Response to Arguments
The objection to the specification has been overcome by the amendment and is withdrawn.
The objections to claims 14-17 have been overcome by the amendment and are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 12-13, filed January 13, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ge (CN 114024102 A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge (CN 114024102 A; all citations refer to the English translation attached to the office action mailed October 14, 2025).
Regarding claim 1, Ge teaches a battery cell comprising an electrode body and tabs connected to the electrode body at a first side edge (first end) and the connectors (outer tab 2) at a second side edge (second end), with a bending portion between the ends of the tabs (Fig. 6 below).
Each of the tabs has a single arc (bending portion) outside of the electrode body.
Ge does not teach that the arcs of the outermost tabs bend in opposite directions. However, changes in size and shape are not patently distinct over the prior art absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed invention is significant. See MPEP 2144.04 IVA-B, citing In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955), In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976), Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), and In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to bend the arcs in any direction, including opposite directions.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Ge does not disclose any particular tab length. However, the tabs of Ge are angled to reach the connection point (see Fig. 3). L is therefore greater than L1, which overlaps the ranges of the instant claims. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 19, Ge teaches that this cell is used in a battery ([0002]).
Regarding claim 20, Ge teaches that these batteries are used to power electronic devices ([0002]).
Claim(s) 4, 5, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Li et al. (WO 2021/208093 A1, with reference to US 2022/0209226 A1 as a direct English translation).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Ge does not teach any particular expansion coefficient in the thickness direction. Ge teaches that the cell comprises silicon-based active material (Ge [0037]). Li teaches a silicon-based anode that avoids the deterioration problem typical of such electrodes (Li [0005]-[0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use the anode of Li in the battery of Ge to avoid the deterioration problem.
Li teaches that the silicon material has a volume expansion coefficient of about 3 (400% volume at full charge; Li [0005]), and that the silicon material is 0.5-50 wt% of the anode (Li [0008]). The volume expansion coefficient of the anode is therefore about 0.02 to 1.5, assuming the density of the additional components is comparable to silicon and expansion during charging is negligible. For roughly equal volume fractions of anode, cathode, and separator, the volume expansion coefficient of the electrode assembly will be about 0.01 to 0.5. The expansion coefficient in the thickness direction is therefore about 0.002 to 0.17 if expansion is uniform in every direction, or about 0.01 to 0.5 if expansion is primarily restricted to the thickness direction. So 0.002≤Ky≤0.5, which overlaps the range of the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Ge does not teach any particular content of high expansion material. Ge teaches that the cell comprises silicon-based active material (Ge [0037]), which is a high expansion material. Li teaches a silicon-based anode that avoids the deterioration problem typical of such electrodes (Li [0005]-[0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use the anode of Li in the battery of Ge to avoid the deterioration problem.
Li teaches that the anode should include 0.5-50 wt% Si-based material (Li [0008]), which overlaps the range of the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 6-11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge in view of Li as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, as evidenced by Schmidt et al. ("Volume expansion of amorphous silicon electrodes during potentiostatic lithiation of Li-ion batteries", Electrochemistry Communications 115, 106738, June 2020).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, modified Ge does not teach any particular expansion coefficient in the length direction. Schmidt teaches that the volume expansion of silicon electrodes is primarily restricted to the thickness direction (Schmidt p. 3, first full paragraph). Expansion in the length direction will therefore necessarily be significantly smaller than the uniform expansion coefficient limit 0.17, which overlaps the ranges of the instant claims. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 8, the distance from the ends of the electrode body to the connector will necessarily decrease by some fraction of the expansion of the electrode body in the length direction, so at least one end of the battery will necessarily satisfy this equation for an appropriate value of a.
Regarding claim 9, changes in size are not sufficient to patentably distinguish over prior art (see MPEP 2144.04 IV A; In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)). A sufficiently large battery will necessarily have a length L2 within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 10, any tabs that do not break during expansion will necessarily have an elongation less than the elongation at break (K2<K1), which overlaps the range of the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 11, the elongation of the uppermost tab will necessarily be described by this equation for b=1, since there is no slack in the prior art battery described by Ge (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, modified Ge does not teach any particular expansion coefficient in the length direction. Schmidt teaches that the volume expansion of silicon electrodes is primarily restricted to the thickness direction (Schmidt p. 3, first full paragraph). Expansion in the length direction will therefore necessarily be significantly smaller than the uniform expansion coefficient limit 0.17, which overlaps the ranges of the instant claims. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge in view of Li and Schmidt as applied to claim 10 above, as evidenced by Chen et al. ("Ultralight Ionic and Electronic Conducting Current Collector with Durable Interface for High-Performance Thick Gradient Electrodes", Advanced Functional Materials 2025, e11188, June 2025).
Regarding claims 12, modified Ge does not teach any particular elongation at break. Modified Ge teaches that the tabs are copper foil (Ge [0003]). Chen teaches that typical breaking elongation of copper foil is about 1.5%, which falls within the range of the instant claim. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use a typical copper foil for the battery of modified Ge, including one with a typical breaking elongation.
Regarding claim 13, modified Ge does not teach any particular elongation. Modified Ge teaches that the tabs are copper foil (Ge [0003]). Chen teaches that typical breaking elongation of copper foil is about 1.5%, which falls within the range of the instant claim. Any tabs that do not break during expansion will necessarily have an elongation less than the elongation at break (K2<1.5), which overlaps the range of the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge in view of Li and Schmidt et al. as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Kapelushnik (US 2020/0066462 A1).
Regarding claim 15, modified Ge does not teach any particular relation between the anode width and separator width. Kapelushnik teaches that the separator should be wider than the electrodes to prevent short circuiting (Kapelushnik [0117]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select a separator larger than the maximum width of the anode to prevent short circuiting, or H1-(1+K3)H2>0, which overlaps the range of the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 16, it can be seen from Fig. 3 of Ge above that the separator overhang is significantly less than the distance to the connection point (longer overhangs than those depicted would result in the tabs deflecting the separators). Since expansion is largely limited to the thickness direction, L2 is approximately equal to L1, so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select a separator overhang significantly less than L2, including values within the range of the instant claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.A.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722