DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on July 25, 2025. Claims 1-7 are pending and are examined below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority to Japanese Patent Application No. JP 2024-166330, filed September 25, 2024.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim lacks traditional punctuation, i.e., a colon, following the transitional phrase delineating the preamble from the body of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hirata et al., US 20260001554 A1, hereinafter referred to as Hirata.
As to claim 1, Hirata discloses a parking support apparatus configured to execute a parking support control for parking a vehicle in a parking space, wherein, the parking support apparatus is configured to:
allow the parking support control to be executed, in response to a position of the vehicle satisfying a start position condition and a vehicle speed being equal to or lower than a predetermined start speed (Automatic parking – See at least ¶63; Predetermined determination area, i.e., satisfying start position condition – See at least ¶66; Speed compared against threshold in predetermined determination area – See at least ¶73); and
start a deceleration notification that notifies a user that the parking support control becomes available by decelerating the vehicle, in response to the position of the vehicle satisfying the start position condition and the vehicle speed being higher than the start speed (Deceleration notification and deceleration – See at least ¶68).
As to claim 2, Hirata discloses the parking support apparatus is configured to start an availability notification that notifies the user that the parking support control is available, in response to the position of the vehicle satisfying the start position condition and the vehicle speed being equal to or lower than the start speed (Display in response to satisfying predetermined determination area and speed – See at least ¶98).
As to claim 4, Hirata discloses the parking support apparatus is configured to execute, as the parking support control, an automatic parking control for automatically driving the vehicle to park the vehicle in the parking space such that the vehicle speed does not exceed an upper-limit control speed, and wherein the start speed is set to the upper-limit control speed (Automatic parking – See at least ¶63; Control conditioned with respect to speed threshold – See at least ¶73).
As to claim 6, Hirata discloses the parking support apparatus is configured to:
store, as a learning parking route, a route that the vehicle traveled along when the vehicle was parked in the parking space by manual driving (Store route of past travel – See at least ¶62);
execute, as the parking support control, an automatic parking control for automatically driving the vehicle along the learning parking route to park the vehicle in the parking space (Execution in response to past traveling – See at least ¶70-71); and
determine that the position of the vehicle satisfies the start position condition in response to a distance between the vehicle and the learning parking route being equal to or shorter than a threshold distance (Determination area defined with respect to distance – See at least ¶67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata et al., US 20260001554 A1, hereinafter referred to as Hirata.
As to claim 3, Hirata discloses the parking support apparatus is configured to:
determine whether or not the vehicle speed is equal to or lower than a start upper-limit speed that is greater than the start speed, in response to the position of the vehicle satisfying the start position condition and the vehicle speed being higher than the start speed (Second speed threshold greater than first speed threshold – See at least ¶73);
start the deceleration notification in response to the vehicle speed being equal to or lower than the start upper-limit speed (Control conditioned with respect to second speed threshold – See at least ¶73); and
not start the deceleration notification in response to the vehicle speed being higher than the start upper-limit speed (Control conditioned with respect to second speed threshold – See at least ¶73).
Hirata fails to explicitly disclose ending the deceleration notification in response to the vehicle speed becoming equal to or higher than a first end speed that is higher than the start upper-limit speed after the deceleration notification has been started. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hirata and include the feature of ending the deceleration notification in response to the vehicle speed becoming equal to or higher than a first end speed that is higher than the start upper-limit speed after the deceleration notification has been started, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Hirata’s deceleration/parking control is conditioned on a vehicle traveling below a predetermined speed and the claimed ending control when the speed is exceeded is the logical inverse of this Hirata feature.
As to claim 5, Hirata discloses the parking support apparatus is configured to:
start, as the parking support control, an automatic parking control for automatically driving the vehicle to park the vehicle in the parking space such that the vehicle speed does not exceed an upper-limit control speed, in response to a predetermined start operation being performed by the user while the availability notification is being performed (Automatic parking – See at least ¶63; Control conditioned with respect to speed threshold – See at least ¶73; Approval operation – See at least Abstract).
Hirata fails to explicitly disclose ending the availability notification in response to the vehicle speed becoming equal to or higher than a second end speed that is higher than the start speed wherein the second end speed is set to the upper-limit control speed. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hirata and include the feature of ending the availability notification in response to the vehicle speed becoming equal to or higher than a second end speed that is higher than the start speed wherein the second end speed is set to the upper-limit control speed, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Hirata’s deceleration/parking control is conditioned on a vehicle traveling below a predetermined speed, including second speed threshold greater than a first speed threshold, and the claimed ending control when the speed is exceeded is the logical inverse of this Hirata feature.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata et al., US 20260001554 A1, in view of Mesery et al., US 20250299579 A1, hereinafter referred to as Hirata, and Mesery.
As to claim 7, Hirata discloses the parking support apparatus is configured to execute, as the parking support control, an automatic parking control for automatically driving the vehicle to park the vehicle in the parking space (Automatic parking – See at least ¶63).
Hirata fails to explicitly disclose starting the deceleration notification in response to: the position of the vehicle satisfying the start position condition, the vehicle speed being higher than the start speed, and there being no contact object that may come into contact with the vehicle on a planned route along which the vehicle is to travel in order to park in the parking space.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hirata and include the feature of ending the availability notification in response to the vehicle speed becoming equal to or higher than a second end speed that is higher than the start speed wherein the second end speed is set to the upper-limit control speed, with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure Hirata’s deceleration/parking control and automatic parking is performed successfully because Mesery teaches it is well-known and routine to consider whether an object/obstacle is present and inhibiting parking for a given parking space (See at least ¶58 of Mesery).
Conclusion
/LAIL A KLEINMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668