DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to original application filed on 7-22-25. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b) (3). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over US 2019/0157819 to HIEDA (“HIEDA”) in view of US 2023/0366922 to Nie et al. (“Nie”).
Regarding claim 1, HIEDA disclose an vehicle control unit having a gateway function (figs. 1-5), comprising: a circuit board (circuit board 50) and a power supply circuit ([0030], power supply sources include a secondary battery and an inverter device); an input (power connectors 31, 32, and 33 mediate transmission and reception of electric power) and output module having a plurality of board connection terminals ([0034], signal connectors 41, 42, and 43 include second connecting members 44 extending from the signal connectors 41, 42, and 43 to the first circuit board 51) and a plurality of external connection terminals (power connectors 31, 32, and 33 mediate transmission and reception of electric power) that are electrically connected to an external device ([0014], rotary electric machine) and that provide input and output functions to the circuit board; and a power distribution circuit (electronic control unit 100) configured to distribute a power supply, wherein the board connection terminal is electrically connected to the circuit board (figs. 1-5).
But, HIEDA does not discloses a processor,
However, Nie disclose a processor (fig. 4, processor 402 of the circuit board 204),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HIEDA by adding processor as part of its configuration as taught by Nie, in order to executing the input power instructions and performing calculations in the power distribution.
Regarding claim 2, HIEDA disclose a holding member having a slot and being configured to hold the input (both 30 and 40 are in housing 1 has the outer shape of a rectangular solid) and output module (both 30 and 40 are in housing 1 has the outer shape of a rectangular solid), wherein the input and output module is provided corresponding to the slot, and a portion of the input and output module is held in the corresponding slot (30 and 40 has different slot), and the external connection terminal is capable of being connected to the external device through the corresponding slot (rotary electric machine connected with 30 and 40).
Regarding claim 3, HIEDA disclose the holding member includes a housing (housing 1) that houses the circuit board, the housing has the slot in a top wall facing (see fig. circuit board 50 in side housing 1) the circuit board, and the external connection terminal is held in place in the corresponding slots of the housing (30 and 40 connected to housing 1).
Regarding claim 4, HIEDA disclose the board connection terminal ([0034], signal connectors 41, 42, and 43 include second connecting members 44 extending from the signal connectors 41, 42, and 43 to the first circuit board 51) and the external connection terminal extend from a main body of the input and output module ([0040], power connectors 31, 32, and 33 are connected to the electrical connection module 60 via the cables 31a, 32a, and 33a, and are further connected to the first circuit board 51 via the first connecting members 61), the holding member includes an internal holding member (70) that is housed in a housing together with the circuit board (The body housing 10 includes a wall 14 defining an accommodation space 70 on the inner side thereof, and a base 15 extending from the wall 14 into the accommodation space 70), a body portion of the input and output module is inserted into the corresponding slot of the internal holding member (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5 HIEDA disclose communication circuits in multiple systems (signal connectors 41, 42, and 43).
Regarding claim 6, HIEDA disclose a plurality of types of communication circuits ([0029], second connector group 40 includes a first signal connector 41, the second signal connector 42, and a third signal connector 43).
Regarding claim 7, HIEDA disclose the plurality of types of communication circuits includes at least two of a CAN circuit, an ETHERNET circuit, and a LIN circuit ([0029], second connector group 40 includes a first signal connector 41, the second signal connector 42, and a third signal connector 43).
Regarding claim 8, HIEDA disclose the processor performs an input and output for a plurality of devices having different functions (electronic control unit 100 and [0031,] The signal connectors 41, 42, and 43 are configured to be connected to connectors of a harness extending from sensors, other electronic control units).
Regarding claim 9, HIEDA disclose a plurality of devices having different functions are electrically connected to the external connection terminal (electronic control unit 100 and [0031,] The signal connectors 41, 42, and 43 are configured to be connected to connectors of a harness extending from sensors, other electronic control units).
Regarding claim 10, HIEDA disclose the plurality of devices is at least two of a body ECU (electronic control unit 100 and [0031,] The signal connectors 41, 42, and 43 are configured to be connected to connectors of a harness extending from sensors, other electronic control units), a powertrain ECU, a cockpit ECU, and an ADAS ECU.
Regarding claim 11, HIEDA disclose the circuit board has a plurality of inserted portions ([0036], electrical connection module 60 includes at least one first connecting member 61, and a support member 62 that supports the first connecting member 61) into which the board connection terminals are inserted to electrically connect the board connection terminals to the circuit board, and the number of the inserted portions is greater than the number of the board connection terminals ([0046], Thus, as illustrated in FIG. 5, a first positioning pin 91 can be inserted into the opening 15da of the first positioning hole 15d through the second positioning hole 62c).
Regarding claim 12, HIEDA disclose the input and output module includes a power supply module electrically connected to a battery ([0030], power supply sources include a secondary battery and an inverter device), except for “a diameter of the board connection terminal connected to the battery is longer than the diameter of the other board connection terminals, and the diameter of the external connection terminal connected to the battery is longer than the diameter of the other external connection terminals”.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would recognize that the particular diameter of the board connection terminal used would depend on the desired diameter of the particular system/components used.
Since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 13, HIEDA disclose the power supply module handles a maximum direct current of 60 A or more ([0030], high current with a relatively high current value flows through the power connectors 31, 32, and 33).
Regarding claim 14, HIEDA disclose 14. The vehicle control unit according to claim 1, the input and output module extends in a direction intersecting a mounting surface of the circuit board ([0015], FIG. 2 is a schematic cross-sectional side view illustrating a cross section of the electronic control unit 100 of FIG. 1 parallel to an XZ plane and passing through a second power connector 32 and a second signal connector 42 as viewed in a direction II along a Y-axis) on which the processor is mounted.
21.Regarding claim 15, HIEDA disclose a plurality of the input and output modules are provided (transmit and receiving power with first connector group 30 includes at least one connector. Specifically, the first connector group 30 includes a first power connector 31, the second power connector 32, and a third power connector 33).
22.Regarding claim 16, HIEDA disclose each of the input and output circuit, the power distribution circuit, and the communication circuit is provided in any one of the pluralities of input and output modules ([0014], The connectors include a power connector for transmitting and receiving electric power and a signal connector for transmitting and receiving signals).
23.Regarding claim 17, HIEDA disclose a wire harness is connected to the external connection terminal ([0030], power connectors 31, 32, and 33 are configured to be connected to a harness (also referred to as a "cable") extending from a power supply source, a rotary electric machine).
24.Regarding claim 18, HIEDA disclose the input and output module has a current monitoring circuit ([0031], signal connectors 41, 42, and 43 mediate transmission and reception of signals between the electronic control unit 100 and the sensors, other electronic control units, and so on and A low current flows through the signal connectors 41, 42, and 43) that monitors a current flowing ([0031], The low current has a lower current value than the current flowing through the power connectors 31, 32, and 33) through the wire harness,
But, HIEDA does not disclose turns off a switch to cut off the current flow when an overcurrent occurs.
However, Nie discloses turns off a switch to cut off the current flow when an overcurrent occurs ([0021], an aspect of the present invention, in the FPGA circuit board, the ASIC can further be configured to trim voltage or current to increase accuracy and ASIC 306 can provide and measure voltage and current).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HIEDA by adding ASIC as part of its configuration as taught by Nie, in order to protect the circuit by simulate a power and simulate a response static power consumption, dynamic power consumption, sleep mode power consumption.
25.Regarding claim 19, HIEDA disclose the board connection terminal is connected to the circuit board in an insertable and removable manner ([0041], power connectors 31, 32, and 33 are removably attached to the electrical connection module 60).
26.Regarding claim 20, HIEDA disclose the board connection terminal is soldered to a through-hole land of the circuit board ([0034], second connecting member 44 extends through a second connecting through-hole 51c in the first circuit board 51 so as to be electrically connected to the first circuit board 51).
Conclusion
27. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
YAMAGUCHI et al. US 2023/0001867 Al- An electrical circuit board on which an electronic component forming an electronic control unit disposed between an upstream power supply and a downstream power supply trunk line is mounted. The electrical circuit board includes a first circuit pattern that forms an electrical circuit corresponding to a single power supply voltage of the upstream power supply, a second circuit pattern that forms an electrical circuit corresponding to a plurality of power supply voltages of the upstream power supply, a single power supply connection portion corresponding to connection with an external circuit that supplies the upstream power supply, and an inter-board connection portion corresponding to inter-board connection with another circuit board that supplies the upstream power supply.
/ESAYAS G YESHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2836