DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed 07/23/2025, wherein claims 1-20 are pending and ready for an examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/23/2025, 09/04/2025 and 12/15/2025 were filed before the mailing date of the Non-final action on 09/10/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 8, 11, 15 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5-6 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. US12432169B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the present application are fully anticipated by the patent. The only difference is that the present claims are much broader because they do not recite specific limitations as the patent. Before the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to broaden the claims in order to seek broader patent protection.
Instant Application # 19/278,021
US Patent # US12432169B2
1, 8 and 15, a computer-implemented method, a system and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising:
receiving a set of messages associated with a plurality of member devices and a representative device, wherein the representative device is associated with a representative assigned to a plurality of members associated with the plurality of member devices for performance of tasks on behalf of the plurality of members;
processing the set of messages to generate task data including one or more task recommendations associated with the set of messages, wherein the one or more task recommendations correspond to a set of tasks performable on behalf of the plurality of members;
tracking a real-time chat flow within a chat interface, wherein the set of messages are exchanged within the chat interface using the plurality of member devices and the representative device;
processing the real-time chat flow in real-time as messages of the set of messages are received using a scheduling algorithm to select a position for one or more reminders for a specific member, wherein the one or more reminders are associated with the one or more task recommendations; and
facilitating presentation of the one or more reminders for the specific member by inserting the one or more reminders within the real-time chat flow presented within the chat interface of a member device associated with the specific member, wherein the one or more reminders are inserted according to the position.
1, 5 and 9, a computer-implemented method, a device, and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising:
receiving a set of messages associated with a member device and a representative device, wherein the representative device is associated with a representative assigned to a member associated with the member device for performance of tasks on behalf of the member;
processing the set of messages to generate task data including one or more task recommendations associated with the set of messages, wherein the one or more task recommendations correspond to a set of tasks performable on behalf of the member;
tracking a real-time chat flow within a chat interface, wherein the set of messages are exchanged within the chat interface using the member device and the representative device;
tracking usage data using a chat usage tracking system, wherein the chat usage tracking system identifies dates and times when the member interacts with the real-time chat flow;
tracking member response data using the chat usage tracking system, wherein the chat usage tracking system determines times when the member was responsive to past automated reminders;
accessing calendar data using the chat usage tracking system, wherein the calendar data is associated with the member device;
selecting a timing for one or more future reminders, wherein selecting includes processing the calendar data, the usage data, and the member response data using a scheduling algorithm to determine a timing that is likely to trigger the member to take action on the one or more task recommendations; and
facilitating presentation of the one or more future reminders by inserting the one or more future reminders within the real-time chat flow, wherein the one or more future reminders are inserted according to the timing.
4, 11 and 18, The method of claim 1, The system of claim 8 and the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15 further comprising:
simultaneously receiving messages from the plurality of member devices; and
simultaneously processing the set of messages from the plurality of member devices to generate associated task data.
2 and 6, The computer-implemented method of claim 1 and the device of claim 5 further comprising:
simultaneously receiving messages from a plurality of member devices including the member device; and
simultaneously processing the messages from the plurality of member devices to generate associated task data, update associated chat streams on associated representative devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mouawad (US 11,144,854 B1) in view of Cohen et al. (US 7885844), hereinafter “Cohen”. Mouawad and Cohen cited in applicant IDS filed 07/23/2025.
With respect to claim 1, Mouawad discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
tracking a real-time chat flow within a chat interface (Col-5, II. 16-21, teaches the digital pinboard may also provide real-time information, such as task and project status or performance of users involved in a task or project, to facilitate tasks management. Such real-time information may be an aggregation of information provided by the plurality of digital pinboard devices in the digital pinboard network, Col-15, II. 62-63, teaches the task management pane may keep track of active tasks and / or task status, Col-36, II. 29-30, teaches user interfaces may be provided for users may be able to chat with or leave messages for other users), wherein the set of messages are exchanged within the chat interface using the plurality of member devices and the representative device (Col-36, II. 29-30 and II. 35-38, teaches user interfaces may be provided for users may be able to chat with or leave messages for other users …a new message interface may be provided for the user to compose and/or send the message. The recipient of the message may be provided automatically by the system or entered by the user);
processing the real-time chat flow in real-time as messages of the set of messages are received using a scheduling algorithm to select a position for one or more reminders for a specific member (Col-11, II. 4-6, teaches the start date (i.e. timing) and/or target date fields may be entered via a popup calendar control (i.e. scheduling algorithm), where the user may select the date and/or time for the task to be started and/or completed, Col-26, II. 16-19, teaches the alerts may include recent updates or actions by other individuals. The alerts may also include reminders for tasks. The alerts or reminders may be provided as frequently as desired by the user, Col-34, II. 46-51, teaches the navigation pane 2601 may include a tasks section 2612 that includes one or more task related links such as a “Task Feed” link, for example, to a Rich Site Summary (RSS) feed, that provides real-time feed on all tasks related to the specific user, Col-35, II. 53-58, teaches a live chat session with an online representative), wherein the one or more reminders are associated with the one or more task recommendations (Col-26, II. 16-19, teaches the alerts (i.e. reminders) may include recent updates or actions by other individuals. The alerts may also include reminders for tasks. The alerts or reminders may be provided as frequently as desired by the user);
facilitating presentation of the one or more reminders for the specific member by inserting the one or more reminders within the real-time chat flow presented within the chat interface of a member device associated with the specific member (Col-11, II. 4-6, teaches the start date (i.e. timing) and/or target date fields may be entered via a popup calendar control (i.e. scheduling algorithm), where the user may select the date and/or time for the task to be started and/or completed, Col-26, II. 16-19, teaches the alerts may include recent updates or actions by other individuals. The alerts may also include reminders for tasks. The alerts or reminders may be provided as frequently as desired by the user, Col-27, II. 24-27, teaches provided for a user to specify whether to display statuses for only tasks assigned by a particular user, only tasks assigned to a particular user, or both. Col-34, II. 46-51, teaches the navigation pane 2601 may include a tasks section 2612 that includes one or more task related links such as a “Task Feed” link, for example, to a Rich Site Summary (RSS) feed, that provides real-time feed on all tasks related to the specific user, Col-36, II. 29-30 and II. 35-38, teaches user interfaces may be provided for users may be able to chat with or leave messages for other users …a new message interface may be provided for the user to compose and/or send the message. The recipient of the message may be provided automatically by the system or entered by the user), wherein the one or more reminders are inserted according to the position (Col-26, II. 16-19, teaches the alerts may include recent updates or actions by other individuals. The alerts may also include (i.e. insert) reminders for tasks. The alerts or reminders may be provided as frequently as desired by the user, Col-30, II. 13-14, teaches the tasks used to calculate the satisfaction score may be selected according to time period).
However, Mouawad remain silent on receiving a set of messages associated with a plurality of member devices and a representative device, wherein the representative device is associated with a representative assigned to a plurality of members associated with the plurality of member devices for performance of tasks on behalf of the plurality of members, processing the set of messages to generate task data including one or more task recommendations associated with the set of messages, wherein the one or more task recommendations correspond to a set of tasks performable on behalf of the plurality of members.
Cohen discloses receiving a set of messages associated with a plurality of member devices and a representative device, wherein the representative device is associated with a representative assigned to a plurality of members associated with the plurality of member devices for performance of tasks on behalf of the plurality of members (Col-3, II. 64-66, teaches task requester users (i.e. member device) and task performer users (i.e. representative device) to programmatically and/or interactively engage in task-related transactions, Col-4, II. 61-64, teaches automated notification to a task performer user (i.e. representative device) of task recommendations may include, for example, sending one or more emails, text messages, instant messages, Col-5, II.17-23, teaches the automated matching of tasks (and task performer users (i.e. representative device) may be performed in various ways, including by using a variety of types of information. For example, in some embodiments, information used for automatic matching in order to generate task recommendations may include not only information about the tasks, but also information about or from task performer users, task requesters, Col-26, II. 59-61, teaches messages that are programmatically exchanged with a task performer in order to identify and perform tasks of interest, Col-46, II. 65-67, teaches performs the automated matching functionality for those new tasks on behalf of one or more of the task performers);
processing the set of messages to generate task data including one or more task recommendations associated with the set of messages (Col-4, II. 61-64, teaches automated notification to a task performer user (i.e. member device) of task recommendations may include, for example, sending one or more emails, text messages, instant messages), wherein the one or more task recommendations correspond to a set of tasks performable on behalf of the plurality of members (Col-4, II. 46-50, teaches perform automatic matching of available tasks to task performer users, such as to automatically generate recommendations for task performer users of available tasks that are appropriate for those task performer users to perform, Col-46, II. 65-67, teaches performs the automated matching functionality for those new tasks on behalf of one or more of the task performers).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Mouawad’s system with of Mouawad’s multiple individuals or teams may be assigned to a task. A team may have one or more, or two or more members with a set of messages of Cohen in order to enable more efficient identification, organization, and execution of task across multiple members while reducing manual message review and the likelihood of missed tasks (Cohen).
For claim 8, it is a system claim corresponding to the method of claim 1. Therefore claim 8 is rejected under the same ground as claim 1.
For claim 15, it is a non-transitory computer readable medium claim corresponding to the method of claim 1. Therefore claim 15 is rejected under the same ground as claim 1.
With respect to claims 2, 9 and 16, Mouawad in view of Cohen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
updating the scheduling algorithm using interactions of the plurality of members with the one or more reminders (Cohen, Col-50, II. 25-29, teaches task requesters are allowed to specify how interactions are to occur with task performers who are performing their tasks, and in particular to specify one or more task interaction control (“TIC) types for each of their submitted tasks, Mouawad, Col-11, II. 4-6, teaches the start date (i.e. timing) and/or target date fields may be entered via a popup calendar control (i.e. scheduling algorithm), where the user may select the date and/or time for the task to be started and/or completed, Col-26, II. 16-19, teaches the alerts may include recent updates or actions by other individuals. The alerts may also include (i.e. insert) reminders for tasks. The alerts or reminders may be provided as frequently as desired by the user).
With respect to claims 3, 10 and 17, Mouawad in view of Cohen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of members is a family, and wherein processing the set of messages to generate test data includes prompting the specific member to provide information regarding a composition of the family (Mouawad, Col-7, II. 19-21, teaches multiple individuals or teams may be assigned to a task. A team (i.e. family) may have one or more, or two or more members, Col-26, II. 16-19, teaches the alerts or reminders may be provided as frequently as desired by the user . The alerts may be pushed alert), Col-27, II. 24-27, teaches provided for a user to specify whether to display statuses for only tasks assigned by a particular user, only tasks assigned to a particular user).
With respect to claims 4,11 and 18, Mouawad in view of Cohen discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
simultaneously receiving messages from a plurality of member devices (Cohen, Col-23, II.16-18); and
simultaneously processing the set of messages from the plurality of member devices to generate associated task data (Cohen, Col-26, II. 59-61), update associated chat streams on associated representative devices (Mouawad, Col-14, II. 3-6, teaches the task that has just been assigned may show up in both the ‘assigned by me’ and the ‘assigned to me’ interfaces of the respective individuals. Such updates may be made in real-time, Col-36, II. 29-30 and II. 35-38, teaches user interfaces may be provided for users may be able to chat with or leave messages for other users).
With respect to claims 5, 12 and 19, Mouawad in view of Cohen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of members inhabits a single home (Mouawad, Col-23, II. 10-11, teaches users (i.e. members) may be employees of a company (i.e. single home) or other organization).
With respect to claims 6, 13 and 20, Mouawad in view of Cohen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the scheduling algorithm further determines a timing for the one or more reminders (Mouawad, Col-11, II. 4-6, teaches the start date (i.e. timing) and/or target date fields may be entered via a popup calendar control (i.e. scheduling algorithm), where the user may select the date and/or time for the task to be started and/or completed, Col-26, II. 16-19, teaches the alerts may include recent updates or actions by other individuals. The alerts may also include reminders for tasks. The alerts or reminders may be provided as frequently as desired by the user), and wherein facilitating presentation of the one or more reminders further uses the timing (Mouawad, Col-11, II. 4-6, teaches the start date (i.e. timing) and/or target date fields may be entered via a popup calendar control (i.e. scheduling algorithm), where the user may select the date and/or time for the task to be started and/or completed, Col-26, II. 16-19, teaches the alerts may include recent updates or actions by other individuals. The alerts may also include reminders for tasks. The alerts or reminders may be provided as frequently as desired by the user, Col-27, II. 24-27, teaches provided for a user to specify whether to display statuses for only tasks assigned by a particular user, only tasks assigned to a particular user, or both).
With respect to claims 7 and 14, Mouawad in view of Cohen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the scheduling algorithm is trained using a duration the specific member takes to perform actions (Mouawad, Col-30, II. 13-14, teaches the tasks used to calculate the satisfaction score may be selected according to time period, Col-31, II. 57-58, teaches Time periods may be entered as an example of specific input criteria ( e.g. , start date , target date , complete date , close date )).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US8375320B2 teaches A triggering mechanism for generating task reminders based on contextual information associated with the tasks is provided. Contextual information may be extracted from a variety of sources and may be related to one or more tasks. Based on the contextual information, task reminders may be generated and may be presented in a manner that makes the task reminders more useful to an end user.
US11537997B2 teaches an intelligent task assistant program can identify tasks associated with a user over a reporting period based on an analysis of, and inferences drawn from, data associated with one or more personal information programs, such as an electronic calendar application, an electronic reminder application, an electronic collaborative application, and/or an electronic communication application. The task assistant may also prioritize the identified tasks based on content associated with the tasks. Some or all of the prioritized tasks can be provided to an output device for perception by the user.
US20130275983A1 teaches Concepts and technologies are described herein for providing task continuity and supporting task completion across devices and time. A task management application is configured to monitor one or more interactions between a user and a device. The interactions can include the use of the device, the use of one or more applications, and/or other tasks, subtasks, or other operations. Predictive models constructed from data or logical models can be used to predict the attention resources available or allocated to a task or subtask as well as the attention and affordances available within a context for addressing the task and these inferences can be used to mark or route the task for later reminding and display. In some embodiments, the task management application is configured to remind or execute a follow-up action when a session is resumed. Embodiments include providing users with easy to use gestures and mechanisms for providing input about desired follow up on the same or other devices.
/G.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2458
/UMAR CHEEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2458