Status of Claims
This is the first Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-9 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2023-013170, filed on 09/09/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/28/2025 and 12/11/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt et al. (US20110166742A1) in view of Hartley (US5649128A), and further in view of Fedorchuk et al. (US20120245786A1), hereinafter Hunt, Hartley, and Fedorchuk, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Hunt teaches of a data collection device collecting vehicle data related to a vehicle through different types of communication interfaces and transmitting the collected vehicle data to a server ("the telematics device 20 retrieves diagnostic data collected from the host vehicle 12, and location-based data from a GPS that collects signals from a constellation 60 of overlying satellites through an airlink 62. The device 20 formats these data in separate packets and transmits them over an airlink 59 to a base station 61 included in a wireless network 54", [0050]), the data collection device comprising: a layout converter converting the vehicle data ("metal traces 32' etched on the printed circuit board 30 connect the set of holes 37 to a set of metal leads 38 on the board's opposite side. The set of metal leads 38 align with a set of pins 39 within an IDC connector 33", [0041], "the effective OBD connector 27 is two-sided: one side includes a core 26 with sixteen OBD-compliant metallized cavities and a configuration that matches a standard OBD connector, while the second side features twenty pins (not shown in the figure) in a configuration that matches a standard IDC connector", [0035]), which is converted to have the common signal layout corresponding to the one of the communication interfaces according to a corresponding communication protocol ("The device 20 formats these data in separate packets and transmits them over an airlink 59 to a base station 61 included in a wireless network 54", [0050]); a first connector through which the data converter acquires the vehicle data after the vehicle data is converted into the common signal layout by the layout converter ("A third connector portion 16, which, in this embodiment, is identical to the above-described first 18 and second 17 connector portions, connects to the in-vehicle telematics device 20 through twenty male pins in an IDC pin-out 24", [0036]); and a communication circuit transmitting the vehicle data, which is converted into the data having the common format by the data converter, to the server ("The packets propagate through the wireless network 54 to a gateway software piece 55 running on a host computer system 57. The host computer system 57 processes and stores information from the packets in a database 63 using the gateway software piece 55", [0050]), wherein the layout converter includes: a common connector connected to the first connector through which the data converter acquires the vehicle data ("the effective OBD connector 27 is two-sided: one side includes a core 26 with sixteen OBD-compliant metallized cavities and a configuration that matches a standard OBD connector, while the second side features twenty pins (not shown in the figure) in a configuration that matches a standard IDC connector… the effective OBD connector 27 connects to a first connector portion 18 attached to the wiring harness 10. In this embodiment, the first connector portion 18 is a female, twenty-cavity IDC connector", [0035]); a providing end connector connected to a second connector of the data providing device ("It mates with an OBD connector 28 that, in this embodiment, includes twenty male pins in an IDC pin-out on one side, and sixteen male pins in an OBD pin-out on the other side", [0036], "the vehicle's original female OBD connector 36 is removed from its location and connected to the male OBD connector 28", [0037]), and a cable connecting the common connector with the providing end connector to convert the signal layout of the providing end connector to the common signal layout of the common connector ("a twenty-wire ribbon cable 15, which may include first 15A and second 15B portions, connects individual pins and provides electrical communication between the first 18, second 17, and third 16 connector portions", [0036], "metal traces 32' etched on the printed circuit board 30 connect the set of holes 37 to a set of metal leads 38 on the board's opposite side", [0041]).
However, Hunt does not teach of which is provided by a data providing device and has a signal layout corresponding to one of the communication interfaces, into a common signal layout; a data converter converting the vehicle data into data having a common format; the data providing device providing the vehicle data that has the signal layout corresponding to the one of the communication interfaces; and the vehicle data having the common signal layout includes an interface identifier indicating a type of the one of the communication interfaces, and the common connector includes: multiple first pins used to specify the interface identifier indicating the type of the one of the communication interfaces; and multiple second pins used to transmit the vehicle data.
Hartley, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of which is provided by a data providing device and has a signal layout corresponding to one of the communication interfaces, into a common signal layout ("this invention provides a circuit which transforms signals conveyed on any of a number of architectural busses into a standardized bus protocol to be used locally on an adapter card or module to provide a bus connection for a functional device, such as a display driver on the adapter card.", Col. 1 line 50, "The adapter includes a common interface or group of lines for connection to any of several bus architectures for operation therewith", Col. 1 line 58); a data converter converting the vehicle data into data having a common format ("The bus protocol decoder advantageously can be responsive to the bus identifier to derive protocol specific control signals from control signals from the control interface", Col. 2 line 11, "the Bus Protocol Decoder Logic (14) is seen taking Internal PCMCIA Control (24), Internal ISA Control (22) and Internal MCA Control (23) as its inputs and producing Standardized Local Control (10) and Platform Specific Control (25) as its outputs", Col. 4 line 25); and the vehicle data having the common signal layout includes an interface identifier indicating a type of the one of the communication interfaces ("A bus identifier is provided for identifying the bus architecture of the data processing device", Col. 2 line 1, "The bus identifier can convey bus identification to the local functional device", Col. 2 line 31), and the common connector includes: multiple first pins used to specify the interface identifier indicating the type of the one of the communication interfaces; and multiple second pins used to transmit the vehicle data ("FIG. 6 illustrates the bus identification logic (19) which uses the input condition to mode pins (42) to generate the ISA, MCA and PCMCIA signals used throughout the adapter (1)", Col. 6 line 35, "The interface adapter includes: (a) a control interface for accepting control signals from the bus of the data processing device, (b) an address interface for accepting address signals from the data processing device, and (c) a data interface for accepting data signals from said data processing device. A bus identifier is provided for identifying the bus architecture of the data processing device, as well as a bus protocol decoder responsive to the bus identifier", Col. 1 line 60).
However, Hartley does not teach of the data providing device providing the vehicle data that has the signal layout corresponding to the one of the communication interfaces.
Fedorchuk, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of the data providing device providing the vehicle data that has the signal layout corresponding to the one of the communication interfaces ("Connector 20 is designed for connecting with the vehicle diagnostic communication port 12 to provide communication of the multi-protocol interface device 10 with the vehicle onboard computer… The cable 22 has a first electrical connector plug 22A at one end complementarily designed to electrically connect with the connector 20 and a second electrical connector plug 22B at the opposite end complementarily designed to electrically connect with the vehicle diagnostic communication port 12", [0025]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of Hunt with the teachings of Hartley to add a way to identify which type of communication interface is being used and translate its signals into one common format and the teaching of Fedorchuk to add the connector for plugging directly into the vehicle’s diagnostic port with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the flexibility and compatibility of the system by implementing a circuit that can adapt to different bus architectures and enabling it to work with different communication protocols across different vehicles (Hartley, Col. 1 line 37; Fedorchuck, [0028]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Hunt teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, additionally, wherein each of the data converter and the communication circuit is supplied with a power from the data providing device through the cable ("In this configuration, the telematics device 20 can receive power and diagnostic data from basically any host vehicle 12", [0043], "Once secured, this connection facilitates transmission of power, ground, and the vehicle's diagnostic data, through a serial connection to the host vehicle's ECU and to the telematics device 20", [0037]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Hunt teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above.
However, modified Hunt does not teach of wherein the data converter converts the vehicle data having the common signal layout into the data having the common format based on the interface identifier.
Hartley, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the data converter converts the vehicle data having the common signal layout into the data having the common format based on the interface identifier ("The bus protocol decoder advantageously can be responsive to the bus identifier to derive protocol specific control signals from control signals from the control interface", Col. 2 line 11).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Hunt with the teaching of Hartley to add a protocol decoder that uses that interface identifier to determine which communication protocol is in use and convert the data accordingly with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the accuracy of the system by ensuring the data converter selects the correct protocol translation based on the identified interface type (Hartley, Col. 2 line 11).
Regarding claim 9, Hunt teaches of a data collection method executed by at least one processor equipped to a vehicle ([0044]), the data collection method collecting vehicle data related to a vehicle through different types of communication interfaces, the data collection method comprising: converting, by a layout converter, the vehicle data ("metal traces 32' etched on the printed circuit board 30 connect the set of holes 37 to a set of metal leads 38 on the board's opposite side. The set of metal leads 38 align with a set of pins 39 within an IDC connector 33", [0041], "the effective OBD connector 27 is two-sided: one side includes a core 26 with sixteen OBD-compliant metallized cavities and a configuration that matches a standard OBD connector, while the second side features twenty pins (not shown in the figure) in a configuration that matches a standard IDC connector", [0035]); acquiring, through a first connector, the vehicle data after the vehicle data is converted into the common signal layout ("A third connector portion 16, which, in this embodiment, is identical to the above-described first 18 and second 17 connector portions, connects to the in-vehicle telematics device 20 through twenty male pins in an IDC pin-out 24", [0036]); which is converted to have the common signal layout corresponding to the one of the communication interfaces according to a corresponding communication protocol ("The device 20 formats these data in separate packets and transmits them over an airlink 59 to a base station 61 included in a wireless network 54", [0050]); and transmitting, by a communication circuit, the vehicle data, which is converted into the data having the common format, to a server located outside of the vehicle ("The packets propagate through the wireless network 54 to a gateway software piece 55 running on a host computer system 57. The host computer system 57 processes and stores information from the packets in a database 63 using the gateway software piece 55", [0050]), wherein the layout converter includes: a common connector connected to the first connector through which the data converter acquires the vehicle data ("the effective OBD connector 27 is two-sided: one side includes a core 26 with sixteen OBD-compliant metallized cavities and a configuration that matches a standard OBD connector, while the second side features twenty pins (not shown in the figure) in a configuration that matches a standard IDC connector… the effective OBD connector 27 connects to a first connector portion 18 attached to the wiring harness 10. In this embodiment, the first connector portion 18 is a female, twenty-cavity IDC connector", [0035]); a providing end connector connected to a second connector of the data providing device ("It mates with an OBD connector 28 that, in this embodiment, includes twenty male pins in an IDC pin-out on one side, and sixteen male pins in an OBD pin-out on the other side", [0036], "the vehicle's original female OBD connector 36 is removed from its location and connected to the male OBD connector 28", [0037]); and a cable connecting the common connector with the providing end connector to convert the signal layout of the providing end connector to the common signal layout of the common connector ("a twenty-wire ribbon cable 15, which may include first 15A and second 15B portions, connects individual pins and provides electrical communication between the first 18, second 17, and third 16 connector portions", [0036], "metal traces 32' etched on the printed circuit board 30 connect the set of holes 37 to a set of metal leads 38 on the board's opposite side", [0041]).
However, Hunt does not teach of which is provided by a data providing device and has a signal layout corresponding to one of the communication interfaces, into a common signal layout; converting, by a data converter, the vehicle data into data having a common format; the data providing device providing the vehicle data that has the signal layout corresponding to the one of the communication interfaces; the vehicle data having the common signal layout includes an interface identifier indicating a type of the one of the communication interfaces, and the common connector includes: multiple first pins used to specify the interface identifier indicating the type of the one of the communication interfaces; and multiple second pins used to transmit the vehicle data.
Hartley, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of which is provided by a data providing device and has a signal layout corresponding to one of the communication interfaces, into a common signal layout ("this invention provides a circuit which transforms signals conveyed on any of a number of architectural busses into a standardized bus protocol to be used locally on an adapter card or module to provide a bus connection for a functional device, such as a display driver on the adapter card.", Col. 1 line 50, "The adapter includes a common interface or group of lines for connection to any of several bus architectures for operation therewith", Col. 1 line 58); converting, by a data converter, the vehicle data into data having a common format ("The bus protocol decoder advantageously can be responsive to the bus identifier to derive protocol specific control signals from control signals from the control interface", Col. 2 line 11, "the Bus Protocol Decoder Logic (14) is seen taking Internal PCMCIA Control (24), Internal ISA Control (22) and Internal MCA Control (23) as its inputs and producing Standardized Local Control (10) and Platform Specific Control (25) as its outputs", Col. 4 line 25); the vehicle data having the common signal layout includes an interface identifier indicating a type of the one of the communication interfaces ("A bus identifier is provided for identifying the bus architecture of the data processing device", Col. 2 line 1, "The bus identifier can convey bus identification to the local functional device", Col. 2 line 31), and the common connector includes: multiple first pins used to specify the interface identifier indicating the type of the one of the communication interfaces; and multiple second pins used to transmit the vehicle data ("FIG. 6 illustrates the bus identification logic (19) which uses the input condition to mode pins (42) to generate the ISA, MCA and PCMCIA signals used throughout the adapter (1)", Col. 6 line 35, "The interface adapter includes: (a) a control interface for accepting control signals from the bus of the data processing device, (b) an address interface for accepting address signals from the data processing device, and (c) a data interface for accepting data signals from said data processing device. A bus identifier is provided for identifying the bus architecture of the data processing device, as well as a bus protocol decoder responsive to the bus identifier", Col. 1 line 60).
However, Hartley does not teach of the data providing device providing the vehicle data that has the signal layout corresponding to the one of the communication interfaces.
Fedorchuk, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of the data providing device providing the vehicle data that has the signal layout corresponding to the one of the communication interfaces ("Connector 20 is designed for connecting with the vehicle diagnostic communication port 12 to provide communication of the multi-protocol interface device 10 with the vehicle onboard computer… The cable 22 has a first electrical connector plug 22A at one end complementarily designed to electrically connect with the connector 20 and a second electrical connector plug 22B at the opposite end complementarily designed to electrically connect with the vehicle diagnostic communication port 12", [0025]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of Hunt with the teachings of Hartley to add a way to identify which type of communication interface is being used and translate its signals into one common format and the teaching of Fedorchuk to add the connector for plugging directly into the vehicle’s diagnostic port with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the flexibility and compatibility of the system by implementing a circuit that can adapt to different bus architectures and enabling it to work with different communication protocols across different vehicles (Hartley, Col. 1 line 37; Fedorchuck, [0028]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt, Hartley, and Fedorchuk as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Reul et al. (US6526340B1), hereinafter Reul.
Regarding claim 3, modified Hunt teaches of all limitations of claim 2 as stated above, additionally, wherein a plurality of the layout converters are provided corresponding to the different types of communication interfaces ("By selecting the proper adaptor from a set of multiple adaptors, a technician can use the present invention as a universal wiring harness to install the telematics device in virtually any vehicle", [0029], "FIG. 3 illustrates in more detail the different configurations of snap-on adaptors 25 that can be used with the wiring harness 10 and telematics device 20 according to one embodiment of the invention… each is chosen to match that of an OBD connector present in a given vehicle", [0045]).
However, modified Hunt does not teach of when the plurality of the layout converters connect, via multiple cables, respective second connectors of the data providing device with respective first connectors through which the data converter acquires the vehicle data in accordance with respective different types of communication interfaces, each of the data converter and the communication circuit is supplied with the power from the data providing device through one of the multiple cables.
Reul, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of when the plurality of the layout converters connect, via multiple cables, respective second connectors of the data providing device with respective first connectors through which the data converter acquires the vehicle data in accordance with respective different types of communication interfaces, each of the data converter and the communication circuit is supplied with the power from the data providing device through one of the multiple cables ("Implementing multiple modules within one logic device such as FPGA 114, provides a comprehensive interface that can accommodate multiple communication protocols found in many motor vehicles", Col. 5 line 33).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Hunt with the teaching of Reul to provide multiple separate converter modules, each dedicated to a different vehicle communication protocol, running simultaneously within a single device with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the compatibility of the system by allowing it to handle all of the different communication protocols found across different vehicles at the same time without needing to swap or reconfigure hardware (Reul, Col. 5 line 33).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt, Hartley, and Fedorchuk as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mason et al. (US20130338855A1), hereinafter Mason.
Regarding claim 5, modified Hunt teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above.
However, modified Hunt does not teach of wherein, when multiple signals from the different types of communication interfaces are same as one another, the multiple signals from the different types of communication interfaces are converted to a single signal having the common signal layout.
Mason, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein, when multiple signals from the different types of communication interfaces are same as one another ("The measurement selection module 136 can select a reduced or minimum set of available measurements to use in determining a uniform set of monitored information", [0071], "a vehicle management system can select a reduced or minimum set of available measurements to use in determining a uniform set of monitored information… The vehicle management system can automatically select a set of measurements based on one or more criteria", 0020]), the multiple signals from the different types of communication interfaces are converted to a single signal having the common signal layout ([0043], "the data standardizing module 134 can rely on both or either of the hourly odometer measurements or calculations using the GPS position to determine a distance traveled by the vehicle over a certain time. The data standardizing module 134 can switch between two or more sources as available measurements change or select between or weight the two or more measurements based on indications of the quality of the measurements to determine the estimates of the same information", [0044]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of modified Hunt with the teaching of Mason to compare data coming from different communication interfaces and combine the matching data into one signal with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the efficiency of the system by reducing any redundant data being sent and reduce bandwidth (Mason, [0093]).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt in view of Mason, and further in view of Hartley.
Regarding claim 6, Hunt teaches of a data collection system collecting vehicle data related to a vehicle through different types of communication interfaces and transmitting the collected vehicle data to a server ([0014]), the data collection system comprising: a data providing device ("in-vehicle diagnostic system", [0014]); and a data collection device ("the telematics device 20 retrieves diagnostic data collected from the host vehicle 12, and location-based data from a GPS that collects signals from a constellation 60 of overlying satellites through an airlink 62. The device 20 formats these data in separate packets and transmits them over an airlink 59 to a base station 61 included in a wireless network 54", [0050]), the data collection device includes: a layout converter converting the signal layout of the vehicle data ("metal traces 32' etched on the printed circuit board 30 connect the set of holes 37 to a set of metal leads 38 on the board's opposite side. The set of metal leads 38 align with a set of pins 39 within an IDC connector 33", [0041], "the effective OBD connector 27 is two-sided: one side includes a core 26 with sixteen OBD-compliant metallized cavities and a configuration that matches a standard OBD connector, while the second side features twenty pins (not shown in the figure) in a configuration that matches a standard IDC connector", [0035]), which is converted to have the common signal layout corresponding to the one of the communication interfaces according to a corresponding communication protocol ("The device 20 formats these data in separate packets and transmits them over an airlink 59 to a base station 61 included in a wireless network 54", [0050]); a data collection connector through which the data converter acquires the vehicle data after the vehicle data is converted into the common signal layout by the layout converter ("A third connector portion 16, which, in this embodiment, is identical to the above-described first 18 and second 17 connector portions, connects to the in-vehicle telematics device 20 through twenty male pins in an IDC pin-out 24", [0036]); and a communication circuit transmitting the vehicle data, which is converted into the data having the common format by the data converter, to the server ("The packets propagate through the wireless network 54 to a gateway software piece 55 running on a host computer system 57. The host computer system 57 processes and stores information from the packets in a database 63 using the gateway software piece 55", [0050]), the layout converter includes: a common connector connected to the data collection connector through which the data converter acquires the vehicle data ("the effective OBD connector 27 is two-sided: one side includes a core 26 with sixteen OBD-compliant metallized cavities and a configuration that matches a standard OBD connector, while the second side features twenty pins (not shown in the figure) in a configuration that matches a standard IDC connector… the effective OBD connector 27 connects to a first connector portion 18 attached to the wiring harness 10. In this embodiment, the first connector portion 18 is a female, twenty-cavity IDC connector", [0035]); a providing end connector connected to the providing device connector of the data providing device ("It mates with an OBD connector 28 that, in this embodiment, includes twenty male pins in an IDC pin-out on one side, and sixteen male pins in an OBD pin-out on the other side", [0036], "the vehicle's original female OBD connector 36 is removed from its location and connected to the male OBD connector 28", [0037]); and a cable connecting the common connector with the providing end connector to convert the signal layout of the providing end connector to the common signal layout of the common connector ("a twenty-wire ribbon cable 15, which may include first 15A and second 15B portions, connects individual pins and provides electrical communication between the first 18, second 17, and third 16 connector portions", [0036], "metal traces 32' etched on the printed circuit board 30 connect the set of holes 37 to a set of metal leads 38 on the board's opposite side", [0041]).
However, Hunt does not teach of wherein the data providing device includes: a gateway transferring the vehicle data acquired from a network of a vehicle; and a providing device connector providing the vehicle data, which is transferred from the gateway, in a signal layout corresponding to one of the communication interfaces; which is provided by the data providing device into a common signal layout; a data converter converting the vehicle data into data having a common format; the vehicle data having the common signal layout includes an interface identifier indicating a type of the one of the communication interfaces, and the common connector includes: multiple first pins used to specify the interface identifier indicating the type of the one of the communication interfaces; and multiple second pins used to transmit the vehicle data.
Mason, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the data providing device includes: a gateway transferring the vehicle data acquired from a network of a vehicle; and a providing device connector providing the vehicle data, which is transferred from the gateway, in a signal layout corresponding to one of the communication interfaces ("The gateway module 205 can be in communication with some or all of the in-vehicle sensors 230. For example, the gateway module 205 can be coupled to an OBDII or CAN bus in the vehicle to thereby receive in-vehicle sensor information from the engine computer", [0092], "the gateway module 205 can be a system that performs wired or wireless data acquisition within a vehicle…. The gateway module 205 can therefore acquire diagnostic bus and motor vehicle status data and buffer the data and forward the data directly to the vehicle management system or another in-vehicle device (such as a driver's cell phone, tablet, or laptop) via WiFi, Ethernet, RS232/422, USB, or other suitable physical interfaces", [0099]).
However, Mason does not teach of which is provided by the data providing device into a common signal layout; a data converter converting the vehicle data into data having a common format; the vehicle data having the common signal layout includes an interface identifier indicating a type of the one of the communication interfaces, and the common connector includes: multiple first pins used to specify the interface identifier indicating the type of the one of the communication interfaces; and multiple second pins used to transmit the vehicle data.
Hartley, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of which is provided by the data providing device into a common signal layout ("this invention provides a circuit which transforms signals conveyed on any of a number of architectural busses into a standardized bus protocol to be used locally on an adapter card or module to provide a bus connection for a functional device, such as a display driver on the adapter card.", Col. 1 line 50, "The adapter includes a common interface or group of lines for connection to any of several bus architectures for operation therewith", Col. 1 line 58); a data converter converting the vehicle data into data having a common format ("The bus protocol decoder advantageously can be responsive to the bus identifier to derive protocol specific control signals from control signals from the control interface", Col. 2 line 11, "the Bus Protocol Decoder Logic (14) is seen taking Internal PCMCIA Control (24), Internal ISA Control (22) and Internal MCA Control (23) as its inputs and producing Standardized Local Control (10) and Platform Specific Control (25) as its outputs", Col. 4 line 25); the vehicle data having the common signal layout includes an interface identifier indicating a type of the one of the communication interfaces ("A bus identifier is provided for identifying the bus architecture of the data processing device", Col. 2 line 1, "The bus identifier can convey bus identification to the local functional device", Col. 2 line 31), and the common connector includes: multiple first pins used to specify the interface identifier indicating the type of the one of the communication interfaces; and multiple second pins used to transmit the vehicle data ("FIG. 6 illustrates the bus identification logic (19) which uses the input condition to mode pins (42) to generate the ISA, MCA and PCMCIA signals used throughout the adapter (1)", Col. 6 line 35, "The interface adapter includes: (a) a control interface for accepting control signals from the bus of the data processing device, (b) an address interface for accepting address signals from the data processing device, and (c) a data interface for accepting data signals from said data processing device. A bus identifier is provided for identifying the bus architecture of the data processing device, as well as a bus protocol decoder responsive to the bus identifier", Col. 1 line 60).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of Hunt with the teachings of Mason to add a gateway that pulls vehicle data off the vehicle’s internal network and passes it along through a connector and the teaching of Hartley to add a way to identify which type of communication interface is being used and translate its signals into one common format with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the flexibility and compatibility of the system by implementing a circuit that can adapt to different bus architectures and enabling it to work with different communication protocols across different vehicles (Hartley, Col. 1 line 37), and improve the flexibility of the system by allowing it to pull data straight from the vehicle’s own network and pass it out through whichever physical connection is available (Mason, [0092], [0099]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Hunt teaches of all limitations of claim 6 as stated above.
However, modified Hunt does not teach of wherein the data providing device uses at least one of onboard diagnosis second generation (OBD2) or fleet management system (FMS) as the one of the communication interfaces of the vehicle data when transferring the vehicle data using the gateway.
Mason, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the data providing device uses at least one of onboard diagnosis second generation (OBD2) or fleet management system (FMS) as the one of the communication interfaces of the vehicle data when transferring the vehicle data using the gateway ("the gateway module 205 can be coupled to an OBDII or CAN bus in the vehicle to thereby receive in-vehicle sensor information from the engine computer", [0092]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of modified Hunt with the teaching of Mason to specify that the gateway pulls the vehicle data from the OBD2 interface with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the compatibility of the system by connecting the gateway to the OBD2 interface already built into the majority of vehicles (Mason, [0092]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Hunt teaches of all limitations of claim 6 as stated above, additionally, wherein the data providing device further includes an additional providing device connector that directly provides the vehicle data from the network of the vehicle, instead of providing the vehicle data through the gateway ("the telematics device can include a pass-through connector so that the device can receive diagnostic data while making the vehicle's OBD connector available to a scan tool during, for example, repairs. When the scan tool 70 is plugged in, the telematics device `backs off` the ECU (i.e., the telematics device temporarily stops accessing data from the ECU) using either firmware or hardware, so that the scan tool 70 can read the diagnostic data", [0051], "a third electrical connector 706 electrically coupled to at least some of the second electrical conductors 705 and being configured to be coupled to a diagnostic scan tool", [0052], it would have been obvious to provide the data providing device with an additional connector as Hunt teaches that providing a pass-through/third connector allows another diagnostic device to directly access diagnostic data from the vehicle while the telematics device temporarily stops accessing the ECU. A PHOSITA would have been motivated to provide such an additional connector to permit direct vehicle-network access for diagnostic or service operations without disconnecting the data collection device).
Conclusion
ABIGAIL LEE ESPINOZA
Examiner
Art Unit 3657
/JONATHAN L SAMPLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657