The present application claims priority to and is a continuation of U.S. Application Number 17/448,228, filed 09/21/2021, which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application Number 63/080,900, filed 09/21/2020.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Abstract
The Abstract filed on 07/28/2025 has been considered as to the merits.
Drawings
The Drawings filed on 07/28/2025 have been considered as to the merits.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims recite at line 5 the terms “utilizing the association…and a to directed link…” should be replaced with “utilizing the association….and a directed link…”.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weissman et al., (US 7,779,039), hereinafter “Weissman”, in view of Williams et al., (US 2019/0347668 A1), hereinafter “Williams”.
Claim 1, Weissman discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising:
- integrating a custom object into a customer relationship management (CRM) system (see col.7, lines 3-22, define custom objects including custom fields and indexing columns into a web-based customer relationship management (CRM) system) ;
- providing the custom object from the CRM system to a service of a multi-service platform (col. 1 lines 5-20, using custom objects, such as custom entities and fields, in a multi-tenant database system, wherein the multi-tenant database system is a salesforce.com service, a multi-tenant architecture that uses customer organizations to share database resources in one logical database);
- generating a prompt based upon information within the custom object (see col.14, lines 36-67, (68) FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a custom entity object 800 including an custom table 810 for ABC Corp. As shown, ABC Corp. (identified by "00d1" in org id column 801) has defined a custom object 810 to represent Assets. The definition of Assets object 810 is stored to metadata, e.g., in table 600 (FIG. 6b)…Also, as shown, XYZ Corp. (identified by "00dN" in org id column 801) has defined a custom object to suit their business needs, which custom object is also stored in table 800. As such, any given data column 803 may contain mixed data types depending on the definitions of the various custom objects stored in table).
Weissman does not explicitly disclose the claimed inputting the prompt into a machine learning model to generate properties related to a task tracked by the multi-service platform; and generating an insight for the task based upon the properties.
However, Williams discloses inputting the prompt into a machine learning model to generate properties related to a task tracked by the multi-service platform (par. [0070] and [0102], user is prompted to select or enter a core (primary) topic based on the user's own knowledge or the user's field of business, generating the content in the cluster can be attributed with the revenue and other benefits that are generated as a result. Among these are elements tracked in a CRM system 158, such as contact events, customers (such as prospective customers, leads, actual customers, and the like), deals, revenue, profit, and tasks, and a machine learning system is configured to perform machine learning tasks. Learning tasks may include, but are not limited to, training machine learned models to perform specific tasks and reinforcing the trained models based on feedback that is received in connection with the output of a model); and
- generating an insight for the task based upon the properties (par. [0012] and [0103], machine learning system that performs machine-learning tasks on behalf of the client-specific service system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Weissman to input the prompt into a machine learning model to generate properties related to a task tracked by the multi-service platform; and generate an insight for the task based upon the properties, in order to ensure the machine learning model focuses on relevant attributes rather than irrelevant metadata, thereby improving accuracy and relevance.
Claim 2, the combination of Weissman and Williams discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Williams discloses receiving data from an instance of an occurrence of an action being performed (par. [0009], identifying a current ticket having attributes that meet the set of conditions of the pipeline stage, executing the one or more actions of the workflow definition. In some embodiments, a workflow definition of the one or more workflow definitions is defined with respect to a stage of the ticket pipeline definition … at least one action defined in at least one of the workflow definitions is selected by the client from a set of predefined actions via a graphical user interface presented by the multi-client service platform, the set of predefined actions include generating and sending an electronic communication to a contact that owns the ticket, wherein the graphical user interface further allows the client to provide a communication template that is used to generate the electronic communication, the set of predefined actions include setting a task for a service specialist associated with the client); and
- in response to determining that the occurrence of the action relates to an instance of the custom object, utilizing the machine learning model to determine the insight using the data (par. [0137]-[0138]).
Claim 3, the combination of Weissman and Williams discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Williams discloses generating a definition of a valid association that includes a first unique identifier of a first object type and a second unique identifier of a second object type (par. [0015]-[0020]);
- validating, utilizing the definition of the valid association, a user request to associate two object types with an association (par. [0009] and [0096], accurate measures may be provided as relevancy and the like, once the user has selected a topic, the user may be prompted to identify subtopics related to that topic, may recommend or auto-fill subtopics that have been validated based on their similarity to the core topic and based on other scoring metrics. When the user has filled out a cluster of topics, the platform may alert the user to suggested links connecting each subtopic page to a topic page, including recommending adding links where they are currently absent…including a better “information architecture” to understand the relationship between pieces of content, built-in keyword validation, and holistic analysis of how each cluster of topics performs).
Claim 4, the combination of Weissman and Williams discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Williams discloses adding a qualifier to an associate type of the association (par. [0008], a set of customization parameters further include: a first ticket type corresponding to the set of custom ticket parameters; a second set of custom ticket parameters; and a second ticket type corresponding to the second set of custom ticket parameters. In some of these embodiments, the client-specific service system data structure further includes a second ticket object definition that includes the second set of custom ticket parameters, wherein tickets generated based on the second ticket object are of the second ticket type).
Claim 5, the combination of Weissman and Williams discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Williams discloses in response to a user creating an association type for the custom object, automatically creating an inverse association type from an opposite view of the association type (par. [0116]-[0117] and [0124]-[0125]).
Claim 6, the combination of Weissman and Williams discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Williams discloses creating a relationship between the custom object and an existing object within the CRM system (par. [0081], developing content regarding a suggested topic for presentation in a communication to a customer, wherein selection of a suggested topic for presentation to a customer is based at least in part on a semantic relationship between the suggested topic as determined by at least one of the models and at least one customer data record relating to the customer stored in the customer relationship management system);
- creating an association between the custom object and the existing object (par. [0081], developing content regarding a suggested topic for presentation in a communication to a customer, wherein selection of a suggested topic for presentation to a customer is based at least in part on a semantic relationship between the suggested topic as determined by at least one of the models and at least one customer data record relating to the customer stored in the customer relationship management system); and
- utilizing the association to create a from directed link and a to directed link between the custom object and the existing object (par. [0062]-[0069], [0085] and [0177], send out a link or reference in response to a given type of question from a customer within a chat, the system can learn to surface the link or reference to a service person during a chat, to facilitate more rapidly getting relevant information to the customer).
Claim 7, the combination of Weissman and Williams discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Weissman discloses generating a dynamic relationship between the custom object and an existing object within the CRM system using an association identifier label where the dynamic relationship dynamically changes at a point in time (see col.14, lines 36-67).
Claim 8, the combination of Weissman and Williams discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Weissman discloses executing a custom object process to creating a custom object scheme applied to information used to create the custom object (see col.12, lines 1-18, and FIG. 5, a custom object represented as a custom entity table, wherein the custom entity table includes an org id column, a custom entity id column and a plurality of custom field columns (labeled "val0", "val1", . . . ), wherein a plurality of optional index columns (labeled "ival0", "ival1", . . . ) may also be provided, the org id column is used to distinguish among the various organizations populating table, multiple organizations may create custom entities, all of which are stored to table in one aspect, custom entity id column is used to distinguish among the various custom entity tables stored in table, custom entity id column also acts as the primary key column for table, custom field columns are used to store the data for the various custom entities defined by the various organizations. Specifically, custom field columns store the columns defined for each of the various custom entities defined by the various organizations populating table).
Claims 9-14, are rejected under the same analysis as applied to claims 1- 4 and 6-8 above.
Claims 15-20, are rejected under the same analysis as applied to claims 1-5 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-892).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Loan T. Nguyen whose telephone number is (571) 270-3103. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday from 10:00 am - 6:00 pm, Thursday-Friday from 10:00 am - 2:00 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Aleksandr Kerzhner can be reached on (571) 270-1760. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-270-4103. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
8/17/2026
/LOAN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2165