DETAILED ACTION
This is the second office action on the merits of the instant application, and is in response to Applicant’s remarks and replacement drawings filed March 28, 2026. In light of the filed replacement drawings, the previous requirement for replacement drawings is satisfied, and withdrawn. Claims 1-20 remain in the application, and were not amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-20 is maintained as outlined below.
In Applicant’s remarks, Applicant has asserted that Duffaut et al. does not disclose “…wherein the pool cleaning robot is able to be switched from moving on a bottom wall of a pool to floating on a liquid surface, and a process of switching the pool cleaning robot from moving on the bottom wall of the pool to floating on the liquid surface comprises at least the following: the pool cleaning robot is first switched from moving on the bottom wall of the pool to moving on a side wall of the pool, and the pool cleaning robot subsequently moves on the side wall of the pool toward the liquid surface; and when the pool cleaning robot moves close to the liquid surface or at least partially above the liquid surface, the pool cleaning robot is switched from being against the side wall of the pool to floating on the liquid surface…”, as required by independent claim 1 and, similarly, independent claim 16. However, Duffaut et al. teaches, as best illustrated in Fig. 3 and discussed in para. [0059]-[0062] and [0080], movement of the pool cleaner from and between various positions within the pool, including the bottom, walls and surface of the water. Applicant’s argument is therefore not persuasive, and the rejection of claims 1 and 16 is maintained. Regarding independent claim 19, Applicant argues that Duffaut et al. does not disclose “a buoyancy cavity configured to accommodate at least gas; a buoyancy force adjustment member configured to adjust a volume of the gas in the buoyancy cavity; and an air inlet configured to at least allow gas to enter the buoyancy cavity”. Applicant argues that Duffaut et al. only teaches that the buoyancy cavity (chamber 90) receives water from the pool or spa, and does not adjust a volume of gas in the chamber. Applicant’s argument does not take into account, however, that it is inherent that in order for water or air to enter or exit the buoyancy chamber, an avenue for entry or exit must be provided. It is well-understood that the buoyancy of such a chamber is integrally linked with the proportion of fluid (water) and gas (air) in the chamber. Applicant’s argument is therefore unpersuasive, and the rejection of claim 19 is maintained. No substantive argument for the patentability of the dependent claims being presented, other than their dependency on independent claims 1, 16 and 19, respectively, the rejections presented in the previous office action, and repeated below, are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Duffaut et al. (US 2024/0271445 A1).
Duffaut et al. teaches, according to claim 1, a pool cleaning robot, comprising:
a dust box comprising a dust box opening and configured to filter liquid that enters the dust box, wherein the dust box opening further comprises an in-water dust box opening, wherein the in-water dust box opening is provided on a bottom of the dust box and is configured as an entrance for trash or impurities in pool water to enter the dust box;
wherein the pool cleaning robot is able to be switched from moving on a bottom wall of a pool to floating on a liquid surface, and a process of switching the pool cleaning robot from moving on the bottom wall of the pool to floating on the liquid surface comprises at least the following:
the pool cleaning robot is first switched from moving on the bottom wall of the pool to moving on a side wall of the pool, and the pool cleaning robot subsequently moves on the side wall of the pool toward the liquid surface; and when the pool cleaning robot moves close to the liquid surface or at least partially above the liquid surface, the pool cleaning robot is switched from being against the side wall of the pool to floating on the liquid surface (Duffaut et al., at least Fig. 3); and
when the pool cleaning robot floats on the liquid surface, the in-water dust box opening faces the bottom wall of the pool, and when the pool cleaning robot moves on the bottom wall of the pool, the in-water dust box opening faces the bottom wall of the pool (Duffaut et al., at least para. [0081], “Referring to FIG. 11, in certain embodiments the chassis defines the inlet 50, and water may flow through the inlet 50 and into a filter 68 of the filtration assembly 54. Optionally, the inlet 50 includes a first channel 70 and a second channel 72—the first channel 70 may allow for water to flow into the inlet 50 from a first direction, and the second channel 72 may allow for water to flow into the inlet 50 from a second direction different from the first direction. In one non-limiting example, the first channel 70 may be front-facing for receiving water during a skimming operation, and the second channel 72 may be downward-facing for receiving water from the brush system 40 and/or during surface or other cleaning. Optionally, the autonomous pool cleaner 12 includes a diverter 74 to selectively obstruct one of the channels depending on a cleaning operation and such that water flows in through only one channel. As an example, the diverter 74 may be controlled such that during a skimming operation, the second (downward-facing) channel 72 is obstructed, and during a surface cleaning operation, the first (front-facing) channel 70 is obstructed. In certain embodiments, a forward-most brush 42 of the brushing system 40 may extend forward and be a forward-most component of the autonomous pool cleaner 12 relative to the first channel 70, although it need not in other embodiments.”).
Regarding claim 2, the dust box opening further comprises a water surface dust box opening configured as an entrance for trash or impurities on the liquid surface to enter the dust box, wherein when the pool cleaning robot performs water surface cleaning, the water surface dust box opening is partially located above the liquid surface and partially located below the liquid surface (Duffaut et al., at least Fig. 11, opening 50).
Regarding claim 3, the water surface dust box opening is provided on a side of the pool cleaning robot (Duffaut et al., at least Fig. 11, opening 50).
Regarding claim 4, the pool cleaning robot further comprises a mode switching member, wherein the mode switching member further comprises:
a buoyancy cavity configured to accommodate at least gas; a buoyancy force adjustment member configured to adjust a volume of the gas in the buoyancy cavity; and an air inlet configured to at least allow gas to enter the buoyancy cavity, wherein the pool cleaning robot moves on the side wall of the pool until the air inlet is above the liquid surface or located in air, and the buoyancy force adjustment member subsequently increases the volume of the gas in the buoyancy cavity, so that the pool cleaning robot is switched from being against the side wall of the pool to floating on the liquid surface (Duffaut et al., at least para. [0059], “Referring to FIG. 19, in some embodiments, the buoyancy control mechanism 23 includes a chamber 90 on and/or within the autonomous pool cleaner 12 for receiving water of the swimming pool or spa. In various embodiments, the buoyancy control mechanism 23 includes a volume adjuster 92 for adjusting a volume of the chamber 90. The volume adjuster 92 may be various suitable devices or mechanisms for adjusting the volume of the chamber 90 as desired. In some embodiments, the volume adjuster 92 is manually adjusted (e.g., a user may manually position the volume adjuster 92 as desired by engaging the volume adjuster 92 and/or as otherwise desired). Additionally, or alternatively, the volume adjuster 92 may be automatically adjusted by the autonomous pool cleaner 12. In certain embodiments, decreasing or minimizing the volume of the chamber 90 using the volume adjuster 92 may allow the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to float and/or be at a shallow depth within the water, and increasing the volume of the chamber 90 allows the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to dive. In some embodiments, automatic adjustment of the buoyancy may allow for the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to float at the waterline of the pool or spa without energy consumption and to dive when the autonomous pool cleaner 12 needs to be submerged (e.g., to clean a submerged surface of the pool). In certain embodiments, autonomous pool cleaner 12 may automatically adjust the buoyancy during a cleaning cycle to clean different areas of the swimming pool or spa. FIG. 3 (discussed below) illustrates additional non-limiting examples of control of the autonomous pool cleaner 12 using the buoyancy control mechanism 23.”).
Regarding claim 5, the air inlet is provided at an end of a front section of the pool cleaning robot (Duffaut et al., at least Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 6, when the buoyancy cavity is made of a flexible material, the buoyancy force adjustment member injects or inputs the gas into the buoyancy cavity through the air inlet to increase the volume of the gas in the buoyancy cavity, so that the pool cleaning robot is switched from being against the side wall of the pool to floating on the liquid surface (Duffaut et al., at least para. [0059], “Referring to FIG. 19, in some embodiments, the buoyancy control mechanism 23 includes a chamber 90 on and/or within the autonomous pool cleaner 12 for receiving water of the swimming pool or spa. In various embodiments, the buoyancy control mechanism 23 includes a volume adjuster 92 for adjusting a volume of the chamber 90. The volume adjuster 92 may be various suitable devices or mechanisms for adjusting the volume of the chamber 90 as desired. In some embodiments, the volume adjuster 92 is manually adjusted (e.g., a user may manually position the volume adjuster 92 as desired by engaging the volume adjuster 92 and/or as otherwise desired). Additionally, or alternatively, the volume adjuster 92 may be automatically adjusted by the autonomous pool cleaner 12. In certain embodiments, decreasing or minimizing the volume of the chamber 90 using the volume adjuster 92 may allow the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to float and/or be at a shallow depth within the water, and increasing the volume of the chamber 90 allows the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to dive. In some embodiments, automatic adjustment of the buoyancy may allow for the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to float at the waterline of the pool or spa without energy consumption and to dive when the autonomous pool cleaner 12 needs to be submerged (e.g., to clean a submerged surface of the pool). In certain embodiments, autonomous pool cleaner 12 may automatically adjust the buoyancy during a cleaning cycle to clean different areas of the swimming pool or spa. FIG. 3 (discussed below) illustrates additional non-limiting examples of control of the autonomous pool cleaner 12 using the buoyancy control mechanism 23.”).
Regarding claim 7, when the buoyancy cavity is made of a rigid material, the buoyancy force adjustment member pumps out liquid in the buoyancy cavity, enabling the gas to enter the buoyancy cavity through the air inlet to increase the volume of the gas in the buoyancy cavity, so that the pool cleaning robot is switched from being against the side wall of the pool to floating on the liquid surface (Duffaut et al., at least para. [0059], “Referring to FIG. 19, in some embodiments, the buoyancy control mechanism 23 includes a chamber 90 on and/or within the autonomous pool cleaner 12 for receiving water of the swimming pool or spa. In various embodiments, the buoyancy control mechanism 23 includes a volume adjuster 92 for adjusting a volume of the chamber 90. The volume adjuster 92 may be various suitable devices or mechanisms for adjusting the volume of the chamber 90 as desired. In some embodiments, the volume adjuster 92 is manually adjusted (e.g., a user may manually position the volume adjuster 92 as desired by engaging the volume adjuster 92 and/or as otherwise desired). Additionally, or alternatively, the volume adjuster 92 may be automatically adjusted by the autonomous pool cleaner 12. In certain embodiments, decreasing or minimizing the volume of the chamber 90 using the volume adjuster 92 may allow the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to float and/or be at a shallow depth within the water, and increasing the volume of the chamber 90 allows the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to dive. In some embodiments, automatic adjustment of the buoyancy may allow for the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to float at the waterline of the pool or spa without energy consumption and to dive when the autonomous pool cleaner 12 needs to be submerged (e.g., to clean a submerged surface of the pool). In certain embodiments, autonomous pool cleaner 12 may automatically adjust the buoyancy during a cleaning cycle to clean different areas of the swimming pool or spa. FIG. 3 (discussed below) illustrates additional non-limiting examples of control of the autonomous pool cleaner 12 using the buoyancy control mechanism 23.”).
Regarding claim 8, the buoyancy force adjustment member adjusts a volume of liquid in the buoyancy cavity to adjust the volume of the gas in the buoyancy cavity (Duffaut et al., at least para. [0059], “Referring to FIG. 19, in some embodiments, the buoyancy control mechanism 23 includes a chamber 90 on and/or within the autonomous pool cleaner 12 for receiving water of the swimming pool or spa. In various embodiments, the buoyancy control mechanism 23 includes a volume adjuster 92 for adjusting a volume of the chamber 90. The volume adjuster 92 may be various suitable devices or mechanisms for adjusting the volume of the chamber 90 as desired. In some embodiments, the volume adjuster 92 is manually adjusted (e.g., a user may manually position the volume adjuster 92 as desired by engaging the volume adjuster 92 and/or as otherwise desired). Additionally, or alternatively, the volume adjuster 92 may be automatically adjusted by the autonomous pool cleaner 12. In certain embodiments, decreasing or minimizing the volume of the chamber 90 using the volume adjuster 92 may allow the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to float and/or be at a shallow depth within the water, and increasing the volume of the chamber 90 allows the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to dive. In some embodiments, automatic adjustment of the buoyancy may allow for the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to float at the waterline of the pool or spa without energy consumption and to dive when the autonomous pool cleaner 12 needs to be submerged (e.g., to clean a submerged surface of the pool). In certain embodiments, autonomous pool cleaner 12 may automatically adjust the buoyancy during a cleaning cycle to clean different areas of the swimming pool or spa. FIG. 3 (discussed below) illustrates additional non-limiting examples of control of the autonomous pool cleaner 12 using the buoyancy control mechanism 23.”).
Regarding claim 9, the buoyancy force adjustment member is a buoyancy cavity pump, the buoyancy cavity is connected to the buoyancy cavity pump through a connection pipeline, and the buoyancy cavity pump is connected to the air inlet through a connection pipeline (Duffaut et al., at least para. [0059], “Referring to FIG. 19, in some embodiments, the buoyancy control mechanism 23 includes a chamber 90 on and/or within the autonomous pool cleaner 12 for receiving water of the swimming pool or spa. In various embodiments, the buoyancy control mechanism 23 includes a volume adjuster 92 for adjusting a volume of the chamber 90. The volume adjuster 92 may be various suitable devices or mechanisms for adjusting the volume of the chamber 90 as desired. In some embodiments, the volume adjuster 92 is manually adjusted (e.g., a user may manually position the volume adjuster 92 as desired by engaging the volume adjuster 92 and/or as otherwise desired). Additionally, or alternatively, the volume adjuster 92 may be automatically adjusted by the autonomous pool cleaner 12. In certain embodiments, decreasing or minimizing the volume of the chamber 90 using the volume adjuster 92 may allow the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to float and/or be at a shallow depth within the water, and increasing the volume of the chamber 90 allows the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to dive. In some embodiments, automatic adjustment of the buoyancy may allow for the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to float at the waterline of the pool or spa without energy consumption and to dive when the autonomous pool cleaner 12 needs to be submerged (e.g., to clean a submerged surface of the pool). In certain embodiments, autonomous pool cleaner 12 may automatically adjust the buoyancy during a cleaning cycle to clean different areas of the swimming pool or spa. FIG. 3 (discussed below) illustrates additional non-limiting examples of control of the autonomous pool cleaner 12 using the buoyancy control mechanism 23.”; referring to Fig. 19, the piston mechanism constitutes a pump).
Regarding claim 10, the air inlet is further configured for the gas to leave the buoyancy cavity, or when the pool cleaning robot needs to be switched from above the liquid surface to below the liquid surface, the buoyancy force adjustment member is configured to reduce the volume of the gas in the buoyancy cavity (Duffaut et al., at least para. [0059], “Referring to FIG. 19, in some embodiments, the buoyancy control mechanism 23 includes a chamber 90 on and/or within the autonomous pool cleaner 12 for receiving water of the swimming pool or spa. In various embodiments, the buoyancy control mechanism 23 includes a volume adjuster 92 for adjusting a volume of the chamber 90. The volume adjuster 92 may be various suitable devices or mechanisms for adjusting the volume of the chamber 90 as desired. In some embodiments, the volume adjuster 92 is manually adjusted (e.g., a user may manually position the volume adjuster 92 as desired by engaging the volume adjuster 92 and/or as otherwise desired). Additionally, or alternatively, the volume adjuster 92 may be automatically adjusted by the autonomous pool cleaner 12. In certain embodiments, decreasing or minimizing the volume of the chamber 90 using the volume adjuster 92 may allow the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to float and/or be at a shallow depth within the water, and increasing the volume of the chamber 90 allows the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to dive. In some embodiments, automatic adjustment of the buoyancy may allow for the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to float at the waterline of the pool or spa without energy consumption and to dive when the autonomous pool cleaner 12 needs to be submerged (e.g., to clean a submerged surface of the pool). In certain embodiments, autonomous pool cleaner 12 may automatically adjust the buoyancy during a cleaning cycle to clean different areas of the swimming pool or spa. FIG. 3 (discussed below) illustrates additional non-limiting examples of control of the autonomous pool cleaner 12 using the buoyancy control mechanism 23.”).
Regarding claim 11, the dust box further comprises: a cover plate of a water surface dust box opening provided on the water surface dust box opening and configured to adjust opening and closing of the water surface dust box opening; and a cover plate of the in-water dust box opening provided on the in-water dust box opening and configured to adjust opening and closing of the in-water dust box opening, wherein when the pool cleaning robot performs underwater cleaning, the water surface dust box opening is closed, and the in-water dust box opening is open; and when the pool cleaning robot performs water surface cleaning, the water surface dust box opening is open (Duffaut et al., at least para. [0081], “Referring to FIG. 11, in certain embodiments the chassis defines the inlet 50, and water may flow through the inlet 50 and into a filter 68 of the filtration assembly 54. Optionally, the inlet 50 includes a first channel 70 and a second channel 72—the first channel 70 may allow for water to flow into the inlet 50 from a first direction, and the second channel 72 may allow for water to flow into the inlet 50 from a second direction different from the first direction. In one non-limiting example, the first channel 70 may be front-facing for receiving water during a skimming operation, and the second channel 72 may be downward-facing for receiving water from the brush system 40 and/or during surface or other cleaning. Optionally, the autonomous pool cleaner 12 includes a diverter 74 to selectively obstruct one of the channels depending on a cleaning operation and such that water flows in through only one channel. As an example, the diverter 74 may be controlled such that during a skimming operation, the second (downward-facing) channel 72 is obstructed, and during a surface cleaning operation, the first (front-facing) channel 70 is obstructed. In certain embodiments, a forward-most brush 42 of the brushing system 40 may extend forward and be a forward-most component of the autonomous pool cleaner 12 relative to the first channel 70, although it need not in other embodiments.”).
Regarding claim 12, the pool cleaning robot further comprises a track configured to drive the pool cleaning robot to move on the bottom wall or the side wall; a water inlet; a water outlet; and a main water pump configured to drive liquid to be absorbed into the pool cleaning robot through the water inlet and liquid to be discharged from the pool cleaning robot through the water outlet, wherein under operation of the main water pump, the liquid discharged through the water outlet applies an action force to the pool cleaning robot, so that the pool cleaning robot is against the side wall (Duffaut et al., at least para. [0051], “…The motive elements 16 may be various suitable devices or structures suitable for enabling movement of the pool cleaner 10 along a surface, including but not limited to wheels, rollers, feet, tracks, combinations thereof, and/or other suitable motive elements 16 as desired. The pool cleaner 10 may include various components on and/or within the body 14 such as a motor block, a filter, a pump, a controller, etc…”; and para [0053], “The autonomous pool cleaner 12 includes one or more propulsion devices 22 (i.e., thrusters, propellers, etc.). In the embodiment illustrated, the propulsion devices 22 are propellers. In certain embodiments, the one or more propulsion devices 22 are on and/or at opposing sides 24, 26 of the autonomous pool cleaner 12 and/or on and/or at a top side of the autonomous pool cleaner 12 (see, e.g., FIG. 5)…”).
Regarding claim 13, the pool cleaning robot further comprises a second propeller, wherein when the pool cleaning robot floats on the liquid surface, the second propeller is configured to at least drive the pool cleaning robot to move on the liquid surface (Duffaut et al., at least para. [0053], “The autonomous pool cleaner 12 includes one or more propulsion devices 22 (i.e., thrusters, propellers, etc.). In the embodiment illustrated, the propulsion devices 22 are propellers. In certain embodiments, the one or more propulsion devices 22 are on and/or at opposing sides 24, 26 of the autonomous pool cleaner 12 and/or on and/or at a top side of the autonomous pool cleaner 12 (see, e.g., FIG. 5)…”).
Regarding claim 14, the pool cleaning robot further comprises a main water pump configured to drive liquid to be absorbed into the pool cleaning robot through a water inlet of the pool cleaning robot and liquid to be discharged from the pool cleaning robot through a water outlet of the pool cleaning robot (Duffaut et al., at least para. [0023], “According to various embodiments, a cleaning system for a swimming pool or spa includes an autonomous pool cleaner configured to perform a cleaning operation, and the autonomous pool cleaner includes an inlet for receiving water and an outlet for discharging water from the autonomous pool cleaner. In certain cases, the outlet includes means for minimizing a flow reaction force from a pump of the autonomous pool cleaner.”); and a second propeller, wherein when the pool cleaning robot floats on the liquid surface, the second propeller is configured to at least drive the pool cleaning robot to move on the liquid surface, wherein when the pool cleaning robot moves on the side wall of the pool, at least one of the second propeller and the main water pump provides a driving force in a vertical direction for the pool cleaning robot to drive the pool cleaning robot to move on the side wall of the pool (Duffaut et al., at least para. [0053], “The autonomous pool cleaner 12 includes one or more propulsion devices 22 (i.e., thrusters, propellers, etc.). In the embodiment illustrated, the propulsion devices 22 are propellers. In certain embodiments, the one or more propulsion devices 22 are on and/or at opposing sides 24, 26 of the autonomous pool cleaner 12 and/or on and/or at a top side of the autonomous pool cleaner 12 (see, e.g., FIG. 5)…”).
Regarding claim 15, the dust box further comprises a dust box roller brush assembly that is provided inside, outside or on the water surface dust box opening and is configured to roll the trash or impurities from the water surface into the dust box when water surface cleaning is performed (Duffaut et al., at least para. [0051], “…The pool cleaner 10 optionally may include one or more cleaning elements (e.g., a brush assembly with one or more brushes) suitable for cleaning a surface and/or directing debris into the pool cleaner 10…”).
Duffaut et al. teaches, according to claim 16, a pool cleaning robot, comprising: a dust box comprising a dust box opening and configured to filter liquid that enters the dust box, wherein the dust box opening comprises an in-water dust box opening that is provided on a bottom of the dust box and is configured as an entrance for trash or impurities in pool water to enter the dust box; wherein the pool cleaning robot is able to be switched from moving on a bottom wall of a pool to floating on a liquid surface, and a process of switching the pool cleaning robot from moving on the bottom wall of the pool to floating on the liquid surface comprises at least the following: the pool cleaning robot first moves from the bottom wall of the pool to a side wall of the pool and is subsequently switched from being against the side wall of the pool to floating on the liquid surface; and a liquid surface operation posture of the pool cleaning robot is substantially identical to a bottom operation posture of the pool cleaning robot (Duffaut et al., at least Figs. 3 and 11 and para. [0081], “Referring to FIG. 11, in certain embodiments the chassis defines the inlet 50, and water may flow through the inlet 50 and into a filter 68 of the filtration assembly 54. Optionally, the inlet 50 includes a first channel 70 and a second channel 72—the first channel 70 may allow for water to flow into the inlet 50 from a first direction, and the second channel 72 may allow for water to flow into the inlet 50 from a second direction different from the first direction. In one non-limiting example, the first channel 70 may be front-facing for receiving water during a skimming operation, and the second channel 72 may be downward-facing for receiving water from the brush system 40 and/or during surface or other cleaning. Optionally, the autonomous pool cleaner 12 includes a diverter 74 to selectively obstruct one of the channels depending on a cleaning operation and such that water flows in through only one channel. As an example, the diverter 74 may be controlled such that during a skimming operation, the second (downward-facing) channel 72 is obstructed, and during a surface cleaning operation, the first (front-facing) channel 70 is obstructed. In certain embodiments, a forward-most brush 42 of the brushing system 40 may extend forward and be a forward-most component of the autonomous pool cleaner 12 relative to the first channel 70, although it need not in other embodiments.”).
Regarding claim 17, the dust box opening further comprises a water surface dust box opening provided on a side of the pool cleaning robot, and when the pool cleaning robot performs water surface cleaning, the water surface dust box opening is partially located above the liquid surface and partially located below the liquid surface (Duffaut et al., at least Fig. 11, opening 50).
Regarding claim 18, the pool cleaning robot further comprises a mode switching member, wherein the mode switching member comprises:
a buoyancy cavity configured to accommodate at least gas; a buoyancy force adjustment member configured to adjust a volume of the gas in the buoyancy cavity; and an air inlet configured to at least allow gas to enter the buoyancy cavity, wherein the pool cleaning robot moves on the side wall of the pool until the air inlet is above the liquid surface, and when the air inlet is above the liquid surface, the buoyancy force adjustment member is configured to increase the volume of the gas in the buoyancy cavity, so that the pool cleaning robot is switched from being against the side wall of the pool to floating on the liquid surface (Duffaut et al., at least para. [0059], “Referring to FIG. 19, in some embodiments, the buoyancy control mechanism 23 includes a chamber 90 on and/or within the autonomous pool cleaner 12 for receiving water of the swimming pool or spa. In various embodiments, the buoyancy control mechanism 23 includes a volume adjuster 92 for adjusting a volume of the chamber 90. The volume adjuster 92 may be various suitable devices or mechanisms for adjusting the volume of the chamber 90 as desired. In some embodiments, the volume adjuster 92 is manually adjusted (e.g., a user may manually position the volume adjuster 92 as desired by engaging the volume adjuster 92 and/or as otherwise desired). Additionally, or alternatively, the volume adjuster 92 may be automatically adjusted by the autonomous pool cleaner 12. In certain embodiments, decreasing or minimizing the volume of the chamber 90 using the volume adjuster 92 may allow the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to float and/or be at a shallow depth within the water, and increasing the volume of the chamber 90 allows the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to dive. In some embodiments, automatic adjustment of the buoyancy may allow for the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to float at the waterline of the pool or spa without energy consumption and to dive when the autonomous pool cleaner 12 needs to be submerged (e.g., to clean a submerged surface of the pool). In certain embodiments, autonomous pool cleaner 12 may automatically adjust the buoyancy during a cleaning cycle to clean different areas of the swimming pool or spa. FIG. 3 (discussed below) illustrates additional non-limiting examples of control of the autonomous pool cleaner 12 using the buoyancy control mechanism 23.”).
Duffaut et al. teaches, according to claim 19, a method for controlling a pool cleaning robot, wherein the pool cleaning robot comprises:
a mode switching member, wherein the mode switching member comprises:
a buoyancy cavity configured to accommodate at least gas; a buoyancy force adjustment member configured to adjust a volume of the gas in the buoyancy cavity; and an air inlet configured to at least allow gas to enter the buoyancy cavity (Duffaut et al., at least para. [0059], “Referring to FIG. 19, in some embodiments, the buoyancy control mechanism 23 includes a chamber 90 on and/or within the autonomous pool cleaner 12 for receiving water of the swimming pool or spa. In various embodiments, the buoyancy control mechanism 23 includes a volume adjuster 92 for adjusting a volume of the chamber 90. The volume adjuster 92 may be various suitable devices or mechanisms for adjusting the volume of the chamber 90 as desired. In some embodiments, the volume adjuster 92 is manually adjusted (e.g., a user may manually position the volume adjuster 92 as desired by engaging the volume adjuster 92 and/or as otherwise desired). Additionally, or alternatively, the volume adjuster 92 may be automatically adjusted by the autonomous pool cleaner 12. In certain embodiments, decreasing or minimizing the volume of the chamber 90 using the volume adjuster 92 may allow the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to float and/or be at a shallow depth within the water, and increasing the volume of the chamber 90 allows the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to dive...”), wherein the method comprises:
controlling the pool cleaning robot to move from a current position to a side wall of a pool and subsequently move on the side wall of the pool toward a liquid surface (Duffaut et al., at least Fig. 3); and
when the air inlet is above the liquid surface or located in air, controlling the buoyancy force adjustment member to increase the volume of the gas in the buoyancy cavity, so that the pool cleaning robot is switched from being against the side wall of the pool to floating on the liquid surface (Duffaut et al., at least para. [0059], “… In some embodiments, automatic adjustment of the buoyancy may allow for the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to float at the waterline of the pool or spa without energy consumption and to dive when the autonomous pool cleaner 12 needs to be submerged (e.g., to clean a submerged surface of the pool). In certain embodiments, autonomous pool cleaner 12 may automatically adjust the buoyancy during a cleaning cycle to clean different areas of the swimming pool or spa. FIG. 3 (discussed below) illustrates additional non-limiting examples of control of the autonomous pool cleaner 12 using the buoyancy control mechanism 23.”).
Regarding claim 20, the pool cleaning robot further comprises: a processor; a first sensor configured to detect a position of the pool cleaning robot, wherein the processor obtains a detection result of the first sensor, and when the processor determines that the air inlet of the pool cleaning robot is above the liquid surface or located in the air, the processor controls the buoyancy force adjustment member to increase the volume of the gas in the buoyancy cavity; and/or a second sensor configured to detect whether the air inlet is located in the air, wherein when the second sensor detects that the air inlet is located in the air, the processor controls the buoyancy force adjustment member to increase the volume of the gas in the buoyancy cavity (Duffaut et al., at least para. [0069], “In various embodiments, the autonomous pool cleaner 12 includes one or more sensors or measuring instruments and/or a controller (e.g., processor and/or memory) communicatively coupled with the one or more sensors, propulsion devices, and/or buoyancy control mechanisms 23. The one or more sensors may sense a position, depth, orientation, etc. of the autonomous pool cleaner 12. The controller may use the information from the sensors, other components of the autonomous pool cleaner 12, and/or other control algorithms to control the propulsion means and/or buoyancy mechanisms, thereby providing precise movement and improved stability to the autonomous pool cleaner 12. As non-limiting examples, the controller may control the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to float and move on the surface of the water of the swimming pool or spa (e.g., to skim the water), and/or the controller may control the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to move along a fixed, submerged path (within the pool or along a wall or floor of the pool) or just above a floor of the pool, for example at a predetermined distance relative to the wall or floor. As a further non-limiting example, the controller may control the autonomous pool cleaner 12 to have a positive buoyancy, a negative buoyancy, and/or a variable buoyancy (e.g., based on a desired cleaning area, a cycle time, and/or as otherwise desired).”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
(313) 446-4915. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
/DONALD J WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665