DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kato et al. (US 2012/0298724) (hereafter Kato).
With respect to claim 1, Kato teaches a friction stir welding tool that welds welding target materials to each other (title; and figures) the friction stir welding tool comprising: a shank (31) coaxially connected to a rotating member (10/20); a first spiral portion (32) integrally formed with the shank, and having a first spiral surface (32/33) extending in a spiral shape around an axis extending coaxially with the rotating member so as to approach the axis as being separated from the shank in an axial direction (figures 1-5); a second spiral portion (35) integrally formed with the first spiral portion, and having a second spiral surface (35/36) extending in a spiral shape in a direction opposite to the first spiral surface around the axis so as to be separated from the axis as being separated from the first spiral portion in the axial direction on a side opposite to a shank side (figures 1-5); and a heat receiving portion (34) integrally extending from the second spiral portion on a side opposite to a first spiral portion side and configured to receive heat from the second spiral portion (figures 1-5; and paragraphs 42-84).
With respect to claim 2, Kato teaches a non-spiral portion (37) integrally extending from an end portion of the first spiral portion on the side opposite to the shank side, wherein the second spiral portion integrally extends from an end portion of the non-spiral portion on a side opposite to the first spiral portion side (figures 1-5; and paragraphs 42-84).
With respect to claim 3, Kato teaches wherein a volume of the heat receiving (34) portion is at least larger than a volume of the second spiral portion (35) (figures 2-4).
With respect to claim 4, Kato teaches wherein a volume of the heat receiving (34) portion is at least larger than a volume of the second spiral portion (35) (figures 2-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin (WO 2013/076472A1) in view of Kato et al. (US 2012/0298724) (hereafter Kato).
With respect to claim 1, Martin teaches a friction stir welding tool that welds welding target materials to each other (title; and figures) the friction stir welding tool comprising: a shank (3) coaxially connected to a rotating member (10/20); a first spiral portion (2b) integrally formed with the shank, and having a first spiral surface extending in a spiral shape around an axis extending coaxially with the rotating member so as to approach the axis as being separated from the shank in an axial direction (figures 2-3; page 7, lines 27-35; and page 11, line 23-page 12, line 21; and page 13, lines 12-31); a second spiral portion (1b) formed with the first spiral portion, and having a second spiral surface extending in a spiral shape in a direction opposite to the first spiral surface around the axis so as to be separated from the axis as being separated from the first spiral portion in the axial direction on a side opposite to a shank side (figures 2-3; page 7, lines 27-35; page 11, line 23-page 12, line 21; and page 13, lines 12-31); and a heat receiving portion (1a) extending from the second spiral portion on a side opposite to a first spiral portion side and configured to receive heat from the second spiral portion (figures 2-3; and page 13, lines 12-31).
With respect to claim 1, Martin does not teach that the second spiral portion is integrally formed with the first spiral portion and a heat receiving portion integrally extending from the second spiral portion.
However, Kato teaches a second spiral portion (35) integrally formed with the first spiral portion and a heat receiving portion (34) integrally extending from the second spiral portion (figures 1-5; and paragraphs 42-84).
At the time of filing the invention it would have been obvious to make the bobbin tool of Martin integral as taught by Kato in order to reduce the number of components. Note that the court affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, “that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice” In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
With respect to claim 3, Kato teaches wherein a volume of the heat receiving (34) portion is at least larger than a volume of the second spiral portion (35) (figures 2-4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KILEY S STONER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735