DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-15 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/3/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 claims 1-10 and 16 in the reply filed on 11/3/2025 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7-10 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12371999. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12371999
Claim 1: An integrally bladed disk, comprising: a disk having an outer radial hub, the disk configured for rotation around a rotational axis; a plurality of rotor blades, each having an airfoil, the airfoil extending chordwise between a leading edge and a trailing edge, and extending spanwise between a base end and a blade tip; wherein each said rotor blade includes: a damper pocket extending into the airfoil from the base end, the damper pocket having a first tapered configuration;
a damper body disposed within the damper pocket,
wherein the damper body has a second tapered configuration,
wherein the second tapered configuration of the damper body mates with the first tapered configuration of the damper pocket; and
a plug disposed to retain the damper body within the damper pocket;
wherein the first tapered configuration of the damper pocket (DP) includes a DP top side surface and a single DP side surface that extends circumferentially and extends spanwise from the base end to the DP top side surface, and converges in a direction from the base end to the DP top side surface; and
wherein the second tapered configuration of the damper body (DB) includes a DB top side surface, a DB bottom side surface, and a single DB side surface that extends circumferentially and extends between the DB bottom side surface to the DB top side surface, and converges in a direction from the DB bottom side surface to the DB top side surface.
Claim 1: An integrally bladed disk, comprising: a disk having an outer radial hub, the disk configured for rotation around a rotational axis; a plurality of rotor blades, each having an airfoil, the airfoil extending chordwise between a leading edge and a trailing edge, and extending spanwise between a base end and a blade tip; wherein each said rotor blade includes: a damper pocket (DP) extending into the airfoil from the base end, the damper pocket having a first tapered configuration,
a damper body (DB)disposed within the damper pocket,
wherein the damper body has a second tapered configuration,
wherein the second tapered configuration of the damper body mates with the first tapered configuration of the damper pocket,
a plug disposed to retain the damper body within the damper pocket;
the first tapered configuration including a first DP side surface and a second DP side surface, the damper pocket including a DP top end surface that extends between the first DP side surface and the second DP side surface, and the first DP side surface and the second DP side surface converge toward one another;
the second tapered configuration including a first DB side surface and a second DB side surface, and the first DB side surface and the second DB side surface converge toward one another;
wherein each said rotor blade is affixed to a surface of the outer radial hub of the disk at the weld collar;
Claim 7: wherein each said rotor blade includes a weld collar affixed to the base end of the airfoil, and the weld collar includes a weld collar aperture that is aligned with the damper pocket and configured to receive the damper body.
Claim 1: a weld collar affixed to the base end of the airfoil, and the weld collar includes a weld collar aperture that is aligned with the damper pocket and configured to receive the damper body;
Claim 8: wherein the plug for each said rotor blade is affixed to the weld collar.
Claim 3: wherein the plug for each said rotor blade is affixed to the weld collar.
Claim 9: wherein each said rotor blade is affixed to the outer radial hub of the disk at the weld collar.
Claim 1: wherein each said rotor blade is affixed to a surface of the outer radial hub of the disk at the weld collar;
Claim 10: wherein the damper body comprises a shape memory alloy.
Claim 16: wherein the damper body comprises a shape memory alloy.
Claim 16: An integrally bladed disk, comprising: a disk having an outer radial hub extending circumferentially about a rotational axis; and a plurality of rotor blades, each of the plurality of rotor blades having an airfoil, the airfoil extending chordwise between a leading edge and a trailing edge, the airfoil extending spanwise between a base end and a blade tip, and each of the plurality of rotor blades comprising a damper pocket extending into the airfoil from the base end, the damper pocket provided with a first tapered configuration;
a damper body disposed within the damper pocket,
the damper body provided with a second tapered configuration,
wherein the second tapered configuration of the damper body mates with the first tapered configuration of the damper pocket; and
a plug securing the damper body within the damper pocket;
wherein the first tapered configuration of the damper pocket (DP) includes a DP top side surface and a single DP side surface that extends circumferentially and extends spanwise from the base end to the DP top side surface, and converges in a direction from the base end to the DP top side surface; and
wherein the second tapered configuration of the damper body (DB) includes a DB top side surface, a DB bottom side surface, and a single DB side surface that extends circumferentially and extends between the DB bottom side surface to the DB top side surface, and converges in a direction from the DB bottom side surface to the DB top side surface.
Claim 1: An integrally bladed disk, comprising: a disk having an outer radial hub, the disk configured for rotation around a rotational axis; a plurality of rotor blades, each having an airfoil, the airfoil extending chordwise between a leading edge and a trailing edge, and extending spanwise between a base end and a blade tip; wherein each said rotor blade includes: a damper pocket (DP) extending into the airfoil from the base end, the damper pocket having a first tapered configuration,
a damper body (DB)disposed within the damper pocket,
wherein the damper body has a second tapered configuration,
wherein the second tapered configuration of the damper body mates with the first tapered configuration of the damper pocket,
a plug disposed to retain the damper body within the damper pocket;
the first tapered configuration including a first DP side surface and a second DP side surface, the damper pocket including a DP top end surface that extends between the first DP side surface and the second DP side surface, and the first DP side surface and the second DP side surface converge toward one another;
the second tapered configuration including a first DB side surface and a second DB side surface, and the first DB side surface and the second DB side surface converge toward one another;
wherein each said rotor blade is affixed to a surface of the outer radial hub of the disk at the weld collar;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heymann US 2984453.
Fig 1 and Fig 2 of Heymann US 2984453
Regarding claim 1, Heymann discloses:
a disk (Fig 1: Rotor; where blade 14 is attached) having an outer radial hub (Outer part of the rotor; where the blade 14 is attached), the disk configured for rotation around a rotational axis (Col 1, line 58-61: Axis of rotation for the rotor);
a plurality of rotor blades (11), each having an airfoil (12 that extends into the flow), the airfoil extending chordwise between a leading edge (Fig 5: left edge of the blade) and a trailing edge (Right edge of the blade), and extending spanwise between a base end (Fig 2: Bottom end that is extending into the flow; as seen in the clip below) and a blade tip (Top of the blade opposite to the base end; as seen in the clip below); wherein each said rotor blade includes:
a damper pocket (18) extending into the airfoil from the base end (18 extends through 12 from the base of the airfoil), the damper pocket having a first tapered configuration (Col 2, line 5-6: 18 has a taper; as seen in the clip below; a box surrounding 18 shows that the cavity has less width towards the tip end compared to the base end of the pocket);
a damper body (19) disposed within the damper pocket (19 within 18),
wherein the damper body has a second tapered configuration (Col 2, line 5-6: 19 has a taper; as seen in the clip above; a box surrounding 19 shows that the cavity has less width towards the tip end compared to the base end of the pocket),
wherein the second tapered configuration of the damper body mates with the first tapered configuration of the damper pocket (Col 2, line 2-8 Rod is placed within cavity tightly);
a plug (21) disposed to retain the damper body within the damper pocket (Col 2, line 16-18);
wherein the first tapered configuration of the damper pocket (DP) includes a DP top side surface and a single DP side surface that extends circumferentially and extends spanwise from the base end to the DP top side surface (Fig 4: side surface is a round body), and converges in a direction from the base end to the DP top side surface (Fig 2: side surfaces converge toward one another; as seen in the clip below); and
wherein the second tapered configuration of the damper body (DB) includes a DB top side surface, a DB bottom side surface, and a single DB side surface that extends circumferentially and extends between the DB bottom side surface to the DB top side surface (Fig 4: side surface is a round body), and converges in a direction from the DB bottom side surface to the DB top side surface (Fig 2:side surfaces converge toward one another; as seen in the clip below).
Regarding claim 2, Heymann discloses:
wherein the first tapered configuration of the damper pocket is a first truncated cone, and the second tapered configuration of the damper body is a second truncated cone, and the damper pocket and the damper body are disposable in an engaged configuration wherein the single DB side surface is in contact with the single DP side surface (Fig 4: side surface is a round body forming a cone of the damper pocket and damper body).
Regarding claim 7, Heymann discloses:
wherein each said rotor blade includes a weld collar (Fig 2: 14 which is essentially the weld collar of the plug 21; as seen in the figure in the rejection of claim 1) affixed to the base end of the airfoil, and
the weld collar includes a weld collar aperture (Hole within 14 that holds 21) that is aligned with the damper pocket and configured to receive the damper body (Hole is aligned with 18 and receives 19).
Regarding claim 8, Heymann discloses:
wherein the plug for each said rotor blade is affixed to the weld collar (Fig 2: 21 is welded to 14).
Regarding claim 9, Heymann discloses:
wherein each said rotor blade is affixed to the outer radial hub of the disk at the weld collar (Fig 1: 11 is fixed to the outer part of the rotor at 14).
Regarding claim 16, Heymann discloses:
a disk (Fig 1: Rotor; where blade 14 is attached) having an outer radial hub (Outer part of the rotor; where the blade 14 is attached) extending circumferentially about a rotational axis(Col 1, line 58-61: Axis of rotation for the rotor);
a plurality of rotor blades (11), each having an airfoil (12 that extends into the flow), the airfoil extending chordwise between a leading edge (Fig 5: left edge of the blade) and a trailing edge (Right edge of the blade), and extending spanwise between a base end (Fig 2: Bottom end that is extending into the flow; as seen in the clip below) and a blade tip (Top of the blade opposite to the base end; as seen in the clip below)
and each of the plurality of rotor blades comprising a damper pocket (18) extending into the airfoil from the base end (18 extends through 12 from the base of the airfoil), the damper pocket having a first tapered configuration (Col 2, line 5-6: 18 has a taper; as seen in the clip below; a box surrounding 18 shows that the cavity has less width towards the tip end compared to the base end of the pocket);
a damper body (19) disposed within the damper pocket (19 within 18),
wherein the damper body has a second tapered configuration (Col 2, line 5-6: 19 has a taper; as seen in the clip above; a box surrounding 19 shows that the cavity has less width towards the tip end compared to the base end of the pocket),
wherein the second tapered configuration of the damper body mates with the first tapered configuration of the damper pocket (Col 2, line 2-8 Rod is placed within cavity tightly);
a plug (21) disposed to retain the damper body within the damper pocket (Col 2, line 16-18);
wherein the first tapered configuration of the damper pocket (DP) includes a DP top side surface and a single DP side surface that extends circumferentially and extends spanwise from the base end to the DP top side surface (Fig 4: side surface is a round body), and converges in a direction from the base end to the DP top side surface (Fig 2: side surfaces converge toward one another; as seen in the clip below); and
wherein the second tapered configuration of the damper body (DB) includes a DB top side surface, a DB bottom side surface, and a single DB side surface that extends circumferentially and extends between the DB bottom side surface to the DB top side surface (Fig 4: side surface is a round body), and converges in a direction from the DB bottom side surface to the DB top side surface (Fig 2:side surfaces converge toward one another; as seen in the clip below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heymann US 2984453 in view of Husband et al. US 11136888.
Regarding claim 10 Heymann discloses all of the above limitations. However, Heymann is silent as to:
wherein the damper body comprises a shape memory alloy.
From the same field of endeavor, Husband teaches:
a damper body (Fig 26: 487),
wherein the damper body comprises a shape memory alloy (Col 14, line 4-6: 487 is made from a shape memory alloy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Heymann’s damper rod to be made of a shape memory alloy as taught by Husband to provide a material that deforms in response to temperature and/or stress changes within the component (Col 14, line 4-6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 3 recites “wherein in the engaged configuration, the DB top side surface is spaced apart from the DP top side surface” and is considered allowable subject matter. Heymann US 2984453 is the closest prior art but does not teach the spaced apart damper pocket top surface and damper body top surface. The examiner then looks to Paget US 1833754 for the modification. However, it teaches away the space between the top of the damper pocket and damper body due to Paget disclosing a rod which is placed within an oversized hole to be free to move laterally in all direction. Thus, a skilled practitioner would not seek to modify Paget's rod to contact a damper pocket side surface because doing so would cause worse damping due to a decreased number of lateral impacts. The space above the top of the damper body of applicants was not found in the prior art search.
Claim 4-6 depends off of claim 3 therefore contains the allowable subject matter form claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chakrabarti et al. US 11371358 discloses a cone like shaped damper pocket and body similar to applicants. Clark et al. US 20080025845 and Norris et al. US 6669447 discloses a similar converging damper pocket and body to applicants.
/Andrew J Marien/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745