DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yeon (KR102138149).
Regarding claim 1, instant claim is limited by the claim language of “for a molybdenum-based thin film, wherein the molybdenum-based thin film comprises molybdenum metal, molybdenum oxide or molybdenum nitride on a substrate". The limitation is intended use of the “film quality improver” with the chemical formular. The recitation of purpose or intended use must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. (see MPEP 2111.02, II). In the instant claims, Yeon teaches a method of forming a metal containing thin film (paragraph 0001), wherein the metal is molybdenum and can be nitride or oxide (paragraphs 0004, 0051-0053). Yeon teaches to inject an inhibitor to the deposition chamber to be adsorbed on the surface of the substate (paragraphs 0017, 0046 and 0090), wherein the inhibitor facilitates to improve step coverage and thickness uniformity of the thin film being formed on a substate having complex structure (paragraph 0001), which reads on the limitation of film quality improver for the molybdenum based thin film. Yeon teaches the inhibitor comprises the structure of AnBmXo, wherein A is carbon or silicon, X is halogen (F, Cl, Br or I), B is hydrogen or alkyl having 1 to 3 carbon atoms, n is an integer of 1, o is an integer 1, and m is 2n+1 (paragraphs 0015-0016), which reads on the claimed chemical formula 1. Thus, Yeon teaches the film quality improver with the saturated compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 as claimed.
Regarding claim 4, instant claim is limited by the claim language of “the film quality improver does not remain in the molybdenum based thin film". The limitation is intended use of the “film quality improver” with the chemical formular. The recitation of purpose or intended use must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. (see MPEP 2111.02, II). Nevertheless, Yeon teaches the film quality improver is removed during the deposition process (paragraphs 0103-0104, figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, instant claim is limited by the claim language of “the molybdenum based thin film is used as a diffusion barrier or an electrode". The limitation is intended use of the “film quality improver” with the chemical formular. The recitation of purpose or intended use must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. (see MPEP 2111.02, II). Nevertheless, Yeon teaches the metal nitride deposition is intended to used a diffusion barrier (paragraphs 0004 and 0051-0053).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeon (KR102138149) as applied to claims 1 and 4-5 above.
Regarding claim 2, Yeon teach the same film quality improver with the chemical formular as claimed which reads on the specific quality improver in the instant claimed invention example, such as tert-butyl iodide, diiodomethane etc (paragraph 0061 and table 1 of the instant application publication), which has the claimed refractive index. Thus, Yeon’s chemical formula 1 includes some of the compounds with the same refractive index and considered to have overlapping range with the claimed range of refractive index. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 3, Yeon teach the same film quality improver with the chemical formular as claimed which reads on the specific quality improver in the instant claimed invention example, such as tert-butyl iodide, diiodomethane etc (paragraph 0061 and table 1 of the instant application publication), which has the claimed integral value of newly created peak. Thus, Yeon’s chemical formula 1 includes some of the compounds with the same integral value of newly created peak and considered to have overlapping range with the claimed range of integral value of newly created peak. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05. Yeon teaches the metal precursor is in liquid form in the ambient atmosphere (paragraphs 0058-0064).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 4 of copending Application No. 18014452. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the two claimed formular completely overlap in scope.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-5 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11746411 in view of Yeon (KR102138149). Claims 1-5 overlaps with claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11746411, including the two claimed formular completely overlap in scope. Thus, the two sets of claim completely overlap except the film is Ti based film. However, titanium and molybdenum in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor are considered as functionally equivalent as evidenced thin film material by Yeon (paragraph 0051). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute molybdenum for titanium as the thin film material in claims 1-5.
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No.12252788. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-5 and claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No.12252788 completely overlap in scope; the two claimed formular completely overlap in scope
Claims 1-5 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12421599 in view of Yeon (KR102138149). Claims 1-5 overlaps with claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12421599 (tert-butyl bromide reads on chemical formula 1).
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7, 9 and 11-13 of copending Application No. 17512724. Claims 6-10 overlaps with claims 7, 9 and 11-13 of Applicant No. 17512724 (at least tert-butyl chloride reads on chemical formula 1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18691435. Claims 1-5 overlaps with claims 7-15 of copending Application No. 18691435.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-13 and 16 of copending Application No. 18910856. Claims 1-5 overlaps with claims 7-13 and 16 of copending Application No.18910856.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-13 and 16-18 of copending Application No. 18950715. Claims 6-10 overlaps with claims 7-13 and 16-18 of copending Application No. 18950715.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/NGA LEUNG V LAW/Examiner, Art Unit 1717