DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 5 be found allowable, claim 10 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Double Patenting
Claims comparison table
Claims of Application # 19/275,198
Claims of U.S. Patent# 12,393,305
1. A method performed by an apparatus, the method comprising: receiving host signaling from host processing circuitry, indicating touch targets for respective software applications running on a host system, each touch target being a respective area of a touch surface of a touch sensor; selecting sensing lines of the touch surface to be excited for detecting touch inputs to the touch targets, including deciding whether to select all sensing lines involved with the touch targets or to select fewer than all involved sensing lines; selecting excitation frequencies to be used for exciting the selected sensing lines; and reading the touch sensor, in accordance with the selected sensing lines and the selected excitation frequencies.
1. A method performed by an apparatus, the method comprising: receiving host signaling from host processing circuitry, indicating touch targets for respective software applications running on a host system, each touch target being a respective area of a touch surface of a touch sensor and the host signaling indicating touch detection requirements corresponding to the touch targets indicated for the respective software applications; maintaining a data structure that represents a current set of touch targets, from among the indicated touch targets, the data structure indicating the touch detection requirements corresponding to the current set of touch targets; determining a read configuration for the touch sensor according to the current set of touch targets and the corresponding touch-detection requirements, as represented in the data structure, the read configuration defining which sensing lines of the touch sensor are selected for excitement and which excitation frequencies are used for exciting the selected sensing lines, for detecting touch inputs to respective ones among the current set of touch targets using frequency-domain transformations; and reading the touch sensor according to the read configuration.
2. The method according to claim 1, wherein deciding whether to select all sensing lines involved with the touch targets or to select fewer than all involved sensing lines comprises making the decision in dependence on touch-detection requirements associated with the touch targets.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the read configuration includes selecting for excitation fewer than all sensing lines involved with the current set of touch targets or selecting fewer excitation frequencies than there are selected sensing lines, in dependence on touch-resolution requirements associated with respective ones among the current set of touch targets and a relative positioning of respective ones among the current set of touch targets on the touch surface.
3. The method according to claim 2, further comprising receiving the touch-detection requirements from the host processing circuitry.
1. A method performed by an apparatus, the method comprising: receiving host signaling from host processing circuitry, indicating touch targets for respective software applications running on a host system, each touch target being a respective area of a touch surface of a touch sensor and the host signaling indicating touch detection requirements corresponding to the touch targets indicated for the respective software applications…
6. A method performed by an apparatus, the method comprising: receiving host signaling from host processing circuitry, indicating touch targets for respective software applications running on a host system, each touch target being a respective area of a touch surface of a touch sensor; selecting sensing lines of the touch surface to be excited for detecting touch inputs to the touch targets; selecting excitation frequencies to be used for exciting the selected sensing lines, including deciding whether to select as many excitation frequencies as there are selected sensing lines to be simultaneously excited or to select fewer excitation frequencies than there are selected sensing lines to be simultaneously excited; and reading the touch sensor, in accordance with the selected sensing lines and the selected excitation frequencies.
1. A method performed by an apparatus, the method comprising: receiving host signaling from host processing circuitry, indicating touch targets for respective software applications running on a host system, each touch target being a respective area of a touch surface of a touch sensor and the host signaling indicating touch detection requirements corresponding to the touch targets indicated for the respective software applications; maintaining a data structure that represents a current set of touch targets, from among the indicated touch targets, the data structure indicating the touch detection requirements corresponding to the current set of touch targets; determining a read configuration for the touch sensor according to the current set of touch targets and the corresponding touch-detection requirements, as represented in the data structure, the read configuration defining which sensing lines of the touch sensor are selected for excitement and which excitation frequencies are used for exciting the selected sensing lines, for detecting touch inputs to respective ones among the current set of touch targets using frequency-domain transformations; and reading the touch sensor according to the read configuration.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein selecting which excitation frequencies are used for exciting the selected sensing lines comprises selecting as many excitation frequencies as there are selected sensing lines to be simultaneously excited, or selecting fewer excitation frequencies than there are selected sensing lines to be simultaneously excited, in dependence on touch-resolution requirements associated with respective ones among the current set of touch targets and a relative positioning of respective ones among the current set of touch targets on the touch surface.
7. The method according to claim 6, wherein deciding whether to select as many excitation frequencies as there are selected sensing lines to be simultaneously excited or to select fewer excitation frequencies than there are selected sensing lines to be simultaneously excited comprises making the decision in dependence on touch detection requirements associated with the touch targets.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the read configuration includes selecting for excitation fewer than all sensing lines involved with the current set of touch targets or selecting fewer excitation frequencies than there are selected sensing lines, in dependence on touch-resolution requirements associated with respective ones among the current set of touch targets and a relative positioning of respective ones among the current set of touch targets on the touch surface.
8. The method according to claim 7, further comprising receiving the touch detection requirements from the host processing circuitry.
1. A method performed by an apparatus, the method comprising: receiving host signaling from host processing circuitry, indicating touch targets for respective software applications running on a host system, each touch target being a respective area of a touch surface of a touch sensor and the host signaling indicating touch detection requirements corresponding to the touch targets indicated for the respective software applications…
11. An apparatus comprising: interface circuitry; and processing circuitry configured to: receive host signaling from host processing circuitry, indicating touch targets for respective software applications running on a host system, each touch target being a respective area of a touch surface of a touch sensor; select sensing lines of the touch surface to be excited for detecting touch inputs to the touch targets and select excitation frequencies to be used for exciting the selected sensing lines; and read the touch sensor, based on controlling read circuitry in accordance with the selected sensing lines and the selected excitation frequencies; wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform decision making comprising one or both of: decide whether to select, as the selected sensing lines, all sensing lines involved with the touch targets or to select fewer than all involved sensing lines; and decide whether to select, as the selected excitation frequencies, as many excitation frequencies as there are selected sensing lines to be simultaneously excited or to select fewer excitation frequencies than there are selected sensing lines to be simultaneously excited.
11. An apparatus configured for interfacing with a touch sensor, the apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: interface circuitry; and processing circuitry configured to: receive, via the interface circuitry, host signaling from host processing circuitry of a host system, the host signaling indicating touch targets for respective software applications running on the host system, each touch target being a respective area of a touch surface of the touch sensor and the host signaling indicating touch detection requirements corresponding to the touch targets indicated for the respective software applications; maintain a data structure that represents a current set of touch targets, from among the indicated touch targets, the data structure indicating the touch detection requirements corresponding to the current set of touch targets; determine a read configuration for the touch sensor according to the current set of touch targets and the corresponding touch-detection requirements, as represented in the data structure, the read configuration defining which sensing lines of the touch sensor are selected for excitement and which excitation frequencies used for exciting the selected sensing lines, for detecting touch inputs to respective ones among the current set of touch targets using frequency-domain transformations; and read the touch sensor based on controlling reading circuitry according to the read configuration, the reading circuitry integrated or associated with the processing circuitry.
16. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein, for selecting which excitation frequencies are used for exciting the selected sensing lines, the processing circuitry is configured to select as many excitation frequencies as there are selected sensing lines to be simultaneously excited, or select fewer excitation frequencies than there are selected sensing lines to be simultaneously excited, in dependence on touch-resolution requirements associated with respective ones of the touch targets and a relative positioning of respective ones among the current set of touch targets on the touch surface.
12. The apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform the decision making based on touch detection requirements associated with the touch targets.
14. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein, with respect to determining the read configuration, the processing circuitry is configured to set the number of excitation frequencies used in relation to the number of sensing lines selected for excitation in dependence on the touch-detection requirements corresponding to the current set of touch targets.
13. The apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to receive indications of the touch detection requirements from the host processing circuitry.
13. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to receive the host signaling as changing indications of the current set of touch targets, and determine the read configuration dynamically, responsive to the changing indications of the current set of touch targets.
Claims 1-3, 6-8 and 11-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 6, 11, 13, 14 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,393,305. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Regarding claim 1 of instant application is anticipated by claim 1 of U.S. Patent# 12,393,305 as shown in the claim comparison table above. Regarding claim 2 which is similar in scope to claim 5 as shown in the claim comparison table above. Regarding claim 3 which is similar in scope to claim 1 as shown in the claim comparison table above. Regarding claim 6 which is similar in scope to claim 1 and 5 as shown in the claim comparison table above. Regarding claim 7 which is similar in scope to claim 5 as shown in the claim comparison table above. Regarding claim 8 which is similar in scope to claim 1 as shown in the claim comparison table above. Regarding claim 11 which is similar in scope to claim 11 and 16 as shown in the claim comparison table above. Regarding claim 12 which is similar in scope to claim 14 as shown in the claim comparison table above. Regarding claim 13 which is similar in scope to claim 13 as shown in the claim comparison table above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (2012/0075205) in view of Kwon (2019/0138148).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a method performed by an apparatus, the method comprising: receiving host signaling from host processing circuitry (120; Fig 2), indicating touch targets (para [0012] The UI control unit 120 is configured for identifying an effective touch region(s) displayed on the touch screen 100, and transmitting region identifying signals to the scan controlling unit 130. The effective touch region here refers to a region on the user interface of the touch screen 100, which is provided for users to touch and operate an electronic device equipped with the touch input device 10. For example, "OK", "QUIT" buttons displayed on the user interface of the touch screen 100 are the effective touch regions for they are provided for users to confirm or cancel a former operation. The region identifying signals include the number and the locations of the effective touch regions.) for respective software applications running on a host system (10; Fig 2), each touch target being a respective area of a touch surface of a touch sensor (para [0012] For example, "OK", "QUIT" buttons displayed on the user interface of the touch screen 100 are the effective touch regions for they are provided for users to confirm or cancel a former operation.); selecting sensing lines of the touch surface to be excited for detecting touch inputs to the touch targets (para [0015] FIG. 2 shows an example of a UI on the touch screen 100. In the example, only an "OK" button and a "QUIT" button are provided on the UI for a user to operate. That is, two effective touch regions exist on the UI. The UI control unit 120 identifies the two buttons as the effective touch regions and the scan controlling unit 130 determines two scan regions, each exactly covers a corresponding button. The scan controlling unit 130 alternately activates and deactivates the scan over the scan regions 101 in turn, so as to identify the operations on the buttons.), including deciding whether to select all sensing lines involved with the touch targets or to select fewer than all involved sensing lines (para [0019] With such a configuration, the scan controlling unit 130 determines the scan regions 101 according to the effective touch regions identified by the UI control unit 120, and only scans one or more particular regions which are actually provided for users to operate. Without the needs of always scanning the whole touch screen 100, power consumption of the touch input device 10 is effectively reduced); and reading the touch sensor, in accordance with the selected sensing lines (para [0017] The detecting unit 140 is configured for detecting the touch location on the scan regions 101 and transmitting touch signals to the UI control unit 120. The detecting unit 140 is further configured for detecting whether the input operation of the user on the scan regions is completed and transmitting the detecting results to the scan controlling unit 130.).
Huang fails to teach; selecting excitation frequencies to be used for exciting the selected sensing lines; reading the touch sensor, in accordance with the selected excitation frequencies; as claimed.
Kwon teaches a method performed by an apparatus, the method comprising: selecting sensing lines of the touch surface to be excited for detecting touch inputs to the touch targets (para [0049] If the second group is determined as the first analysis position, the second scan operation is performed only for the second group, and the transmission signal is applied. In FIG. 5, the transmission signals are applied only to the fourth transmission electrode 304, the fifth transmission electrode 305, and the sixth transmission electrode 306 which are the second group.); selecting excitation frequencies to be used for exciting the selected sensing lines (para [0047] The transmission signals applied to the transmission electrodes constituting the other group are simultaneously applied with the same frequency to each other. However, the frequencies of the transmission signals are different for each group, and are simultaneously applied to all the groups. If transmission signals having a first frequency are applied to the first group, the transmission signals having a second frequency different from the first frequency are applied to the second group.); reading the touch sensor, in accordance with the selected excitation frequencies (400; Fig 2; para [0030] The discriminator 510 of the coarse/fine sensing processor 500 is input with the first detection receiving signal output from the receiving processor 400 to approximately determine a touch position and determines an exact touch position by being input with the second detection receiving signal. Here, the approximate touch position estimated from the first detection receiving signal output is called a first analysis position, and the exact touch position determined from the second detection receiving signal is called a second analysis position.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Huang with the teachings of Kwon, because this will result in reduced power consumption and further provide the touch point can be confirmed very quickly and accurately.
Regarding claim 2, Huang teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein deciding whether to select all sensing lines involved with the touch targets or to select fewer than all involved sensing lines comprises making the decision in dependence on touch-detection requirements associated with the touch targets (para [0019] With such a configuration, the scan controlling unit 130 determines the scan regions 101 according to the effective touch regions identified by the UI control unit 120, and only scans one or more particular regions which are actually provided for users to operate. Without the needs of always scanning the whole touch screen 100, power consumption of the touch input device 10 is effectively reduced.).
Regarding claim 3, Huang teaches the method according to claim 2, further comprising receiving the touch-detection requirements from the host processing circuitry (para [0012] The UI control unit 120 is configured for identifying an effective touch region(s) displayed on the touch screen 100, and transmitting region identifying signals to the scan controlling unit 130. The effective touch region here refers to a region on the user interface of the touch screen 100, which is provided for users to touch and operate an electronic device equipped with the touch input device 10. For example, "OK", "QUIT" buttons displayed on the user interface of the touch screen 100 are the effective touch regions for they are provided for users to confirm or cancel a former operation. The region identifying signals include the number and the locations of the effective touch regions.).
Regarding claim 6, Huang teaches a method performed by an apparatus, the method comprising: receiving host signaling from host processing circuitry (120; Fig 2), indicating touch targets (para [0012] The UI control unit 120 is configured for identifying an effective touch region(s) displayed on the touch screen 100, and transmitting region identifying signals to the scan controlling unit 130. The effective touch region here refers to a region on the user interface of the touch screen 100, which is provided for users to touch and operate an electronic device equipped with the touch input device 10. For example, "OK", "QUIT" buttons displayed on the user interface of the touch screen 100 are the effective touch regions for they are provided for users to confirm or cancel a former operation. The region identifying signals include the number and the locations of the effective touch regions.) for respective software applications running on a host system (10; Fig 2), each touch target being a respective area of a touch surface of a touch sensor (para [0012] For example, "OK", "QUIT" buttons displayed on the user interface of the touch screen 100 are the effective touch regions for they are provided for users to confirm or cancel a former operation.); selecting sensing lines of the touch surface to be excited for detecting touch inputs to the touch targets (para [0015] FIG. 2 shows an example of a UI on the touch screen 100. In the example, only an "OK" button and a "QUIT" button are provided on the UI for a user to operate. That is, two effective touch regions exist on the UI. The UI control unit 120 identifies the two buttons as the effective touch regions and the scan controlling unit 130 determines two scan regions, each exactly covers a corresponding button. The scan controlling unit 130 alternately activates and deactivates the scan over the scan regions 101 in turn, so as to identify the operations on the buttons.); and reading the touch sensor, in accordance with the selected sensing lines (para [0017] The detecting unit 140 is configured for detecting the touch location on the scan regions 101 and transmitting touch signals to the UI control unit 120. The detecting unit 140 is further configured for detecting whether the input operation of the user on the scan regions is completed and transmitting the detecting results to the scan controlling unit 130.).
Huang fails to teach; selecting excitation frequencies to be used for exciting the selected sensing lines, including deciding whether to select as many excitation frequencies as there are selected sensing lines to be simultaneously excited or to select fewer excitation frequencies than there are selected sensing lines to be simultaneously excited; reading the touch sensor, in accordance with the selected excitation frequencies; as claimed.
Kwon teaches a method performed by an apparatus, the method comprising: selecting excitation frequencies to be used for exciting the selected sensing lines (para [0047] Furthermore, the same transmission signals are applied to one group. For example, the first transmission signal Tx[1], the second transmission signal Tx[2] and the third transmission signal Tx[3] are simultaneously applied in the same form. The transmission signals applied to the transmission electrodes constituting the other group are simultaneously applied with the same frequency to each other.), including deciding whether to select as many excitation frequencies as there are selected sensing lines to be simultaneously excited (para [0047] If transmission signals having a first frequency are applied to the first group, the transmission signals having a second frequency different from the first frequency are applied to the second group. In addition, the transmission signals having the first frequency and the transmission signals having the second frequency are not applied sequentially but applied at the same time.) or to select fewer excitation frequencies than there are selected sensing lines to be simultaneously excited (para [0047] Furthermore, the same transmission signals are applied to one group (which corresponds to selected sensing lines). For example, the first transmission signal Tx[1], the second transmission signal Tx[2] and the third transmission signal Tx[3] are simultaneously applied in the same form. The transmission signals applied to the transmission electrodes constituting the other group are simultaneously applied with the same frequency to each other. However, the frequencies of the transmission signals are different for each group, and are simultaneously applied to all the groups. If transmission signals having a first frequency are applied to the first group, the transmission signals having a second frequency different from the first frequency are applied to the second group); reading the touch sensor, in accordance with the selected excitation frequencies (400; Fig 2; para [0030] The discriminator 510 of the coarse/fine sensing processor 500 is input with the first detection receiving signal output from the receiving processor 400 to approximately determine a touch position and determines an exact touch position by being input with the second detection receiving signal. Here, the approximate touch position estimated from the first detection receiving signal output is called a first analysis position, and the exact touch position determined from the second detection receiving signal is called a second analysis position.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Huang with the teachings of Kwon, because this will result in reduced power consumption and further provide the touch point can be confirmed very quickly and accurately.
Regarding claim 7, Huang teaches the method as explained for claim 6 above.
Huang fails to teach, wherein deciding whether to select as many excitation frequencies as there are selected sensing lines to be simultaneously excited or to select fewer excitation frequencies than there are selected sensing lines to be simultaneously excited comprises making the decision in dependence on touch detection requirements associated with the touch targets; as claimed.
Kwon teaches the method; wherein deciding whether to select as many excitation frequencies as there are selected sensing lines to be simultaneously excited or to select fewer excitation frequencies than there are selected sensing lines to be simultaneously excited comprises making the decision in dependence on touch detection requirements associated with the touch targets (para [0051] If the touch operation is performed at the intersection of the fifth transmission electrode 305 and the second receiving electrode 312, the detection receiving signal Rx[2] received at the second receiving electrode 312 has different levels than the detection receiving signals Rx[1] and Rx[3] received at first receiving electrode 311 and third receiving electrode 313. Through the determination of the second analysis position, an accurate touch point can be determined.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Huang with the teachings of Kwon, because this will result in reduced power consumption and further provide the touch point can be confirmed very quickly and accurately.
Regarding claim 8, Huang teaches the method according to claim 7, further comprising receiving the touch-detection requirements from the host processing circuitry (para [0012] The UI control unit 120 is configured for identifying an effective touch region(s) displayed on the touch screen 100, and transmitting region identifying signals to the scan controlling unit 130. The effective touch region here refers to a region on the user interface of the touch screen 100, which is provided for users to touch and operate an electronic device equipped with the touch input device 10. For example, "OK", "QUIT" buttons displayed on the user interface of the touch screen 100 are the effective touch regions for they are provided for users to confirm or cancel a former operation. The region identifying signals include the number and the locations of the effective touch regions.).
Regarding claim 11, Huang teaches an apparatus comprising: interface circuitry (100; Fig 1; Fig 2); and processing circuitry (120; Fig 2) configured to: receive host signaling from host processing circuitry (120; Fig 2), indicating touch targets (para [0012] The UI control unit 120 is configured for identifying an effective touch region(s) displayed on the touch screen 100, and transmitting region identifying signals to the scan controlling unit 130. The effective touch region here refers to a region on the user interface of the touch screen 100, which is provided for users to touch and operate an electronic device equipped with the touch input device 10. For example, "OK", "QUIT" buttons displayed on the user interface of the touch screen 100 are the effective touch regions for they are provided for users to confirm or cancel a former operation. The region identifying signals include the number and the locations of the effective touch regions.) for respective software applications running on a host system (10; Fig 2), each touch target being a respective area of a touch surface of a touch sensor (para [0012] For example, "OK", "QUIT" buttons displayed on the user interface of the touch screen 100 are the effective touch regions for they are provided for users to confirm or cancel a former operation.); select sensing lines of the touch surface to be excited for detecting touch inputs to the touch targets (para [0015] FIG. 2 shows an example of a UI on the touch screen 100. In the example, only an "OK" button and a "QUIT" button are provided on the UI for a user to operate. That is, two effective touch regions exist on the UI. The UI control unit 120 identifies the two buttons as the effective touch regions and the scan controlling unit 130 determines two scan regions, each exactly covers a corresponding button. The scan controlling unit 130 alternately activates and deactivates the scan over the scan regions 101 in turn, so as to identify the operations on the buttons.); and read the touch sensor, based on controlling read circuitry in accordance with the selected sensing lines (para [0017] The detecting unit 140 is configured for detecting the touch location on the scan regions 101 and transmitting touch signals to the UI control unit 120. The detecting unit 140 is further configured for detecting whether the input operation of the user on the scan regions is completed and transmitting the detecting results to the scan controlling unit 130.); wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform decision making comprising one or both of: decide whether to select, as the selected sensing lines, all sensing lines involved with the touch targets or to select fewer than all involved sensing lines (para [0019] With such a configuration, the scan controlling unit 130 determines the scan regions 101 according to the effective touch regions identified by the UI control unit 120, and only scans one or more particular regions which are actually provided for users to operate. Without the needs of always scanning the whole touch screen 100, power consumption of the touch input device 10 is effectively reduced.).
Huang fails to teach, select excitation frequencies to be used for exciting the selected sensing lines; read the touch sensor, based on controlling read circuitry in accordance with the selected excitation frequencies; and decide whether to select, as the selected excitation frequencies, as many excitation frequencies as there are selected sensing lines to be simultaneously excited or to select fewer excitation frequencies than there are selected sensing lines to be simultaneously excited; as claimed.
Kwon teaches an apparatus comprising: processing circuitry (Fig 2; para [0025] a receiving processor 400, and a coarse/fine sensing processor 500, and the coarse/fine sensing processor 500 includes a discriminator 510 and a controller 520.); select excitation frequencies to be used for exciting the selected sensing lines (para [0047] The transmission signals applied to the transmission electrodes constituting the other group are simultaneously applied with the same frequency to each other. However, the frequencies of the transmission signals are different for each group, and are simultaneously applied to all the groups. If transmission signals having a first frequency are applied to the first group, the transmission signals having a second frequency different from the first frequency are applied to the second group.); read the touch sensor, based on controlling read circuitry in accordance with the selected excitation frequencies (400; Fig 2; para [0030] The discriminator 510 of the coarse/fine sensing processor 500 is input with the first detection receiving signal output from the receiving processor 400 to approximately determine a touch position and determines an exact touch position by being input with the second detection receiving signal. Here, the approximate touch position estimated from the first detection receiving signal output is called a first analysis position, and the exact touch position determined from the second detection receiving signal is called a second analysis position.); and decide whether to select, as the selected excitation frequencies, as many excitation frequencies as there are selected sensing lines to be simultaneously excited (para [0047] If transmission signals having a first frequency are applied to the first group, the transmission signals having a second frequency different from the first frequency are applied to the second group. In addition, the transmission signals having the first frequency and the transmission signals having the second frequency are not applied sequentially but applied at the same time.) or to select fewer excitation frequencies than there are selected sensing lines to be simultaneously excited (para [0047] Furthermore, the same transmission signals are applied to one group (which corresponds to selected sensing lines). For example, the first transmission signal Tx[1], the second transmission signal Tx[2] and the third transmission signal Tx[3] are simultaneously applied in the same form. The transmission signals applied to the transmission electrodes constituting the other group are simultaneously applied with the same frequency to each other. However, the frequencies of the transmission signals are different for each group, and are simultaneously applied to all the groups. If transmission signals having a first frequency are applied to the first group, the transmission signals having a second frequency different from the first frequency are applied to the second group).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the apparatus of Huang with the teachings of Kwon, because this will result in reduced power consumption and further provide the touch point can be confirmed very quickly and accurately.
Regarding claim 12, Huang teaches the apparatus as explained for claim 11 above.
Huang fails to teach, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform the decision making based on touch detection requirements associated with the touch targets; as claimed.
Kwon teaches the apparatus; wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform the decision making based on touch detection requirements associated with the touch targets (para [0051] If the touch operation is performed at the intersection of the fifth transmission electrode 305 and the second receiving electrode 312, the detection receiving signal Rx[2] received at the second receiving electrode 312 has different levels than the detection receiving signals Rx[1] and Rx[3] received at first receiving electrode 311 and third receiving electrode 313. Through the determination of the second analysis position, an accurate touch point can be determined.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Huang with the teachings of Kwon, because this will result in reduced power consumption and further provide the touch point can be confirmed very quickly and accurately.
Regarding claim 13, Huang teaches the apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to receive indications of the touch detection requirements from the host processing circuitry (para [0012] The UI control unit 120 is configured for identifying an effective touch region(s) displayed on the touch screen 100, and transmitting region identifying signals to the scan controlling unit 130. The effective touch region here refers to a region on the user interface of the touch screen 100, which is provided for users to touch and operate an electronic device equipped with the touch input device 10. For example, "OK", "QUIT" buttons displayed on the user interface of the touch screen 100 are the effective touch regions for they are provided for users to confirm or cancel a former operation. The region identifying signals include the number and the locations of the effective touch regions.).
Claim(s) 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (2012/0075205) in view of Kwon (2019/0138148) as applied to claims 2 and 6 above, and further in view of Takada et al. (2018/0275794).
Regarding claim 4, Huang teaches the method; wherein the touch-detection requirements associated with the touch targets comprise at least one of a responsiveness requirement (para [0022] In other alternative embodiments, the more numbers of scan regions than that of the effective touch regions are determined according to actual needs, for reducing the probability of lost detection on the effective touch regions. For example, two or more scan regions covering an effective touch region, which is frequently used is also preferred.).
Huang and Kwon fails to teach, wherein the touch-detection requirements associated with the touch targets comprise at least one of a resolution requirement; as claimed.
Takada teaches a method performed by an apparatus, the method comprising: touch-detection requirements (para [0050] The touch detection device 1 detects the touch operation to the detection surface); wherein the touch-detection requirements associated with the touch targets comprise at least one of a responsiveness requirement and a resolution requirement (para [0112] The fourth embodiment can satisfy both the resolution and the report rate of the touch detection in the region where the detection electrodes Rx included in the two groups are located. The fourth embodiment can also set the report rate of the touch detection in the regions where the first and second selected electrodes are located equal to that in the region where the detection electrodes Rx included in the two groups are located.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Huang and Kwon with the teachings of Takada, because this will result in detecting touch while also reducing the size and cost of the detection circuit (Takada: para [0005]).
Regarding claim 9, Huang teaches the method; wherein the touch-detection requirements associated with the touch targets comprise at least one of a responsiveness requirement (para [0022] In other alternative embodiments, the more numbers of scan regions than that of the effective touch regions are determined according to actual needs, for reducing the probability of lost detection on the effective touch regions. For example, two or more scan regions covering an effective touch region, which is frequently used is also preferred.).
Huang and Kwon fails to teach, wherein the touch-detection requirements associated with the touch targets comprise at least one of a resolution requirement; as claimed.
Takada teaches a method performed by an apparatus, the method comprising: touch-detection requirements (para [0050] The touch detection device 1 detects the touch operation to the detection surface); wherein the touch-detection requirements associated with the touch targets comprise at least one of a responsiveness requirement and a resolution requirement (para [0112] The fourth embodiment can satisfy both the resolution and the report rate of the touch detection in the region where the detection electrodes Rx included in the two groups are located. The fourth embodiment can also set the report rate of the touch detection in the regions where the first and second selected electrodes are located equal to that in the region where the detection electrodes Rx included in the two groups are located.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Huang and Kwon with the teachings of Takada, because this will result in detecting touch while also reducing the size and cost of the detection circuit (Takada: para [0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 10 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 5, prior art of record fails to teach the following claim limitations of “wherein selecting the excitation frequencies comprises deciding how many excitation frequencies are needed simultaneously according to touch-detection requirements associated with the touch targets and, responsive to the number of needed excitation frequencies exceeding the number of excitation frequencies available for simultaneous excitation of sensing lines, selecting first and second subsets of the available excitation frequencies that together sum to the number of needed excitation frequencies, and wherein reading the touch sensor comprises performing a first read using the first subset of available excitation frequencies and performing a second read using the second subset of available excitation frequencies.”; in combination with all other claim limitations. Regarding claim 10, prior art of record fails to teach the following claim limitations of “ wherein selecting the excitation frequencies comprises deciding how many excitation frequencies are needed simultaneously according to touch-detection requirements associated with the touch targets and, responsive to the number of needed excitation frequencies exceeding the number of excitation frequencies available for simultaneous excitation of sensing lines, selecting first and second subsets of the available excitation frequencies that together sum to the number of needed excitation frequencies, and wherein reading the touch sensor comprises performing a first read using the first subset of available excitation frequencies and performing a second read using the second subset of available excitation frequencies.”; in combination with all other claim limitations. Regarding claim 14, prior art of record fails to teach the following claim limitations of “wherein, to select the excitation frequencies, the processing circuitry is configured to decide how many excitation frequencies are needed simultaneously according to touch-detection requirements associated with the touch targets and, responsive to the number of needed excitation frequencies exceeding the number of excitation frequencies available for simultaneous excitation of sensing lines, select first and second subsets of the available excitation frequencies that together sum to the number of needed excitation frequencies, and wherein reading the touch sensor comprises performing a first read using the first subset of available excitation frequencies and performing a second read using the second subset of available excitation frequencies.”; in combination with all other claim limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Han et al. (2018/0329563) teaches A touch system includes a touch panel, a stylus pen and a touch sensing controller. The touch panel includes a plurality of driving electrodes and a plurality of sensing electrodes. The stylus pen provides the touch panel with a pen frequency signal set for detecting a position of a stylus pen and a pressure of the stylus pen. The touch sensing controller outputs a plurality of driving signals having different frequency components to the touch panel and determines at least one of touch coordinates of a finger and touch coordinates of the stylus pen based on a plurality of sensing signals received from the touch panel.
Han et al. (2016/0195990) teaches An electronic device is provided. The electronic device includes a touch panel including a plurality of transmission electrode lines and a plurality of receiving electrode lines and a touch panel operation module configured to select a part of the plurality of transmission electrode lines and the plurality of receiving electrode lines and to sense a partial area of the touch panel based on a sensing mode.
/PREMAL R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624