DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This is the first office action regarding application number 19/273,530, filed 07/18/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B (Fig. 6) in the reply filed on 10/31/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/31/2025.
Claims 1-10 and 13-20 have been fully considered in examination.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 10 recites “a sum of dimensions of the two extension portions along the second direction” wherein the exact number of dimensions of the two extension portions is not limited by the claim language. Accordingly, claim 10 is interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation of “a sum of dimensions” to mean a sum of any number of dimensions of the two extension portions along the second direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “a dimension” however, it is unclear as to whether “a dimension” is the same as “a dimension” claimed in claim 1 or is introducing a second dimension of the main body portion. Claim 10 is interpreted as “the dimension”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakazawa (JP2010165590A) (refer to enclosed translations for citations) in view of Wakimoto (US-20220320676-A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Nakazawa teaches a battery cell (illustratively, Fig. 3, 3; [0028]), comprising:
a first wall (Fig. 9, 5; [0028] [0052]) and a second wall (illustratively, Fig. 3, 4; [0028]) perpendicular (illustratively Fig. 3, wherein 4 is perpendicular to 5) to the first wall 5,
wherein a pressure relief score (Fig. 9, 12; [0041] [0052]) is integrally formed (see Fig. 3 illustrative to integrally formed with 5) on the first wall 5,
an isolation groove (Fig. 9, upper/lower segments of 14; [0047-0048]) is provided in a region (region demarcated by upper/lower 14) on the first wall between (see Fig. 9 and 3, wherein at least the upper/lower segments of 14 are between 12 and 4) the pressure relief score 12 and the second wall 4,
the pressure relief score 12 comprises a main body portion (Fig. 9, portion of 12 extending horizontally),
and the main body portion (Fig. 9, horizontal 12) is opposite to the isolation groove (Fig. 19, wherein at least the top and bottom portions of 14 are opposite 12) in a direction perpendicular to the second wall (see Fig. 9 and 3, wherein the vertical direction between 12 and 14 is perpendicular to 4),
Nakazawa fails to teach wherein, in the direction perpendicular to the second wall, a ratio of a distance between the main body portion and the second wall to a dimension of the main body portion is greater than or equal to 10.
Wakimoto teaches wherein, in a direction perpendicular (Fig. 8, direction along L1) to the second wall (illustratively Fig. 1, 12; wherein 12 is along 14b in Fig. 8; [0038]), a ratio of a distance (Fig. 8, wherein a distance= (L1-L7)/2; L1= 60mm [0064] [0067], L3/L1 is greater than 0.4 [0007], 0.8≤L3/L7≤2 [0007], thus L3~ 24mm, L7~20.727mm) between the main body portion (Fig. 8, 17d; [0040]) and the second wall (Fig. 1 and 8, second wall 12 located at 14b) to a dimension of the main body portion (Fig. 8, dimension of 17d along X direction is about equal to (L3 -L7)/2) is greater than or equal to 10 (a ratio= (L1-L7)/ (L3 -L7) which is greater than or equal to 12). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to select the dimensions of a distance and a dimension within the ranges as disclosed by Wakimoto, as Wakimoto teaches that selecting a distance L1 (and thus also an L7) in coordination with 17d helps design bending deformation and operational stability [0064], while the preferred range of a dimension inhibits gas discharge malfunction [0040]. Additionally Wakimoto teaches teaches L1/T1 is greater than 10 [0007], such that Wakimoto suggests relating the size of the score to L1(a distance).
Regarding claim 2,
Nakazawa in view of Wakimoto teaches the battery cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein in the direction (Wakimoto; Fig. 8, direction along L1) perpendicular to the second wall (Wakimoto, illustratively Fig. 1, 12), the ratio ( greater than 12 -240; see rejection of claim 1 above) of the distance (greater than 12; see rejection of claim 1 above) between the main body portion (Wakimoto, Fig. 8; 17d) and the second wall (Wakimoto, Fig. 8, 12) to the dimension of the main body portion (Wakimoto; [0040]) is greater than or equal to 12 (see rejection of claim 1 above, wherein the ratio is greater than 12-240).
Regarding claim 3,
Nakazawa in view of Wakimoto teaches the battery cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the isolation groove (Fig. 9, upper/lower segments of 14) is one of multiple isolation grooves (Fig. 9, upper segment of 14 and lower segment of 14) arranged on two sides (Fig. 9, top and bottom side of 5) of the pressure relief score 12 in the direction perpendicular to the second wall (annotated Fig. 9, direction along “a distance”).
Regarding claim 4,
Nakazawa in view of Wakimoto teaches the battery cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein an opening of the isolation groove (Fig. 9, opening of 14, see also Fig. 3 illustrative to the opening of 14) faces a same direction (Fig. 9, z direction penetrating the plane of 5) as an opening of the pressure relief score (Fig. 9, opening of 14).
Regarding claim 5,
Nakazawa in view of Wakimoto teaches the battery cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the second wall 4 is a wall with a largest area (see illustratively Fig. 1, wherein second wall 4 has the largest area) of the battery cell (illustratively, Fig. 3, cell 3; [0026]).
Regarding claim 6,
Nakazawa in view of Wakimoto teaches the battery cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein a projection of the pressure relief score (Fig. 9, projected pattern of score 12 onto 5) on the first wall 5 comprises the main body portion (horizontal 12) extending along a first direction (Fig. 9, direction along horizontal 12) and two extension portions (Fig. 9, vertical portions of 14; see [0036] wherein the s portions are continuous such that vertical portions of 14 may be extension portions; the examiner notes that each segment of 14 represents a discrete channel separated by a) respectively located at two ends (Fig. 9, left and right ends of horizontal 12) of the main body portion 12 and extending along a second direction (Fig. 9, direction of vertical portions of 14), wherein the first direction intersects with the second direction (see Fig. 9, wherein the horizontal 12 intersects with the vertical 14).
Regarding claim 7,
Nakazawa teaches the battery cell according to claim 6 (see rejection of claim 6 above), wherein the first direction (annotated Fig. 9, direction across horizontal 12) is parallel to the second wall (illustratively Fig. 3, 4; see also Fig. 9, wherein the second wall at the top edge of 5 is parallel with horizontal 12) and the second direction (Fig. 9, direction along 14) is perpendicular to the second wall (illustratively Fig. 3, 4 wherein the plane of 4 is perpendicular to 5, and thus perpendicular to 14, see also Fig. 9, wherein the angle between the vertical portions of 14 and the edge of 5 is 90 degrees and thus perpendicular).
Regarding claim 8,
Nakazawa teaches the battery cell according to claim 6 (see rejection of claim 6 above), wherein the extension portions (annotated Fig. 9, extension portions; vertical segments of 14) are located on two sides (Fig. 9, left and right sizes of horizontal 12) of the main body portion (horizontal 12) in the second direction (direction along vertical segments of 14).
Regarding claim 9,
Nakazawa teaches battery cell according to claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above), wherein a projection of the isolation groove (Fig. 9, projected pattern of upper/lower grooves of 14 on 5) on a side where the extension portions (Fig. 9, vertical portions of 14) are located on the first wall 5 is located between the two extension portions (wherein upper/lower 14 is located between the vertical portions of 14) in the first direction (annotated Fig. 9, wherein the upper/lower 14 extend along the first direction along horizontal 12) and does not extend beyond ends of the two extension portions in the second direction (see annotated Fig. 9, wherein upper/lower 14 does not extend beyond the extension portions).
Regarding claim 10,
Nakazawa teaches a battery cell according to claim 6, wherein a dimension of the main body portion (annotated Fig. 9, “a dimension”) along the first direction is equal to a sum of dimensions (Fig. 9, a sum of several dimensions d found along the extending direction of the vertical segments of 14 equal to “a dimension”; see claim interpretation above) of the two extension portions (vertical portions of 14 which include dimensions of d) along the second direction (annotated Fig. 9, direction along “a distance”).
Regarding claim 13,
Nakazawa teaches battery cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein a thickness (Fig. 3 and 6, illustrative to thickness t1 of wall 5 at 14 s; [0052]; [0044]; wherein t1= .144 mm) of a region on the first wall 5 where the isolation groove is located (upper/lower segments of 14) is greater ([0044] wherein t1 is greater than t2) than a thickness (annotated Fig. 3, illustrative to thickness of wall 5 at 12 d; [0052]; wherein the thickness is equal to t2= 0.03mm, 0.04 mm, or 0.05mm; see Fig. 6 and [0044]) of a region on the first wall 5 where the pressure relief score 12 is located.
Regarding claim 14,
Nakazawa teaches the battery cell according to claim 13 (see rejection of claim 13 above), wherein the thickness of the region on the first wall where the isolation groove is located is greater than or equal to the thickness of the region on the first wall where the pressure relief score is located (see rejection of claim 13 above) and less than or equal to five times ([0044]-[0049] wherein t1 is less than 5 *t2), the thickness t2 of the region on the first wall where the pressure relief score 12 is located.
Regarding claim 15,
Nakazawa teaches the battery cell according to claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14 above), wherein the thickness of the region on the first wall where the isolation groove is located (see rejection of claim 13 above, t1, thickness of upper/lower 14 s) is greater than or equal to two times (see [0044]; t1> 2* t2) the thickness of the region on the first wall 5 where the pressure relief score (t2, thickness of 5 at 12d) is located and less than or equal to three times ([0044], t1< 3*t2 for when t2 is 0.05, which is selected for achieving a specific breaking pressure [0046]) the thickness t2 of the region on the first wall 5 where the pressure relief score 12 is located.
Regarding claim 16,
Nakazawa teaches the battery cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein in the direction perpendicular to the second wall (see annotated Fig. 9, direction along “a distance”), a distance (annotated Fig. 9, “a distance”) between a portion of the isolation groove (Fig. 9, upper/lower segments of 14) opposite to the pressure relief score (Fig. 9, opposite at least the horizontal portion of 12) and the second wall 4 is greater than or equal to (annotated Fig. 9, wherein “a distance” is greater than “ a dimension”) a dimension of the isolation groove (annotated Fig. 9, “a dimension”).
Regarding claim 17,
Nakazawa teaches the battery cell according to claim 16 (see rejection of claim 16 above), but fails to teach wherein in the direction perpendicular to the second wall, the distance between the portion of the isolation groove opposite to the pressure relief score and the second wall is greater than or equal to three times the dimension of the isolation groove.
Wakimoto teaches wherein, in a direction perpendicular (Fig. 8, direction along L1) to the second wall (illustratively Fig. 1, 12; wherein 12 is along 14b in Fig. 8; [0038]), a distance (Fig. 8, wherein a distance= L1-L3/2= 18mm; L1= 60mm; L3=24mm; L7=20.727, see rejection of claim 1 above; [0064], [0007]) between the portion of the isolation groove (Fig, 8, 17c; [0040]) opposite (Fig. 8, portion of 17c opposite 17d) to the pressure relief score (Fig. 8, 17d) and the second wall (Fig. 1 and 8, second wall 12 located at 14b) is greater (wherein 18mm is greater than 4.91 mm) than or equal to three times the dimension of the isolation groove (Fig. 8, dimension of 17d; approximately (L3-L7)/2 ~ 1.635mm; thus 3* 1.635 =4.91). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to select the dimensions of a distance and a dimension within the ranges as disclosed by Wakimoto, as Wakimoto teaches that selecting a distance L1 in coordination with 17d helps design bending deformation and operational stability [0064].
Regarding claim 18,
Nakazawa teaches the battery cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein in the direction perpendicular to the second wall (annotated Fig. 9, direction along “a distance”) a distance (annotated Fig. 9, “a distance”) between the portion of the isolation groove (Fig. 9, upper/lower segments of 14) opposite (wherein upper/lower segments of 14 are at least opposite to the horizontal portion of 12) to the pressure relief score (Fig. 9, 12) and the pressure relief score is greater (annotated Fig. 9, wherein a distance is significantly greater than a dimension) than or equal to the dimension of the isolation groove (annotated Fig. 9, “a dimension”).
Regarding claim 19,
Nakazawa teaches a battery (illustratively Fig. 1, 1; [0026), comprising the battery cell (illustratively Fig. 3, 3) according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 20,
Nakazawa teaches an electric apparatus ([0049], “electrical device”) characterized by comprising [0049] the battery 1 according to claim 19 (see rejection of claim 19 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US2006105228A1, relevant to an H-shaped pressure relief member (Fig. 2, 415).
/PAUL CHRISTIAN ST WYROUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723