DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/7/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because claims recite the abbreviation “OCT” without its full form. The first occurrence of all acronyms or abbreviations should be written out for clarity, whether or not they may be considered well known. Appropriate corrections/clarification required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-20 are directed to a system or method, which are/is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
The Examiner has identified independent method claim 1 as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis and is similar to independent system claim 12 and another method claim 16. Claim 1 recites the limitations of searching and checking for user’s aliases (for future use).
These limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation as certain methods of organizing human activity. Receiving user contact data; searching for user’s aliases; providing aliases to user device; storing aliases; receiving a selection of an alias; and initiating interaction with the alias – specifically, the claim recites: “receiving, by a server computer from a user device comprising a transfer application via a communications network, contact data for a plurality of potential users on the user device; searching, by the server computer a database, for a set of aliases associated with the potential users in the contact data; and providing, by the server computer via the communications network, the set of aliases to the user device, wherein the user device is programmed to store the set of aliases in the transfer application, receive a selection of an alias associated with a user, and initiate an interaction with the alias using the transfer application”, recites a fundamental economic practice, directed to mitigating risk.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a fundamental economic practice, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
The “a server computer”, “a processor”, “a computer readable medium”, “a user device”, “a communications network”, “a database”, and “the transfer application”, in claim 12, are just applying generic computer components to the recited abstract limitations. The recitation of generic computer components in a claim does not necessarily preclude that claim from reciting an abstract idea. Claims 1 and 16 are also abstract for similar reasons. (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The claims recite an abstract i50eddea)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of: a computer such as a server computer, a processor, and a user device; a communication device such as a communications network; a storage unit such as a computer readable medium, and a database; and software module and algorithm such as the transfer application. The computer hardware/software is/are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are at a high level of generality. Therefore, claims 1, 12, and 16 are directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer hardware amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, these additional elements, do not change the outcome of the analysis, when considered separately and as an ordered combination. Thus, claims 1, 12, and 16 are not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more)
Dependent claims further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims 1, 12, and 16 and thus correspond to Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, and hence are abstract for the reasons presented above.
Dependent claim 2 discloses the limitation of the contact data comprises phone numbers and/or e-mail addresses of users, which further narrows the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 3 discloses the limitation of the user device is a mobile phone, which further narrows the abstract idea. Note that the technical element “a mobile phone” is recited at a high level of generality. It does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 4 discloses the limitation of the interaction utilizes an OCT message, which further narrows the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 5 discloses the limitation of the user device comprises a data storage application and the contact data is stored in the data storage application, which further narrows the abstract idea. Note that the technical elements “the user device” and “the data storage application” are recited at a high level of generality. They do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 6 discloses the limitation of the transfer application is in communication with and is supported by the transfer application, which further narrows the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 7 discloses the limitation of the interaction provides a value to a user record associated with the alias, which further narrows the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 8 discloses the limitation of the transfer application is a first transfer application, the user is a receiver user, and the receiver user has a receiver user device comprising a second transfer application that is supported by a second transfer application server, which further narrows the abstract idea. Note that the technical elements “a receiver user device” and “a second transfer application server” are recited at a high level of generality. They do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 9 discloses the limitation of the database stores a plurality of aliases associated with a plurality of different transfer application servers, which further narrows the abstract idea. Note that the technical elements “the database” and “a plurality of different transfer application servers” are recited at a high level of generality. They do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 10 discloses the limitation of the database stores the plurality of aliases in association with access data of users, which further narrows the abstract idea. Note that the technical element “the database” is recited at a high level of generality. It does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 11 discloses the limitation of the access data of the users comprises credentials, tokenized credentials, virtual credentials, or tokenized virtual credentials, which further narrows the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 13 discloses the limitation of the contact data comprises a phone number and/or e-mail of users, which further narrows the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 14 discloses the limitation of the database stores a plurality of aliases associated user records managed by a plurality of different transfer application servers, which further narrows the abstract idea. Note that the technical elements “the database” and “a plurality of different transfer application servers” are recited at a high level of generality. They do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 15 discloses the limitation of the database stores the plurality of aliases in association access data, which further narrows the abstract idea. Note that the technical element “the database” is recited at a high level of generality. It does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 17 discloses the limitation of requesting, by the transfer application on the user device, consent of the first user operating the user device to send the contact data to the server computer; and receiving, by the transfer application on the user device, the consent from the first user, which further narrows the abstract idea. Note that the technical elements “the user device” and “the server computer” are recited at a high level of generality. They do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 18 discloses the limitation of the user device is a mobile phone, which further narrows the abstract idea. Note that the technical element “a mobile phone” is recited at a high level of generality. It does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 19 discloses the limitation of the contact data comprises a phone number and/or e-mail of users, which further narrows the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 20 discloses the limitation of the interaction involves a communication to a transfer application server associated with the transfer application, the communication comprising the alias and a value to transfer to a user record associated with the alias, which further narrows the abstract idea. Note that the technical element “a transfer application server” is recited at a high level of generality. It does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Thus, the dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the dependent claims are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the claims 1-20 are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102(a)(2)
OR
(a) (2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Purves (20190222422).
Regarding claim 1, Purves teaches
a method comprising: receiving, by a server computer from a user device comprising a transfer application via a communications network, contact data for a plurality of potential users on the user device
(“17. A user device comprising: a processor; a computer readable medium coupled to the processor and containing instructions for causing the processor to perform operations comprising: providing an identifier to a resource provider computer to initiate a transaction; receiving, from a blockchain, a list of aliases associated with the identifier, wherein each alias is associated with a network address of a network computer stored in the blockchain; selecting an alias of the list of aliases; and transmitting the selected alias to the network computer using the network address”).
See FIG. 8, user device for aliases communication
(“[0008] One embodiment of the invention is directed to a method comprising: receiving, by a secure gateway, a request message including an identifier and a request for a list of aliases from a resource provider computer”).
searching, by the server computer a database, for a set of aliases associated with the potential users in the contact data
(“[0008] retrieving, by the secure gateway, an encrypted list of aliases from a blockchain, wherein the encrypted list of aliases include at least one alias associated with the identifier”).
providing, by the server computer via the communications network, the set of aliases to the user device,
wherein the user device is programmed to store the set of aliases in the transfer application
(“[0008] transmitting, by the secure gateway, the decrypted list of aliases to the user device”).
See also FIG. 8, user device data storage, item 802
receive a selection of an alias associated with a user, and initiate an interaction with the alias using the transfer application
(“[0008] receiving, by the secure gateway, a selected alias of the decrypted list of aliases from the user device; transmitting, by the secure gateway, a request for access data associated with the selected alias to the network computer; receiving, by the secure gateway, encrypted access data from the network computer; and transmitting, by the secure gateway, the encrypted access data to the resource provider computer”).
See also FIG. 8, user device alias selection module, item 824; and transaction module, item 822
Regarding claim 2, Purves discloses
the contact data comprises phone numbers and/or e-mail addresses of users
(“[0060] The user device 102 may transmit an identifier to the host site 104A. The identifier may identify the user of the user device 102. In some embodiments, the identifier may be associated with the user. For example, the identifier may be a name of the user, user name, email address, phone number or other personal identifier. In some embodiments, the identifier may be a token reference ID”).
Regarding claim 3, Purves discloses
the user device is a mobile phone
See FIG. 8, user device for aliases communication
Regarding claim 5, Purves discloses
the user device comprises a data storage application and the contact data is stored in the data storage application
See also FIG. 8, user device data storage, item 802
Regarding claim 6, Purves discloses
the transfer application is in communication with and is supported by the transfer application
See also FIG. 8, specifically user device alias transaction module, item 822; and user device interface, item 806
Regarding claim 7, Purves discloses
the interaction provides a value to a user record associated with the alias
(“[0008] One embodiment of the invention is directed to a method comprising: receiving, by a secure gateway, a request message including an identifier and a request for a list of aliases from a resource provider computer; retrieving, by the secure gateway, an encrypted list of aliases from a blockchain, wherein the encrypted list of aliases include at least one alias associated with the identifier; decrypting, by the secure gateway, the encrypted list of aliases, resulting in a decrypted list of aliases; transmitting, by the secure gateway, the decrypted list of aliases to the user device; receiving, by the secure gateway, a selected alias of the decrypted list of aliases from the user device; transmitting, by the secure gateway, a request for access data associated with the selected alias to the network computer; receiving, by the secure gateway, encrypted access data from the network computer; and transmitting, by the secure gateway, the encrypted access data to the resource provider computer”).
Regarding claim 8, Purves discloses
the transfer application is a first transfer application, the user is a receiver user, and the receiver user has a receiver user device comprising a second transfer application that is supported by a second transfer application server
Examiner notes that this is second user, with second phone, second server – similar to the first user.
See FIG. 1, showing a block diagram of a system for aliases communication.
Regarding claim 9, Purves discloses
the database stores a plurality of aliases associated with a plurality of different transfer application servers
See FIG. 8, user device data storage, item 802; alias transaction module, item 822; and interface, item 806
Regarding claim 10, Purves discloses
the database stores the plurality of aliases in association with access data of users
See FIG. 8, user device data storage, item 802
Regarding claim 11, Purves discloses
the access data of the users comprises credentials, tokenized credentials, virtual credentials, or tokenized virtual credentials
(“[0054] The blockchain 108 may store alias information including account aliases, device aliases, user aliases, etc. The blockchain 108 may reside on one or more computers in the system 100, including some that may not be specifically depicted in FIG. 1. In some embodiments, the blockchain 108 may store card art for an access card (e.g., a payment card), a token reference ID for a token (e.g., a payment token associated with the payment card), a card alias such as the last four digits of an access card, and a card provider's name in association with an identifier or user alias in a block in the blockchain 108. The token reference ID may be associated with a token which may represent access data. In some embodiments, multiple different entities (e.g., different banks) may store aliases in the blockchain 108. Because the blockchain 108 does not contain underlying sensitive data associated with aliases, different entities may access the blockchain 108”).
Claim 12 is rejected using the same rationale that was used for the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 13 is rejected using the same rationale that was used for the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, Purves discloses
the database stores a plurality of aliases associated user records managed by a plurality of different transfer application servers
See FIG. 8, specifically user device alias transaction module, item 822; and user device interface, item 806
Regarding claim 15, Purves discloses
wherein the database stores the plurality of aliases in association access data
See also FIG. 8, user device data storage, item 802
Claim 16 is rejected using the same rationale that was used for the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Purves discloses
the user is a first user, and the method further comprises: requesting, by the transfer application on the user device, consent of the first user operating the user device to send the contact data to the server computer; and receiving, by the transfer application on the user device, the consent from the first user
(“[0008] One embodiment of the invention is directed to a method comprising: receiving, by a secure gateway, a request message including an identifier and a request for a list of aliases from a resource provider computer; retrieving, by the secure gateway, an encrypted list of aliases from a blockchain, wherein the encrypted list of aliases include at least one alias associated with the identifier; decrypting, by the secure gateway, the encrypted list of aliases, resulting in a decrypted list of aliases; transmitting, by the secure gateway, the decrypted list of aliases to the user device; receiving, by the secure gateway, a selected alias of the decrypted list of aliases from the user device; transmitting, by the secure gateway, a request for access data associated with the selected alias to the network computer; receiving, by the secure gateway, encrypted access data from the network computer; and transmitting, by the secure gateway, the encrypted access data to the resource provider computer”).
Claim 18 is rejected using the same rationale that was used for the rejection of claim 3.
Claim 19 is rejected using the same rationale that was used for the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 20, Purves discloses
the interaction involves a communication to a transfer application server associated with the transfer application, the communication comprising the alias and a value to transfer to a user record associated with the alias
See FIG. 8, specifically user device alias transaction module, item 822; and user device interface, item 806
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purves in view of Thomas (20170244727).
Regarding claim 4, Thomas discloses
Purves does not disclose, however, Thomas teaches
the interaction utilizes an OCT message
(“[0042] As an example, the secondary network resource 126 may be configured to provide secondary (e.g. non-real-time) financial service options for transferring a currency from the sender 102 to the receiver 104. Examples of secondary financial service options may include, but are not limited to, original credit transactions and debit card services”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Purves to include the interaction utilizes an OCT message as taught by Thomas to provide original credit transactions methodology usage in inter-institutional network services to facilitate share information and transfer resources with each other – See “[0001] Networks allow users from different institutions to have access to various types of network services for share information and transfer resources with each other… it is desirable to provide the ability to securely transfer information and resources among users that may be using different networks and/or types of network services”; and “[0042] As an example, the secondary network resource 126 may be configured to provide secondary (e.g. non-real-time) financial service options for transferring a currency from the sender 102 to the receiver 104. Examples of secondary financial service options may include, but are not limited to, original credit transactions and debit card services”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Castinado (20170132615) teaches block chain alias for person-to-person payments.
Gamaley (20120323960) teaches automatic contact list aliasing in a collaboration system.
Sheets (20210264434) teaches system and method using merchant token.
Tousignant (20100121922) teaches auto-resolve recipients cache.
/MARK H GAW/Examiner, Art Unit 3693