Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/20/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 7/30/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 9 and 17 are rejected on the ground of non statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11 and 16 of U.S. Patent App. 18/192,295. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations in each claim set relate to the same concept.
18/192,295
19/285,192
A mobile device comprising: a processing system including a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, comprising:
receiving a data capsule including camera data defining a photo image captured by the mobile device, wherein the data capsule includes information about circumstances of capture of the photo image by a camera of the mobile device;
assigning a first data tag to the camera data responsive to the data capsule including information about a first set of circumstances for the photo image, the first data tag identifying a first security level for the camera data;
assigning a second data tag to the camera data responsive to the data capsule including information about a second set of circumstances for the photo image, the second data tag identifying a second security level for the camera data; and
determining whether to permit an application to access the camera data based on whether the first data tag or the second data tag is assigned to the camera data.
A method, comprising:
determining, by a computing system, that an application accessed first data having a first tag identifying a first level of security;
receiving, by the computing system, an input requesting access, by the application, to second data; and
denying, by the computing system, access to the second data by the application based at least in part on the application having accessed the first data having the first tag.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for” in claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Patent Pub. 2012/0054838) in view of Ganai (US Patent Pub. 2014/0108867).
As per claims 1, 9 and 17: Kim discloses a method, comprising:
determining, by a computing system, that an application accessed first data having a first tag identifying a first level of security (Paragraph 150; determines if the security level of the content is set to a restricted level or an unrestricted level for the second user (S25). If the security level for access by the second user is set to unrestricted, access to the content is allowed (S26), and the second user may view the content. However, if the security level for access by the second user is set to restricted, the content is censored);
Kim does not specifically disclose receiving, by the computing system, an input requesting access, by the application, to second data; and denying, by the computing system, access to the second data by the application based at least in part on the application having accessed the first data having the first tag (See Ganai; Paragraph 27; Our dynamic taint analysis generally operates as follows. During runtime, it tags suspicious data--normally from an external input--propagates taint tag along data and control flow, and then checks if tagged data is used for potentially problematic locations (e.g., used for a target location of a jump instruction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, having the teachings of Yeung and Vantalon in it’s entirety, to modify the technique of Yeung for reduce the rate of license validation requests to less than a threshold value by adopting Vantalon's teaching for contact the CA server to access the media if the initial rights and license exceed those provided during the bridge operation. The motivation would have been to improve software license management.
As per claims 2, 10 and 18: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
assigning, by the computing system, a second tag to the application based at least in part on the application having accessed the first data having the first tag, the second tag identifying the first level of security (See Ganai; Paragraph 27; Our dynamic taint analysis generally operates as follows. During runtime, it tags suspicious data--normally from an external input--propagates taint tag along data and control flow, and then checks if tagged data is used for potentially problematic locations (e.g., used for a target location of a jump instruction); and
determining, by the computing system, that the second data has a third tag identifying a second level of security (See Ganai; Paragraph 27; claim 1);
wherein denying the access to the second data by the application is further based at least in part on a mismatch between the second tag and the third tag (See Ganai; Paragraph 28; tags all program inputs using unique IDs, including return values of system calls and data copied from kernel to user space (e.g., data read by a sys_read( )). Our runtime system propagates the tag along both data and control flow dependencies, then checks the tag on shared accesses (which are identified either by profiling or static analysis) and conditional branches. When the taint tag is propagated to shared accesses).
As per claims 3, 11 and 19: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, by the computing system, that the second data has a second tag identifying a second level of security;
wherein denying the access to the second data by the application is further based at least in part on a mismatch between the first tag and the second tag (See Ganai; Paragraph 28; tags all program inputs using unique IDs, including return values of system calls and data copied from kernel to user space (e.g., data read by a sys_read( )). Our runtime system propagates the tag along both data and control flow dependencies, then checks the tag on shared accesses (which are identified either by profiling or static analysis) and conditional branches. When the taint tag is propagated to shared accesses).
As per claims 4, 12 and 20: The method of claim 1, wherein: the application processes messages; wherein denying the access to the second data by the application is further based at least in part the first tag indicating the first data relates to a personal use and a second tag of the second data being indicative of a business use (Paragraph 135; registers tag information, such as information related to a user's face, and personal data including a phone number, an email address, or other information in an SNS site such as Twitter. When a second user visits the SNS site associated with the first user, the registered tag information may be stored on terminal belonging to the second user).
As per claims 5 and 13: The method of claim 4, wherein:
the first data is an identifier of an intended recipient of a message to be sent by the application; and the input is a request to add the second data as an attachment to a message that the application is to send to the intended recipient (Paragraph 134; security level may be associated with a user's tag information, such as a user's face, or a user's personal data, such as a user's phone number, user ID, email address, or home address)..
As per claims 6 and 14: The method of claim 1,
wherein: the application processes email; the first data is an email address; and the input is a request to add the second data as an attachment to an email that is addressed to the email address (Paragraph 134; security level may be associated with a user's tag information, such as a user's face, or a user's personal data, such as a user's phone number, user ID, email address, or home address).
As per claims 7 and 15: The method of claim 6, wherein:
denying the access to the second data by the application is further based at least in part the first tag indicating the email address relates to a personal use and a second tag of the second data being indicative of a business use (Paragraph 99; the security level is set to restricted or unrestricted. However, the security level is not limited to restricted and unrestricted, other security levels may be applied as necessary).
As per claims 8 and 16: The method of claim 7, further comprising:
assigning, by the computing system, a third tag to the email based at least in part on the application having accessed the first data having the first tag, the third tag being indicative of personal use (See Ganai; Paragraph 27; Our dynamic taint analysis generally operates as follows. During runtime, it tags suspicious data--normally from an external input--propagates taint tag along data and control flow, and then checks if tagged data is used for potentially problematic locations (e.g., used for a target location of a jump instruction);
wherein denying the access to the second data by the application is further based at least in part on a mismatch between the second tag and the third tag (See Ganai; Paragraph 27; Our dynamic taint analysis generally operates as follows. During runtime, it tags suspicious data--normally from an external input--propagates taint tag along data and control flow, and then checks if tagged data is used for potentially problematic locations (e.g., used for a target location of a jump instruction).
Relevant Prior Art References
The following prior art is cited as being of interest to the claimed invention but has not been applied in any of the current rejections.
Hay et al.- US Patent Publication 2020/0089595- the prior art teaches techniques for updating taint tags based on runtime behavior.
Hassanshahi et al.- US Patent Pub. 2019/0311131 - the prior art teaches techniques for dynamic taint analysis.
Gluck et al.- US Patent Pub. 2015/0121533 - the prior art teaches techniques for dynamic analysis interpreter.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY D BROWN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408