DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed February 25, 2026 have been entered. Claims 3-6, 8, 11, 14 and 16 have been amended to fix typographical errors. Claim 18 is new; support for the new claim can be found in at least paragraph [0010] of the Instant Specification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed February 25, 2026 have been fully considered. Applicant argues the degree of crosslinking is not equivalent to the solid or liquid state of the material; therefore, Liu does not teach each element of claims 1 and 10 as Liu teaches a phase transformation material that has a solid phase and liquid phase. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are found to be persuasive. New grounds of rejection are presented below.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s amendments to claims 3, 5-7, and 11 overcome the previous 112(b) rejections. The previous 112(b) rejections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-11, 13-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (WO 2024140237 A1), hereinafter referred to as Liu.
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a battery cell comprising a solid electrolyte containing a thermally reversible cross-linked structure (“a gel polymer electrolyte”) (see e.g., paragraph [0006]). Liu teaches the solid-state battery cell is formed by in-situ polymerization of a first monomer, a second monomer, a monomer A, and a monomer B inside the battery (see e.g., paragraph [0009]), wherein monomer A and monomer B form a thermally reversible cross-linked structure, the first monomer and monomer B are connected by covalent bonds, and the first monomer and the second monomer are connected by covalent bonds (see e.g., paragraph [0044]). Liu teaches the first monomer is monomer containing an isocyanate functional group and/or an epoxy functional group, the second monomer is a monomer containing active hydrogen, monomer A is a monomer containing a maleimide functional group, and monomer B is a monomer containing a furan functional group (see e.g., paragraph [0046]). Liu teaches after the four monomers are mixed, the monomer containing the maleimide functional undergoes a Diels-Alder reaction with the monomer containing the furan functional group to form a thermally reversible structure with active hydrogen groups (see e.g., paragraph [0057]), and this structure can copolymerize with the first monomer and form a three-dimensional network structure through chain extension by the second monomer, transforming the liquid electrolyte into a non-flowing and non-volatile solid electrolyte (see e.g., paragraph [0038]). Liu teaches as heat is generated within the battery, the thermally reversible structure formed by monomers A and B will depolymerize endothermically and react with oxygen free radicals during battery thermal runaway, preventing the occurrence of battery thermal runaway (see e.g., paragraph [0038]).
Liu teaches the electrolyte in a first state at a first temperature (“a first state at a first temperature”) when there is an elevated temperature of the battery, wherein the monomer containing the maleimide functional group will depolymerize endothermically and react with oxygen free radicals during battery thermal runaway (see e.g., paragraph [0038]). Liu teaches a second state at a second temperature (“a second state at a second temperature”) wherein the electrolyte is a non-flowing and non-volatile solid electrolyte before heat has been generated (“the first temperature is higher than the second temperature”) (see e.g., paragraph [0038]). Liu teaches the electrolyte is formed of a thermally reversible structure (“the first state and the second state are mutually transitionable”) (see e.g., paragraph [0085]).
In the Instant Specification, the gel polymer electrolyte includes a second crosslinking agent and a de-crosslinking temperature of the second crosslinking agent is greater than or equal to 40 °C (see e.g., paragraphs [0014]). The Instant Specification teaches the second crosslinking agent includes at least one of maleimide and an N-substituted derivative of maleimide, and with the use of the second crosslinking agent, at least part of the second part of the second crosslinking agent is de-crosslinked when the battery reaches the first temperature (see e.g., paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, since Liu also teaches maleimide as also taught by the Instant Specification, the degree of crosslinking of the electrolyte of Liu in the second state, wherein the electrolyte is a non-flowing and non-volatile solid electrolyte (see e.g., paragraph [0038]) is higher than the degree of crosslinking of the electrolyte of Liu in the first state, wherein an increase in the temperature of the battery causes the maleimide to depolymerize endothermically and react with oxygen free radicals as it absorbs heat (see e.g., paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Liu teaches the electrolyte experiences depolymerization as heat is generated within the battery and the depolymerization of the cross-linked polymer into the first state occurs when the internal temperature of the battery rises above operating temperature (““wherein the first temperature is greater than or equal to 40 °C”) (see e.g., paragraph [0006]) and absorbs some heat at temperatures such as 100 °C (see e.g., Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Liu teaches the electrolyte does not experience depolymerization until the battery absorbs heat (see e.g., paragraph [0037]); therefore, the electrolyte would remain in the second state at temperatures such as room temperature and below (“wherein the second temperature ranges from -25 °C to 35 °C”).
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Liu teaches the electrolyte is formed by in-situ polymerization of a first monomer, a second monomer, a monomer A, and a monomer B, wherein the monomers A and B form a thermally reversible crosslinked structure (“wherein the gel polymer electrolyte comprises a first crosslinking agent and a second crosslinking agent”) (see e.g., paragraphs [0008]-[0009]). Liu teaches the depolymerization of the cross-linked polymer occurs when the internal temperature of the battery rises above operating temperature (“a de-crosslinking temperature of the crosslinking agent is greater than or equal to 40 °C”) (see e.g., paragraph [0006]) and absorbs some heat at temperatures such as 100 °C (see e.g., Figures 1-2) to prevent thermal runaway (see e.g., paragraph [0128]).
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 5, as previously described.
Liu teaches the monomer A is a monomer containing a maleimide functional group (“the second crosslinking agent comprises at least one of maleimide and an N-substituted derivative of maleimide”) (see e.g., paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Liu teaches the electrolyte further includes a first monomer that is a monomer containing an epoxy functional group (“further comprises a base material, and a monomer of the base material comprises at least one of an epoxy group”) (see e.g., paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches a method of producing a solid electrolyte that contains an electrolyte and a thermally reversible cross-linked structure formed by in-situ polymerization of a first monomer, a second monomer, a monomer A, and a monomer B, wherein the monomers A and B form a thermally reversible crosslinked structure (see e.g., paragraphs [0006] and [0008]-[0009]). Liu teaches the monomers A and B form a macromolecular structure with amine or hydroxyl groups at both ends through the D-A reaction of maleimide and furan, and this structure can copolymerize with the first monomer and form a three-dimensional network structure through chain extension by the second monomer, transforming the liquid electrolyte into a non-flowing and non-volatile solid electrolyte (“mixing and polymerizing a monomer of a base material, an initiator, a crosslinking agent, and electrolyte solution to obtain a gel polymer electrolyte”) (see e.g., paragraph [0038]). Liu teaches, as the electrolyte absorbs heat from the battery, the thermally reversible structure formed by monomers A and B will depolymerize endothermically (see e.g., paragraph [0038]). Therefore, Liu teaches the electrolyte has a first state at a first temperature (operation temperature of the battery without heat to absorb), wherein the electrolyte has not depolymerized and is non-flowing, and a second state at a second temperature (higher temperature of the battery as heat is produced), wherein the electrolyte depolymerizes and has a lower degree of crosslinking than the electrolyte in the first state, thus, meeting the claim limitations of “wherein the gel polymer electrolyte has a first state at a first temperature and a second state at a second temperature, the first state and the second state are mutually transitionable, the first temperature is higher than the second temperature, and a degree of crosslinking of the gel polymer electrolyte in the second state is higher than the second temperature, and a degree of crosslinking of the gel polymer electrolyte in the second state is higher than a degree of crosslinking of the gel polymer electrolyte in the first state.”
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 10, as previously described.
Liu teaches the electrolyte is formed by in-situ polymerization of a first monomer, a second monomer, a monomer A, and a monomer B, wherein the monomers A and B form a thermally reversible crosslinked structure (“wherein the gel polymer electrolyte comprises a first crosslinking agent and a second crosslinking agent”) (see e.g., paragraphs [0008]-[0009]). Liu teaches the depolymerization of the cross-linked polymer occurs when the internal temperature of the battery rises above operating temperature (“a de-crosslinking temperature of the crosslinking agent is greater than or equal to 40 °C”) (see e.g., paragraph [0006]) and absorbs some heat at temperatures such as 100 °C (see e.g., Figures 1-2) to prevent thermal runaway (see e.g., paragraph [0128]).
Regarding claim 13, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Liu teaches a battery comprising the electrolyte and thermally reversible cross-linked structure as previously described in claim 1 (“a battery, comprising the gel polymer electrolyte according to claim 1”) (see e.g., paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 14, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Liu teaches a battery cell and the use of the battery cell (see e.g., paragraph [0001]) comprising a solid electrolyte containing a thermally reversible cross-linked structure (“a gel polymer electrolyte”) (see e.g., paragraph [0006]). Liu teaches the monomers A and B form a macromolecular structure with amine or hydroxyl groups at both ends through the D-A reaction of maleimide and furan, and this structure can copolymerize with the first monomer and form a three-dimensional network structure through chain extension by the second monomer, transforming the liquid electrolyte into a non-flowing and non-volatile solid electrolyte (see e.g., paragraph [0038]). Liu teaches, as the electrolyte absorbs heat from the battery, the thermally reversible structure formed by monomers A and B will depolymerize endothermically (see e.g., paragraph [0038]). Therefore, Liu teaches the electrolyte has a first state at a first temperature (operation temperature of the battery without heat to absorb), wherein the electrolyte has not depolymerized and is non-flowing, and a second state at a second temperature (higher temperature of the battery as heat is produced), wherein the electrolyte depolymerizes, having a lower degree of crosslinking than the electrolyte in the first state, thus, meeting the claim limitations of “wherein the gel polymer electrolyte has a first state at a first temperature and a second state at a second temperature, the first state and the second state are mutually transitionable, the first temperature is higher than the second temperature, and a degree of crosslinking of the gel polymer electrolyte in the second state is higher than the second temperature, and a degree of crosslinking of the gel polymer electrolyte in the second state is higher than a degree of crosslinking of the gel polymer electrolyte in the first state.”
Liu teaches a battery is charged and discharged, the internal temperature of the battery is increased, and the thermally reversible cross-linked structure undergoes depolymerization and absorbs heat (see e.g., paragraph [0038]). Therefore, Liu teaches a “first present condition” in which the internal temperature of the battery as increased, the battery is charged and discharged at the first temperate in the first state, and a “second present condition” which the internal temperature of the battery is at room temperature, the battery is charge and discharged at the second temperature in the second state (“when the battery satisfies a first preset condition, the battery is charged and discharged at a first temperature” and “when the battery satisfies a second present condition, the battery is charged and discharged at a second temperature”).
Regarding claim 17, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 13, as previously described.
Liu teaches a battery comprising the electrolyte and thermally reversible cross-linked structure as previously described in claim 13 (“a battery, comprising the gel polymer electrolyte according to claim 1”) (see e.g., paragraph [0006]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (WO 2024140237 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Liu teaches the electrolyte in the first state has not depolymerized and is non-flowing and the electrolyte in the second state depolymerizes (see e.g., paragraph [0038]). Therefore, the degree of crosslinking of the second state at the higher temperature would be higher than the degree of the crosslinking in the first state at the lower temperature. Thus, the ratio of the degree of crosslinking to the second state would be a value smaller than 1:1 as the first state would have a lower degree of crosslinking than the solid phase, meeting the claim limitation of “wherein a ratio of the degree of crosslinking of the gel polymer electrolyte in the first state to the degree of crosslinking in the second state ranges from 0.2 to 0.95:1.”
Further, Liu teaches the depolymerization of the thermally reversible structure formed by monomers A and B react with the oxygen free radicals during battery thermal runaway, preventing the occurrence of battery thermal runaway (see e.g., paragraph [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select a ratio of the degree of crosslinking of the electrolyte in the first state to the degree of crosslinking in the second state ranges from 0.2 to 0.95:1 because Liu teaches the depolymerization of the thermally reversible structure formed by monomers A and B react with the oxygen free radicals during battery thermal runaway, preventing the occurrence of battery thermal runaway (see e.g., paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 5, as previously described.
Liu teaches the molar ratio of the maleimide function group of monomer A to the furan function group of monomer B is 1:(0.3-3) (see e.g., paragraph [0065]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the range of molar ratio overlaps with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 12, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 10, as previously described.
Liu teaches the molar ratio of the first monomer to the monomer B is 1:(0.1-5) (“wherein a molar ratio of the monomer of the base material to the crosslinking agent is 1:2-10”) (see e.g., paragraph [0063]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the range of molar ratio overlaps with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 18, Liu teaches a battery cell comprising a solid electrolyte containing a thermally reversible cross-linked structure (“a gel polymer electrolyte”) (see e.g., paragraph [0006]). Liu teaches the monomers A and B form a macromolecular structure with amine or hydroxyl groups at both ends through the D-A reaction of maleimide and furan, and this structure can copolymerize with the first monomer and form a three-dimensional network structure through chain extension by the second monomer, transforming the liquid electrolyte into a non-flowing and non-volatile solid electrolyte (see e.g., paragraph [0038]). Liu teaches, as the electrolyte absorbs heat from the battery, the thermally reversible structure formed by monomers A and B will depolymerize endothermically (see e.g., paragraph [0038]). Therefore, Liu teaches the electrolyte has a first state at a first temperature (operation temperature of the battery without heat to absorb), wherein the electrolyte has not depolymerized and is non-flowing, and a second state at a second temperature (higher temperature of the battery as heat is produced), wherein the electrolyte depolymerizes, having a lower degree of crosslinking than the electrolyte in the first state, thus, meeting the claim limitations of “wherein the gel polymer electrolyte has a first state at a first temperature and a second state at a second temperature, the first state and the second state are mutually transitionable, the first temperature is higher than the second temperature, and a degree of crosslinking of the gel polymer electrolyte in the second state is higher than the second temperature, and a degree of crosslinking of the gel polymer electrolyte in the second state is higher than a degree of crosslinking of the gel polymer electrolyte in the first state.”
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the degree of crosslinking of the gel polymer electrolyte in the first state ranges from 20% to 48.5%.
However, Liu teaches the same crosslinking agent of maleimide and its derivatives and the molar ratios as claimed in the Instant Application; therefore, the degree of crosslinking of the electrolyte as it depolymerizing at elevated temperatures (the first state) would be inherent to be within the claimed range of 20% to 48.5% in order to achieve the reaction with oxygen free radicals to prevent the occurrence of battery thermal runaway (See e.g., paragraph [0038]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (WO 2024140237 A1) in view of Carlson et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2016/0197375 A1), hereinafter referred to as Carlson.
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 8, as previously described.
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the monomer of the base material comprises at least one of furfuryl methacrylate, vinyl cyclohexene dioxide, 1,5- hexadiene diepoxide, glycerol propoxylatetriglycidyl ether, 1,2,7,8-diepoxy octane, butyl glycidyl ether, diglycidyl 1,2-cyclohexanedicarboxylate, ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether, glycerol triglycidyl ether, and glycidyl methacrylate.
However, Carlson teaches a gel electrolyte composition that includes a polymer with a plurality of isocyanate groups and a blocking agent contacting at least one of the plurality of isocyanate groups (see e.g., Abstract). Carlson teaches the polymer with isocyanate functional groups is made up of one or more monomeric units of one or more monomeric units of the following: furfuryl methacrylate (“wherein the monomer of the base material comprises at least one of furfuryl methacrylate”) (see e.g., paragraph [0013]). Carlson teaches the polymer with isocyanate functional groups helps minimize the runaway reactions that my take place in rechargeable batteries, thus reducing the chance of explosions (see e.g., paragraph [0012]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the monomer of Jin to be a polymer with isocyanate functional groups made up of one or more monomeric units of furfuryl methacrylate, as taught by Carlson, in order to help minimize the runaway reactions that my take place in rechargeable batteries, thus reducing the chance of explosions (see e.g., paragraph [0012]).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (WO 2024140237 A1) in view of Ge et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2020/0259232 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ge.
Regarding claim 15, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 14, as previously described.
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the first present condition is that a ratio of a current internal resistance of the battery to an initial internal resistance of the battery is greater than 1.5; and/or the second present condition is that the ratio of the current internal resistance of the battery to the initial internal resistance of the battery is less than or equal to 1.5.
However, Ge teaches a battery cell with a polymer electrolyte (see e.g., Abstract). Ge teaches the electrolyte undergoes a solid-to-liquid phase transformation at a temperature above room temperature (see e.g., paragraph [0043]), and the electrolyte is heated above room temperature when the electrochemical reactivity of the cell, which is found by measuring the internal resistance of the battery cell, is a multiple of at least 4 higher when compared to an electrochemical activity of the battery cell at a base state temperature (“wherein the first present condition is that a ratio of a current internal resistance of the battery to an initial internal resistance of the battery is greater than 1.5”) (see e.g., paragraph [0030]) in order to have high stability and high inherent safety (see e.g., paragraph [0019).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the first preset condition of Liu to be when the electrochemical reactivity of the cell, which is found by measuring the internal resistance of the battery cell, is a multiple of at least 4 higher when compared to an electrochemical activity of the battery cell at a base state temperature, as taught by Ge, in order to high stability and high inherent safety (see e.g., paragraph [0019).
Regarding claim 16, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 14, as previously described.
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the first present condition is that a discharge rate of the battery is greater than 2C; or the second present condition is that the discharge rate of the battery is less than or equal to 2C.
However, Ge teaches a battery cell with a polymer electrolyte (see e.g., Abstract). Ge teaches the electrolyte undergoes a solid-to-liquid phase transformation at a temperature above room temperature (see e.g., paragraph [0043]), and Ge teaches the discharge rate of 5 C was used for the battery after the electrolyte underwent the solid-to-liquid phase transformation (“wherein the first present condition is that a discharge rate of the battery is greater than 2C”) (see e.g., paragraph [0063]) in order to have high stability and high inherent safety (see e.g., paragraph [0019).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the first preset condition of Liu to be a discharge rate of 5 C, as taught by Ge, in order to high stability and high inherent safety (see e.g., paragraph [0019).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE N HIGGINS/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728