Response to Amendments and Arguments
Amendments and arguments filed on 08/07/2026 have been fully considered and are not found to place the application in a condition for allowance.
Regarding point ‘A’ of arguments, the Office has performed further search and consideration based on which a content appearing to be world-locked positioned in a physical environment is found to be obvious according to the teachings of the prior art. This limitation is not found to place the application in a condition for allowance.
Regarding point ‘B’ of arguments, the applicant has erroneously limited the teachings of Chen to only a virtual reality device and asserts “there is no motivation to modify the primary reference Chen with the alleged ‘transmissive display’ because doing so invariably changes the fundamental principle of operation in virtual reality…”. The Office respectfully disagrees. In contrary to the assertions of the applicant, Chen is not focused on the type of head mounted display (VR, AR, XR, …). Rather, Chen is focused on gaze tracking for a wearable display device to determine which portions of the display is to be rendered at high resolution for the purpose of increasing the performance of the device. In fact, Chen teaches the use of such a system in “augmented reality glasses” (see ¶ 23), which provide a view of the outside world to the user augmented with virtual elements. Accordingly, a combination of Chen in view of Muramoto does not change the gaze tracking principles as taught by Chen and merely performs the rendering of virtual elements for an HMD as taught by Chen for augmented reality glasses including a transmissive display as taught by Muramoto.
Point of argument ‘C’ is similarly moot as mentioned above. The assumption of the applicant that the teachings of Chen are only applicable within a VR environment is erroneous. Chen clearly discloses the use of gaze tracking principles in augmented reality glasses.
Point ‘D’ of arguments is moot because the applicant has erroneously equated a “half mirror” to a mirror. Muramoto clearly teaches: “The virtual image forming optical element 335, 336 is an aspherical half mirror, which functions as a combiner enabling to observe the external view through the transparent protection window and the image from LCD 339, 340 in a superimposed manner.”
Accordingly, the arguments are not found persuasive and the amendments are not found to place the application in a condition for allowance.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: “generate the first field of view and a second of view … comprises an transition…”. Recommended correction: second field of view; a transition. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., US 2018/0192058 A1, hereinafter “Chen”, in view of Muramoto et al., US 6,507,359 B1, hereinafter “Muramoto”, and further in view of Haddick et al., US 2016/0018654 A1, hereinafter “Haddick”.
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a system comprising: a wearable head device (¶ 50, HMD) comprising a display (fig. 1, element 101, ¶ 27) comprising a first region (fig. 2A, region 203, ¶ 52) and a second region (fig. 2A, region 204, ¶ 52); and one or more processors in communication with the wearable head device (fig. 1A, see processors 170 and or 120), the one or more processors, when invoked, is to execute a set of acts, the set of acts comprising: presenting, in the first region of the display, content in a first position in the first region in a first display resolution within a first field of view perceived by the user (fig. 2A, ¶ 52), wherein a location and a size of the first region are adjusted based at least in part on an eye position of the user of the wearable head device (¶ 51), predicting, based at least in part on the eye position, that the content presented in the first region in the first display resolution will move to the second region (¶ 53-54, the content in the shape of a tree has moved from the first region in fig. 2B to the second region in fig. 2A, also see ¶ 101 for predicting based on gaze tracking data or eye position), the second region displaying in a second display resolution (¶ 52), and the second display resolution different from the first display resolution (¶ 52); and in accordance with the prediction that the content presented in the first region will move to the second region, reducing appearance of the content to the user in preparation for disappearance of the content as perceived by the user at least by updating a resolution of the content into an updated resolution that falls between the first display resolution and the second display resolution (¶ 52, see “transition area” between regions 203 and 204 to gradually transition between high and low resolution areas; also see fig. 7, element 702 and ¶ 101; areas where the user’s gaze is no longer directed to include content that is prepared to disappear as perceived by the user because the user no longer gazes at the content, by going through a transition from high to low resolution).
Chen does not specifically teach a transmissive display.
Muramoto, however, clearly teaches a transmissive display (fig. 5, elements 335 and 336, see col. 8, line 65 to col. 9, line 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen in view of Muramoto. The references teach HMD devices and Muramoto further teaches that the display may be transparent. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to allow the user to view display content superimposed on real external objects, thereby providing an augmented reality viewing experience.
Chen and Muramoto do not specifically teach the first position dependent at least in part on where the wearable head device is positioned in a physical environment, and the content, when rendered, appears to be world-locked positioned in the physical environment; predicting, based at least in part on the eye position and a positional change in the first position in the physical environment.
Haddick teaches the first position dependent at least in part on where the wearable head device is positioned in a physical environment (¶ 638, “the processor further adapted to present a world-locked positioned digital content in the main field of view and transition the presentation of the world-locked positioned digital content to the extended field of view as the head-worn display changes position causing the world-locked positioned digital content to transition out of the main field of view”), and the content, when rendered, appears to be world-locked positioned in the physical environment (fig. 164, ¶ 638); predicting, based at least in part on the eye position and a positional change in the first position in the physical environment (¶ 629-630).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen, Muramoto and Haddick. Chen in view of Muramoto teach a transmissive HMD wherein content that is predicted to fall outside of a gazing field of a user is displayed at a lower resolution. Haddick further teaches prediction of content that is world-locked and falls outside of the user’s view based on a user’s gaze and the movement of the HMD. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to further utilize the movement of the HMD for reducing the resolution of content that is no longer of interest to the user, thereby further reducing “the transmission bandwidth requirements and computational load of high resolution video processing, while still preserving essential details in regions of interest in the image presented by the display” as taught by Chen (¶ 50), while achieving “smooth transitioning of world-locked content” as taught by Haddick (¶ 646), ultimately improving the user’s experience and usage with the HMD.
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches a method, comprising: presenting, in a first region of a display of a wearable head device, content in a first position in the first region in a first display resolution within a first field of view perceived by a user (fig. 2A, region 203, ¶ 52), wherein a location and a size of the first region are adjusted based at least in part on an eye position of the user of the wearable head device (¶ 51); predicting, based at least in part on the eye position, that the content presented in the first region in the first display resolution will move to the second region (¶ 53-54, the content in the shape of a tree has moved from the first region in fig. 2B to the second region in fig. 2A, also see ¶ 101 for predicting based on gaze tracking data or eye position), the second region displaying in a second display resolution (¶ 52), and the second display resolution different from the first display resolution (¶ 52); and in accordance with the prediction that the content presented in the first region will move to the second region, reducing appearance of the content to the user in preparation for disappearance of the content as perceived by the user at least by updating a resolution of the content into an updated resolution that falls between the first display resolution and the second display resolution (¶ 52, see “transition area” between regions 203 and 204 to gradually transition between high and low resolution areas; also see fig. 7, element 702 and ¶ 101; areas where the user’s gaze is no longer directed to include content that is prepared to disappear as perceived by the user because the user no longer gazes at the content, by going through a transition from high to low resolution).
Chen does not specifically teach a transmissive display.
Muramoto, however, clearly teaches a transmissive display (fig. 5, elements 335 and 336, see col. 8, line 65 to col. 9, line 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen in view of Muramoto. The references teach HMD devices and Muramoto further teaches that the display may be transparent. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to allow the user to view display content superimposed on real external objects, thereby providing an augmented reality viewing experience.
Chen and Muramoto do not specifically teach the first position dependent at least in part on where the wearable head device is positioned in a physical environment, and the content, when rendered, appears to be world-locked positioned in the physical environment; predicting, based at least in part on the eye position and a positional change in the first position in the physical environment.
Haddick teaches the first position dependent at least in part on where the wearable head device is positioned in a physical environment (¶ 638, “the processor further adapted to present a world-locked positioned digital content in the main field of view and transition the presentation of the world-locked positioned digital content to the extended field of view as the head-worn display changes position causing the world-locked positioned digital content to transition out of the main field of view”), and the content, when rendered, appears to be world-locked positioned in the physical environment (fig. 164, ¶ 638); predicting, based at least in part on the eye position and a positional change in the first position in the physical environment (¶ 629-630).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen, Muramoto and Haddick. Chen in view of Muramoto teach a transmissive HMD wherein content that is predicted to fall outside of a gazing field of a user is displayed at a lower resolution. Haddick further teaches prediction of content that is world-locked and falls outside of the user’s view based on a user’s gaze and the movement of the HMD. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to further utilize the movement of the HMD for reducing the resolution of content that is no longer of interest to the user, thereby further reducing “the transmission bandwidth requirements and computational load of high resolution video processing, while still preserving essential details in regions of interest in the image presented by the display” as taught by Chen (¶ 50), while achieving “smooth transitioning of world-locked content” as taught by Haddick (¶ 646), ultimately improving the user’s experience and usage with the HMD.
Regarding claim 20, Chen teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform (¶ 130) a set of acts, the set of acts comprising: presenting, in the first region of a display of a wearable head device (fig. 1, element 101, ¶ 27), content in a first position in the first region in a first display resolution within a first field of view perceived by the user (fig. 2A, ¶ 52), wherein a location and a size of the first region are adjusted based at least in part on an eye position of the user of the wearable head device (¶ 51), predicting, based at least in part on the eye position, that the content presented in the first region in the first display resolution will move to the second region of the display (¶ 53-54, the content in the shape of a tree has moved from the first region in fig. 2B to the second region in fig. 2A, also see ¶ 101 for predicting based on gaze tracking data or eye position), the second region displaying in a second display resolution (¶ 52), and the second display resolution different from the first display resolution (¶ 52); and in accordance with the prediction that the content presented in the first region will move to the second region, gradually modifying appearance of the content to the user into modified appearance when the content approached an edge of the first region, wherein the modified appearance comprises a transition in resolution of the content from the first display resolution to the second display resolution (¶ 52, see “transition area” between regions 203 and 204 to gradually transition between high and low resolution areas; also see fig. 7, element 702 and ¶ 101; areas where the user’s gaze is no longer directed to include content that is prepared to disappear as perceived by the user because the user no longer gazes at the content, by going through a transition from high to low resolution).
Chen does not specifically teach a transmissive display.
Muramoto, however, clearly teaches a transmissive display (fig. 5, elements 335 and 336, see col. 8, line 65 to col. 9, line 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen in view of Muramoto. The references teach HMD devices and Muramoto further teaches that the display may be transparent. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to allow the user to view display content superimposed on real external objects, thereby providing an augmented reality viewing experience.
Chen and Muramoto do not specifically teach the first position dependent at least in part on where the wearable head device is positioned in a physical environment, and the content, when rendered, appears to be world-locked positioned in the physical environment; and predicting, based at least in part on the eye position and a positional change in the first position in the physical environment.
Haddick teaches the first position dependent at least in part on where the wearable head device is positioned in a physical environment (¶ 638, “the processor further adapted to present a world-locked positioned digital content in the main field of view and transition the presentation of the world-locked positioned digital content to the extended field of view as the head-worn display changes position causing the world-locked positioned digital content to transition out of the main field of view”), and the content, when rendered, appears to be world-locked positioned in the physical environment (fig. 164, ¶ 638); predicting, based at least in part on the eye position and a positional change in the first position in the physical environment (¶ 629-630).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen, Muramoto and Haddick. Chen in view of Muramoto teach a transmissive HMD wherein content that is predicted to fall outside of a gazing field of a user is displayed at a lower resolution. Haddick further teaches prediction of content that is world-locked and falls outside of the user’s view based on a user’s gaze and the movement of the HMD. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to further utilize the movement of the HMD for reducing the resolution of content that is no longer of interest to the user, thereby further reducing “the transmission bandwidth requirements and computational load of high resolution video processing, while still preserving essential details in regions of interest in the image presented by the display” as taught by Chen (¶ 50), while achieving “smooth transitioning of world-locked content” as taught by Haddick (¶ 646), ultimately improving the user’s experience and usage with the HMD.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Chen teaches updating the resolution comprising gradually modifying the appearance of the content into modified appearance when the content approached an edge of the first region, and the modified appearance comprises a transition with one or more intermediate resolutions from the first display resolution to the second display resolution (¶ 52, see “transition area” between regions 203 and 204 to gradually transition between high and low resolution areas; also see fig. 7, element 702 and ¶ 101; the transition area includes such one or more intermediate resolutions).
Chen does not specifically teach that the one or more processors are further configured to present a stereo image and generate the first field of view and a second field of view in which the user is presented with digital content and through which the user perceives at least a portion of the physical environment.
Muramoto, however, teaches the one or more processors are further configured to present a stereo image (col. 9, lines 44-65 and figs. 6-7), and generate the first field of view and a second field of view in which the user is presented with digital content and through which the user perceives at least a portion of the physical environment (col. 8, line 58 to col. 9, line 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen in view of Muramoto. The references teach HMD devices and Muramoto further teaches that stereo images may be provided to the user. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to allow the user to view display content superimposed stereoscopically on real external objects, thereby providing an enhanced augmented reality viewing experience.
Regarding claim 3, Chen does not teach that a first display portion and a second display portion, and: the one or more processors, when invoked, further output a first component of the stereo image via the first display portion and a second component of the stereo image via the second display portion.
Muramoto, however, teaches that the transmissive display comprises a first display portion (fig. 5, LCD 339) and a second display portion (fig. 5, LCD 349), wherein: the one or more processors are further configured to output a first component of the stereo image via the first display portion (fig. 10A) and a second component of the stereo image via the second display portion (fig. 10B, also see col. 11, lines 7-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen in view of Muramoto. The references teach HMD devices and Muramoto further teaches that stereo images may be provided to the user. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to allow the user to view display content superimposed stereoscopically on real external objects, thereby providing an enhanced augmented reality viewing experience.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Chen teaches that the content is associated with the first field of view (fig. 2A, the triangle shape), and the one or more processors, when invoked, present separate content (fig. 2A, the tree shape) associated with a second field of view different from the first field of view (note the fields of view according to the user gaze 202).
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches that the display is further configured to present at least a portion of the separate content, concurrently with presenting the content (see fig. 2A wherein the contents are presented concurrently).
Chen does not specifically teach a transmissive display.
Muramoto, however, clearly teaches a transmissive display (fig. 5, elements 335 and 336, see col. 8, line 65 to col. 9, line 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen in view of Muramoto. The references teach HMD devices and Muramoto further teaches that the display may be transparent. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to allow the user to view display content superimposed on real external objects, thereby providing an augmented reality viewing experience.
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Chen teaches that a second field of view associated with the second region is wider than the first field of view associated with the first region (fig. 2A, see the wider field of view associated with region 204 compared to region 203).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Chen does not specifically teach that a second field of view associated with the second region is narrower than the first field of view associated with the first region.
However, Chen teaches that the field of view associated with the first and second region are fully adjustable (¶ 85-87).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Chen in order to set the field of view associated with the second region to be narrower than the first region. For example, Chen teaches that during a zoom out action the size or field of view of the first region is increased. In other words, the field of view associated with the second region may be narrower than a field of view associated with the first region during a zoom out action. One would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce motion sickness as clearly taught by Chen in ¶ 87.
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Chen teaches that the eye position is determined via one or more sensors of the wearable head device (fig. 1, elements 104, ¶ 30).
Chen and Muramoto do not specifically teach that the first region comprises a central portion of the transmissive display, and the second region comprises a peripheral portion of the transmissive display.
Haddick, however, teaches that the first region comprises a central portion of the transmissive display, and the second region comprises a peripheral portion of the transmissive display (fig. 164, ¶ 630 and ¶ 638).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen, Muramoto and Haddick. Chen in view of Muramoto teach a transmissive HMD wherein content that is predicted to fall outside of a gazing field of a user is displayed at a lower resolution. Haddick further teaches prediction of content that is world-locked and falls outside of the user’s view based on a user’s gaze and the movement of the HMD. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to further utilize the movement of the HMD for reducing the resolution of content that is no longer of interest to the user, thereby further reducing “the transmission bandwidth requirements and computational load of high resolution video processing, while still preserving essential details in regions of interest in the image presented by the display” as taught by Chen (¶ 50), while achieving “smooth transitioning of world-locked content” as taught by Haddick (¶ 646), ultimately improving the user’s experience and usage with the HMD.
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches that the one or more sensors comprise an inertial measurement unit, a GPS sensor, an accelerometer, or any combination thereof (¶ 31-32, see the inertial sensor 115).
Regarding claims 10 and 18, Chen teaches that the location and the size of the first region are adjusted further based at least in part on a focal plane of the user (¶ 51, “directly in front of the center of gaze 202” which defines a focal plane).
Regarding claims 11 and 19, Chen teaches that the focal plane is determined based at least in part on the eye position (¶ 51 wherein the focal plane is determined based on gaze tracking which determines the eye position per ¶ 30).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12,393,030, hereinafter “the patent”, in view of Haddick.
Instant Application
The Patent
A system comprising: a wearable head device comprising a transmissive display comprising a first region and a second region; and one or more processors in communication with the wearable head device, the one or more processors configured to: present, in the first region of the transmissive display, content in a first display resolution, wherein a location and a size of the first region are adjusted based on an eye position of a user of the wearable head device,
predict, based on the eye position, that the content presented in the first region in the first display resolution will move to the second region, the second region configured to display in a second display resolution, the second display resolution different from the first display resolution,
and in accordance with the prediction that the content presented in the first region will move to the second region, update a resolution of the content, the updated resolution of the content between the first display resolution and the second display resolution.
1. A system comprising: a wearable head device comprising: a transmissive display configured to present a first field of view, the first field of view comprising a first region having a first display resolution, and one or more sensors; and one or more processors in communication with the wearable head device, the one or more processors configured to: determine, via the one or more sensors, an eye position of a user of the wearable head device, determine, via the one or more sensors, a convergence of a left eye and a right eye of the user of the wearable head device, determine, based on the convergence of the left eye and the right eye, a focal plane, output an image having a second field of view different from the first field of view, the second field of view comprising a second region having a second display resolution different from the first display resolution, wherein a location and a size of the second region in the second field of view are adjusted based on the eye position and the focal plane, adjust a first zoom level, wherein the transmissive display is further configured to present the second region of the second field of view, concurrently with presenting the first region of the first field of view,
predict, based on the eye position, that content presented in the first region in the first display resolution will move to the second region,
and in accordance with the prediction that the content presented in the first region will move to the second region, update a resolution of the content, the updated resolution of the content between the first display resolution and the second display resolution.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein: the one or more processors are further configured to present a stereo image.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein: the one or more processors are further configured to output a stereo image of the second field of view, and the presenting the second region comprises presenting the stereo image.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the transmissive display comprises a first display portion and a second display portion, wherein: the one or more processors are further configured to output a first component of the stereo image via the first display portion and a second component of the stereo image via the second display portion.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the transmissive display comprises a left eye display and a right eye display, wherein: the one or more processors are further configured to output a left eye component of the stereo image and a right eye component of the stereo image, the left eye display is configured to present the left eye component to a left eye, and the right eye display is configured to present the right eye component to a right eye.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein: the first content is associated with a first field of view, and the one or more processors are further configured to present second content associated with a second field of view different from the first field of view.
1. … output an image having a second field of view different from the first field of view…
5. The system of claim 4, wherein the transmissive display is further configured to present at least a portion of the second content, concurrently with presenting the first content.
1. … wherein the transmissive display is further configured to present the second region of the second field of view, concurrently with presenting the first region of the first field of view…
6. The system of claim 1, wherein a field of view associated with the second region is wider than a field of view associated with the first region.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the second field of view is wider than the first field of view.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein a field of view associated with the second region is narrower than a field of view associated with the first region.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the second field of view is narrower than the first field of view.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the eye position is determined via one or more sensors of the wearable head device.
1. … determine, via the one or more sensors, an eye position of a user of the wearable head device…
9. The system of claim 8, wherein the one or more sensors comprise an inertial measurement unit, a GPS sensor, an accelerometer, or any combination thereof.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more sensors comprise an inertial measurement unit, a GPS sensor, an accelerometer, or any combination thereof.
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the adjusting the location and the size of the first region is further based on a focal plane of the user.
1. … wherein a location and a size of the second region in the second field of view are adjusted based on the eye position and the focal plane…
11. The system of claim 10, wherein the focal plane is determined based on the eye position.
1. … determine, based on the convergence of the left eye and the right eye, a focal plane…
12. A method, comprising: presenting, in a first region of a transmissive display, content in a first display resolution, wherein a location and a size of the first region are adjusted based on an eye position of a user of the wearable head device; predicting, based on the eye position, that the content presented in the first region in the first display resolution will move to a second region of the transmissive display, the second region configured to display in a second display resolution, the second display resolution different from the first display resolution, and in accordance with the prediction that the content presented in the first region will move to the second region, updating a resolution of the content, the updated resolution of the content between the first display resolution and the second display resolution.
11. A method comprising: presenting, via a transmissive display of a wearable head device, a first field of view comprising a first region having a first display resolution; determining, via one or more sensors of the wearable head device, an eye position of a user of the wearable head device; determining, via the one or more sensors, a convergence of a left eye and a right eye of the user of the wearable head device; determining, based on the convergence of the left eye and the right eye, a focal plane; outputting, via one or more processors in communication with the wearable head device, an image having a second field of view different from the first field of view, the second field of view comprising a second region having a second display resolution different from the first display resolution, wherein a location and a size of the second region in the second field of view are adjusted based on the eye position and the focal plane; adjusting a first zoom level; presenting, via the transmissive display, concurrently with presenting the first region of the first field of view, the second region of the second field of view; predicting, based on the eye position, that content presented in the first region in the first display resolution will move to the second region, and in accordance with the prediction that the content presented in the first region will move to the second region, updating a resolution of the content, the updated resolution of the content between the first display resolution and the second display resolution.
13. The method of claim 12, further comprising presenting a stereo image.
12. The method of claim 11, further comprising: outputting, via the one or more processors, a stereo image of the second field of view, wherein the presenting the second region comprises presenting the stereo image.
14. The method of claim 12, wherein the first content is associated with a first field of view, the method further comprising presenting second content associated with a second field of view different from the first field of view.
11. … outputting, via one or more processors in communication with the wearable head device, an image having a second field of view different from the first field of view…
15. The method of claim 12, wherein a field of view associated with the second region is wider than a field of view associated with the first region.
16. The method of claim 11, wherein the second field of view is wider than the first field of view.
16. The method of claim 12, wherein a field of view associated with the second region is narrower than a field of view associated with the first region.
17. The method of claim 11, wherein the second field of view is narrower than the first field of view.
17. The method of claim 12, wherein the eye position is determined via one or more sensors of the wearable head device.
11. … determining, via one or more sensors of the wearable head device, an eye position of a user of the wearable head device…
18. The method of claim 12, wherein the adjusting the location and the size of the first region is further based on a focal plane of the user.
11. … wherein a location and a size of the second region in the second field of view are adjusted based on the eye position and the focal plane…
19. The method of claim 18, wherein the focal plane is determined based on the eye position.
11. … determining, based on the convergence of the left eye and the right eye, a focal plane…
20. A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform a method comprising: presenting, in a first region of a transmissive display, content in a first display resolution, wherein a location and a size of the first region are adjusted based on an eye position of a user of the wearable head device; predicting, based on the eye position, that the content presented in the first region in the first display resolution will move to a second region of the transmissive display,
the second region configured to display in a second display resolution, the second display resolution different from the first display resolution,
and in accordance with the prediction that the content presented in the first region will move to the second region, updating a resolution of the content, the updated resolution of the content between the first display resolution and the second display resolution.
18. A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform a method comprising: presenting, via a transmissive display of a wearable head device, a first field of view comprising a first region having a first display resolution; determining, via one or more sensors of the wearable head device, an eye position of a user of the wearable head device; determining, via the one or more sensors, a convergence of a left eye and a right eye of the user of the wearable head device; determining, based on the convergence of the left eye and the right eye, a focal plane; outputting an image having a second field of view different from the first field of view, the second field of view comprising
a second region having a second display resolution different from the first display resolution, wherein a location and a size of the second region in the second field of view are adjusted based on the eye position and the focal plane; adjusting a first zoom level; presenting, via the transmissive display, concurrently with presenting the first region of the first field of view, the second region of the second field of view; predicting, based on the eye position, that content presented in the first region in the first display resolution will move to the second region,
and in accordance with the prediction that the content presented in the first region will move to the second region, updating a resolution of the content, the updated resolution of the content between the first display resolution and the second display resolution.
Haddick teaches the first position dependent at least in part on where the wearable head device is positioned in a physical environment (¶ 638, “the processor further adapted to present a world-locked positioned digital content in the main field of view and transition the presentation of the world-locked positioned digital content to the extended field of view as the head-worn display changes position causing the world-locked positioned digital content to transition out of the main field of view”), and the content, when rendered, appears to be world-locked positioned in the physical environment (fig. 164, ¶ 638); predicting, based at least in part on the eye position and a positional change in the first position in the physical environment (¶ 629-630).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of the patent and Haddick. The references teach content that is predicted to fall outside of a field of view of a user is displayed at a lower resolution. Haddick further teaches prediction of content that is world-locked and falls outside of the user’s view based on a user’s gaze and the movement of the HMD. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to further utilize the movement of the HMD for reducing the resolution of content that is no longer of interest to the user, thereby achieving “smooth transitioning of world-locked content” as taught by Haddick (¶ 646), ultimately improving the user’s experience and usage with the HMD.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEPEHR AZARI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621