainment venue on a display screen associated with the hand held device”).
1.15 Regarding claim 17, Ortiz disclose the method of claim 10, further comprising storing the data in a memory, wherein the device is an Internet-of-Things (IoT) device, and wherein forwarding the data includes forwarding the data, from the memory, along with another message, over the enterprise network (paragraph 122 “… it is predicted that 5G networks also need to meet the needs of new use cases, such as the Internet of Things (such as the network equipment in buildings or vehicles for web access) …”).
1.16 Regarding claim 18, the rejection of claim 9 under 35 USC 103 (see paragraph 1.8 above) applies fully.
1.17 Regarding claim 21, the rejection of claims 1 and 10 under 35 USC 103 (see paragraphs 1.1 and 1.9 above).
1.18 Regarding claim 22, the rejection of claims 9 under 35 USC 103 (see paragraph 1.8 above) applies fully.
For future email communications (including interview agendas), Applicant should file the appropriate PTO form (PTO/SB/439) or file an air interview request.
/KENNETH R COULTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445
/KRC/