Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites in part “configured to rest on a component” at line 3. Claim 9 depends from claim 1, which recites in part “configured to scratch at least one component” at lines 6 – 7. It is unclear if the component referred to in claim 9 is the same as the at least one component of claim 1. For examination purposes, the component of claim 9 will be interpreted as one of the at least one components of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith (European Patent Application Publication No. EP 0825353 A2).
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses a blind rivet fastener for an electrical contact assembly comprising a rivet shaft (shaft) including an elongated, hollow sleeve (2) extending coaxially with a longitudinal center axis (4) of the blind rivet fastener and having an outer sleeve surface (outer surface) (Figs. 1 – 3; column 2, lines 25 – 31); and a rivet head (3) extending radially at a first end of the sleeve (2) (Figs. 1 – 3; column 2, lines 25 – 31), wherein the rivet shaft (shaft) includes at least one ridge (portion 13 which includes tangs 14) configured to scratch at least one component to which the blind rivet fastener is configured to attach (Figs. 2 and 3; column 2, lines 9 – 11; column 2, line 58 – column 3, line 10), and wherein the at least one ridge (portion 13 which includes tangs 14) projects from the rivet head (3) and extends along a portion of the outer sleeve surface (outer surface) (Fig. 2).
Regarding clam 2, Smith further discloses wherein the at least one ridge (portion 13 which includes tangs 14) is configured to establish electrical contact between the blind rivet fastener and the at least one component (column 2, lines 9 – 11).
Regarding claim 3, Smith further discloses wherein the at least one ridge (portion 13 which includes tangs 14) is fixedly attached to the rivet head (3) and to the outer sleeve surface (outer surface) (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Smith further discloses wherein the at least one ridge (portion 13 which includes tangs 14) comprises a scratching surface (tangs 14) for establishing electrical contact (Figs. 2 and 3; column 2, lines 9 – 11; column 2, line 58 – column 3, line 10).
Regarding claim 6, Smith further discloses wherein the scratching surface (tangs 14) is formed by a tip (raised edge 15) of the at least one ridge (portion 13 which includes tangs 14) (Figs. 2 and 3; column 2, line 58 – column 3, line 10).
Regarding claim 7, Smith further discloses wherein the scratching surface (15) is formed by a shoulder surface of the at least one ridge (portion 13 which includes tangs 14), the shoulder surface being inclined in relation to a plane formed by a radial extension of the rivet head (3) (Figs. 2 and 3; column 2, line 58 – column 3, line 10).
Regarding claim 8, Smith further discloses wherein the at least one ridge (portion 13 which includes tangs 14) extends radially from the outer sleeve surface (outer surface), and a radial extension of the at least one ridge (portion 13 which includes tangs 14) is less than a radial extension of the rivet head (3) (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Smith further discloses wherein the at least one ridge (portion 13 which includes tangs 14) comprises two or more ridges (tangs 14), the two or more ridges being arranged around the outer sleeve surface (outer sleeve) with an equal distance between each other in a circumferential direction of the outer sleeve surface (outer sleeve) (Figs. 1 – 3; column 2, line 58 – column 3, line 10).
Regarding claim 12, Smith discloses a fastening arrangement for joining at least one component of an electrical contact assembly, the fastening arrangement comprising a portion of the at least one component forming a component bore extending through the at least one component (column 1, lines 18 – 19; column 2, line 58 – column 3, line 2); and a blind rivet fastener configured to be arranged in the component bore and attach to the at least one component, the blind rivet fastener including a rivet shaft (shaft) including an elongated, hollow sleeve (2) extending coaxially with a longitudinal center axis (4) of the blind rivet fastener and having an outer sleeve surface (outer surface) (Figs. 1 – 3; column 2, lines 25 – 31); and a rivet head (3) extending radially at a first end of the sleeve (2) (Figs. 1 – 3; column 2, lines 25 – 31), wherein the rivet shaft (shaft) includes at least one ridge (portion 13 which includes tangs 14) configured to scratch at least one component to which the blind rivet fastener is configured to attach (Figs. 2 and 3; column 2, lines 9 – 11; column 2, line 58 – column 3, line 10), and wherein the at least one ridge (portion 13 which includes tangs 14) projects from the rivet head (3) and extends along a portion of the outer sleeve surface (outer surface) (Fig. 2).
Claims 1, 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cosenza (U.S. Patent No. US 6,186,717 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Cosenza discloses a blind rivet fastener for an electrical contact assembly comprising a rivet shaft including an elongated, hollow sleeve (12) extending coaxially with a longitudinal center axis of the blind rivet fastener and having an outer sleeve surface (outer surface of sleeve 12 upon which knurled band 22 is formed) (Fig. 3; column 2, lines 9 - 20); and a rivet head (44) extending radially at a first end of the sleeve (12) (Figs. 2 – 3; column 2, lines 61 – 63; column 3, lines 35 - 36), wherein the rivet shaft includes at least one ridge (teeth 26) configured to scratch at least one component (60) to which the blind rivet fastener is configured to attach (Fig. 3; column 2, lines 38 – 41; column 4, lines 9 - 13), and wherein the at least one ridge (teeth 26) projects from the rivet head (44) and extends along a portion of the outer sleeve surface (outer surface of sleeve 12 upon which knurled band 22 is formed) (Fig. 3; column 2, lines 38 – 41; column 4, lines 9 - 13).
Regarding claim 4, Cosenza further discloses wherein the at least one ridge (teeth 26) extends along the portion of the outer sleeve surface (outer surface of sleeve 12 upon which knurled band 22 is formed) in a direction substantially parallel to the longitudinal center axis (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Cosenza discloses a fastening arrangement for joining at least one component of an electrical contact assembly, the fastening arrangement comprising a portion of the at least one component forming a component bore (21) extending through the at least one component (60) (Fig. 3; column 2, lines 17 – 20; column 3, lines 29 - 32); and a blind rivet fastener configured to be arranged in the component bore (21) and attach to the at least one component (60), the blind rivet fastener including a rivet shaft including an elongated, hollow sleeve (12) extending coaxially with a longitudinal center axis of the blind rivet fastener and having an outer sleeve surface (outer surface of sleeve 12 upon which knurled band 22 is formed) (Fig. 3; column 2, lines 9 - 20); and a rivet head (44) extending radially at a first end of the sleeve (12) (Figs. 2 – 3; column 2, lines 61 – 63; column 3, lines 35 - 36), wherein the rivet shaft includes at least one ridge (teeth 26) configured to scratch at least one component (60) to which the blind rivet fastener is configured to attach (Fig. 3; column 2, lines 38 – 41; column 4, lines 9 - 13), and wherein the at least one ridge (teeth 26) projects from the rivet head (44) and extends along a portion of the outer sleeve surface (outer surface of sleeve 12 upon which knurled band 22 is formed) (Fig. 3; column 2, lines 38 – 41; column 4, lines 9 - 13).
Claims 1 – 3, 5, 6, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luhm (U.S. Patent No. US 2013/0047411 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Luhm discloses a blind rivet fastener for an electrical contact assembly comprising a rivet shaft including an elongated, hollow sleeve (24) extending coaxially with a longitudinal center axis of the blind rivet fastener and having an outer sleeve surface (outer surface of sleeve 24) (Figs. 1 - 8; paragraph [0015]); and a rivet head (22) extending radially at a first end of the sleeve (24) (Figs. 1 and 2; paragraphs [0015] – [0017]]), wherein the rivet shaft includes at least one ridge (28) configured to scratch at least one component (30) to which the blind rivet fastener is configured to attach (Figs. 2 – 4 and 7 - 8; paragraphs [0015] and [0017]), and wherein the at least one ridge (28) projects from the rivet head (22) and extends along a portion of the outer sleeve surface (outer surface of sleeve 24) (Figs. 2 – 4 and 7 - 8; paragraphs [0015] and [0017]).
Regarding clam 2, Luhm further discloses wherein the at least one ridge (28) is configured to establish electrical contact between the blind rivet fastener and the at least one component (30) (Fig. 3; paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 3, Luhm further discloses wherein the at least one ridge (28) is fixedly attached to the rivet head (22) and to the outer sleeve surface (outer surface of sleeve 24) (Figs. 2 – 4 and 7 - 8; paragraphs [0015] and [0017]).
Regarding claim 5, Luhm further discloses wherein the at least one ridge (28) comprises a scratching surface for establishing electrical contact (Figs. 3, 7 and 8; paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 6, Luhm further discloses wherein the scratching surface (28) is formed by a tip of the at least one ridge (28) (Figs. 3, 7 and 8; paragraph [0015] - “These projections are preferably diamond shaped with sloped sides rising to a peak at the center of each rib”).
Regarding claim 11, Luhm further discloses wherein the at least one ridge (28) has a triangular shape as seen in cross-section in a radial extension of the blind rivet fastener (Figs. 3, 7 and 8; paragraph [0015] - “These projections are preferably diamond shaped with sloped sides rising to a peak at the center of each rib”).
Regarding claim 12, Luhm discloses a fastening arrangement for joining at least one component of an electrical contact assembly, the fastening arrangement comprising a portion of the at least one component (30) forming a component bore extending through the at least one component (30) (Figs. 2 – 4; paragraphs [0015] and [0016]); and a blind rivet fastener configured to be arranged in the component bore and attach to the at least one component, the blind rivet fastener including a rivet shaft including an elongated, hollow sleeve (24) extending coaxially with a longitudinal center axis of the blind rivet fastener and having an outer sleeve surface (outer surface of sleeve 24) (Figs. 1 - 8; paragraph [0015]); and a rivet head (22) extending radially at a first end of the sleeve (24) (Figs. 1 and 2; paragraphs [0015] – [0017]]), wherein the rivet shaft includes at least one ridge (28) configured to scratch at least one component (30) to which the blind rivet fastener is configured to attach (Figs. 2 – 4 and 7 - 8; paragraphs [0015] and [0017]), and wherein the at least one ridge (28) projects from the rivet head (22) and extends along a portion of the outer sleeve surface (outer surface of sleeve 24) (Figs. 2 – 4 and 7 - 8; paragraphs [0015] and [0017]).
Claims 1 – 6, 8 – 10 and 12 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mauer (German Patent Application Publication No. DE 3612501 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mauer discloses a blind rivet fastener for an electrical contact assembly comprising a rivet shaft including an elongated, hollow sleeve (16) extending coaxially with a longitudinal center axis of the blind rivet fastener and having an outer sleeve surface (outer surface of sleeve 16) (Fig. 1; paragraph [0009]); and a rivet head (14) extending radially at a first end of the sleeve (16) (Figs. 1 – 3; paragraph [0009]), wherein the rivet shaft includes at least one ridge (18) configured to scratch at least one component (32) to which the blind rivet fastener is configured to attach (Figs. 1 - 3; paragraphs [0009] and [0011]), and wherein the at least one ridge (18) projects from the rivet head (14) and extends along a portion of the outer sleeve surface (outer surface of sleeve 16) (Fig. 1 and 3; paragraph [0009] – “The sleeve has been rolled or knurled to form longitudinal ribs 18 with sharp points extending parallel to the sleeve axis over at least part of the sleeve length from the adjacent head flange 14”).
Regarding clam 2, Mauer further discloses wherein the at least one ridge (18) is configured to establish electrical contact between the blind rivet fastener and the at least one component (32) (Fig. 3; paragraphs [0010] and [0011]).
Regarding claim 3, Mauer further discloses wherein the at least one ridge (18) is fixedly attached to the rivet head (14) and to the outer sleeve surface (outer surface of sleeve 16) (Figs. 1 and 3; paragraph [0009] – “The sleeve has been rolled or knurled to form longitudinal ribs 18 with sharp points extending parallel to the sleeve axis over at least part of the sleeve length from the adjacent head flange 14”).
Regarding claim 4, Mauer further discloses wherein the at least one ridge (18) extends along the portion of the outer sleeve surface (outer surface of sleeve 16) in a direction substantially parallel to the longitudinal center axis (Figs. 1 and 3; paragraph [0009] – “The sleeve has been rolled or knurled to form longitudinal ribs 18 with sharp points extending parallel to the sleeve axis over at least part of the sleeve length from the adjacent head flange 14”).
Regarding claim 5, Mauer further discloses wherein the at least one ridge (18) comprises a scratching surface for establishing electrical contact (Figs. 1 - 3; paragraphs [0010] and [0011]).
Regarding claim 6, Mauer further discloses wherein the scratching surface is formed by a tip of the at least one ridge (18) (Figs. 1 - 3; paragraph [0009] – “The sleeve has been rolled or knurled to form longitudinal ribs 18 with sharp points extending parallel to the sleeve axis over at least part of the sleeve length from the adjacent head flange 14”).
Regarding claim 8, Mauer further discloses wherein the at least one ridge (18) extends radially from the outer sleeve surface (outer surface of sleeve 16), and a radial extension of the at least one ridge (18) is less than a radial extension of the rivet head (14) (Figs. 1 - 3).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood in view of the 112b issue noted above, Mauer further discloses wherein the at least one ridge (18) has a shoulder surface substantially parallel to a planar extension of the rivet head (14), the shoulder surface being configured to rest on a component prior to attaching the blind rivet fastener to the component (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Mauer further discloses wherein the at least one ridge (18) comprises two or more ridges (18), the two or more ridges being arranged around the outer sleeve surface (outer surface of sleeve 16) with an equal distance between each other in a circumferential direction of the outer sleeve surface (outer surface of sleeve 16) (Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 12, Mauer discloses a fastening arrangement for joining at least one component (32) of an electrical contact assembly, the fastening arrangement comprising a portion of the at least one component (28, 32) forming a component bore extending through the at least one component (28, 32) (Fig. 3; paragraph [0010]); and a blind rivet fastener configured to be arranged in the component bore and attach to the at least one component (28, 32), the blind rivet fastener including a rivet shaft including an elongated, hollow sleeve (16) extending coaxially with a longitudinal center axis of the blind rivet fastener and having an outer sleeve surface (outer surface of sleeve 16) (Fig. 1; paragraph [0009]); and a rivet head (14) extending radially at a first end of the sleeve (16) (Figs. 1 – 3; paragraph [0009]), wherein the rivet shaft includes at least one ridge (18) configured to scratch at least one component (28, 32) to which the blind rivet fastener is configured to attach (Figs. 1 - 3; paragraphs [0009] and [0011]), and wherein the at least one ridge (18) projects from the rivet head (14) and extends along a portion of the outer sleeve surface (outer surface of sleeve 16) (Fig. 1 and 3; paragraph [0009] – “The sleeve has been rolled or knurled to form longitudinal ribs 18 with sharp points extending parallel to the sleeve axis over at least part of the sleeve length from the adjacent head flange 14”).
Regarding claim 13, Mauer further discloses wherein the at least one component (28, 32) includes at least a first component (28) and a second component (32), the component bore extends through the first component and the second component, the rivet head (14) is configured to contact the first component (28), and the at least one ridge (18) is configured to scratch the second component (32) (Fig. 3; paragraphs [0010] and [0011]).
Regarding claim 14, Mauer further discloses wherein the at least one ridge (18) is configured to scratch through an insulator layer at an edge of the component bore of the second component (32) (paragraphs [0010] and [0011]).
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614