DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and prosecuted.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 16 July 2025 and 26 December 2025 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 13-14, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeon et al., US PG-Pub 2017/0168769, hereinafter Jeon.
Regarding Claim 1, Jeon teaches an electronic apparatus (flexible display device 200) including a stretchable display panel (display 250), the electronic apparatus comprising:
the stretchable display panel including a display area (screen 600) and a peripheral area (Figs. 6A-6E, and corresponding descriptions, showing a non-display area surrounding the screen 600) outside the display area (Figs. 6A-6E, and corresponding descriptions, showing the second area is outside of the first area);
a deformation detector (sensor 210; [0053], “The deformation detecting unit can be included in the sensor 210”) configured to detect a deformation direction and deformation rate of the stretchable display panel to generate deformation data ([0035], “The sensor 210 can detect extension or reduction of the display 250. The sensor 210 can detect a direction or strength of a force applied to the display 250”);
a memory (memory 170, 270) storing a plurality of image data ([0088], [0155]-[0158]); and
at least one processor (controller 180, 290),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive the deformation data ([0053]-[0055], [0040]-[0042]), to identify an event in which the display area having a first size is stretched to a second size ([0053]-[0055], [0040]-[0042]) while displaying a first image having the first size ([0153], “the screen of the display 250 can be extended by as much as a size of a plurality of regions. Each of the plurality of regions can have the same size. The plurality of regions can be individually controlled.”, Figs. 6A-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions), and to control the stretchable display panel to display the first image having the first size on a portion of the display area (Figs. 6A-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, showing an email inbox image in region 610) and display a second image on a remaining portion of the display area (Figs. 6A-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, showing an image of trees in region 630).
Regarding Claim 2, Jeon teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to load first image data from the memory based on the display area having the first size (Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0156]-[0157]), to generate a display control signal based on the first image data (Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159]), transmit the display control signal to the stretchable display panel (Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159]), to load second image data from the memory based on the display area having the second size (Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159]), to generate the display control signal based on the second image data (Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159]), and to transmit the display control signal to the stretchable display panel (Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159]).
Regarding Claim 5, Jeon teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute a first software application in a foreground state (Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159]) and to execute a second software application in a background state, based on the display area having the first size (Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159]),
the first image is a user interface of the first software application (Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159], noting the use of an email application), and
the second image is a user interface of the second software application (Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159], noting the use of a website application).
Regarding Claim 6, Jeon teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to identify a deformation direction of the stretchable display panel (Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159], noting how the device determines the direction stretched) and to determine a location of the first image on the display area according to the deformation direction (Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159], noting how the device moves the first image based on the direction stretched).
Regarding Claim 7, Jeon teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is configured to fix a boundary of the first image at one side of the display area based on the stretchable display panel being stretched (Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159], noting how the device moves the first image based on the direction stretched and places it within region 610).
Regarding Claim 8, Jeon teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is configured to fix a center portion of the first image at a center portion of the display area based on the stretchable display panel being stretched (Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159], noting how the device fixes to the center of the screen in Figs. 6D-6E and 12A-12B).
Regarding Claim 13, Jeon teaches an operation method (Fig. 5, and corresponding descriptions) of an electronic apparatus (flexible display device 200) including a stretchable display panel (display 250), the operation method comprising:
displaying a first image on a display area (screen 600) having a first size ([0153], “the screen of the display 250 can be extended by as much as a size of a plurality of regions. Each of the plurality of regions can have the same size. The plurality of regions can be individually controlled.”, Figs. 6A-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions);
generating deformation data including a deformation direction and deformation rate of the stretchable display panel ([0035], “The sensor 210 can detect extension or reduction of the display 250. The sensor 210 can detect a direction or strength of a force applied to the display 250”);
loading corresponding image data from a memory (memory 170, 270) according to the deformation data ([0053]-[0055], [0040]-[0042]); and
displaying the first image having the first size on a portion of the display area stretched to a second size (Figs. 6A-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, showing an email inbox image in region 610), and displaying a second image on a remaining portion of the display area (Figs. 6A-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, showing an image of trees in region 630).
Regarding Claim 14, Jeon teaches the operation method of claim 13, wherein the electronic apparatus further includes a deformation detector (sensor 210; [0053], “The deformation detecting unit can be included in the sensor 210”) which detects the deformation direction and the deformation rate of the stretchable display panel ([0035], “The sensor 210 can detect extension or reduction of the display 250. The sensor 210 can detect a direction or strength of a force applied to the display 250”),
the deformation direction and the deformation rate of the stretchable display panel are detected based on changes in electrical or optical characteristics of the deformation detector ([0036]-[0040], noting the electrical ways in which the sensor detects pressure from deformation of the screen).
Regarding Claim 17, Jeon teaches the operation method of claim 13, wherein in the displaying of the first image on the display area having the first size, a first software application is executed in a foreground state (Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159]), and a second software application is executed in a background state (Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159]),
the first image is a user interface of the first software application (Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159], noting the use of an email application), and
the second image is a user interface of the second software application (Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159], noting the use of a website application).
Regarding Claim 18, Jeon teaches the operation method of claim 13, wherein the displaying of the first image on the portion of the display area having the second size and the displaying of the second image on the remaining portion of the display area comprises:
determining a location of the first image on the display area according to the deformation direction (Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159], noting how the device moves the first image based on the direction stretched).
Regarding Claim 20, Jeon teaches the operation method of claim 18, further comprising:
controlling the panel deformation device so that the display area stretched recovers to the first size according to the deformation data (Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159], noting how the device can be rolled back to make a smaller screen);
loading corresponding image data from a memory according to the data (Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0053]-[0055], [0040]-[0042], [0153]-[0159]); and
displaying the first image on a display area having the first size (Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159], noting how the device displays the first image within region 610).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 15-16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon as applied to claim 2 or 13 above, and further in view of Kim et al., US PG-Pub 2023/0222959, hereinafter Kim.
Regarding Claim 3, Jeon teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 2. However, Jeon does not explicitly teach wherein the first image data includes information of the first image having the first size at a first resolution, and the second image data includes information of the first image having the first size at a second resolution, and information of the second image.
Kim teaches wherein the first image data includes information of the first image having the first size at a first resolution (Kim: Figs. 7-10, and corresponding descriptions; [0133]-[0134]. [0139]-[0150]), and
the second image data includes information of the first image having the first size at a second resolution, and information of the second image (Kim: Figs. 7-10, and corresponding descriptions; [0133]-[0134]. [0139]-[0150]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the resolution changes taught by Kim into the device taught by Jeon in order to allow a more seamless transition when the display area is being changed (Kim: [0134]), thereby increasing the overall quality of the user experience.
Regarding Claim 4, Jeon teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1. However, Jeon does not explicitly teach wherein each of the first image and the second image is a portion of one image.
Kim teaches wherein each of the first image and the second image is a portion of one image (Kim: Figs. 8-15, and corresponding descriptions, specifically Figs. 9-11, which show the display screen positioning the first and second image as one image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the image sharing taught by Kim into the device taught by Jeon in order to apply a split screen format until the device reaches the position of an expanded screen (Kim: [0153]), thereby allowing the full screen to be utilized by the user selected main content.
Regarding Claim 15, Jeon teaches the operation method of claim 13. However, Jeon does not explicitly teach wherein in the displaying of the first image on the display area having the first size, the first image is displayed at a first resolution, and in the displaying of the first image on the portion of the display area having the second size and the displaying of the second image on the remaining portion of the display area, the first image and the second image are displayed at a second resolution less than the first resolution.
Kim teaches wherein in the displaying of the first image on the display area having the first size, the first image is displayed at a first resolution (Kim: Figs. 7-10, and corresponding descriptions; [0133]-[0134]. [0139]-[0150]), and
in the displaying of the first image on the portion of the display area having the second size and the displaying of the second image on the remaining portion of the display area (Kim: Figs. 7-10, and corresponding descriptions; [0133]-[0134]. [0139]-[0150]), the first image and the second image are displayed at a second resolution less than the first resolution (Kim: Figs. 7-10, and corresponding descriptions; [0133]-[0134]. [0139]-[0150]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the resolution changes taught by Kim into the device taught by Jeon in order to allow a more seamless transition when the display area is being changed (Kim: [0134]), thereby increasing the overall quality of the user experience.
Regarding Claim 16, Jeon teaches the operation method of claim 13. However, Jeon does not explicitly teach wherein each of the first image and the second image is a portion of one image.
Kim teaches wherein each of the first image and the second image is a portion of one image (Kim: Figs. 8-15, and corresponding descriptions, specifically Figs. 9-11, which show the display screen positioning the first and second image as one image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the image sharing taught by Kim into the device taught by Jeon in order to apply a split screen format until the device reaches the position of an expanded screen (Kim: [0153]), thereby allowing the full screen to be utilized by the user selected main content.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al., US PG-Pub 2017/0168769, hereinafter Jeon, in view of Estacio, US PG-Pub 2016/0011657, hereinafter Estacio.
Regarding Claim 9, Jeon teaches an electronic apparatus (flexible display device 200) including a stretchable display panel (display 250), the electronic apparatus comprising:
the stretchable display panel including a display area (screen 600) and a peripheral area (Figs. 6A-6E, and corresponding descriptions, showing a non-display area surrounding the screen 600) outside the display area (Figs. 6A-6E, and corresponding descriptions, showing the second area is outside of the first area);
a panel deformation device (inner case 238) configured to stretch or recover the stretchable display panel ([0062], “The inner case 238 can be shaped like a roller, can be rollable, and can serve to wind or unwind the display 250”);
a memory (memory 170, 270) storing a plurality of image data ([0088], [0155]-[0158]); and
at least one processor (controller 180),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive the tracking data ([0035], [0053]-[0055], [0040]-[0042]), to calculate a deformation direction and a deformation rate of the stretchable display panel ([0035], “The sensor 210 can detect extension or reduction of the display 250. The sensor 210 can detect a direction or strength of a force applied to the display 250”), based on the tracking data based on the display area having a first size is displaying a first image having the first size ([0153], “the screen of the display 250 can be extended by as much as a size of a plurality of regions. Each of the plurality of regions can have the same size. The plurality of regions can be individually controlled.”, Figs. 6A-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions), to control the panel deformation device to have a second size according to the deformation direction and the deformation rate ([0153], “the screen of the display 250 can be extended by as much as a size of a plurality of regions. Each of the plurality of regions can have the same size. The plurality of regions can be individually controlled.”, Figs. 6A-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions), and to control the stretchable display panel to display the first image having the first size on a portion of the display area (Figs. 6A-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, showing an email inbox image in region 610) and display a second image on a remaining portion of the display area (Figs. 6A-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, showing an image of trees in region 630).
However, Jeon does not explicitly teach an eye tracker configured to detect an eye location and an eye movement of a user to generate tracking data.
Estacio teaches an eye tracker configured to detect an eye location and an eye movement of a user to generate tracking data (Estacio: [0045]-[0046], [0050]-[0051]; Figs. 11-14, and corresponding descriptions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the eye tracking taught by Estacio into the device taught by Jeon in order to track the user’s eye movement and provide alterations to GUI elements based on the gaze tracking (Estacio: [0050]), thereby allowing for a more user friendly electronic device.
Regarding Claim 10, Jeon, as modified by Estacio, teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 9, wherein the at least one processor is configured to load first image data from the memory based on the display area having the first size (Jeon: Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159]), to generate a display control signal based on the first image data (Jeon: Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159]), transmit the display control signal to the stretchable display panel (Jeon: Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159]), to load second image data from the memory based on the display area having the second size (Jeon: Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159]), to generate the display control signal based on the second image data (Jeon: Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159]), and to transmit the display control signal to the stretchable display panel (Jeon: Figs. 5-6E and 12A-13B, and corresponding descriptions, [0153]-[0159]).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon, as modified by Estacio, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Kim et al., US PG-Pub 2023/0222959, hereinafter Kim.
Regarding Claim 11, Jeon, as modified by Estacio, teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 10. However, Jeon, as modified by Estacio, does not explicitly teach wherein the first image data includes information of the first image having the first size at a first resolution, and the second image data includes information of the first image having the first size at a second resolution, and information of the second image.
Kim teaches wherein the first image data includes information of the first image having the first size at a first resolution (Kim: Figs. 7-10, and corresponding descriptions; [0133]-[0134]. [0139]-[0150]), and
the second image data includes information of the first image having the first size at a second resolution and information of the second image (Kim: Figs. 7-10, and corresponding descriptions; [0133]-[0134]. [0139]-[0150]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the resolution changes taught by Kim into the device taught by Jeon, as modified by Estacio, in order to allow a more seamless transition when the display area is being changed (Kim: [0134]), thereby increasing the overall quality of the user experience.
Regarding Claim 12, Jeon, as modified by Estacio and Kim, teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 11, wherein each of the first image and the second image is a portion of one image (Kim: Figs. 7-10, and corresponding descriptions; [0133]-[0134]. [0139]-[0150]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Estacio, US PG-Pub 2016/0011657, hereinafter Estacio.
Regarding Claim 19, Jeon teaches the operation method of claim 13, further comprising:
controlling a panel deformation device (inner case 238) configured to stretch or recover the stretchable display panel so that the display area has a second size according to the deformation direction and the deformation rate ([0062], “The inner case 238 can be shaped like a roller, can be rollable, and can serve to wind or unwind the display 250”; Figs. 6A-6E, and corresponding descriptions);
However, Jeon does not explicitly teach wherein the generation the deformation data comprises: detecting an eye location and an eye movement of a user to generate tracking data; wherein the detecting is performed by an eye tracker; and calculating a deformation direction and a deformation rate of the stretchable display panel, based on the tracking data.
Estacio teaches wherein the generation the deformation data comprises:
detecting an eye location and an eye movement of a user to generate tracking data (Estacio: [0045]-[0046], [0049]-[0051]; Figs. 11-14, and corresponding descriptions);
wherein the detecting is performed by an eye tracker (Estacio: camera 372); and
calculating a deformation direction and a deformation rate of the stretchable display panel, based on the tracking data (Estacio: [0045]-[0046], [0049]-[0051]; Figs. 11-14, and corresponding descriptions, noting how the controller increases or decreases the display of the user interface based on the user’s gaze direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the eye tracking taught by Estacio into the device taught by Jeon in order to track the user’s eye movement and provide alterations to GUI elements based on the gaze tracking (Estacio: [0050]), thereby allowing for a more user-friendly electronic device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al., US PG-Pub 2023/0316974, teaches a stretchable display able to effectively correct an image in response to the strain provided on the display.
/Stephen T. Reed/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627