DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges that the instant application is a continuation of U.S Patent Application No. 17/652,973, filed 03/01/2022, which claims priority from Provisional Patent Application No. 62/155,235, filed 03/01/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 7/23/2025 has been considered by the Examiner.
Status of Claims
Applicant’s communications filed on 7/23/2025 and 8/12/2025 have been considered.
Claim 1 has been canceled.
Claims 2-21 are newly added.
Claims 2-21 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite an abstract idea. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Under Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes, the claims must be directed to one of the four statutory categories. See MPEP 2106.03. Claims 2-11 are directed towards a process. Claims 12-21 are directed towards a machine. Therefore, claims 2-21 are directed to one of the four statutory categories (Step 1: YES, regarding claims 2-21).
Under Step 2A of the MPEP, it is determined whether the claims are directed to a judicially recognized exception. See MPEP 2106.04. Step 2A is a two-prong inquiry.
Under Prong 1, it is determined whether the claim recites a judicial exception. In determining whether the claims are directed to a judicial exception, the claims are analyzed to evaluate whether the claims recite a judicial exception.
Taking Claim 12 as representative, claim 12 recites limitations that fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity groupings of abstract ideas, including:
A method comprising:
detecting, by a sensing system, a location of a customer relative to a retail store;
receiving from each of a plurality of customers located outside the retail store, a plurality of proposed product lists;
determining for a first proposed product list of the plurality of proposed product lists, a first shopping route within the retail store;
receiving an update to the first proposed product list during product retrieval from a first customer;
updating the first proposed product list based on the update received during the product retrieval;
adjusting the first shopping route based on the updated first proposed product list;
guiding along the adjusted first shopping route to retrieve products based on the updated proposed product list; and
deliver retrieved products to the first customer associated with the first proposed product list received upon detecting arrival of the first customer at a designated pickup location via the sensing system.
Claim 2 recites the same abstract limitations as recited in claim 12.
Claims 2 and 12 recite certain methods of organizing human activity, such as performing commercial interactions. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2). The MPEP defines the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping as including fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2). The abstract ideas recited in representative claims 2 and 12 are certain methods of organizing human activity because receiving proposed product lists from customers, determining a shopping route within the retail store based on the proposed product lists, updating the shopping route based on updates received from a customer, and delivering retrieved products to a first customer at a designated pickup location is a commercial or legal interaction because it is an advertising, marketing or sales activity, or business relations.
Accordingly, under Prong One of Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test, claims 2 and 12 recite an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong One: YES).
Under Step 2A (prong 2), if it is determined that the claims recite a judicial exception, it is then necessary to evaluate whether the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of that exception (see MPEP 2106.04). As stated in the MPEP, when “an additional element merely recites the words ‘apply it (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea,” the judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application. In this case, representative claim 12 includes additional elements such as (additional elements are bolded):
A method comprising:
detecting, by a sensing system communicatively coupled to an unmanned delivery vehicle, a location of a customer relative to a retail store;
receiving, by a device control circuit implemented on the unmanned delivery vehicle, from each of a plurality of customers located outside the retail store, a plurality of proposed product lists;
determining, by the device control circuit implemented on the unmanned delivery vehicle, for a first proposed product list of the plurality of proposed product lists, a first shopping route within the retail store;
receiving, by the device control circuit implemented on the unmanned delivery vehicle, an update to the first proposed product list during product retrieval from a first customer;
updating, by the device control circuit implemented on the unmanned delivery vehicle, the first proposed product list based on the update received during the product retrieval;
adjusting, by the device control circuit implemented on the unmanned delivery vehicle, the first shopping route based on the updated first proposed product list;
guiding the unmanned delivery vehicle, by the device control circuit implemented on the unmanned vehicle, using the sensing system, along the adjusted first shopping route to retrieve products based on the updated proposed product list; and
controlling, by the device control circuit implemented on the unmanned delivery vehicle, the unmanned delivery vehicle to deliver retrieved products to the first customer associated with the first proposed product list received upon detecting arrival of the first customer at a designated pickup location via the sensing system.
Claim 2 additionally recites the following additional elements:
A system comprising:
an unmanned delivery vehicle;
a sensing system communicatively coupled to the unmanned delivery vehicle and configured to detect a location of a customer relative to a retail store; and
a device control circuit implemented on the unmanned delivery vehicle and communicatively coupled to the sensing system, the device control circuit configured to:
receive, from each of a plurality of customers located outside the retail store, a plurality of proposed product lists;
determine, for a first proposed product list of the plurality of proposed product lists, a first shopping route within the retail store;
receive an update to the first proposed product list during product retrieval from a first customer;
update the first proposed product list based on the update received during the product retrieval;
adjust the first shopping route based on the updated first proposed product list;
guide the unmanned delivery vehicle, using the sensing system, along the adjusted first shopping route to retrieve products based on the updated proposed product list; and
control the unmanned delivery vehicle to deliver retrieved products to the first customer associated with the first proposed product list received upon detecting arrival of the first customer at a designated pickup location via the sensing system.
These additional elements are described at a high level in Applicant’s specification without any meaningful detail about their structure or configuration. As such, these computer-related limitations are not found to be sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claims 2 and 12 specifying that the abstract idea is executed in a computer environment merely indicates a field of use in which to apply the abstract idea because this requirement merely limits the claims to the computer field, i.e., to execution on a generic computer. As such, under Prong Two of Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test, when considered both individually and as a whole, the limitations of claims 2 and 12 are not indicative of integration into a practical application (Step 2A, Prong Two: NO).
Since claims 2 and 12 recite an abstract idea and fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, claims 2 and 12 are “directed to” an abstract idea (Step 2A: YES). Accordingly, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Next, under Step 2B, examiners should evaluate additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether they provide an inventive concept (i.e., whether the additional elements amount to significantly more than the exception itself). In this case, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Returning to representative claims 2 and 12, taken individually or as a whole the additional elements of claims 2 and 12 amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer and/or no more than a general link to a technological environment. For the same reason these elements are not sufficient to provide an inventive concept. Therefore when considering the additional elements alone, and in combination, there is no inventive concept in the claim, and thus the claim is not patent eligible (Step 2B: NO).
Dependent claims 3-11 and 13-21, when analyzed as a whole, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they do not add “significantly more” to the abstract idea. As for dependent claims 8 and 18, these claims recite limitations that further define the same abstract idea noted in independent claims 2 and 12, and do not recite any additional elements other than what is disclosed in independent claims 2 and 12. Therefore, claims 8 and 18 are considered patent ineligible for the reasons given above.
As for dependent claims 3-7, 9-11, 13-17, and 19-21, these claims recite limitations that further define the abstract idea noted in independent claims 2 and 12. Furthermore, they recite the following additional limitations in addition to those recited in independent claims 2 and 12, for example:
wherein the sensing system comprises one or more sensors, the one or more sensors configured to provide sensor data used by the unmanned delivery vehicle to detect the arrival and determine the location of the customer relative to the retail store;
wherein the one or more sensors of the sensing system comprise one or more cameras configured to be used by the unmanned delivery vehicle to capture information about one or more products for identifying a product or confirming retrieval of the product;
wherein the device control circuit is further configured to control a point of sale system to complete a purchase transaction for the first customer for the retrieved products;
wherein the device control circuit is further configured to wirelessly communicate with a customer database, the customer database storing a plurality of primary customer accounts associated with different customers that have previously purchased products from one or more of multiple different retail stores including the retail store;
wherein the device control circuit is further configured to wirelessly communicate with an inventory management system of the retail store, wherein the inventory management system is configured to continuously maintain a current inventory of each product offered for sale;
wherein the device control circuit is further configured to identify common locations between the first shopping route of the first customer and a second shopping route of a second customer to enable cooperative product retrieval between a plurality of unmanned vehicles and minimize a duration of respective shopping routes navigated by each unmanned vehicle;
wherein a memory implemented on the device control circuit stores a copy of a local inventory list, and wherein the device control circuit is configured to retrieve product availability data from a locally stored inventory list upon detecting a loss of connectivity to a retail store's inventory management system; and
wherein the unmanned delivery vehicle includes a motor, wheels, location tracking and other local processing systems.
The additional elements of one or more sensors, the one or more sensors configured to provide sensor data used by the unmanned delivery vehicle; one or more cameras configured to be used by the unmanned delivery vehicle; control a point of sale system; wirelessly communicate with a customer database; a plurality of unmanned vehicles; a memory implemented on the device control circuit; detecting a loss of connectivity to a retail store's inventory management system; and other local processing systems are all recited at a high level of generality such that they amount to no more than instructions to apply the judicial exception in a generic technological environment. Even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, under the Alice/Mayo test, claims 2-21 are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 6-7, 11-14, 16-18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asaria et al. (US 2013/0317642 A1), hereinafter Asaria, in view of Russell et al. (US 10,373,226 B1), hereinafter Russell.
Regarding Claim 2, Asaria discloses A system comprising ([Fig. 1]):
an unmanned delivery vehicle ([Figs. 3 and 4]; [0069-0070]);
a sensing system communicatively coupled to the unmanned delivery vehicle and configured to detect a location relative to a facility ([Figs. 3 and 4]; [0086] The robot 32 also includes a robot processor 46, which may be operatively coupled to a location sensor 48 and a communication device 50); and
a device control circuit implemented on the unmanned delivery vehicle and communicatively coupled to the sensing system, the device control circuit configured to ([Figs. 3 and 4]; [0086] The robot 32 also includes a robot processor 46, which may be operatively coupled to a location sensor 48 and a communication device 50; see [Figs. 9 and 10][0149][0156] methods of Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 executed by the robot processor):
receive a plurality of proposed product lists ([Fig. 9]; [0150] an order is received including one or more products to be transported; see [0062] orders include one or more products to be picked; [0066] more than one order (i.e. multiple orders) may be assigned to a single robot, and the robot with the plurality of orders assigned thereto executes the orders simultaneously or sequentially; [Fig. 3][0074-0077][0086] the robot 32 includes a robot processor 46 and a display device 30 coupled to the robot 32 using a coupling device 40);
determine, for a first proposed product list of the plurality of proposed product lists, a first shopping route within the facility ([Fig. 9]; [0152] a picking itinerary is generated based upon the order and the warehouse information. The picking itinerary includes information indicative of the location of the at least one product and if there are multiple products to be transported, then a sequence for transporting the products; see [0091] the picking itinerary could be determined autonomously by each of the robots 32 alone; [Fig. 10][0158-0159] a travel path is generated based upon the picking itinerary… if there are a plurality of products to be transported… the travel path to the first product in the sequence is generated);
receive an update to the first proposed product list during product retrieval ([Fig. 9]; [0155] the method 120 may update the itinerary that had been provided to the selected robot; see [0104] a robot 32 may receive an updated list of products to pick in response to the system 10 receiving a new order while the robot 32 was picking. This dynamic update could include changing a quantity of items to be picked at a specific location (e.g. picking three tubes of toothpaste instead of two), or adding another product (e.g. adding mouthwash to the picklist); [0146] regenerating picking itinerary);
update the first proposed product list based on the update received during the product retrieval ([Fig. 9]; [0155] the method 120 may update the itinerary that had been provided to the selected robot; [0161] If there are additional products to be transported, then the method returns to step 144 where the travel path to the next destination is generated; see [0104] a robot 32 may receive an updated list of products to pick in response to the system 10 receiving a new order while the robot 32 was picking. This dynamic update could include changing a quantity of items to be picked at a specific location (e.g. picking three tubes of toothpaste instead of two), or adding another product (e.g. adding mouthwash to the picklist));
adjust the first shopping route based on the updated first proposed product list ([Fig. 10]; [0158-0161] a travel path is based upon the picking itinerary… including a sequence by which the products should be picked… the travel path to the first product in the sequence is generated…If there are additional products to be transported, then the method returns to step 144 where the travel path to the next destination is generated; see [0104]; [0111] generating a new travel path may be done dynamically);
guide the unmanned delivery vehicle, using the sensing system, along the adjusted first shopping route to retrieve products based on the updated proposed product list ([Fig. 10]; [0160] At step 146, the robot is directed along the generated travel path. In some cases, the method may involve directing the robot to avoid stationary and/or mobile obstacles; [0161] If there are additional products to be transported, then the method returns to step 144 where the travel path to the next destination is generated; see [0088-0090] the location sensor 48 may include one or more optical sensors for obtaining visual information, and which can be processed by the robot processor 46 to determine the location of the robot 32; [0158] the picking itinerary includes location information and current location of the robot); and
control the unmanned delivery vehicle to deliver retrieved products associated with the first proposed product list received at a designated pickup location via the sensing system ([0162] If there are no additional products to be transported, then the method directs the robot to a defined area where the products may be loaded or unloaded; see [0131] The warehouse 70 also has an end area 76 or "finishing area" where the robots 30 that have collected all (or at least some of) the products on the product itinerary can move to so that their containers may be unloaded; see [0088-0090] the location sensor 48 may include one or more optical sensors for obtaining visual information, and which can be processed by the robot processor 46 to determine the location of the robot 32; [0158] the picking itinerary includes location information and current location of the robot).
Asaria discloses a system comprising a device control circuit implemented on an unmanned delivery vehicle (see at least Asaria [Figs. 3 and 4][0069-0070][0086]). Asaria further discloses the device control circuit configured to receive a plurality of proposed product lists ([Fig. 3][0062-0066][0074-0086][Fig. 9][0150]), determine a first shopping route within the facility for a first proposed product list ([Figs. 9 and 10][0091][0152][0158-0159]), and receive an update to the first proposed product list during a product retrieval, wherein an update to the first proposed product list is information ([Fig. 9][0104][0155]). However, Asaria does not explicitly teach wherein a facility is a retail store; detecting a location of a customer relative to a retail store; receiving product lists from each of a plurality of customers located outside the retail store; receiving information from a first customer; and delivering products to the first customer upon detecting arrival of the first customer at a designated pickup location.
However, in the field of product picking using autonomous mobile robots (see at least Russell [Col 36 Ln 23-Col 37 Ln 2]), Russell, on the other hand, teaches wherein a facility is a retail store ([Col 16 Ln 25-41] The parking facility 240 may be associated with a single retail establishment, or may be provided for the purpose of temporarily housing or storing vehicles of customers patronizing one or more different retail establishments (e.g., a parking lot outside of a shopping center or a street having parking spaces within a vicinity of a number of restaurants, shops or boutiques));
detecting location of a customer relative to a retail store ([Fig. 3]; [Col 20 Ln 57-Col 21 Ln 6] the vehicle 170 (e.g., a car) and a driver 172 may arrive at the parking facility 140 and park in a parking location 145-2. At box 315, the automobile is evaluated using one or more sensors associated with the first parking location);
receiving product lists from each of a plurality of customers located outside the retail store ([Fig. 3]; [Col 21 Ln 27-52] If the automobile is recognized… an order registry is searched for information regarding one or more ordered items corresponding to the automobile… information regarding one or more ordered items corresponding to the automobile is identified; see [Col 3 Ln 4-30] Each of the parking locations 145-1, 145-2, 145-3 includes an associated display screen 162-1, 162-2, 162-3 onto which information may be displayed to one or more patrons within automobiles parked at one of the parking locations 145-1, 145-2, 145-3; [Fig. 4C] depicting multiple customer vehicles within the parking facility; [Col 25 Ln 25-48] one or more workers may view information regarding the status of the various parking locations at the parking facility and the vehicles therein or operators thereof, information regarding the items included in the orders, instructions for delivering the items to the vehicles, or any other relevant information or data);
receiving information from a first customer ([Col 18 Ln 48-Col 19 Ln 9] the customer 272 may identify himself or herself as being associated with the customer identifier 275, e.g., by performing one or more authentication processes using the handheld device 274 (e.g., by accessing one or more networked resources such as web pages and entering a user name and/or password, or satisfying one or more predetermined criteria)); and
delivering products to the first customer upon detecting arrival of the first customer at a designated pickup location ([Fig. 3]; [Col 23 Ln 6-36] one or more sensors (e.g., digital cameras or other devices) may detect that a vehicle has arrived at a parking facility affiliated with one or more retail establishments… Once the vehicle has been identified, an order associated with the vehicle (e.g., an order placed by an owner or occupant of the vehicle) may be automatically identified, and one or more items included in the order may be retrieved and delivered to the vehicle by one or more workers).
The steps of Russell are applicable to the system of Asaria, as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to product picking for orders using autonomous robots. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the robotic picking system as taught by Asaria, to include wherein a facility is a retail store; detecting location of a customer relative to a retail store; receiving product lists from each of a plurality of customers located outside the retail store; receiving information from a first customer; and delivering products to the first customer upon detecting arrival of the first customer at a designated pickup location, as taught by Russell. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the robotic picking system of Asaria in order to provide for quick and efficient delivery of ordered items to a customer, improve efficiency of operations, and increase the quality of a customer’s experience by allowing the customer to receive efficient service (Russell, [Col 1 Ln 5-15][Col 4 Ln 58-Col 5 Ln 40]).
Regarding Claim 3, Asaria in view of Russell teaches the system of claim 2.
Asaria further discloses wherein the sensing system comprises one or more sensors, the one or more sensors configured to provide sensor data used by the unmanned delivery vehicle to determine the location relative to the facility ([0086] The robot 32 also includes a robot processor 46, which may be operatively coupled to a location sensor 48 and a communication device 50; [0088-0089] the location sensor 48 is a sensor suitable for determining a current position of the robot 32 in the warehouse. The location sensor 48 may include a hardware location sensor such as an indoor GPS… the location sensor 48 may include one or more optical sensors for obtaining visual information, and which can be processed by the robot processor 46 to determine the location of the robot 32).
However, Asaria does not explicitly teach detecting the arrival and determining the location of the customer relative to the retail store.
Russell, on the other hand, teaches detecting the arrival and determining the location of the customer relative to the retail store ([Fig. 3]; [Col 20 Ln 57-Col 21 Ln 6] the vehicle 170 (e.g., a car) and a driver 172 may arrive at the parking facility 140 and park in a parking location 145-2. At box 315, the automobile is evaluated using one or more sensors associated with the first parking location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the robotic picking system as taught by Asaria, to include wherein a facility is a retail store; detecting location of a customer relative to a retail store; receiving product lists from each of a plurality of customers located outside the retail store; receiving information from a first customer; and delivering products to the first customer upon detecting arrival of the first customer at a designated pickup location, as taught by Russell, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding Claim 4, Asaria in view of Russell teaches the system of claim 2.
Asaria further discloses wherein the one or more sensors of the sensing system comprise one or more cameras configured to be used by the unmanned delivery vehicle to capture information about one or more products for identifying a product or confirming retrieval of the product ([0083] The product sensor 44 may include… optical sensors such as camera or other vision systems… operable to obtain information about the product that is being placed into or removed from the container 36; [0135-0138] detecting that a product has been placed in its container using the product sensor 44).
Regarding Claim 6, Asaria in view of Russell teaches the system of claim 2.
Asaria further discloses wherein the device control circuit is further configured to wirelessly communicate ([Fig. 3]; [0074] the robot includes a display device configured to display carious information such as information about the robot, the order, the product(s) currently being picked, etc.).
However, Asaria does not explicitly disclose communicating with a customer database, wherein the customer database stores a plurality of primary customer accounts of different customers that have previously purchased products from one or more of multiple different retail stores including the retail store.
Russell, on the other hand, teaches communicating with a customer database, wherein the customer database stores a plurality of primary customer accounts of different customers that have previously purchased products from one or more of multiple different retail stores including the retail store ([Col 21 Ln 7-42] whether the automobile is recognized using one or more sensors is determined. For example, if a license plate or other identifier on the automobile is identified and interpreted, information regarding the license plate (e.g., the letters and/or numbers thereon) or other identifier may be compared against a look-up table or other record of customer information in order to determine whether the automobile is a customer of the fulfillment center or other retail establishment associated with the parking facility… the automobile may be identified and associated with a customer identifier or one or more customers or customer accounts at a retail establishment, and a list of orders previously received from customers may be searched in order to determine whether an order was received from a customer associated with the automobile).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the robotic picking system as taught by Asaria, to include communicating with a customer database, wherein the customer database stores a plurality of primary customer accounts of different customers that have previously purchased products from one or more of multiple different retail stores including the retail store, as taught by Russell, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding Claim 7, Asaria in view of Russell teaches the system of claim 2.
Asaria further discloses wherein the device control circuit is further configured to wirelessly communicate ([Fig. 3]; [0074] the robot includes a display device configured to display carious information such as information about the robot, the order, the product(s) currently being picked, etc.).
However, Asaria does not explicitly disclose communicating with an inventory management system of the retail store, wherein the inventory management system is configured to continuously maintain a current inventory of each product offered for sale.
Russell, on the other hand, teaches communicating with an inventory management system of the retail store, wherein the inventory management system is configured to continuously maintain a current inventory of each product offered for sale ([Col 14 Ln 22-35] maintain or perform one or more inventory management functions using computer devices in communication with one or more of the server 222, the database 224 and/or the processor 226… such functions may schedule the arrival, evaluation, storage, preparation or departure of one or more items at the fulfillment center 210, and may further generate information or data in the form of one or more instructions to be provided or otherwise dispatched to workers or other persons associated with worker profiles for retrieving (e.g., picking) items from their respective storage locations and delivering the items to a predefined destination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the robotic picking method as taught by Asaria, to include communicating with a customer database, wherein the customer database stores a plurality of primary customer accounts of different customers that have previously purchased products from one or more of multiple different retail stores including the retail store, as taught by Russell, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding Claim 11, Asaria in view of Russell teaches the system of claim 2.
Asaria further discloses wherein the unmanned delivery vehicle includes a motor, wheels, location tracking and other local processing systems ([0070] the robot 32 includes a drive unit 34 including wheels and a motor to drive the wheels… the drive unit 34 may include one or more sensors and/or suitable hardware to assist with navigation and to avoid obstacles. The drive unit 34, for example, may include devices designed by iRobot Corporation or other suitable robot manufacturers; [0086] The robot 32 also includes a robot processor 46, which may be operatively coupled to a location sensor 48 and a communication device 50).
Regarding Claim 12, Asaria discloses A method comprising ([Figs. 9 and 10]; [0149][0156]):
detecting, by a sensing system communicatively coupled to an unmanned delivery vehicle, a location relative to a facility; ([Fig. 9]; [0151] warehouse information is obtained; [0095-0097] warehouse information includes location information and congestion information 56… the location information includes a map or plan of the warehouse and distances between various locations in the warehouse, and congestion information includes information about location of various operational robots; [0086] the robot processor 46 may be operatively coupled to a location sensor and a product sensor)
receiving, by a device control circuit implemented on the unmanned delivery vehicle, a plurality of proposed product lists ([Fig. 9]; [0150] an order is received including one or more products to be transported; see [0062] orders include one or more products to be picked; [0066] more than one order (i.e. multiple orders) may be assigned to a single robot, and the robot with the plurality of orders assigned thereto executes the orders simultaneously or sequentially; [Fig. 3][0074-0077][0086] the robot 32 includes a robot processor 46 and a display device 30 coupled to the robot 32 using a coupling device 40; see [Figs. 9 and 10][0149][0156] methods of Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 executed by the robot processor);
determining, by the device control circuit implemented on the unmanned delivery vehicle, for a first proposed product list of the plurality of proposed product lists, a first shopping route within the facility ([Fig. 9]; [0152] a picking itinerary is generated based upon the order and the warehouse information. The picking itinerary includes information indicative of the location of the at least one product and if there are multiple products to be transported, then a sequence for transporting the products; see [0091] the picking itinerary could be determined autonomously by each of the robots 32 alone; [Fig. 10][0158-0159] a travel path is generated based upon the picking itinerary… if there are a plurality of products to be transported… the travel path to the first product in the sequence is generated; see [Figs. 9 and 10][0149][0156] methods of Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 executed by the robot processor);
receiving, by the device control circuit implemented on the unmanned delivery vehicle, an update to the first proposed product list during product retrieval ([Fig. 9]; [0155] the method 120 may update the itinerary that had been provided to the selected robot; see [0104] a robot 32 may receive an updated list of products to pick in response to the system 10 receiving a new order while the robot 32 was picking. This dynamic update could include changing a quantity of items to be picked at a specific location (e.g. picking three tubes of toothpaste instead of two), or adding another product (e.g. adding mouthwash to the picklist); [0146] regenerating picking itinerary; see [Figs. 9 and 10][0149][0156] methods of Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 executed by the robot processor);
updating, by the device control circuit implemented on the unmanned delivery vehicle, the first proposed product list based on the update received during the product retrieval ([Fig. 9]; [0155] the method 120 may update the itinerary that had been provided to the selected robot; [0161] If there are additional products to be transported, then the method returns to step 144 where the travel path to the next destination is generated; see [0104] a robot 32 may receive an updated list of products to pick in response to the system 10 receiving a new order while the robot 32 was picking. This dynamic update could include changing a quantity of items to be picked at a specific location (e.g. picking three tubes of toothpaste instead of two), or adding another product (e.g. adding mouthwash to the picklist); see [Figs. 9 and 10][0149][0156] methods of Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 executed by the robot processor);
adjusting, by the device control circuit implemented on the unmanned delivery vehicle, the first shopping route based on the updated first proposed product list ([Fig. 10]; [0158-0161] a travel path is based upon the picking itinerary… including a sequence by which the products should be picked… the travel path to the first product in the sequence is generated…If there are additional products to be transported, then the method returns to step 144 where the travel path to the next destination is generated; see [0104]; [0111] generating a new travel path may be done dynamically; see [Figs. 9 and 10][0149][0156] methods of Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 executed by the robot processor);
guiding the unmanned delivery vehicle, by the device control circuit implemented on the unmanned vehicle, using the sensing system, along the adjusted first shopping route to retrieve products based on the updated proposed product list ([Fig. 10]; [0160] At step 146, the robot is directed along the generated travel path. In some cases, the method may involve directing the robot to avoid stationary and/or mobile obstacles; [0161] If there are additional products to be transported, then the method returns to step 144 where the travel path to the next destination is generated; see [0088-0090] the location sensor 48 may include one or more optical sensors for obtaining visual information, and which can be processed by the robot processor 46 to determine the location of the robot 32; [0158] the picking itinerary includes location information and current location of the robot; see [Figs. 9 and 10][0149][0156] methods of Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 executed by the robot processor); and
controlling, by the device control circuit implemented on the unmanned delivery vehicle, the unmanned delivery vehicle to deliver retrieved products associated with the first proposed product list received at a designated location via the sensing system ([0162] If there are no additional products to be transported, then the method directs the robot to a defined area where the products may be loaded or unloaded; see [0131] The warehouse 70 also has an end area 76 or "finishing area" where the robots 30 that have collected all (or at least some of) the products on the product itinerary can move to so that their containers may be unloaded; see [0088-0090] the location sensor 48 may include one or more optical sensors for obtaining visual information, and which can be processed by the robot processor 46 to determine the location of the robot 32; [0158] the picking itinerary includes location information and current location of the robot; see [Figs. 9 and 10][0149][0156] methods of Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 executed by the robot processor).
Asaria discloses detecting a location relative to a facility by a sensing system communicatively coupled to an unmanned delivery vehicle (See at least Asaria [Fig. 9][0086][0095-0097][0151]). Asaria further discloses, by a device control circuit implemented on the unmanned delivery vehicle, receiving a plurality of proposed product lists ([Fig. 3][0062-0066][0074-0086][Fig. 9][0150]), determining a first shopping route within the facility for a first proposed product list ([Figs. 9 and 10][0091][0152][0158-0159]), and receiving an update to the first proposed product list during product retrieval, wherein an update to the first proposed product list is information ([Fig. 9][0104][0155]). Asaria further discloses controlling the unmanned delivery vehicle to deliver retrieved products at a designated location via the sensing system ([0088-0090][0131][0158][0162]). However, Asaria does not explicitly disclose wherein a facility is a retail store; detecting location of a customer relative to a retail store; receiving product lists from each of a plurality of customers located outside the retail store; receiving information from a first customer; and delivering products to the first customer upon detecting arrival of the first customer at a designated pickup location.
Russell, on the other hand, teaches wherein a facility is a retail store ([Col 16 Ln 25-41] The parking facility 240 may be associated with a single retail establishment, or may be provided for the purpose of temporarily housing or storing vehicles of customers patronizing one or more different retail establishments (e.g., a parking lot outside of a shopping center or a street having parking spaces within a vicinity of a number of restaurants, shops or boutiques));
detecting location of a customer relative to a retail store ([Fig. 3]; [Col 20 Ln 57-Col 21 Ln 6] the vehicle 170 (e.g., a car) and a driver 172 may arrive at the parking facility 140 and park in a parking location 145-2. At box 315, the automobile is evaluated using one or more sensors associated with the first parking location);
receiving product lists from each of a plurality of customers located outside the retail store ([Fig. 3]; [Col 21 Ln 27-52] If the automobile is recognized… an order registry is searched for information regarding one or more ordered items corresponding to the automobile… information regarding one or more ordered items corresponding to the automobile is identified; see [Col 3 Ln 4-30] Each of the parking locations 145-1, 145-2, 145-3 includes an associated display screen 162-1, 162-2, 162-3 onto which information may be displayed to one or more patrons within automobiles parked at one of the parking locations 145-1, 145-2, 145-3; [Fig. 4C] depicting multiple customer vehicles within the parking facility; [Col 25 Ln 25-48] one or more workers may view information regarding the status of the various parking locations at the parking facility and the vehicles therein or operators thereof, information regarding the items included in the orders, instructions for delivering the items to the vehicles, or any other relevant information or data);
receiving information from a first customer ([Col 18 Ln 48-Col 19 Ln 9] the customer 272 may identify himself or herself as being associated with the customer identifier 275, e.g., by performing one or more authentication processes using the handheld device 274 (e.g., by accessing one or more networked resources such as web pages and entering a user name and/or password, or satisfying one or more predetermined criteria)); and
delivering products to the first customer upon detecting arrival of the first customer at a designated pickup location ([Fig. 3]; [Col 23 Ln 6-36] one or more sensors (e.g., digital cameras or other devices) may detect that a vehicle has arrived at a parking facility affiliated with one or more retail establishments… Once the vehicle has been identified, an order associated with the vehicle (e.g., an order placed by an owner or occupant of the vehicle) may be automatically identified, and one or more items included in the order may be retrieved and delivered to the vehicle by one or more workers).
Note: As recited, “upon detecting arrival of the first customer at a designated pickup location via the sensing system” represents a contingent limitation. For example, the claimed “controlling” step need not occur if the claimed arrival of the first customer is not detected. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. See MPEP 2111.04. Prior art has nonetheless been applied.
The steps of Russell are applicable to the method of Asaria, as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to product picking for orders using autonomous robots. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the robotic picking method as taught by Asaria, to include wherein a facility is a retail store; detecting location of a customer relative to a retail store; receiving product lists from each of a plurality of customers located outside the retail store; receiving information from a first customer; and delivering products to the first customer upon detecting arrival of the first customer at a designated pickup location, as taught by Russell. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the robotic picking method of Asaria in order to provide for quick and efficient delivery of ordered items to a customer, improve efficiency of operations, and increase the quality of a customer’s experience by allowing the customer to receive efficient service (Russell, [Col 1 Ln 5-15][Col 4 Ln 58-Col 5 Ln 40]).
Regarding Claim 13, Asaria in view of Russell teaches the method of claim 12.
Asaria further discloses determining the location relative to the facility, by the unmanned delivery vehicle using sensor data provided by one or more sensors of the sensing system ([0083] The product sensor 44 may include… optical sensors such as camera or other vision systems… operable to obtain information about the product that is being placed into or removed from the container 36; [0135-0138] detecting that a product has been placed in its container using the product sensor 44). However, Asaria does not explicitly teach detecting the arrival and determining the location of the customer relative to the retail store.
Russell, on the other hand, teaches detecting the arrival and determining the location of the customer relative to the retail store ([Fig. 3]; [Col 20 Ln 57-Col 21 Ln 6] the vehicle 170 (e.g., a car) and a driver 172 may arrive at the parking facility 140 and park in a parking location 145-2. At box 315, the automobile is evaluated using one or more sensors associated with the first parking location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the robotic picking method as taught by Asaria, to include detecting the arrival and determining the location of the customer relative to the retail store, as taught by Russell, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 12.
Regarding Claim 14, Asaria in view of Russell teaches the method of claim 12.
Asaria further discloses capturing, by one or more cameras of the one or more sensors of the sensing system, information about one or more products for identifying a product or confirming retrieval of the product ([0083] The product sensor 44 may include… optical sensors such as camera or other vision systems… operable to obtain information about the product that is being placed into or removed from the container 36; [0135-0138] detecting that a product has been placed in its container using the product sensor 44).
Regarding Claim 16, Asaria in view of Russell teaches the method of claim 12.
Asaria further discloses wirelessly communicating, by the device control circuit ([Fig. 3]; [0074] the robot includes a display device configured to display carious information such as information about the robot, the order, the product(s) currently being picked, etc.).
However, Asaria does not explicitly disclose communicating with a customer database, wherein the customer database stores a plurality of primary customer accounts of different customers that have previously purchased products from one or more of multiple different retail stores including the retail store.
Russell, on the other hand, teaches communicating with a customer database, wherein the customer database stores a plurality of primary customer accounts of different customers that have previously purchased products from one or more of multiple different retail stores including the retail store ([Col 21 Ln 7-42] whether the automobile is recognized using one or more sensors is determined. For example, if a license plate or other identifier on the automobile is identified and interpreted, information regarding the license plate (e.g., the letters and/or numbers thereon) or other identifier may be compared against a look-up table or other record of customer information in order to determine whether the automobile is a customer of the fulfillment center or other retail establishment associated with the parking facility… the automobile may be identified and associated with a customer identifier or one or more customers or customer accounts at a retail establishment, and a list of orders previously received from customers may be searched in order to determine whether an order was received from a customer associated with the automobile).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the robotic picking method as taught by Asaria, to include communicating with a customer database, wherein the customer database stores a plurality of primary customer accounts of different customers that have previously purchased products from one or more of multiple different retail stores including the retail store, as taught by Russell, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 12.
Regarding Claim 17, Asaria in view of Russell teaches the method of claim 12.
Asaria further discloses wirelessly communicating, by the device control circuit ([Fig. 3]; [0074] the robot includes a display device configured to display carious information such as information about the robot, the order, the product(s) currently being picked, etc.).
However, Asaria does not explicitly disclose communicating with an inventory management system of the retail store, wherein the inventory management system is configured to continuously maintain a current inventory of each product offered for sale.
Russell, on the other hand, teaches communicating with an inventory management system of the retail store, wherein the inventory management system is configured to continuously maintain a current inventory of each product offered for sale ([Col 14 Ln 22-35] maintain or perform one or more inventory management functions using computer devices in communication with one or more of the server 222, the database 224 and/or the processor 226… such functions may schedule the arrival, evaluation, storage, preparation or departure of one or more items at the fulfillment center 210, and may further generate information or data in the form of one or more instructions to be provided or otherwise dispatched to workers or other persons associated with worker profiles for retrieving (e.g., picking) items from their respective storage locations and delivering the items to a predefined destination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the robotic picking method as taught by Asaria, to include communicating with an inventory management system of the retail store, wherein the inventory management system is configured to continuously maintain a current inventory of each product offered for sale, as taught by Russell, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 12.
Claim 21 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 11. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 11, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, Claim 21 is rejected for the same rationale over the prior art cited in claim 11.
Claim(s) 5, 8, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asaria in view of Russell, and further in view of Nigul et al. (US 2022/0215061 A1), hereinafter Nigul.
Regarding Claim 5, Asaria in view of Russell teaches the system of claim 2.
Asaria further discloses wherein the device control circuit is further configured to control a system ([Fig. 3]; [0074-0081] robot 32 includes a display device configured to display and communicate information, where the display device is coupled to the robot using a coupling device).
Russell, on the other hand, teaches controlling a system for the first customer ([Fig. 3]; [Col 22 Ln 32-58] information indicating that the ordered items are being displayed to the vehicle 170 at the parking location 145-2 and identifying the first associate (e.g., a name and an image of the first associate), may be displayed on the display 162-2, along with words, symbols or other indicators that the delivery of the ordered items to the vehicle 170 is imminent; [Col 3 Ln 4-30] Each of the parking locations 145-1, 145-2, 145-3 includes an associated display screen 162-1, 162-2, 162-3 onto which information may be displayed to one or more patrons within automobiles parked at one of the parking locations 145-1, 145-2, 145-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the robotic picking system as taught by Asaria, to include controlling a system for the first customer, as taught by Russell, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
However, Asaria in view of Russell does not explicitly disclose controlling a point of sale system to complete a purchase transaction.
Additionally, in the field of online order fulfillment (see at least Nigul [0018]), Nigul, on the other hand, teaches controlling a point of sale system to complete a purchase transaction for the retrieved products ([0020] The online concierge system 102 also includes an order fulfillment engine 206 which is configured to manage orders made by customers 104… and facilitates transactions associated with each order; [0021] after successful fulfillment of an order, the order fulfillment engine 206 may transmit a summary of the order to the appropriate retailer(s) 110… indicating information associated with the transaction).
The steps of Nigul are applicable to the system of Asaria in view of Russell, as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to online order fulfillment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the order fulfillment system as taught by Asaria in view of Russell, to include controlling a point of sale system to complete a purchase transaction for the retrieved products, as taught by Nigul. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the order fulfillment system of Asaria in view of Russell in order provide a manner for collecting/maintaining purchase records for analysis (Nigul, [0020][0037]).
Regarding Claim 8, Asaria in view of Russell teaches the system of claim 2.
Asaria further discloses wherein the device control circuit is further configured to determine a first product list and a second product list, respectively, each product list being generated based on a corresponding proposed product list, a plurality of variables, and a set of product filtering rules applied using a current inventory and one or more other factors ([0066] more than one order 20 (i.e. multiple orders 20) may be assigned to a single robot 30. A robot 30 with the plurality of orders assigned thereto may execute the orders 20 simultaneously or sequentially; [0092] the picking itinerary 62 is generated based upon the received order 52 and warehouse information 54; [0095-0096] warehouse information 54 includes location information 56 including information indicative of the location of the products to be picked in the warehouse and distances between the start point and the products, and a map or plan of the warehouse; [0097-0098] congestion information 56 including information indicative of the congested areas within the warehouse where it might be difficult or slow for the robot 32 to travel… this information may be considered when determining which product to pick next. For example, if an area of the warehouse becomes congested, a product located in another area may be picked first; [0099-0100] congestion information 56 includes information about the utilization of non-human product pickers… identifying pickers who have relatively lower wait times… itineraries may be generated or updated such that the products that can be picked by the under-utilized pickers or areas are picked first, or at least sooner in the picking order; [0101]).
Russell, on the other hand, teaches product lists corresponding to the first customer and a second customer ([Col 3 Ln 4-30] Each of the parking locations 145-1, 145-2, 145-3 includes an associated display screen 162-1, 162-2, 162-3 onto which information may be displayed to one or more patrons within automobiles parked at one of the parking locations 145-1, 145-2, 145-3; [Fig. 4C] depicting multiple customer vehicles within the parking facility; [Col 25 Ln 25-48] one or more workers may view information regarding the status of the various parking locations at the parking facility and the vehicles therein or operators thereof, information regarding the items included in the orders, instructions for delivering the items to the vehicles, or any other relevant information or data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the robotic picking system as taught by Asaria, to include product lists corresponding to the first customer and a second customer, as taught by Russell, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
However, Asaria in view of Russell does not explicitly disclose determining suggested product lists, each suggested product list generated based on a weighted average of a plurality of variables.
Nigul, on the other hand, teaches determining suggested product lists, each suggested product list generated based on a weighted average of a plurality of variables ([Fig. 1][0017] a recommendation system 103 which can suggest one or more items for a customer 104's order. Recommendations can be selected based on characteristics of the customer 104, based on current contents of the customer 104's order, based on historical information about the customer 104, or the like… the online concierge system allows customers to purchase food items and ingredients, and the recommendation system 103 can suggest recipes for the customer 104 to make; [Fig. 5]; [0050-0052] suggesting recipes to customers based on weighted overlap between items available in the ingredient pool 510 and each recipe of the recipe pool 540).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the order fulfillment system as taught by Asaria in view of Russell, to include determining suggested product lists, each suggested product list generated based on a weighted average of a plurality of variables, as taught by Nigul. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the order fulfillment system of Asaria in view of Russell in order minimize the need for a customer to improvise and/or return to the grocery store due to insufficient products that they could have included in their original order (Nigul, [0001-0003]).
Regarding Claim 15, Asaria in view of Russell teaches the method of claim 12.
Asaria further discloses controlling, by the device control circuit, a system ([Fig. 3]; [0074-0081] robot 32 includes a display device configured to display and communicate information, where the display device is coupled to the robot using a coupling device).
Russell, on the other hand, teaches controlling a system for the first customer ([Fig. 3]; [Col 22 Ln 32-58] information indicating that the ordered items are being displayed to the vehicle 170 at the parking location 145-2 and identifying the first associate (e.g., a name and an image of the first associate), may be displayed on the display 162-2, along with words, symbols or other indicators that the delivery of the ordered items to the vehicle 170 is imminent; [Col 3 Ln 4-30] Each of the parking locations 145-1, 145-2, 145-3 includes an associated display screen 162-1, 162-2, 162-3 onto which information may be displayed to one or more patrons within automobiles parked at one of the parking locations 145-1, 145-2, 145-3).
However, Asaria in view of Russell does not explicitly disclose controlling a point of sale system to complete a purchase transaction for the retrieved products.
Nigul, on the other hand, teaches controlling a point of sale system to complete a purchase transaction for the retrieved products ([0020] The online concierge system 102 also includes an order fulfillment engine 206 which is configured to manage orders made by customers 104… and facilitates transactions associated with each order; [0021] after successful fulfillment of an order, the order fulfillment engine 206 may transmit a summary of the order to the appropriate retailer(s) 110… indicating information associated with the transaction).
The steps of Nigul are applicable to the method of Asaria in view of Russell, as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to online order fulfillment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the order fulfillment method as taught by Asaria in view of Russell, to include controlling a point of sale system to complete a purchase transaction for the retrieved products, as taught by Nigul. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the order fulfillment system of Asaria in view of Russell in order provide a manner for collecting/maintaining purchase records for analysis (Nigul, [0020][0037]).
Regarding Claim 18, Asaria in view of Russell teaches the method of claim 12.
Asaria further discloses determining, by the device control circuit, a first product list and a second product list, respectively, each product list being generated based on a corresponding proposed product list, a plurality of variables, and a set of product filtering rules applied using a current inventory and one or more other factors ([0066] more than one order 20 (i.e. multiple orders 20) may be assigned to a single robot 30. A robot 30 with the plurality of orders assigned thereto may execute the orders 20 simultaneously or sequentially; [0092] the picking itinerary 62 is generated based upon the received order 52 and warehouse information 54; [0095-0096] warehouse information 54 includes location information 56 including information indicative of the location of the products to be picked in the warehouse and distances between the start point and the products, and a map or plan of the warehouse; [0097-0098] congestion information 56 including information indicative of the congested areas within the warehouse where it might be difficult or slow for the robot 32 to travel… this information may be considered when determining which product to pick next. For example, if an area of the warehouse becomes congested, a product located in another area may be picked first; [0099-0100] congestion information 56 includes information about the utilization of non-human product pickers… identifying pickers who have relatively lower wait times… itineraries may be generated or updated such that the products that can be picked by the under-utilized pickers or areas are picked first, or at least sooner in the picking order; [0101]).
Russell, on the other hand, teaches product lists corresponding to the first customer and a second customer ([Col 3 Ln 4-30] Each of the parking locations 145-1, 145-2, 145-3 includes an associated display screen 162-1, 162-2, 162-3 onto which information may be displayed to one or more patrons within automobiles parked at one of the parking locations 145-1, 145-2, 145-3; [Fig. 4C] depicting multiple customer vehicles within the parking facility; [Col 25 Ln 25-48] one or more workers may view information regarding the status of the various parking locations at the parking facility and the vehicles therein or operators thereof, information regarding the items included in the orders, instructions for delivering the items to the vehicles, or any other relevant information or data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the robotic picking method as taught by Asaria, to include product lists corresponding to the first customer and a second customer, as taught by Russell, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
However, Asaria in view of Russell does not explicitly disclose determining suggested product lists, each suggested product list generated based on a weighted average of a plurality of variables.
Nigul, on the other hand, teaches determining suggested product lists, each suggested product list generated based on a weighted average of a plurality of variables ([Fig. 1][0017] a recommendation system 103 which can suggest one or more items for a customer 104's order. Recommendations can be selected based on characteristics of the customer 104, based on current contents of the customer 104's order, based on historical information about the customer 104, or the like… the online concierge system allows customers to purchase food items and ingredients, and the recommendation system 103 can suggest recipes for the customer 104 to make; [Fig. 5]; [0050-0052] suggesting recipes to customers based on weighted overlap between items available in the ingredient pool 510 and each recipe of the recipe pool 540).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the order fulfillment method as taught by Asaria in view of Russell, to include determining suggested product lists, each suggested product list generated based on a weighted average of a plurality of variables, as taught by Nigul. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the order fulfillment method of Asaria in view of Russell in order minimize the need for a customer to improvise and/or return to the grocery store due to insufficient products that they could have included in their original order (Nigul, [0001-0003]).
Claim(s) 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asaria in view of Russell, and further in view of Obstfeld et al. (US 2022/0161429 A1), hereinafter Obstfeld.
Regarding Claim 9, Asaria in view of Russell teaches the system of claim 2.
Asaria further discloses wherein the device control circuit is further configured to identify locations of the first shopping route and a second shopping route to enable cooperative product retrieval between a plurality of unmanned vehicles and minimize a duration of respective shopping routes navigated by each unmanned vehicle ([Fig. 9]; [0152] a picking itinerary is generated based upon the order and the warehouse information. The picking itinerary includes information indicative of the location of the at least one product and if there are multiple products to be transported, then a sequence for transporting the products; see [0094] multiple itineraries may be generated for a single order… if two robots may more efficiently fulfil a single order (e.g. in a shorter amount of time or travel distance because the products are located in opposite ends of the warehouse), two picking itineraries may be generated. The itineraries may then be provided to two different robots for execution, in some cases simultaneously (e.g. the robots may pick "in parallel"); [0098] the picking itinerary 62 may be generated based upon reducing the overall estimated travel time, for example, for individual robots, for a group of robots, and so on).
Russell, on the other hand, teaches the first shopping route of the first customer and a second shopping route of the second customer ([Col 3 Ln 4-30] Each of the parking locations 145-1, 145-2, 145-3 includes an associated display screen 162-1, 162-2, 162-3 onto which information may be displayed to one or more patrons; [Col 14 Ln 22-35] information or data in the form of one or more instructions to be provided or otherwise dispatched to workers or other persons associated with worker profiles for retrieving (e.g., picking) items from their respective storage locations and delivering the items to a predefined destination; [Col 25 Ln 25-48] one or more workers may view information regarding the status of the various parking locations at the parking facility and the vehicles therein or operators thereof, information regarding the items included in the orders, instructions for delivering the items to the vehicles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the robotic picking method as taught by Asaria, to include the first shopping route of the first customer and a second shopping route of the second customer, as taught by Russell, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
However, Asaria in view of Russell does not explicitly disclose identifying common locations between the first shopping route and a second shopping route.
Additionally, in the field of robotic product picking (see at least Obstfeld [abstract][0002-0006]), Obstfeld, on the other hand, teaches identifying common locations between the first shopping route and a second shopping route ([0038] as AMRs 304 navigate throughout location 300, to satisfy their respective task lists, they may serendipitously come into communication proximity of one another… two or more AMRs 304 may encounter one another at a prearranged meeting place, where the pick routes of the two or more AMRs 304 intersect; [0062] In response to sensing the presence of the other AMR 304… AMR 304a and AMR 304b may exchange their respective task lists 306… either or both of AMR 304a-304b may compare task lists 306a-306b and apply an optimization algorithm to the compared lists, to determine an adjustment to either or both of task lists 306a-306b… see [0012] a first autonomous mobile robot (AMR) encounters a second AMR, while navigating a location; [0052][0053] a task list for a particular AMR may indicate… the set of item(s) that the AMR 304 is to collect within location 300… this information may include… their respective locations within location 300).
The steps of Obstfeld are applicable to the system of Asaria in view of Russell, as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to robotic product picking. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the robotic picking system as taught by Asaria in view of Russell, to include identifying common locations between the first shopping route and a second shopping route, as taught by Obstfeld. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the robotic picking system of Asaria in view of Russell in order to improve productivity and efficiency in warehouses comprising automated pickers (Obstfeld, [0002]).
Regarding Claim 19, Asaria in view of Russell teaches the method of claim 12.
Asaria further discloses identifying, by the device control circuit, locations of the first shopping route and a second shopping route to enable cooperative product retrieval between a plurality of unmanned vehicles and minimize a duration of respective shopping routes along which the unmanned delivery vehicle is guided ([Fig. 9]; [0152] a picking itinerary is generated based upon the order and the warehouse information. The picking itinerary includes information indicative of the location of the at least one product and if there are multiple products to be transported, then a sequence for transporting the products; see [0094] multiple itineraries may be generated for a single order… if two robots may more efficiently fulfil a single order (e.g. in a shorter amount of time or travel distance because the products are located in opposite ends of the warehouse), two picking itineraries may be generated. The itineraries may then be provided to two different robots for execution, in some cases simultaneously (e.g. the robots may pick "in parallel"); [0098] the picking itinerary 62 may be generated based upon reducing the overall estimated travel time, for example, for individual robots, for a group of robots, and so on).
Russell, on the other hand, teaches the first shopping route of the first customer and a second shopping route of the second customer ([Col 3 Ln 4-30] Each of the parking locations 145-1, 145-2, 145-3 includes an associated display screen 162-1, 162-2, 162-3 onto which information may be displayed to one or more patrons; [Col 14 Ln 22-35] information or data in the form of one or more instructions to be provided or otherwise dispatched to workers or other persons associated with worker profiles for retrieving (e.g., picking) items from their respective storage locations and delivering the items to a predefined destination; [Col 25 Ln 25-48] one or more workers may view information regarding the status of the various parking locations at the parking facility and the vehicles therein or operators thereof, information regarding the items included in the orders, instructions for delivering the items to the vehicles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the robotic picking method as taught by Asaria, to include the first shopping route of the first customer and a second shopping route of the second customer, as taught by Russell, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
However, Asaria in view of Russell does not explicitly disclose identifying common locations between the first shopping route and a second shopping route.
Obstfeld, on the other hand, teaches identifying common locations between the first shopping route and a second shopping route ([0038] as AMRs 304 navigate throughout location 300, to satisfy their respective task lists, they may serendipitously come into communication proximity of one another… two or more AMRs 304 may encounter one another at a prearranged meeting place, where the pick routes of the two or more AMRs 304 intersect; [0062] In response to sensing the presence of the other AMR 304… AMR 304a and AMR 304b may exchange their respective task lists 306… either or both of AMR 304a-304b may compare task lists 306a-306b and apply an optimization algorithm to the compared lists, to determine an adjustment to either or both of task lists 306a-306b… see [0012] a first autonomous mobile robot (AMR) encounters a second AMR, while navigating a location; [0052][0053] a task list for a particular AMR may indicate… the set of item(s) that the AMR 304 is to collect within location 300… this information may include… their respective locations within location 300).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the robotic picking method as taught by Asaria in view of Russell, to include identifying common locations between the first shopping route and a second shopping route, as taught by Obstfeld, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 9.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asaria in view of Russell, and further in view of Waldman et al. (US 2018/0374127 A1), hereinafter Waldman.
Regarding Claim 10, Asaria in view of Russell teaches the system of claim 2.
Asaria further discloses wherein the device control circuit receives a copy of a local inventory list, and wherein the device control circuit is configured to retrieve product availability data from an inventory list ([Fig. 9]; [0151-0152] warehouse information is obtained… and a picking itinerary is generated based upon the order and the warehouse information; see [0093] when an order is received, a list of products to be picked is generated… the itinerary generation module 50 will then determine a sequence for picking the products on the list based upon the warehouse information; [0095-0096] warehouse information includes location information indicative of the location of the products to be picked in the warehouse… including a map or plan of the warehouse).
Asaria further discloses wherein the device control circuit controls a device ([Figs. 3 and 4]; [0086] The robot 32 also includes a robot processor 46, which may be operatively coupled to a location sensor 48 and a communication device 50; see [Figs. 9 and 10][0149][0156] methods of Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 executed by the robot processor).
Russell, on the other hand, teaches wherein a retail store’s inventory management system is a system ([Col 14 Ln 22-35] maintain or perform one or more inventory management functions using computer devices in communication with one or more of the server 222, the database 224 and/or the processor 226… such functions may schedule the arrival, evaluation, storage, preparation or departure of one or more items at the fulfillment center 210, and may further generate information or data in the form of one or more instructions to be provided or otherwise dispatched to workers or other persons associated with worker profiles for retrieving (e.g., picking) items from their respective storage locations and delivering the items to a predefined destination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the robotic picking system as taught by Asaria, to include wherein a retail store’s inventory management system is a system, as taught by Russell, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
However, Asaria in view of Russell does not explicitly teach wherein a memory implemented on the device stores a local inventory list, and retrieving product data from a locally stored inventory list upon detecting a loss of connectivity to a system.
Additionally, in the field of in-store device-based communications, (see at least Waldman [0077-0078][0082-0083]), Waldman, on the other hand, teaches wherein a memory implemented on the device stores a local inventory list, and retrieving product data from a locally stored inventory list upon detecting a loss of connectivity to a system ([Fig. 1]; [0077] customer device 118 includes a device used by a customer with display 119, and memory cache 124; [Fig. 3]; [0142] customer device 118 receives first Bluetooth LE packet from first wireless beacon 114A… when customer device 118 is located near a wireless beacon located at or near a retail entrance, such that the device 118 is able to communicate with server 126… Upon receipt of first Bluetooth LE packet 700, SDK 125 may inspect memory cache 124 and determine if the memory cache contains up-to-date data (content) for first wireless beacon 114A. If the content is not up-to-date in memory cache 124, then SDK may contact 702 server 126 (e.g., the content server) and retrieve 704 the latest content (e.g., content 128) associated with first wireless beacon 114A. The retrieved content may be stored in memory cache 124; see [0126-0128] wireless beacons provide inventory status including an inventory level value; [0233] the mobile device may be directed to save the data and wait until the customer is connected to a wireless network where transmission of the data will not adversely impact the customer's wireless data plan or the mobile device's battery life).
The steps of Waldman are applicable to the system of Asaria in view of Russell, as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to device-based communications in a retail store. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the retail communication system as taught by Asaria in view of Russell, to include wherein a memory implemented on the device stores a local inventory list, and retrieving product data from a locally stored inventory list upon detecting a loss of connectivity to a system, as taught by Waldman. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the retail communication system of Asaria in view of Russell in order to allow for dynamic interaction in a retail environment, and provide improved device-based communications in store using beacon technology, providing quicker and easier access to product information (Waldman, [0004-0009]).
Regarding Claim 20, Asaria in view of Russell teaches the method of claim 12.
Asaria further discloses receiving, by the device control circuit, a copy of a local inventory list, wherein the device control circuit is configured to retrieve product availability data from an inventory list.
Asaria further discloses wherein the device control circuit controls a device ([Figs. 3 and 4]; [0086] The robot 32 also includes a robot processor 46, which may be operatively coupled to a location sensor 48 and a communication device 50; see [Figs. 9 and 10][0149][0156] methods of Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 executed by the robot processor).
Russell, on the other hand, teaches wherein a retail store’s inventory management system is a system ([Col 14 Ln 22-35] maintain or perform one or more inventory management functions using computer devices in communication with one or more of the server 222, the database 224 and/or the processor 226… such functions may schedule the arrival, evaluation, storage, preparation or departure of one or more items at the fulfillment center 210, and may further generate information or data in the form of one or more instructions to be provided or otherwise dispatched to workers or other persons associated with worker profiles for retrieving (e.g., picking) items from their respective storage locations and delivering the items to a predefined destination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the robotic picking method as taught by Asaria, to include wherein a retail store’s inventory management system is a system, as taught by Russell, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
However, Asaria in view of Russell does not explicitly teach storing, by a memory implemented on the device, a local inventory list, and retrieve product data from a locally stored inventory list upon detecting a loss of connectivity to a system.
Waldman, on the other hand, teaches storing, by a memory implemented on the device, a local inventory list, and wherein the device is configured to retrieve product data from a locally stored inventory list upon detecting a loss of connectivity to a system ([Fig. 1]; [0077] customer device 118 includes a device used by a customer with display 119, and memory cache 124; [Fig. 3]; [0142] customer device 118 receives first Bluetooth LE packet from first wireless beacon 114A… when customer device 118 is located near a wireless beacon located at or near a retail entrance, such that the device 118 is able to communicate with server 126… Upon receipt of first Bluetooth LE packet 700, SDK 125 may inspect memory cache 124 and determine if the memory cache contains up-to-date data (content) for first wireless beacon 114A. If the content is not up-to-date in memory cache 124, then SDK may contact 702 server 126 (e.g., the content server) and retrieve 704 the latest content (e.g., content 128) associated with first wireless beacon 114A. The retrieved content may be stored in memory cache 124; see [0126-0128] wireless beacons provide inventory status including an inventory level value; [0233] the mobile device may be directed to save the data and wait until the customer is connected to a wireless network where transmission of the data will not adversely impact the customer's wireless data plan or the mobile device's battery life).
Note: As recited, “upon detecting a loss of connectivity” represents a contingent limitation. For example, the claimed “retrieving” step need not occur if the loss of connectivity is not detected. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. See MPEP 2111.04. Prior art has nonetheless been applied.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the retail communication method as taught by Asaria in view of Russell, to include storing, by a memory implemented on the device, a local inventory list, and wherein the device is configured to retrieve product data from a locally stored inventory list upon detecting a loss of connectivity to a system, as taught by Waldman, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S Patent No. 11,142,402 B2 to Lert, Jr. – a combined automated-service and self-service store for brick-and-mortar retail locations including an automated-service model in which robots fill orders for fungible goods placed by customers either online or in-store.
NPL Reference U “Adaptive path finding algorithm in dynamic environment for warehouse robot” (see Notice of References Cited) – Discusses algorithms for improving efficiency in robotic path finding regarding static and dynamic obstacles.
/ZACHARY RYAN DONAHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3689
/MARISSA THEIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3689