DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on an application filed with WIPO on 21 June 2023. It is noted, however, that Applicant has not filed a certified copy of the PCT/CN2023/101944 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment and Claim Status
The amendment filed 7 March 2026 has been entered. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection set forth in the Office Action mailed 31 December 2025. Claims 1–20 are pending in the application. Claims 13, 15, and 19 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because the phrasing “a volume of the casing is denoted as V, satisfying” should be deleted, as this limitation is already recited in Claim 1.
Claim 8 is objected to because the phrasing “along the length direction of the casing, a dimension of the casing is denoted as L, satisfying” should be deleted, as this limitation is already recited in Claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–12, 14, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sui et al. (US 2025/0192313 A1), herein referred to as Sui ‘313, in view of Sui et al. (WO 2024/012090 A1; EP 4550545 A1 used for translation and citation purposes), herein referred to as Sui ‘090, as evidenced by Ke et al. (US 2025/0079627 A1), and as further evidenced by Kim et al. (US 2025/0023216 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 and 18, Sui ‘313 discloses an energy storage device (see energy storage system 1000, [0038], FIG. 1–6; see also annotated FIG. 5 of Sui ‘313 below), comprising:
a casing (see bearing frame 100, [0038], FIG. 1–5) having a battery compartment (see battery assembly 201, [0038], FIG. 5); and
batteries (see multiple battery units 230, [0075], FIG. 3, 4, 6, 8; see also annotated FIG. 8 of Sui ‘313 below, which appears to show two batteries arranged in the height direction within battery cabinet 200) accommodated within the battery compartment (201), wherein the batteries comprise p*q battery cells (see cell 2302, [0080], FIG. 10), the p*q battery cells (2302) are arranged in p rows and q columns, each row of battery cells (2302) is arranged along a length direction (see direction along which W0 is measured, [0045], FIG. 2) of the casing (100) (FIG. 10 shows p = 1 rows of battery cells (2302) arranged along the length direction of the casing (100)), each column of battery cells (2302) is arranged along a width direction (see direction along which D0 is measured, [0045], FIG. 2) of the casing (100) (FIG. 10 shows many rows of battery cells (2302) arranged along the width direction of the casing (100)), p and q are both positive integers, a volume of the battery compartment (201) is denoted as V1 ([0045] discloses the battery compartment (201) can have a first dimension of 5000–5958 mm (corresponding to a dimension in the length direction, mapped to L1 in later claims), a second dimension of 2200–2438 mm (corresponding to a dimension in the width direction, mapped to D1 in later claims), and a third dimension of 2191–2746 mm (corresponding to a dimension in the height direction, mapped to H1 in later claims); thus 24.10 m3 ≤ V1 ≤ 39.89 m3 (note that for the purposes of this office action, volume ranges are calculated by first multiplying the minimum possible dimensions together to determine the minimum volume for the range, and then multiplying the maximum possible dimensions together to determine the maximum volume for the range)),
along the length direction of the casing (100), a dimension of the casing (100) is denoted as L (see W0, [0045], FIG. 2), and L = 6.058 m ([0045]),
along the width direction of the casing (100), a dimension of the casing (100) is denoted as D (see D0, [0045], FIG. 2), and D = 2.438 m ([0045]),
along a height direction (see direction along which H0 is measured, [0045], FIG. 2) of the casing (100), a dimension of the casing (100) is denoted as H (see H0, [0045], FIG. 2), and H = 2.896 m ([0045]).
a volume of the casing (100) is denoted as V, and V = 42.77 m3 (calculated by multiplying together the above values for L, D, and H) (Claim 1),
wherein the battery compartment (201) comprises a plurality of sub-compartments (see battery cabinets 200, [0072], FIG. 1, 2, 4, 5, 7–9), the plurality of sub-compartments (200) are arranged along the length direction of the casing (100) ([0072], FIG. 1, 2, 4, 5), and each of the sub-compartments (200) accommodates at least one of the batteries ([0075], FIG. 8) (Claim 18).
FIG. 5 of Sui ‘313 with annotations added by the examiner.
FIG. 8 of Sui ‘313 annotated by the examiner.
Not being directed to the specific details and dimensions of the battery cells, Sui ‘313 does not explicitly disclose wherein the battery cell comprises a housing, electrode terminals, and an electrode assembly, the electrode terminals are disposed on the housing, the electrode assembly is accommodated within the housing, the housing is a right parallelepiped in shape, a dimension of the housing in a first direction is denoted as W1, a dimension of the housing in a second direction is denoted as T1, a dimension of the housing in a third direction is denoted as K1, one of the first direction, the second direction, and the third direction is parallel to the length direction of the casing, another is parallel to the width direction of the casing, and the remaining one is parallel to a height direction of the casing.
Sui ‘090 teaches an energy storage device (see energy storage system 2, [0110], FIG. 7–10), comprising: a casing having a battery compartment (FIG. 7–10); and batteries (see at least two battery cell layer groups 200, [0046], FIG. 2–4, 6) accommodated within the battery compartment, wherein the batteries comprise p*q battery cells (see battery cell 210, [0048], FIG. 3, 6, 11; see also annotated FIG. 11 of Sui ‘090 below), the p*q battery cells are arranged in p rows and q columns, each row of battery cells is arranged along a length direction (see direction A in e.g. FIG. 2, 8, 11) of the casing (FIG. 2 shows rows of battery cells arranged in the length direction of the casing), each column of battery cells is arranged along a width direction (see direction B in e.g. FIG. 2, 8, 11) of the casing (FIG. 2 shows many rows of battery cells arranged along a width direction of the casing), p and q are both integers, the battery cell comprises a housing and electrode terminals (FIG. 11), the electrode terminals are disposed on the housing (FIG. 11), the housing is a right parallelepiped in shape (FIG. 11), a dimension of the housing in a first direction is denoted as W1 (see L, [0066], FIG. 11; [0066] discloses 800 mm ≤ L ≤ 970 mm), a dimension of the housing in a second direction is denoted as W1 (see D, [0066], FIG. 11; [0066] discloses 10 mm ≤ D ≤ 30 mm), a dimension of the housing in a third direction is denoted as D1 (see H, [0066], FIG. 11; [0066] discloses 80 mm ≤ H ≤ 130 mm), the first direction is parallel to the length direction of the casing, the second direction is parallel to the width direction of the casing, and the third direction is parallel to the height direction of the casing (FIG. 2, 8, 11). Note that as Sui ‘090 teaches ([0066]) that the battery cells all have the same dimensions in each direction (i.e. Sui ‘090 [0066] discloses only one L, D, and H) and thus can be considered identical to each other.
FIG. 11 of Sui ‘090 with annotations added by the examiner.
Sui ‘313 and Sui ‘090 are analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of energy storage device design. Furthermore, KSR Rationale A (MPEP § 2141) states that it is obvious to combine “prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results”. In the instant case, Sui ‘313 discloses battery cells which must necessarily have some configuration of housing, electrode terminals, electrode assembly, and dimensions. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage device of Sui ‘313 such that the battery cells are the battery cells of Sui ‘090 with the above described configurations to yield the predictable result of an operational energy storage device.
One of ordinary skill in the art will understand that the battery cells of modified Sui ‘313, being a right parallelepiped in shape, can be further defined such that the housing comprises a first wall and a second wall disposed opposite each other along the first direction, a third wall and a fourth wall disposed opposite each other along the second direction, and a fifth wall and a sixth wall disposed opposite each other along the third direction.
Modified Sui ‘313 does not explicitly disclose wherein a sum of thicknesses of the first wall and the second wall is denoted as a, a sum of thicknesses of the third wall and the fourth wall is denoted as b, and a sum of thicknesses of the fifth wall and the sixth wall is denoted as c, satisfying (W1 – a) * (T1 – b) * (K1 – c) / (W1 * T1 * K1) ≥ 0.9.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that the above equation is essentially determined by the thickness of the housing walls in relation to the volume of the battery cell, i.e. the internal volume of the battery cell to the overall volume of the battery cell, and furthermore, it is well-known in the field of energy storage device design that the above relation affects the battery cell’s volume utilization rate and resistance to damage, as evidenced by Ke ([0013]).
A result-effective variable is a variable which achieves a recognized result. The determination of the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable is routine experimentation and therefore obvious (MPEP § 2144.05.II). In the instant case, the ratio (W1 – a) * (T1 – b) * (K1 – c) / (W1 * T1 * K1) can be considered a variable that achieves the recognized result of affecting the battery cell’s volume utilization rate and resistance to damage, as evidenced by Ke, thus making this ratio a result-effective variable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the (W1 – a) * (T1 – b) * (K1 – c) / (W1 * T1 * K1) of modified Sui ‘313 such that it is greater than or equal to 0.9 via routine experimentation, for the purpose of achieving suitable battery cell volume utilization rates and resistance to damage.
Regarding the limitation a sum of volumes of the housings of all the battery cells within the battery compartment is denoted as V2, it is first noted that Sui ‘313, being as stated above not directed to the details of the battery cells in the energy storage device, does not explicitly disclose the number of battery cells within the battery compartment. However, Sui ‘313 does appear to show that the battery compartment can comprise e.g. 10 sub-compartments (FIG. 1, 2, 4, 5) comprising a plurality of battery cells.
Furthermore, Sui ‘090 teaches a similar sub-compartment (see energy storage cabinet 1, [0046], FIG. 1, 7–10) which can accommodate 1 to 2 battery cells in a length direction ([0060]; note this number will necessarily have to be 1, as only one battery cell having a dimension of 800 mm ≤ W1 ≤ 970 mm as set forth above can be accommodated in the sub-compartment of Sui ‘313 disclosed in [0074] to range from 1000 mm to 1192 mm in the same direction), greater than 1 and less than 26 battery cells in a width direction ([0060]), and 1 to 16 battery cells in a height direction ([0060]). Sui ‘090 further teaches ([0061]) that the sub-compartment should be filled with battery cells as much as possible to improve the volumetric cell to system rate and the energy density of the sub-compartment.
KSR Rationale A (MPEP § 2141) states that it is obvious to combine “prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results”. In the instant case, modified Sui ‘313 discloses an energy storage device which must necessarily have some number of battery cells within the battery compartment; further, Sui ‘313 appears to show that the battery compartment can comprise e.g. 10 sub-compartments, and Sui ‘090 teaches that a similar sub-compartment can achieve improved volumetric cell to system rate and energy density when it accommodates 1 battery cell in a length direction, 26 battery cells in a width direction, and 16 battery cells in a height direction. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the energy storage device of modified Sui ‘313 such that it comprises 10 sub-compartments, as Sui ‘313 appears to show, and each sub-compartment accommodates 1 battery cell in the length direction, 26 battery cells in the width direction, and 16 battery cells in the height direction, as taught by Sui ‘090, to yield the predictable result of an operational energy storage device with improved volumetric cell to system rate and sub-compartment energy density.
The relevant dimensions and parameters of the energy storage device of modified Sui ‘313 can thus be summarized as follows (variables relevant to claims included in parentheses):
Office Action (OA) Table 1. Modified Sui ‘313 casing/battery compartment/battery cell dimensions.
casing
battery compartment
battery cells
reference
Sui ‘313 [0045]
Sui ‘313 [0045]
Sui ‘090 [0066]
minimum
maximum
minimum
maximum
length (m)
6.058 (L)
5.000
(min. L1)
5.958
(max L1)
0.800
(min. L3)
0.970
(max. L3)
width (m)
2.438 (D)
2.200
(min. D1)
2.438
(max. D1)
0.010
0.030
height (m)
2.896 (H)
2.191
(min. H1)
2.746
(max. H1)
0.080
0.130
volume (m3)
42.77 (V)
24.10
(min. V1)
39.89
(max. V1)
0.00064
(min. V3)
0.003783 (max. V3)
OA Table 2. Modified Sui ‘313 number of battery cells present.
number of battery cells present
location
length direction
height direction
width direction
total
sub-compartment
1
16
26
416
casing, battery compartment
5 (N2)
16
52
4160 (N1)
Thus from OA Tables 1 and 2, a sum of volumes of the housings of all the battery cells within the battery compartment (V2) of modified Sui ‘313 is calculated to be 2.662 m3 ≤ V2 ≤ 15.74 m3 (calculated by multiplying each of the minimum and maximum battery cell volumes by the total number of battery cells present in the battery compartment).
Modified Sui ‘313 can therefore be understood to disclose wherein 0.067 ≤ V2/V1 ≤ 0.653 (note that for the purposes of this office action, ranges involving ratios are calculated as follows: to determine the minimum possible value for the range, the smallest possible numerator (in this case, the minimum value of V2 of 2.662 m3 as set forth above) is divided by the largest possible denominator (in this case, the maximum value of V1 of 39.89 m3 as set forth above); to determine the maximum value for the range, the largest possible numerator (in this case, the maximum value of V2 of 15.74 m3 as set forth above) is divided by the smallest possible denominator (in this case, the minimum value of V1 of 24.10 m3 as set forth above)), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.4 ≤ V2/V1 ≤ 0.95. Note that when the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05.I).
Modified Sui ‘313 does not explicitly disclose wherein the energy storage device is configured to store surplus electrical energy generated by a power generation system during off-peak periods and supplement electricity consumption during peak periods. However, Kim, also directed to battery-based energy storage devices comprising a plurality of batteries (Abstract), evidences that this is a well-known practice in the field to combat the rising issues of energy shortage and eco-friendly design ([0006]). It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the energy storage device of modified Sui ‘313 to store surplus electrical energy generated by a power generation system during off-peak periods and supplement electricity consumption during peak periods, as this is a well-known practice for combatting the rising issues of energy shortage and eco-friendly design as evidenced by Kim.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Sui ‘313 discloses the energy storage device as set forth above, and further discloses wherein a volume of the housing of each of the battery cells is denoted as V3, wherein V3 = W1 * T1 * K1, and the number of battery cells within the battery compartment is denoted as N1, satisfying V2 = V3 * N1, as this limitation will necessarily be satisfied when all of the battery cells comprised in the battery compartment have the same volume, as is the case for modified Sui ‘313 as set forth above. Note that V3 of modified Sui ‘313 is calculated to be 0.00064 m3 ≤ V3 ≤ 0.003783 m3 as also set forth above (OA Table 1).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Sui ‘313 discloses the energy storage device as set forth above, and further discloses wherein 0.000016 ≤ V3/V1 ≤ 0.000157 (calculated from values in OA Table 1) which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.0001 ≤ V3/V1 ≤ 0.00025. Note that when the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05.I).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Sui ‘313 discloses the energy storage device as set forth above, and further discloses wherein 0.000640 m3 ≤ V3 ≤ 0.00378 m3 (OA Table 1) which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.0026 m3 ≤ V3 ≤ 0.008 m3. Note that when the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05.I).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Sui ‘313 discloses the energy storage device as set forth above, and further discloses wherein 0.563 ≤ V1/V ≤ 0.933 (calculated from values in OA Table 1) which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.45 ≤ V1/V ≤ 0.75. Note that when the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05.I).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Sui ‘313 discloses the energy storage device as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the battery compartment accommodates a plurality of the battery cells arranged along the length direction of the casing (as set forth above and summarized in OA Table 2, 5 battery cells are arranged along the length direction of the casing in modified Sui ‘313), and
along the length direction, a dimension of the battery compartment is denoted as L1 (see OA Table 1 for values), and a sum of dimensions of the housings of the plurality of battery cells arranged within the battery compartment is denoted as L2 (calculated from values in OA Tables 1 and 2 for modified Sui ‘313 to be 4.00 m ≤ L2 ≤ 4.85 m; note that for the purposes of this office action, such ranges are calculated by multiplying the minimum and maximum dimension of the battery cell in the given direction (in this case, 0.800 m and 0.970 m for the battery cell in the length direction, respectively) by the number of cells arranged in the given direction (in this case, 5 cells arranged in the length direction)), wherein L2/L1 is calculated to be 0.671 ≤ L2/L1 ≤ 0.970, which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.6 ≤ L2/L1 ≤ 0.95. Note that when the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05.I).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Sui ‘313 discloses the energy storage device as set forth above, and further discloses wherein a dimension of the housing of each of the battery cells is denoted as L3, and N2 battery cells are arranged within the battery compartment, satisfying L2 = L3 * N2, as this limitation will necessarily be satisfied when all of the battery cells comprised in the battery compartment have the same volume, as is the case for modified Sui ‘313 as set forth above.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Sui ‘313 discloses the energy storage device as set forth above, and further discloses wherein 0.825 ≤ L1/L ≤ 0.983 (calculated from values in OA Table 1), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.65 ≤ L1/L ≤ 0.95.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Sui ‘313 discloses the energy storage device as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the battery compartment accommodates a plurality of the battery cells arranged along the width direction of the casing (as set forth above and summarized in OA Table 2, 52 battery cells are arranged along the width direction of the casing in modified Sui ‘313); and
along the width direction, a dimension of the battery compartment is denoted as D1 (see OA Table 1 for values), and a sum of dimensions of the housings of the plurality of battery cells arranged within the battery compartment is denoted as D2 (calculated from values in OA Tables 1 and 2 for modified Sui ‘313 to be 0.520 m ≤ D2 ≤ 1.56 m), wherein 0.213 ≤ D2/D1 ≤ 0.709, which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.6 ≤ D2/D1 ≤ 0.95. Note that when the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05.I).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Sui ‘313 discloses the energy storage device as set forth above, and further discloses wherein 0.902 ≤ D1/D ≤ 1.00 (calculated from values in OA Table 1), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.65 ≤ D1/D ≤ 0.99. Note that when the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05.I).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Sui ‘313 discloses the energy storage device as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the battery compartment accommodates a plurality of the battery cells arranged along the height direction of the casing (as set forth above and summarized in OA Table 2, 16 battery cells are arranged along the height direction of the casing in modified Sui ‘313); and
along the height direction, a dimension of the battery compartment is denoted as H1 (see OA Table 1 for values), and a sum of dimensions of the housings of the plurality of battery cells arranged within the battery compartment is denoted as H2 (calculated from values in OA Tables 1 and 2 for modified Sui ‘313 to be 1.28 m ≤ H2 ≤ 2.08 m), wherein H2/H1 is calculated to be 0.466 ≤ H2/H1 ≤ 0.949, which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.6 ≤ H2/H1 ≤ 0.95. Note that when the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05.I).
Regarding Claims 12, 14, and 16, modified Sui ‘313 discloses the energy storage device as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the battery compartment accommodates a plurality of the batteries arranged along the length direction of the casing (Claim 12) (as set forth above, five batteries are accommodated in the battery compartment in the length direction of the casing, i.e. one battery in the length direction per sub-compartment, with five sub-compartments being arranged along the length direction of the battery compartment; see e.g. Sui ‘313 FIG. 5 and 8), wherein the battery compartment accommodates a plurality of the batteries arranged along the width direction of the casing (Claim 14) (as set forth above, two batteries are accommodated in the battery compartment in the width direction of the casing, i.e. one battery in the width direction per sub-compartment, with two sub-compartments being arranged along the width direction of the battery compartment; see e.g. Sui ‘313 FIG. 5 and 8), and wherein the battery compartment accommodates a plurality of the batteries arranged along the height direction of the casing (Claim 16) (as set forth above, two batteries are accommodated in the battery compartment in the height direction of the casing in modified Sui ‘313, i.e. two batteries are arranged height-wise per sub-compartment, with one sub-compartment arranged along the height direction of the battery compartment; see e.g. Sui ‘313 FIG. 5 and 8).
Not being directed to the details of the batteries in the energy storage device, Sui ‘313 does not explicitly disclose the dimensions of the battery in any direction. However, one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that the batteries of Sui ‘313 must necessarily have some dimensions in the length, width, and height directions.
Sui ‘090 teaches ([0078]–[0079]) that the overall dimensions of the battery(ies) present in the sub-compartment should range from 0.500 to 1.100 m in the length direction, 0.450 to 1.000 m in the width direction, and 0.450 to 2.450 m in the height direction in order to ensure that the overall size, stored power, and endurance of the battery(ies) are suitable.
KSR Rationale A (MPEP § 2141) states that it is obvious to combine “prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results”. In the instant case, Sui ‘313 discloses an energy storage device which must necessarily have some dimensions in each direction. Further, Sui ‘090 teaches that the overall size, power, and endurance of battery(ies) present in a sub-compartment is strong when the overall dimensions of the battery(ies) in the length, width, and height directions are within the ranges of 0.500 to 1.100 m, 0.450 to 1.000 m, and 0.450 to 2.450 m, respectively. Furthermore, as set forth above and summarized in OA Table 1, the battery cells of modified Sui ‘313 have minimum dimensions in the length, width, and height directions of 0.800 m, 0.010 m, and 0.080 m, respectively; one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that the dimension of the battery(ies) in a given direction must be at minimum equal to or greater than the sum of the dimensions of the battery cells making up the battery(ies) in the same direction. Considering the above, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage device of modified Sui ‘313 such that the dimensions of the batteries in the length, width, and height directions range from 0.800 (this lower limit being the minimum length of 1 × 0.800 m long battery cells) to 1.100 m, 0.450 to 1.000 m, and 1.280 (this lower limit being the minimum height of 16 × 0.080 m high battery cells) to 2.450 m, respectively, to yield the predictable result of an operational energy storage device comprising sub-compartments containing batteries that have suitable overall size, power, and endurance. Note that one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that the overall dimensions in the length and width direction as taught by Sui ‘090 are applicable to the length and width of a single battery of modified Sui ‘313 as only one battery is arranged in each sub-compartment in modified Sui ‘313 in the length and width directions, while the overall dimension in the height direction as taught by Sui ‘090 can be considered as a sum of the dimensions of the two batteries arranged height-wise in each sub-compartment in modified Sui ‘313.
Thus a sum of dimensions of the plurality of batteries arranged within the battery compartment (along the length direction of the casing) denoted as L4 of modified Sui ‘313 is calculated to be 4.00 m ≤ L4 ≤ 5.50 m (Claim 12) (calculated by multiplying each of the minimum and maximum dimensions of the battery of modified Sui ‘313 in the length direction by the total number of batteries arranged along the length direction of the casing, which is 5), and similarly a sum of dimensions of the plurality of batteries arranged within the battery compartment (along the width direction of the casing) denoted as D4 of modified Sui ‘313 is calculated to be 0.90 m ≤ D4 ≤ 2.00 m (Claim 14) (calculated by multiplying each of the minimum and maximum dimensions of the battery of modified Sui ‘313 in the width direction by the total number of batteries arranged along the width direction of the casing, which is 2). Finally, a sum of dimensions of the plurality of batteries arranged within the battery compartment (along the height direction of the casing) denoted as H4 of modified Sui ‘313 is 1.280 ≤ H4 ≤ 2.450 m (Claim 16).
Modified Sui ‘313 can therefore be understood to disclose wherein 0.67 ≤ L4/L1 ≤ 1.10 (for L1 values, see OA Table 1), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.7 ≤ L4/L1 ≤ 0.96 (Claim 12), further wherein 0.37 ≤ D4/D1 ≤ 0.91 (for D1 values, see OA Table 1), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.7 ≤ D4/D1 ≤ 0.96 (Claim 14), and finally wherein 0.47 ≤ H4/H1 ≤ 1.12 (for H1 values, see OA Table 1), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.6 ≤ H4/H1 ≤ 0.99 (Claim 16). Note that when the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05.I).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sui et al. (US 2025/0192313 A1), herein referred to as Sui ‘313, in view of Sui et al. (WO 2024/012090 A1; EP 4550545 A1 used for translation and citation purposes), herein referred to as Sui ‘090, as evidenced by Ke et al. (US 2025/0079627 A1), and as further evidenced by Kim et al. (US 2025/0023216 A1), as applied to Claims 1–12, 14, 16, and 18 above, and further in view of Yin et al. (CN 218828513 U; see attached machine translation).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Sui ‘313 discloses the energy storage device as set forth above, but firstly does not disclose wherein along the height direction of the casing, the battery compartment accommodates only one of the batteries. Instead, as set forth above, two batteries are accommodated in the battery compartment in the height direction of the casing in modified Sui ‘313 (i.e. two batteries are arranged height-wise per sub-compartment, with one sub-compartment arranged along the height direction of the battery compartment; see e.g. Sui ‘313 FIG. 5 and 8).
Yin teaches an energy storage device (see energy storage system, [n0094]–[n0095]), comprising: a similar plurality of sub-compartments (see multiple energy storage cabinets 100, [n0095], FIG. 1) to that of Sui ‘313 and Sui ‘090, accommodating one or more batteries (see battery device 30, [n0059], FIG. 2, 3, 9, 13), wherein the batteries comprise p * q battery cells (see battery cells 311, [n0063], FIG. 8), p and q are both positive integers. Yin specifically teaches two options for the arrangement of battery(ies) in the sub-compartment:
wherein two batteries (see first battery device 30a and second battery device 30b, [n0072], FIG. 3) are arranged along the height direction within the sub-compartment; Yin teaches ([n0072]) that this arrangement also involves provision of a support frame in the sub-compartment and increases the reliability of the stack (note that such an arrangement appears to be comparable to that of Sui ‘313 as shown in e.g. Sui ‘313 FIG. 8);
wherein one battery (see single battery device 30, [n0073], FIG. 13 and 14), which Yin appears to teach as containing the same total number of layers of battery cells as the “two batteries” described above (compare e.g. FIG. 3 to FIG. 13), is arranged along the height direction within the sub-compartment; Yin teaches ([n0073]) that this arrangement improves the space utilization rate and energy density of the sub-compartment.
Yin is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of energy storage device design. Furthermore, KSR Rationale E (MPEP § 2141) states that it is obvious to choose “from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success”. In the instant case, Yin teaches two possible arrangements of batteries within a similar sub-compartment to that of modified Sui ‘313, each with their own benefits as set forth above. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage device of modified Sui ‘313 by choosing the second of the two options of Yin set forth above, such that along the height direction of the casing, the battery compartment accommodates only one battery, with a reasonable expectation that such a modification would result in an operational energy storage device with the added benefit of improved space utilization rate and energy density of the sub-compartment.
Regarding the limitation the dimension of the battery compartment is denoted as H1, and a dimension of the battery is denoted as H5, satisfying 0.8 ≤ H5/H1 ≤ 0.99, it is first noted that, not being directed to the details of the batteries in the energy storage device, Sui ‘313 does not explicitly disclose the dimensions of the battery in any direction. However, one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that the batteries of Sui ‘313 must necessarily have some dimensions in the length, width, and height directions.
Sui ‘090 teaches ([0078]–[0079]) that the overall dimensions of the battery(ies) present in the sub-compartment should range from 0.500 to 1.100 m in the length direction, 0.450 to 1.000 m in the width direction, and 0.450 to 2.450 m in the height direction in order to ensure that the overall size, stored power, and endurance of the battery(ies) are suitable.
KSR Rationale A (MPEP § 2141) states that it is obvious to combine “prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results”. In the instant case, Sui ‘313 discloses an energy storage device which must necessarily have some dimensions in each direction. Further, Sui ‘090 teaches that the overall size, power, and endurance of battery(ies) present in a sub-compartment is strong when the overall dimensions of the battery(ies) in the length, width, and height directions are within the ranges of 0.500 to 1.100 m, 0.450 to 1.000 m, and 0.450 to 2.450 m, respectively. Furthermore, as set forth above and summarized in OA Table 1, the battery cells of modified Sui ‘313 have minimum dimensions in the length, width, and height directions of 0.800 m, 0.010 m, and 0.080 m, respectively; one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that the dimension of the battery(ies) in a given direction must be at minimum equal to or greater than the sum of the dimensions of the battery cells making up the battery(ies) in the same direction. Considering the above, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage device of modified Sui ‘313 such that the dimensions of the battery in the length, width, and height directions range from 0.800 (this lower limit being the minimum length of 1 × 0.800 m long battery cells) to 1.100 m, 0.450 to 1.000 m, and 1.280 (this lower limit being the minimum height of 16 × 0.080 m high battery cells) to 2.450 m, respectively, to yield the predictable result of an operational energy storage device comprising sub-compartments (each containing one battery) that have suitable overall size, power, and endurance.
Thus, a dimension of the battery (along the height direction of the casing) denoted as H5 of modified Sui ‘313 is understood to be 1.280 m ≤ H5 ≤ 2.450 m, and modified Sui ‘313 can therefore be understood to disclose wherein 0.47 ≤ H5/H1 ≤ 1.12 (for H1 values, see OA Table 1), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.8 ≤ H5/H1 ≤ 0.99. Note when the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05.I).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sui et al. (US 2025/0192313 A1), herein referred to as Sui ‘313, in view of Sui et al. (WO 2024/012090 A1; EP 4550545 A1 used for translation and citation purposes), herein referred to as Sui ‘090, as evidenced by Ke et al. (US 2025/0079627 A1), and as further evidenced by Kim et al. (US 2025/0023216 A1), as applied to Claims 1–12, 14, 16, and 18 above, as further evidenced by Ota et al. (US 2023/0133464 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Sui ‘313 discloses the energy storage as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a volume of the battery is denoted as V6, and a sum of volumes of the housings of the plurality of battery cells of the battery is denoted as V7, satisfying 0.5 ≤ V7/V6 ≤ 0.8.
However, it is well-known in the field of energy storage device design and optimization that increasing the volume ratio of battery cells to battery V7/V6 increases the volumetric capacity of the battery, as evidenced by Ota ([0003]). However, it is also well-known in the field that additional components required for proper functioning of the battery must be included in its volume, as also evidenced by Ota ([0003]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that increasing the volume ratio of battery cells to battery V7/V6 will also decreases the space available for these additional components.
A result-effective variable is a variable which achieves a recognized result. The determination of the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable is routine experimentation and therefore obvious (MPEP § 2144.05.II). In the instant case, the ratio V7/V6 is a variable that affects the volumetric capacity of the battery and the space available for additional battery components necessary for proper functioning, as evidenced by Ota, thus making V7/V6 a result-effective variable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify V7/V6 of modified Sui ‘313 such that 0.5 ≤ V7/V6 ≤ 0.8 via routine experimentation, for the purpose of achieving a suitable balance of volumetric capacity of the battery and space available for additional battery components necessary for proper functioning.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the Remarks filed 13 March 2026 regarding the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in the non-final office action mailed 31 December 2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments in the Remarks filed 13 March 2026 regarding the provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection of Claim 1 as being unpatentable over Claim 16 of co-pending Application 19/280,150 in view of Ota in the non-final office action mailed 31 December 2025 has been fully considered and is persuasive. Thus, the double patenting rejection has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725