DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “measurement unit”, “correction unit” and “control unit” in claim 16.
The corresponding structures are found as follows:
“measurement unit”: measurement unit 2001 of Fig. 6, which, according to [0115], measures an optical characteristic that may be a measured luminance and a measured color coordinate obtained by measuring each grayscale image actually displayed in the display area DA according to a data signal generated based on a gamma voltage for each sub-pixel set in the target luminance and the target color coordinate.
“correction unit”: correction unit 2003 in Fig. 6, which, according to [0115], 1) may compare the optical characteristic measured by the measurement unit 2001 (hereinafter referred to as a “measured optical characteristic”) with a target optical characteristic; according to [0116], 2) may determine whether or not the difference between the measured optical characteristic and the target optical characteristic (hereinafter referred to as an “optical characteristic difference”) is within a reference range, and may correct the gamma voltage so that the optical characteristic difference is within the reference range based on the determination result; according [0117], 3) may correct the gamma voltage by determining a difference in optical characteristics for each of a plurality of reference grayscales; according to [0118], 4) may correct the gamma voltage of each sub-pixel of the first pixel area PA1 based on the optical characteristic measured with respect to the first pixel area PA1 for each of the plurality of grayscales. On the other hand, the correction unit 2003 may correct the gamma voltage of each sub-pixel of the second pixel area PA2 based on the optical characteristic measured with respect to the second pixel area PA2; and/or according to [0119], 5) may transmit a gamma control signal GCS to the display device 1000 to correct the gamma voltage of each sub-pixel of the display device 1000.
“control unit”: control unit 2005 in Fig. 6, which, according to [0123], may generate a voltage control signal VCS for changing the second driving voltage VSS for each reference brightness DBV set in the display device 100; and according to [0124], when the gate voltage margin of the pixel circuit for achieving the target luminance at the relatively high reference brightness is insufficient, the adjustment device 2000 may perform the optical correction, while gradually lowering the second driving voltage VSS corresponding to the reference brightness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “selectively changing the first low driving voltage based on a result of the optical correction” but fails to provide what exactly is “a result of the optical correction”. The current claim language merely indicates “an optical correction” is associated with a maximum grayscale without providing details of performing the optical correction. Therefore, it is impossible to derive what results from the optical correction. As a result, the patent scope of the instant claim is not definite.
Claim 20 is rejected because it depends on claim 1 and does not provide further limitation(s) to clarify what is the “result of the optical correction”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pyo et al. (US 2021/0201758) in view of Furihata et al. (US 2022/0223081).
Regarding claim 1, Pyo teaches a method for adjusting a driving voltage ([0009]: “the compensator may adjust each of the first voltage level and the second voltage level based on the luminance values measured by the imaging device, set the third voltage levels of the second power source for representative luminance levels, including the first luminance level and the second luminance level, based on the first voltage level and the second voltage level”; [0048]: “The compensator 300 may set or adjust the first voltage level of the second power source voltage ELVSS of the display device 100 for the first luminance level based on the first luminance level and the first luminance information LUMI1 … adjust the second voltage level of the second power source voltage ELVSS of the display device 100 for the second luminance level based on the second luminance level and the second luminance information LUMI2”; Claim 1: “wherein the compensator adjusts the first voltage level and the second voltage level based on the luminance values measured by the imaging device”) of a display device comprising a first pixel area ([0044]: “The imaging device 200 may divide the display device 100 into a plurality of unit areas”) having a first pixel density (Figs. 1-2: display device 100 with a uniform pixel density), and a second pixel area ([0044]: “The imaging device 200 may divide the display device 100 into a plurality of unit areas”)
setting a plurality of low driving voltages corresponding to a plurality of reference brightnesses ([0112]: “For example, the second power source voltage ELVSS having a preset first reference voltage level for the first selected luminance level may be output, and the second power source voltage ELVSS having a preset second reference voltage level for the second selected luminance level may be output”; Examiner’s Note: setting two low driving voltages ELVSS respectively for at least two luminance levels, i.e., DBV levels, before an optical compensation/correction is necessarily performed), respectively;
performing an optical correction ([0045]: “When the display device 100 displays an image with the luminance corresponding to a first luminance level, the imaging device 200 may generate a first captured image for the first luminance level or generate first luminance information LUMI1 for the first captured image”; [0046]: “The compensator 300 may control the operation of the display device 100 and set or adjust signals required for the operation of the display device 100 based on the images or the pieces of luminance information LUMI1 and LUMI2 (that is, the measured luminance) acquired through the imaging device 200”; [0056]: “As described with reference to FIG. 1, the optical compensation system 10 may set the voltage levels of the second power source voltage ELVSS for two luminance levels through actual measurement”; [0115]:”the process of adjusting the output of the power output component 620 for the selected luminance levels and the process of measuring luminance through the imaging device 200 are repeated, whereby the voltage levels of the second power source voltage ELVSS for the selected luminance levels may be set”; Examiner’s Note: measurement of an actual luminance of the display and adjustment of voltage levels of the second power source voltage ELVSS accordingly reads on “performing an optical correction”) for a maximum grayscale of a first reference brightness (Fig. 6 : luminance level selector 610 for selecting a DBV band, as a reference brightness, among a plurality DBV bands for setting and adjusting voltage levels of the second power source voltage ELVSS; Figs: 7A-7D: “Luminance” of each DBV band inherently results from a maximum grayscale of the respective DBV band; [0045]: “the first luminance level is one of a plurality of representative luminance levels used in the optical compensation process of the display device 100, and may be, for example, the luminance level corresponding to the highest luminance, among the 11 representative luminance level”; [0109]-[0110]; Examiner’s Note: first luminance level reads on “first reference brightness”, which corresponds to DBV 0 with respective maximum grayscale resulting in “Luminance” of 750 nits) of the plurality of reference brightnesses using a first low driving voltage ([0111]: “The power output component 620 may output a second power source voltage ELVSS having voltage levels corresponding to the selected luminance levels”; [0112]: “the second power source voltage ELVSS having a preset first reference voltage level for the first selected luminance level may be output”) corresponding to the first reference brightness from among the plurality of low driving voltages; and
selectively changing the first low driving voltage based on a result of the optical correction ([0048]: “The compensator 300 may set or adjust the first voltage level of the second power source voltage ELVSS of the display device 100 for the first luminance level based on the first luminance level and the first luminance information LUMI1; Examiner’s Note: “a result of the optical correction” is interpreted as the actually measured first luminance level and the acquired first luminance information LUMI1 before adjusting the first voltage level of ELVSS).
Pyo does not further teach the second pixel area having a second pixel density greater than the first pixel density.
The differentiating limitation indicates that the display has at least two pixel areas with different pixel densities. However, it is not new in the related art configure a display to have pixel areas having different pixel density.
Furihata, for instance, teaches in Fig. 4 and [0042] the first region 11 has a higher pixel density (which may be measured as pixel-per-inch (PPI)) than the second region 12.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to combine Furihata’s technique with Pyo’s technique to optimize cost, complexity and power consumption for certain applications.
Regarding claim 2, Pyo further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the performing of the optical correction for the maximum grayscale of the first reference brightness comprises:
receiving an optical characteristic measured in the first pixel area (Fig. 6: luminance input component 630 for receiving luminance information (that is, measured luminance) through the imaging device 200; [0046]: “The compensator 300 may control the operation of the display device 100 and set or adjust signals required for the operation of the display device 100 based on the images or the pieces of luminance information LUMI1 and LUMI2 (that is, the measured luminance) acquired through the imaging device 200”; [0114]: “The luminance input component 630 may acquire luminance information (that is, measured luminance) through the imaging device 200 described with reference to FIG. 1”) at the maximum grayscale of a plurality of grayscales (see above for rejection applied to claim 1 and note the optical compensation/correction is performed at the maximum grayscale of the selected luminance/brightness level, i.e., the first luminance level, when actual luminance at the luminance level is measured); and
correcting a gamma voltage of the first pixel area based on the optical characteristic (Fig. 8: gamma voltage setting is based on the optical characteristic because the low driving voltage levels are based on the optical characteristic; [0054]-[0055]; [0151]-[0154]).
Regarding claim 20, Pyo further teaches an electronic device (Fig. 1: optical compensation system 10) comprising:
a processor (Fig. 2: timing controller 140) configured to provide input image data (Fig. 2: image data DATA2); and
a display device (Fig. 2: display device 100) configured to display an image (Fig. 2: image displayed by pixels PXL of display 110) based on the input image data, and comprising:
a display panel (Fig. 2: display 110) comprising a plurality of first pixels (Fig. 2: pixels PXL) corresponding to a first pixel area (([0044]: “The imaging device 200 may divide the display device 100 into a plurality of unit areas”)), and a plurality of second pixels (Fig. 2: pixels PXL) corresponding to a second pixel area ([0044]: “The imaging device 200 may divide the display device 100 into a plurality of unit areas”);
a data driver (Fig. 2: data driver 130) configured to supply a data voltage (Figs. 2 and 4: data voltages provided by data lines DL1 to DLm) to each of the plurality of first pixels and the plurality of second pixels;
a scan driver (Fig. 2: scan driver 120) configured to supply a scan signal (Fig. 2: scan signals provided by scan lines SL1 to SLn) to each of the plurality of first pixels and the plurality of second pixels;
an emission driver (Fig. 2: EM driver 150) configured to supply an emission control signal (Fig. 2 emission control signals provided by emission control lines EL1 to ELn) to each of the plurality of first pixels and the plurality of second pixels; and
a power supply (Fig. 2: power supply 160) configured to supply a high driving voltage (Fig. 2: power source voltages ELVDD), and a low driving voltage (Fig. 2: power source voltages ELV) lower than the high driving voltage to the display panel,
wherein the low driving voltage of the display device is adjusted by the method for adjusting the driving voltage according to claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-19 are allowed.
Claim 16 is allowed primarily because the prior art does not teach/suggest the claimed invention as a whole with regard to the control unit configured to “selectively change a first low driving voltage corresponding to a first reference brightness among a plurality of reference brightnesses based on a result of the gamma voltage correction”.
As detailed above, “measurement unit”, “correction unit” and “control unit” in the instant claim are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Pyo (US 2021/0201758) in view of Furihata et al. (US 2022/0223081) is found to be closest prior art in this examination. Specifically,
regarding claim 16, Pyo teaches an adjustment device (Fig. 1: optical compensation system 10) comprising:
a measurement unit (Fig. 1: image device 200; [0044]) configured to measure an optical characteristic ( [0046]: “The compensator 300 may control the operation of the display device 100 and set or adjust signals required for the operation of the display device 100 based on the images or the pieces of luminance information LUMI1 and LUMI2 (that is, the measured luminance) acquired through the imaging device 200”; [0114]: “The luminance input component 630 may acquire luminance information (that is, measured luminance) through the imaging device 200 described with reference to FIG. 1”) of a display device (Figs. 1-2: display device 100) comprising a first pixel area ([0044]: “The imaging device 200 may divide the display device 100 into a plurality of unit areas”) having a first pixel density (Figs. 1-2: display device 100 with a uniform pixel density), and a second pixel area ([0044]: “The imaging device 200 may divide the display device 100 into a plurality of unit areas”)
a correction unit (Figs. 1, 6: compensator 300) configured to correct a gamma voltage based on the optical characteristic of the first pixel area (Fig. 8: gamma voltage setting is based on the optical characteristic because the low driving voltage levels are based on the optical characteristic; [0054]-[0055]; [0151]-[0154]); and
a control unit (Fig. 1: compensator 300) configured to control the display device to selectively change a first low driving voltage ([0009]: “the compensator may adjust each of the first voltage level and the second voltage level based on the luminance values measured by the imaging device, set the third voltage levels of the second power source for representative luminance levels, including the first luminance level and the second luminance level, based on the first voltage level and the second voltage level”; [0048]: “The compensator 300 may set or adjust the first voltage level of the second power source voltage ELVSS of the display device 100 for the first luminance level based on the first luminance level and the first luminance information LUMI1 … adjust the second voltage level of the second power source voltage ELVSS of the display device 100 for the second luminance level based on the second luminance level and the second luminance information LUMI2”; [0111]: “The power output component 620 may output a second power source voltage ELVSS having voltage levels corresponding to the selected luminance levels”; [0112]: “the second power source voltage ELVSS having a preset first reference voltage level for the first selected luminance level may be output”) corresponding to a first reference brightness among a plurality of reference brightnesses ([0112]: “For example, the second power source voltage ELVSS having a preset first reference voltage level for the first selected luminance level may be output, and the second power source voltage ELVSS having a preset second reference voltage level for the second selected luminance level may be output”; Examiner’s Note: setting two low driving voltages ELVSS respectively for at least two luminance levels, i.e., DBV levels, before an optical compensation/correction is necessarily performed)
Pyo does not further teach
1) the second pixel area having a second pixel density greater than the first pixel density; and
2) to selectively change the first low driving voltage based on a result of the gamma voltage correction.
As for differentiating limitation 1), it indicates that the display has at least two pixel areas with different pixel densities. However, it is not new in the related art configure a display to have pixel areas having different pixel density.
Furihata, for instance, teaches in Fig. 4 and [0042] the first region 11 has a higher pixel density (which may be measured as pixel-per-inch (PPI)) than the second region 12.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to combine Furihata’s technique with Pyo’s technique to optimize cost, complexity and power consumption for certain applications.
Pyo in view of Furihata does not teach differentiating limitation 2). It is rendered not obvious to further modify the technique of Pyo in view of Furihata to derive the instant invention.
Claims 17-19 are allowed because they depend on claim 16.
Claims 3-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20200202790 by Rha et al. teaches in Fig. 10 the low potential driving voltage VSSEL is changed according to the digital brightness value DBV. The change, however, is preset and not adjusted by an optical compensation.
/XUEMEI ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629