DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing dated 7/28/2025. Claims 1-19 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 9/30/2025 is acknowledged and has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 7/28/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first sealing element” in claim 1, line 19 and “a second sealing element” in claim 1, line 21.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a first sealing element” in line 19. The recitation of “a first sealing element” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. A review of the originally filed disclosure dated 7/28/2025 indicates that the recitation of “a first sealing element” includes “a bellows” and equivalents thereof (see at least paragraph [0044]).
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a second sealing element” in line 21. The recitation of “a second sealing element” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. A review of the originally filed disclosure dated 7/28/2025 indicates that the recitation of “a second sealing element” includes “a bellows” and equivalents thereof (see at least paragraph [0045]).
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 8 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,398,808. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-7 and 9-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 9-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,398,808. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-7 and 9-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,398,808 “anticipates” Application claims 1-7 and 9-19. Accordingly, Application claim 1-7 and 9-19 are not patentably distinct from U.S. Patent No. 12,398,808 claims 1-7 and 9-19.
It is apparent that the more specific Patent claim 1 encompasses Application
claim 1. Following the rationale of In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph,
here applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for a specific or
narrower invention, Applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the
generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Note that since Application claim 1 is anticipated by Patent claim 1 and since
anticipation is the epitome of obviousness, then Application claim 1 is obvious over
Patent claim 1.
Similarly, Application claims 2-7 and 9-19 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Patent claims 2-7 and 9-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Richards (US 2,376,383).
Regarding claim 1, the Richards reference discloses a valve assembly having:
a first fixed plate (4) at a first end of the valve, the first fixed plate having a first side (considered the side of the plate 4 facing to the left in the orientation depicted in the figure) and a second side (considered the side of the plate 4 facing to the right in the orientation depicted in the figure) defining a first fixed plate thickness, the first plate having an opening (it is considered that the valve member 24 is slidable within the opening) extending through the first fixed plate;
a second fixed plate (3) at a second end of the valve, the second fixed plate having a first side (considered the side of the plate 3 facing to the left in the orientation depicted in the figure) and a second side (considered the side of the plate 3 facing to the right in the orientation depicted in the figure) defining a second fixed plate thickness, the second fixed plate having an opening (it is considered that element 9 is received within the opening) extending through the second fixed plate thickness, the first side of the second fixed plate facing and spaced from the second side of the first fixed plate (see the figure);
a movable plate (it is considered that the combination of 17 and 18 define a movable plate) positioned between the first fixed plate and the second fixed plate (see the figure), the movable plate having a first side (considered the side of the plate 17 facing to the left in the orientation depicted in the figure) and a second side (considered the side of the plate 18 facing to the right in the orientation depicted in the figure) defining a movable plate thickness, the first side of the movable plate facing the second side of the first fixed plate and the second side of the movable plate facing the first side of the second fixed plate, the movable plate having a needle (it is considered that the portion of the plate 17 that surrounds the chamber 15 constitutes a needle) extending from the first side of the movable plate, the needle having a needle end sized to fit within the opening in the first fixed plate (see the figure), the movable plate having at least one opening (it is considered that the combination of the opening 16, chamber 15 and the opening through which the stem 8 extends constitutes at least one opening) extending through the movable plate thickness adjacent the needle;
a first sealing element (it is considered that the bellows 20 constitutes a first sealing element) between the first fixed plate and the movable plate; and
a second sealing element (it is considered that the bellows 19 constitutes a second sealing element) between the second fixed plate and the movable plate.
In regards to claim 2, the Richards reference discloses a first conduit (2) extending from the first side of the first fixed plate (4).
In regards to claim 3, the Richards reference discloses a second conduit (1) extending from the second side of the second fixed plate (3).
In regards to claim 9, the Richards reference discloses wherein each of the first sealing member (20) and the second sealing member (19) comprises bellows (see at least the figure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richards (US 2,376,383) in view of Baik (US Pre-Grant Publication 2018/0356036).
In regards to claim 10, the Richards reference does not expressly disclose wherein the bellows comprises a high temperature material.
However, the Baik reference teaches a valve assembly having a valve needle (34) that is movable relative to an opening in a first member (40) wherein a bellows (32) is provided within the valve assembly wherein the bellows is made is made of stainless material that is able to be heated up by high temperature gas (see paragraph [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the bellows in the device disclosed by Richards using a high temperature material as taught by the Baik reference since it has been held that selecting a particular known material is within the general skill of a worker in the art on the basis of its suitability for the intended as a material of obvious engineering choice use based upon particular application requirements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Russell (US 6378841) discloses a valve assembly having a rotary valve wherein an actuator includes: an actuator ring (50), the actuator ring having a plurality of inwardly directed engagement elements (52) on an inside surface thereof; at least two rotary elements (76) within the actuator ring, each of the rotary elements having a plurality of outwardly directed engagement elements on an outside surface thereof, each of the outward directed engagement elements configured to cooperatively interact with the inwardly directed engagement elements of the actuator ring.
Mizuno et al. (US 5,881,957) discloses a valve assembly having a needle that includes a conical tip (25a) that is a non-linear taper.
Regueiro (US 5,353,992), Iwata (US 4,413,781), and Murray (US 4,196,886) disclose various valve assemblies that include a needle that include conical tips having a linear taper.
Satoh et al. (US 4948091), Trimble (US 4240610), Lin et al. (US 20220049788), Pohjola (US 20210139349) and Choi (US 20160273660) disclose various valve assemblies having a movable plate that is operated to translate a needle valve relative to an opening in a fixed housing member.
/ANDREW J ROST/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753