DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,376,921. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patent ‘921 anticipates the subject matter in the instant claims. Claim 2 recites a medical system comprising: a mobile medical apparatus comprising manipulators configured to removably mount one or more medical instruments (encompassed by mobile cart in claim 1 of ‘921); one or more object detection devices mounted on the mobile medical apparatus, the one or more object detection devices configured to detect an object in a trajectory of movement of the mobile medical apparatus relative to a ground surface (encompassed by object detection device in claim 1 of ‘921); and a control system operably coupled to the one or more object detection devices and the mobile medical apparatus, the control system configured to automatically control movement of the mobile medical apparatus based on detection of an object in the trajectory movement of the mobile medical apparatus by the one or more object detection devices (encompassed by control system in claim 1 of ‘921). Claim 3 is encompassed by claim 2 of ‘921. Claim 4 is encompassed by claim 3 of ‘921. Claim 5 is encompassed by claim 4 of ‘921. Claim 6 is encompassed by claim 5 of ‘921. Claim 7 is encompassed by claim 6 of ‘921. Claim 8 is encompassed by claim 7 of ‘921. Claim 9 is encompassed by claim 8 of ‘921. With respect to claim 9, ‘921 does not recite a plurality of object detection devices, however, a duplication in parts is well within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a plurality of object detection devices as a duplication of parts is well within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art. Claim 11 is encompassed by claim 10 of ‘921. Claim 12 is encompassed by claim 10 of ‘921. Claims 13-16 (claims recite intended use) is encompassed by claim 10 of ‘921. Claim 17 is encompassed by claim 14 of ‘921. Claim 18 is encompassed by claim 13 of ‘921. Claim 19 is encompassed by claims 1 and 8 of ‘921. Claim 20 is encompassed by claim 11 of ‘921. Claim 21 is encompassed by claim 12 of ‘921.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2 and 6-8, 11, and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Griffiths et al. (US 2014/0297130).
Griffiths et al. discloses a medical system comprising: a mobile medical apparatus (100) comprising a column extending from a base, the column having a first end connected to the base and a second end opposite the first end (Fig. 2); manipulators (140) configured to removably mount to one or more medical instruments ([0036]); one or more object detection devices mounted on the mobile medical apparatus, the one or more object detection devise configured to detect an object in a trajectory of movement of the mobile medical apparatus relative to a ground surface ([0105]); and a control system operably coupled to the one or more object detection devices and the mobile medical apparatus, the control system configured to automatically control movement of the mobile medical apparatus based on detection of an object in the trajectory of movement of the mobile medical apparatus by the one or more object detection devices ([0043-0044]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffiths et al. (US 2014/0297130) in view of Koselka et al. (US 2005/0216126).
Griffiths et al. discloses the subject matter substantially as claimed except for one or more object detection devices by physical contact with the object; chosen from at least one of a contact switch, a resistive touch sensor, an accelerometer, or a force or torque sensor. However, Koselka et al. teaches in the same field of endeavor touch sensors to detect objects in order to augment the camera system and to provide additional information regarding the environment ([0041]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Griffiths et al. with the touch sensors as taught by Koselka et al. in order to augment the camera system and provide additional information regarding the environment ([0041]).
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffiths et al. (US 2014/0297130) in view of Alexandrescu (US 6,272,368).
Griffiths et al. discloses the subject matter substantially as claimed except for one or more imaging devices to detect the object. However, Alexandrescu. teaches in the same field of endeavor an imaging device (13) for collecting information objects to prevent collision (col. 3, lines 19-36). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Griffiths et al. with the imaging device as taught by Alexandrescu as it is well known for imaging to detect objects in order to avoid collisions (col. 3, lines 19-36).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffiths et al. (US 2014/0297130).
Griffiths et al. discloses the subject matter substantially as claimed except for a plurality of object detection devices. However, a duplication of parts is well within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provided Griffiths et al. with a plurality of object detection devices as a duplication of parts is well within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Conclusion
/PETER LUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797