DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The amendments to claim 1 are sufficient to overcome the rejection under 35 USC 102 and so the rejection of claims 1, 3, 6-7, 9-10, and 12 under 35 USC 102 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with regards to the rejection of claim 17 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued that Xu (US 11,306,732) fails to disclose the newly added limitations to claim 17. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Referring to Fig. 12 of Xu discloses a first component including through holes (322) to increase the bonding force between the metal frame and the plastic shell (Col. 6, lines 17-22). For this reason Applicant’s argument has not been found persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu (US 11,306,732).
Regarding claim 17, Xu (Fig. 10-15) discloses a fan wheel (Fig. 10) comprising: a central hub (2); and a plurality of airfoils (3) extending radially outward from the central hub (2), wherein each airfoil (3) comprises: a first component (32) composed of a first material (either metal or plastic, respectively ); a second component (33) composed of a second material (the other of the metal or plastic, respectively) different from the first material and configured to assume a three-dimensional shape (Fig. 15); wherein the second component is configured to mechanically couple with the first component through an interlocking mechanism (via 322), the interlocking mechanism (322) including a through-hole (322) defined by the first component (32) and a portion of the second component (33) received in the through-hole; and wherein the first component (32) and the second component (33) are joined to form a composite airfoil structure (3) defining a three-dimensional aerodynamic profile (Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 18, Xu discloses the fan wheel of claim 17, wherein Xu (Fig. 10-15) further discloses that the interlocking mechanism comprises at least one of a cutout (322), tab, or webbing formed on the first component (32) or the second component.
Regarding claim 19, Xu discloses the fan wheel of claim 17, wherein Xu (Fig. 10-15) further discloses that the second component (33) defines one or more voids (interpreted as the space occupied by the first component 32).
Regarding claim 20, Xu discloses the fan wheel of claim 17, wherein Xu (Fig. 10-15) further discloses the first component (32) includes one or more tabs (321) configured to facilitate mechanical engagement with at least one of a wheel shroud (1), a wheel hub (2), or a wheel cone.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-16, and 21-27 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1:
Closest prior art: Xu (US 11,306,732)
Xu discloses a fan wheel comprising: a central hub; and a plurality of airfoil blades extending from the central hub, wherein each airfoil blade defines a three-dimensional aerodynamic profile having a first camber surface and an oppositely facing second camber surface, each airfoil blade extending between a curved leading edge and a curved trailing edge, and including: a first component formed from a first material and defining at least a portion of the first camber surface of the airfoil blade; and a second component formed from a second material different from the first material and defining at least a portion of the second camber surface of the airfoil blade, the second component being mechanically joined to the first component via interlocking features to form a composite airfoil structure, the three-dimensional aerodynamic profile includes a first three-dimensional shape corresponding to the first camber surface and a second three-dimensional shape corresponding to the second camber surface.
The closest prior art fails to disclose or suggest that both the first three-dimensional shape and the second three- dimensional shape are characterized by a compound curvature defining respective inside and outside curves along both a length and a width of the airfoil blade.
Claims 3-4, 6-7, and 9-12 depend upon claim 1 and so are allowable.
Regarding claim 13:
Closest prior art: Xu (US 11,306,732)
Xu discloses a fan wheel comprising: a central hub; and a plurality of airfoils extending radially outward from the central hub, each of the plurality of airfoils defining an inside surface and an outside surface, each having a three-dimensional shape, the inside and outside surfaces extending between a curved leading edge and a curved trailing edge, wherein each airfoil comprises: a first component formed by stamping a first metal blank to define as the inside surface and a portion of the outside surface of the airfoil having a first three-dimensional shape; and wherein the first component and a second component are shaped to align with one another along at least the curved leading edge of the airfoil and such that the first component defines the curved trailing edge.
The closest prior art fails to disclose or suggest that a second component formed by stamping a second metal blank to define a portion of the outside surface of the airfoil having a second three-dimensional shape and wherein the first component and the second component are joined to one another along the leading edge and a trailing edge of at least one of the first component or the second component to cooperatively form a three-dimensional aerodynamic profile of the airfoil.
Claims 14-16 depend upon claim 13 and so are allowable.
Regarding claim 20:
Closest prior art: Xu (US 11,306,732)
Xu discloses a fan wheel comprising: a central hub; and a plurality of airfoil blades extending from the central hub, wherein each airfoil blade defines a three-dimensional aerodynamic profile having a first camber surface and an oppositely facing second camber surface, each airfoil blade extending between a curved leading edge and a curved trailing edge, and including: a first component formed from a first material and defining at least a portion of the first camber surface of the airfoil blade; and a second component formed from a second material different from the first material and defining at least a portion of the second camber surface of the airfoil blade, the second component being mechanically joined to the first component via interlocking features to form a composite airfoil structure.
The closest prior art fails to disclose or suggest that one or both of the first and second camber surfaces is provided with distinct surface textures contributed by both the first component and the second component to enhance airflow characteristics across an external surface of the airfoil blade.
Claims 21-27 depend upon claim 20 and so are allowable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/DMC/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745