DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2011/010539 A1 in which US 2012/0107619 A1 to Kitagawa et al. is used as an English equivalent. (hereinafter Kitagawa) as cited by the Applicant in IDS file dated 07/22/2025.
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 5, Kitagawa teaches an aqueous coating composition comprising a hydroxyl-containing acrylic resin (para 349-350) and a block isocyanate group-containing urethane resin (para 353), wherein the block isocyanate group- containing urethane resin has a Mw of 2,000-50,000 (para 253). Specifically, in Example 6, urethane resin emulsion C-4, Kitagawa teaches a block isocyanate group-containing urethane resin obtained from a reaction of hydrogenated methylene diphenyl diisocyanate (MDI), methylethylketoxim, and polycarbonate diol which has an Mw of 49,3000, (See Table 1, para 361, and Example 6). Although, Table 1 of Kitagawa states “Mean Particle Diameter nm,” this appears to be a typographical/translation error because a machine translation of Table 1 from the parent WO 2011/010539 A1 listed below shows “weight average molecular weight” instead.
This is further exemplified in para 353 of Kitagawa which cites that Example 3 has a Mw of 11,3000 and acid value of 19.9 in para 353, and this matches the data in the above Table 1. The above urethane resin emulsion C-4 also meets the claimed blocked polyisocyanate compound of claims 1 and 2, with hydrogenated MDI as the polyisocyanate (b1), the methylethylketoxim as the blocking agent (b2), and the polycarbonate diol as the spacer (b3). Kitagawa further teaches the above may further contain a pigment (para 268), and used to form a colored coating film by applying the coating composition on a substrate and heating/bake drying to form a film (para 35 and 307-313) wherein the heat/baking is at a preheating temperature of 60-80 deg C and air blowing at 25-80 deg C (para 336-337) and heat cured at a temperature of 80-180 deg C, preferably 110 deg C (para 304 and 347), which meets the claimed curing temperatures.
Kitagawa also teaches in Example 6, the above urethane resin emulsion C-4 is mixed in an aqueous coating composition with a hydroxyl-containing acrylic resin, water, and melamine resin. (See Example 6, Table 2, para 371), which meets the claimed components (A) and (C) of claims 1 and 5.
Regarding claim 3 and 4, Kitagawa specifically cites diethyl malonate as a blocking agent in Example 8 of Table 1, (Table 1, Example 8, urethane resin emulsion C-6, para 366-367), and polyethylene glycol (PEG1000) as a polyol component in the block isocyanate group-containing urethane resin (See Table 1, Example 15, urethane resin emulsion C-13, para 361). The above diethyl malonate meets the claimed methylene-based blocking agent as cited by the Applicant in para 134 of their US publication and the above PEG1000 meets the claimed polyether polyol.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2009/0264578 A1 to Minaki et al. (hereinafter Minaki) as cited by the Applicant in IDS file dated 07/22/2025.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, and 5, Minaki teaches a blocked-isocyanate group containing reactive surfactant (D-1) having a Mw of 30,000 and obtained by reacting 4-cumylphenol, styrene, polyethylene glycol, and hexamethylene diisocyanate (HDI), (para 187-188), which meets the claimed blocked polyisocyanate compound of claims 1, 2 and 4, with HDI as the polyisocyanate (b1), the cumyl phenol as the blocking agent (b2), and the polyethylene glycol as the spacer (b3). Minaki also teaches an aqueous dispersion coating in Example 1 CL-1, where the above blocked-isocyanate group containing reactive surfactant (D-1) is mixed in a solution with water, a hydroxyl-containing acrylic polymer (Desmohene A575X), and a curing agent (See Example 1 CL-1, Table 2, para 193-195), which meets the claimed component (A) of claim 1. Minaki further teaches the aqueous dispersion coating may include a coloring agent (para 125 and 128), and the above aqueous dispersion coating is applied on an object and baked at a temperature of 100 deg C or higher to form a cured coating film (para 184-185).
Regarding claim 5, Minaki teaches the aqueous dispersion can include resin (a) which includes melamine resins. (para 21).
Conclusion
/HA S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766