DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Applicants’ response filed on 12/19/2025 has been fully considered. Claims 13-14 are cancelled and claims 1-12 and 15-22 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (CN 218586250 U) in view of Gondoh (US 2021/0313650 A1).
A machine translation is being used as the English translation for Yang et al (CN 218586250 U).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a battery (pg. 2 of Yang translation) comprising:
a box body (pg. 2 of Yang translation);
a battery module located inside the box body (a battery pack located inside the box body; pg. 2 of Yang translation), the battery module comprising at least one battery cell (the battery pack comprising at least one battery monomer; pg. 4 of Yang translation), each battery cell provided with a first pressure relief mechanism (each battery monomer provided with a pressure relief device; pg. 8 of Yang translation), and the box body having a second pressure relief mechanism (a plate body having a pressure relief part; pg. 8 of Yang translation); and
a pressure relief channel connecting the first pressure relief mechanism of the at least one battery cell with the second pressure relief mechanism (a pressure relief cavity connecting the pressure relief device and the pressure relief part; pg. 8 of Yang translation), the first pressure relief mechanism configured to release emissions generated inside the battery cell into the pressure relief channel under actuation (each pressure relief device releasing high pressure gas of each battery monomer; pg. 8 of Yang translation), the pressure relief channel configured to guide the emissions to the second pressure relief mechanism (the pressure relief cavity carrying discharged gas from the pressure relief device to the pressure relief part; pg. 8 of Yang translation), and the second pressure relief mechanism configured to release the emissions of the pressure relief channel to an exterior of the box body under actuation (the pressure relief part discharging the high pressure gas in the pressure relief cavity; pg. 8 of Yang translation),
wherein the pressure relief channel further comprises a plurality of first sub-pressure relief channels configured for connection with the second pressure relief mechanism (air inlet channels; Fig. 11; pg. 11 of Yang translation), the battery further comprises a partition (supporting member having walls; Fig. 11; pg. 11 of Yang translation), the partition is configured to separate the battery module from the first sub- pressure relief channels (supporting member having walls; Fig. 11; pg. 11 of Yang translation), the partition is provided with a plurality of first ventilable structures, each of the plurality of first sub-pressure relief channels connects one of the plurality of first ventilable structure corresponding to a different battery cell of the at least one battery, the first sub-pressure relief channels are separated by a spacer element (walls of the supporting component separating the pressure relief cavity and openings formed by the supporting element; pg. 11 of Yang translation), the pressure relief channel further comprises a communication channel (opening created by the supporting member; Fig. 11 #3121; pg. 11 of Yang translation), each of the first sub-pressure relief channels connected to the second pressure relief mechanism through the communication channel (air inlet passages connected to the pressure relief cavity and pressure relief part through openings created by each of the supporting members; Fig. 11; pg. 11 of Yang translation) and the partition is a thermal management component configured to perform heat exchange with the at least one battery cell (supporting member having walls; Fig. 11; pg. 11 of Yang translation).
Any partition would be considered to be a thermal management component configured to perform heat exchange with the at least one battery cell.
Yang does not disclose the battery comprising at least one of the battery cell, the battery module, the box body and the pressure relief channel provided with a filter element, and the filter element being provided with filter holes configured to block passage of particulate matter in the emissions.
However, Gondoh discloses a battery (battery module; paragraph [0017]) comprising a plurality of batteries each provided with a exhaust valve and placed in a module case (paragraph [0017]), a cooling path from the exhaust value to an outlet (paragraph [0033]), a pressure relief channel provided with a filter element (filter installed on an inner surface of a side wall of the module case; Fig. 1A #16; paragraph [0034]), the filter element being provided with filter holes configured to block passage of particulate matter in the emissions (the filter having a plurality of openings each having a circular shape; paragraph [0035]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of Yang to include the filter of Gondoh on an inner surface of the pressure relief part of Yang because having the filter allows for an ejected objects to be captured and lowers the temperature of the exhaust gas preventing a flame from being emitted when the battery module ignites (paragraph [0036] of Gondoh).
Yang does not disclose the battery comprising the partition provided with a plurality of first ventilable structures and each of the plurality of first sub-pressure relief channels connects one of the plurality of first ventilable structures corresponding to a different battery cell of the at least one battery and the first sub-pressure relief channels.
However, Gondoh discloses a battery (battery module; paragraph [0017]) comprising a plurality of batteries each provided with a exhaust valve and placed in a module case (paragraph [0017]), a cooling path from the exhaust value to an outlet (paragraph [0034]), a filter installed on an inner surface of a side wall of the module case (Fig. 1A #16; paragraph [0034]) and the partition provided with a plurality of first ventilable structures and each of the plurality of first sub-pressure relief channels connects one of the plurality of first ventilable structures corresponding to a different battery cell of the at least one battery and the first sub-pressure relief channels (the exhaust valves for discharging gas for preventing the outer can of the battery from bursting; paragraph [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of Yang to include the exhaust valves of Gondoh on the pressure relief devices of Yang because having exhaust valves allows for of discharging gas for preventing the outer can of the battery from bursting (paragraph [0023] of Gondoh).
Regarding claim 2, Yang and Gondoh disclose the battery of claim 1 as noted above and that claim 2 is met due to the embodiment of the pressure relief channel being provided with the filter element being chosen and met by the filter installed on an inner surface of a side wall of the module case of Gondoh.
Regarding claim 3, Yang and Gondoh disclose the battery of claim 1 as noted above and that claim 3 is met due to the embodiment of the pressure relief channel being provided with the filter element being chosen and met by the filter installed on an inner surface of a side wall of the module case of Gondoh.
Regarding claim 4, Yang and Gondoh disclose the battery of claim 3 as noted above.
Yang does not disclose the battery comprising a sum of cross-sectional areas of all the filter holes being a filtration area.
However, Gondoh discloses a battery module comprising a plurality of batteries each provided with a exhaust valve and placed in a module case (paragraph [0017]), a cooling path from the exhaust value to an outlet (paragraph [0033]), a filter installed on an inner surface of a side wall of the module case (pressure relief channel is provided with a filter element; Fig. 1A #16; paragraph [0034]) and a sum of cross-sectional areas of all the filter holes being a filtration area (filter having a plurality of openings each having a circular shape; paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of Yang to include the filter of Gondoh on an inner surface of the pressure relief part of Yang because having the filter allows for an ejected objects to be captured and lowers the temperature of the exhaust gas preventing a flame from being emitted when the battery module ignites (paragraph [0036] of Gondoh).
The limitations of the second pressure relief mechanism being provided with the filter element are met due to the embodiment of the pressure relief channel being provided with the filter element being chosen and met by the filter installed on an inner surface of a side wall of the module case of Gondoh.
Regarding claim 5, Yang and Gondoh disclose the battery of claim 4 as noted above and that claim 5 is met due to the embodiment of the pressure relief channel being provided with the filter element being chosen and met by the filter installed on an inner surface of a side wall of the module case of Gondoh.
Regarding claim 6, Yang and Gondoh disclose the battery of claim 5 as noted above and that claim 6 is met due to the embodiment of the pressure relief channel being provided with the filter element being chosen and met by the filter installed on an inner surface of a side wall of the module case of Gondoh.
Regarding claim 7, Yang and Gondoh disclose the battery of claim 3 as noted above and that claim 7 is met due to the embodiment of the pressure relief channel being provided with the filter element being chosen and met by the filter installed on an inner surface of a side wall of the module case of Gondoh.
Regarding claim 8, Yang and Gondoh disclose the battery of claim 3 as noted above and that claim 8 is met due to the embodiment of the pressure relief channel being provided with the filter element being chosen and met by the filter installed on an inner surface of a side wall of the module case of Gondoh.
Regarding claim 9, Yang and Gondoh disclose the battery of claim 3 as noted above and that claim 9 is met due to the embodiment of the pressure relief channel being provided with the filter element being chosen and met by the filter installed on an inner surface of a side wall of the module case of Gondoh.
Regarding claim 10, Yang and Gondoh disclose the battery of claim 1 as noted above.
Yang does not disclose the battery comprising the number of the filter holes is plural, hole diameters of any two of the filter holes are the same, or hole diameters of at least two of the filter holes are different.
However, Gondoh discloses a battery comprising a plurality of batteries each provided with a exhaust valve and placed in a module case (paragraph [0017]), a cooling path from the exhaust value to an outlet (paragraph [0033]), a filter installed on an inner surface of a side wall of the module case (Fig. 1A #16; paragraph [0034]) and the number of the filter holes is plural and hole diameters of any two of the filter holes are the same (the filter having a plurality of openings each having a circular shape; paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of Yang to include the filter of Gondoh on an inner surface of the pressure relief part of Yang because having the filter allows for an ejected objects to be captured and lowers the temperature of the exhaust gas preventing a flame from being emitted when the battery module ignites (paragraph [0036] of Gondoh).
Regarding claim 11, Yang and Gondoh disclose the battery of claim 10 as noted above.
Yang does not disclose the battery comprising a cross-sectional area of the filter hole having a largest hole diameter is S, a shortest discharge path between the first pressure relief mechanism of the at least one battery cell and the second pressure relief mechanism is L, and then 0.002 m/mm2 < L/S < 55 m/mm2, wherein a unit of L is m and a unit of S is mm2.
However, Gondoh discloses a battery comprising a plurality of batteries each provided with a exhaust valve and placed in a module case (paragraph [0017]), a cooling path from the exhaust value to an outlet (paragraph [0034]), a filter installed on an inner surface of a side wall of the module case (paragraph [0034]), the filter having a plurality of openings each having a circular shape (paragraph [0035]) and wherein the shape and arrangement of the openings are not limited (paragraph [0035]).
Gondoh does not disclose the battery comprising 0.002 m/mm2 < L/S < 55 m/mm2.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the size and arrangement of the openings of the filter in order to provide the relationship of 0.002 m/mm2 < L/S < 55 m/mm2 because doing so allows for the desired air permeability, strength and heat resistance of the filter to be obtained (paragraph [0036]) of Gondoh).
Regarding claim 12, Yang and Gondoh disclose the battery of claim 10 as noted above.
Yang does not disclose the battery comprising a volumetric energy density of the battery is E, a cross-sectional area of the filter hole having a largest hole diameter is S, and then 17 (Wh/L)/mm2 ≤ E/S ≤ 11300(Wh/L)/mm, wherein a unit of E is Wh/L and a unit of S is mm2.
However, Gondoh discloses a battery comprising a plurality of batteries each provided with a exhaust valve and placed in a module case (paragraph [0017]), a cooling path from the exhaust value to an outlet (paragraph [0034]), a filter installed on an inner surface of a side wall of the module case (Fig. 1A #16; paragraph [0034]), the filter having a plurality of openings each having a circular shape (paragraph [0035]) and wherein the shape and arrangement of the openings are not limited (paragraph [0035]).
Gondoh does not disclose the battery comprising 17 (Wh/L)/mm2 ≤ E/S ≤ 11300(Wh/L)/mm, wherein a unit of E is Wh/L and a unit of S is mm2.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the size and arrangement of the openings of the filter in order to provide the relationship of 17 (Wh/L)/mm2 ≤ E/S ≤ 11300(Wh/L)/mm, wherein a unit of E is Wh/L and a unit of S is mm2 because doing so allows for the desired air permeability, strength and heat resistance of the filter to be obtained (paragraph [0036]) of Gondoh).
Regarding claim 15, Yang and Gondoh disclose the battery of claim 1 as noted above and Yang discloses the battery comprising a wall face of the partition and an inner wall face of the box body enclose to form the communication channel (an inner surface of the lower plate and the walls of the supporting member forming the opening; pg. 11 of Yang translation).
Regarding claim 16, Yang and Gondoh disclose the battery of claim 15 as noted above and Yang discloses the battery comprising the battery comprising the battery module comprises at least one column of battery cells and each column of battery cells comprises the at least one battery cell (at least one battery monomer in at least one column; pg. 4 of Yang translation), each column of battery cells is correspondingly provided with at least one first sub-pressure relief channel (air inlet passages for each of the battery monomers; pg. 11 of Yang translation) and each of the first sub-pressure relief channels extends along an arrangement direction of a corresponding column of battery cells (each air inlet passage extending along an arrangement direction of the battery monomers; pg. 11 of Yang translation) .
Yang does not disclose the battery comprising each first ventilable structure corresponding to each column of battery cells is connected to a corresponding first sub-pressure relief channel.
However, Gondoh discloses a battery comprising a plurality of batteries each provided with a exhaust valve and placed in a module case (paragraph [0017]), a cooling path from the exhaust value to an outlet (paragraph [0034]), a filter installed on an inner surface of a side wall of the module case (Fig. 1A #16; paragraph [0034]) and each first ventilable structure corresponding to each column of battery cells is connected to a corresponding first sub-pressure relief channel (the exhaust valves for discharging gas for preventing the outer can of the battery from bursting; paragraph [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of Yang to include the exhaust valves of Gondoh on the pressure relief devices of Yang because having exhaust valves allows for of discharging gas for preventing the outer can of the battery from bursting (paragraph [0023] of Gondoh).
Regarding claim 17, Yang and Gondoh disclose the battery of claim 16 as noted above and Yang disclose the battery comprising the second pressure relief mechanism located at a side of an end of the battery module along an extension direction of the first sub-pressure relief channel (a pressure relief part located on the bottom surface of the lower plate opposite to the air inlet passage; pg. 11 of translation).
Regarding claim 18, Yang and Gondoh disclose the battery of claim 17 as noted above.
Yang does not disclose the battery comprising the communication channel is an annular channel and the annular channel is annularly provided around the partition.
However, Gondoh discloses a battery comprising communication channel is an annular channel and the annular channel is annularly provided around the partition (a cooling channel below the group of batteries and provided around partition plates; paragraphs [0027-[0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of Yang to substitute the pressure-relief cavity and openings of Yang for the cooling channel and partitions of Gondoh because doing so provides the desired cooling of exhaust gas ejected from the outlet (paragraph [0025] of Gondoh).
Regarding claim 19, Yang and Gondoh disclose the battery of claim 18 as noted above.
Yang does not disclose the battery comprising the annular channel is provided with an annular element connected to the box body, the annular element is configured to divide the annular channel into a first sub-annular channel and a second sub-annular channel, and the second sub- annular channel is annularly provided around the first sub-annular channel; and the annular element is provided with a second ventilable structure configured to communicate the first sub- annular channel and the second sub-annular channel, the second sub-annular channel is connected to the second pressure relief mechanism, and the first sub-annular channel is in communication with the first sub-pressure relief channel.
However, Gondoh discloses the battery comprising annular channel is provided with an annular element connected to the box body and the annular element is provided with a second ventilable structure configured to communicate the first sub-annular channel and the second sub-annular channel (the cooling channel being any path as long as the cooling path can cool the gas discharged from the path outlet, an exhaust dust attached to the module case and an arrangement and the shape of the cooling path is not limited; paragraph [0028]).
Gondoh does not disclose the battery comprising the annular element is configured to divide the annular channel into a first sub-annular channel and a second sub-annular channel, the second sub-annular channel is annularly provided around the first sub-annular channel, the second sub-annular channel is connected to the second pressure relief mechanism and the first sub-annular channel is in communication with the first sub-pressure relief channel.
However, it would have been obvious to adjust the arrangement of the cooling channel of Gondoh such that the annular element divides the annular channel into a first sub-annular channel and a second sub-annular channel, the second sub-annular channel is annularly provided around the first sub-annular channel, the second sub-annular channel is connected to the second pressure relief mechanism and the first sub-annular channel is in communication with the first sub-pressure relief channel because doing so would provide the desired cooling of the gas until the gas is discharged from the outlet (paragraph [0028] of Gondoh).
Regarding claim 20, Yang and Gondoh disclose the battery of claim 17 as noted above.
Yang does not disclose the battery comprising the filter element located between the battery module and the second pressure release mechanism; the filter element having a first filter portion and a second filter portion, the first filter portion and the second filter portion both provided with the plurality of filter holes, a first discharge path and a second discharge path are formed between the first pressure relief mechanism of the battery cell closest to the second pressure relief mechanism and the second pressure relief mechanism, the first discharge path passes through the filter holes of the first filter portion, and the second discharge path passes through the filter holes of the second filter portion; and when the length of the first discharge path is larger than the length of the second discharge path, the hole diameter of the filter hole of the first filter portion is larger than the hole diameter of the filter hole of the second filter portion.
However, Gondoh discloses a battery comprising the filter element located between the battery module and the second pressure release mechanism (a cooling path provided with a filter and baffle plates; paragraph [0005]), wherein the filter element having a first filter portion and the first filter portion provided with the plurality of filter holes (the filter is provided with openings; paragraph [0005]), wherein the filter element having a second filter portion and the second filter portion both provided with the plurality of filter holes (the baffle plates is provided with openings; paragraph [0005]), a first discharge path formed between the first pressure relief mechanism of the battery cell closest to the second pressure relief mechanism and the second pressure relief mechanism (gas discharged from the battery to the filter; paragraph [0028]), a second discharge path formed between the first pressure relief mechanism of the battery cell closest to the second pressure relief mechanism and the second pressure relief mechanism (gas discharged from the battery to the baffle plates; paragraph [0028]), the first discharge path passes through the filter holes of the first filter portion (gas discharged from the battery to the filter; paragraph [0028]), the second discharge path passes through the filter holes of the second filter portion (gas discharged from the battery to the baffle plates; paragraph [0028]), the first discharge path longer than the second discharge path (gas discharged from the battery to the filter; paragraph [0028]), and the shape and the arrangement of the openings not being limited (paragraph [0035]).
Gondoh does not disclose the battery comprising the hole diameter of the first filter portion being larger than the hole diameter of the second filter portion.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the size of the openings of the filter to be larger than the size of the openings of each of the baffle plates because doing so would provide ejected objects to be captured while allowing gas to be discharged (paragraph [0045] of Gondoh).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of Yang to include the filler and baffle plates of Gondoh in the pressure relief cavity of Yang because doing so captures ejected material while allowing exhaust gas to be discharged (paragraphs [0036]-[0037] of Gondoh).
Regarding claim 21, Yang and Gondoh disclose the battery of claim 1 as noted above.
Yang does not disclose the battery comprising a vent valve on the partition configured to allow emissions released by the first pressure relief mechanism to enter the first sub-pressure relief channel.
However, Gondoh discloses a battery comprising a vent valve on the partition configured to allow emissions released by the first pressure relief mechanism to enter the first sub-pressure relief channel (plurality of batteries each provided with a exhaust valve and placed in a module case; paragraph [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of Yang to include the exhaust valves of Gondoh on the pressure relief devices of Yang because having exhaust valves allows for of discharging gas for preventing the outer can of the battery from bursting (paragraph [0023] of Gondoh).
Regarding claim 22, Yang and Gondoh disclose the battery of claim 1 as noted above and Yang discloses the battery comprising the partition supported by the spacer element (supporting member having walls and walls of the supporting component separating the pressure relief cavity and openings formed by the supporting element; Fig. 11; pg. 11 of Yang translation), the battery module located above the partition (the battery pack comprising at least one battery monomer; pg. 4 of Yang translation) and the first pressure relief mechanism located at a bottom of each of the at least one battery cell (each battery monomer provided with a pressure relief device; pg. 8 of Yang translation).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that Yang does not teach or suggest a second pressure relief mechanism on the casing.
This argument is not persuasive as Yang discloses a pressure relief part on the plate body which is considered to be the second pressure relief mechanism on the casing.
Applicants argue that Yang fails to teach or suggest the box body having a second pressure relief mechanism, the pressure relief channel configured to guide emissions to the second pressure relief mechanism and the second pressure relief mechanism configured to release emissions of the pressure relief channel to the exterior of the box body under actuation.
This argument is not persuasive as the plate body of Yang having the pressure relief part is considered to be the box body having a second pressure relief mechanism.
Also, the pressure relief cavity of Yang disposed under the battery cells and guiding high pressure gas from the pressure relief devices of the battery cells to the pressure relief part on the plate body is considered to be the pressure relief channel configured to guide emissions to the second pressure relief mechanism.
Furthermore, the pressure relief part of Yang on the plate body for removing high pressure gas is considered to be the second pressure relief mechanism configured to release emissions of the pressure relief channel to the exterior of the box body under actuation.
Applicants argue that Yang fails to teach or suggest the pressure relief channel further comprising a communication channel, each of the first sub-pressure relief channels connected to the second pressure relied mechanism through the communication channel and the partition being a thermal management component configured to perform heat exchange with the at least one battery cell.
This argument is not persuasive as the air inlet channels directly below each of the battery cells in Yang are the first sub-pressure relief channels. The bigger openings that are before the air inlet channels is the communication channel. High pressure gas enters the air inlet channel into the bigger opening of the pressure relief cavity and exits from the pressure relief part on the plate body.
Also, the walls of the supporting member are considered to be the partition and any partition is capable of performing heat exchange with the at least one battery cell.
Applicants argue that Gondoh fails to cure the deficiencies of Yang.
The Examiner disagrees and notes that Gondoh is a teaching reference used to teach a filter.
However, note that while Gondoh does not disclose all the features of the present claimed invention, Gondoh is a teaching reference, and therefore, it is not necessary for this secondary reference to contain all the features of the presently claimed invention, In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973), In re Keller 624 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). Rather this reference teaches certain concepts, namely a filter, and in combination with the primary reference, discloses the presently claimed invention.
Applicants argue that Gondoh fails to teach or suggest the first ventilable structures provided on the partition and separately connecting the first pressure relief mechanism of each battery cell to the second pressure relief mechanism of the box body through each first sub-pressure relief channel.
This argument is not persuasive as the exhaust valves for each of the battery cells in Gondoh read on the claimed first ventilable structures provided on the partition and separately connecting the first pressure relief mechanism of each battery cell to the second pressure relief mechanism of the box body through each first sub-pressure relief channel.
Applicants argue that Gondoh discloses a battery module not a battery pack.
This argument is not persuasive as the terms module and pack are used interchangeably when describing a plurality of battery cells. Also, Applicant’s Specification does not provide specific definitions for battery module and battery pack.
Applicants argue that the cited references are silent in regard to new claims 21 and 22.
This argument is not persuasive as new claims 21 and 22 are met by Yang and Gondoh in the 103 rejection noted above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SATHAVARAM I REDDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1785