Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1, line 8, "results formation" should be changed to --results in formation—for proper idiomatic language. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites "the liquid vortex defining an air gap between the rotating solution and the liquid
vortex" which is incorrect and unclear. The liquid vortex does not define an air gap. Claim 1 recites "the rotating solution" and "the liquid" which lack antecedent basis. The Examiner suggests the following amendments (including the suggested amendment to fix the claim objection as mentioned above):
1. A method comprising:
providing a polymer in a solution;
generating a liquid vortex in a liquid in a collection device
rotating the solution to cause ejection of the solution in a jet into an between the
rotating solution and the liquid vortex; and
collecting the jet of solution from the air gap in the liquid of the collection device,
wherein the ejection of the solution into the air gap and subsequently into the liquid of the collection device results in formation of a polymeric fiber.
For further examination purposes, the scope of claim 1 is read in light of the suggested Examiner amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Hooper (US
1,500,934).
Hooper (US 1,500,934) teaches a method (figs. 1-2) comprising:
providing a polymer in a solution (p. 1, lines 8-16, viscose solution);
generating a liquid vortex 25 in a collection device (figs. 1-2), the liquid vortex 25 defining an air gap 34 between the rotating solution and the liquid vortex 25 (figs. 1-2); and
rotating the solution to cause ejection of the solution in a jet into the air gap 34 (figs. 1-2); and collecting the jet of solution from the air gap 34 in the liquid 25 of the collection device (figs. 1-2),
wherein the ejection of the solution into the air gap 34 and subsequently into the liquid 25 of
the collection device results in formation of a polymeric fiber (figs. 1-2; p. 1, line 75, to p. 2, line 72; column 25 of whirling solution (i.e., vortex)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 2002/0148050) in view of Brundige et al. (US 3,441,473).
Luo et al. (US 2002/0148050) disclose a method (fig. 2) comprising:
providing a polymer in a solution [0017], [0028];
providing a liquid 10 in a collection device 12; and
rotating the solution to cause ejection of the solution in a jet into an air gap between the
rotating solution and the liquid 10 (fig. 2; [0049]); and
collecting the jet of solution from the air gap in the liquid of the collection device, wherein the
ejection of the solution into the air gap and subsequently into the liquid of the collection device results
in formation of a polymeric fiber [0049].
However, Luo et al. (US 2002/0148050) does not disclose generating a liquid vortex in the liquid
in the collection device.
Brundige et al. (US 3,441,473) disclose a method (fig. 1) comprising:
generating a liquid vortex in a liquid 48 of a collection device 32; and
ejecting jets from a nozzle 24 into an air gap between the nozzle 24 and the liquid vortex (fig. 1);
and
collecting jets from the air gap in the liquid 48 of the collection device 32, wherein the ejection
into the air gap and subsequently into the liquid 48 of the collection device 32 results in formation of
fibers (col. 4, lines 23-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to modify the liquid of Luo et al. (US 2002/0148050) by generating a liquid vortex in the liquid, as disclosed by Brundige et al. (US 3,441,473), because such a modification is known in the art and would
provide an alternative configuration for collecting the fibers in a liquid known to be operable in the art.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,174,571. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is fully encompassed by claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gonzalez et al. (US 2022/0380943) disclose a method of making fiber using a liquid vortex (e.g., see fig. 1a).
/J.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/John J. DeRusso/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744