Status of Claims
This action is in response to filings received 07/24/2025 and claims earliest priority from US patent # 12475459 filed 01/10/2022.
Claims 1, 10 and 19 being independent and claims 2-9, 11-18 and 20 are dependent.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The analysis below follows the framework of Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, as set out in MPEP 2106 and the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance. Claim 1 is treated as representative. The analysis applies equally to independent claims 10 and 19, and each dependent claim is separately addressed below.
Under Step 1, claims 1-9 recite a system comprising one or more storage devices and one or more processors, which is a machine. Claims 10-18 recite a method, which is a process. Claims 19-20 recite a non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions, which is an article of manufacture. All pending claims fall within a statutory category, so the analysis proceeds to Step 2A.
Setting aside the recited hardware, which is addressed under Prong Two, claim 1 recites the following limitations that set forth the abstract idea:
receive a request from a merchant to authorize an interaction with a user;
determining that the user is eligible to pay for the interaction with rewards points or is eligible to pay for the interaction using an equal payment plan;
based on that determination, presenting the user a first option with the rewards points or a second option to pay using the equal payment plan, and requesting a security code from the user;
providing the security code to the user and receiving the security code and the user’s selection of an interaction path;
conducting the interaction using the selected interaction path; and
communicating an authorization for the interaction to the merchant.
Taken together, these steps describe authorizing a payment transaction. A party receives a merchant’s request to approve a customer’s purchase, checks whether the customer is able to pay by a given method, verifies the customer with a code, lets the customer pick how to pay, completes the payment, and tells the merchant the payment is approved. This is a fundamental economic practice and a commercial interaction in the form of sales activity, both of which fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas. Verifying a payer and authorizing payment in order to mitigate transaction risk is the same kind of economic practice found abstract in Alice, and buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc. The practice has a direct brick and mortal analog. A sales clerk telephones the card issuer, the issuer confirms the customer has enough points on the account or can pay in installments, asks the customer for a code word to confirm identity, takes the customer’s choice of payment, completes the sale, and tells the clerk the sale is approved.
The determining and eligibility evaluation steps are also observations and judgments that could be performed in the human mind or with pen and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components, and so additionally fall within the mental processes grouping, MPEP 2106.04 (a)(2)(III).
Claim 1 therefore recites an abstract idea, and the analysis proceeds to Prong Two.
Under Step 2A, Prong Two, the additional elements of claim 1 beyond the abstract idea are: one or more storage devices; one or more processors in a network system executing application code instructions; a server; a merchant computing device; a user computing device; a merchant user interface window and a user interface displayed on the user computing device; first, second, and third communication channels, with the second and third channels recited as separate from the first and with the user computing device communicating directly with the server bypassing the merchant computing device; and the generating and transmitting of instructions to display the user interface.
Each additional element is recited at a high level of generality. The storage devices, processor, server, merchant computing device, and user computing device are generic computer components performing the generic functions of receiving, processing, storing, displaying, and transmitting data. Using generic computers as tools to carry out the abstract idea amounts to no more than an instruction to apply the idea on a computer, which does not integrate the idea into a practical application, MPEP 2106.05(f); Alice, 573 U.S. at 223-26.
The steps of receiving the authorization request, transmitting the display instructions, communicating the security code, and communicating the authorization are data gathering and data output steps. Receiving and transmitting data over a network is insignificant extra-solution activity.
The recitation of three communication channels, with the second and third separate from the first, does not change the outcome. The claim does not recite how any channel is established, secured, or improved. It recites only that different pieces of transaction data travel over different generic network connections, and that the user device communicates with the server directly rather than through the merchant. Directing which party receives which communication is part of arranging the commercial interaction itself, not an improvement to networking technology. At most, the recited channels generally link the abstract idea to the technological environment of networked computers, which is not enough. Nothing in the claim, read in light of the specification, reflects an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology or technical field under MPEP 2106.05(a), applies the abstract idea with a particular machine under MPEP 2106.05(b), or effects a transformation of an article under MPEP 2106.05(c). The transaction is authorized in the same way it always has been. The claim just performs it with generic computers over generic connections.
Considering individually and as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claim 1 is directed to the abstract idea, and the analysis proceeds to Step 2B.
Under Step 2B, the same additional elements, considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As explained above, the computing elements are generic and are used only as tools to perform the idea. The courts have recognized the computer functions recited here as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity when claimed generically: receiving or transmitting data over a network, and storing and retrieving information in memory. The specification describes the storage devices, processors, servers, channels, windows, and messaging at the same generic level and attributes no unconventional structure or operation to any of them. Displaying payment options in a window and delivering a code over an additional generic message channel such as a text message are conventional computer activities. The ordered combination adds nothing beyond what the elements contribute separately. There is no inventive concept, and claim 1 is not patent eligible. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)
Claim 10 recites the method performed by the system of claim 1 and recites the same abstract idea with the same additional elements. Claim 19 recites a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instruction executed by one or more processors to perform the same functions. A generic storage medium and generic processors do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not supply an inventive concept. Claims 10 and 19 are rejected for the reasons given for claim 1.
Claims 2, 11 and 20 add communicating a confirmation message to the user computing device that the interaction was conducted with the interaction path. Confirming a completed sale to the customer is part of the commercial interaction itself, and transmitting the confirmation is insignificant post-solution activity, MPEP 2106.05(g).
Claims 3 and 12 add determining whether the interaction path is eligible based on an analysis of an account of the user. Reviewing a customer’s account to decide whether a payment method may be used is part of the abstract economic practice and is an evaluation that could be performed mentally. These claims add no additional elements.
Claims 4 and 13 add that the instructions are generated for a plug-in to open a pop-up window on the user computing device. A plug-in and a pop-up window are generic software display components recited at a high level of generality. They serve only as a tool used to present the payment operations and do no more than confine the idea to a browser environment, MPEP 2106.05(f) and (h).
Claims 5 and 14 add receiving a communication from the user computing device comprising the security code and a selection of the interaction path. Receiving the customer’s code and payment choice is data gathering needed to perform the abstract idea, MPEP 2106.05(g).
Claims 6 and 15 add that the pop-up window overlays the merchant user interface window and is displayed over a checkout page of the merchant website. Where a generic window sits on the screen is a presentation detail. It improves no technology and merely limits the field of use, MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claims 7 and 16 add that the security code is communicated via a push notification or a text message. Push notifications and text messages are conventional transmission channels, and picking a known message type to deliver data is insignificant extra-solution activity, MPEP 2106.05(g).
Claims 8 and 17 add determining, during the time period of the interaction, whether the user is eligible to pay with the rewards points or using the equal payment plan. Timing the eligibility check to the pendency of the transaction refines the abstract idea itself. A clerk who checks the account while the customer waits at the counter performs the same practice.
Claims 9 and 18 add that the interaction path is one of a plurality of interaction paths comprising an option to pay for the interaction with a payment instrument. Offering the customer more ways to pay is part of the sales activity. These claims add no additional elements.
None of the dependent claims adds an additional element, alone or in combination, that integrates the abstract idea into a practical application or amounts to significantly more. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) & (a)(2) as anticipated by, or in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mark Rose et al. (US 2020/0094133 A1 herein, Rose). Rose published Mar. 26, 2020 and was effectively filed November 26, 20169, both before the application’s earliest effective filing date of 01/10/2022, and thus qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) & (a)(2).
As per claim 1, Rose teaches a system for authorizing transactions using user interface windows generated based on selected interaction paths without interacting with merchant software, comprising:
one or more storage devices (Rose ¶¶ [154, 160, 164 & 167-169]); and
one or more processors in a network system communicatively coupled to the one or more storage devices, wherein the one or more processors execute application code instructions that are stored in the one or more storage devices to cause the system to (Rose ¶¶ [150, 154-155, 166-167 & 180]):
receive, at a server over a first communication channel, a request from a merchant computing device to authorize an interaction with a user, the interaction occurring on a merchant user interface window displayed on a user computing device (Rose ¶¶ [46, 84-85, 387, 404 & 419]);
based on determining that the user is eligible to pay for the interaction with rewards points or is eligible to pay for the interaction using an equal payment plan, generate instructions to display a user interface on the user computing device to receive a security code and a first option to pay for the interaction with the rewards points or a second option to pay for the interaction using the equal payment plan (Rose ¶¶ [64, 112, 118-120, 125 & 128-130]);
transmit, to the merchant computing device during a time period of the interaction and in second communication channel that is a separate channel from a communication channel being used to communicate with the merchant computing device, the instructions to receive the security code to cause a display of one or more options for the user, comprising the first option to pay for the interaction with the rewards points or the second option to pay for the interaction in the equal payment plan, and wherein the user computing device communicates directly with the server bypassing the merchant computing device (Rose ¶¶ [52-53, 56 & 59]);
communicate the security code to the user computing device in a third channel separate from the first communication channel and the second communication channel (Rose ¶¶ [50 & 52-53]);
conduct the interaction utilizing an interaction path selected via the display (Rose ¶¶ [46, 53-56, 95, 115 & 126]); and
communicate an authorization for the interaction to the merchant computing device (Rose ¶¶ [90, 93 & 188]).
To the extent Rose is found not to expressly disclose that the instructions are transmitted “in a second communication channel that is separate channel” from the channel used to communicate with the merchant computing device, the difference would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Rose already discloses two distinct connections: the merchant’s API call to the payment provider (¶¶ [46, 59 & 133]) and the direct widget or light box session between the payment processor and the user device (¶¶ [35, 54-57 & 106]). Arranging the transaction communications across these known, separate network connections is a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, or at most a simple substitution of one known communication path for another. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-17 (2007); MPEP 2143(I)(A), (B). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to keep the merchant-facing channel and the user-facing channel separate exactly as Rose’s integration model suggest, so the payment processor can control the payment interface and receive sensitive user credentials without exposing them to the merchant. Rose describes that benefit when the anonymization features prevent personal identifying information of the user from being provided to the merchant (¶¶ [36, 52, 112 & 125]).
The claim recites the options in the alternative, so under BRI disclosing either one satisfies the limitation (MPEP 2131.02). As to the “equal payment plan”, the limitation is met by the rewards points alternative as explained above. Should the applicant argue that both options must be shown, Official Notice is taken that installment plans splitting a purchase amount into equal payments were notoriously well-known consumer payment option before the effective filing date. Rose’s DPO expressly selects and presents the most optimal, customized list of payment methods for each user (¶¶ [38, 58-59 & 105-106]). Including a known installment payment option amount the presented methods would have been the predictable use of a known payment technique in a system built to surface whatever payment option best fit the user. KSR, 550 U.S. at 417.
As per claims 10 & 19, the claims recite analogous limitations as claim 1 above and rejected under the same premise.
As per claim 2, Rose teaches the system of claim 1, Rose further teaches: wherein the application code instructions further cause the system to communicate a confirmation message to the user computing device that the interaction was conducted with the interaction path (Rose ¶¶ [55-56, 86, 121 & 130]).
As per claims 11 & 20, the claims recite analogous limitations as claim 2 above and rejected under the same premise.
As per claim 3, Rose teaches the system of claim 1, Rose further teaches: wherein the application code instructions further cause the system to determine whether the interaction path is eligible based on an analysis of an account of the user (Rose ¶¶ [56, 118-120, 128-130 & 342-343]).
As per claim 12, the claim recites analogous limitations as claim 3 above and rejected under the same premise.
As per claim 4, Rose teaches the system of claim 1, Rose further teaches: wherein the instructions are generated for a plug-in to open a pop-up window on the user computing device (Rose ¶¶ [38, 49 & 54-57]).
As per claim 13, the claim recites analogous limitations as claim 4 above and rejected under the same premise.
As per claim 5, Rose teaches the system of claim 4, Rose further teaches: wherein the application code instructions further cause the one or more processors to receive a communication from the user computing device in response to opening the pop-up window, wherein the communication comprises the security code and a selection of the interaction path (Rose ¶¶ [52-54]).
As per claim 14, the claim recites analogous limitations as claim 5 above and rejected under the same premise.
As per claim 6, Rose teaches the system of claim 4, Rose further teaches: wherein the pop-up window overlays the merchant user interface window utilized to conduct the interaction and is displayed over a checkout page of a merchant website (Rose ¶¶ [46, 55-56, 59, 397 & 429]).
As per claim 15, the claim recites analogous limitations as claim 6 above and rejected under the same premise.
As per claim 7, Rose teaches the system of claim 1, Rose further teaches: wherein the security code is communicated to the user computing device via a push notification or a text message (Rose ¶¶ [52, 121 & 130]).
As per claim 16, the claim recites analogous limitations as claim 7 above and rejected under the same premise.
As per claim 8, Rose teaches the system of claim 1, Rose further teaches: wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to determine, during the time period of the interaction, whether the user is eligible to pay for the interaction with the rewards points or is eligible to pay for the interaction using the equal payment plan (Rose ¶¶ [49, 64, 112, 118-120, 125 & 128-130]).
As per claim 17, the claim recites analogous limitations as claim 8 above and rejected under the same premise.
As per claim 9, Rose teaches the system of claim 1, Rose further teaches: wherein the interaction path is one of a plurality of interaction paths, the plurality of interaction paths comprising an option to pay for the interaction with a payment instrument (Rose ¶¶ [46-47]).
As per claim 18, the claim recites analogous limitations as claim 9 above and rejected under the same premise.
Conclusion
/T.P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3696
/MATTHEW S GART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3696