DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 27, 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tominaga et al. (USPGPUB 2021/0311578—hereinafter “Tominaga”).
As to Claim 1, Tominaga teaches an electronic device (Fig. 3 and Pg. 1, ¶ 5) comprising:
a display panel having an active area (Fig. 3 at DA) and a dead space (Fig. 3 at area surrounding DA);
a sensor unit comprising a plurality of patterns of which at least a portion overlaps the active area (Fig. 3 at 45); and
a controller configured to control the sensor unit (Fig. 3 at 43 and 44 and Pg. 2, ¶’s 23 and 28),
wherein the sensor unit comprises an edge pattern that overlaps the dead space (Fig. 3 at 47), is disposed adjacent to the active area, and has both ends electrically connected to the controller (Pg. 2, ¶’s 28-29).
As to Claim 3, Tominaga teaches that the edge pattern comprises a first edge pattern (Fig. 3 at 461) and a second edge pattern (Fig. 3 at 462), and the active area is disposed between the first edge pattern and the second edge pattern (Fig. 3, note DA between 461 and 462).
As to Claim 4, Tominaga teaches an electronic device (Fig. 3 and Pg. 1, ¶ 5) comprising:
a display panel having an active area (Fig. 4 at DA) and a dead space (Fig. 3 at area surrounding DA);
a sensor unit comprising a plurality of patterns of which at least a portion overlaps the active area (Fig. 4 at 45); and
a controller configured to control the sensor unit (Fig. 4 at 43 and 44 and Pg. 2, ¶’s 23 and 28),
wherein the sensor unit comprises a first edge pattern that overlaps the dead space and is disposed adjacent to one side of the active area (Fig. 4 at 47A1), and
the first edge pattern comprises:
a first-1 edge pattern having one end that is electrically floated and the other end that is electrically connected to the controller (See Fig. 4 at 47A1 where one end is connected to 44 on the left side and the other end is floated); and
a first-2 edge pattern (Fig. 4 at 47A2) disposed adjacent to the first-1 edge pattern (Fig. 4 at 47A1) and having one end that is electrically connected to the controller and the other end that is electrically floated (See Fig. 4 at 47A2 where one end is connected to 44 on the right side and the other end is floated).
As to Claim 6, Tominaga teaches that when an electrical signal is applied to the first-1 edge pattern and the first-2 edge pattern by the controller, capacitive coupling is formed between the first-1 edge pattern and the first-2 edge pattern (See Fig. 6 and Pg. 4, ¶ 48).
As to Claim 18, Tominaga teaches that the active area has a landscape shape in which a length in a horizontal direction is greater than a length in a vertical direction (See Figs. 3 and 4 at DA), and the edge pattern is disposed in the horizontal direction (See Figs. 3 and 4 at 46 and 47A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tominaga.
As to Claims 2 and 5, Tominaga fails to teach that the controller applies a driving signal for driving a stylus pen to the first edge pattern and patterns arranged in a direction parallel to the first edge pattern among the plurality of patterns. Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well-known in the art for touch panels to drive stylus pens. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the ability to drive a stylus, in the electronic device taught by Tominaga, in order to effectively detect the position, pressure and tilt of the stylus.
As to Claim 19, Tominaga fails to teach that the display panel is folded about a reference line in the horizontal direction, which crosses a central portion of the active area. Examiner takes Official Notice that foldable display panels are well-known in the art. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to form the electronic device taught by Tominaga as a foldable device in order to make the device more compact.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim et al. U.S. Patent 11,630,543
Zhang et al. USPGPUB 2024/0361874
Zhang et al. USPGPUB 2025/0077016
Inquiries
/RODNEY AMADIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622